View Full Version : a challenge to get a rookie
santa claws
25 Nov 2005, 15:23
gday to all.i usually post over on pre and go by the name of the claw.
as most over here know theres a scheme in place to raise money for a rookie.
well im asking if any members from big footy are willing to donate to the cause.
the club is setting up a site exclusive to those who donate $66.00 or more which includes tipping competitions access to our rookie thru a diary and many other things.
i know theres been some bad blood between pre and bigfooty but heres a chance to put your money where your mouths are and do something constructive for our club.
This should be interesting
If you're looking for pettiness go back to PRE.
For your info, we all support the same club!
I got my letter from the club asking for donations yesterday, and i couldn't care less where the initiative came from, the moneys go towards getting a rookie and is a good concept.
Whoever thought of it came up with a good idea.
I just hope the club doesn't have to gol to these levels again and can get them in their own right next year.
Beware of the claw, from the darkside is he.
I've already made my donation, you can do it here:
https://web.richmondfc.com.au/richmond-rookie.htm
:::buddy38:::
25 Nov 2005, 16:11
Claw came up with the idea didnt you claw??
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 18:39
its a thing the club came up with, but put it through PRE so all those bigheaded pricks think it was all them, but hey thats rosy for ya
santa claws
25 Nov 2005, 19:11
If you're looking for pettiness go back to PRE.
For your info, we all support the same club!
I got my letter from the club asking for donations yesterday, and i couldn't care less where the initiative came from, the moneys go towards getting a rookie and is a good concept.
Whoever thought of it came up with a good idea.
I just hope the club doesn't have to gol to these levels again and can get them in their own right next year.
pettiness what the hell bought that on.all ive asked is people donate to the rookie fund. and im glad to see you have.
yes i to think its a good idea and who ever thought it up is a bloody genius ;)
and lastly with a 4 million dollar debt we may well have to dig into our pockets again next yr.
santa claws
25 Nov 2005, 19:16
its a thing the club came up with, but put it through PRE so all those bigheaded pricks think it was all them, but hey thats rosy for ya
you sound a bit bitter there jackson. but hey at least rosy is putting her hands in her pocket im inclined to think you would rather let personal issues sway you than donate to a cause that helps our club.
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 19:25
you sound a bit bitter there jackson. but hey at least rosy is putting her hands in her pocket im inclined to think you would rather let personal issues sway you than donate to a cause that helps our club.
if i had the money i would be happy to donate it through jezzas link however i havent even got the money to buy a membership this year, trust me mate i wouldnt let rosy get in the way of my love for the richmond footy club
Tormented Tiger
25 Nov 2005, 19:35
',',
25 Nov 2005, 19:37
My understanding is it was the idea of a PRE poster, they then contavted the club to run the idea by them and the club agreed and yeah.....................
I may be wrong
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 19:39
My understanding is it was the idea of a PRE poster, they then contavted the club to run the idea by them and the club agreed and yeah.....................
I may be wrong
if it was from pre and run by the club then the only one with the balls to actually contact the club is that phantom fella so i guess it coulda been him
tigerpremiers
25 Nov 2005, 19:43
well im asking if any members from big footy are willing to donate to the cause.
the club is setting up a site exclusive to those who donate $66.00 or more which includes tipping competitions access to our rookie thru a diary and many other things.
i know theres been some bad blood between pre and bigfooty but heres a chance to put your money where your mouths are and do something constructive for our club.
greg miller has also invited yellow and black .info to be part of the rookie fundrasing those interested can go there to get involved as well.its not a pre thing .the more places to sign up the better.
http://www.yellowandblack.info
25 Nov 2005, 19:53
greg miller has also invited yellow and black .info to be part of the rookie fundrasing those interested can go there to get involved as well.its not just a pre thing as they would have you believe.
http://www.yellowandblack.info
your a ****************, try reading their website it clealr says this is joint effort by all tiger supporters and members and not just PRE. I will give $500 to the rookie fund if yellowandblack.info could raise more money than PRE has.
its not just a pre thing as they would have you believ
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:01
your a ****************, try reading their website it clealr says this is joint effort by all tiger supporters and members and not just PRE. I will give $500 to the rookie fund if yellowandblack.info could raise more money than PRE has.
it doesnt matter who made it up, its for the good of the club, my first post was jsut expression my hatred for the admin of PRE for a few other reasons. but i would deffinantly donate money if i had the money to donate
BalmyArmy
25 Nov 2005, 20:06
it doesnt matter who made it up, its for the good of the club, my first post was jsut expression my hatred for the admin of PRE for a few other reasons. but i would deffinantly donate money if i had the money to donate
Well you dont have the money so don't voice your opinion against those that are donating. At least they are helping the club. Are you aware you can donate less than $66.00. Bloody hell, even $10.00 would help.
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:17
Well you dont have the money so don't voice your opinion against those that are donating. At least they are helping the club. Are you aware you can donate less than $66.00. Bloody hell, even $10.00 would help.
im not baggin that is donating and jeez i wish i could get 10 dollars just to spend onmyself but sorry i cant FFS some of you guys are absolute ****************s thinking us younger ones can afford this and then if we cant u bag me for it you ********ing moron
25 Nov 2005, 20:21
Yeh fair enough, i mean obviously if you dont have the money you cant donate
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:26
Yeh fair enough, i mean obviously if you dont have the money you cant donate
yeh exactly mate, some people jsut expect you to donate money even if you dont have the money and if u dont donate your not a true supporter :rolleyes: , but yeh it is a good for the club however you would wanna hope this rookie makes it or else alot of these people will be angry about donating money for nothing
BalmyArmy
25 Nov 2005, 20:33
im not baggin that is donating and jeez i wish i could get 10 dollars just to spend onmyself but sorry i cant FFS some of you guys are absolute ****************s thinking us younger ones can afford this and then if we cant u bag me for it you ********ing moron
At least this *******ing moron as you so maturely put it, is helping out.
You should shut up right now, because until you can afford to help, dont slag off those who are chipping in. Whatever your grief with PRE, dont take out your angst on this topic. This isn't a case of Bigfooty V PRE V Yellow and Black. It's all for the same cause. No one is coming on here and gloating that it started on pre. Claw simply came onto here to make those who despise PRE and dont read over there, aware of the situation with regards to RFC and the rookie. If you feel that you need to vent your anger in this thread, then you are very very sad.
25 Nov 2005, 20:35
yeh exactly mate, some people jsut expect you to donate money even if you dont have the money and if u dont donate your not a true supporter :rolleyes: , but yeh it is a good for the club however you would wanna hope this rookie makes it or else alot of these people will be angry about donating money for nothing
I wonder how they know what rookie is theres, i think we are taking 4 and 1 will be payed for by all the donation but i woner if he will be the first one selected or the last one selected or just the best one
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:35
At least this *******ing moron as you so maturely put it, is helping out.
You should shut up right now, because until you can afford to help, dont slag off those who are chipping in. Whatever your grief with PRE, dont take out your angst on this topic. This isn't a case of Bigfooty V PRE V Yellow and Black. It's all for the same cause. No one is coming on here and gloating that it started on pre. Claw simply came onto here to make those who despise PRE and dont read over there, aware of the situation with regards to RFC and the rookie. If you feel that you need to vent your anger in this thread, then you are very very sad.
OMFG how can you be that stupid, read back not look and the post you first quoted from me i said its a good idea etc etc and not once did i bag anyone and then you accuse me of bagging people who are trying to help and saying i have no right of opinion because i dont have enough money to donate, and i havent vented any anger except against you because you say i have no right to express my opinion now that is very very sad
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:37
I wonder how they know what rookie is theres, i think we are taking 4 and 1 will be payed for by all the donation but i woner if he will be the first one selected or the last one selected or just the best one
i dont know there will probably be one which they will get to write letters to etc
BalmyArmy
25 Nov 2005, 20:37
Case 1. Your opening post on this thread.
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:39
Case 1. Your opening post on this thread.
ohh but read on when i changed what i said after reading what other people said FFS if your gunna take a peice liek that out read everything i said and get a proper opinion of it, i said that before the link came up and before the yellow and black info came into it
BalmyArmy
25 Nov 2005, 20:42
And here you go again.
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 20:45
And here you go again.
and if you read it PROPERLY it says ITS GOOD FOR THE CLUB. I WOUDL DONATE IF I COULD, and yes it says i dont like the admin from pre but hwo does that mean im baggin everyone who is donating
BalmyArmy
25 Nov 2005, 21:01
Once again, I'll show you this post of yours. I post on PRE, as does Claw, and you call us bigheaded pricks. To me, and correct me if I'm wrong, but that is a form of bagging. This was your first post. Yeah, once you realised you had egg on your face you back-tracked and said it was for the good of the club....
You then continued to say that the only one with the balls to approach RFC would be Phantom, when it actually was Rosy, after Claw made the initial proposal. Richmond had already had a similar suggestion by the coeterie club and GM decided to merge them together. It then became a public matter on the RFC website and in the media.
I would quit while you think you are ahead, because you did attack pre posters when the relevance of pre has NOTHING to do with this, and as far as your non donation goes, well I hope one day when you're are older you can help the club out like others, no matter what bloody forum you choose to post in.
jackson_rules
25 Nov 2005, 21:15
Once again, I'll show you this post of yours. I post on PRE, as does Claw, and you call us bigheaded pricks. To me, and correct me if I'm wrong, but that is a form of bagging. This was your first post. Yeah, once you realised you had egg on your face you back-tracked and said it was for the good of the club....
You then continued to say that the only one with the balls to approach RFC would be Phantom, when it actually was Rosy, after Claw made the initial proposal. Richmond had already had a similar suggestion by the coeterie club and GM decided to merge them together. It then became a public matter on the RFC website and in the media.
I would quit while you think you are ahead, because you did attack pre posters when the relevance of pre has NOTHING to do with this, and as far as your non donation goes, well I hope one day when you're are older you can help the club out like others, no matter what bloody forum you choose to post in.
ok it was of my opinion that phantom was the only one with the balls to actually go to the club, but yes i really am attacking all pre posters coz i was wrong on that you ********ign w@nker, and you think i havent already helped the club before im sorry but you are proving to be that bigheaded prick i described in my first post, but at least i was able to admit i was wrong with something i said earlier even tho u still tried using it against me. seriously mate what is your problem??
meltiger
26 Nov 2005, 00:05
ok it was of my opinion that phantom was the only one with the balls to actually go to the club, but yes i really am attacking all pre posters coz i was wrong on that you ********ign w@nker, and you think i havent already helped the club before im sorry but you are proving to be that bigheaded prick i described in my first post, but at least i was able to admit i was wrong with something i said earlier even tho u still tried using it against me. seriously mate what is your problem??
JR, You have been a bit harsh on some of the posters ... For the record, I post at Pre, and personally, I don't understand why anyone would let their distaste for a person get in the way of discussion of our club, or for that matter, why people would say they will donate if one website can raise more than another.
For christs sake, the idea is to help the clubs future, it's not a ********ing match between websites.
I may disagree with Claw on many, many of his views on the club, especially the off field staff, but this is a fantastic idea he and the other guys came up with.
jackson_rules - I hate PRE as much as anyone, so I can make the unbiased comment that you're being a complete f'ing tool
A coterie group had already approached Greg Miller in regards to fundraising to draft an additional rookie. They will be paying for one rookie and then the idea from claw from PRE had to be taken public, as they weren't able to raise enough by themselves for the 2nd additional rookie.
So credit where credit is due, the webpage that Richmond has put online is from the PRE concept.
metallichris
26 Nov 2005, 18:22
With the way you've been crying over on PRE about O-N, you should stay there and not let any negative vibes infect the good mood that this board is in. We are rapt with our selections and looking at the future optimistically.
meltiger
26 Nov 2005, 18:50
With the way you've been crying over on PRE about O-N, you should stay there and not let any negative vibes infect the good mood that this board is in. We are rapt with our selections and looking at the future optimistically.
Santa is always negative :)
As much as I don't agree with him ... He is entitled to his view mate.
metallichris
26 Nov 2005, 21:01
As much as I don't agree with him ... He is entitled to his view mate.
Understand that, but I don't like his view. :)
santa claws
26 Nov 2005, 21:16
Understand that, but I don't like his view. :)
having seen jon play i have concerns where we took him in the draft.he has speed and good skills.the downside is he doesnt find much of the ball is very skinny and plays very much as a reciever.so yes i think we should of waited on this kid and hoped he was still there at pick 24.all this is only my opinion but i would of thought all supporters would want to know his weaknesses as well as his strengths.
having said all this i will gladly support the kid until such time he shows he is not up to standard which wont happen.
anyway while ive got your attention are you going to donate to the rookie scheme.
santa claws
26 Nov 2005, 21:18
i forgot to ask what good vibes all you guys do is abuse each other most of the time.
metallichris
26 Nov 2005, 21:36
having seen jon play i have concerns where we took him in the draft.he has speed and good skills.the downside is he doesnt find much of the ball is very skinny and plays very much as a reciever.so yes i think we should of waited on this kid and hoped he was still there at pick 24.all this is only my opinion but i would of thought all supporters would want to know his weaknesses as well as his strengths.
having said all this i will gladly support the kid until such time he shows he is not up to standard which wont happen.
anyway while ive got your attention are you going to donate to the rookie scheme.
Understand where you're coming from, but a pacey, skilled receiver was exactly what Wallace wanted and what our team needed, because we have our ball-winning division in Coughlan, Tuck, Johnson and the future of Foley and Polo. We lack classy skilled and paced players to run and carry the ball according to Wallace's gameplan. And your about his taken number, we that was compensated by Huges going much later than expected.
And considering the Rookie scheme, I am 16 and yet to obtain a part-time job, so I can't really fork out anything. Rest assured, had I the money, I would definitely donate to help out the club.
i forgot to ask what good vibes all you guys do is abuse each other most of the time.
Not today. :)
wez10000
26 Nov 2005, 21:37
Ive got alot of stuff to pay for in the next couple of months like AFL Membership and a Share in the Sponsorship of a RFC Player on Y&B but yes i will try and come up with the $66 just so i can kick everybodys arse in the Tipping Comp :D (And Help Out RFC To Get A Rookie:thumbsu: ) .
tigerforever
27 Nov 2005, 09:39
jackson_rules - I hate PRE as much as anyone, so I can make the unbiased comment that you're being a complete f'ing tool
A coterie group had already approached Greg Miller in regards to fundraising to draft an additional rookie. They will be paying for one rookie and then the idea from claw from PRE had to be taken public, as they weren't able to raise enough by themselves for the 2nd additional rookie.
So credit where credit is due, the webpage that Richmond has put online is from the PRE concept.
i dont post here often but felt i had too.i have had my issues with pre but jackson you are an idiot.credit where credits due soneone on pre think it was either claw or cc came up with the idea and for that they should be applauded.i for one regardless of past issues with pre congratulate them for this inititive and there passion for the rfc.
PRE = W$^&%*s!
Hey u know the saying two wrongs dont make a right, well in their case its many wrongs dont make a right!
Their shenanigans of last year still leave a very bitter taste, rookie ideas or not.
I dont care what any of you think about my post, I hate that website and I detest their administrator and a few others. This is BigFooty NOT pre, you want to mention that site then post on that site. Finite!
TigerBabe
27 Nov 2005, 14:31
This is a great initiative and I don't care who initiated it. I read all boards PRE Yellow and Black and also Big footy. I don't post a lot, but I really don't see the issues you have with one another. They are all the same as far as I can see. Probably more darksiders on PRE than any other board, but their comments always make interesting reading. I don't often agree with Claw but he offers another point of view and he is entitled to that and I respect his opinion. This initiative is fantastic and to RFC's credit they ran with the ball and now we will all benefit. I have committed and I hope to read all about the ins and outs of the life of a young rookie. :thumbsu:
jackson_rules
27 Nov 2005, 17:23
i dont post here often but felt i had too.i have had my issues with pre but jackson you are an idiot.credit where credits due soneone on pre think it was either claw or cc came up with the idea and for that they should be applauded.i for one regardless of past issues with pre congratulate them for this inititive and there passion for the rfc.
yes please read all my posts then **************** because not once did i say its a bad idea or whatever FFS ******** off if your gunna not read the whole thing before posting
For starters ...
I find it ignorant and stupid for people to make "Assumptions" as to what people do or don`t do as regards supporting our football team .
Anyone who says to me or the bulk of the other punters around here ... "Put your money where your mouth is" can just F..k Off as far as i am concerned .
This is an internet chatroom FFS and for people to make judgements purely on people on what they do and say in here is niave`
I think this whole PRE Rookie thing is just a crock of schit anyway . Born purely out of certain peoples egos and thier burning desires to have thier moniker in the tabloids ..... not out of genuine love for our football club and it`s betterment .
AFL clubs run on an annual turnover of over 40 million dollars a year and i think it is a joke that after we buy our memberships that we feel "obligated" to to chip in further for what is something that if the club was run properly in the first place there would be absolutely no need for in the first place .
$40,000 is 0.1% of the clubs annual turnover and it is a joke .
The only reason someone from PRE is coming on here asking for our help is because the well has dried up over there and they have barely raised one quarter of what is needed .
Instead of coming over here and making very subtle barbs at us and asking for our help , why don`t these high minded people who are so "dedicated" to the yellow and black get of thier own @rses and actually do something about fundraising that extends beyond begging fellow grass roots supporters to chip in more of thier hard earned .
jackson_rules
27 Nov 2005, 20:59
For starters ...
I find it ignorant and stupid for people to make "Assumptions" as to what people do or don`t do as regards supporting our football team .
Anyone who says to me or the bulk of the other punters around here ... "Put your money where your mouth is" can just F..k Off as far as i am concerned .
This is an internet chatroom FFS and for people to make judgements purely on people on what they do and say in here is niave`
I think this whole PRE Rookie thing is just a crock of schit anyway . Born purely out of certain peoples egos and thier burning desires to have thier moniker in the tabloids ..... not out of genuine love for our football club and it`s betterment .
AFL clubs run on an annual turnover of over 40 million dollars a year and i think it is a joke that after we buy our memberships that we feel "obligated" to to chip in further for what is something that if the club was run properly in the first place there would be absolutely no need for in the first place .
The only reason someone from PRE is coming on here asking for our help is because the well has dried up over there and they have barely raised one quarter of what is needed .
Instead of coming over here and making very subtle barbs at us and asking for our help , why don`t these high minded people who are so "dedicated" to the yellow and black get of thier own @rses and actually do something about fundraising that extends beyond begging fellow grass roots supporters to chip in more of thier hard earned .
i will give you ten minutes before everyone bags you for that:o
For starters ...
Well said IDGAF. Why not just use the current avenues in place - e.g. buying extra memberships, the Jack Dyer Foundation - and make a donation that the club can choose what to do with?
Having said that, if you are travelling along the Princes Highway and tomato sauce on your pie now sets you back 20c, you know where the money is going.
hotdogandsauce
27 Nov 2005, 21:45
For starters ...
as a member of this football club for over 20 years...and having donated substancially to this rookie fundraiser i take offence from a fellow richmond supporter having a dig at the people who have generously given their hard earned cash to get the club moving in the right direction....
there are several coterie groups working on this also...these are proud and passionate supporters of this club that give their time throughout the year free of charge i might add....so just a little tip WE are getting off our asses as you so put it and WE do it all year round....:mad:
as a member of this football club for over 20 years...and having donated substancially to this rookie fundraiser i take offence from a fellow richmond supporter having a dig at the people who have generously given their hard earned cash to get the club moving in the right direction....
there are several coterie groups working on this also...these are proud and passionate supporters of this club that give their time throughout the year free of charge i might add....so just a little tip WE are getting off our asses as you so put it and WE do it all year round....:mad:
And how presumptuous you are to assume we don't. You just keep on telling everyone how wonderful you are and we'll keep on doing what we do without stroking ourselves!
White Czar
27 Nov 2005, 22:55
Does anyone actully know how many rookies we are already sposed to be getting and this 'challenge' is to get an extra rookie?
For example is this to get our one and only rookie or does the club plan on getting two and we are trying to raise the dosh to get our 3rd?
there are several coterie groups working on this also...these are proud and passionate supporters of this club that give their time throughout the year free of charge i might add....so just a little tip WE are getting off our asses as you so put it and WE do it all year round....:mad:Settle down Hotdog
Not once in my post did i mention the word "coterie"
LarryLong
28 Nov 2005, 08:11
Hear hear.
You've got $66 burning a hole in your pocket? Give it to underprivileged children, homeless people or disaster relief instead of this ridiculous joke.
Buy Richmond a rookie? Geez, how low has the club sunk?
P.S, I'm probably the only person on this board who neither reads, nor hates PRE. I've just always had a problem with an organisation that turns over $40 million trying to sucker money out of people who earn less than most of its employees.
True Thylacine
28 Nov 2005, 08:57
P.S, I'm probably the only person on this board who neither reads, nor hates PRE.
Nope theres 2 of us. I dislike knocking anyone supporting Richmond footy club in any capacity, particualrly if I am not well informed, which I'm not. I think its great that people are helping the club and donating some hard earned kanga but I would much prefer to see a more sustainable strategy. What do we do next year and the year after? I would have thought that supporters were already voting with their wallets and would not be a very consistent group from which to draw extra cash. One-off for sure but lots of effort for not exactly a bumper or long term guaranteed return.
If the rumours were correct about the bevy of potential corporate sponsors after the TAC incident then perhaps there is room for another? Where are we with Mr Crazy John or has that died a natural death?
hotdogandsauce
28 Nov 2005, 20:33
And how presumptuous you are to assume we don't. You just keep on telling everyone how wonderful you are and we'll keep on doing what we do without stroking ourselves!
just as you might well be presumtous to assume that some people are doing this too stroke their own ego...how about you meet at the first home game and come and meet some of the hard working people behind the scenes at the RFC.... as they say many hands make light work....
hotdogandsauce
28 Nov 2005, 20:37
Settle down Hotdog
Not once in my post did i mention the word "coterie"
the reason the word coterie is in my post is because it is not only PRE raising funds but the coterie groups are also fundraising as they do every year...
hotdogandsauce
28 Nov 2005, 20:42
and what do you do?
santa claws
28 Nov 2005, 20:46
For starters ...
what an insecure little twerp you must be.whos made assumptions no one.whos useing barbs no one and whos making judgements no one,if i didnt know better id say you were suffering from paranoia.wait a minute i dont know any better.
all i have done is throw down a challenge to big footy tiger supporters to help raise enough money for the club to get a rookie.not pre the club.but i suppose with a gutter like intellect like yours thats to hard to for you understand.
the reason people were asked to put their money where their mouths are is because a similar thread was started on this board and it degenerated into how well posters over here ******** off which doesnt surprise me with posters like you.
to say the scheme is a crock of ******** is small minded in the extreme.and to say people are attention seeking or have a desire to get their moniker in the papers and dont have a genuine love of the club well that just shows how stupid you really must be.
lastly i plead to all tiger supporters on bf no i get down on my knees and beg you please donate to a rookie if you can afford to dont be like the above narrow minded simpleton.
what an insecure little twerp you must be.whos made assumptions no one.whos useing barbs no one and whos making judgements no one,I would say telling people ...."Put your money where your mouth is " is an assumption when you have know idea what people are already contributing to the club , hence it would be a barb if people were doing the afformentioned .
But hey , you would not know because we aint running around telling everyone about it .
There is a fair swathe of people on BF who post here because YOUR website is run by right wing fascists who ban people for having an opinion which may stray from that of the Administrators .
People can post an opinion on BF without fear of retrebution .
So forgive us for not falling over ourselves with community-mindedness over your scheme . If that is how you and your mates want to spend your time over @ PRE then knock yourselves out and good luck , but personally i think this plan lacks a proper game plan and direction ( as better illustrated by True Thylacine ) .
You may have gained a little more respect also if you had already been an active member of BF instead of joining up for this purpose only .
BalmyArmy
29 Nov 2005, 06:45
Yeah, good one knob head. I'm donating money to Richmond Football Club so PRE makes the tabloids...:rolleyes:
The club hasn't been run properly in the past. That is obvious. It is now getting back to where it should be as a club, but please inform me of a club that doesn't get assisstance from members groups, supporters etc...
So are you going to contribute? We're skint like you said, and we're begging for your assisstance.
I would like you to re-read Claws first post, then scroll down and read Jackson Rules post. Now, tell me who instigated the bagging.
I think the idea is great for the club, no matter who thought of it, and I am happy to contribute.
Fishfinger
29 Nov 2005, 08:53
Jezza posted the link on p1. Here it is again:
https://web.richmondfc.com.au/richmond-rookie.htm
A great idea from Hayden Hill, RFC's IT expert, to utilise the club's internal intranet website so that all Richmond fans who subscribe to the "Richmond Rookie Club" get access to a special section of the site for their exclusive use.
"For $66 (inc GST), here are just a few of the features you will be able to access:
* Your chosen rookies "diary at an AFL Club" for his first full 12 months at Tigerland
* Corporate Business Directory
* Coterie/Member Forums
* Online Calendar where Coterie Members can see training times, upcoming events and player birthdays
* Access to Prowess Statistics direct from the match committee
* Latest News inside the Coterie Groups and the Club
* Entry into an online tipping contest where you will compete against Terry Wallace and Greg Miller, along with other members of the site. This contest will be for a first prize of "A Day at the Footy You Will Never Forget" including being with the team in the lead up, watching the game from the coaches box and a $1000 spending money. Tipping results and rankings will be available on the website each Monday."
I wonder how they know what rookie is theres, i think we are taking 4 and 1 will be payed for by all the donation but i woner if he will be the first one selected or the last one selected or just the best oneFirst round rookie.
* Your chosen rookies "diary at an AFL Club" for his first full 12 months at Tigerland
* Corporate Business Directory
* Coterie/Member Forums
* Online Calendar where Coterie Members can see training times, upcoming events and player birthdays
* Access to Prowess Statistics direct from the match committee
* Latest News inside the Coterie Groups and the Club
* Entry into an online tipping contest where you will compete against
..... and i find that obscene in itself
To bad for students and low income earners who genuinely may not be able to fork out that much .
Ill concieved
29 Nov 2005, 09:24
Does anyone actully know how many rookies we are already sposed to be getting and this 'challenge' is to get an extra rookie?
For example is this to get our one and only rookie or does the club plan on getting two and we are trying to raise the dosh to get our 3rd?
I think we plan on getting 3 and we are raising for the 4th
Fishfinger
29 Nov 2005, 09:50
..... and i find that obscene in itself
To bad for students and low income earners who genuinely may not be able to fork out that much .
Ill concievedI can't afford to fork out what it costs to be a member of a coterie group. The thought of it being 'ill conceived' or finding it 'obscene' because I can't afford it wouldn't ever have crossed my mind though. I'm struggling to fathom your stance on this.
This is an opportunity for some supporters who may not have the means to join a coterie club, but would like to help the club out a bit financially, to do so. I think it's a great idea.
I can't afford to fork out what it costs to be a member of a coterie group. The thought of it being 'ill conceived' or finding it 'obscene' because I can't afford it wouldn't ever have crossed my mind though. I'm struggling to fathom your stance on this.
This is an opportunity for some supporters who may not have the means to join a coterie club, but would like to help the club out a bit financially, to do so. I think it's a great idea.Fair enough FF
The misconception here is probably that i am only pointing the finger at a very small minority but the vast population is being tainted .
My "problem" is a politically based one , not with grass roots supporters who genuinely want to contribute
CoggaRules
29 Nov 2005, 11:55
Hear hear.
You've got $66 burning a hole in your pocket? Give it to underprivileged children, homeless people or disaster relief instead of this ridiculous joke.
Buy Richmond a rookie? Geez, how low has the club sunk?
P.S, I'm probably the only person on this board who neither reads, nor hates PRE. I've just always had a problem with an organisation that turns over $40 million trying to sucker money out of people who earn less than most of its employees.
spot on there LL, imagine if all the employees who are employed to make the club successful offered a 0.5% cut to their salaries. Kind of think that would just about get the required funds, for a chance at success that they are employed to attain for the club huh? ;)
CoggaRules
29 Nov 2005, 12:16
that is what coterie groups are for my man. It isnt any different to any other club, you get the people that can afford it to chip in more, and you reward them with the best seats in the house and a nice chardonnay and lunch, while other less passionate and proud sit in the outer, freezing their asses off, having paid their memberships and multiple ones as well for just as long as you.
What were we to expect? that those proud and passionate coterie members, as you suggested, were going to send an invoice to the club for their time? you might add? really? you just had to add that for what? so we can bow to the "most proud and passionate" as you file into the restaurant and back to your cushy seats?
Get real ;)
pettiness what the hell bought that on.all ive asked is people donate to the rookie fund. and im glad to see you have.
yes i to think its a good idea and who ever thought it up is a bloody genius ;)
and lastly with a 4 million dollar debt we may well have to dig into our pockets again next yr.
That why we buy memberships
White Czar
29 Nov 2005, 16:28
That why we buy memberships
So you don't have to pay to get in every game and save money over the course of the year.
Fair point raised really. If you have a spare $100 or so go give it to a charity.
For starters ...
Spot on big man. Give us value for our memberships before you come asking for money
And I want every dollar in salary we paid Danny Frawley returned to the members
[QUOTE=White Czar]Post deleted
point has been made
My schit should not necessarily become other peoples schit
jackson_rules
29 Nov 2005, 16:48
Exactly ( as already raised by a number of posters )
Hey tiger legend , Balmy etc ...
Absolutley RALMMFAROOOOOOOOOOOOOOO @ your little shop of insecurities over there at PRE
LOOK AT ME , LOOK AT ME
Quote from Romerta or Rosemerita or whatever patronising , quaint little Nicknames you sicophants like to give her
"Other people are trying to take credit for this but this has always largely been a PRE innitiative "
Not about ego`s hey ;)
Game set and match
You guys keep on stroking yourselves over there , and seriously , good luck with it all , hope you get yourselves that extra kid and even more so hope he turns out to be another forcefield or Foley .... but don`t kid yourselves any further as to what this is all about
come on beaver this has jsut proved my initial point mate, still wanna say im wrong;)
Fishfinger
30 Nov 2005, 00:35
asking people to put their money where their mouth is is a challenge
I reckon this is the wrong way to go about promoting what is a good initiative.
If you don't want to or can't be a part of it, you shouldn't be made to feel you are somehow less of a supporter because it's not the case. The same with buying memberships.
I like the way the RFC is promoting the rookie club.:thumbsu:
I reckon this is the wrong way to go about promoting what is a good initiative.
If you don't want to or can't be a part of it, you shouldn't be made to feel you are somehow less of a supporter because it's not the case. The same with buying memberships.
I like the way the RFC is promoting the rookie club.:thumbsu:And we find common ground FF
Respect :thumbsu:
and lastly ive been a big footy member for yrs under another name.Lets start by asking how come you lacked the intestinal fortitude to start this thread under your true BF indentity ?
Okay guys/gals of both Pro PRE and Anti PRE sides
Let keep this on topic , the thread was started on the rookie fund raising lets leave it there with discussions on that topic.
We are all starting to get a little heated and I dont want to lock down this thread We all have our reasons one way or the other to do with PRE, but lets just leave this blood letting be.
Thanks from the mods
Khan
Punt_Road_Roar
30 Nov 2005, 14:31
I'll put my money where my mouth is every bloody year and thats forking out a membership to our club I usually only see play live once a year.
You can stick your rookie donation up your cake hole because its obvious to me thats where your mouth is.
:mad:
True Thylacine
30 Nov 2005, 14:49
I'll put my money where my mouth is every bloody year and thats forking out a membership to our club I usually only see play live once a year.
You can stick your rookie donation up your cake hole because its obvious to me thats where your mouth is.
:mad:
May I add...with the exception of next year...thats one more game a year than I ever get for my membership! Will never be a reason not to be a member though. Passion isnt about how much money its about how much heart.
I just can't understand why people have anything negative to say about this initiative. We have sucked financially for too long and it's affected our playing list by denying us the opportunity to draft more rookies. If there are people out there that are able and willing to contribute more money to the cause then fantastic, I know I have because I had the cash available. If you don't have the money, then fine, don't contribute, nobody will have anything negative to say about you.
I only go to see games maybe 2 or 3 times a year but am happy to help the club by buying a membership, buying raffle tickets, contributing towards another rookie, contributing towards player sponsorship on another site, I do it because I have the money available and want to help out.
True Thylacine
30 Nov 2005, 15:04
I just can't understand why people have anything negative to say about this initiative. We have sucked financially for too long and it's affected our playing list by denying us the opportunity to draft more rookies. If there are people out there that are able and willing to contribute more money to the cause then fantastic, I know I have because I had the cash available. If you don't have the money, then fine, don't contribute, nobody will have anything negative to say about you.
I only go to see games maybe 2 or 3 times a year but am happy to help the club by buying a membership, buying raffle tickets, contributing towards another rookie, contributing towards player sponsorship on another site, I do it because I have the money available and want to help out.
Couldnt agree more jezza. I think the negative vibes stemmed from someone expressing the notion that those who were not in a position to afford to were somehow lesser supporters as a result.
Let's not have a thread about who is the better fan. We all know how they end.
Group hug everyone or I'll get your mums to take to you with the wooden spoon.
Fishfinger
30 Nov 2005, 21:34
Group hug everyone or I'll get your mums to take to you with the wooden spoon.
If Carlton will give the mums a lend of it.:D
jackson_rules
30 Nov 2005, 21:45
i agree 100% but when some ********er says i have no right to an opinion on the tigers because i dont hvae a spare 10 bucks lieing around then of course im going to get negative
BalmyArmy
1 Dec 2005, 08:20
i agree 100% but when some ********er says i have no right to an opinion on the tigers because i dont hvae a spare 10 bucks lieing around then of course im going to get negative
I'm not saying you dont have a right to your say about the Tigers. On the contrary, I believe it's good that you have your view and say on the Tigers. My argument was, you put down this concept from your very first post, due to the fact that someone from PRE started this thread.
Therefore, I dont believe you have the right to dismiss people, as you do, just because they are trying to help the club. Your argument had nothing to do with the rookie system. It was purely based on pre hatred. If you dont want to contribute, or cant afford to, then fine, but dont have a go at others who can and will contribute, regardless of where their from.
meltiger
1 Dec 2005, 08:45
That's what people are attacking you for JR.
Give credit where it's due ... this was a PRE initiative. I am not alligned with any site and read this one, PRE and Yellow and Black Info ... But this was a PRE idea.
meltiger
1 Dec 2005, 09:21
Back on Topic Please
Don't you think the thread should have been moderated from the beginning of Jackson's little rant which was completly off topic? ie: Playing out a personal agenda - As opposed to when people have attacked him?
The Mods like to give posters the benefit of the doubt and a bit of leeway. In return all we ask is that when we ask nicely for people to let a thread die that they respect our approach.
We don't want to get into banning people, deleting posts and getting all OTT.
To their credit the posters who we have asked to let this one go have been good to their word which is appreciated.
Meltiger
We (the mods) arent online all the time however in the last two days both weaver and myself have made pleas to get this thread back on topic.
The original topic that I beleive is important, and even though some threads got a mite personel there are valid posts in amonst it. I really dont want to close this down, howvever I dont have the time to edit or adjust individual posts. So letting it die a natural death is our approach.
Meltiger, my comment was not raised at you but at the whole thread.
Keep Roaring
Khan
meltiger
1 Dec 2005, 09:47
Meltiger, my comment was not raised at you but at the whole thread.
If that is the case Khan, then fair enough I can accept that :)
I appreciate the comments of both yourself and Weaver.
BalmyArmy
1 Dec 2005, 09:48
Even though I am going to contribute regrdless, this is my biggest question. I still have had no concrete answer to the above mentioned.
Can we kill this thread. I don't care much for PRE, the pie van bogan or the little PRE henchmen and the mere reminder of their presence makes me want to vomit.
meltiger
1 Dec 2005, 10:01
Even though I am going to contribute regrdless, this is my biggest question. I still have had no concrete answer to the above mentioned.
You will obviously know who the rookie is ... 'The rookies personal diary of his first year at Richmond'
Sorry, if you pay the $66 to get access to the website, as opposed to a smaller donation that won't get you access (THAT was the clubs idea mind you)
BalmyArmy
1 Dec 2005, 11:40
Can we kill this thread. I don't care much for PRE, the pie van bogan or the little PRE henchmen and the mere reminder of their presence makes me want to vomit.
Hi Jake.....:p
jackson_rules
1 Dec 2005, 11:43
Hi Jake.....:p
hi balmyArmy, lets not hate each other over this little arguement i think we jsut didnt come accross to each other properly:)
BalmyArmy
1 Dec 2005, 12:00
No worries. Water under the bridge.
balmy
santa claws
29 Jan 2006, 12:18
as i expected this thread degenerated into gibberish. no wonder only a handful of richmond people post here when such simpleminded vindictive morons are allowed to conduct personal attacks at every opportunity they get.just about every thread degenerates into foul mouthed gibberish that clearly keeps many tiger supporters away.
khan and weaver get of your asses and do your jobs properly and at least attempt to make this site a place where all supporters are happy to come.
as i expected this thread degenerated into gibberish. no wonder only a handful of richmond people post here when such simpleminded vindictive morons are allowed to conduct personal attacks at every opportunity they get.just about every thread degenerates into foul mouthed gibberish that clearly keeps many tiger supporters away.
khan and weaver get of your asses and do your jobs properly and at least attempt to make this site a place where all supporters are happy to come.
Hmmmmm, sounds familiar. :D
Just leave it. Loyalty for one website over another has to rate as close to the most pathetic thing ever.
Time and time again the mods have said PRE is not a topic for discussion. Only because we get these lame threads littering the board and ruining an otherwise lively footy discussion.
How many times do people want to be warned?
jackson_rules
29 Jan 2006, 18:06
Just leave it. Loyalty for one website over another has to rate as close to the most pathetic thing ever.
Time and time again the mods have said PRE is not a topic for discussion. Only because we get these lame threads littering the board and ruining an otherwise lively footy discussion.
How many times do people want to be warned?
what did you do to my post weaver... i think i have the right to defend myself when a freind sends me a link from pre where im being accussed of trolling those boards when i have been registered there in over 12 months:mad:
This thread has now been closed to allow it to die a natural death. Until it was recently bought back to the top it was long forgotten on the 1'st of December. Resurecting dead threads and not providing any interesting or new insights may be considered trolling and hence that thread will be closed.
Both Weaver and myself want to keep this board as open as possible please dont force our hands.
Khan