View Full Version : DRAFT - Our picks here!!

sante
26 Nov 2005, 08:23
I'll post our picks as they happen :)

Go Tiges.

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2005, 09:08
Jarred Oakley-Nicholls - Pick Number 8
(East Perth), 9 February 1988, 188.1cm, 75.2kg

"A genuine wingman with real flair. Kicks the ball well, has some tricks and pace, and at 186cm has enough height that you can kick to him on the switch of play. Wide open spaces of Subi should suit. Freo need some extra dash through the middle and someone to kick to leading forwards. Again being a local boy won’t hurt. Ryder might be the other option for them to add depth to the forward line. Oakley-Nicholls’ flair will appeal to a rather pedestrian, workmanlike outfit." - Weaver

"Although he is right in the mix for Fremantle (No.10) and the Western Bulldogs (No.11), Oakley-Nicholls will also be closely monitored by Adelaide, Carlton (No.20) and Essendon. The Bombers are believed to have more than a passing interest and will be eager to inject pace into its midfield, which fits the bill with the talented ball-winner. Oakley-Nicholls played senior football for East Perth this year, while he represented Western Australia in the under-18 carnival. He was also named in the WAFL Colts team of the year. His sweeping ability across half-back is also a feature of his game, while he shone at the Draft Camp, when he was ranked first in agility (7.97 seconds) and second for speed (2.85 seconds) over 20 metres. McKinley, Varcoe, Calder's Richard Douglas and East Fremantle's Andrew Swallow will also be closely monitored by the Dons at this pick." - Matt Burgan

archibald
26 Nov 2005, 09:15
I was hoping for clarke but hyphen seems ok, but who knows at this early stage.

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2005, 09:21
Cleve Hughes - Pick Number 24
(Norwood), 15 January 1987, 191.9cm, 84.4kg

"Franklin shapes as more a mobile flanker, and Roughead probably a CHB. Hughes is more a genuine contester and corridor player who works hard to secure front position and mark in his hands. He and Tom Murphy in the key spots with Franklin playing off them looks a good future forward line. Hughes is not an eye-catcher, more a John Barker type who can create crumbs and do OK when the ball hits the deck. Good long kick. Brings running players into the game with handball – that ability probably suits him to CHF more than FF. What they do here would depend on whether they go or short at 3. If Kennedy falls to 3 they could take Swallow here. Hughes and Dowler are similar and both need gym work" - Weaver

Barx
26 Nov 2005, 09:21
I like Hughes - how he dropped to #24 is staggering.

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2005, 09:24
Yeah Barx, Weaver had him at number 6. Who's complaining? :D

sante
26 Nov 2005, 09:27
Very, very happy with Hughes at #24 :D

Barx
26 Nov 2005, 09:28
Also really like Oakley-Nicholls.

Just imagine Lids to Tambo to O-N...that WILL be an exciting passage of play to be repeated thousands of times over the next 10 years.

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2005, 09:31
Travis Casserley - Pick Number 40
(Swan Districts), 20 May 1987, 186cm, 76.2kg

"Shapes as a Subi special. Long striding, running wingman who likes to carry the ball and kick long. Needs to improve man on man work but looks the kind who would thrive in space and the Eagles have taken his type quite a lot in the past, store them away and bring them out in three years. Still very light and very much a receiver. Not too many pacy options left though. Kristian Thornton is another similar player, could look at either. Hard to call what the Eagles need so they will probably go best available all the way." - Weaver

Beep Test of 15.2 :D (Ranked second overall)

Coughlan
26 Nov 2005, 09:35
Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls
Details:
Club: East Perth
DOB: 9 Feb 88 Hgt: 186cm Wgt: 74kg
Position: Midfielder
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
Under 16 WA 2004
Under 18’s WA 2005
WAFL Colts Team of Year 2005
2005 AFL Draft Camp Invitee

Statistics:
U18 Championships 2005: 3 games, 1 goal, average 7.3 PPG

Draft Camp Results:
Agility 7.97 sec (1st)
20m sprint 2.85 sec (2nd)

Background:
Oakley Nichols has got all the attributes that a recruiting officer would look for - pace, skill, agility, height, athleticism and dedication. After the WAFL 16s carnival he would have been one of the first picked for the 16s team as he dominated some games playing ruck, full forward, wing, rover and centre half forward. He looked a class above and proved to be one of the hardest players to match up on. In the National 16s carnival he had a good but not awesome carnival as he did in the 18s this year. He played very well in colts level footy and held his own in senior football. His stakes have risen through out the year as more people have seen him, he could develop into a player that people pay money to watch, he plays an exciting brand of football and could be compared to a Robert Murphy type player. Impressed in the agility and 20m sprint tests at draft camp.

Strengths:
- Versatile
- Plays tall and small
- Good Leadership skills and commitment
- Played Senior football which is good considering his light frame

Weaknesses:
- Still pretty skinny may need a year or two in the weights room
- Has not shown full potential in national carnivals
- Has had shoulder and collarbone injuries in past

Footydraft.com comment:
Oozes potential and obviously recruiters have seen it too judging on his growing popularity and draft camp invitation. Is a strong chance to go top 20.

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2005, 09:38
Rix got picked up by St.Kilda.. Pick 49.

Coughlan
26 Nov 2005, 09:41
what a waste of a pick, VFL standard player only

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2005, 09:42
what a waste of a pick, VFL standard player only

I dont think so. Id rather him over Casey Green.

Coughlan
26 Nov 2005, 09:46
I dont think so. Id rather him over Casey Green.
Nah hes not tall enough or quick enough to play ruck or KPP

I Rock
26 Nov 2005, 09:52

Looks like they also feel they need another ready made tap ruckman.

Tigerbob
26 Nov 2005, 09:52
Im absolutely wrapt with the draft, and now have a clear indication of the way we are going in the future. Oakleigh-Nicholls along with Deledio and Tambling will burn up the surfaces, and the skill and flair levels are through the roof!!!

To get Cleve Hughes at pick 24 is shocking, im still stunned, with the run and gun game plan we are going to play, he is the perfect KPP for that kind of gamestyle! Leads extremely well and takes good contested grabs and feds the ball of well. Body needs a bit of work but im confident we have a very good KPP for the future!

Travis Casserly may suprise some but he was very highly thought of by Essendon, Collingwood and St.Kilda. He is good height, good pace, wonderful endurance and the main aspect, wonderful skill level. Our midfield now is sensational.

Coughlan
26 Nov 2005, 09:55
so im guessing we passed on our fourth pick

sante
26 Nov 2005, 09:55
Kangas got Kasey Green.

Its good to see we opted with pace again :thumbsu: Oakley - Nicholls does 20m in 2.85 seconds :). I saw Hughes on the Channel 7 news the other night and thought to myself 'Hope we draft him' and Casserly seems good too.
Hughes was rated much higher.

Interesting we haven't drafted anyone from VIC.

White Czar
26 Nov 2005, 10:40
Pretty happy with Cleve Hughes & Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls.

Travis Casserley could be a surpise. Seems a 'Wallace type'

:)

White Czar
26 Nov 2005, 10:43
http://www.footydraft.com/

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls
Details:
Club: East Perth
DOB: 9 Feb 88 Hgt: 186cm Wgt: 74kg

Honours:
Under 16 WA 2004
Under 18’s WA 2005
WAFL Colts Team of Year 2005
2005 AFL Draft Camp Invitee

Statistics:
U18 Championships 2005: 3 games, 1 goal, average 7.3 PPG

Draft Camp Results:
Agility 7.97 sec (1st)
20m sprint 2.85 sec (2nd)

Background:
Oakley Nichols has got all the attributes that a recruiting officer would look for - pace, skill, agility, height, athleticism and dedication. After the WAFL 16s carnival he would have been one of the first picked for the 16s team as he dominated some games playing ruck, full forward, wing, rover and centre half forward. He looked a class above and proved to be one of the hardest players to match up on. In the National 16s carnival he had a good but not awesome carnival as he did in the 18s this year. He played very well in colts level footy and held his own in senior football. His stakes have risen through out the year as more people have seen him, he could develop into a player that people pay money to watch, he plays an exciting brand of football and could be compared to a Robert Murphy type player. Impressed in the agility and 20m sprint tests at draft camp.

Strengths:
- Versatile
- Plays tall and small
- Good Leadership skills and commitment
- Played Senior football which is good considering his light frame

Weaknesses:
- Still pretty skinny may need a year or two in the weights room
- Has not shown full potential in national carnivals
- Has had shoulder and collarbone injuries in past

Footydraft.com comment:
Oozes potential and obviously recruiters have seen it too judging on his growing popularity and draft camp invitation. Is a strong chance to go top 20

Cleve Hughes
Details:
Club: Norwood
DOB: 15 January 1987 Hgt: 193cm Wgt: 85kg
Position: Forward

Honours:
2005 All Australian U18 - CHF
AFL Draft Camp 2005

Statistics:
2005 U18 National Championships: 3 games, 5 goals, average 10.7 PPG, average 7.3 MPG

Background:
Hughes made footy his primary focus this year after being involved in state junior cricket programs in the past (state U17 cricketer for SA in 2004) and really stepped up during this years U18 championships as one of the quality forwards on offer in this draft. With vice-like hands that cleanly one grab the ball virtually every time and a good work ethic that sees him present well from the forward line up the ground, it is little wonder clubs have shown such a keen interest. His average of 7.3 marks a game in the championships was terrific given the quality of opponents he had.

Strengths:
- Strong, one grab mark on the lead at pace as he presents well up the ground
- Good kick at goal, penetrating kick

Weaknesses:
- Still a bit of a wiry build/development time needed to improve physicality and body on body marking

Footydraft.com comment:
From all reports was on the radar well before the under 18 championships and he did nothing during that week to hurt his chances. Expected to be selected between six and fifteen.

Travis Casserley
Details:
Club: Swan Districts
DOB: 20 May 1987 Hgt: 184cm Wgt: 76kg

Honours:
WA Under 18 representative 2005
AFL draft camp 2005

Statistics:
2005 U18 Championships: 1 game, 1 goal, average 5.0 PPG

Draft Camp:
3km Run: 10.32 (8th)

Background:
Midfielder from Western Australia who presented well at draft camp in all the tests. Didn’t have a great championships but that doesn’t appear to have a negative impact on his prospects

Strengths:
- Speed
- Strong overhead
- Hard worker
- Presented himself well at draft camp

Weaknesses:
- Body Strength
- Not a great championships

Footy Draft verdict:
Some interest in him, probably going to need development time. Expect a bit of interest from the Swans with their picks in the 50s .

White Czar
26 Nov 2005, 11:01
Weaver mock draft
Originally Posted by Weaver

6. Cleve Hughes – Hawthorn
Franklin shapes as more a mobile flanker, and Roughead probably a CHB. Hughes is more a genuine contester and corridor player who works hard to secure front position and mark in his hands. He and Tom Murphy in the key spots with Franklin playing off them looks a good future forward line. Hughes is not an eye-catcher, more a John Barker type who can create crumbs and do OK when the ball hits the deck. Good long kick. Brings running players into the game with handball – that ability probably suits him to CHF more than FF. What they do here would depend on whether they go or short at 3. If Kennedy falls to 3 they could take Swallow here. Hughes and Dowler are similar and both need gym work.

10. Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls – Fremantle
A genuine wingman with real flair. Kicks the ball well, has some tricks and pace, and at 186cm has enough height that you can kick to him on the switch of play. Wide open spaces of Subi should suit. Freo need some extra dash through the middle and someone to kick to leading forwards. Again being a local boy won’t hurt. Ryder might be the other option for them to add depth to the forward line. Oakley-Nicholls’ flair will appeal to a rather pedestrian, workmanlike outfit.

34. Travis Casserley - West Coast
Shapes as a Subi special. Long striding, running wingman who likes to carry the ball and kick long. Needs to improve man on man work but looks the kind who would thrive in space and the Eagles have taken his type quite a lot in the past, store them away and bring them out in three years. Still very light and very much a receiver. Not too many pacy options left though. Kristian Thornton is another similar player, could look at either. Hard to call what the Eagles need so they will probably go best available all the way

Intersting threads:

Cleve Hughes
i - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=209168&highlight=Cleve+Hughes
ii - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=202138&highlight=Cleve+Hughes

Jarred Oakley Nichols
i - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=205511&highlight=Oakley-Nicholls
ii - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=204542&highlight=Oakley-Nicholls

kretchy
26 Nov 2005, 11:14
Happy to get Merv Hughes in the second round. And JON seems to have plenty of potential upside.

Greg Miller= Messiah
26 Nov 2005, 11:15
yeh pretty happy with those picks though i think we neeeded 2 pick up a defender but those players look good
Nice 2 have a hyphonator at the club:D

U2 Tigers
26 Nov 2005, 11:35
:confused: Just alittle confused.

I mean These players might turn into great players.

Happy to get hughes, and Casserly ? but surely we needed to get a key back in this draft.

O- Nicholls sounds a good player but at pick # 8 we needed a tallish back.

Drum would have been ideal, P . Bower might not have been a # 8 pick but thats the type of player we need.

The Tigers have an abundance of O- Nicholls players who aren't much older.

Our problem is down Back and is only going to get worse with the aging of Gasper, Kellaway.

I only hope we look at a S. Armstrong type in the PSD.

metallichris
26 Nov 2005, 11:37
Yes, I am also rapt with getting Hughes at 24. Weaver's word is to be trusted, and he rated him as pick 6, so can't complain at all. :) Also excited about Oakley-Nicholls, his pace and agility tests astound me. :eek:

metallichris
26 Nov 2005, 11:45

Happy to get hughes, and Casserly ? but surely we needed to get a key back in this draft.

Drum would have been ideal, P . Bower might not have been a # 8 pick but thats the type of player we need.

Our problem is down Back and is only going to get worse with the aging of Gasper, Kellaway.

I only hope we look at a S. Armstrong type in the PSD. So we have an abundance of highly skilled, highly paced with good height about him and good leadership skills? I didn't know we had more than one Brett Deledio. In my opinion, your first pick should be used to get the best player available. We found the key-forward we were after in Hughes, and our defense will hold up for atleast another year or two. We still have Schulz and Hall to provide assistance down back, and who knows? Maybe by the time Gaspar and Kellaway retire, Thursfield or someone may have already taken the next step. We will look to the Rookie Draft for any needs from here on in. Forget recycled players in the PSD. Not worth it.

Obelix
26 Nov 2005, 11:46

I suspect that the success of identifying Thursfield as a tall back in last years rookie draft will see us looking for tall backs in this year's one rather than using a pick in the ND.

The Dice Man
26 Nov 2005, 11:48
Oh well, who needs a backline anyway :o

metallichris
26 Nov 2005, 11:50
Cleve Hughes
i - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=209168&highlight=Cleve+Hughes
ii - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=202138&highlight=Cleve+Hughes

Jarred Oakley Nichols
i - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=205511&highlight=Oakley-Nicholls
ii - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=204542&highlight=Oakley-Nicholls Those threads are full or bickering and fighting between posters. Kind of annoying really. :D

Embers
26 Nov 2005, 11:50
You took a huge punt on Oakley Nicholls, no doubt in my mind he is the most talented player in the draft, but he is a bit injury prone and is a good chance of getting homesick.

If everything works out for you and him he will be the best player to come out of the draft, but dont be surprised to see him asking for a trade back home. Shocked at that pickup, really is a massive punt in the end.

White Czar
26 Nov 2005, 11:54

I think your pretty off the mark mate.

(Most of the time) You dont draft forward or backs, you draft KPP or midfeilders. Only the very best players will make it at AFL level as a CHF but you draft who you think is the best tall. At worst you hope they will not make it as a forward but become a solid CHB/FB/HFB.

I would have been more than happy with Cleve Hughes @ 8. Steal to get him 2nd round.

Boasting our midfeild stocks with Oakley-Nicholls & Travis Casserley, who sound very much like 'Wallace types' cannot be a bad thing. In the modern age of rotating you dont have 3 midfielders, you have 8-10 flankers who play though the guts.

Tigerbob
26 Nov 2005, 11:54

We have an abundance of lightning quick, skilled tallish midfielders with flair and creativity? Well, maybe I have watched the wrong Richmond team for the last 15 years!!

We snubbed the Bulldogs according to my very close source, they had him pencilled in at number 11 and Scott Clayton was only too happy to grab him, but we got in first. JO-N will add all those above qualities to the team.

Cleve Hughes to me is the bargain of the draft. To get him at pick 24 is unbelievable. He should have been top 15 easily. Great kick for goal.

Travis Casserly is a running machine and another close source of mine has said he was on our minds at pick 24, but when Hughes was available we decided on him instead, so to still get him at pick 40 is fantastic. Probably the best kick to a guy on the lead in the draft. I suspect he will play next year for us.

The only problem I saw is I had hoped we would have used pick 67 on Tom Riechbieth when we had the chance. I worry we take Michael Stevens now in the PSD when our need for pace is not needed no more. Tom adds some muscle and leadership abilities, aswell as great running ability to the squad.

My PSD & Rookie List wish list.

PSD.

Pick 5. Tom Rieschbieth

Rookie Draft.

Pick 5. Matt Seal
Pick 21. Ryan Jackson
Pick 37. Scott Meyer

White Czar
26 Nov 2005, 11:58
The only problem I saw is I had hoped we would have used pick 67 on Tom Riechbieth when we had the chance. I worry we take Michael Stevens now in the PSD when our need for pace is not needed no more. Tom adds some muscle and leadership abilities, aswell as great running ability to the squad.

My PSD & Rookie List wish list.

PSD.

Pick 5. Tom Rieschbieth

Rookie Draft.

Pick 5. Matt Seal
Pick 21. Ryan Jackson
Pick 37. Scott Meyer

Amen.

Weaver
26 Nov 2005, 12:09
Yes, I am also rapt with getting Hughes at 24. Weaver's word is to be trusted, and he rated him as pick 6, so can't complain at all. :) Also excited about Oakley-Nicholls, his pace and agility tests astound me. :eek:

Well I have nowhere to hide this year. I had both Oakley-Nicholls and Hughes as top-10 chances.

Oakley-Nicholls will be perfect for our game plan. He will love playing under the Wallace system where he can run and take risks and have fun. Not worried about him going home, far fewer players go home than anyone ever thinks and 90% of the time it is because they are not getting games or playing in a system they like ... homsickness is just an excuse.

Hughes could easily be a defender too. Better to recruit a KF who if he doesn't make it can be tried at CHB, than recruit a specialist FB who if he doesn't make it has nowhere to go.

Hughes, Limbach and McGuane is a nice little competition for the spot alongside Schulz in the future. Schulz will be the Barry Hall power-forward with one of the other 3 being the more mobile target.

Embers
26 Nov 2005, 12:13
If anyone was gonna go home this draft itd be Oakley Nicholls, loves West Coast with an absolute passion, has a ton of friends and is close to his family.

I wouldnt be absolutely wrapt cos you paid over the odds for Casserley (shud of went for Swallow) and Hughes there are still tons of question marks over.

I thught Schulz was your CHB, I dont think ur defence is as bad as you make it out to be, theres alot worse out there, atleast tuck and cogs get some help now, I hate watching those two guys doin so much work I feel sorry for em.

Weaver
26 Nov 2005, 12:19
Oh well, who needs a backline anyway :o

Actually who does need a backline?

Swans used - Barry, Kennelly, Bolton and Roberts-Thompson. Only LRT is a 'real' backman in that group.

Port had - Bishop, Wakelin and Cornes. Now Bishop and Wakelin are just solid and Cornes is no 'real' key defender.

Win the midfield and choke the opposition forwards of chances. Ram it down the throat of your guys over and over again.

Flood midfielders back like the Swans and Crows do and you can basically get by with no key defenders at all for large parts of the match.

Hall, Schulz and Bowden wouldn't be that far off the Port trio if we can have a dominant midfield. Then we only need 1 or 2 of Pattison, McGuane, Limbach, Hughes, Thusfield, Moore to stand up.

Midfield is the key and hopefully we have Coughlan, Tuck, Newman, Hyde, Polo, Foley, Hartigan and Jackson winning the hard ball. They then give it speedsters like Deledio, Oakley-Nicholls, Tambling, Meyer, Raines, Rodan, Roach and Casserley to carry the ball and cut teams up with pace and kicking skills.

Beginnings of a good midfield under-24 midfield there.

tiger of old
26 Nov 2005, 13:49
If anyone was gonna go home this draft itd be Oakley Nicholls, loves West Coast with an absolute passion, has a ton of friends and is close to his family.

Im sure hanging out with the bros:krak and Tambo will more than make up for his lost freinds back in perth.
However 2 yrs time id entertain a trade:Judd for Nicholls:)

Coughlan
26 Nov 2005, 14:24
People reckon the dogs are exiting to watch in the future we have Deledio and hopefully Tambling and O-N, so much talent between the three of them with Cogs, Tuck, Foley, Polo doing all the inside work with Lids is more then capable of doing it as well to give it to those three plus raines, meyer, and others rotating through

Tigerbob
26 Nov 2005, 14:25

I wouldnt be absolutely wrapt cos you paid over the odds for Casserley (shud of went for Swallow) and Hughes there are still tons of question marks over.

I thught Schulz was your CHB, I dont think ur defence is as bad as you make it out to be, theres alot worse out there, atleast tuck and cogs get some help now, I hate watching those two guys doin so much work I feel sorry for em.

We paid over the odds for Casserly? Considering he was in our bracket for preferred round 2 number 24 choice I think that statement is wrong. Casserly is polished and played senior footy, he will be great and we are wrapped to have him.

As for Oakleigh - Nicholls wanting to go home, well it's just on the fact if he enjoys his time here, he'll stay. Big deal he followed WCE so hard, every boy taken follows someone, and only a small percentage go to the team they followed.

If I was you I would be scared about Ben McKinley wanting to go home if you saw the draft special over here, wasn't a happy chappy I tell you that!

White Czar
26 Nov 2005, 15:05
You took a huge punt on Oakley Nicholls, no doubt in my mind he is the most talented player in the draft, but he is a bit injury prone and is a good chance of getting homesick.

If everything works out for you and him he will be the best player to come out of the draft, but dont be surprised to see him asking for a trade back home. Shocked at that pickup, really is a massive punt in the end.

"No doubt Most talented player in the draft" @ 8 = :)

Weaver
26 Nov 2005, 15:22
We paid over the odds for Casserly? Considering he was in our bracket for preferred round 2 number 24 choice I think that statement is wrong. Casserly is polished and played senior footy, he will be great and we are wrapped to have him.

It is impossable to pay over the odds for a player in the 40s. Pick 20, pick 40, pick 60 are all pretty much exactly the same. Throw a blanket over 40-50 guys. The order is just a reflection of club preferences not player quality.

Punt_Road_Roar
26 Nov 2005, 15:39

Get lost Embers, it sounds like sour grapes to me

Not saying the kid is anywhere near as good but look in your own backyard for a perfect example in C.Judd if my memory is correct he too was Injury prone and strong rumour that he wanted to head home after 2 seasons at your club and well the rest is history.

So pull your head in anything can happen no one really knows what is going to take place and its just pure speculation and utter crap that you have typed.

cairo tiger
26 Nov 2005, 17:46
i will run with waeves summations and if he is happy i am, i am out of it over here, clearly wallys game plan is speed and ball carry, we also have a potientail power forwad...potientail is the key word as is realising that, we wait for the future to unfold go tigers , got my memberships already

wez10000
26 Nov 2005, 20:40
Now that we have picked up 3 new players which numbers do you think they will take?

01. J.Oakley-Nicholls
02. D.Gaspar
03. B.Deledio
04. A.Raines
05. T.Simmonds
06. M.Chaffey
07. N.Brown
08. T.Roach
09. Avalible
10. G.Stafford
11. J.Bowden
12. M.Richardson
13. T.Knobel
14. D.Polo
15. K.Pettifer
16. P.Bowden
17. K.Johnson
18. D.Rodan
19. D.Limbach
20. R.Hall
21. S.Tuck
22. D.Meyer
23. D.Jackson
24. M.Coughlan
25. J.Schulz
26. A.Pattison
27. A.Krakouer
28. Unavalible
29. T.Casserly
30. R.Tambling
31. C.Hyde
32. G.Tivendale
33. B.Hartigan
34. Avalible
35. C.Newman
36. W.Thursfield
37. C.Hughes
38. L.Mcguane
39. A.Kellaway
40. K.Moore
41. N.Foley

OneEyedHawk
27 Nov 2005, 01:14

Am I the only one struggling to make sense of this post? You say he's the most talented player in the draft, yet your "shocked" and it was a "massive punt" for Richmond to take him at 8!:confused:
Homesickness is over-rated IMO. If a player is at a good club surrounded by good people, and he thinks the club is headed in the right direction, then more often than not he is happy to stay. It's when a club is fractured and going nowhere fast, that most blokes start to feel the pull of home. In the event he does go, the club should receive adequate recompense anyway.

I was sure the Tigers would go tall at 8, and part of me still thinks they should have, but all-in-all I reckon the Tigers did very well. Hughes was a great get at 24, and Oakley-Nichols is a quality player. I was really hoping O-N would slip through to us at 14, but not to be.

Some serious leg speed is being amassed at Punt Rd.

rfctigerarmy
27 Nov 2005, 08:25

Bruuuuuuuuuuuuuum :D

Nbrown7
27 Nov 2005, 11:05
Am I the only one struggling to make sense of this post? You say he's the most talented player in the draft, yet your "shocked" and it was a "massive punt" for Richmond to take him at 8!:confused:
Homesickness is over-rated IMO. If a player is at a good club surrounded by good people, and he thinks the club is headed in the right direction, then more often than not he is happy to stay. It's when a club is fractured and going nowhere fast, that most blokes start to feel the pull of home. In the event he does go, the club should receive adequate recompense anyway.

I was sure the Tigers would go tall at 8, and part of me still thinks they should have, but all-in-all I reckon the Tigers did very well. Hughes was a great get at 24, and Oakley-Nichols is a quality player. I was really hoping O-N would slip through to us at 14, but not to be.

thanks mate, and it seems hawthorn may have a fair few decent kpps now.

With bling and krak around i'm sure jarryd will feel at home and i know personally the help down at the club for the kids who get a little homesick is second to none so I'm not concerned at all.

stefoid
27 Nov 2005, 11:43
was sure the bulldogs would look at hughes with 11, so taking him at 24 was a good get for you guys. Obviously clubs had some concerns over him, but with pick 24, you arent betting the farm on him.

Weaver
27 Nov 2005, 13:12
was sure the bulldogs would look at hughes with 11, so taking him at 24 was a good get for you guys. Obviously clubs had some concerns over him, but with pick 24, you arent betting the farm on him.

Hughes going at 24 is not as strange as it may first look. Really just an example of clubs going for different priorities.

Clark goes at pick 9.

Then there follows a run on the quick ball carrying midfielders (Higgins, Birchall, Varcoe, Douglas, Pfeiffer, Dempsey, Muston). WCE took Hurn. Collingwood were off in lala-land doing their own thing (Stanley and Cook). Hawks wanted a ruckman (Bailey).

Between Clark at 9 and Hughes at 24 only KP taken was Bower (20).

So Hughes dropped all the way from being the 5th ranked tall to the 6th ranked tall with Bower going above him. (Throw in Drum if you like but he is more a flanker).

sante
27 Nov 2005, 21:51
Am I the only one struggling to make sense of this post? You say he's the most talented player in the draft, yet your "shocked" and it was a "massive punt" for Richmond to take him at 8!

A very exciting gameplan ready to equate. :thumbsu: :D We will be able to beat the flood :)

Harvey Leadpipe
28 Nov 2005, 08:17
Get lost Embers, it sounds like sour grapes to me

Not saying the kid is anywhere near as good but look in your own backyard for a perfect example in C.Judd if my memory is correct he too was Injury prone and strong rumour that he wanted to head home after 2 seasons at your club and well the rest is history.

So pull your head in anything can happen no one really knows what is going to take place and its just pure speculation and utter crap that you have typed.

My thoughts exactly Coach, sour grapes.

:::buddy38:::
28 Nov 2005, 11:01
01. P.Bowden
02. D.Gaspar
03. B.Deledio
04. A.Raines
05. T.Simmonds
06. M.Chaffey
07. N.Brown
08. T.Roach
09. N.Foley
10. G.Stafford
11. J.Bowden
12. M.Richardson
13. T.Knobel
14. D.Polo
15. K.Pettifer
16. C.Hughes
17. K.Johnson
18. D.Rodan
19. D.Limbach
20. R.Hall
21. S.Tuck
22. D.Meyer
23. D.Jackson
24. M.Coughlan
25. J.Schulz
26. A.Pattison
27. A.Krakouer
28. Unavalible
29. J.Oakley Nicholls
30. R.Tambling
31. C.Hyde
32. G.Tivendale
33. B.Hartigan
34. T.Casserley
35. C.Newman
36. W.Thursfield
37. PSD PICK
38. L.Mcguane
39. A.Kellaway
40. K.Moore

I think it should be more like this. Although im not sure if Foley shou;d get #9 but someone should get it

jezza
28 Nov 2005, 11:22
I think we should leave 9 free for a season as a mark of respect.

Weaver
28 Nov 2005, 11:38
I think it should be more like this. Although im not sure if Foley shou;d get #9 but someone should get it

I think they should give Foley number 1. All the people who think he is small and being tricked becuase of the giant number that he has carry around - it dwarves him. Give him a nice little number and he will look like much bigger :)

On an equally serious note I have we give it to P. Bowden. Really like the idea of giving number 1 to a nuff-nuff every year and Bowden will take up right where Hilton left off.

IDGAF
28 Nov 2005, 11:44
On an equally serious note I have we give it to P. Bowden. Really like the idea of giving number 1 to a nuff-nuff every year and Bowden will take up right where Hilton left off.So you rate PB then Weaver ? :D

metallichris
28 Nov 2005, 15:22
Patrick Bowden is #16, as mentioned earlier in this thread. #9 should remain unavailable for atleast one season.

wez10000
28 Nov 2005, 20:18
Patrick Bowden is #16, as mentioned earlier in this thread. #9 should remain unavailable for atleast one season.

If you are talking about my post when i had P.Bowden at number 16 that was just a guess.

Truetiger
28 Nov 2005, 20:42
If you are talking about my post when i had P.Bowden at number 16 that was just a guess.

Patrick Bowden is number 16 thats fact like chris said above. As during the cricket thats the number he had on.

wez10000
28 Nov 2005, 21:00
Patrick Bowden is number 16 thats fact like chris said above. As during the cricket thats the number he had on.

Ok thanks Mate