View Full Version : Who needs convincing?
Stiffy, yes I am really pleased to see Vince picked up.
Surprised that we picked him up at 32 however.
Douglas will be a player. Smart, great leader, strong character, real ball magnet
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:03
I am reasonably happy with our picks.
Pick 16: Richard Douglas (http://www.footydraft.com/players.php?player=richard_douglas)
Pick 17: Darren Pfeiffer (http://www.footydraft.com/players.php?player=darren_pfeiffer)
Pick 32: Bernie Vince
Pick 48: Alan Obst (http://www.footydraft.com/players.php?player=alan_obst)
Pick 62: PASS
A couple of really good midfielder, a HFF/Midfield who reads the play well and can kick a goal, and a young CHB.
4 running players and a tall defender. Pretty good I reckon.
outback jack
26 Nov 2005, 10:05
think we could of got a bit more luck with players slipping like last yr, but thats how it goes.
crows98
26 Nov 2005, 10:05
Stiffy, yes I am really pleased to see Vince picked up.
Surprised that we picked him up at 32 however.
Douglas will be a player. Smart, great leader, strong character, real ball magnet
Well I will go onto the record for saying that I need to be convinced that a few players were selected at the right position.
I will be very happy for the lads if they tun out to be a star player and it will be good for the club but I will have to wait and see.
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 10:06
well with last year and this, our midfield has plenty of stock, just now to see what becomes of the cattle.
also interesting that we could've used a KPP but meh'd cleve hughes
Well I will go onto the record for saying that I need to be convinced that a few players were selected at the right position.
I will be very happy for the lads if they tun out to be a star player and it will be good for the club but I will have to wait and see.
Agreed. With the exception of Obst, I am not impressed.
No tall forwards. Absolute joke.
outback jack
26 Nov 2005, 10:12
cant draft them if there are no good ones there though.
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 10:13
cant draft them if there are no good ones there though.
exactly right.
this draft game is hard enough as it is, without taking players that you don't rate.
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:16
well with last year and this, our midfield has plenty of stock, just now to see what becomes of the cattle.
also interesting that we could've used a KPP but meh'd cleve hughes
Does this Richard Douglas selection remind you of the Josh Carr selection of few years back. He got picked up a bit earlier than many thought but he is the sort of player that we will probably need down the track. Inside midfielder who wins a lot of the ball and is a strong tackler.
So our midfield stocks down the track would look like this:
Thompson, Reilly, Knights, Van Berlo, Hinge, Douglas, Pfeiffer and Vince. Thats probably a decent crop but we need to see what becomes of it.
Hughes is a good player but I suspect he was a bit over-rated around here. He is a tall leading forward that doesn't take many contested marks. He leads up the ground and marks. More like a Patrick Bowden type of player. He is doesn't really play like a KPP but mroe like a flanker.
Macca19
26 Nov 2005, 10:16
If anyone isnt convinced about Douglas, here is his assesment in the Inside Football Draft special:
"Richards a quality onballer who can go back and forward and was unlucky not to be selected as All Australian as a defender. Played onball for us during the year and in our finals series spent time in the forward line and took some marks and kicked some goals. A skilful player who won our best and fairest by more votes than any other player in our history. His only query is his size. Won TAC Cup Coaches award, represented Vic Metro and was named in the TAC Cup Team of the Year
Sounds like a winner to me.
Youve done bloody well. Put a succesion plan for the retirement of Riccuito, Goodwin, Mcleod and Edwards in place.
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:19
What exactly is wrong with Pfeiffer or Douglas?????
This is really starting to sound like a broken record. We got 4 good players from the draft. Of those 4, three are local lads. One is a Key defender.
How the ******** can you select a key forward when there isn't one worth taking??????
You can only pick up what is worthy and available with your picks.
2 midfielder
1 HFF/midfielder
1 Key defender.
Pretty good return
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 10:20
Does this Richard Douglas selection remind you of the Josh Carr selection of few years back. He got picked up a bit earlier than many thought but he is the sort of player that we will probably need down the track. Inside midfielder who wins a lot of the ball and is a strong tackler.
honestly that very pick sprung to mind a few minutes ago. in that it turns out it wasn't a reach, but that predraft ratings were wrong. Carr was no.7 and cheap at that. it was a very definite statement by the AFC, including taking him first.
Hughes is a good player but I suspect he was a bit over-rated around here. He is a tall leading forward that doesn't take many contested marks. He leads up the ground and marks. More like a Patrick Bowden type of player. He is doesn't really play like a KPP but mroe like a flanker.
there was a guy on the draft board who claimed to be a scout, don't know if true but his insight was pretty sharp. he said Cleve wasn't all that, and said maybe pick 20. oh how the group think faithful howled at that one.
Macca19
26 Nov 2005, 10:30
Gone off Grima stiffy??
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:33
Gone off Grima stiffy??
I have never seen him play, so I was only going on what I read from footydraft.com
He is a div 2 player and that was always going to be a bit of a problem for him. He was overlooked in what is considered as a weak draft so he probably isn't as good as first advertised.
3 local lads from 4 picks is a pretty big positive for us :thumbsu:
Wayne's-World
26 Nov 2005, 10:33
Richard Douglas best on ground in every U18 finals game (3) this year - wins the coaches award - is fast, agile, strong mark and tackler!
Issue: at 68kgs can he put on weight - hope so;)
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:36
Richard Douglas best on ground in every U18 finals game (3) this year - wins the coaches award - is fast, agile, strong mark and tackler!
Issue: at 68kgs can he put on weight - hope so;)
Van Berlo was a stick figure when we picked him up and apparently has put on weight.
Reilly was like an insect. I think he can put on 12 KG over 2 years which should see him get the body strong enough to mix it with the big boys.
His finals performances and his CV in junior footy is pretty encouraging. Hopefully this is a Josh Carr type of pick from a few years back.
Wayne's-World
26 Nov 2005, 10:37
I have never seen him play, so I was only going on what I read from footydraft.com
He is a div 2 player and that was always going to be a bit of a problem for him. He was overlooked in what is considered as a weak draft so he probably isn't as good as first advertised.
3 local lads from 4 picks is a pretty big positive for us :thumbsu:
Saw Grima in the first U18 game - yes the kid can play.
Of couse what none of us know are the personalities of the kids or their mental test results.
Hey we should be excited about Pfeiffer:thumbsu:
Not as if we were in a strong draft position but this crop is so unknown who knows which kid is going to step up
Wayne's-World
26 Nov 2005, 10:38
Can the WWT supporters give us some details on Vince - what gamestyle inside/outside?
Strengths & Weaknesses
Thanks
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 10:42
big game player? :thumbsu:
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:43
big game player? :thumbsu:
Sounds like the kid is "clutch"!!!!!! :D
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 10:47
i tell you what though, I fell of my ****** chair, when the draft tracker showed cameron miller as pick 2!!!
Stiffy_18
26 Nov 2005, 10:49
i tell you what though, I fell of my ****** chair, when the draft tracker showed cameron miller as pick 2!!!
:D :D
Who the ******** is Cameron Miller?!
Can the WWT supporters give us some details on Vince - what gamestyle inside/outside?
Strengths & Weaknesses
Thanks
I'd like to give you a lot of info however the kid (19) has only played 4 games at senior level (2 of those were the preliminary and grand finals) - difficult to judge. Acquitted himself well against the Magpies in atrocious conditions in the Preliminary - good ball skills and has confidence. At 81kg with a height of 188cm, will need a few weights but I am sure that will happen with the AFC.
Another WWTFC player and whilst some have bagged this club for its players I reckon they have produced a fair group of players - Biglands, Bock, Burton, Hentschel, McGreggor, Shirley, Skipworth (probably the only one not to have made the mark) - on any given day 6-7 players from the one club (then you can add Knights in 2006)!
Wayne's-World
26 Nov 2005, 11:56
I'd like to give you a lot of info however the kid (19) has only played 4 games at senior level (2 of those were the preliminary and grand finals) - difficult to judge. Acquitted himself well against the Magpies in atrocious conditions in the Preliminary - good ball skills and has confidence. At 81kg with a height of 188cm, will need a few weights but I am sure that will happen with the AFC.
Another WWTFC player and whilst some have bagged this club for its players I reckon they have produced a fair group of players - Biglands, Bock, Burton, Hentschel, McGreggor, Shirley, Skipworth (probably the only one not to have made the mark) - on any given day 6-7 players from the one club (then you can add Knights in 2006)!
Thanks for that;)
Wayne's-World
26 Nov 2005, 11:57
Richard Douglas sounds like Edwards replacement:thumbsu:
Funny how a couple of people never mention a player prior to the draft, then when they get picked up, just read some reviews of them and suddenly become experts on these players.
Not all posters, ok? So if this doesn't apply to you don't get offended.
Bockchoy67
26 Nov 2005, 12:26
Great work Bigman. No doubt Fanta was Con-Vinced. :D
I saw the finals he played and he really impressed me. It could be flash in the pan but obviously NC and Fanta believe he's got a lot to offer.
One of the best things about our picks this year is the fact that ALL 4 picks are very versitile.
Douglas - Mid/HBF/BP
Pfeiffer - Mid/Wing/HFF/HBF
Vince - HFF/Mid/HBF
Obst - CHB/FB/FF/Wing
Thankyou Bockchoy and to all those other posters who recoginised my push for the vince.
We have done very well here.
Douglas gives us the new inside, smart footballer we need. He will be an absolute gun. He is a leader on the field, can take a great grab for his size, is clever and will run the lines.
Pfeiffer - great player for SA in carnival. Reads the play well. Could be our number on run with player within two years. Can take a good grab. Runs with the ball.
Both of the above likely to play AFL next year. Pfeiffer probably earlier than Douglas.
Vince - played well and used the ball well in both final games. Has some time and space. Reminded me a bit Of James Hird in the way he could get the time to use the ball in the way he wanted.
Obst - impressed me at the canival with his marking, manourvreability, flexibility and run from the back half. Could take over from Benny Hart or Torney within two years.
Bit disappointed missing out on Hughes, but he would not likely play KPP next year anyway. If we could get Pav the following year we may not need him.
Bockchoy67
26 Nov 2005, 14:21
Thankyou Bockchoy and to all those other posters who recoginised my push for the vince.
We have done very well here.
Douglas gives us the new inside, smart footballer we need. He will be an absolute gun. He is a leader on the field, can take a great grab for his size, is clever and will run the lines.
Pfeiffer - great player for SA in carnival. Reads the play well. Could be our number on run with player within two years. Can take a good grab. Runs with the ball.
Both of the above likely to play AFL next year. Pfeiffer probably earlier than Douglas.
Vince - played well and used the ball well in both final games. Has some time and space. Reminded me a bit Of James Hird in the way he could get the time to use the ball in the way he wanted.
Obst - impressed me at the canival with his marking, manourvreability, flexibility and run from the back half. Could take over from Benny Hart or Torney within two years.
Bit disappointed missing out on Hughes, but he would not likely play KPP next year anyway. If we could get Pav the following year we may not need him.
Agree with the other points though = given our position in this draft we have done VERY well.
Hughes would have been good but Hentschel IMO is pretty similar.
I would have liked Grima but obviously the AFC don't see much in him.:confused:
Bode would have been good but Pfeiffer has more spring.:)
Markthirtytwo
26 Nov 2005, 16:32
[QUOTE=bigman]Thankyou Bockchoy and to all those other posters who recoginised my push for the vince.
We have done very well here./QUOTE]
I believe he could become a cult figure with that shock of blonde locks. :cool:
crowsarethebest
26 Nov 2005, 16:40
Douglas, light as a feather.. need to put on a few kg but that shouldn't be a problem. Also on Douglas he's a top age player so he might not hav that much of a scope for improvement. If he was bottom age, I'm sure he would've went top 10:thumbsu: Dissappointed we didn't get another KPP in Grima.
I have read your thread only because I have followed Richie Douglas closely for the last 3 years. You have got a real footballer who has some special qualities. I hate comparing players but he has a bit of Wanganeen about him. Low centre of gravity, good mark for size, courageous and very evasive. Will be terrific and he is from Broadford which means he is less likely to get homesick and has Jimmy Ezard, also from Broadford and good mate in SA along with Ivan Maric.
Douglas, light as a feather.. need to put on a few kg but that shouldn't be a problem. Also on Douglas he's a top age player so he might not hav that much of a scope for improvement. If he was bottom age, I'm sure he would've went top 10:thumbsu: Dissappointed we didn't get another KPP in Grima.
He could end up being the best of these recruits. This year we have picked up two beauties - Douglas and Pfeiffer - and like Boogie Knights last year i, the bigman, am going to pump up both of their tyres.
They will both play AFL next year and be key players for the AFC.
Crows are the best - there is a lof of upside here - dont you worry about that - 10 years of it!!!!!!!
We have two guns here!!!! Fanta is likely to get close to Craigy's edict of three players who will play for the club for 10 years.
Well done Fanta and co!! We now have a significant part of our next midfield generation in place.
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 19:36
let's not forget we didn't just miss out on Cleve we kicked him to the curve and stepped over him.
maybe we will regret it, but think of it this way: we could've used him, we had two picks, we could so easily have gone mid / kpp. But despite a patent need, we didn't want him.
so I don't think we should be too concerned, as we didn't 'miss out on him' but chose not to take him. twice.
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 19:39
don't be concerned about douglas' height or weight:
what is he about 180 & 68kgs?
Marc Murphy at no.1 is 179
Xavier Ellis at no.3 is 71 kgs
again you can't be disappointed in not picking up KPP we thumbed out noses at. no point in picking up a player if you don't think he has it.
Nige_Bix
26 Nov 2005, 20:03
Douglas sounds good to me - lets hope he doesnt get homesick
Kane McGoodwin
26 Nov 2005, 20:13
If anyone isnt convinced about Douglas, here is his assesment in the Inside Football Draft special:
"Richards a quality onballer who can go back and forward and was unlucky not to be selected as All Australian as a defender. Played onball for us during the year and in our finals series spent time in the forward line and took some marks and kicked some goals. A skilful player who won our best and fairest by more votes than any other player in our history. His only query is his size. Won TAC Cup Coaches award, represented Vic Metro and was named in the TAC Cup Team of the Year
Sounds like a winner to me.
Youve done bloody well. Put a succesion plan for the retirement of Riccuito, Goodwin, Mcleod and Edwards in place.
Yeah Macca he sounds like a real quality kid & special talent.
Given we addressed ruckmen last year & our spine is reasonably young, we had to find some quality midfielders this year to take over from the 4 your mentioned above.
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 20:38
I'll trust the judgement of others when it comes to Vince, though I am very impressed that his selection was called in advance.
if we look at out our 'mature' or recycled draft picks in recent years, I reckon they have been pretty good.
Biglands
Bienke
Hudson
we seem to have had a good feel for who was ready for another shot.
Nige_Bix
26 Nov 2005, 20:57
I'll trust the judgement of others when it comes to Vince, though I am very impressed that his selection was called in advance.
if we look at out our 'mature' or recycled draft picks in recent years, I reckon they have been pretty good.
Biglands
Bienke
Hudson
we seem to have had a good feel for who was ready for another shot.
Vince is only 19 - from the Eagles site...
BERNIE VINCE
Guernsey: 34
Height (cm): 184
Weight (kg): 80
Total Games: 4
Total Goals: 3
Drummond
26 Nov 2005, 20:57
Yes. I need convincing.
crowsarethebest
26 Nov 2005, 21:06
He could end up being the best of these recruits. This year we have picked up two beauties - Douglas and Pfeiffer - and like Boogie Knights last year i, the bigman, am going to pump up both of their tyres.
They will both play AFL next year and be key players for the AFC.
Crows are the best - there is a lof of upside here - dont you worry about that - 10 years of it!!!!!!!
We have two guns here!!!! Fanta is likely to get close to Craigy's edict of three players who will play for the club for 10 years.
Well done Fanta and co!! We now have a significant part of our next midfield generation in place.
Yeah, can anyone tell me a bit more about Pfeiffer? He was rated top ten but he sort of slipped. Whats some of his strengths and weaknesses and How did he go in the draft camp? I know he has a big leap. Anyone know where to find stats of all the players that went to the draft camp?
crowsarethebest
26 Nov 2005, 21:08
don't be concerned about douglas' height or weight:
what is he about 180 & 68kgs?
Marc Murphy at no.1 is 179
Xavier Ellis at no.3 is 71 kgs
again you can't be disappointed in not picking up KPP we thumbed out noses at. no point in picking up a player if you don't think he has it.
I'm not really concerned about the height, but he'll have to have a good pre-season in the gym. He was the same as tamblings height and weight last year. But i'm not overly worried, he'll be a good player.
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 21:14
Yes. I need convincing.
No. you need a slap.
Drummond
26 Nov 2005, 21:15
No. you need a slap.
Anything better to contribute?
Crow-mosone
26 Nov 2005, 22:03
Anything better to contribute?
no I thought it was the acme of common sentiment.
Yeah, can anyone tell me a bit more about Pfeiffer? He was rated top ten but he sort of slipped. Whats some of his strengths and weaknesses and How did he go in the draft camp? I know he has a big leap. Anyone know where to find stats of all the players that went to the draft camp?
Pfeiffer - arguably the best performed of the SA boys at the carnival.
Played across half back and gave great drive and rebound, Reads the play well. Can take a good grab for his size. Has courage. Showed coolness under pressure. Knows where to run on the field. We have a very very good player here. He may be one of our better picks in the last 5 years!!!!:)
Be happy. Be very very happy.:)
Stiffy_18
27 Nov 2005, 11:21
Vince is only 19 - from the Eagles site...
BERNIE VINCE
Guernsey: 34
Height (cm): 184
Weight (kg): 80
Total Games: 4
Total Goals: 3
Vince is 20 now. He turned 20 sometime in october. Hopefully he turns out to be another diamond in the rough ala Hudson :D