View Full Version : Which players will play AFL in their first year?
macca69
26 Nov 2005, 10:50
Which players do you think will play AFL in their first year?
You would've said Hurn but now that he's going to west coast he'd probably struggle to get a game
Dream team research? :cool: ;)
macca69
26 Nov 2005, 10:58
You would've said Hurn but now that he's going to west coast he'd probably struggle to get a game
Dream team research? :cool: ;)
nah, just curious:p
Sylvia Saint
26 Nov 2005, 10:59
Jonesy will play 8-10 games I reckon, similar to Brock McLean's debut season in 2004.
Who do you think will get a game?
You'd think Nathan Jones with his build and fitness will fit in pretty fast.
pinkus maximus
26 Nov 2005, 11:01
Carltons first 3 picks
deluxeman
I'd say Hurn and Murphy would be definites.
mattyc2422
Birchall will probably play a few.
Funkalicous
Murphy and Kennedy are ready-made, and I don't think many players will be keeping them out....
johnson_26
26 Nov 2005, 11:03
Jones, Hurn, Murphy, Laidlaw, Stanley etc etc, kasey green, Patful, Stokes, Raymond, Birchall, Oakley-Nichols, neagle etc, just my opinion.
deluxeman
26 Nov 2005, 11:04
Murphy and Kennedy are ready-made, and I don't think many players will be keeping them out....
What about Kennedy's shoulder? Do you know how long till he is fully recovered?
macca69
26 Nov 2005, 11:07
Murphy, Kennedy, Pendlebury, Ryder, Clark, Jones, Birchall, Pfeiffer, Bailey, Bower, Stanley, Riggio anyone else?
Talented Player
26 Nov 2005, 11:09
Nathan Jones you just have to look at him. His size and fittness
Good Luck Nathan
The Old Dark Navy's
26 Nov 2005, 11:12
Murphy definitely. Kennedy will depend on recovery and how we are travelling. Bower's a maybe for a couple of games and Edwards probably not this year.
johnson_26
26 Nov 2005, 11:22
Bailey definately wont play in hsi first year. As the burgatron said on SEN,,, developing ruckman, take a few years, dont exzpect heaps too soon.
macca69
26 Nov 2005, 13:54
Most likely to play quite a few games (10+) - Stanley, Jones, Birchall, Bower, Ryder, Murphy and Pendlebury.
Could play a couple of games - Hughes, Neagle, Hurn, Mills, Drum, Thomas, Higgins, Anthony, Lucy, Edwards, Cook, Lower, Carlile, Riggio, Pfeiffer and Lonergan.
What are your thoughts?
The lack of inside midfielders and grunt at Essendon should see Lonergan do similar things to Monfries.
Murphy will play straight away, not much depth at Carlton and he is pretty developed.
Nathan Jones as others have suggested is close to the finished article. Depends if a midfield spot opens up. If the Dees are playing well they may not want to have McLean, Sylvia and Jones all in at once.
Paul Bower could play, might even start as a wingman or tagger. Is probably athletic enough and giving him a job on a wing is a less pressured way to start than trying to be a key defender.
Andrew Swallow should get 10-12 games in the Roos midfield, probably off the bench.
Simple numbers suggest that one or two of the Hawks have to get a game. Probably the same at Collingwood.
It might actually be a weird year next year. Lots of the guys most ready to play senior footy (Hurn, McKinley, Douglas, Gilbert, Carlile, Laidlaw, Lucy) are at clubs where they might not be able to force their way into the team.
A lot of the clubs where getting a game is easy (Collingwood, Hawks, Richmond) went for raw guys who might play even though they are not ready.
Hurn and McKinley will be good for 5-10 games each, McKinley could play more then that depending on how Sampi goes.
macca69
26 Nov 2005, 14:28
Hurn and McKinley will be good for 5-10 games each, McKinley could play more then that depending on how Sampi goes.
People keep saying that McKinley will put pressure on Sampi to hold his place in the side, but they are completely different players. Sampi is a small crumbing forward, McKinley, while is physically small, plays tall and if anything would put pressure on Smith to play well.
macca69
27 Nov 2005, 08:58
Any of the injured/sick players going toplay in their first year? Kennedy, Dowler, West, Clark, Muston, Varcoe etc
I can see McKinley coming home after 2 years, he looked mighty upset when drafted to Perth...
But on the subject, surely Hurn will play a few games and hopefully Pfeiffer and Vince for the Crows.
carn_the_cattas
27 Nov 2005, 09:20
For Geelong if Travis Varcoe can get over his foot injury then he may get a few games.
Matthew Stokes is 21 so he's a possiblity.
dave_27
27 Nov 2005, 10:14
I reckon Sheedy may throw Lucy straight into the backline with fletch come round 1.
Johnson#26
27 Nov 2005, 10:40
Jones, Thomas, Murphy and Kennedy for sure.
I'd like to see Jon Anthony get a run.
stanley a chance & it would not suprise to see thomas get a run late in season as a small forward just to get a taste of it.