View Full Version : Why did HURN slip through?
Doggies05'
26 Nov 2005, 14:57
Dogs picked Higgins up at 11 whilst Hurn, who was orginially expected to be picked up in the top 6 slipped to 13.
Why did no-one pick him up and are the players like Drum and Higgins actually better than him?
I believe west coast got a steal.
Clubs that have a game plan built on pace and running the ball (Richmond, Bulldogs) were never going to take him. A club like Hawthorn which is well stocked for inside grunt types were unlikely to double-up by recruiting another.
Basically Carlton and Essendon were the only two realistic homes for him in the top-10 and once they went with others then that was that.
coasting
26 Nov 2005, 15:07
Missionpossible and Colin Wisbey both rated him as the best player in the draft. Hopefully they turn out to be correct ;)
theorangeapple
26 Nov 2005, 15:08
Weight and injury query, clubs have more pressing needs than filling a HBF with a chance he could turn into a midfielder. We are a club who could afford the risk and afford to let him settle and get his body right.
macca69
26 Nov 2005, 15:09
Missionpossible and Colin Wisbey both rated him as the best player in the draft. Hopefully they turn out to be correct ;)
Got a link to Wiseby's ratings?
coasting
26 Nov 2005, 15:12
Got a link to Wiseby's ratings?
Not yet but he said earlier in the year he rated Hurn as the #1 pick.
Nightwolf
26 Nov 2005, 15:30
You wouldve thought Brisbane or Melbourne (although they addresed it in Jones) couldve used with a Hurn type. West Coast certainly got one of the steals of the draft...
mattyc2422
26 Nov 2005, 15:33
Was never going to get a look in at Hawthorn with Hodge and Lewis running rampant.
Waite30
26 Nov 2005, 15:40
He also has less scope for improvement than what Higgins and Thomas and Pendelbury and the likes have.
I think is closer to reason why he went later than others thought
theorangeapple
26 Nov 2005, 15:45
While I agree, I think his room for improvement is still good. Those guys have been playing underweight/ underdeveloped. Hurn has been playing overweight and injured and hasnt have a pre- season or an injury free game in 2yrs. I think if he can trim down and get injury free, his pace and endurance will improve.
Absolute bargain for the Weagles.
Clubs really try to outsmart each other sometimes and end up out smarting themselves.
If what Weaver is saying is true(and i'm sure it is) that running style teams ignore quality players because they don't suit their style then they are very foolhardy.
Hurn could easily be one of the best players to come out of this draft.
melbournemartin
26 Nov 2005, 16:09
interesting, yeh 192kg is a bit overweight you'd think for a half back flanker, reminds me a bit of richard cole except im sure a lot more of it is muscle in Hurns case
who do you guys rate higher, him or Jones? im absolutly estatic that we got Jones but would have Hurn been a better option? i spose we need a midfielder more then a hard defender (picket n whelan)
Nightwolf
26 Nov 2005, 16:10
interesting, yeh 192kg is a bit overweight you'd think for a half back flanker, reminds me a bit of richard cole except im sure a lot more of it is muscle in Hurns case
who do you guys rate higher, him or Jones? im absolutly estatic that we got Jones but would have Hurn been a better option? i spose we need a midfielder more then a hard defender (picket n whelan)
I think 192kgs is too big for anything in this world.:eek:
Eagle87
26 Nov 2005, 16:12
I suspect you may have meant 92kg as opposed to the 192kg in your post.
Either that or he has eaten Lance Whitnall....
Cheers.
hawkeye23
26 Nov 2005, 16:26
I suspect you may have meant 92kg as opposed to the 192kg in your post.
Either that or he has eaten Lance Whitnall....
Cheers.
Oh well, if he's carrying 192kg, at least Sampi's wont be the worst beep test!
From every negative comes a positive! :p
Eagle87
26 Nov 2005, 16:36
Oh well, if he's carrying 192kg, at least Sampi's wont be the worst beep test!
From every negative comes a positive! :p
Be an interesting contest at training, a 192kg HBF against a 150kg HFF!
Might actually register on the Richter scale...
:)
Who knows why, he has a ripper attitude too, first player ive seen say the easy part is over and now the tough part begins which shows tons of maturity. Sheehan looked shocked he slipped to us and I am surprised Melbourne didnt take him, but they probably wanted a home grown boy i guess. He slipped probably cos of the teams infront of us, No way he would of gone past Hawks at 14.
melbournemartin
26 Nov 2005, 17:23
even at 192kg, Richard Cole is still the heaviest player in the AFL
vinnie_vegas69
26 Nov 2005, 17:52
even at 192kg, Richard Cole is still the heaviest player in the AFL
When did Lance retire?
melbournemartin
26 Nov 2005, 18:28
When did Lance retire?
when carlton stopped paying his salary with hamburgers
Who knows, probably shud of been around pick 5-8. I think his so called lack of pace put a few people off, but his results in the pace dept were better then alot of others picked before him. Theres also a perceived "no room for improvement". Theres tons of room for improvement, he hasnt had a injury free year and is no where near his athletic best.
An odd one but Eagles rated him highly and given our past 3 years of recruiting ill back our guys in.
blumfieldisback
26 Nov 2005, 19:43
Just depends on what your club needs, with todays game being so quick some clubs could not afford players that may be a little slow. He also may have recahed his full potential physically speaking, some of the less mature kids may overtake him as time goes by, who knows.
I dont think he would have got pass adelaide but I do querie why West Coast wanted another Midfielder maybe they want to replace Banfield when he retires.
Still West Coast have not got any Forward power and either do the Crows for that matter.
theorangeapple
26 Nov 2005, 19:47
Just depends on what your club needs, with todays game being so quick some clubs could not afford players that may be a little slow. He also may have recahed his full potential physically speaking, some of the less mature kids may overtake him as time goes by, who knows.
I dont think he would have got pass adelaide but I do querie why West Coast wanted another Midfielder maybe they want to replace Banfield when he retires.
Still West Coast have not got any Forward power and either do the Crows for that matter.
We have a strict policy of going for the best available player. If we picked for position we would have Polak instead of Judd.
And for the record, 3.04 isnt slow. It is quicker than Nathan Jones and quite afew other highly touted sorts.
Jimmy_the_Gent
26 Nov 2005, 21:11
I'm sure there was some risk associated with Hurn, (Probably the chance that he wouldn't improve a lot and the chance that he wouldn't play midfield) which scared teams off who aren't in a position to take risks with high picks.
mattyc2422
27 Nov 2005, 11:07
We have a strict policy of going for the best available player. If we picked for position we would have Polak instead of Judd.
And for the record, 3.04 isnt slow. It is quicker than Nathan Jones and quite afew other highly touted sorts.
Wasn't Jones sick at Draft Camp?
Even so, WCE got a quality player.
theorangeapple
27 Nov 2005, 11:12
Wasn't Jones sick at Draft Camp?
Even so, WCE got a quality player.
Apparantly so, I think every representative from his TAC side had gastro. However, from the games I have seen, he does not have much more acceleration than Hurn. 3.04 isnt slow. It isnt quick but we dont need him to be quick. I think that is reason why he might have slided.
wizard_9
27 Nov 2005, 11:31
Weight and injury query, clubs have more pressing needs than filling a HBF with a chance he could turn into a midfielder. We are a club who could afford the risk and afford to let him settle and get his body right.
Injury concerns eh, u dont no much about Bunga do you.
theorangeapple
27 Nov 2005, 11:40
Injury concerns eh, u dont no much about Bunga do you.
No, not really. Care to expand? I know he got OP in 2004. Are you implying he doesnt feel pain or something? Or that he wasnt injured?
A interesting stat is Hurn has done 0 pre seasons due to cricket committments, to say there is no room for improvement in a man with 0 pre seasons under his belt is stupid.
West Coast have got a steal here. Have heard nothing but good things about this guy and many people were shocked to see that he went that late.
Sounds like another Michael Voss type to me. Any club would be happy with some one like him. Big call I know but just wait and see. I would have been happy to see him at Collingwood with pick 5.
Not sure. I think West Coast were almost at gunpoint to take him after he was supposed to go top 10, but with their list and game style, I would have thought that WC was almost the worst place he could go.
He's not especially quick so the big spaces of Subi aren't ideal for him. He looks to be more suited for the grunt and thump of the smaller (Sydney, the Dome), and/or wetter (Geelong, AAMI) grounds.
Physically, he's read to go right now, but he may well have to wait in WA, playing at a marginally lower level than he has been for 2 years in the SANFL. Not what he needs IMO.
Assuming he doesn't break into the WC side quickly, he might struggle to find the big 'step-ups' in performance that other currently skinny kids around him might find as time goes on. Once a few are percieved to have gone past you, it's hard to beat that label.
A few assumptions, I know, and good luck to the kid, but that's how I see it.
I wonder how hard Brisbane looked at him before taking Clark instead. Brisbane's clearances were appalling this year.
theorangeapple
28 Nov 2005, 10:20
Interesting that he said one of the big positives of coming to WC was that there wasnt any pressure on him to play early. He will get a game when he is ready, we always give draftees a taste in their first year, he just wont be rushed like he would have been at one of the lower clubs.
Still, a stocky centreman is still a stocky centreman in two years time. I have no doubt he could eventually take over from Cousins. As long as he's still around.
He's a huge kick, so maybe he'll play a Dew-esque half-forward role for a while.
theorangeapple
28 Nov 2005, 10:49
http://images.newsphotos.com.au/images2/Lores/18390778.jpg
He isnt stocky, he is more Mark Riccuto than Deal Rioli.
He will play off HB next season, I would say around 5-10 games, then when Banfield retires he will take more permanent role of HB then be slowly injected into our midfield once he is over his OP and his body is fully fit and able to handle the wide expances of Subi.
LukeHodge15
28 Nov 2005, 10:55
He will play off HB next season, I would say around 5-10 games, then when Banfield retires he will take more permanent role of HB then be slowly injected into our midfield once he is over his OP and his body is fully fit and able to handle the wide expances of Subi.
just have a feeling he will play more like 15-22 games next year.
2 senior premierships already under his belt in maybe the best senior side outside of the AFL.(maybe i said:p )
he can play against men already, and that booming right foot coming off the half back line will add a little to ur side next year. walk up start in my opinion even with the depth of ur list.
Jimmy_the_Gent
28 Nov 2005, 13:18
just have a feeling he will play more like 15-22 games next year.
2 senior premierships already under his belt in maybe the best senior side outside of the AFL.(maybe i said:p )
he can play against men already, and that booming right foot coming off the half back line will add a little to ur side next year. walk up start in my opinion even with the depth of ur list.
I'd be over the moon if that happened because we wouldn't give that many games to a kid who didn't deserve it.
LukeHodge15
28 Nov 2005, 13:25
shattered he went to west coast, because now there is question marks over wether he is gunna be a good dream teamer. (i will be selecting him) if he was drafted by the bottom 5 clubs u could lock him in to play every game uninjured. woulda been a huge steal :mad:
It's just semantics but I'd happily call ROO stocky.
Dean Rioli is garden-variety fat. :D
TOA and other eagles supporters,
Who will get more games/gametime next year; Waters or Hurn? And how is Waters going after having OP?
weagles_fan
28 Nov 2005, 13:53
Who will get more games/gametime next year; Waters or Hurn? And how is Waters going after having OP?
Waters could well replace Matera next year as a small forward or forward flanker.Hurn will probably start in the WAFL but if 1 or 2 of B.Jones,Wirrpunda or Banfield go down then I'd say he could well be in the side.
TheHeatleyStand
28 Nov 2005, 13:56
Yes but he has a hard time turning.. and he certainly is NO RICCUTO....
He slipped to where he deserved to be taken.
Good honest player with some leadership material in him...which is ok i guess.
Waters will get more games next year, he is over his OP and has resumed full training, he has lost a bit of muscle on purpose I believe as he plans to increase his speed. He is looking likely to play in the forward pocket as during last pre season he showed some very good form there, he is hard as nails and a good mark for his height.
They wont intefere with each other, If Hurn was gonna worry anyone it would be Banfield for sure.
Yes but he has a hard time turning.. and he certainly is NO RICCUTO....
He slipped to where he deserved to be taken.
Good honest player with some leadership material in him...which is ok i guess.
Hard time turning = OP, which we will let him get over before he plays full time.
theorangeapple
28 Nov 2005, 18:01
Waters OP was the type where you can have an operation to basically cure it. He had that at the start of the year and hasnt been able to kick a footy until afew months ago. Next year, I think there is definitley room for both Waters and Hurn in our side. Beau can play through the middle (tagged Pavlich in his first year) and up forward. Hurn will play off half back IMO. Ultimatley, I know we see Waters as a midfielder, and with he and Hurn in afew years time, those 2 are going to have blokes looking over their shoulders. Both 188cm, built like brick ******** houses and as hard as you like.
coasting
28 Nov 2005, 18:07
I always find it highly amusing when people suggest players with similar qualities can't play in the same side. Hurn can't play because you have Waters or McConnell couldn't play because you had Embley etc Well, you need 18 players on the field. Woosha is building a team of hard nut desperados in his own image.
TheHeatleyStand
28 Nov 2005, 22:20
Hard time turning = OP, which we will let him get over before he plays full time.I think youre simplifying things...
Crowked
29 Nov 2005, 11:12
I find it interesting that so many people say he has limited development in him. I actually think he has massive improvement left in him. Next year will be the first year that he has dedicated himself to football alone. He has previously been involved in SA and national cricket teams which took up his preseasons. He hasnt even been challenged yet IMO. I rated him a top 5 prospect at worst, to get him at 13 could be one of the best bargains of all time. Seriously, I think he will eventually be a midfielder, and has the potential to be a Ricciuto type player for a decade. He is a very mature young man, has already experienced 2 premierships in the SANFL, and has real leadership qualities oozing out of him. I'm still struggling to belive he slipped that far. Those taken before him will want to be pretty bloody good or the recruiting staff at the respective clubs are going to look very silly indeed.
Exactly, how someone who has never participated in any type of pre season has no improvement is ridiculous IMO, if anything he has more improvement then anyone in the draft.
Eagles!!!
29 Nov 2005, 16:25
I would be rapped if he is half as good as ROO is, but altogether a great prospect for WCE. The only thing that worries me is WCE has picked up no WA player. Hurns is SA - don't know whether he would be interested in staying with us as a long term prospect. The other two Kingsley and the other bloke - are Victorians - I just hope Hurns stays with us and adds a new dimension to the club. Honestly, this years draft is like a lottery and even a player taken at 30-35 pick can turna up as a star............
White Czar
29 Nov 2005, 16:57
Would have loved him at Richmond @ 8 but was never going to happy.
I reckon the Pies should have taken him @ 5.
theorangeapple
29 Nov 2005, 17:07
I would be rapped if he is half as good as ROO is, but altogether a great prospect for WCE. The only thing that worries me is WCE has picked up no WA player. Hurns is SA - don't know whether he would be interested in staying with us as a long term prospect. The other two Kingsley and the other bloke - are Victorians - I just hope Hurns stays with us and adds a new dimension to the club. Honestly, this years draft is like a lottery and even a player taken at 30-35 pick can turna up as a star............
I dont think we will have a problem retaining Hurn, he looks about as set for the long haul as a draftee could possibly get. McKInley and Spagnher on the other hand might take some work.