View Full Version : Mission Impossible - Mark Harvey, organise our defence!

rgauci
26 Nov 2005, 17:58
After the recruitment of talented youngster Marcus Drum it got me thinking.

There are a plethora of defenders none of which have really stoodout and automatically select themselves. Don't get me wrong i like many of our youngsters but who out of the back 6 has their position set in stone for next year. One can presume Parker will automatically be selected though i believe even his spot should be under pressure.

Lets take a look at the possibilities (these players are defenders or spend time in defence):

Matthew Carr
Steven Dodd
Marcus Drum
Ryley Dunn
Daniel Gilmore
Antoni Grover
Robert Haddrill
Roger Hayden
Michael Johnson
Luke McPharlin (lets presume he stays forward)
David Mundy
Ryan Murphy
Shane Parker
Graham Polak
Scott Thornton
James Walker
Michael Warren

Thats 17 players of which any combination could fill the back 6 depending on who plays forward.

Now the opposite, a quick look at our forward options:
Pavlich
Farmer
Medhurst
Headland
McPharlin (most likely will stay forward)
Drum?
Mundy?
Murphy?
Johnson?

The list is far shorter. Crowley spent a little time forward but seems to be groomed for a tagging role. I appreciate the fact that Drum was probably the best available and am happy he is at the club, just i think some of our defenders need to be thrown forward.

Drum will probably debut in defence sometime in 2006/7. I think its time Thornton matured in his role and was pushed forward. Similarly its about time Dunn showed his worth, either play him in the midfield or forward.

Another possibility, is putting Polak forward. He plays with more enthusiasm in this position and may show his worth.

Anyway back to sorting out the backline. Haddrill (if he returns to form) should reclaim FB. He's not brilliant there but is our best option. Parker does well on the leading forwards, in fact his two favourite bunnies and Lloyd and Fevola. I'm not so sure about his capabilities as a small defender. The little ones still seem to kick bags on him. I'd prefer Hayden playing on the smalls as he provides more rebound. Though he'll also need to return to form. Even his WAFL ground final form was average. At his best he is a damaging rebounding defender.

So in short the message is basically our list is very lobsided. We have far too many average defenders (read also young defenders) and Mark Harvey's job is tougher than it seems. Especially if our only standout defender (Luke McPharlin) stays forward in 2006.

inferno66
26 Nov 2005, 18:05
Drum is only 80 kgs. So i think we should give him a year to get settled in WA and put on some weight before getting a game for Freo

dugrene
26 Nov 2005, 19:47
I'd like to see Johnson move forward. From what Ive seen of his kicking he is straighter than elvis and he would be a real problem to match up against.

I reckon Hayden would look good on a HF flank as well.

wehavethepassion
26 Nov 2005, 19:57
Connolly was quoted in the on the east coast during the yr as saying his best 6 were

FB line genius, The Drill, parker
HB line Barru, thornton, jimmy

rgauci
26 Nov 2005, 20:15
That may be true but i'd pick Grover on 2005 form before most of those.

dugrene
26 Nov 2005, 20:59

When the boxing ring was commissioned this year CC rated him as our toughest boxer. Good credentials for someone who plays in the backline. If his performances plateau in '06 he will one of our best if he improves he should get AA.

wehavethepassion
26 Nov 2005, 21:23
agree very much about grover. He has made a lot of people eat humble pie. I think jimmy's speed should be used in the midfield more.

Freo Shark
26 Nov 2005, 21:48
agree very much about grover. He has made a lot of people eat humble pie. I think jimmy's speed should be used in the midfield more.

Flash would add an edge to Freo's midfield, very little downside in my opinion to a few games there to see how it goes.

Grover had a good 2005 needs to back that up to kick himself up to the next level.

The genius I hope will get back to his prior level which will really add some bite to the backs, Haddrill was badly missed last year, so hopefully he regains his legs.

Our problems lie not with our backs (if all fit) but from the centre line to HF. We need to capitalise on the double teaming of Pav.

jarman
26 Nov 2005, 22:53
IMO, our biggest problems are with clearances. Maybe a better year with 211 having more authority and distributing the ball a little better to the midfielders. But there is better depth in the midfield now.

I would like us to play three talls forward line option - Murphy, Pav and Elvis. This would be a hard to match up against and take some pressure of Pav, with the double teaming.

I also think that we have the players to cover the backline but above all, having Harvey there is going to make a hell of a difference. Maybe even get Polak to the next level.

dominguez
27 Nov 2005, 02:55
Looking through that list of defenders I'd say Parker, Hadrill and Mundy will almost definately be in our 22 each week next season assuming they're fit. If Grover retains his 2005 form he will probably play each week. Either Polak or Thornton need to put their stamp on CHB, and if both play well the likes of Johnson and Warren will struggle to get a game. Either Hayden or Walker will fill the small defenders role. Hayden can hurt the opposition more when in possession so I prefer him in the back pocket. During trade week I hoped that Ryley Dunn would be traded because I can't see a role for him in our side. With the addition of Drum I think he moves even farther down the list.

Even though there are less forwards on our list in quantity, I think the quality is better. Pav and McPharlin are superstars. Farmers 2005 season was very good. Medhurst and Headland, although inconsistent and at times lazy, can be very damaging. Murphy has all the qualities a forward requires, but seems to be confused after spending more time on the bench and in defence than he has forward at AFL level. Hopefully he is left to develop as a forward next year, both for Freo and the bulldogs. With Sandilands emerging as our number one ruckman JLo needs to become a dangerous forward option, a role he has struggled with in the past.

rgauci
27 Nov 2005, 11:26
Interesting you mentioned that JLo isn't a dangerous option forward. I completely agree, he highlighted another facet of his game late in the year when he played in defence against the Saints.

I would use him more as a defender in 2006 to play on the resting ruckman. Something we have traditionally struggled to handle. Especially with our undersized tall defenders. Though you can't fault JLo's mark and goal after the siren to net us the win against the saints.

He has his moments in the sun while playing forward but they are far and few between. His best position is clearly in the ruck but Sandilands best form is unstoppable. THe thing favouring JLo at the moment is that Sandi doesn't quite have the engine yet to dominate a whole game.

A good game to watch was the one against Port, Sandi dominated the first quarter but ran out of steam near the end of the game. He will be a game breaker for us in the future when his engine improves.

But where does that leave JLo. Well anywhere really, he's a capable forward, a capable defender and almost too good to play a second fiddle ruckman. Though i really believe that Sandilands and JLo are a formidable pair and will be in years to come. Neither has really stamped his authority as our primary ruckman and possibly neither will. I guess it will depend on matchups much like 2005.

But both need to be more dangerous when pushing forward. Sandilands showed glimpses (Geelong game) and JLo does get 20 odd goals a year. I suppose i'm being a little harsh on JLo. He's normally thrown forward for only a couple minutes and usually after rucking. I guess he's used predominantly to create a mismatch and lessen the burden on Pav and McPharlin.

Either way onwards and upwards in 2006.

Ysaye
27 Nov 2005, 12:02
IMO Parker, Haddrill if fit are walk-ins for the defence as is Mundy who definitely seems a class above the rest. The rest is are all either in or not depending on form. I think Polak will be told to play CHB this season.

If any of those guys move forward it should be Matthew Carr. He has a good record as a HFF with height, good marking, kicking and endurance to go with a running half back. All he has to do is not get injured.

For me, next season's forward line is:
Carr Pavlich Headland
Farmer McPharlin Medhurst

That gives you 3.5 talls and 2 smalls. Good balance and a large array of talent. Longmuir to interchange if you want to really test the height of the defence.

Jarman is right though - the problem is clearing the ball from stoppages.

Scham
27 Nov 2005, 15:15
Medhurst and Headland shouldn't be walk up starts in 06 after their performances in 05.

My forward line would be;

Murphy Pav M Carr
Farmer McPh Hase

pinkus maximus
27 Nov 2005, 15:29
Medhurst and Headland shouldn't be walk up starts in 06 after their performances in 05.

My forward line would be;

Murphy Pav M Carr
Farmer McPh Hase

A fit Hasleby is first choice in the centre isnt he?

inferno66
27 Nov 2005, 15:33

I agree with you on Medhurst. But Headland deserves to be a walk up start. He had a great second half of the year. He put his body on the line and played some tough footy which doesnt come up on the stats sheet

Scham
27 Nov 2005, 18:25
A fit Hasleby is first choice in the centre isnt he?
I think that with our lack of pace Hase should be rotated through the middle, but not on the bench, up forward. He's a sensational mark for his size and very clever, and his set shots are very good also.

dominguez
27 Nov 2005, 21:26
Hasleby would be amongst our 3 or 4 most important players. He was still amongst our leading clearance players this year, even though he carried an injury for most of the season. Hopefully a fit Haze in 2006 will go a long way to solving our clearance problems. We do have to rotate Bell, J Carr and Haze through the forward line because all 3 lack pace, but if Hasleby is fit and playing well he should play atleast 3/4 of each game in the middle.

I agree that Medhurst and Headland shouldn't be automatic inclusions next year. Headlands 2nd half of the season was an improvement on what he had delivered at Freo previously, but he had a shocker against port when our season was on the line. I would much rather have Crowley, Peake and Dodd in the side giving 100% than Medders and DJ if their commitment continues to fluctuate.

wehavethepassion
28 Nov 2005, 11:03
Hasleby would be amongst our 3 or 4 most important players. He was still amongst our leading clearance players this year, even though he carried an injury for most of the season. Hopefully a fit Haze in 2006 will go a long way to solving our clearance problems. We do have to rotate Bell, J Carr and Haze through the forward line because all 3 lack pace, but if Hasleby is fit and playing well he should play atleast 3/4 of each game in the middle.

I agree that Medhurst and Headland shouldn't be automatic inclusions next year. Headlands 2nd half of the season was an improvement on what he had delivered at Freo previously, but he had a shocker against port when our season was on the line. I would much rather have Crowley, Peake and Dodd in the side giving 100% than Medders and DJ if their commitment continues to fluctuate.
2006 has to be the yr that Schammer proves he is consistent AFL player. he can add much needed pace to midfield. he has been talked up by the FFC footy dept ever since he arrived yet to see him deliver.

I think both hedland and medders are both at the crossroads, if connolly has the bottle he'll reward good wafl form at the expense of inconsitent AFL form.

dealer browne, dunn, haines, gilmore & webbster need to be busting a gut over the preseason to be putting their hands up for a place in the early pre season games.

Scham
28 Nov 2005, 18:32
There is a misconception that Schammer is pacy.

He has good evasion skills, but he's far from pacy.

Dr Ralph Dagg
28 Nov 2005, 19:36
I reckon Hayden would look good on a HF flank as well.
Yes, baby. I've had wet dreams about this. Good overhead, quick as lightening, skillful, and knows where the goals are after playing as forward/midfielder as a junior.

Dr Ralph Dagg
28 Nov 2005, 19:43
If any of those guys move forward it should be Matthew Carr. He has a good record as a HFF with height, good marking, kicking and endurance to go with a running half back. All he has to do is not get injured.

I suggested this a few seasons back but have since changed my mind.

He's not strong overhead. And he is slow, and after the stress fractures, is very slow. His best position is in the midfield where his clean hands and strong tackling mean he's well suited to get in there and scrap. He's also got a huge engine and when fully fit finds space by running the opposition into the ground.

But he's not the guy you go to when on a lead because he can be closed down so quickly, and at 191 cm he doesn;t exactly swoop on the losse ball. Don't worry he'll still drift forward to kick a few.

Dr Ralph Dagg
28 Nov 2005, 20:02
Have a look at Medders first five games of 2005. He was on fire. Then he lost form. He's just become a whipping boy. Even the later games he was still in there scrapping. There was the Bulldog's game at Subi when he was often at the bottom of packs. No stats, no glory but not uncommitted. And have a look at his handball stats.

My mail is that Headland got called before the leadership group 6 weeks out from season's end, and was told to lift his game. I'd expect more of the same from him.

Scham
28 Nov 2005, 20:46
Have a look at Medders first five games of 2005. He was on fire. Then he lost form. He's just become a whipping boy. Even the later games he was still in there scrapping. There was the Bulldog's game at Subi when he was often at the bottom of packs. No stats, no glory but not uncommitted. And have a look at his handball stats.

My mail is that Headland got called before the leadership group 6 weeks out from season's end, and was told to lift his game. I'd expect more of the same from him.
Yeah, Medders first 7 or 8 games were good, and I know you think he performed well after that Ralph, but we'll have to agree to disagree, I think he was very ordinary from there on and should of been dropped. That may of turned his season around, instead he just drifted on.
Then again, he may be the type of bloke that would've spat the dummy and walked out if he was dropped. I do get the feeling they need to "manage" him a fair bit!

Freo Shark
28 Nov 2005, 21:00
Yeah, Medders first 7 or 8 games were good, and I know you think he performed well after that Ralph, but we'll have to agree to disagree, I think he was very ordinary from there on and should of been dropped. That may of turned his season around, instead he just drifted on.
Then again, he may be the type of bloke that would've spat the dummy and walked out if he was dropped. I do get the feeling they need to "manage" him a fair bit!

Medders tends to go missing, he started well but then preceeded to fade in and out for the remainder. He needs to be consistent and kick goals. Whilst he may not have been the worst offender he wasnt kicking enough goals.

Maybe he needs to spit the dummy and then wake up and smell the roses. If hes that precious, Í say trade the freak.

As WHTP says there needs to be accountability next year and no pets - play well and meet your KPI's or go play WAFL for awhile.

Undertaker
29 Nov 2005, 09:02
I agree and the same should apply to the rest of the squad, IMHO I believe we are little to critical of Medhurst, when he he was playing his best footy (2003) he was a lot more nimble & agile, the fitness & coaching staff decided that he needed to bulk and strengthen up so he could become a leading forward. This did not work because he did not have the height or strength to play in this role and unfortunately he lost some of his agility. With Pav & McPharlin now up forward he needs to play more a crumbing game, to do this he needs to get fitter, chase and tackle harder. I think you will see a different Medhurst on the field this year, less time in the weights room and more time doing endurance training = a return to a 60 goal a year HFF.;)

Ripper
29 Nov 2005, 10:48
a return to a 60 goal a year HFF.;)

I think nowadays there is too much store put in how many goals Medders kicks. I remember the Melbounre game at Subi , he ended up goal less but gave of three inclunding Handballing to Hase in the goal square after marking.

He does need to mend some fences with the Umpires as they obviously hate him , incredibly he gave got pinged 22 times in 2005 while only recieving 8 frees, of which 6 were paid in the first 4 rounds.

After the Melbourne Game ar the MCG (Round 6 ) where we saw him get pinged twice in a row for 50M for "throwing the ball back a bit loopily" and "running in the general vicinity of David Nietz" as he was going off , he was only infringed upon two times for the rest of the season getting his last free for the year in round 12.

I can only imagine how the Worst & Barra would pay out on stats like that if He played for our neighbours.

WA ROO
29 Nov 2005, 13:10
Ripper the man in your avatar is where it all starts for Fremantle.If Sandilands keeps improving like he did in 2005 season,the Freo midfielders should be getting first use of the ball.
Your gameplan should be get it to the forwards fast,not giving time for a double team on Pavlich.With Farmer playing the best footy of his Fremantle career and Mcpharlan catching almost everything.Your forward line looks on paper a match for any side in the comp:D
The one thing I would like to see more of is hardness at the ball and ball carrier,like Cookie(my fav Freo player)and J Carr hitting hard,tackling strongly and making opposition midfielders not want to go in and get the ball.
I saw in a game v Richmond in 2004 that after 1/4 some of the Richmond midfielders did not want to go in if Cook was in the pack.
Maybe Harvey can bring some of this to the club
Good luck in 2006(but not v the Roos:D)

jarman
1 Dec 2005, 16:09
I agree with you on Medhurst. But Headland deserves to be a walk up start. He had a great second half of the year. He put his body on the line and played some tough footy which doesnt come up on the stats sheet

Headland does not deserve a walk up start. Pav and Bellie are the only ones in my book, who deserve this. Players earn thier spot, starting on the training track and them perform on match day.

This has been one of the problems - CC favourites and little accountability.