View Full Version : PSD Draft
Custard1952
26 Nov 2005, 23:22
Do we have the actual list of which clubs still have picks left to use in the Pre season draft and any early mail on who might be targeting who?
1/ Carlton - Dylan McLaren
2/ Collingwood - Scott Camporeale
3/ Hawthorn - Brent Guerra
4/ Essendon - Steven Armstrong
5/ Richmond - Damian Cupido
6/ Port Adelaide - Chris Heffernan
7/ Kangaroos - Shane Woewoful
8/ Adelaide - Tom Logan
9/ St. Kilda - Dylan Pfitzner
10/ Carlton - Llane Spaanderman
11/ Essendon - Ashley Eames
mediumsizered
27 Nov 2005, 01:06
2/ Collingwood - Scott Camporeale
4/ Essendon - Steven Armstrong
5/ Richmond - Damian Cupido
6/ Port Adelaide - Chris Heffernan
7/ Kangaroos - Shane Woewoful
8/ Adelaide - Tom Logan
10/ Carlton - Llane Spaanderman
11/ Essendon - Ashley Eames
Carlton will only be having one pick, therefore taking Dylan McLaren, Essendon will be using one of their picks on Scott Camporeale and there other one on Chris Heffernan.
douggie the don
27 Nov 2005, 01:54
Carlton will only be having one pick, therefore taking Dylan McLaren, Essendon will be using one of their picks on Scott Camporeale and there other one on Chris Heffernan.
i believe that the pies have firmed in taking Campo.
Sheed's said it after the draft and they do really need midfielders
(even someone to use as a decoy)
i REALLY hope we get Eames.
Kristof
27 Nov 2005, 05:39
Besides the "a few of these clubs will pass" statement - the PSD won't just be full of recycled players. There will be the occasional player who missed out in the November draft who is taken.
powerpies
27 Nov 2005, 08:38
logan to pies, shaw,siegert,stribling,fixter, are chances.
macca69
27 Nov 2005, 08:53
2/ Collingwood - Damien Cupido
4/ Essendon - Scott Camporeale
5/ Richmond - Matt White
6/ Port Adelaide - Steven Armstrong
7/ Kangaroos - Shane Woewodin
8/ Adelaide - Tom Logan
10/ Carlton - Dylan Smith
11/ Essendon - Chris Heffernan
deluxeman
27 Nov 2005, 09:01
5/ Richmond - Matt White
8/ Adelaide - Tom Logan
Carlton only have one spot on their list left and thats reserved for McLaren, therefore no second pick.
1.Carlton - Dylan McLaren
2. Collingwood - Scott Camporeale
3 Hawthorn - Brent Guerra
4. Essendon - Steven Greene
5. Richmond - Cam Thurley
6. Port Adelaide - Steven Armstrong
7. Kangaroos - Shane Woewodin
8. Adelaide - Tom Logan
9. St Kilda - Dylan Pfitzner
10. Essendon - Chris Heffernan
If this is anything how I went in the National draft you can expect only the first and 10th pick to be right :D
Why do people think StKilda will redraft Pfitzner. We didn't need to delist him, having dropped Jones, Stone and Guerra off the list, so why pick him up in the PSD?
macca69
27 Nov 2005, 09:05
Carlton only have one spot on their list left and thats reserved for McLaren, therefore no second pick.
1.Carlton - Dylan McLaren
3 Hawthorn - Brent Guerra
5. Richmond - Cam Thurley
6. Port Adelaide - Steven Armstrong
7. Kangaroos - Shane Woewodin
8. Adelaide - Tom Logan
9. St Kilda - Dylan Pfitzner
10. Essendon - Chris Heffernan
If this is anything how I went in the National draft you can expect only the first and 10th pick to be right :D
Carlton have one free spot on their list now, but that is including Campo, once campo leaves then they will have 2 picks.
vinnie_vegas69
27 Nov 2005, 09:21
PSD Draft?
So you're asking about the Pre-Season Draft Draft?
I'll answer right after I go to the ATM Machine and enter my PIN Number
deluxeman
27 Nov 2005, 09:27
Carlton have one free spot on their list now, but that is including Campo, once campo leaves then they will have 2 picks.
Campo is on the veterens list, outside the main list. When he leaves all Carlton get is an extra spot on their rookie list.
How about ...
3. Hawthorn - Mick Stevens. None of the Hawks running draftees will play next year so getting Stevens for 2-3 years makes some sense. He is not going to have turned down an offer from the Roos unless someone has spoken to him.
7. Kangaroos - Cam Thurley. Seems to be the suggestion that the Roos are the ones who have spoken to him. Another guy who has turned down a contract offer so must have something up his sleeve.
stefoid
27 Nov 2005, 11:40
bulldogs list is full so they wont be taking podsiadlly n the PSD
perhaps another team?
LukeHodge15
27 Nov 2005, 12:16
with so many talented kids looked over in the draft, some might get picked up in the pre-season draft.
would rather mcentee-markovic-adams-jackson on my list than brent guerra.
Bobby Beecroft
27 Nov 2005, 13:57
Have I missed something or have the Lions dropped out of the PSD?
They have a spot available salary cap permitting.
Stiffy_18
27 Nov 2005, 14:01
I don't think we will pick up Logan. He has been training with Port Adelaide.
I think we will probably go for one of the undrafted kids.
jules101
27 Nov 2005, 14:37
Including the Irish recruits or not?
*PAFC*13
27 Nov 2005, 20:33
1. Carlton- Dylan McLaren (Brisbane)
2. Collingwood- Llane Spaanderman (Brisbane)
3. Hawthorn- Brett Guerra (St. Kilda)
4. Essendon- Scott Camporeale (Carlton)
5. Richmond- PASS
6. Brisbane- Ben Fixter (Sydney)
7. Fremantle- PASS
8. Bulldogs- Brent Montgomery (Port Adelaide)
9. Melbourne- Brayden Shaw (Collingwood)
10. Kangaroos- Shane Woewodin (Collingwood)
11. Port Adelaide- Tom Logan (Brisbane)
12. Geelong- PASS
13. Adelaide- PASS
14. St. Kilda- Stephen Gilham (Port Adelaide)
15. West Coast- PASS
16. Sydney- PASS
DoubleA
27 Nov 2005, 20:35
I find it hard to believe that Damian Cupido would not be playing AFL at some level next year.
davo4030
27 Nov 2005, 20:39
5. Richmond- PASS
7. Fremantle- PASS
12. Geelong- PASS
13. Adelaide- PASS
15. West Coast- PASS
16. Sydney- PASS
Melbourne have no room as they used 4 picks yesterday.
5. Richmond- PASS
7. Fremantle- PASS
12. Geelong- PASS
13. Adelaide- PASS
15. West Coast- PASS
16. Sydney- PASS
wheres essendons 2nd pick?
mattyc2422
27 Nov 2005, 21:21
Umm..he was kinda...drafted yesterday.
5/ Richmond - Matt White/ Mick Stevens
7/ Kangaroos - Cam Thurley
8/ Adelaide - Tom Logan
12/ Kangaroos - Shane Woewodin
ive got a feeling about this one!!
TheGeneral
28 Nov 2005, 00:16
I find it hard to believe that Damian Cupido would not be playing AFL at some level next year.
I agree, I still think he's got more talent than most players but then so did Angwin and to a lesser extent Norman.;)
The Flying Belgian
28 Nov 2005, 08:53
Nope, 38 spots filled.
Not sure if we can move one of out veterans outside the list at this stage. Doubt we've got room under the cap for it anyway.
Why do people think StKilda will redraft Pfitzner. We didn't need to delist him, having dropped Jones, Stone and Guerra off the list, so why pick him up in the PSD?
stkilda did need to delist phitzner. as we picked up watts.
although i would have thought that phitzner would be picked up in the rookie draft again. why give phitzner anohter 2 years ? when the rookie draft would be only one year (assuming he is a local).
Viking Wizard Eyes
28 Nov 2005, 09:40
PSD Draft?
So you're asking about the Pre-Season Draft Draft?
I'll answer right after I go to the ATM Machine and enter my PIN Number
Great post mate, but it has nothing to do with this thread. :)
*PAFC*13
28 Nov 2005, 10:04
5. Richmond- PASS
7. Fremantle- PASS
12. Geelong- PASS
13. Adelaide- PASS
15. West Coast- PASS
16. Sydney- PASS
I ********ed up with this one^, that was my pre-draft PSD.
This is my new one......
Carlton- Dylan McLaren
Collingwood- Scott Camporeale
Hawthorn- Brett Guerra
Essendon- Ashley Eames
Richmond- PASS
Brisbane- Ben Fixter
Fremantle- Damian Cupido
Bulldogs- PASS
Melbourne- PASS
Kangaroos- Shane Woewodin
Port Adelaide- Tom Logan
Geelong- PASS
Adelaide- Brayden Shaw
St. Kilda- Stephen Gilham
West Coast- PASS
Sydney- PASS
Essendon- Chris Hefferman
nonchalance
28 Nov 2005, 10:38
Essendon- Ashley Eames
Hope so, but doubt it. We'll probably get Greene or some other athlete who can't play.
do freo have a pick??
No, don't think so, here's mine
1. Carlton - D.McLaren
2. Collingwood - S.Camporeale
3. Hawthorn - B.Guerra
4. Essendon - S.Greene
5. Richmond - D.Cupido
6. Port Adelaide - S.Armstrong
7. Adelaide - T.Logan
8. St. Kilda - D.Pfitzer
9. Essendon - C.Heffernan
Cadyn Beetham doesn't seem to have mentioned at all. I'd be pretty happy for Brisbane to have a look at him.
Ferga18
28 Nov 2005, 13:22
Yeh just heard mick malthouse say on the radio that Campo is a player they are keen to have, but he also said "if he is around, we will nab him I would think", then the interviewer said "But carlton have the first pick and are almost certain to grab McLaren, they wouldnt re-draft Camporeale", then Mick said, "How do u know that for sure, who knows what Denis is thinking" then he laughed. So it will be interesting!
TheGeneral
28 Nov 2005, 13:24
Yeh just heard mick malthouse say on the radio that Campo is a player they are keen to have, but he also said "if he is around, we will nab him I would think", then the interviewer said "But carlton have the first pick and are almost certain to grab McLaren, they wouldnt re-draft Camporeale", then Mick said, "How do u know that for sure, who knows what Denis is thinking" then he laughed. So it will be interesting!
I hope this is verbatim.:D :thumbsu:
Why would Essendon need another ruckman when we just picked up Ryder? :confused:
The Flying Belgian
28 Nov 2005, 13:54
Cadyn Beetham doesn't seem to have mentioned at all. I'd be pretty happy for Brisbane to have a look at him.
Except we don't have any spots left....
nonchalance
28 Nov 2005, 14:42
Why would Essendon need another ruckman when we just picked up Ryder? :confused:
There's two main types of ruckman. There's your big, smash-crash mother********er, two metres tall and 110kg, and your athletic half-rover with height and a leap.
A good team has a couple of each.
We've got five of the athlete types - Hille, Cartledge, Bradley, Ryder, Henneman - and three of those are probably more KPP than ruck anyway.
We've got one of the big type - Laycock. Now, Laycock looks good, but he's at least a year away from really making an impact, and he might just turn out to be a bit more athletic and a bit less rough-tough than we thought.
Ash Eames is big. He's very tough. He knows how to play, and he's already built for the role - while Ryder, Cartledge, and to a lesser extent Bradley are just going to get broken in half if they play a full game in the ruck.
5/ Richmond - Matt White
8/ Adelaide - Tom Logan
Cupido won't be picked up and Carlton only have one pick.
5. Richmond- PASS
7. Fremantle- PASS
12. Geelong- PASS
13. Adelaide- PASS
15. West Coast- PASS
16. Sydney- PASS
Not every team has a pick in the PSD.
5. Richmond- PASS
7. Fremantle- PASS
12. Geelong- PASS
13. Adelaide- PASS
15. West Coast- PASS
16. Sydney- PASS
why gilham ?
There's two main types of ruckman. There's your big, smash-crash mother********er, two metres tall and 110kg, and your athletic half-rover with height and a leap.
A good team has a couple of each.
We've got five of the athlete types - Hille, Cartledge, Bradley, Ryder, Henneman - and three of those are probably more KPP than ruck anyway.
We've got one of the big type - Laycock. Now, Laycock looks good, but he's at least a year away from really making an impact, and he might just turn out to be a bit more athletic and a bit less rough-tough than we thought.
Ash Eames is big. He's very tough. He knows how to play, and he's already built for the role - while Ryder, Cartledge, and to a lesser extent Bradley are just going to get broken in half if they play a full game in the ruck.
Cartledge doesn't have the weight yet, but he does have the height. I think the weight will come, so that we'll have Laycock & Cartledge as the tall options, and Hille/Ryder as the athletic ones. In my view thats more than enough. Better to use the PSD pick on a young player, and then rookie two young rucks (eg. McEntee if he's not bottom aged).
jimmy_clement#8
28 Nov 2005, 16:21
when and what station was this? if mick was being fair dinkum, sounds concrete to me, but then again, i still doubt that we would pick him up. doesnt make a whole lot of sense to me.
White Czar
28 Nov 2005, 16:24
Rather Richmond go a highly rated kid that missed out in the national draft rather than a Guerra, Cupido..
1. Carlton - Dylan McLaren
3. Hawthorn - Brent Guerra
5. Richmond - Steven Armstrong
6. Brisbane - Ben Fixter
7. Bulldogs - Brayden Shaw
8. Melbourne - Shane Woewoedin
9. Port Adelaide - Tom Logan
10. St. Kilda - Ashley Eames
11. Essendon - Stephen Gilham
pafc4life
28 Nov 2005, 16:34
i reckon we'll grab either Armstrong or Cupido
White Czar
28 Nov 2005, 16:36
1. Carlton - Dylan McLaren
3. Hawthorn - Brent Guerra
5. Richmond - Steven Armstrong
6. Brisbane - Ben Fixter
7. Bulldogs - Brayden Shaw
8. Melbourne - Shane Woewoedin
9. Port Adelaide - Tom Logan
10. St. Kilda - Ashley Eames
11. Essendon - Stephen Gilham
Wouldn't lose sleep over that.
mattyc2422
28 Nov 2005, 16:43
Nope, 38 spots filled.
Not sure if we can move one of out veterans outside the list at this stage. Doubt we've got room under the cap for it anyway.
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/11/27/1133026346592.html
"Clubs can change their lists before the pre-season draft, as Brisbane is expected to do."
stkilda did need to delist phitzner. as we picked up watts.
although i would have thought that phitzner would be picked up in the rookie draft again. why give phitzner anohter 2 years ? when the rookie draft would be only one year (assuming he is a local).
Phitzer was on the rookie list, we didn't have 38 players on the list anyway
The Flying Belgian
28 Nov 2005, 21:11
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/11/27/1133026346592.html
"Clubs can change their lists before the pre-season draft, as Brisbane is expected to do."
Egg. Face. :D Luke Forsyth has been delisted. Had major problems with OP for the second year in a row and came back this year with poor skinfolds. Obviously the groin wasn't too flash either.
I wasn't even considering that they'd cut a first-year player. Made the lazy assumption that a draftee has to have a minimum two years on the list.
Matty, my comment was more in relation to whether we can shift our of our rookies from inside the list to outside, salary cap permitting, at this stage or whether once we've nominated them (as inside or outside) that's it. I presume we could still move them.
Either way it's a moot point now anyway. Guess we're back in the PSD now...
Egg. Face. :D Luke Forsyth has been delisted. Had major problems with OP for the second year in a row and came back this year with poor skinfolds. Obviously the groin wasn't too flash either.
I wasn't even considering that they'd cut a first-year player. Made the lazy assumption that a draftee has to have a minimum two years on the list.
Matty, my comment was more in relation to whether we can shift our of our rookies from inside the list to outside, salary cap permitting, at this stage or whether once we've nominated them (as inside or outside) that's it. I presume we could still move them.
Either way it's a moot point now anyway. Guess we're back in the PSD now...
I'm fairly certain that Rookies must have either been retained, upgraded or delisted, and that they can't be changed now (except possibly delist). Veterans however, can be shifted in and out of the main list, although there are a few other rules applying to this that could stop teams from moving certain veterans.
what about tom davidson to the lions in the psd !! that should get eddie going