View Full Version : Danny Meyer

The Dice Man
29 Nov 2005, 12:59
What, if anything, can we expect from Danny in season 06?

Seems to be thought of very highly and its only a matter of him getting his body and head ready to make an impact in the AFL.

Will he become a regular in just his 2nd season at the club, or is he more likely to play 5 or 6 games, getting a taste and further understanding of what he will need to do?

BalmyArmy
29 Nov 2005, 13:11
I hope he can get a few more games under his belt this year. He has the football mind, and the few times he played last year, he seemed to be quite capable out there.

I think in the second half of the year, he will get more of a go.

rfctigerarmy
29 Nov 2005, 15:57
Well, hopefully he gets about 10 games this year.. to futher his knowledge of AFL football. I see the kid as one of our best recruits in the last 4 years, he will be a star.

blxx
29 Nov 2005, 16:19
although it might take him abit longer to 'make the grade' than the others you could tell from last year he had a touch of class about his bizness so all the right things are ready to fruit, its just giving them the time to ripen.

Polo could be the same too. I hope he has a similar journey next year as he did this season except with the ones. Below average start (hands on experience) then bang! 2/3rds into the season the penny drops and theres a new monster in our pack!

two thousand and eight, cant wait!

IDGAF
29 Nov 2005, 17:05
although it might take him abit longer to 'make the grade' than the others you could tell from last year he had a touch of class about his bizness so all the right things are ready to fruit, its just giving them the time to ripen.

Which is plough`s way

I reckon they held him back last year when he possibly could have played a little more senior footy .

Very exciting lad indeed

strav
29 Nov 2005, 17:50
Meyer is a superstar in the making. 2006 will be the year when he emerges along with Tambling.

:::buddy38:::
29 Nov 2005, 19:11
I think he will need a couple more seasons to show his full potential. One great thing is he loves melbourne and has no intentions of going home to adelaide until his footy career is over

blxx
29 Nov 2005, 20:22
i do hope your on the ball there buddy...

rfctigerarmy
29 Nov 2005, 20:24
I think he will need a couple more seasons to show his full potential. One great thing is he loves melbourne and has no intentions of going home to adelaide until his footy career is over

How do you know that..?

Do you know Danny?

Bojangles17
29 Nov 2005, 21:16
very much the forgotten man this youngster, im eagerly awaiting his progress as he shows all the hallmarks and i agree he was deliberately held back due to being far too light

jackson_rules
29 Nov 2005, 21:22
the best part is if he was drafted by any other team he would have all teh pressure of being there first pick however atm he happily adjusting at his own rate and will sneak up on the comp very soon

Darth_Tiger
29 Nov 2005, 21:34
will show his stuff next year i reckon, will either cement a spot or almost will.

jezza
29 Nov 2005, 21:49
Lot of physical development still required, I expect him to mirror the career so far of Farren Ray and keep playing 6 or 7 more games each season as he physically develops. I love to way he plays, he doesn't seem to mind going for the hard ball, he just doesn't have the body to back it up yet.

itsintheblood
30 Nov 2005, 08:32
very much the forgotten man this youngster, im eagerly awaiting his progress as he shows all the hallmarks and i agree he was deliberately held back due to being far too light

Forgotten??? How can he be forgotten? He's only been at the club for 12 months.

Will be a star.

tiger of old
30 Nov 2005, 08:32
Meyer will be better than Tambling.

Darth_Tiger
30 Nov 2005, 08:40
you might be right there too. he has that special quality. as good as i think tambo will be, meyer could be better.

White Czar
30 Nov 2005, 08:43
How good was Dal Santo or Luke Power in their 2nd year?

Calm down lads. Looks a good prospect but I dont think will do much in 2006.

LVAK
30 Nov 2005, 08:55
I remember what I think was his first kick hemmed in on the boundary lineat Telstra Dome. He drilled it 40m through traffic to the target and my mate and I looked at each other and smiled.
He may not get much time to hit Richo on the chest but hopefully he can drill balls to the 'Cloven Hoof' and the small forwards in years to come. From what I've seen of him at Coburg he is a low possession- high effectiveness type