View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
BIG "H"
29 Aug 2006, 09:48
Lavi an Wodonga should also be an entertaining game. I believe this game will be a lot closer than people think! Not forgetting the fashion the panthers disposed of the dogs in last years semi final!
Mongoose
29 Aug 2006, 10:54
Lavi an Wodonga should also be an entertaining game. I believe this game will be a lot closer than people think! Not forgetting the fashion the panthers disposed of the dogs in last years elim final!
Your a tosser big H, get over last year. Last year will have no bearing on any match this year. And it wasn't the elim final any way, it was the 1st semi final. Wodonga beet corowa in the elim final last year... Good call!!
In the mix
29 Aug 2006, 11:40
[quote=Mongoose]
Myrt definitely have the talent to win it this year, but commitment is the big issue I reckon!
The Wednesday night before the Lavi game a couple of weeks ago 3 of their senior players were out on the juice in Albury!
And again one of the same players was at Liquid on Friday night - and they lost to Wod!
BIG "H"
29 Aug 2006, 11:57
[quote=Mongoose]
Myrt definitely have the talent to win it this year, but commitment is the big issue I reckon!
The Wednesday night before the Lavi game a couple of weeks ago 3 of their senior players were out on the juice in Albury!
And again one of the same players was at Liquid on Friday night - and they lost to Wod!
I totally agree, I heard exactly the same thing! It has been a regular outing all year for a number of the Myrt boys!
There was also 2 Lavi players out last Wednesday night to the early hours of the morning, an I believe Timba let the players know before the game on Sat it would'nt be tolerated an started both players on the interchange! Can you confirm this Lavy Panther?
BIG "H"
29 Aug 2006, 14:25
I have attempted to do an O&M team of the year. I'm sure there will be plenty of debate about doin these teams as it is extremely hard but here it is :
B: M.Wollington A.Butler P.Bunn
H/B: W.Dickson D.Leslie M.Shir
C: L.Schmidt K.Stevens A.Carey
H/F: J.Wild R.Ambrose S.McCormick
F: S.McKee T.Hargraves C.Ednie
Foll: P.Docerty L.Carroll D.Maher
Inter: Carmody, J.Allan, M.Doolan
EM: D.McAlister, J.Twitt, L.Furlon
Apologies to M.Witherdon, P.Chistoforo, J.Frawley, J.Kotzur,
I just had a look BIG H at the O&M Critic and there are approx 45 Local players (Myrtleford District), and only about 6-8 players from outside the district. I think that most of these 45 players would be on the minimum amount per game so they can get high profile players at the club ensuring the club is successful....
What do You think?
Big H,
You certainly know your football. I am a little confused though, you have contradicted yourself a little by stating previously that you knew some of the myrtleford football club players and said "they are all great blokes" then go on and call them Dogs. Please clarify which side of the fence you are on because i really like following your posts but am starting to doubt your intellengence. Please clean up your act and from reading the recent articles i am not the only one starting to disregard your input. Mate you are better then that. Anyhow Cheers Little Fella.
BIG "H"
29 Aug 2006, 15:38
I just had a look BIG H at the O&M Critic and there are approx 45 Local players (Myrtleford District), and only about 6-8 players from outside the district. I think that most of these 45 players would be on the minimum amount per game so they can get high profile players at the club ensuring the club is successful....
What do You think?
I agree mate an its fantasctic for the club to have that many locals at the club. But I'm certain that local players that have returned to the club in recent years are on huge $. But yes you are right there would be a lot of good local players playing on min payments so sucess comes there way.
I have got into Myrt a bit of late but I do admire where they have come from over the last few years. I have some good mates that play up there an I wish them all the best over the next month!
hammer_time
29 Aug 2006, 18:26
[quote=Mongoose]
any names for us?
just wondering how stripping two sides, two premiership points, so they miss out on the finals, all for missing one meeting in january (which they wernt notified about, coz someone was stupid enough to post the notice to the CLUB in december), is fair?
anyone else here about this ludicris thing happening with the B & C Grade netball comps?
harsh, but fair
29 Aug 2006, 20:58
just wondering how stripping two sides, two premiership points, so they miss out on the finals, all for missing one meeting in january (which they wernt notified about, coz someone was stupid enough to post the notice to the CLUB in december), is fair?
anyone else here about this ludicris thing happening with the B & C Grade netball comps?
Please explain?
BonnScott
29 Aug 2006, 22:18
[quote=In the mix]
any names for us?
Yeah names, and H you seem to know all at Myrt you might be able to help out and while your at it also can post your spreadsheet with all of Myrtlefords player payments please to.
albury B & C grade netball teams have been stripped of two premisership points, therefore they dont make the finals, all because they failed to attend a meeting in january
roast beef roll
29 Aug 2006, 23:10
albury B & C grade netball teams have been stripped of two premisership points, therefore they dont make the finals, all because they failed to attend a meeting in january
Sounds like it wasn't totally their fault but that'll teach them to find out when the next meeting is i guess! What teams have taken their places in the finals.
it sounds like bias at the top of the netball fraternity!!!
radiers b grade and yarrawonga in c grade
I agree mate an its fantasctic for the club to have that many locals at the club. But I'm certain that local players that have returned to the club in recent years are on huge $. But yes you are right there would be a lot of good local players playing on min payments so sucess comes there way.
I have got into Myrt a bit of late but I do admire where they have come from over the last few years. I have some good mates that play up there an I wish them all the best over the next month!
What do you class as Huge $? $300? $400? $1000
Pearce off Jack
30 Aug 2006, 11:35
For a bloke who admires Myrtleford football club and has some good mates there then i would hate to see what you would have to say if you didnt like them!If your such good mates with all these players why dont you call them all personally and tell them directly what you think instead of bagging them on here!Bet not one of these mates of yours gets a phone call!
BIG "H"
30 Aug 2006, 12:14
For a bloke who admires Myrtleford football club and has some good mates there then i would hate to see what you would have to say if you didnt like them!If your such good mates with all these players why dont you call them all personally and tell them directly what you think instead of bagging them on here!Bet not one of these mates of yours gets a phone call!
First of all I havent bagged the club I have just givin my opinion on how they have got where they are. I have told a number of the boys what I think an couple of them agree with me. They agree that if they had not spent the money they have spent they wouldn be were they are now. But with no salary cap an the $ there to spend good luck them lets just hope the old money bag doesnt run out!
Now can we please leave this subject alone now I think enough has been said!!
Its finals time lets enjoy what should be 2 great games of footy this weekend!
Captain Jack Sparrow
30 Aug 2006, 13:20
First of all I havent bagged the club I have just givin my opinion on how they have got where they are. I have told a number of the boys what I think an couple of them agree with me. They agree that if they had not spent the money they have spent they wouldn be were they are now. But with no salary cap an the $ there to spend good luck them lets just hope the old money bag doesnt run out!
I agree with your last comment. lets leave this subject alone.
BonnScott
30 Aug 2006, 13:52
Your a **** talker. No names, amounts who was on the ****?? Make statements and back them up. Otherwise shut up and leave.
BonnScott
30 Aug 2006, 14:06
Scroll back a page numbskull.
Flat Track Bully
30 Aug 2006, 14:47
A few questions for this weekend...
1/ Do the Dogs have the hunger back, and can they roll Lavi?
(Lavy Panther will say "no"...but why Steve's brother?)
2/ Can Albury make life tough for the Saints, or will Trav have them fired up after their loss to the Dogs.
3/ What will Bob's boys do this weekend...go and watch Mulwala?
can anyone confirm that matt cavedon is back playing in the ovens and murray?
In the mix
30 Aug 2006, 15:39
[quote=In the mix]
any names for us?
Wouldn't do that! - boys reckon 1 of them a monty to play at Albury next year.
BIG "H"
30 Aug 2006, 15:50
[quote=hammer_time]
Wouldn't do that! - boys reckon 1 of them a monty to play at Albury next year.
Do play O&M yourself?
Rabbit_30
30 Aug 2006, 16:01
can anyone confirm that matt cavedon is back playing in the ovens and murray?
Yes Matt Cavedon is back. Played his first game on the weekend in the 2nds against Wodonga.
**** up BS, seriously!!! stop loading this thread with complete and utter crap!!! we are on here to talk about footy in case you didnt notice, who really gives a **** about how much players are paid???
lets all follow CJS's words of wisdom and kill this argument!!!
A few questions for this weekend...
1/ Do the Dogs have the hunger back, and can they roll Lavi?
(Lavy Panther will say "no"...but why Steve's brother?)
2/ Can Albury make life tough for the Saints, or will Trav have them fired up after their loss to the Dogs.
3/ What will Bob's boys do this weekend...go and watch Mulwala?
um i think it will be a good game, but lavi's september record and form may be too strong for the dogs...
i think albury will stick with myrtleford for a half or in patches all day
(i would love to see albury go further and i want them to, but my prediction is albury out in straight sets)
duno what the yarra boys will be up to, they may go and watch the game at wang, just with travel and to watch their possible opponents for next week
BIG "H"
30 Aug 2006, 17:16
um i think it will be a good game, but lavi's september record and form may be too strong for the dogs...
i think albury will stick with myrtleford for a half or in patches all day
(i would love to see albury go further and i want them to, but my prediction is albury out in straight sets)
duno what the yarra boys will be up to, they may go and watch the game at wang, just with travel and to watch their possible opponents for next week
The Yarra boys will train sat morning in wang, followed by a lunch. The whole team will then attend the Myrt V Alb match according to a few of the yarra boys.
BonnScott
30 Aug 2006, 17:31
**** up BS, seriously!!! stop loading this thread with complete and utter crap!!! we are on here to talk about footy in case you didnt notice, who really gives a **** about how much players are paid???
lets all follow CJS's words of wisdom and kill this argument!!!
**** off Harold you twit. I simply asked "Big H" to back up some of his comments with answers, otherwise don t make them. As you can see he had no answers.
Yes Matt Cavedon is back. Played his first game on the weekend in the 2nds against Wodonga.
How did he go RABBIT? How was his fitness? Correct me if im wrong but wasn't he overseas in the Navy? Maybe Iraq?
BonnScott
30 Aug 2006, 18:18
Went ok Agent, looks like he spent a fair amount of time doing bicep curls with missiles to on the ship in the Gulf too!!
Here It Is
30 Aug 2006, 18:26
Myrtleford by 45 points
Lavington by 29 points
harsh, but fair
30 Aug 2006, 20:35
Don't write off the Dogs.
They have got some of their best players in super form at the moment.
I speak of Shir, who ran rings around the Saints at various stages last round, and McCormick has had a very, very consistent season and will poll well in the Morris Medal.
Coach Jarrod Twitt also comes back from injury and they might even play 15-year-old Jack Ziebell.
They have found a couple of targets up forward in Daniel Cassidy and Matt Bradshaw _ neither played last time they played Lavington.
Lavington really stretched the Bulldogs in defence last time with Hickey, Tim Sanson and Peter Doherty all marking options while Brendan Page did a fair bit of the ruck work.
Hayden Heta really needs to stand up in the ruck and Adam Williams, Michael Lamb and Nev Nugent will need to cover the aforementioned trio even though they concede in most instances.
**** off Harold you twit. I simply asked "Big H" to back up some of his comments with answers, otherwise don t make them. As you can see he had no answers.
twit hey?? thats an interesting comeback...
Big H was smart enough to stop the argument there because NO ONE ****ING CARES!!!!! get that through your thick head!!!!
Don't write off the Dogs.
They have got some of their best players in super form at the moment.
I speak of Shir, who ran rings around the Saints at various stages last round, and McCormick has had a very, very consistent season and will poll well in the Morris Medal.
Coach Jarrod Twitt also comes back from injury and they might even play 15-year-old Jack Ziebell.
They have found a couple of targets up forward in Daniel Cassidy and Matt Bradshaw _ neither played last time they played Lavington.
Lavington really stretched the Bulldogs in defence last time with Hickey, Tim Sanson and Peter Doherty all marking options while Brendan Page did a fair bit of the ruck work.
Hayden Heta really needs to stand up in the ruck and Adam Williams, Michael Lamb and Nev Nugent will need to cover the aforementioned trio even though they concede in most instances.
yeh i agree you can't write them off, they have found some form at the right time of the year, i just think lavi will be too strong. panthers by 14pts.
Backs - Mark Lonergan , Paul Bunn, Matt Wollington
H/Back - Adam Bulter Wade Dickson Scott Oswald
Centre - Matt Pendergast Jason Wild David Gregory
H/Forward - Clinton Runnalls Matt Shir Simon McCormick
Forward - Steve McKee Tim Hargreaves Laurance Furlan
Rucks - Josh Frawley Kade Stevens Craig Ednie
Inter - Dale Carmody Luke Carroll Andrew Carey
What does everyone think ? Note 3 cousins in the side - Ednie, Runnalls and McKee
Re thinking - Ambrose to Centre Half Forward
Mongoose
31 Aug 2006, 11:08
Why don't you put the whole yarra side in, it's a very one sided side and you can tell that you follow yarra.
Why don't you try putting players in positions that they actually play in during the year.
Bunn - does not play at full back
Pendergast - does not play on a wing
Furlan - could probably count the amount of goals he's kicked on both hands
Oswald - there are half back flankers that have far better seasons than this bloke.
Gregory - there are wingman that have had far better seasons than this bloke also.
Shir - would very rarely play at centre half forward.
BIG "H"
31 Aug 2006, 11:29
I have attempted to do an O&M team of the year. I'm sure there will be plenty of debate about doin these teams as it is extremely hard but here it is :
B: M.Wollington A.Butler P.Bunn
H/B: W.Dickson D.Leslie M.Shir
C: L.Schmidt K.Stevens A.Carey
H/F: J.Wild R.Ambrose S.McCormick
F: S.McKee T.Hargraves C.Ednie
Foll: P.Docerty L.Carroll D.Maher
Inter: Carmody, J.Allan, M.Doolan
EM: D.McAlister, J.Twitt, L.Furlon
Apologies to M.Witherdon, P.Chistoforo, J.Frawley, J.Kotzur,
Anyone got any comments on this side ?? Harsh but fair what are your thoughts?
It will be interesting to see The Border Mail (David Johnstons) Ovens and Murray Team of the Year!!!!
Out of Curiosity who was in last years? Have they performed as well this year?
Gotheroos
31 Aug 2006, 17:30
Last time I looked this was Bigfooty.com not Bignetball.com
Gotheroos
31 Aug 2006, 17:34
How can you bag a club like Mrtyleford for spending money when your club Yarrawonga have been doing it for years? And with no sucess. The well is going to dry up sooner or later.
Why don't you put the whole yarra side in, it's a very one sided side and you can tell that you follow yarra.
Why don't you try putting players in positions that they actually play in during the year.
So Mongoose - does this mean you are currently sitting down and doing your own team???
Or it is more fun just to bag others without contributing?
Last time I looked this was Bigfooty.com not Bignetball.com
its still part of the O&M you ********!!!!
how would you like it after training and working hard all year for your precious FOOTBALL team, to then miss out on playing in the finals because someone from your club didnt attend one meeting at the start of the year???
im not saying the penalty is too harsh, what im saying is, why leave it until a couple of weeks from the end of the season to tell them, why not tell them at the start of the year?? look you've missed the meeting, you will start on -2 points, and then you can work even harder during the year to make the finals!!!! why leave it til now and leave the team in tears!!!!
Any chance of a post Harold without a few expletives?
nah probably not mate, i just like to emphasise
Gotheroos
31 Aug 2006, 18:20
how would you like it after training and working hard all year for your precious FOOTBALL team, to then miss out on playing in the finals because someone from your club didnt attend one meeting at the start of the year???
im not saying the penalty is too harsh, what im saying is, why leave it until a couple of weeks from the end of the season to tell them, why not tell them at the start of the year?? look you've missed the meeting, you will start on -2 points, and then you can work even harder during the year to make the finals!!!! why leave it til now and leave the team in tears!!!!
Everyone else knew about it you goose. And if you are worrying about 2 points at the end of the year it looks like you are just going to make up the numbers anyway or you would have been in the final five by 8 points.
im not worrying about the two points, i just dont see how its fair
and you didnt answer my question either...
Lavy_Panther
31 Aug 2006, 18:37
Your over punctualisation brings tears to my eyes, Harold.
aussie fast bowler
31 Aug 2006, 18:40
Firstly, I'd give the people who should've been at the meeting my complaint, not the big footy crowd!
Yes the O&M shoud've told them at the start of the year, simple. But perhaps someone in the office forgot about it, just like the tigers girls forgot about the initial meeting.
Yes u'd be pis$ed at missing out on finals under those circumstances, but what's happened has happened and crying bout it won't fix!
Now, can we sack this topic!
Gotheroos
31 Aug 2006, 18:40
The answer to you question is this. Everyone else got the same memo about the meeting and they turned up so there is no one else to blame except themselves.
You need to stop making excuses and get on with it. Like I said if they were good enough they wouldn't have been in the position of missing out by 2 points.
Captain Jack Sparrow
1 Sep 2006, 10:34
As we approach this weekends games can albury still get over the line against Myrtleford with out there key forward Matthew Fowler?
Can Wodonga continue there winning streak after a good win against Myrtleford last week?
Mongoose
1 Sep 2006, 11:21
So Mongoose - does this mean you are currently sitting down and doing your own team???
Or it is more fun just to bag others without contributing?
I didn't bag the side boof head!
texas hold em
1 Sep 2006, 11:56
why was there so much talk and contreversary about netball on the footy forum? it's not bignetty is it? thank god that topic is dropped now people can disuss whats important, footy finals
Ok, lets call it constructive criticism then shall we.
I still would love to see your thoughts on the side of the year. :D
why was there so much talk and contreversary about netball on the footy forum? it's not bignetty is it? thank god that topic is dropped now people can disuss whats important, footy finals
Don't bag the O&M netball mate. They put in as much if not more than the footballers for no financial gain, but for there club. It is an important issue in the O&M at the moment so it is worthy of discussion, even on a football website
BonnScott
1 Sep 2006, 12:47
Was a lot of Yarra blokes in that team, but they have played well.
Give us the All-Star team from the mountains Mongoose!!
Mongoose
1 Sep 2006, 17:08
Call it whatever you like.
If you look back at who posted the side (louise, i presume is female with a name such as that) she actually asked for comments on her side, so i gave her some comments on it, and stated that she had players in her side that don't play in the positions she had them in and haven't had as good a year as others.
Maybe her side was a bit rushed, it's a tough gig to pick a side of the year and it's not something you can do in 10 minutes, which i think she must have cause i don't think it's had a great deal of thought put into it.
Don't bag the O&M netball mate. They put in as much if not more than the footballers for no financial gain, but for there club. It is an important issue in the O&M at the moment so it is worthy of discussion, even on a football website
Spot on Nugget!!!!:thumbsu:
Without netball country footy would be well and truly *****ed!!!
It gets more people buying memberships, more people through the gates and more people spending money over the bar/canteen.
Furious Styles
1 Sep 2006, 18:04
Spot on Nugget!!!!:thumbsu:
Without netball country footy would be well and truly *****ed!!!
It gets more people buying memberships, more people through the gates and more people spending money over the bar/canteen.
No worries junkie get back on the needle goose.
Nice input you @r$e clown:thumbsu:
I'll get back to the needle right after your old lady stops guzzling my baby batter:cool:
Here It Is
1 Sep 2006, 22:37
My Top 10 players at the completion of the home and away season, and as such, my tip for the Morris Medal.
OVENS AND MURRAY
1. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 85
2. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 81
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 76
4. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 74
5. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 71
6. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 69
6. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 69
8. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 63
9. Calan McClay (Albury) 62
9. Brent Piltz (Myrtleford) 62
I'd be lying if I said Luke Carroll's absence isn't making me uneasy, but as I've said many times, I can only go on what is published.
If I narrow the points down from scoring the top 10 players each game to the top 3, my picks for the Morris Medal would be as such:
Paul Bunn 14, Kade Stevens 12, Dale Carmody 12, Craig Ednie 12, Richard Ambrose 12, Rhys Fitzpatrick 10, Jason Wild 10.
My tips for each club's best and fairest are as follows:
ALBURY - Calan McClay 62, Trent Crothers 56, Daniel Anglin 47 (and yes, I wish I could name Luke Carroll, but he is 8th at the club on 32)
COROWA-RUTHERGLEN - Matt Witherden 81, Richard Ambrose 55, Lee Schmidt 53
LAVINGTON - Kade Stevens 85, Matt Pendergast 54, Adam Butler 48
MYRTLEFORD - Rhys Fitzpatrick 74, Paul Bunn 69, Brent Piltz 62
NORTH ALBURY - Daniel Leslie 57, Matt Nichol 50, Brad Horn 43, Mark Hilton 43
WANGARATTA - Dale Carmody 71, Judd Porter 61, Shaun Gannon 49
WANGARATTA ROVERS - Anthony Tucci 76, Anthony McGuire 44, Jamie Allan 41
WODONGA - Simon McCormick 69, Matthew Shir 57, Adam Williams 53
WODONGA RAIDERS - Mark Doolan 63, Kurt Gowers 39, Leigh Corcoran 39
YARRAWONGA - Craig Ednie 59, Tim Hargreaves 54, Jason Wild 53
That's it, the system is on the line, let's see how we go.
roast beef roll
1 Sep 2006, 23:15
My Top 10 players at the completion of the home and away season, and as such, my tip for the Morris Medal.
OVENS AND MURRAY
1. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 85
2. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 81
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 76
4. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 74
5. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 71
6. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 69
6. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 69
8. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 63
9. Calan McClay (Albury) 62
9. Brent Piltz (Myrtleford) 62
I'd be lying if I said Luke Carroll's absence isn't making me uneasy, but as I've said many times, I can only go on what is published.
If I narrow the points down from scoring the top 10 players each game to the top 3, my picks for the Morris Medal would be as such:
Paul Bunn 14, Kade Stevens 12, Dale Carmody 12, Craig Ednie 12, Richard Ambrose 12, Rhys Fitzpatrick 10, Jason Wild 10.
My tips for each club's best and fairest are as follows:
ALBURY - Calan McClay 62, Trent Crothers 56, Daniel Anglin 47 (and yes, I wish I could name Luke Carroll, but he is 8th at the club on 32)
COROWA-RUTHERGLEN - Matt Witherden 81, Richard Ambrose 55, Lee Schmidt 53
LAVINGTON - Kade Stevens 85, Matt Pendergast 54, Adam Butler 48
MYRTLEFORD - Rhys Fitzpatrick 74, Paul Bunn 69, Brent Piltz 62
NORTH ALBURY - Daniel Leslie 57, Matt Nichol 50, Brad Horn 43, Mark Hilton 43
WANGARATTA - Dale Carmody 71, Judd Porter 61, Shaun Gannon 49
WANGARATTA ROVERS - Anthony Tucci 76, Anthony McGuire 44, Jamie Allan 41
WODONGA - Simon McCormick 69, Matthew Shir 57, Adam Williams 53
WODONGA RAIDERS - Mark Doolan 63, Kurt Gowers 39, Leigh Corcoran 39
YARRAWONGA - Craig Ednie 59, Tim Hargreaves 54, Jason Wild 53
That's it, the system is on the line, let's see how we go.
You're obviously waiting for some more rain on the farm big fella, too much time on your hands. i'm looking forward to checking your tips against the club B&F's, i reckon your not far wrong with most of them (bar albury) I'm not expecting much on the medal prediction as the little fella's in white often see the game differently to a lot of us, it could be anyone's.
Good luck
Furious Styles
2 Sep 2006, 11:51
Nice input you @r$e clown:thumbsu:
I'll get back to the needle right after your old lady stops guzzling my baby batter:cool:
C'mon brassy, that was totally uncalled for. Keep doin circle work against the traffic mate just like you spend the rest of your life mate goin in the opposite direction to everyone else. The only comeback you had to a 14 yr old was to call him a virgin, mate your a tool.
roast beef roll
9 Sep 2006, 21:50
I see their was a big win for the myrt boys today, now they march into the GF. From looking at the scores the yarra boys kicked poorly again.
Didn't get to the game, but i've heard there was a bit of biff in the crowd, can anymore confirm. If so, it'll be interesting to see what happens should the yarra boys make it thru to play them again.
harsh, but fair
9 Sep 2006, 22:35
Didn't see the biff in the crowd, but full marks to the Saints they simply out-played the Pigeons who were very, very disappointing yet only went down by 25 points.
Good signs for Saints with Brad Murray getting through unscathed, but McKee limped off with a hammy in the third term and David Bourke didn't take his place in the selected team also due to a hammy.
Both will play in the gf.
Couldn't have wished for a better prep, two tough finals game, spell and then grand final.
Result may also work in Yarra's favours.
Flopped today, but will come back hard next week against Lavington or Albury who they have both beaten twice this year.
[quote=harsh, but fair]Didn't see the biff in the crowd, but full marks to the Saints they simply out-played the Pigeons who were very, very disappointing yet only went down by 25 points.
Good signs for Saints with Brad Murray getting through unscathed, but McKee limped off with a hammy in the third term and David Bourke didn't take his place in the selected team also due to a hammy.
For those at the game, it was obvious that McKee didn't suffer a hammy injury. His little cousin crunched him and bruised his ribs, and a Yarra defender, tackled him and he got up sore and required treatment for a neck complaint. Word has it, Bourke may have been involved in a car altercation during the week and was very sore, but not in the hamstring.
One of the major reasons for the loss yesterday was several PASSENGERS let there players run free, and have been for several weeks. One particular player off the wing, and not Bonat has been a passenger for 6 - 8 weeks and would be sweating on selection next week.
As for the commentators, saying Hargreaves was responsible for the loss yestyerday, did you notice the **** delivery, and that he was double teamed all day, same for McMillan. Giving Bunn best on ground was a joke , he was the loose man in defence, so he should be getting possessions at will. Rudd eclipsed Piltz and was given as being non valuable to the side. The commentators need to get with what is actually occurring in the game, and stop making up what they like. THUMBS DOWN BOYS commentating yesterday.
half time raffle
10 Sep 2006, 16:58
Did yarra recieve any fresh injuries? Will they be close to full strength next week? Will be interesting to see how they respond to this loss.
BonnScott
10 Sep 2006, 20:11
What has happened to a weeks worth of posts (2-9 of Sept) Bigfooty??
BonnScott
10 Sep 2006, 20:18
[quote=harsh, but fair]Didn't see the biff in the crowd, but full marks to the Saints they simply out-played the Pigeons who were very, very disappointing yet only went down by 25 points.
For those at the game, it was obvious that McKee didn't suffer a hammy injury. His little cousin crunched him and bruised his ribs, and a Yarra defender, tackled him and he got up sore and required treatment for a neck complaint. Word has it, Bourke may have been involved in a car altercation during the week and was very sore, but not in the hamstring.
One of the major reasons for the loss yesterday was several PASSENGERS let there players run free, and have been for several weeks. One particular player off the wing, and not Bonat has been a passenger for 6 - 8 weeks and would be sweating on selection next week.
As for the commentators, saying Hargreaves was responsible for the loss yestyerday, did you notice the **** delivery, and that he was double teamed all day, same for McMillan. Giving Bunn best on ground was a joke , he was the loose man in defence, so he should be getting possessions at will. Rudd eclipsed Piltz and was given as being non valuable to the side. The commentators need to get with what is actually occurring in the game, and stop making up what they like. THUMBS DOWN BOYS commentating yesterday.
You are kidding Lousie, how on earth would you know about McKee?? He has been battling with a hammy complaint for weeks and succumbed to it in the 3rd. If Bourke had of played, Mckee would nt have. Bourke strained his hammy against Albury and played through it and it did nt come up. No car accident, maybe you heard about a crash in Myrt. Yes, but not Bourke. Get your facts right.
And your boyfriend/son Hargy is the biggest individual in the O & M. No one person is ever completley responsible for a team loss but if I was still playing I would hate to have him in my team.
Captain Jack Sparrow
10 Sep 2006, 21:44
Obviously you are a one eyed Yarra supporter. My opinion Myrt had great pressure all day and fully deserved the win. As for Hargreaves i thought the Myrt Full back done a great Job, i didnt think they double teamed him. Hargreaves was just beaten on the day,but there is no doubt he could pop up next week and kick a bag.
harsh, but fair
10 Sep 2006, 23:04
Fact: McKee clutched the back of his hammy in the third quarter and took no further part in the game.
Right leg if you won't to be specific.
Yarrawonga will play Lavington next week after the Panthers bowled over Albury today by 22 points.
Bloody wind has ruined two potentially great games, but full marks to the winners, they were superior on the day and that's all you've got to be come finals time.
roast beef roll
11 Sep 2006, 00:06
What has happened to a weeks worth of posts (2-9 of Sept) Bigfooty??
Apparently the boys at big footy had some technical probs. Chief had an announcement on the forums board saying that all info from last week was lost, they didn't back it up and something went amiss so they lost it. Thankfully all of the trash that harold had put on during that time is lost, hopefully harold went with it!
Pearce off Jack
11 Sep 2006, 08:11
Apparently the boys at big footy had some technical probs. Chief had an announcement on the forums board saying that all info from last week was lost, they didn't back it up and something went amiss so they lost it. Thankfully all of the trash that harold had put on during that time is lost, hopefully harold went with it!
Thats a pity i really wanted to read Scopes predictions that he posted last week!!!!
Didn't get to the game, but i've heard there was a bit of biff in the crowd, can anymore confirm. If so, it'll be interesting to see what happens should the yarra boys make it thru to play them again.
The game was one before the first bounce yarra thought they would just turn up and win but they sure got a fair kick up the rear-end. They hang off packs and with the exception of Wild and wollington and didn't go in and get the ball. For the staints Chappy was good as was murray and No 9.
As for the biff in the crowd i was near two of them and they were just a bit of push and shove that came about from back and forth banter, it's not the best site at the footy when grown men get into it in front of young kids.
Thats a pity i really wanted to read Scopes predictions that he posted last week!!!!
Yep, Myrt proved me well and truly wrong POJ.
They were outstanding, closed down yarra's space and never looked like losing!
And Luke Chapman would be relieved with hargreveas kicking one goal, but he was aided by some terrible footy from his team-mates further up field.
He still looks a bit shaky to me though, always has his hands on his head and looks nervous when he gets the footy.
But he stopped his man and I guess that was his job.
Hargreaves sure does know how to go off at his team-mates through as do half the Yarra side - looked like they were fighting amongst themselves a fair bit!!!
I hope Saints can win it now, they deserve it.
Gotheroos
11 Sep 2006, 12:31
It is great news in some ways. Good to see all of Harolds crap gone. But then we lost all of the tips.
BIG "H"
11 Sep 2006, 12:52
I was at the game on Sat an I can tell you right now there a few big paid Yarra players who were very dissapointing!! Hargraves an Mcmillan were both very ordinary!! Especially Hargraves who was being his usual self in spraying his teammates all day. In speaking to a few of the Yarra boys they are all sick of it, even Bob Craig is on edge after apparently he mentioned something at quarter time! Hargraves is a fantasic player an could easly bounce back an lead the pidgeons into a rematch with Myrt in two weeks but first in must pull his head in an start being a team player!!
Well done to Myrt on an excellent performance they had winners all over the ground. They were also very well coached as they outplayed the pidgeons and probably should have won by more.
The Yarra boys will be very nervous as they head to martin park to take on Lavi this week. They have had two very tough games during the year which they did win but finals are a different ball game an we all know how Lavi handle finals pressure.
The Flying Wombat
11 Sep 2006, 13:33
[quote=Louise]
I was at the game on Sat an I can tell you right now there a few big paid Yarra players who were very dissapointing!! Hargraves an Mcmillan were both very ordinary!! Especially Hargraves who was being his usual self in spraying his teammates all day. In speaking to a few of the Yarra boys they are all sick of it, even Bob Craig is on edge after apparently he mentioned something at quarter time! Hargraves is a fantasic player an could easly bounce back an lead the pidgeons into a rematch with Myrt in two weeks but first in must pull his head in an start being a team player!!
Well done to Myrt on an excellent performance they had winners all over the ground. They were also very well coached as they outplayed the pidgeons and probably should have won by more.
The Yarra boys will be very nervous as they head to martin park to take on Lavi this week. They have had two very tough games during the year which they did win but finals are a different ball game an we all know how Lavi handle finals pressure.
Hey Big H you are a pussy. Do you pack fudge for a living?
BIG "H"
11 Sep 2006, 13:51
[quote=BIG "H"]
How old are you!! Grow up an talk some footy you idiot!
[quote=BIG "H"]
FW - How about actually sticking to the subject of talking about O&M footy.
If you want to add something of interest feel free if not head back out with the other children to the sandpit.
Gotheroos
11 Sep 2006, 14:15
[quote=BIG "H"]
I think Big "H" must of hit a raw nerve with The Flying Wombat.
Obviously you must be Hargreaves or Macmillan??? Or someone very close to them.
FencePainter
11 Sep 2006, 14:21
[quote=The Flying Wombat]
FW - How about actually sticking to the subject of talking about O&M footy.
If you want to add something of interest feel free if not head back out with the other children to the sandpit.
TFW actually posted a very similar statement on the Bendigo League thread...appears to be a well educated wombat this one!!!
Can someone tell me how Adam Eady is going for Lavi?
The Flying Wombat
11 Sep 2006, 15:30
[quote=Ozz12]
TFW actually posted a very similar statement on the Bendigo League thread...appears to be a well educated wombat this one!!!
Hey Big H get your buried head out of that pillow!
[quote=Ozz12]
Not a bad young player, plays off half back mainly.
go_cats11
11 Sep 2006, 17:25
Did yarra recieve any fresh injuries? Will they be close to full strength next week? Will be interesting to see how they respond to this loss.
yeah, yarra struck by bad injuries. haven't had any major injuries all year just unfortunate that now is the time that they get them. scott oswald out with a hamstring, yarra really miss his speedy run of half back and into midfield, he is one of yarra's most important players. also out went luke hammond with some kind of injury and he is one of their main midfielders who used to play for brisbane lions. lawrence furlan and dallas gallagher were battling injuries while playing also. gallagher rushed back from an ankle and furlan had sore ribs.
Captain Jack Sparrow
11 Sep 2006, 17:33
yeah, yarra struck by bad injuries. haven't had any major injuries all year just unfortunate that now is the time that they get them. scott oswald out with a hamstring, yarra really miss his speedy run of half back and into midfield, he is one of yarra's most important players. also out went luke hammond with some kind of injury and he is one of their main midfielders who used to play for brisbane lions. lawrence furlan and dallas gallagher were battling injuries while playing also. gallagher rushed back from an ankle and furlan had sore ribs.
Dont blame Yarra's loss to Myrtleford because of injuries. If you are named in the side you are expected to be fully fit.
The Flying Wombat
11 Sep 2006, 19:39
Dont blame Yarra's loss to Myrtleford because of injuries. If you are named in the side you are expected to be fully fit.
That was Myrtlefords Grand final on the weekend boy!
Captain Jack Sparrow
11 Sep 2006, 21:33
We will see WOMBAT. Only time will tell.
Pearce off Jack
12 Sep 2006, 07:55
Read your fixture Wombat!The Grand Final is on the 24th of September and only one side has progressed that being Myrtleford!So no matter what you have all said about Myrtleford(and there has been a s**t load) when the time came to put up or shut up they certainly delivered!
BIG "H"
12 Sep 2006, 10:31
Read your fixture Wombat!The Grand Final is on the 24th of September and only one side has progressed that being Myrtleford!So no matter what you have all said about Myrtleford(and there has been a s**t load) when the time came to put up or shut up they certainly delivered!
Deliver what exactly ?? They certainly didnt deliver last year an they haven't this year yet, they must stand up come sun 24th sept!! Thats when the pressure is right on an when everything counts!!
RiverinAFL
12 Sep 2006, 10:50
O and M on track for bumper finals series
BY DAVID JOHNSTON (www.bordermail.com.au) (http://www.bordermail.com.au/news/bm/sport/417318.html)
THE Ovens and Murray league is poised to break through the 15,000 barrier for its grand final as a record-breaking finals series builds towards a thrilling crescendo.
Crowds for all four finals matches played this season are up on last year’s figures and the 14,811 people who attended the grand final in 2005 is set to be eclipsed with Myrtleford advancing to the premiership deciding match again.
The grand final crowd could go as high as 18,000 if Yarrawonga defeats reigning premiers Lavington in the preliminary final on Sunday at John Flower Oval.
The O and M introduced official crowd numbers for finals matches in 2003 when 14,356 people watched Corowa-Rutherglen defeat Wodonga in the grand final.
Saturday’s final between Myrtleford and Yarrawonga drew a crowd of 4973, over 500 more than last year when the Saints beat Wangaratta.
Both matches were played in Wangaratta and had strong competition with the Ovens and King league preliminary final.
“I think we have had a good mix of teams so far,” O and M chairman Greg Claney said.
“The game between Yarra and Myrtleford, both out-of-towners, drew a bigger crowd than when Wang was involved last year.
“I guess it shows how important these clubs are to the public perception of the health of the league with the support they can muster at finals time.
“No live footy in Melbourne has helped as has the weather.
“We were lucky last Sunday with the wet start to the day that there were two Albury-Wodonga sides playing in the elimination final.
“The increase in crowd numbers the league would hope is an indication that O and M footy, especially at finals time, is still held in high regard by people.”
The first semi-final crowd of 4604 people at Bunton Park on Sunday was more than 600 up on last year.
A total of 32,808 people attended O and M finals last year and already 16,290 have attended this year.
“I think we had a competition that was fairly even this year,” Claney said.
“The last round was pretty much a mini-final and perhaps got the public in the mood.
“I think the choice of venues has proved to be correct and the numbers are indicating that as well.
“All the talk about the AFL and ‘crap’ football has not hurt our cause either.
“With Yarrawonga in the preliminary final I would expect another bumper crowd on Sunday.
“A grand final between Myrtleford and Yarrawonga would mean we would have to lock the gates.
“We do have in prospect six different clubs being involved on grand final day which will help swell the numbers.”
Pearce off Jack
12 Sep 2006, 13:39
[/FONT]
Deliver what exactly ?? They certainly didnt deliver last year an they haven't this year yet, they must stand up come sun 24th sept!! Thats when the pressure is right on an when everything counts!!
It wouldnt matter what Myrtleford did Big H you obviously have a dislike for them!As i recall you said all the pressure was on myrtleford!They came from last in 2005 and got beat after the siren and this year have had massive injuries and still finished 2nd!They then went on to beat Yarra who had only lost one game and were red hot favourites and are straight through to the GF.I would think that they have delivered plenty and that maybe Yarra are the ones who have all the pressure!
BIG "H"
12 Sep 2006, 14:01
It wouldnt matter what Myrtleford did Big H you obviously have a dislike for them!As i recall you said all the pressure was on myrtleford!They came from last in 2005 and got beat after the siren and this year have had massive injuries and still finished 2nd!They then went on to beat Yarra who had only lost one game and were red hot favourites and are straight through to the GF.I would think that they have delivered plenty and that maybe Yarra are the ones who have all the pressure!
First of all I dont dislike Myrt as I have said in Previous post's I know a number of there players.
Myrtleford have done well to make it through to there second consecutive G/F an well done to them a fantastic achievment but they are yet to deliver anything! You are right there is a lot of pressure on yarra this week not to go out in straight sets but I believe if Yarra do win or Lavi this week the pressure will be right back on Myrt not to CHOKE two years in a row!
Lets look at this weeks game with the pressure right on Yarra can they bounce back? or can Lavi's finals rollercoaster roll on?
Pearce off Jack
12 Sep 2006, 14:04
First of all I dont dislike Myrt as I have said in Previous post's I know a number of there players.
Myrtleford have done well to make it through to there second consecutive G/F an well done to them a fantastic achievment but they are yet to deliver anything! You are right there is a lot of pressure on yarra this week not to go out in straight sets but I believe if Yarra do win or Lavi this week the pressure will be right back on Myrt not to CHOKE two years in a row!
Lets look at this weeks game with the pressure right on Yarra can they bounce back? or can Lavi's finals rollercoaster roll on?
So your telling me that if Yarra win this week all the pressure is on Myrtleford!
TuskenRaider
12 Sep 2006, 15:08
So your telling me that if Yarra win this week all the pressure is on Myrtleford!
Either way it's going to be a great GF I reckon if Yarra can get through this week. I'd say the pressure will be on both sides. Any club in a GF will be desperate to win it, and it's been a long time between drinks for both of these clubs.
If it is one of these two teams holding the cup at the end of year, they'll have to shut the town down for a week.
BIG "H"
12 Sep 2006, 15:24
Either way it's going to be a great GF I reckon if Yarra can get through this week. I'd say the pressure will be on both sides. Any club in a GF will be desperate to win it, and it's been a long time between drinks for both of these clubs.
If it is one of these two teams holding the cup at the end of year, they'll have to shut the town down for a week.
VERY WELL SAID!!!
go_cats11
12 Sep 2006, 17:20
yeah, now listen mate, i'm not blaming yarra's loss on injuries and plus i'm not the coach and i don't select the side. all i'm saying is that yarra were missing some key players. (i don't think they would have won anyway if they did have fully fit side.)