View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
The Flying Wombat
12 Sep 2006, 17:50
yeah, now listen mate, i'm not blaming yarra's loss on injuries and plus i'm not the coach and i don't select the side. all i'm saying is that yarra were missing some key players. (i don't think they would have won anyway if they did have fully fit side.)
Myrt will choke again
Lavy_Panther
12 Sep 2006, 17:57
Just wondering how many teams are left in the finals race? By the sounds of it, seems that there's only two.
Write the Panthers off at your own peril, I would suggest.
deposit
12 Sep 2006, 19:28
Can anyone give me an update on what is happening in the Hume FL, who made the finals? Who will win the league Medal?
hammer_time
12 Sep 2006, 21:03
Can anyone give me an update on what is happening in the Hume FL, who made the finals? Who will win the league Medal?
if we were at all worried about the Hume League we wouldn't be here
The Crumber
12 Sep 2006, 22:04
Howlong and Henty this weekend in the prelim. Osborne are already in the GF. Howlong's gun full-forward, S. Myles is up on a slogging charge tomorrow night, and may be lucky to play again this season.
Henty have done well to get where they are, and despite alleged whinging in the Howlong camp regarding the inclusion last week of young Bushie Jay Koehler, should be too good for the Swampies.
Jindera 4th, and Piney/Rand combine 5th round out the finalists.
Looking at some of the crap on this thread about netball and people moaning about how much other clubs spend, maybe some Hume league news would be handy.
Osborne is a great club. Along with Mitta, the best in the region.
In the mix
13 Sep 2006, 11:59
Looking at some of the crap on this thread about netball and people moaning about how much other clubs spend, maybe some Hume league news would be handy.
Osborne is a great club. Along with Mitta, the best in the region.
Who cares about a bunch of spastics playing in a spastic league.
Bunch of hacks, get off this thread and back to the cow paddocks at Osborne, Walla or whichever farm your on!
you sound like a class act.
Hope you enjoy the finals series.
deposit
13 Sep 2006, 14:34
Who cares about a bunch of spastics playing in a spastic league.
Bunch of hacks, get off this thread and back to the cow paddocks at Osborne, Walla or whichever farm your on!
You need to get down off your high horse and realise the value of district footy and the important part it plays in any large football community. Where do you think Kozi started?????
Good call Deposit..
All of these blokes are "sp..s'' I presume.
Brent Piltz (Henty), Matt Fowler (Walbundrie), Luke Packer (Walbundrie), Brandon Mathews (Rand), Tim Hargreaves (Walla and Berrigan), Tom Hickey (Holbrook), Kade Garland (Jindera), Adam Eady (Culcairn), Luke Schilg (Brocklesby), Joel Mackie (Jindera), Jayden Kotzur (Culcairn).
A change in terminology wouldn't go astray either as I'm sure parents of kids with disabilities find it tough enough to get through each day, let alone you bringing them further down.
Mongoose
13 Sep 2006, 15:45
Good call Deposit..
Brent Piltz (Henty), Matt Fowler (Walbundrie), Luke Packer (Walbundrie), Brandon Mathews (Rand), Tim Hargreaves (Walla and Berrigan), Tom Hickey (Holbrook), Kade Garland (Jindera), Adam Eady (Culcairn), Luke Schilg (Brocklesby), Joel Mackie (Jindera), Jayden Kotzur (Culcairn).
A change in terminology wouldn't go astray either as I'm sure parents of kids with disabilities find it tough enough to get through each day, let alone you bringing them further down.
Rack off and talk about your poo league somewhare else tosser! NO offence to all the tosser's out there!
Pearce off Jack
13 Sep 2006, 15:47
This thread has turned to s**t in the last 2 months!Any chance of us talking about O&M footy!
The Crumber
13 Sep 2006, 15:48
Rack off and talk about your poo league somewhare else tosser! NO offence to all the tosser's out there!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_troll :rolleyes:
In the mix
13 Sep 2006, 15:52
Good call Deposit..
Wow - 10 players! Can't even come up with half a side!
The thing is all of them prob realised at a young age they had to much talent to be wasting away in a sub-standard cow paddock league filled with hacks.
So they went to play good footy in the O and M.
Naming where they have come from says nothing about the standard of the puss Hume league.
Anyone that tells me it is good footy has got rocks in their heads.
So no disrespect arceri, but go start your own thread with the bush footy followers who give a crap.
That's if they have computers out there?
Gotheroos
13 Sep 2006, 17:20
Just wondering how many teams are left in the finals race? By the sounds of it, seems that there's only two.
I'm not writing you guys off. You will play them this week and shut Hargreaves down and they will all start arguing and call each other every name under the sun.
barrybogan
13 Sep 2006, 17:44
yarra were well beaten on the weekend but didn't play to the conditions. went short and wide even when they had a strong wind blowing directly to their end. myrt played direct footy and were far superior.
if it is wet or windy this sunday i reckon lavi would probably get up, but the forecast is fine (max 23). this will suit yarra's chip and run game and i think they will bounce back.
prediction: yarra by five goals
dynamic1
13 Sep 2006, 20:38
Nobody is writing off Lavi as they are more than capable of knocking anyone off on any given day. As for my boys we don't mind who we play in the big one as we are chock full of confidence going into it and are bursting from the seams for the day to arrive, although it would be good to get another crack at Lavi in a granny as they have beaten us twice in 5 years for the flag and especially after last year in that heartbreaker going down by a point. But in saying that it doesn't really matter as all we're after is the premiership whether its Lavi or Yarra. Anyway good luck to both sides on the weekend hope you beat the crap out of each other (just kidding nah not really lol). And to the winner be ready for a Saints onslaught as we are primed to go BRING IT ON. GO SAINTERS
hammer_time
13 Sep 2006, 22:32
yarra were well beaten on the weekend but didn't play to the conditions. went short and wide even when they had a strong wind blowing directly to their end. myrt played direct footy and were far superior.
if it is wet or windy this sunday i reckon lavi would probably get up, but the forecast is fine (max 23). this will suit yarra's chip and run game and i think they will bounce back.
spot on. yarra wasted too many oportunities kicking 4.16 they did have enough of the ball with the breeze in the last quater but only managed 6 behinds.
They have to much to play for on sunday and should bounce back against Lavington. should be a cracker.
Lavy_Panther
14 Sep 2006, 00:05
spot on. yarra wasted too many oportunities kicking 4.16 they did have enough of the ball with the breeze in the last quater but only managed 6 behinds.
They have to much to play for on sunday and should bounce back against Lavington. should be a cracker.
Haha how do Yarra have any more to play for than Lavington? They're playing for a spot in the grand final, don't be facetious.
The Flying Wombat
14 Sep 2006, 09:19
Haha how do Yarra have any more to play for than Lavington? They're playing for a spot in the grand final, don't be facetious.
Hey Lavy Panther you blokes have no chance this weekend against yarra, you better start planning your mad monday. hahahahaha
BIG "H"
14 Sep 2006, 09:34
23 an fine perfect conditions for finals football. Expect Yarra to bounce back hard this week an really turn it on.
Yarra by 42 points
Speaking of Mad Monday, has anyone ever been to Myrtlefords Mad Monday, i have heard that you can hardly move in the local pub and its huge??? Last year i seen on mondays local news Lavi celebrating their win. I think there may have been 20-25 blokes sitting around and having a nice quite drink, when apparently the myrtleford boys really turn it on even know they went down. Probably shows the different spirits between the 2 clubs.
BIG "H"
14 Sep 2006, 13:04
Speaking of Mad Monday, has anyone ever been to Myrtlefords Mad Monday, i have heard that you can hardly move in the local pub and its huge??? Last year i seen on mondays local news Lavi celebrating their win. I think there may have been 20-25 blokes sitting around and having a nice quite drink, when apparently the myrtleford boys really turn it on even know they went down. Probably shows the different spirits between the 2 clubs.
A little birdie told me they were right on the gas sat night after there big win against yarra it might a been an idea if somebody had stood up an said "boys we have a game in 2 weeks". Not just any game the biggest game in there history I would think!!
Gotheroos
14 Sep 2006, 13:15
Hey Lavy Panther you blokes have no chance this weekend against yarra, you better start planning your mad monday. hahahahaha
Pull your head in The Fat Wombat.
BonnScott
14 Sep 2006, 13:28
A little birdie told me they were right on the gas sat night after there big win against yarra it might a been an idea if somebody had stood up an said "boys we have a game in 2 weeks". Not just any game the biggest game in there history I would think!!
You are a goose, get your facts right. I went down to the Buff on sat night thinking a few of the SENIOR players would be down celebrating similar to last year.
It was virtually empty apart from a few senior players with coaching staff, most on softdrink. The only myrt players having a few were a group of 2s players who lost that day - and I mean a few maybe 10.
You think you ve got your finger on the pulse in Myrt H; you ve got no idea.
barrybogan
14 Sep 2006, 13:32
your little birdy is talking rubbish. the magoos hit the gas pretty hard after bombing out against albury last saturday, but can tell you all the senior players kept a lid on it. learnt from last year after celebrating the semi final win against wang. saints are primed for sunday week.
BuckDaddy
14 Sep 2006, 13:33
Nobody is writing off Lavi as they are more than capable of knocking anyone off on any given day. As for my boys we don't mind who we play in the big one as we are chock full of confidence going into it and are bursting from the seams for the day to arrive, although it would be good to get another crack at Lavi in a granny as they have beaten us twice in 5 years for the flag and especially after last year in that heartbreaker going down by a point. But in saying that it doesn't really matter as all we're after is the premiership whether its Lavi or Yarra. Anyway good luck to both sides on the weekend hope you beat the crap out of each other (just kidding nah not really lol). And to the winner be ready for a Saints onslaught as we are primed to go BRING IT ON. GO SAINTERS
nah!!!!!!
i reckon you should care who you do play.
if you play Yarra, theyll be afraid of losing against ya again, and youll win
if have to play Lavington, you guys will be to scared of losing and lose
confidence doesnt win you premierships (as last year showed) but the desire to win is what could get Myrtleford to win.........but unlikely to happen as you guys are "chock full of confidence"
BIG "H"
14 Sep 2006, 13:45
your little birdy is talking rubbish. the magoos hit the gas pretty hard after bombing out against albury last saturday, but can tell you all the senior players kept a lid on it. learnt from last year after celebrating the semi final win against wang. saints are primed for sunday week.
Rubbish it must of been. They need to be primed it's D day for them they will need to be at best to take home the bacon!!
BIG "H"
14 Sep 2006, 13:50
You are a goose, get your facts right. I went down to the Buff on sat night thinking a few of the SENIOR players would be down celebrating similar to last year.
It was virtually empty apart from a few senior players with coaching staff, most on softdrink. The only myrt players having a few were a group of 2s players who lost that day - and I mean a few maybe 10.
You think you ve got your finger on the pulse in Myrt H; you ve got no idea.
I'll have more idea than you ever will have you peanut!!!!!!!!!!!!
I was just stating what a mate had told me! ok I'll take what you said on board it is rubbish but I am right in saying its the biggest game the club has ever prepared for in its history!
BonnScott
14 Sep 2006, 14:09
I was just stating what a mate had told me! ok I'll take what you said on board it is rubbish but I am right in saying its the biggest game the club has ever prepared for in its history!
I don t think you do H, this is not the first time you ve spruiked about Myrt and have nt had the facts to back it up. Player payments was the last time.
Your stating the obvious that the game is the biggest in myrts history, every final is. It s Yarra s most important game of their history on sat. And if they win, then the grandy will be the most important in their history.
The Flying Wombat
14 Sep 2006, 14:11
Pull your head in The Fat Wombat.
Gotheroos you have no hope mate, just like lavington. you are a poor excuse for a football follower
Gotheroos
14 Sep 2006, 14:30
Gotheroos you have no hope mate, just like lavington. you are a poor excuse for a football follower
Get back in you burrow The Fat Ar$e Womabat. Actually that's probably why you are on this site so much you can't fit back in your burrow.
Pearce off Jack
14 Sep 2006, 14:31
Big H as i have said many times on here before your info on Myrtleford is so far from the truth!Why dont you stop worrying about every little thing you think you know about the club and just concentrate on what you do know!!!The fact that all you do is put the club down and the players shows that these so called mates of yours at Myrtleford might just be a fantasy!So in the lead up to the GF if you are going to get on here and slander Myrtleford then maybe you should just pi** off and let us talk about football!!!!! and before you get on here and say you dont rubbish Myrtleford and your great mates with half the club maybe you should read most of your posts about them!
aussie fast bowler
14 Sep 2006, 17:59
Your spot on!
It does show the different spirits of the 2 clubs.
Lavi celebrated their mad monday last year with 20-25 players and a few others who snuck in for a drink here and there. During that celebration they took the time to watch the Grand Final they had won 24 hours beforehand. Their mad monday wasn't planned in any way because they knew they had a job to do before any celebrating could be done, and they did it. The lavi boys worked hard and showed a winning spirit
The myrt crew prob had a cast of 100's there sucking pi$s all day. Good luck to them. They prob had people arrange for monday, or even the whole week, off. They took bottles of champagne to the footy, ready to crack at siren time (they were shaking them up from memory) they had thousands there ready to jump the fence and celebrate, good on them. But they forget the most important detail ... winning!
The myrt crew got too far ahead of themselves and drank spirits!
Its not the size of the celebrations that matters ... it's what you're celebrating!
I bet if you asked all 21 of the myrt players from 05's GF, they'd prefer sit alone with a premiership medal then in a crowded pub after losing a grand final.
:rolleyes:
dynamic1
14 Sep 2006, 18:18
nah!!!!!!
i reckon you should care who you do play.
if you play Yarra, theyll be afraid of losing against ya again, and youll win
if have to play Lavington, you guys will be to scared of losing and lose
confidence doesnt win you premierships (as last year showed) but the desire to win is what could get Myrtleford to win.........but unlikely to happen as you guys are "chock full of confidence"
Well you can have your opinion bud thats all good, all i'm saying is we can't wait for this game and no we won't go into this game worried about past results and who we play, coz if we go in with that mindset we are already halfway to being beat. So we are only focusing on how we go about it as we know what we are capable of when we are on song and we think we are better placed this year than in the past. Its gonna be a massive week for the club next week in the lead up and we ain't getting ahead of ourselves as we know what the opposition are capable of, all i know is that we are going to be prepared more than ever and alot more hungry. BRING ON SEPTEMBER 24
dynamic1
14 Sep 2006, 18:30
HA HA HA! Yeah you could say that mate about our mad monday that it was pretty big and a tad messy too. But trust me it would of been alot bigger had we won and although it was huge we were all still hurting from the result. As for the Lavi boys even though it may of seemed a low key affair believe me they would of been beaming from ear to ear coz they got the result. But believe me if we get the result next week lasts years mad monday will seem like a sunday stroll through the park compared to if we win the flag, but firstly lets get the result then that will take care of itself.
dynamic1
14 Sep 2006, 18:40
A little birdie told me they were right on the gas sat night after there big win against yarra it might a been an idea if somebody had stood up an said "boys we have a game in 2 weeks". Not just any game the biggest game in there history I would think!! Yeah you should get your facts straight pal, yes a couple of us may of had a couple of ales after our win but we all kept a lid on it whilst the 2nds boys got ripped as it was their end of season, we ain't silly enough to over do ourselves as we have plenty of time to do that when we get the result we're after, so tell your little birdie he is a CLOWN.
BonnScott
14 Sep 2006, 22:46
Any thoughts on the Morris on mon night?
1. Stevens
2. Carroll
3. Piltz
4. Ednie
5. Carmody
Rough stab at the top 5 in no order. Anyone else? Maybe top performers at your club?
Well you can have your opinion bud thats all good, all i'm saying is we can't wait for this game and no we won't go into this game worried about past results and who we play, coz if we go in with that mindset we are already halfway to being beat. So we are only focusing on how we go about it as we know what we are capable of when we are on song and we think we are better placed this year than in the past. Its gonna be a massive week for the club next week in the lead up and we ain't getting ahead of ourselves as we know what the opposition are capable of, all i know is that we are going to be prepared more than ever and alot more hungry. BRING ON SEPTEMBER 24
Hey Dynamic1, I know your intentions are no doubt great but if you are playing for Myrt at the moment why would you even consider participating in any banter at all on this site?
If i was a Myrt player I would not even log onto bigfooty untill after the GF.
There is a big job to be done and actions speak louder than words.
Lavington would be absolutely licking their lips about the build up so far and if they get over Yarra, even more so.
It smacks of 2005 to me where all the talk was on Myrt (and Wang to a lesser extent) and the old Panthers just chugged along and got what they wanted.
Myrt do us all a favour and win it this year, but stop thinking about how good it will feel just yet becuase the job is not finished.
You can be your own worst enemy if you let yourselves?
BonnScott
15 Sep 2006, 12:22
Hey Dynamic1, I know your intentions are no doubt great but if you are playing for Myrt at the moment why would you even consider participating in any banter at all on this site?
Lavington would be absolutely licking their lips about the build up so far and if they get over Yarra, even more so.
It smacks of 2005 to me where all the talk was on Myrt (and Wang to a lesser extent) and the old Panthers just chugged along and got what they wanted.
Myrt do us all a favour and win it this year, but stop thinking about how good it will feel just yet becuase the job is not finished.
Great call Scope, I doubt very much Dynamic is a Myrt player.
dynamic1
15 Sep 2006, 21:35
Great call Scope, I doubt very much Dynamic is a Myrt player.
And thats where you would be wrong buddy.
dynamic1
15 Sep 2006, 21:42
No banter from me mate just telling you how we are its not like i've called us over the line, and your right actions do speak louder than words which hopefully we can prove come the big day. And just for your information you will not be hearing from me anytime next week in the lead up so you can relax, but thanx for your input mate much appreciated.
texas hold em
16 Sep 2006, 16:59
Any thoughts on the Morris on mon night?
1. Stevens
2. Carroll
3. Piltz
4. Ednie
5. Carmody
Rough stab at the top 5 in no order. Anyone else? Maybe top performers at your club?
I reckon tim hargraeves wont be far away.
I have got a tip from inside the organisation that the winner will be Josh Frawley from Yarrawonga. Having seen a fair bit of footy this year I would have thought Kade Stevens was a certainty, but the insider tells me Frawley will win it.
We will see if he is correct ?
Flat Track Bully
17 Sep 2006, 18:43
I have got a tip from inside the organisation that the winner will be Josh Frawley from Yarrawonga. Having seen a fair bit of footy this year I would have thought Kade Stevens was a certainty, but the insider tells me Frawley will win it.
Peter Brear?
Do you seriously think that someone in O&M house would put themselves in a postion to create a job opportunity (aka somewhere else)?
Next you will be saying that Grant Thomas will be taking one of the vacant O&M coaching spots, Fraser Gehrig will be returning to the Raiders as a ruck rover and that Elvis was spotted at Martin Park today!
haha great call Ozz!!
oh and stevo for the morris medal, followed closely by frawls and possibly one of the mountain men rounding out the podium
BIG "H"
18 Sep 2006, 16:04
Word from the inside is Your a High profile Yarrawonga player "LOUISE"!
Its great to have the best 2 teams of the year fighting it out this Sunday!
If the weather stays warm an fine expect a record Grand Final crowd to attend as both Yarra an Myrt try to break the priemership drought. Myrt would have to go in favourites just, but it will be very hard to pick a winner.
Any news on any injuries or selection changes at either club this week ?
I hear Yarra are hopefull of regaining Luke Hammand.
barrybogan
18 Sep 2006, 17:03
Its great to have the best 2 teams of the year fighting it out this Sunday! If the weather stays warm an fine expect a record Grand Final crowd to attend as both Yarra an Myrt try to break the priemership drought. Myrt would have to go in favourites just, but it will be very hard to pick a winner.
Any news on any injuries or selection changes at either club this week ?
I hear Yarra are hopefull of regaining Luke Hammand.
spot on. should be a ripper this sunday. with good weather the o&m is expecting near 20,000 people. hope so.
think saints are pretty much full strength, however shane peters was gone for the year after breaking his collarbone against albury. david bourke is right to go, so one poor bastard will get the bad news thursday night. wouldn't think there'd be any other changes to the line up given the performance in the last final.
definitely hard to pick a winner after yarra's demolition of lavi yesterday. still think the big guns at the saints are yet to all fire at the same time. reckon this sunday will be the day they do.
barry's tip:
saints by 15 points
king kong
18 Sep 2006, 19:03
you were obsiously only playing for a mad monday. got a prediction for the tribunal hearing for us?
roast beef roll
18 Sep 2006, 22:51
you were obsiously only playing for a mad monday. got a prediction for the tribunal hearing for us?
I get the impression that some of you think lavy panther is the lavi coach! do we think the big fella is stupid enough to get on here. Have a quick look at his previous post list, gives you a big clue its some1 with not much idea.
aussie fast bowler
18 Sep 2006, 23:06
Good luck to the 2 teams in the GF this week. 2 best teams for the year!
Discussion point
yarra started the last quart on sunday with 19 men. from the first bounce panther captain kade stevens was asking umpire edwards for a head count, but edwards continued to refuse. Stevens asked the umpires no less the 3 times and every time he was ignored. in the mean time the 19th man ran from the ground to even the teams for the last quart.
Now the lavi boys know winning the prelim final on sunday by way of a score wipe isn't on. we realise yarra were by far the better side on the day.
But, if the captain calls for a head count, surely the umpire has a responsibility to carry out the request.
If this had happened when it was requested on sunday, lavi would've lead 45 to nil.
Would've been a funny/interesting way to overcome a 10 goal lead.
#If edwards gets a gig in the GF after that effort, the O&M should be rolled over and slapped on the ar$e without question.
The Crumber
19 Sep 2006, 09:17
What were the vote totals in the MM?
I heard Ednie won, but I can't find the details on the BM web site.
Can someone post the top ten please?
TIA
What were the vote totals in the MM?
I heard Ednie won, but I can't find the details on the BM web site.
Can someone post the top ten please?
TIA
Craig Ednie (Yarra) - 20 votes
Kade Stevens (Lavington)- 19 votes
Dale Carmody (Magpies) - 18 votes
Brad Horn (Hoppers) - 15 votes
Andrew Carey (Myrtleford) - 14 votes
Luke Carroll (Albury) - 14 votes
Brendan Eyers (Roos)- 14 votes
Josh Frawley (Yarra) - 14 votes
Jason Wild (Yarra) - 13 votes
Adam Butler (Lavington) - 10 votes
Good luck to the 2 teams in the GF this week. 2 best teams for the year!
Discussion point
yarra started the last quart on sunday with 19 men. from the first bounce panther captain kade stevens was asking umpire edwards for a head count, but edwards continued to refuse. Stevens asked the umpires no less the 3 times and every time he was ignored. in the mean time the 19th man ran from the ground to even the teams for the last quart.
Now the lavi boys know winning the prelim final on sunday by way of a score wipe isn't on. we realise yarra were by far the better side on the day.
But, if the captain calls for a head count, surely the umpire has a responsibility to carry out the request.
If this had happened when it was requested on sunday, lavi would've lead 45 to nil.
Would've been a funny/interesting way to overcome a 10 goal lead.
#If edwards gets a gig in the GF after that effort, the O&M should be rolled over and slapped on the ar$e without question.
AFB, you might want to take a look at this link before you decide to post again
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=250037
BIG "H"
19 Sep 2006, 11:32
Very good call bourne!! AFB is no doubt a Lavi player, get over it mate you blokes were absolutely destroyed by a far better side. An if Yarra hadn't rested there stars late in the game the margin would of been 100 points plus!!!
On all the games I have seen this year G.Edwards has been the best umpire by far an I can tell you now there isnt many good ones among them.
The Crumber
20 Sep 2006, 01:54
Craig Ednie (Yarra) - 20 votes
Kade Stevens (Lavington)- 19 votes
Dale Carmody (Magpies) - 18 votes
Brad Horn (Hoppers) - 15 votes
Andrew Carey (Myrtleford) - 14 votes
Luke Carroll (Albury) - 14 votes
Brendan Eyers (Roos)- 14 votes
Josh Frawley (Yarra) - 14 votes
Jason Wild (Yarra) - 13 votes
Adam Butler (Lavington) - 10 votes
Sandshoe!!
The Crumber
20 Sep 2006, 02:17
So afb alleges the umpire didn't enforce a non-inerpretable (sp?) rule, and as a result should be overlooked for a GF spot???
How is that defamatory?
I agree with Big "H", Edwards is one of the best. He also implied the rest aren't up to it. FWIW I agree,although I think Dudenas generally knows his onions. It still slurs the remainder.
QED, Big "H" better read Bourne's link as well!!
So that's what's wrong, how does it get fixed? The playing standard is climbing, the umpiring generally (IMHO) doesn't match it.
Solutions welcome - btw I have nothing, and I'm not afraid to say so!!
harsh, but fair
20 Sep 2006, 09:23
Check this out.
http://www.omfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=26129&orgID=381&Oname=Ovens+%26+Murray+FL&O1c=5&O10c=5
BIG "H"
20 Sep 2006, 11:13
Check this out.
http://www.omfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=26129&orgID=381&Oname=Ovens+%26+Murray+FL&O1c=5&O10c=5
You are an absolute Peanut mate!! It is grand final week, the biggest week of the year, with the 2 best sides fighting it out on sunday an you wanna carry on with this sh*t!!!
Get a grip, there was no head count no evidence to prove yarra had 19 on the ground so why carry on with rubbish!!
An to put it on the back page seriously are you struggerling for a story that bad?
You are an absolute Peanut mate!! It is grand final week, the biggest week of the year, with the 2 best sides fighting it out on sunday an you wanna carry on with this sh*t!!!
Get a grip, there was no head count no evidence to prove yarra had 19 on the ground so why carry on with rubbish!!
An to put it on the back page seriously are you struggerling for a story that bad?
great call BIG "H"!!
the border mail love those kind of stories though, the lengths they go to, to try and get a controversial story...is just really sad sometimes
get on with GF week, bring on Sunday!!
daisy_train
20 Sep 2006, 17:58
Don't go crook at the Border Mail go crook at Bobby Craig and his coaching staff, they are the ones that had 19 players on the field.
The Pigeons have shown all year they will go to any length to try and win, they appear to be involved in a lot of contreversy.
bit off topic.. is there any truth in the rumour that Sammy Sleigh could be heading into town?
king kong
20 Sep 2006, 19:33
Don't go crook at the Border Mail go crook at Bobby Craig and his coaching staff, they are the ones that had 19 players on the field.
The Pigeons have shown all year they will go to any length to try and win, they appear to be involved in a lot of contreversy.
bit off topic.. is there any truth in the rumour that Sammy Sleigh could be heading into town?
you absolute ****er! why would they go to any length to win at that stage of the game when they were already that far in front. it was an abvious mistake. doesnt any side do what they can to win?
they are miles better than 8 of the other teams in the competition that is how they win. go and find old mate "harold" you's 2 can talk your sh*t together on another forum
you absolute ****er! why would they go to any length to win at that stage of the game when they were already that far in front. it was an abvious mistake. doesnt any side do what they can to win?
they are miles better than 8 of the other teams in the competition that is how they win. go and find old mate "harold" you's 2 can talk your sh*t together on another forum
calm down mate!!
you wonder how these lame bitch fights start on here, take it easy and GET OVER IT!!! BUILD A BRIDGE!!!
Oh and KK, take some english classes while you're at it
so now the big day is edging closer and closer, any updated predictions???
will the conditions play a factor???
king kong
20 Sep 2006, 21:12
Oh and KK, take some english classes while you're at it
And comments like that arn't inclined to start "lame b*tch fights"?
Will Myrtleford be able to tag Ednie and Wild out of the game or do they just conceed they will pick up their usual possessions and worry about their own game :confused:
Would be interested what everyone thinks, since i have no damn idea
hammer_time
20 Sep 2006, 22:22
Will Myrtleford be able to tag Ednie and Wild out of the game or do they just conceed they will pick up their usual possessions and worry about their own game :confused:
Would be interested what everyone thinks, since i have no damn idea
myrt will definately need to take Ednie out of the game, he has prooved he is a match winner and the added bonus of the morris medal may bring a little more confidence. Wild to can have the same impact as ednie and would also need to be maintained.
Yarra have their problems to with Brad Murray and Andrew Carey. Carey was the difference between the two teams last time they met and with Murray having a couple more weeks rest would be ready to fire.
Bourky23
20 Sep 2006, 22:27
comin up to watch this game all the way from sale, gippsland
good to hear B23
what does everyone else think about the 18,000 crowd prediction, is it realistic?
hammer_time
20 Sep 2006, 22:44
good to hear B23
what does everyone else think about the 18,000 crowd prediction, is it realistic?
both clubs have excellent followings and if the weathers perfect then yes i think it is realistic that the 18,000 crowd may turn up.
myrt will definately need to take Ednie out of the game, he has prooved he is a match winner and the added bonus of the morris medal may bring a little more confidence. Wild to can have the same impact as ednie and would also need to be maintained.
Yarra have their problems to with Brad Murray and Andrew Carey. Carey was the difference between the two teams last time they met and with Murray having a couple more weeks rest would be ready to fire.
Another little headache for the Pigeons that may be going slightly under the radar is David Bourke.
he didn't play against them in the Saints semi final win and looms as a potential match-winner.
Single handily got Myrt over the line against Albury in the Qual final with 5 goals in a BOG display.
Could be a real problem for the Yarra defence.
McKee, Hodgson, Bourke, McPherson, Rigoni - pretty potent looking forward line!
But Yarra have some firepower to in attack - McMillan, Hargreaves, A Rudd, Runnalls?
Bourky23
21 Sep 2006, 13:17
both clubs have excellent followings and if the weathers perfect then yes i think it is realistic that the 18,000 crowd may turn up.
that's crazy!!
RiverinAFL
21 Sep 2006, 16:29
A Mild day with showers is predicted so probably drop it to 15,000. Similar to 2005
d-mac3276
22 Sep 2006, 20:20
Great call Scope, I doubt very much Dynamic is a Myrt player. Can tell u right now that the Dynamic 1 is indeed a Myrt player, infact he would b one of their better players.
But the one thing i'm surprised in is he stuck to his word that he wouldn't b logging onto big footy this week in preparation for the granny, thought he'd b on here talking it up must b nervous the boy.
Anyway good luck big fella hope ya have a blinder and bring home the cup. Then maybe u can come play metro footy.
good to hear B23
Realistic depending on the weather. Lasy time Yarra won the flag, a the crowd was over 20K at Lavington. Depends on the split of reserve sides & 3rds (if they involve different clubs)
I assume the granny is being played at Lavington.
Yarrawonga 15.11 def. Myrtleford 10.8
Goals:
(Yarra) MARCUS MCMILLAN 4, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES 3, DALLAS GALLAGHER 2, CLINTON RUNNALLS 2, JASON WILD 1, ADAM RUDD 1, CRAIG EDNIE 1, LAWRENCE FURLAN 1
(Myrt) STEVEN MCKEE 2, BRADLEY MCPHERSON 2, CHAD RIGONI 2, STEVEN NIGHTINGALE 1, ANDREW CAREY 1, LUCIEN DEANE-JOHNS 1, TRAVIS HODGSON 1
Best:
(Yarra) JASON WILD, XAVIER LESLIE, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES, MARCUS MCMILLAN, CRAIG EDNIE, SCOTT OSWALD
(Myrt) Not recorded
Here It Is
25 Sep 2006, 01:32
The weather was terrible with rain, hail and a howling gale straight down the ground that basically rendered the team that lost the toss with a monumental task to win the game.
And that's exactly how it turned out.
Yarrawonga produced the best quarter of grand final football any of the 14,250 people there would possibly have ever seen (I'd like to hear of a better one).
The Pigeons kicked an unbelievable 10.7 to 1.1 in the first term to lead by 60 points at quarter time and it was all over.
Myrtleford got much more of the ball after that, but unlike Yarra, resorted to going wide, chipping the ball across the ground and even trying countless strings of handballs at times.
However, they did outscore the Pigeons by 27 points after quarter time, and if they had played as smart, direct footy as Yarra did in the first quarter, they may have been some chance to haul the deficit in - especially as the Pigeons were unable to score a single goal against the wind all day.
Commisserations to Myrtleford, three in five years must be really tough to take, but full congratulations to Yarrawonga, who got the job done when it mattered and thoroughly deserved their win.
Yarrawonga 10.7 10.9 15.10 15.11 101
Myrtleford 1.1 4.6 6.7 10.8 68
Oh, and by the way, I thought I saw Sammy Sleigh running some water for Yarrawonga. A precursor to next year perhaps? :rolleyes:
http://www.bordermail.com.au/frontpage/image/440462.jpg
First-quarter blitz sets up win
BY BRAD McGRATH
Border Mail
YARRAWONGA has broken the third-longest premiership drought in Ovens and Murray history, setting it up after a blistering opening quarter as it thrashed Myrtleford by 33 points.
The Pigeons produced a stunning 10.7 in the opening stanza in wet and blustery conditions to blow the lacklustre Saints away and end their 17 years without the ultimate success and send the Saints home empty handed for the second year running.
Tim Hargreaves booted three first-quarter goals while captain Jason Wild, Xavier Leslie and the clever Craig Ednie won stacks of possession and man-mountain Josh Frawley dominated in the ruck and the Pigeons took full advantage of the strong wind.
McMillan opened the scoring for the Pigeons before Hargreaves snapped truly and the Pigeons were on fire, the elusive Ednie got in on the act as they burst out of the centre and a long-range goal put them in front by 17 points.
The Saints failed to settle in the first term, Brad McPherson dropped an easy chest mark that allowed Dallas Gallagher to take possession and run in and goal.
Scuffles broke out all over the ground as the Saints worried more about intimidatory tactics than the ball.
But Hargreaves roved and snapped truly for his third and McMillan added his second and the Pigeons had the first seven.
Chad Rigoni finally got the Saints on the scoreboard at the 20-minute mark of the first when he marked and goaled.
The Saints horror patch continued when Steve Nightingale slewed a kick-in from a Pigeons point and Lawrence Furlan marked and converted from 40m out.
Jason Wild then iced a wonderful quarter with a snap from a tight angle for the Pigeons to all but finish the game.
The Saints forward line was starved of opportunity as their star duo of Steve McKee and David Bourke were well held by Marc Lonergan, who was brilliant in the backline, and Phil Bourke.
Despite not kicking a goal into the breeze for the game the Pigeons managed to hold the Saints to three for the second term as they mounted a minor comeback.
Saints coach Travis Hodgson swung the changes as he moved Paul Bunn on to the dangerous Hargreaves and Chapman on to McMillan.
The Pigeons overused the ball on occasions into the wind in the second term, but the Saints couldn’t hurt them on the scoreboard as they kicked 3.5 to 0.2.
Andrew Carey pulled in a strong mark on the lead and goaled to give the Saints a glimmer of hope but the defence, led by Bourke, stood tall.
Brad McPherson goaled as Hodgson started to gather some quality possession and Brad Murray started to have an impact in the middle as he helped himself to 17 kicks and 10 handballs for the game.
Ednie racked up 25 touches for the match but it was his courageous attack on the ball that stopped the Saints momentum, despite getting cleaned up by a fired-up Nightingale.
The Pigeons bottled up play as they got numbers behind the ball and stopped the Saints’ resurgence and took a 39-point lead into the long break.
McKee moved into the ruck at the beginning of the third, but the Pigeons still dominated out of the middle.
And after a goal to Adam Rudd from a free kick, just before the heavens opened up and unleashed a hail storm, the game was over.
The two teams then traded goals, to Rigoni and Gallagher, before Hodgson broke the flow and kicked a set-shot goal.
Wild, who won the Did Simpson medal for best-on-ground, gathered 26 quality possessions for the game, while his partner in the Pigeon engine room, Leslie, helped himself to 28 as they destroyed the Saints in the middle.
Clint Runnalls then produced some amazing evasive work to slip around two opponents and run into an open goal, before McMillan booted his fourth goal for the game to give the Pigeons a 57-point break going into the final change.
Hodgson tried to inspire his players at the final change by taking them close to the masses that travelled from the hills, but it was to no avail.
To Myrtleford’s credit they fought the game out as Murray, Hodgson and Deane-Johns put back some respectability on the scoreboard and McKee kicked two final-quarter goals.
http://www.bordermail.com.au/news/image/438908.jpg
The Pigeons celebrate their drought-breaking victory.
http://www.bordermail.com.au/news/image/438914.jpg
Yarrawonga skipper Jason Wild was best-on-ground.
http://www.bordermail.com.au/news/image/438920.jpg
Yarrawonga’s Ricky James laps up the win with Pigeon supporters.
http://www.bordermail.com.au/news/image/438926.jpg
Bernie and Marc Lonergan embrace after the grand final
footy_rulz
25 Sep 2006, 13:41
TEN GOALS SEVEN TO ONE GOAL ONE IN THE FIRST QUARTER!!! My God!
go_cats11
25 Sep 2006, 15:11
Hi all!
GO YARRA! I was a fantastic day yesterday for all pigeons fans! The only down side for the entire day was the rain and the news that tom lonergan is back in hospital AGAIN for the 3rd time but apart from that it was great! Best quarter off footy I have seen! The party back at the clubrooms was awesome and everyone had a wicked night. players doing their mad monday 2day at local bar.
The weather was terrible with rain, hail and a howling gale straight down the ground that basically rendered the team that lost the toss with a monumental task to win the game.
Yarrawonga produced the best quarter of grand final football any of the 14,250 people there would possibly have ever seen (I'd like to hear of a better one).
The Pigeons kicked an unbelievable 10.7 to 1.1 in the first term to lead by 60 points at quarter time and it was all over.
Myrtleford got much more of the ball after that, but unlike Yarra, resorted to going wide, chipping the ball across the ground and even trying countless strings of handballs at times.
However, they did outscore the Pigeons by 27 points after quarter time, and if they had played as smart, direct footy as Yarra did in the first quarter, they may have been some chance to haul the deficit in - especially as the Pigeons were unable to score a single goal against the wind all day.
Commisserations to Myrtleford, three in five years must be really tough to take, but full congratulations to Yarrawonga, who got the job done when it mattered and thoroughly deserved their win.
Oh, and by the way, I thought I saw Sammy Sleigh running some water for Yarrawonga. A precursor to next year perhaps? :rolleyes:
How's Sammy Sleigh and is he quicker than Here It Is?
How did the vote system work?
I See that Damian Slater has done his future coaching aspirations (Nth Albury? or have they got a coach for next year?) no harm with the Wodonga 2's coming from behind to win....
How did Simon Rudd go in the game yesterday?
what possie did he play
Here It Is
25 Sep 2006, 21:31
The way he was getting around yesterday I'd reckon HII would have to be a chance.
But I did also hear Sammy was going in for some end of season surgery to relieve some stress around the knee. So that might have slowed him down.
How did the vote system work?
What vote system?
The way he was getting around yesterday I'd reckon HII would have to be a chance.
But I did also hear Sammy was going in for some end of season surgery to relieve some stress around the knee. So that might have slowed him down.
What vote system?
The one that tips the Morris Medal and B&F winners that Arceri dislikes so much.
matteroffact
26 Sep 2006, 12:04
Hi all!
GO YARRA! I was a fantastic day yesterday for all pigeons fans! The only down side for the entire day was the rain and the news that tom lonergan is back in hospital AGAIN for the 3rd time but apart from that it was great! Best quarter off footy I have seen! The party back at the clubrooms was awesome and everyone had a wicked night. players doing their mad monday 2day at local bar.
How did Clint Mansell play for the pigeons?
king kong
26 Sep 2006, 13:18
spectated
Can someone tell me who Sammy Sleigh is?
Gotheroos
26 Sep 2006, 14:58
spectated
Can someone tell me who Sammy Sleigh is?
He must be a gun.
I don't think anyone knows he is.
KokodaMidget
26 Sep 2006, 15:23
Here it is,
i've seen a better quarter of footy. 2nd q, Western Border FL Grand final 1993, scores level at quarter time, Hamilton Imperials pile on 14.1 to 0.1 for the quarter, the last 8 coming in 7 minutes, taking an unassailable lead 84 point lead into half time, this without the aid of any breeze, just an absolute domination.
king kong
26 Sep 2006, 16:24
Here it is,
i've seen a better quarter of footy. 2nd q, Western Border FL Grand final 1993, scores level at quarter time, Hamilton Imperials pile on 14.1 to 0.1 for the quarter, the last 8 coming in 7 minutes, taking an unassailable lead 84 point lead into half time, this without the aid of any breeze, just an absolute domination.
who cares?
Here It Is
26 Sep 2006, 18:07
Here it is,
Wow. That would have been a real sight to see.
It was amazing enough watching 10.7 to 1.1 with a howling gale let alone that.
King Kong - I asked the question, so yes, I care.
Hornie - Unless there are objections I will explain it all when I finalise the list.
King Kong again - just a little joke between myself and a few of the other blokes on here. I know who they all are. Sam Sleigh is a Jerilderie under 13s player in the Coreen and District league and that particular line of chat is another way of having a go at my Top 10 system, which also exists on that thread.
Here it is,
You need to compare apples with apples. That league is a few rungs down the food chain. Bit like comparing the AFL to the WAFL.;)
Bit still a great goal blitz in any language.:thumbsu:
Here It Is
26 Sep 2006, 19:58
It would have been an amazing goal blitz.
And I don't really think comparing is necessary.
After all, the standard of the two teams playing would have been comparable to each other regardless of what league it was.
That's the most important thing.
Yarrawonga smashing Myrtleford would be comparable in the standard of the competing teams to Imperials smashing (insert team here).
It would have been an amazing goal blitz.
And I don't really think comparing is necessary.
After all, the standard of the two teams playing would have been comparable to each other regardless of what league it was.
That's the most important thing.
Yarrawonga smashing Myrtleford would be comparable in the standard of the competing teams to Imperials smashing (insert team here).
Very sensible HII
go_cats11
26 Sep 2006, 21:32
clint mansell didn't play and hasn't played all year!
Be guessing he played well on Monday!!!!!!
Here it is - if you keep up these intelligent remarks you may have to be sinbinned from the thread for a week... ;-)