View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Can anyone give me some info on former Albury player Brendan Paull.......he's apparently a good sized young lad heading down Geelong way & can play a bit. Any info would be much appreciated !!!!
played a few games at finley before getting dropped to reserves so decided to go back to albury.good size but struggled to take an overhead mark and does'nt use his size to advantage
harsh, but fair
11 Feb 2007, 20:41
Daisy Train = no idea.
The Dustbin
12 Feb 2007, 11:47
Daisy Train = no idea.
Second that. :thumbsu:
daisy_train
12 Feb 2007, 11:48
What's news from the pigeons Harsh? have you stopped celebrating yet?
Albert Park
12 Feb 2007, 15:12
What's news from the pigeons Harsh? have you stopped celebrating yet?
Why would Harsh care about the Pigeons ?
Glitter
12 Feb 2007, 17:29
Anyone tell me if there was any truth in the rumor of K.Stevens leaving this year that was mentioned a while back?
Also what is the go with that big p*ick Kirby i hear he is still to make a decision on where he's playing in 07??
FROM THE 50
12 Feb 2007, 18:36
[quote=daisy_train;6712223]What's news from the pigeons Harsh? have you stopped celebrating yet?[/quote
just goes to show you really dont have any idea;)
There seems to be some uncertainty about the Wang Rovers off season recruiting drive. As a player at the club i can confirm 10+ signings, all of excellent calibre and ability.
Tyler Harries - Flanker from North Wang who has always been thought of as too skilled to play in the O&K for as long as he did.
Jamie Bell - Ruckman also from North Wang and highly skilled and mobile. Teamed with Timmy Schuermann, should provide good service from the stopages. Can also play forward
Steve McIntyre - Skilled tall from Melbourne who has come at the invitation of Marcus Webb and Ben Tsamakis. Highly rated and has John McNamara liking his lips at the prospct
Mark Strack - Tough in and under midfielder who won two league medals for Romsey in the Riddel League. Comes with big wraps.
Craig Crzycki - Skillful key position player and ex calder cannons star. Was in line to play last year but had defenc force commitments. Will be an imposing figure at CHF and will team well with star full forward Peter Christoforo. Unsure of correct surname spelling!
Travis Hubble - Technically not a nw playr but a valuable recruit none the less. Has returned from the Sydney lague after a season there and is fit and raring to go. Those who know him are aware that his tagging ability and relentless running are worht their weight in gold.
Aaron Mooney - Cousin of Geelong star Cameron. Aaron is a skilled and hard running midfielder who was being chased havily by many other clubs. Is currently living in Wang and is a prized addition who is hoped will be able to cover the loss of Jamie Allan.
Ben Kneebone - Ben has returned to the Rovers after some years away from the club where he was a star junior. Big man with excellent stamina. Will be looked upon to play as a key backman to and take some of the pressure off the ever reliable veteran Matty Allen.
Lee Gallop - Don't know alot about this guy but have heard that he is a highly rated and much sought after player. Solidly built, skillful, quick and vry fit, he along with his key backman brother (unsure of name) are the Rovers prized recruits for the year. From rumours i have heard, Lee was being chased heavily by Essendon last year to accept a spot on their list however refused for personal reasons. Will be an important figure in the Rover's midfield.
Michael O'Donohue - Emerging key Forward, fresh from a year of Senior football with King Valley in the Ovens & King League. At just 17 years of age, will be looked upon as a goalkicker of the future. Played a game of Seconds for the Rovers at the end of last year and dominated taking many strong grabs and finishing with a couple of goals. A vry exciting prospect.
At this stage these are the only confirmed recruits however i believe the club may still be in discussions withseveral other possible additions, including a ruckman.
Pearce off Jack
13 Feb 2007, 13:29
There seems to be some uncertainty about the Wang Rovers off season recruiting drive. As a player at the club i can confirm 10+ signings, all of excellent calibre and ability.
Tyler Harries - Flanker from North Wang who has always been thought of as too skilled to play in the O&K for as long as he did.
Jamie Bell - Ruckman also from North Wang and highly skilled and mobile. Teamed with Timmy Schuermann, should provide good service from the stopages. Can also play forward
Steve McIntyre - Skilled tall from Melbourne who has come at the invitation of Marcus Webb and Ben Tsamakis. Highly rated and has John McNamara liking his lips at the prospct
Mark Strack - Tough in and under midfielder who won two league medals for Romsey in the Riddel League. Comes with big wraps.
Craig Crzycki - Skillful key position player and ex calder cannons star. Was in line to play last year but had defenc force commitments. Will be an imposing figure at CHF and will team well with star full forward Peter Christoforo. Unsure of correct surname spelling!
Travis Hubble - Technically not a nw playr but a valuable recruit none the less. Has returned from the Sydney lague after a season there and is fit and raring to go. Those who know him are aware that his tagging ability and relentless running are worht their weight in gold.
Aaron Mooney - Cousin of Geelong star Cameron. Aaron is a skilled and hard running midfielder who was being chased havily by many other clubs. Is currently living in Wang and is a prized addition who is hoped will be able to cover the loss of Jamie Allan.
Ben Kneebone - Ben has returned to the Rovers after some years away from the club where he was a star junior. Big man with excellent stamina. Will be looked upon to play as a key backman to and take some of the pressure off the ever reliable veteran Matty Allen.
Lee Gallop - Don't know alot about this guy but have heard that he is a highly rated and much sought after player. Solidly built, skillful, quick and vry fit, he along with his key backman brother (unsure of name) are the Rovers prized recruits for the year. From rumours i have heard, Lee was being chased heavily by Essendon last year to accept a spot on their list however refused for personal reasons. Will be an important figure in the Rover's midfield.
Michael O'Donohue - Emerging key Forward, fresh from a year of Senior football with King Valley in the Ovens & King League. At just 17 years of age, will be looked upon as a goalkicker of the future. Played a game of Seconds for the Rovers at the end of last year and dominated taking many strong grabs and finishing with a couple of goals. A vry exciting prospect.
At this stage these are the only confirmed recruits however i believe the club may still be in discussions withseveral other possible additions, including a ruckman.
You should get a job as a sports Journo Darc!
Kick it to me
13 Feb 2007, 19:57
By all reports Nth Albury has been doing there hardest pre-season in years, does any one rate Nth Albury as a chance this year??? Picked up a few quality players but have lost a few also. Any one in the know?
raidrboy
13 Feb 2007, 21:11
By all reports Nth Albury has been doing there hardest pre-season in years, does any one rate Nth Albury as a chance this year??? Picked up a few quality players but have lost a few also. Any one in the know?
Not in the know but think they will go okay with some of the players they have picked up.
swans12
14 Feb 2007, 06:26
Can anyone give me a heads up on Stephen Church - Yarrawonga.
He has joined Gosford in the Black Diamond League.
harsh, but fair
14 Feb 2007, 07:02
Didn't play in their premiership team last year and was very much in the shadow of No.1 ruckman Josh Frawley.
Originally from Cobram and was on the Murray Bushrangers list at some stage.
Glitter
14 Feb 2007, 11:09
Kidding yourself Darc.
First 2 from O&K would struggle to get a senior gig at most O&M clubs.
If "Timmy Schuermann" is your number 1 big man i would hope your looking fairly hard for another couple of talls.
Typical Rovers bloke talking up not much at all!
Yes, looks like games won't be played at Wangaratta for the opening rounds of the season, a decision is being made regarding the fixtures on March 1.
Well someone had to get Porter and Stevens to Benalla, half the battle with country footy is being able to attract players and he seemed to do pretty well at Benalla.
It doesnt hurt when the brother of Anthony Stevens was playing playing at Benalla either (Brendan)
Lucky19
14 Feb 2007, 14:40
just curious to see if there is a bloke named jake ryan training with carowa. i played against him in the geelong fl. he's a strong midfielder and would be a great coup
Kidding yourself Darc.
First 2 from O&K would struggle to get a senior gig at most O&M clubs.
If "Timmy Schuermann" is your number 1 big man i would hope your looking fairly hard for another couple of talls.
Typical Rovers bloke talking up not much at all!
Clearly glitter your basing your opinion on Jamie and Tyler on the fact the are from the O&K. Fellow Rovers teamate John Conroy spent considerable time at Milawa winning 3 club best and fairests before coming into the Rovers and is now highly rated in the league. Jamie and Tyler are in much the same mould and many have thought they should of come in sooner. As for Timmy Schuermann, he will get under many guards this season. And at no stag did i mention that he was our number one ruckman. I clearly stated that we are in talks with ruckmen and also have other useful players who can fill that void. Out of curiousity, who do you support glitter? Maybe your a maggies man if you think you have such knowledge on these particular players?
harsh, but fair
14 Feb 2007, 19:45
I assume he is training at Corowa-Rutherglen after signing with them late last year along wih Nic Raines.
Are we talking recent times about Jake playing in the Geelong FL, Lucky?
harsh, but fair
14 Feb 2007, 19:50
Care to take a stab at how Rovers' best 21 will line-up Darc given your intimate knowledge of all things brown and gold?
Will be interesting to see where you slot a lot of these blokes in.
Have you conceded Jamie Allan is gone.
I rate him as the club's best player, just ahead of Andy Hill so he will be hard to replace.
Is Justin Hoggan back on the track yet?
Care to take a stab at how Rovers' best 21 will line-up Darc given your intimate knowledge of all things brown and gold?
Will be interesting to see where you slot a lot of these blokes in.
Have you conceded Jamie Allan is gone.
I rate him as the club's best player, just ahead of Andy Hill so he will be hard to replace.
Is Justin Hoggan back on the track yet?
I dont assume to know everything bout rovers i just can't stand people writing them off before the season has even begun. And we can't compete with big spending clubs like yarra and the maggies. But i think with what we have then we will give it a good go
My idea of a line up would be:
B: Conroy Gallop Allen
HB: Raven Kneebone Sharp
C: N.Hill A.Hill Mooney
HF: Hartwig Cyrzycki R.Hill
F: Taylor Christoforo McIntyre
F: J.Bell Tucci Gallop
Int: Strack K.Simpson Webb McLaughlin
Emerg: S.Oliver Hubble Harries Schuermann
However I have probably left some people out. I think it is a good team though. As far as i know Hoggan has been back running for half a year and is expected to play sometim throughout the season. Jamie will be hard to cover but Lee Gallop is a quality player and will be one of the stars of the comp this yar i think. Strack should be handy too.
harsh, but fair
14 Feb 2007, 20:27
Good effort.
But it's fair fall from grace for big Timmy. No.1 ruckman to kicking the dew off in the scoobies.
You are a hard man.
harsh, but fair
14 Feb 2007, 20:31
Good effort.
But it's fair fall from grace for big Timmy. No.1 ruckman to kicking the dew off in the scoobies.
You are a hard man.
Also I reckon Anthony Carlile might be in the Hawks' best 21 and I've got a bit of an opinion of Kyle Simpson who didn't have a lot of luck with injury last year.
Wot about Luke Walker? Is he not coming back.
Lucky19
14 Feb 2007, 20:39
I assume he is training at Corowa-Rutherglen after signing with them late last year along wih Nic Raines.
Are we talking recent times about Jake playing in the Geelong FL, Lucky?
yer mate, played with st. mary's in gfl last year. broke his collarbone in week 1 of the finals i believe
Good effort.
You are a hard man.
Also I reckon Anthony Carlile might be in the Hawks' best 21 and I've got a bit of an opinion of Kyle Simpson who didn't have a lot of luck with injury last year.
Wot about Luke Walker? Is he not coming back.
Yes i forgot about Anthony. Plays well when confidence is up. Unfortunatel Luke Walker isn't returning this year which will be a blow but hopefully Peter Taylor can stay injury free coz hes a star when fit and Steve McIntyre should deliver on his big wraps. You seem to have a fair knowledge of the hawks as well harsh, but fair. Can i ask who you are?
Snakeman66
14 Feb 2007, 21:31
Yes i forgot about Anthony. Plays well when confidence is up. Unfortunatel Luke Walker isn't returning this year which will be a blow but hopefully Peter Taylor can stay injury free coz hes a star when fit and Steve McIntyre should deliver on his big wraps. You seem to have a fair knowledge of the hawks as well harsh, but fair. Can i ask who you are?
Most regulars on this thread know who HBF is as he always has the Mail.
Not too hard to work out who you are DB.
Puma Kings
15 Feb 2007, 08:21
Has anyone heard any news regarding Albury's Adam Levy, talk is that he has left Albury and is set to play for Greta in the O&K League?
Puma Kings
15 Feb 2007, 08:26
I dont assume to know everything bout rovers i just can't stand people writing them off before the season has even begun. And we can't compete with big spending clubs like yarra and the maggies. But i think with what we have then we will give it a good go
However I have probably left some people out. I think it is a good team though. As far as i know Hoggan has been back running for half a year and is expected to play sometim throughout the season. Jamie will be hard to cover but Lee Gallop is a quality player and will be one of the stars of the comp this yar i think. Strack should be handy too.
Rovers will be there abouts, fighting for a spot in the five but unlikely to be a challenger for the top 3.
With so many "prized recruits" it might take them a few games to get know each other's style of play. Always tough at home.
Glitter
15 Feb 2007, 09:10
Clearly glitter your basing your opinion on Jamie and Tyler on the fact the are from the O&K. Fellow Rovers teamate John Conroy spent considerable time at Milawa winning 3 club best and fairests before coming into the Rovers and is now highly rated in the league. Jamie and Tyler are in much the same mould and many have thought they should of come in sooner. As for Timmy Schuermann, he will get under many guards this season. And at no stag did i mention that he was our number one ruckman. I clearly stated that we are in talks with ruckmen and also have other useful players who can fill that void. Out of curiousity, who do you support glitter? Maybe your a maggies man if you think you have such knowledge on these particular players?
I'm actually a Lavi Panthers man but if i had to support a Wang team I would go with the Pies for sure knowing many blokes from each of the teams.
Originally from Wang i have seen both these boys play and I would be supprised if either got a game in your best 21.
The only guard Schuermann will be getting under is the vote givers - He's a Lemon mate.
I'm not familiar with most of the other recruits - Maybe you should just let them play before talking them up.
Good luck with the year anyway champ.
hammer_time
15 Feb 2007, 20:24
sounds like the rovers should win the premiership hands down with all these "stars" and recruits with "huge wraps". hartwig is only just a senior player as with simpson and unless carlile has improved dramatically he won't be anywhere near pushing senior selection. you can have love for a few players but mate i think you have gone to the extreme
Glitter
16 Feb 2007, 12:53
Just one more question Darc.
Are all these stars you have picked up just playing for the love of the club? Surely these is a little bit of cash flying around..
Just one more question Darc.
Are all these stars you have picked up just playing for the love of the club? Surely these is a little bit of cash flying around..
You guys seem pretty quick to jump down the Rovers throat and down mine just for trying to inform people that the hawks won't be a walkover this year. My belief is that we have recruited well and as for money floating around then yes i wont lie that we do pay our players as does every other club in the league. My point is that we dont have large sums of money to offer the elite players around and that most come to the club because they enjoy playing there. Strack moved to Wang and chose to play at Rovers, Bell and Harries are locals and decided to step up the level they play at, Kneebone has returned after schooling to his original club, Hubble returned after a year away playing in Sydney, Christoforo and Nigel Hill both chose to stay at the club despite having to travel 5 hours a w.e to play and having had better offers from clubs much closer to home, and Peter Taylor who lived more than 6 hours away chose to mov to Wangaratta so h could be closer to the club and he was the O&M's best player in interleague in 2005. To top that off can the Panthers boast a player of Matt Allens dedication to their club? Fair enough Kerry Bahr has been a long servant but he falls behind Allen in games and seasons played. Unfortunately for us, we don't have a poking filled club like the Panthers to pump funds into our club or multi million dollar entertainment clubs like the RSL or Ski Club like Yarrawonga does.
And finally no club in country football has produced more 300 game players than the Rovers have which even included 2 seasons in the 90's where the players of the club played as amateurs without pay because of the 300,000 plus dollars we were in debt. Sounds like there are more important things than money for some.
So forgive me if i sense some promise in the club which hasnt had much for a while. And learn to have a bit of pride in your club instead of having a crack at the others!
roast beef roll
16 Feb 2007, 15:06
You guys seem pretty quick to jump down the Rovers throat and down mine just for trying to inform people that the hawks won't be a walkover this year. My belief is that we have recruited well and as for money floating around then yes i wont lie that we do pay our players as does every other club in the league. My point is that we dont have large sums of money to offer the elite players around and that most come to the club because they enjoy playing there. Strack moved to Wang and chose to play at Rovers, Bell and Harries are locals and decided to step up the level they play at, Kneebone has returned after schooling to his original club, Hubble returned after a year away playing in Sydney, Christoforo and Nigel Hill both chose to stay at the club despite having to travel 5 hours a w.e to play and having had better offers from clubs much closer to home, and Peter Taylor who lived more than 6 hours away chose to mov to Wangaratta so h could be closer to the club and he was the O&M's best player in interleague in 2005. To top that off can the Panthers boast a player of Matt Allens dedication to their club? Fair enough Kerry Bahr has been a long servant but he falls behind Allen in games and seasons played. Unfortunately for us, we don't have a poking filled club like the Panthers to pump funds into our club or multi million dollar entertainment clubs like the RSL or Ski Club like Yarrawonga does.
And finally no club in country football has produced more 300 game players than the Rovers have which even included 2 seasons in the 90's where the players of the club played as amateurs without pay because of the 300,000 plus dollars we were in debt. Sounds like there are more important things than money for some.
So forgive me if i sense some promise in the club which hasnt had much for a while. And learn to have a bit of pride in your club instead of having a crack at the others!
Umm darc21 ... you just did what you told everyone else not to do...:o
Glitter
16 Feb 2007, 15:31
Yeah pull your head in you little pussy.
And stop clogging up the page with your 4 paragraph posts.
No one here is taking anything away from players like Matt Allen who are obviously great servants.
No if you read back to where it all started roast beef roll you will see that i had no part in instigating the whole argument. I'm not here to have a go or to bag out any other teams im merely here to give my opinion on the Rovers and their players for this year. But apparently i'm not allowed to stand up for my team or something to that effect. And how is stating facts like "Unfortunately for us, we don't have a poking filled club like the Panthers to pump funds into our club or multi million dollar entertainment clubs like the RSL or Ski Club like Yarrawonga does. " having a crack at other clubs. I was under the impression that i was comparing the financial situation of the Rovers to the more well off clubs in that statement as part of my argument in the Rover's defence. Im sorry if you got the wrong impression by that.
No one here is taking anything away from players like Matt Allen who are obviously great servants.
Whatever mate! You were the one with your smartarse comments and blunt attack at my original statement on the Rovers. If you can dish it out then be man enough to take it back you tool. And as for my 4 paragraph posts im entitled to write what i want and however much. Just because you can't string two positives together about your team doesn't mean i can't defend mine however long i want to.
Run Straight
16 Feb 2007, 15:45
[quote=Darc21;6744285] "Unfortunately for us, we don't have a poking filled club like the Panthers to pump funds into our club or multi million dollar entertainment clubs like the RSL or Ski Club like Yarrawonga does. "
I'm told the Panthers Club has pulled the plug on the Lavi Footy Club leaving a substantial hole in their budget.
Glitter
16 Feb 2007, 15:49
Whatever mate! You were the one with your smartarse comments and blunt attack at my original statement on the Rovers. If you can dish it out then be man enough to take it back you tool. And as for my 4 paragraph posts im entitled to write what i want and however much. Just because you can't string two positives together about your team doesn't mean i can't defend mine however long i want to.
haha That was a fair spit of the dummy my boy.
Lets not get nasty - We are just a club starting out and have done quite well in the time we have been in the comp.
Have a good weekend big fella.
roast beef roll
16 Feb 2007, 16:06
Settle down Darc, i think you migth've broken a string on your violin.
How any club makes there money is there business.
I was just pointing out that you're into a couple of clubs who may be fortunate to get good support from licenced clubs. Good luck to them.
Yes rovers is a great club, point taken.
Remember this is a forum based on opinions, rumours etc and not necessarily facts.
Relax, we'll know more about season 07 in a few months.:)
FROM THE 50
16 Feb 2007, 16:19
[quote=Darc21;6744285] "Unfortunately for us, we don't have a poking filled club like the Panthers to pump funds into our club or multi million dollar entertainment clubs like the RSL or Ski Club like Yarrawonga does. "
I'm told the Panthers Club has pulled the plug on the Lavi Footy Club leaving a substantial hole in their budget.
Very Very interesting,may back up the roumor that they are looking at the Nth Alb sports club.One I heard the other day.
Point taken by both of you. You both have fair arguments as i think mine is a reasonable opinion. I'm looking forward to 2007 as much as the next guy and only wanted to show some enthusiasm at what looks to be a good chance for my beloved hawks. Probably shouldnt have gotten to the point it did. Guess it was just the Rovers blood flowing through me that rose to the surface a bit:)
JIM BEAM
16 Feb 2007, 19:46
How's Pete and Nigel going up there?
Pete is a gun bloke who shouldnt have to be stuck at full forward given room to roam around the forward line and injury free you guys haven't seen the best of him yet.
As for Nige Icouldn't see him getting bigger offers down here he is tough and tries hard but his lack of pace lets him down, Im surprised he plays on the ball up there??
They're both great blokes though and don't they love a punt!
Pete is a gun bloke who shouldnt have to be stuck at full forward given room to roam around the forward line and injury free you guys haven't seen the best of him yet.
As for Nige Icouldn't see him getting bigger offers down here he is tough and tries hard but his lack of pace lets him down, Im surprised he plays on the ball up there??
Yer Pete had a great year but was injured a fair bit unfortunately. Still managed to kick 50-60 goals and he isnt your typical full forward hey. I agree with him being allowed to roam but we need him most at FF. Nige had a good year too and came 4th or 5th in the b/f. Does lack speed but toughness is a good asset.
switch the play
16 Feb 2007, 21:44
Darc you are obviously a passionate man but going through your thread in regards to players loyalty you need to be 100% if you are going to put your head on the chopping block.Peter Taylor i believe hails from Cohuna and for you to state he travelled 6 hours to play is incorrect unless he rode his bike to wang.You could easily half that,i wont go through the rest of the post as i believe your heart is in the right place but there are other questionable statements.Stick to the facts mate and eveeryone will respect what you are trying to say:thumbsu:
rioli brownlow
16 Feb 2007, 21:48
Yer Pete had a great year but was injured a fair bit unfortunately. Still managed to kick 50-60 goals and he isnt your typical full forward hey. I agree with him being allowed to roam but we need him most at FF. Nige had a good year too and came 4th or 5th in the b/f. Does lack speed but toughness is a good asset.
hi everyone , just wondering how mrytleford are travelling pre-season ? i heard they lost a fair few players , have they been replaced?
i go up there every easter for a tennis tournement and usually get over to watch them play on the sunday, as an old teammate of mine from sunbury travis hodgson was coaching them.
i know he is now at north albury and as it happens they will be playing against the saints on easter, from what i have read and heard it should be an interesting clash, hopefully the buffalo hotel has improved its tab facilities aswell.
Darc you are obviously a passionate man but going through your thread in regards to players loyalty you need to be 100% if you are going to put your head on the chopping block.Peter Taylor i believe hails from Cohuna and for you to state he travelled 6 hours to play is incorrect unless he rode his bike to wang.You could easily half that,i wont go through the rest of the post as i believe your heart is in the right place but there are other questionable statements.Stick to the facts mate and eveeryone will respect what you are trying to say:thumbsu:
Yer fair call mate. I was merely going on a mate who lives in cohuna's words as he said he has to travel 6 hours all up a for a back and forth trip total. But not being from the area i can't say for sure. And feel free to pick me up on other facts you think are incorrect coz my knowledge is by no means exact.
switch the play
16 Feb 2007, 22:06
Yer fair call mate. I was merely going on a mate who lives in cohuna's words as he said he has to travel 6 hours all up a for a back and forth trip total. But not being from the area i can't say for sure. And feel free to pick me up on other facts you think are incorrect coz my knowledge is by no means exact.
No others mate just telling you be 100% as its dog eat dog on here hope your hawks can relive the glory days of the 90's for you.Are you getting any rain there at the moment as the word is obviously wang is the most at risk to loose some footy early on if the grounds dont soften
raidrboy
16 Feb 2007, 22:36
Heard on the grapevine today that Benalla has refused to clear Jason McFarlane.
No others mate just telling you be 100% as its dog eat dog on here hope your hawks can relive the glory days of the 90's for you.Are you getting any rain there at the moment as the word is obviously wang is the most at risk to loose some footy early on if the grounds dont soften
Nah grounds are rock hard atm and Melbourne refused to play a scratch match on the Norm Minns Oval which is in better condition that ours during their communtiy camps week in wang. Hopefully we should get some decent rainfall come March and be ready for the start of the season. If not oth wang teams will end up playing on the border for the first part of the season.
Here It Is
17 Feb 2007, 10:37
Lavington Blues?
harsh, but fair
17 Feb 2007, 12:22
Why?
the tron burger
17 Feb 2007, 17:45
[quote=Pearce off Jack;6672725]
It will be just a real shame by half way through the year no body will want to play there under there new coach. just give him time to do something wrong and all ******** will hit the fan like it has at every club he has been involved in well the last two anyway that being corowa and benalla
It sounds like you are not happy with jock saint03.. My money is on them to finish top 5 and all the critics out there wont no what to say especially you
Another coup for Jock. It appears Tony Evans will join the Martiniello boys in switching Saints sides.
Switcher didnt you call that a couple of weeks ago?
raidrboy
17 Feb 2007, 21:21
Why?
No reason given. But definitely correct.
Probly hasn't given his jumper back or something major like that.
switch the play
17 Feb 2007, 21:45
Another coup for Jock. It appears Tony Evans will join the Martiniello boys in switching Saints sides.
Switcher didnt you call that a couple of weeks ago?
Yeh bugger it as i said we were in it up to our ears but recruitings about networking so Mcfarlane has done well.By all reports he can play the game,was looking at setting his family up as he has staqrted an apprenticeship at an adult age.Regardless of what gets said sometimes footys your ticket so if you can better your family life to a point good luck to him:thumbsu:
Not from King Valley are you. They ran a close second
Is it true that Wang Magpies are paying $600 a game to Van Schaik from Benalla?
Gotheroos
18 Feb 2007, 08:54
Nige goes well when he is potting blokes running in off the square. He's not not to good when your looking at him though.
the tron burger
18 Feb 2007, 10:43
Probly hasn't given his jumper back or something major like that.
Sounds like you know a few little story from down that way must be a benalla boy .What jumpers does he owe and surely who gives a toss from all reports he should of took more froom all the crap he had to put up with ..
Flat Track Bully
18 Feb 2007, 15:57
So...Matt Allen played at Corowa-Rutherglen for nothing then?
Don't get me wrong, I understand that Rovers have had some truly loyal servants, including Matt Allen.
I have no hassle with the pokies...that is the vagary of society we live in. If Lavi and Yarrawonga cash in on that...good on them.
Just think if Wagga joined the comp
"We don't need pokies for today's jackpot" Albury banner prior to 1982 GF against Lavi.
roo9699
19 Feb 2007, 17:04
Nige goes well when he is potting blokes running in off the square. He's not not to good when your looking at him though.
harsh comment mate....Nigel may be hard at,and he doesnt take a backwards step towards the ball,but to say he potts blokes coming off the square is silly,have you seen the blokes build - he isnt big or bulky and he is a small running player,he is no thug,and wins his fair share of the footy - id say its the other way around - a lot of players try to take him out,because they think just because he is hard at it that he can take punishment off the square as well.
pull your head in mate.
off the cuff
19 Feb 2007, 17:12
Peter Cristoforo given the room,the feed into forward line could kick 100 in a season....i agree if "fit" this year he could be the difference in rovers playing finals or not,he wasnt fit at all last year and still kicked 60 goals.........i believe he is the most important player to the Rovers in 07.
Darc21..............the other bloke from Melbourne is spelt Craig Kurczyki from the Essendon League,one of the Keilor clubs either East Keilor,Keilor or Keilor Park not sure which one, he played for Cannons as well,big build ideal CHB or CHF,im led to believe Cristoforo & Hill are mates with him in Melbourne and know him well.
Peter Cristoforo given the room,the feed into forward line could kick 100 in a season....i agree if "fit" this year he could be the difference in rovers playing finals or not,he wasnt fit at all last year and still kicked 60 goals.........i believe he is the most important player to the Rovers in 07.
Darc21..............the other bloke from Melbourne is spelt Craig Kurczyki from the Essendon League,one of the Keilor clubs either East Keilor,Keilor or Keilor Park not sure which one, he played for Cannons as well,big build ideal CHB or CHF,im led to believe Cristoforo & Hill are mates with him in Melbourne and know him well.
yer cheers for clearing that up mate. i knew there was a y and a z in there somewhere haha. I agree with Peter being Rovers most important player this year as well. Hopefully the midfield can get it to him well enough.
Flowerpower
20 Feb 2007, 12:09
yer cheers for clearing that up mate. i knew there was a y and a z in there somewhere haha. I agree with Peter being Rovers most important player this year as well. Hopefully the midfield can get it to him well enough.
I heard Corowa - Ruth have picked Jake Ryan. The kid is a gun having seen him play at St Marys (Geelong)
Played a few ressies games with Geelong AFL and previously starred in WAFL (Subiaco)
A tad undersized, but his endevour and willingness cannot be questioned. Won a few games off his own boot for St Marys.
Might even make a trip up north to watch him play. He is an entertainer on the field. :thumbsu:
He is indeed currently registered at Ballan, but looking at their 2006 results, they finished 6th with a 9-7-1 record, and Hehir did not finish in the Top 10 goalkickers at the club (10th placegetter kicked 6 goals). So if he played there, he didn't carve it up. (Unless he's been re-invented as a full-back)
Hehir played off a half back flank @ Ballan and was runner up in the B & F. His form was good although manning up wasn't his forte. Taught some of the kids a lot about the game and rubbed some of the others up the wrong way. No complaints about his contribution and I wish him all the best. Expect to see him amongst the goals if he plays up forward.
JIM BEAM
20 Feb 2007, 19:09
G'day
I belive Kurczyki hasnt played for a few years?
G'day
I belive Kurczyki hasnt played for a few years?
Nah your right right there bout not playing for a few years. However what i saw pre christmas and post on the track looked impressive. Very fit and built as well.
Darc, what will Travis Hubble's role be this season with the Hawks. Will he just
be a fringe player or will he play a major role in the senior side.
switch the play
21 Feb 2007, 08:20
Not sure if this has already been stated but Hayden Heta will stay in Melbourne and play at the same club Brad Thompson plays with.
Flat Track Bully
21 Feb 2007, 11:44
Not sure if this has already been stated but Hayden Heta will stay in Melbourne and play at the same club Brad Thompson plays with.
Old Ivanhoe
harsh, but fair
21 Feb 2007, 12:17
Well done Sandra Sully with the late news.
switch the play
21 Feb 2007, 12:57
Well done Sandra Sully with the late news.
Laughing,as mentioned wasnt sure if it had been officially confirmed:)
crimsonwarrior
21 Feb 2007, 14:43
sounds like the rovers are in for a great year darc21!wats the surface like at the moment?will they play any matches there early or are they lookin at swapping them?are there any other clubs in the same boat with their grounds?be interesting to see what happens!
Darc, what will Travis Hubble's role be this season with the Hawks. Will he just
be a fringe player or will he play a major role in the senior side.
Um as far as i know Trav will be much the same as he was prior to leaving last year id say. That is playing off a halfback flank or tagging the oppositions best midfielder through the middle. Is looking in good shape though so John Mac may have a different role in mind.
sounds like the rovers are in for a great year darc21!wats the surface like at the moment?will they play any matches there early or are they lookin at swapping them?are there any other clubs in the same boat with their grounds?be interesting to see what happens!
At this stage mate both Wang teams are having their games relcoated to the border until we get some substantial rain. Fingers Crossed! The only other team i could think of would be Myrtleford who rely on the same water supply as Wang and would be on similar restrictions. Every other team feeds from the Murray so they are good to go id say.
Just heard All blacks were prepared to pay Tony Evans $350 a game... but he's taking the offer for Myrtleford. Looks like he has to play & train away when his old club wanted to reunite. They're pretty shattered apparently.
Bomber9
22 Feb 2007, 08:38
[quoteIs it true that Wang Magpies are paying $600 a game to Van Schaik from Benalla?[/quote]
Doubtful!
Interesting you mention Kerry Bahr as he actually had less seasons at Raiders than Matt Allen did at Corowa Rutherglen but do the names;
Darryn McKimmie, Paul Sanson, Brett Sanson, Brandon Mathews, Peter Doherty, John Hunt, Graham Hart, Lachlan Boyd and Todd Brown mean anything to you.
All long term players of the Panthers who could get much, much more money elsewhere.
I love your passion for your club but get your facts right. The Panthers have long operated on possibbly the lowest budget in the competition, certainly since 1999 and yet have won 2 premierships and a copule of preliminary finals in that time.
The other name not mentioned on the list above is Timba who could have gone and recieved very big dollars a few years ago and chose to stay in the Panthers Den for much less than most non playing coaches.
Albert Park
22 Feb 2007, 13:03
Interesting you mention Kerry Bahr as he actually had less seasons at Raiders than Matt Allen did at Corowa Rutherglen but do the names;
Darryn McKimmie, Paul Sanson, Brett Sanson, Brandon Mathews, Peter Doherty, John Hunt, Graham Hart, Lachlan Boyd and Todd Brown mean anything to you.
All long term players of the Panthers who could get much, much more money elsewhere.
I love your passion for your club but get your facts right. The Panthers have long operated on possibbly the lowest budget in the competition, certainly since 1999 and yet have won 2 premierships and a copule of preliminary finals in that time.
The other name not mentioned on the list above is Timba who could have gone and recieved very big dollars a few years ago and chose to stay in the Panthers Den for much less than most non playing coaches.
Hornie, speaking of facts - to make that statement you must not only know what the Panthers are spending on players, but also what all the other clubs are paying. I don't see how you can know all that. If you do - let us have the facts to back up your wild statement.
Pearce off Jack
22 Feb 2007, 13:41
LET GO OF IT HORNIE!LAVI WOULD BE NO WHERE NEAR THE SMALLEST BUDGET IN THE O&M.
chimp44
22 Feb 2007, 13:48
Following my request for info on Brendan Paull from Albury (who has subsequently signed with St Albans in Geelong), I'm after some info on a mate of his, Jon Thompson, who is apparently keen to join Brendan.
The only info I have is that he's a key defender.....
What age is he ?? What sort of $$ would he command ?? Is he a regular senior player ?? etc. etc.
crimsonwarrior
22 Feb 2007, 15:46
hate to agree with pearce off, but he's right as if lavi havent been shellin the kanga out for years.as if blokes like mckimmie,sanson bros, browny,doc and co werent gettin paid well do u think they would be hanging around?sure they might be happy where they are, but if they werent getting the right spondoolies i am sure they would of looked else where.what other club could afford those fashionable slacks they wear on game day:)LET GO OF IT HORNIE!LAVI WOULD BE NO WHERE NEAR THE SMALLEST BUDGET IN THE O&M.
I think you've missed the point in my statement about Kerry Bahr. He I believe is the only recent 300 game player at your club yes? No doubting people like the Sansons, Hunt and McKimmie and their loyalty to the Panthers but how many of them have played 300 or more games for their club may i ask? It is easy for players like them to stick around at a club that has been so succesful in the last decade but how about people like Matt Allen and your Mick Caruso's, Anthony Pasquali's, Robbie Walker's, Mick, Joe and Andrew Wilson's who are only 2-3 years out of the game if not still playing. More than a decade after the Hawks last premiership. And as for the Panthers having the lowest budget then thats ridiculous and you know it. i believe Adam Matthews is back at the Panthers this year? He demanded $1000 a game at his year at the Hawks and i doubt wether he would demand less from the Panthers because he certainly isnt playing out of loyalty otherwise he wouldnt have gone to the Hawks fresh out of the AFL.
Flat Track Bully
22 Feb 2007, 21:00
Following my request for info on Brendan Paull from Albury (who has subsequently signed with St Albans in Geelong), I'm after some info on a mate of his, Jon Thompson, who is apparently keen to join Brendan.
The only info I have is that he's a key defender.....
What age is he ?? What sort of $$ would he command ?? Is he a regular senior player ?? etc. etc.
25/26 6'2 or 6'3- solid build...needs to be fit to be at his peak...$150-200 a game might be OK, especially that Supersaints are coming from a long way back.
Played a lot of seconds footy at Wodonga, but blossomed at Albury out of his brother Brad's shadow.
A real good fella...if you could get his brother Brad (VCFL rep) then you would be talking $750
But of course you weren't asking for him:D
the tron burger
22 Feb 2007, 21:08
I think you've missed the point in my statement about Kerry Bahr. He I believe is the only recent 300 game player at your club yes? No doubting people like the Sansons, Hunt and McKimmie and their loyalty to the Panthers but how many of them have played 300 or more games for their club may i ask? It is easy for players like them to stick around at a club that has been so succesful in the last decade but how about people like Matt Allen and your Mick Caruso's, Anthony Pasquali's, Robbie Walker's, Mick, Joe and Andrew Wilson's who are only 2-3 years out of the game if not still playing. More than a decade after the Hawks last premiership. And as for the Panthers having the lowest budget then thats ridiculous and you know it. i believe Adam Matthews is back at the Panthers this year? He demanded $1000 a game at his year at the Hawks and i doubt wether he would demand less from the Panthers because he certainly isnt playing out of loyalty otherwise he wouldnt have gone to the Hawks fresh out of the AFL.
Just on that mckimmie and hunt them two boys have played at that club since they were 16 and 17 respectfully Johnny hunt played something like 164 consecutive games for them bringing his games tally to nearly 200 as for mckimmie he recieved life membership last year a premiership captain both b,f winners and they play for nearly peanuts as do most of the other fellas ever heard of loyalty every one can chase $ but thats the beauty of a succesfull club so do a bit more homework on subjects before rubbish gets on here ..
Hornie, speaking of facts - to make that statement you must not only know what the Panthers are spending on players, but also what all the other clubs are paying. I don't see how you can know all that. If you do - let us have the facts to back up your wild statement.
Perhaps I do but why would I waste that information on you.
They are one of the lowest paying clubs in the O&M this century!!!!
Most certainly not last century in their short life but now.
Amazing the numbers thrown around when people don't know.
Mathews certainly wasn't on anything like that at Rovers and would get considerably less up the highway. Although probably a lot more further up the highway.
Once again the guess work on player payments is amazing.
the tron burger
23 Feb 2007, 16:25
Mathews certainly wasn't on anything like that at Rovers and would get considerably less up the highway. Although probably a lot more further up the highway.
Once again the guess work on player payments is amazing.
Like your work hornie must be a lavi boy i agree they are one of the lowest paying clubs in last decade prob cause they spent it all back when they were the blues ..
King Kieran
23 Feb 2007, 23:15
If they are gonna pay that kind of money too a GVL seconds ruckman, i would hate too know what they have offered Kirby, who is in the top couple GVL ruckman.
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
24 Feb 2007, 21:24
Has Jon McCormick re-injured himself? Pretty sure I saw him limping around Wang with a moonboot on. After last year I was hoping his luck would change a little.
IN & UNDER
24 Feb 2007, 21:28
Read on another thread that former Nth Albury player and current Dederang Mt Beauty star, Darren Elliott may be heading to Birrallee Park!
Heard again tonight from different sources that he will be on big money. And he'll be up against former team mates playing for Myrt.
switch the play
25 Feb 2007, 15:45
Read on another thread that former Nth Albury player and current Dederang Mt Beauty star, Darren Elliott may be heading to Birrallee Park!
Done deal will be a Raider in 07
raidrboy
25 Feb 2007, 19:00
????
Big Al 11
26 Feb 2007, 09:04
That would be a huge loss for Dederang. He is still playing good footy and no doubt be up to OM level. Good luck to him if he is going to Raiders, a few backman and forwards in the TDFL will be happy.:D
IN & UNDER
26 Feb 2007, 09:12
????
Are you holding out on us Raidrboy? Any truth in Elliott jumping on board?
Bomber9
26 Feb 2007, 10:07
Heard again tonight from different sources that he will be on big money. And he'll be up against former team mates playing for Myrt.
I know for a fact that wang are very selective on who they spend cash on Henry was very big on that when he was there and im sure lappo is also. Im not saying he is not getting good coin but that seems a little high.
Im sure he will be ok with playing against former team mates there are plenty of blokes who swap clubs have a look at the myrt coach.
half time lollies
26 Feb 2007, 10:45
I know for a fact that wang are very selective on who they spend cash on Henry was very big on that when he was there and im sure lappo is also. Im not saying he is not getting good coin but that seems a little high.
Im sure he will be ok with playing against former team mates there are plenty of blokes who swap clubs have a look at the myrt coach.
Not too sure about that one Bomber. Wang have always payed above what recruits are actually worth and Van Schaik is no exception!
Aaron Fiora
26 Feb 2007, 12:05
van schaik will be lucky to play seniors for a start
roast beef roll
26 Feb 2007, 15:45
.... i believe Adam Matthews is back at the Panthers this year? He demanded $1000 a game at his year at the Hawks ....
If you blokes were silly enough to pay him that much then you've only got yourselves to blame.