View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Flat Track Bully
27 Jan 2006, 20:14
not sure which club this bloke played for around albury but young gun mark sims has signed at bendigo club south bendigo. is going to be doing his uni there this year and wanted to make a few mates and didn't want to travel. by all accounts he goes alright
That would be North Albury
Wayne Weideman
27 Jan 2006, 21:15
That would be North Albury
FTB what can you tell me about him? he goes alright dosen't he?
Port Colts boys are a bit wild so maybeeee?;) wild that's an understatement just ask the montmorency boys i heard they know what it's all about.
kingfooty
28 Jan 2006, 15:43
wild that's an understatement just ask the montmorency boys i heard they know what it's all about.Playing Montmorency is a bit like playing against netballers, I would like to see the colts play against Nth heidelberg or lalor
harsh, but fair
29 Jan 2006, 09:17
FTB what can you tell me about him? he goes alright dosen't he?
Good young player who has played in a back pocket for the last couple of years including North Albury's losing grand final team in 2004.
Good kid who has a real crack.
harsh, but fair
29 Jan 2006, 09:18
What about the wang maggies approaching Sam Hill? any truth in that one?
Who is Sam Hill?
Chief_Deano
29 Jan 2006, 12:56
Not real sure what Ambrose is doing, haven't heard anything.
I do remember speaking to Wiz last year though and he did say big Curtly might have been getting a bit sick of travelling so will just see what happens I suppose.
Haven't heard anything about Tafft either, you couldn't be very confident of him playing though.
How are Lavi travelling??
Have heard one of the taller members of their premiership side could be off to Holbrook as A/C??
Just trying to work out who you are mate, i know wiz, gayf and shauny daly...
Benalla full back Adam Levy is being courted by 2 Albury / Wod clubs. Any one know?
half time lollies
29 Jan 2006, 22:02
Benalla full back Adam Levy is being courted by 2 Albury / Wod clubs. Any one know?
I know Albury are chasing him. There might be a tie with Daniel Maher (ex Benalla player). Not sure who else is after him!
harsh, but fair
30 Jan 2006, 07:37
Wodonga Raiders are another one. There is a strong Benalla tie at Raiders also with Adam Cole joining the club last year.
half time lollies
30 Jan 2006, 14:33
I'm led to believe that Levy signed with Albury at the weekend!
harsh, but fair
30 Jan 2006, 14:34
Levy has signed at Albury after Wodonga Raiders thought they had him across the line.
Must be a bit concerning to Benalla to have home-grown players of the calibre of Matt Shir (Wodonga), Daniel Maher, Adam Levy (Albury), Jarrod Hayes (Wang) and Adam Cole (Wodonga Raiders) playing in the O and M when they are looming as a flag chance in the GV this year.
What goes on there?
Flat Track Bully
30 Jan 2006, 14:38
Levy has signed at Albury after Wodonga Raiders thought they had him across the line.
Must be a bit concerning to Benalla to have home-grown players of the calibre of Matt Shir (Wodonga), Daniel Maher, Adam Levy (Albury), Jarrod Hayes (Wang) and Adam Cole (Wodonga Raiders) playing in the O and M when they are looming as a flag chance in the GV this year.
What goes on there?
I believe you raised the same point last year HBF, and provoked little response.
harsh, but fair
30 Jan 2006, 14:41
The ranks have swelled, FTB.
What goes on there?
dunno what you got till its gone hey. Theres been a change in the top job at the club so maybe a down to earth approach may change things
Flat Track Bully
3 Feb 2006, 11:15
Richard Bence has been appointed O and M interleague coach for 2006, replacing Mick Wilson...
"King D1ck" guided Wodonga to the 2004 O and M flag.
centreman
3 Feb 2006, 11:42
Richard Bence has been appointed O and M interleague coach for 2006, replacing Mick Wilson...
"King D1ck" guided Wodonga to the 2004 O and M flag.
Breaking news on the OM thread. That's what we want to see, great work FTB. Will this thread ever match the heights of the GV boys.
half time lollies
3 Feb 2006, 11:58
Wangaratta Rovers are set to sign 2 Epping players at the weekend. Peter Christoforo and Nigel Hill. Apparently both players are more than handy aquisitions especially Christoforo who kicked 50 odd goals playing on ball last year.
centreman
3 Feb 2006, 13:20
Wangaratta Rovers are set to sign 2 Epping players at the weekend. Peter Christoforo and Nigel Hill. Apparently both players are more than handy aquisitions especially Christoforo who kicked 50 odd goals playing on ball last year.
How do you know this HTL, obviously you have some good insiders at the Rovers????
half time lollies
3 Feb 2006, 14:06
How do you know this HTL, obviously you have some good insiders at the Rovers????
Yeah know a few blokes that play there. Actually read about it on the DVFL thread and made a few calls and it sounds like the pair should sign tomorrow!
bigblackalsation
3 Feb 2006, 17:56
Cristoforo is a gun he's also capable of playing as a smaller FF. He once kicked nine in a two's game for Essendon. Had a solid VFL career at Willy too b4 alignments ruined the former state league.
Nigel Hill is a Deer Park boy, who played a bit of VFL at Willy as well. As slow as anything but incredible endurance and footy brain will just rackem up.
A great get for Rovers if the run out on the park next year.:thumbsu:
harsh, but fair
3 Feb 2006, 23:13
They will need them if they are going to avoid the spoon!
harsh, but fair
4 Feb 2006, 12:21
Can someone confirm whether these 2 Epping blokes joined Wang Magpies or Wang Rovers?
matchwinner
5 Feb 2006, 08:18
Simon Paton, one of the best on ground in Wodonga's premiership a couple of years ago, is rumoured to be returning back home after a year at Box Hill Hawks.
Flat Track Bully
5 Feb 2006, 13:12
Simon Paton, one of the best on ground in Wodonga's premiership a couple of years ago, is rumoured to be returning back home after a year at Box Hill Hawks.
That's not a rumour, that is legit. He is going overseas at the end of the year and wants to save a bit of kanga by returning home to the Border.
you sound like you know alot about footy Mr 8888 whats your back ground
would like some info on adrian newman also rumoured to be going to strathmore
Newman can play he's an Altona boy, he'd be around 27 or 8 .Won Port Melbourne 2's goal kicking and don't quote me but i think the leagues, when they won the flag in 04. Previously played with Port Colts in the WRFL. Is more than capable of holding down Full Forward as well.
maybe played against altona for the colts
Is It True Newman From Corowa Got The Sack From His Last Job For Having A 45min Hard Hit!!! Can Anyone Confirm For Me?:d:d:d
why do you always use capital letters are you a traddie
Playing Montmorency is a bit like playing against netballers, I would like to see the colts play against Nth heidelberg or lalor
i dont they would coomission house petrol drinking grubs
half time lollies
7 Feb 2006, 11:28
Can someone confirm whether these 2 Epping blokes joined Wang Magpies or Wang Rovers?
I believe they are signing with the Rovers this weekend. They are coming down to train with the club on Saturday morning and then sign after that.
WRFL fan you seem to know alot about Adrian Newman aka 'The Fang',what is your relationship to him. And what are you doing in the mighty ovens and murray league you seem to be lost up here near the border, city boy!
Who is coaching the interleague team this year? I am also interested to know if the O&M is still better than the GV and Geelong leagues.
half time lollies
7 Feb 2006, 14:32
Who is coaching the interleague team this year? I am also interested to know if the O&M is still better than the GV and Geelong leagues.
Richard Bence who coached Wodonga to a premiership in 2004. O and M have been struggling of late in terms of interleague. GV won it last year and Geelong won it the two years prior to that. So the O & M is probably sitting around 3rd at present.
WRFL fan you seem to know alot about Adrian Newman aka 'The Fang',what is your relationship to him. And what are you doing in the mighty ovens and murray league you seem to be lost up here near the border, city boy!
im from the mighty broadbeach cats on the gold coast go the CATS. I heard about the same story thats all sorry Mr 8888 im really sorry
RedRoomMilkn
7 Feb 2006, 23:14
WRFL fan you seem to know alot about Adrian Newman aka 'The Fang',what is your relationship to him. And what are you doing in the mighty ovens and murray league you seem to be lost up here near the border, city boy!8888 i thought he was nicknamed Hutchie Soula. He is great at speech time and has a great management team behind him in NormanandAssociates. I'd say he will thrive in his second year and probably take over the reins by round six if not earlier.Is a mad monday specialist.
8888 i thought he was nicknamed Hutchie Soula. He is great at speech time and has a great management team behind him in NormanandAssociates. I'd say he will thrive in his second year and probably take over the reins by round six if not earlier.Is a mad monday specialist.
Is Hutchy that the guy who pulled off a memorial speech and said he'll never leave his club. Who is carrying his bag this year, heard there is a long list.
RedRoomMilkn
8 Feb 2006, 13:38
Is Hutchy that the guy who pulled off a memorial speech and said he'll never leave his club. Who is carrying his bag this year, heard there is a long list.there have been so many its hard to single out any
Ykickamoocow
9 Feb 2006, 07:58
Can someone please fill us in on a Andrew Grant? Elmore in the HDFL are after his services. Cheers.
there have been so many its hard to single out any
Are you in the mix,if so good luck.
matchwinner
9 Feb 2006, 10:40
That's not a rumour, that is legit. He is going overseas at the end of the year and wants to save a bit of kanga by returning home to the Border.
The question is whether or not Pato's dodgy groins will stand up to a full season of football???
RedRoomMilkn
9 Feb 2006, 17:42
can anyone tell me if Hayden Sharp is having a run this year, how's he gone in previous years , if he still drinks like a fish and resemble something along the lines of the paddlepop lion
nesko_25
9 Feb 2006, 22:14
andrew grant, how does he go, heard he's pretty handy player should he carv it up in the HDFL?
bigblackalsation
10 Feb 2006, 16:13
maybe played against altona for the colts
Mate he lived in Altona!!!!!!!!! and played for colts.......
bomber5
14 Feb 2006, 14:54
Can anyone tell me about Warrick Brown, apparently training at Sandringham after spending last season with Strathmore
Travvy43
15 Feb 2006, 08:17
Can anyone provide some info on a jamie robertson who played at Myrtleford last yer. Linked with Spotswood in the WRFL.
half time lollies
15 Feb 2006, 08:17
can anyone tell me if Hayden Sharp is having a run this year, how's he gone in previous years , if he still drinks like a fish and resemble something along the lines of the paddlepop lion
I'm pretty sure H is goin around again. Still a super player but suffers from soft tissue injuries. Always in the top 5 in the B and F. He now has a son called Will but still drinks like a fish when he gets the opportunity and there is no doubting he does resemble something along the lines of the paddlepop lion although the grey hair is starting to take over. He has also been mistaken for Evan of the secret life of us!
harsh, but fair
15 Feb 2006, 08:55
Can anyone provide some info on a jamie robertson who played at Myrtleford last yer. Linked with Spotswood in the WRFL.
Never heard of the bloke. A Josh Robertson played for Myrtleford a few years ago, but seriously hurt his leg in a car accident.
Unless he's made a miracle recovery and he's the bloke in question, I think "Jamie" might be spinning them a line or two.
harsh, but fair
15 Feb 2006, 08:56
Can anyone tell me about Warrick Brown, apparently training at Sandringham after spending last season with Strathmore
Played at Yarrawonga a couple of years ago after being recruited from Wagga Tigers.
Good size, 6ft3, good athlete, but one problem. He couldn't get his hands on the footy.
Warrick Brown played for Wagga Tigers when they won flags. Was just a tagger and not that skilled. Fit, but not a brilliant footballer.Would'nt pay him!
barrybogan
15 Feb 2006, 12:11
Never heard of the bloke. A Josh Robertson played for Myrtleford a few years ago, but seriously hurt his leg in a car accident.
Unless he's made a miracle recovery and he's the bloke in question, I think "Jamie" might be spinning them a line or two.
I'm pretty sure Josh Robertson is up in the Northern Territory near Darwin somewhere and not in Melbourne so don't think it's him.
Mongoose
16 Feb 2006, 08:47
I'm pretty sure Josh Robertson is up in the Northern Territory near Darwin somewhere and not in Melbourne so don't think it's him.
Very spot on there Barry, you don't say much on this forum but what you do say is usually 100% spot on. You seem like a very inteligent individual, keep it up man!
Who's got some tips for the 2006 Ovens & Murray season. Who's going to win what?
Mrytleford to finally win it and further improvement from Albury- Daniel Maher can play!
I Believe this years competition is going to be very close again, All sides have lost players and gained so it is going to be interesting to see how they go. Josh Robertson went up to Darwin for a wedding and decided to stay.
Flat Track Bully
21 Feb 2006, 09:27
Mrytleford to finally win it and further improvement from Albury- Daniel Maher can play!
My only concern about the Saints is the loss of 120 goals fro last year (Millar and Baxter)
Who will pick up the slack in 2006 and end 36 years of misery for those at McNamara Reserve?
barrybogan
21 Feb 2006, 14:45
My only concern about the Saints is the loss of 120 goals fro last year (Millar and Baxter)
Who will pick up the slack in 2006 and end 36 years of misery for those at McNamara Reserve?
It's left a fair hole up forward but I think McKee will make a big difference. The big fella is fit and firing and I reckon he could do some real damage up front.
I've also heard on the grapevine that Chad Rigoni is training the house down this year and has fully recovered from the back injury that sidelined him for 2004 and most of last year.
I think a McKee and Rigoni combination up front, if that's how they were to line up, should be able to pick up the slack from the departures of Millar and Baxter.
Yeah can see that the loss of those blokes could hurt them but have to agree with barrybogan that rigoni and mckee should do the trick:thumbsu:
localfootyguru
21 Feb 2006, 20:52
The loss of Millar will certainly hurt the Saints as he kicked 80 goals for them and was a focal point up forward. Not so sure about Baxter though as he was inconsistent. Think that the recruitment of McKee back home and a couple of others will be great for the Saints. Lets hope they can finally win the elusive premiership.
Great club and people and would be a most deserving club to win an O&M flag.
harsh, but fair
21 Feb 2006, 21:25
Millar kicked 89 goals last season to be exact including a record 8 in the second semi-final.
I doubt there has been a more productive small forward in the OM for a long, long time.
His goal sense was uncanny.
Baxter didn't have a huge impact and for memory he kicked three successive bags of 6 against teams in the lower half of the ladder in his season haul of 26.
He played one match in the first half of the year.
Look for Saints coach Travis Hodgson to spend more time up forward this year with the arrival of Paul Bunn and Luke Chapman and Mark Murray coming back from knee injuries to play down back.
He is a proven goal-kicker at this level.
Andrew Carey is also FLYING in pre-season and can kick goals on a regular basis.
The Saints have a great chance to win the flag this year, but they can't sit back and wait for it to happen.
Yarrawonga has recruited strongly and has its best depth for more than a decade and Albury has also been active pre-season.
Yarra and Albury missed the five last year so there will be some nervous teams at the moment.
Grimmett
21 Feb 2006, 22:48
Millar was also the full time General Manager of the club so his impact must have been significant in the climb from last to Grand Finalist in one season.
Did Myrtleford fill his position when he left?
harsh, but fair
22 Feb 2006, 08:30
Not as such, but Saints captain Brad Murray has stepped up to fill his duties with some assistance from other parties.
Millar kicked 89 goals last season to be exact including a record 8 in the second semi-final.
I doubt there has been a more productive small forward in the OM for a long, long time.
His goal sense was uncanny.
Baxter didn't have a huge impact and for memory he kicked three successive bags of 6 against teams in the lower half of the ladder in his season haul of 26.
He played one match in the first half of the year.
Look for Saints coach Travis Hodgson to spend more time up forward this year with the arrival of Paul Bunn and Luke Chapman and Mark Murray coming back from knee injuries to play down back.
He is a proven goal-kicker at this level.
Andrew Carey is also FLYING in pre-season and can kick goals on a regular basis.
The Saints have a great chance to win the flag this year, but they can't sit back and wait for it to happen.
Yarrawonga has recruited strongly and has its best depth for more than a decade and Albury has also been active pre-season.
Yarra and Albury missed the five last year so there will be some nervous teams at the moment.
The Saints forward line should be strong not only with the likes of McKee and Rigoni but also with T.Purss, D.Steer, Dean Johns, McNamara, Cartwright, Maybury, H.Murray. H.Murray kicked 6.1 in the saints first practice match and is looking like he might stay in the forward line.
Mongoose
22 Feb 2006, 14:14
I will be interesting to see how yarra do go this year. They always throw their cheque book around and usually the blokes they throw it at are blokes that are not team players and are out ther for themselves and the $$. Playing against a few of them over the years i've seen it first hand. Hargraves, caddy, porter, coghlan these are ones that stand out. These are the blokes that abuse their team mates and think that they are invincable. Could be a reason why they always seem to recruit well but the success they've had in recent seasons is limited. Some of the sides they have had on paper in the past few years should have done alot more than what they have!
can anyone fill me on what type of footballer Adam Cusworth is who I think played at Raiders last year ?
Chasing players up north again and need some help.
I asked some time back about Kristain Shevlin any one have any ideas on him?
Also Nick Fraser believe he is a tallruckman was reffered by an ex teammate of his. Played in minor league somewhere up that way. And was also told if work moves him back he wouldbe good ruckman for central murray league.
Anyhelp appreciated
Can anyone tell me how Timmy Hargreaves is looking at the moment. I have heard Yarra have picked up a few
T.Perry
24 Feb 2006, 14:38
Chasing players up north again and need some help.
I asked some time back about Kristain Shevlin any one have any ideas on him?
Also Nick Fraser believe he is a tallruckman was reffered by an ex teammate of his. Played in minor league somewhere up that way. And was also told if work moves him back he wouldbe good ruckman for central murray league.
Anyhelp appreciated
How are you tacka - I happen to know both these blokes. Played with Shevlin at the pioneers when he was top age, in 96 (so I'm guessing he's 28 now). Tall, strongly built fella, who kicked a swag of goals last season (100+), I think for barnawatha, or something like that (def minor league, anyway). Played some top footy in the bendigo league when he was there. Good footy brain, good at 1%er's.
Went to school with Nick Fraser. He played for Mitta United last year and helped them win a flag. He would also have played in at least 2 flags for Colbinabbin in the heathcote league, and won a medal for best on ground in one of the GFs. Close to 6' 5", would imagine he'd be over 100kg. left-footer, can take a grab. Both Fraser and Shevlin would be handy pick-ups to most major league sides (particularly in pie sales from the canteen). Both aren't the most committed trainers going around, but if they got fit, could cause damage. Hope that helps.
carl lewis
25 Feb 2006, 12:31
Been told that Daniel Maher is play O & M this year for Albury if correct. Handy player and a gun. Should do very well coming off a couple of great years in the WAFL.:thumbsu:
does any one have any news on any Wang magpies recruits, can they go on better than the prelim from last year?
Where are Jeremy Stevenson, Jinksy and Warrick Brown playing in season 2006?
Can anyone give me info on how Adrian "The Fang" Newman is going?????
he cant play at corowa this year due to having to work sat day til midday just about to sign with his old club port colts
Well it just keeps getting better for the Port Melbourne Colts with there star recruiter who seems to not sleep when chasing promising stars who would look great in the red and blue aka Rock07...
It would be better with you down there, but beggars cant be choosers for us lower grade WRFL. Ha Ha
coreybrown
10 Mar 2006, 10:35
Its rumoured the trio may line up at Greenvale who are chasing hard
Gotheroos
10 Mar 2006, 22:31
Who cares, all 3 of them could't get a kick in Bart Cummings' stables
WRFLfan
11 Mar 2006, 00:09
Can anyone tell me about a player named Guy Chisnal, meant to be going to Strathmore for big coin. Would like to know if any good such as hard, skill smart they are meant to be having a decent crack as he wanted big money to leave Cowara due to him being on 97 games, thank you it would be helpful.
Jock Clark 2
11 Mar 2006, 00:36
Mr. T. Perry -- can't comment on Fraser but wouldn't Shevvy be a pretty big unit now, whether 28 years of age or whatever.
He did play in the North Central league, maybe Wedderburn club, and kicked a heap of goals.
But I question whether he would be all that mobile now, for season 2006.
Chief_Deano
11 Mar 2006, 10:23
Can anyone tell me about a player named Guy Chisnal, meant to be going to Strathmore for big coin. Would like to know if any good such as hard, skill smart they are meant to be having a decent crack as he wanted big money to leave Cowara due to him being on 97 games, thank you it would be helpful.
Absolute gun. Took out Corowa/Rutherglen's B & F last year and is a very skilful player who is very very hard at it. Son of Peter Chisnall, Guy is a hard nut who never backs out of a contest. As for going to Strathmore, im pretty sure he is coming back to Corowa with Adrian Newman & Richard Ambrose.
Gotheroos
11 Mar 2006, 14:08
I heard he was training at the Colts. Last time I spoke to him he was staying at Corowa.
Is adam Knight still at lavington or did he sign out at Holbrok for the big money they offered him.
kanga fan man
13 Mar 2006, 19:07
were does derek and matt murray play ?
Chief_Deano
13 Mar 2006, 19:50
Is adam Knight still at lavington or did he sign out at Holbrok for the big money they offered him.
Last time i saw Adam Knight we was playin two's for Lavi
Thought Knight was a bit stiff to be runninig around in the twos, the former ack ball magnet should def have found himself a wing in lavingtons premiership side. The combination of hunt and knight on either wing would have certainly struck fear into the opposition midfielders.
Are you Adam Knight?
Any results from pracis. Heard lavi beat Ech United, Yarrawonga pumped a lowly old Melb Gram by 16 goals
Are you Adam Knight?
I wish i was, he was one of the best players i have seen when he was running around 4 buraja a couple of years ago. One of the most feared players to have pulled on the jumper in the CDFL.
Apparently when he tried out for Calder Cannons he ran a 14.3 in the beep test but got injured so cldn't play for that year.
Wiggum do you know much about his where abouts now and how he is shaping up this year?
I wish i was, he was one of the best players i have seen when he was running around 4 buraja a couple of years ago. One of the most feared players to have pulled on the jumper in the CDFL.
Apparently when he tried out for Calder Cannons he ran a 14.3 in the beep test but got injured so cldn't play for that year.
Wiggum do you know much about his where abouts now and how he is shaping up this year?
Trying to think if you are talking about the same Adam Knight, because i watched Corowa/Lavi in the 2's last year and this particular Adam Knight didnt do a lot!
half time lollies
21 Mar 2006, 10:04
With most of the recruiting out of the way for 2006 it still seems that Myrtleford and Lavi will be the sides to beat. Anyone out there keen to have a crack at what the ladder might look like for the 2006 season. I'll have a go to start the ball rolling:
Myrtleford
Lavington
Corowa
Wodonga
Wang Rovers
Albury
Yarrawonga
Wang Magpies
Wodonga Raiders
North Albury
flagpie
21 Mar 2006, 10:18
With most of the recruiting out of the way for 2006 it still seems that Myrtleford and Lavi will be the sides to beat. Anyone out there keen to have a crack at what the ladder might look like for the 2006 season. I'll have a go to start the ball rolling:
Myrtleford
Lavington
Corowa
Wodonga
Wang Rovers
Albury
Yarrawonga
Wang Magpies
Wodonga Raiders
North Albury
Myrtleford is certainly the team to beat but half time lollies I would definitely make a few changes to your final ladder.
I think Lavi will fall away a bit after losing names such as Carroll, Hart, Mathews and Dickins and I think you certainly have Wang Magpies and Yarrawonga far too low.
They're top-3 sides for mine.
I reckon North Albury will be a much-improved outfit from last season ... a 6-goal win over Albury at the weekend highlights that.
My mail is, lock Wang Rovers in for the spoon.
But that's the beautiful thing about opinions, everyone's got one ... so here's my crack at the ladder.
Myrtleford
Yarrawonga
Wang Magpies
Wodonga
Lavington
Corowa-Rutherglen
Albury
North Albury
Wodonga Raiders
Wang Rovers
Gotheroos
21 Mar 2006, 11:13
Heres my go at it
Myrtleford
Corowa/Rutherglen
Yarrawonga
Albury
Wang Magpies
Lavington
Wodonga
Wodonga Raiders
Wang Rovers
North Albury
Albury have picked up some really good players and they seemed to have keep alot from last year. They were pretty un lucky to not finish in the finals last year. Wang have lost Lappin and a few others and McCormack won't play for a while. This is just my opinion but I think that it is going to be a pretty close comp. Obviously Myrtleford are going to be the yardstick but I think it is going to be a pretty close one.
Heres my go at it
Myrtleford
Corowa/Rutherglen
Yarrawonga
Albury
Wang Magpies
Lavington
Wodonga
Wodonga Raiders
Wang Rovers
North Albury
Albury have picked up some really good players and they seemed to have keep alot from last year. They were pretty un lucky to not finish in the finals last year. Wang have lost Lappin and a few others and McCormack won't play for a while. This is just my opinion but I think that it is going to be a pretty close comp. Obviously Myrtleford are going to be the yardstick but I think it is going to be a pretty close one.
Would be absolutely fantastic to see the ladder finish like this. Nothing better than more albury/wodonga sides than not out of the finals. Wang, Corowa, Yarra & Myrtleford were all regular battlers in the mid to late 90's, with the 5 albury teams and occasionaly rovers finishing in the top 5.
flagpie, I rate you as a judge, but Corowa has been getting 16 players and 2 dogs to training each week.
I can't see top 3.
Gotheroos
21 Mar 2006, 15:18
flagpie, I rate you as a judge, but Corowa has been getting 16 players and 2 dogs to training each week.
I can't see top 3.
Can the dogs play?? LOL
flagpie
21 Mar 2006, 15:22
I can't see top 3.
Well, arceri, if you actually had a look at the ladder I predicted, you would notice that I had Corowa finishing sixth.
sorry man, I must have read another thread.
the dogs are corgies, no height
Gotheroos
21 Mar 2006, 15:47
sorry man, I must have read another thread.
the dogs are corgies, no height
They would be good in and under though
and the size would have plenty of bite in the midfield
Lavy_Panther
21 Mar 2006, 23:01
My prediction...
Myrtleford
Corowa
Lavington
North Albury
Yarrawonga
Albury
Wodonga
Wang Magpies
Wodonga Raiders
Wang Rovers
Myrtleford will go through the season undefeated, if not, losing only a couple of matches (probably to a commited panther outfit). The rest are just there to have a dip.
Whoever had North last are having a jerk. They'll be a contender, although im still waiting to see how there 'big' recruit up forward,plugga, will fare in the o&m after dominating out bush, any news how he's gone in the praccy matches? I'm looking at you Johnston. I know he didnt play the last one. Leslie to be the big mover and shaker in the league, he has come back from WA a fair unit, couple him with exciting Perth recruit Broderick Church and it's anyone's ball game. They'll go all right.
Lavy will be there abouts, and will be big time performers (duh), will be the only one to challenge the saints come September.
Albury have recruited well with Carroll, Kelly et al joining their ranks. Kelly will really fill their ruck void, again, Johston, any word on when he'll be available to play again?
Yarrawonga shot themselves in the foot last year with a shocking start to the year but showed their class in the latter stages, only to forget how to play football in the last few rounds. Will be particularly tough to beat at JC Lowe.
Don't expect much from the rest, to be honest. Wang Maggies will disapoint with a number of departures, Lang for an example.
All in all, i think it's pretty safe to safe the Panthers by 14 goals in the grand final over Myrtleford.
Gotheroos
22 Mar 2006, 08:08
and the size would have plenty of bite in the midfield
LOL!!!!:D