View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Falkroo
11 May 2007, 17:07
Bosco, maybe if you did some research, you would understand how he puts the top 10 together. What, you been on the site for about 3 days, & you start by slagging blokes off left right & centre. If there is a jock stain, you sir, are it!
How are the points tallied? I would have thought Lee Schmidt would be in the top ten. Having a great year
KokodaMidget
11 May 2007, 17:12
How are the points tallied? I would have thought Lee Schmidt would be in the top ten. Having a great year
Here It Is goes exclusively by the listed best players in the Border Mail. Not 100% certain as to the weighting of points, but i think if there are 8 players in the best, the best gets 8 points, second gets 7 so on & so forth. So effectively, his list is a compliation of consistency for whoever gets in the paper, which is as reasonable way as any of rating the players.
Lee Scmidt is having a good year, fair all round sportsman, the bugger plays cricket pretty good too!
daniel kerr jr
11 May 2007, 17:14
brent lewington is a star of the future and is set for a big one this week vs yarra
hammer_time
11 May 2007, 17:20
Bosco, maybe if you did some research, you would understand how he puts the top 10 together. What, you been on the site for about 3 days, & you start by slagging blokes off left right & centre. If there is a jock stain, you sir, are it!
well said! Here It Is, it may be an idea that you post something on how the votes are done so we don't have a repeat of all the bull.shit that went on last in regard to it.
Without seeing Jacob Ryan play the votes suggest that he must really be tearing sides apart. It will be interesting to see how he shapes up against Wang and Yarra in the coming 2 rounds with both sides having very good on ball devisions and wether the absence of Raines will have an effect
flagpie
11 May 2007, 17:28
why would i do research when i can get a nerd like yourself to tell me.
You've joined Big Footy with all guns blazing haven't ya Bosco??
I'd be interested to see your Top 10 in comparison to Here It Is'?
Or is it just easier to remain nameless and faceless and take cheap shots at people prepared to do something to create a bit of discussion??
KokodaMidget
11 May 2007, 17:40
Yeah, heaps easier.
Bosco, you haven't spent the last few years with Carl Williams have you, because clearly those drugs are messin with your head.
Who does these votes, absolutley pathetic. How can McCormick be in that list he is as soft as butter and is a tool of a bloke. Marcus McMillan should be way out in the lead, he is a gun. saw him play a game a couple of weeks ago kicked i think 10 goals and had atleast 20 touches, never seen anybody have the ball on a string like that. From memory it was a wet day aswell.
Yeah tool is a word which comes to mind for sure Bosco. Who do you think you are potting blokes from the safety of your computer chair? McCormick is far from soft (never loses his feet) and is a great bloke. Shows a lot more character than your cowardly ways....
Here It Is
11 May 2007, 20:13
well said! Here It Is, it may be an idea that you post something on how the votes are done so we don't have a repeat of all the bull.shit that went on last in regard to it.
Sounds like a good idea hammer.
The points are indeed given on the best players as they appear in The Border Mail, with weighting given to the result of the game as follows:
If the match is a draw - both teams best five players score 10,8,6,4,2
If the margin is 1-9 points - winners get 10,8,6,4,2; losers get 9,7,5,3,1
If the margin is 10-29 points - winners get 10,9,6,5,2; losers get 8,7,4,3,1
If the margin is 30-59 points - winners get 10,9,8,4,3; losers get 7,6,5,2,1
If the margin is 60-99 points - winners get 10,9,8,7,6; losers get 5,4,3,2,1
If the margin is 100+ points - winners get 10,9,8,7,6,5; losers get 4,3,2,1
harsh, but fair
12 May 2007, 20:08
The winners today are Yarrawonga, Wangaratta, North Albury, Albury and wait for it, WODONGA RAIDERS!!!!!!
Bright Boy
12 May 2007, 20:52
Looks like the Saints find a goal kicker with Arnold with 7 and keep Fowler to 2 with L Chapman in the best, yet still get smashed by 8 goals.
Crucial game against the Rovers next week.
Good reply by the Hoppers minus their coach against the Panthers.
The Magpies continue on their way, with their recruits in the best.
Clean Bowled
13 May 2007, 13:10
C'mon Raider Boy give us the rundown on the game and post-match celebrations.
BonnScott
13 May 2007, 15:16
Looks like the Saints find a goal kicker with Arnold with 7 and keep Fowler to 2 with L Chapman in the best, yet still get smashed by 8 goals.
Crucial game against the Rovers next week.
Good reply by the Hoppers minus their coach against the Panthers.
The Magpies continue on their way, with their recruits in the best.
Arnold played a great game with 7 and Beams had it on a string. Can anyone tell me why Jock McFarlane is playing in the middle and Carey and Fitzpatrick are playing up forward? I thought they would have been there top few mid fielders
Clean Bowled
13 May 2007, 15:42
Carey is carrying an injury I'm told and can't go a whole game in the midfield, Fitzpatrick is a good honest player who had plenty of support in previous years which made him a more effective player. His skills by foot are average, the coach's days as a midfielder maybe numbered.
raidrboy
13 May 2007, 18:51
C'mon Raider Boy give us the rundown on the game and post-match celebrations.
A very good even first half with Rovers going to the break leading by 8 points. The second half saw Raiders kick 11 goals to 3 and go onto a good and much needed win. Raiders were best served by Adam Cusworth (4 goals) Jarrod Gorupic, Peter Cook (4 Goals) Mark Doolan (4 Goals) and the Corcoran brothers. Also Justin Kahlefeldt playing his first Senior game with the club was very constructive and finished with 3 goals.
The celebrations were looked after by the Wodonga Demons 20th anniversary players and officials yesterday so you can imagine there was a huge amount of support from the members gallery during the game and well into the night.
One win doesn't make a season so it will be back on the track as usual on Monday night in preparation for Lavington next week.
forward pocket
13 May 2007, 18:55
Arnold played a great game with 7 and Beams had it on a string. Can anyone tell me why Jock McFarlane is playing in the middle and Carey and Fitzpatrick are playing up forward? I thought they would have been there top few mid fielders
Shouldn't the question be - if McFarlane does not play in the middle, where can he play??? The other's have another string to their bow.
half time raffle
14 May 2007, 12:22
Can someone tell me why Corowa/Rutherglen only have 1 rep in the inter league side. They have been very competitive (apart from the weekend) against the better sides. I understand the no traveller policy (which would account for two players), but they beat Wodonga and Wodonga has six players named. I don't know if Bence has issue with the Corowa/Rutherglen football club, but one rep is a slap in the face i would think.
Clean Bowled
14 May 2007, 12:36
I think you are onto something, raffle.
hammer_time
14 May 2007, 12:41
Can someone tell me why Corowa/Rutherglen only have 1 rep in the inter league side. They have been very competitive (apart from the weekend) against the better sides. I understand the no traveller policy (which would account for two players), but they beat Wodonga and Wodonga has six players named. I don't know if Bence has issue with the Corowa/Rutherglen football club, but one rep is a slap in the face i would think.
Which other players do you think should be in the squad? (I'm pretty sure i read schmitt was the only one in). They may be melbourne based players, Bence has said they would not be included due to them not being able to attend training sessions. Otherwise Ryan and Raines would no doubt be in the squad.
Albert Park
14 May 2007, 13:35
I wouldv'e thought 3 or 4 representatives from a mid-table team would've been reasonable. If some of those players are ruled out because of the no traveller rule then so be it. Can't see too many of their locals who are worthy of a spot ahead of the blokes that are in there.
half time raffle
14 May 2007, 15:18
I wouldv'e thought 3 or 4 representatives from a mid-table team would've been reasonable. If some of those players are ruled out because of the no traveller rule then so be it. Can't see too many of their locals who are worthy of a spot ahead of the blokes that are in there.
Maybe thats the problem, the league seems very good at rating the players that have come into the league e.g. the jackson brothers and not really rating their own home grown tallent. Raines went down in the first 10 minutes of corowa versus wodonga game and whilst Jake Ryan played a great game he certainly didn't win it by himself. So this corowa team with only one rep player beat a wodonga side with six, i think Bence is playing favorites.
Clean Bowled
14 May 2007, 16:38
For what it is worth I reckon Mick Collins is worthy of being in the squad at least and would benefit from being exposed to the inter-league scene.
Maybe Bence hasn't got over Corowa-Rutherglen beating Wodonga in the 2003 grand final when the Roos came from fifth to knock them off.
Falkroo
14 May 2007, 16:49
Can anyone give us report on the Saints v Tigers match, have seen the newspaper, but which Tiger had 7 kicked on him, interested to find out considering they dropped one of there steadier backman for the match.
THE CEO
14 May 2007, 16:52
I would have thought that the reason the league rates the imports as you call it, is that generally they are key position players that are extremely good at what they do and come with a reputation.
So if you were on the interleague selection panel (and yes there is a panel not just Bence - although he may be the figurehead) then provided that they can turn up to training, wouldnt you want to pick the gun players for all positions if you have the chance?
If i was a Corowa supporter I would be looking at it as a backhanded compliment. You have a team who is able to be extremely competitive without the need for a lot of outside talent.
But i guess Sunday against Yarra will tell.
big fella 37.5
15 May 2007, 00:24
can anyone tell me how wangaratta are going under the radar so much, i no the whole OM competition favours the albury wodonga clubs, but the wang side has won its five games against some pretty good teams (nth, corowa) and by good margins yet they are hardly rated???
Run Straight
15 May 2007, 08:58
can anyone tell me how wangaratta are going under the radar so much, i no the whole OM competition favours the albury wodonga clubs, but the wang side has won its five games against some pretty good teams (nth, corowa) and by good margins yet they are hardly rated???
Interested to know in what way you think Wang are "going under the radar" ? Most O&M followers rate Wang as a clear 2nd favourite for the flag behind Yarra, so I'm not sure what under the radar means. If you are talking coverage in the Border Mail then of course they don't get as much exposure as the Albury/Wodonga clubs,it is an Albury/Wodonga publication after all, just as Lavi & Nth don't get much of a run in the Wang Chronicle. I can assure you that Wang is definitely "rated".
Run Straight
15 May 2007, 14:51
Bob Craig was the main reason behind the sucess I can tell you all first hand. Martin Cross was not a very popular man at yarra amongst the players, he only spoke to players he liked (about 4 or 5 )an always tried to take over in the box, hence why steak seymour does not have him in the box this year!!!
Are you speaking from first hand knowledge Big H ? Coz if you were a Yarra premiership player, your thoughts on the matter would carry some serious weight.
THE CEO
15 May 2007, 18:24
Bosco - The idea of giving stick to someone is to actual make them think or at the very least be funny.
You are neither - so feel free to crawl back under the rock you came from.
Make sure you dont graze your knuckles on the ground during the trip too.
Are you kidding me. Bob Craig is that stupid that once he s h i t his pants in the box and as it started running down his leg he jumped out the box starkers and urinated on his own leg to clean it!
You have just demonstrated what a complete and utter idiot you are.
I can assure you Bob Craig would be one of the most unlikely people to cop or deserve this crap from a mooron like you.
If you were attempting to be funny-GIVE UP, because you are just a complete and utter waste of space.
Bob is actually one of the first people you would want in the trenches with you when the going gets tough.
Or are you just a sour and bitter small minded peice of scum who could not get a game in the Grand Final??????
crimsonwarrior
15 May 2007, 21:38
i think its time that this absolute ****er is ousted of this site,or just totally ignored boys.Are you kidding me. Bob Craig is that stupid that once he s h i t his pants in the box and as it started running down his leg he jumped out the box starkers and urinated on his own leg to clean it!
Here It Is
16 May 2007, 01:20
Top 10 players after round 6
1. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 48
2. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 39
3. Tim Hargreaves (Yarrawonga) 33
4. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 32
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 32
6. David Steer (Wangaratta) 31
7. Aydan Brown (North Albury) 30
7. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 30
9. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 29
10. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 27
harsh, but fair
16 May 2007, 10:38
Bosco = spanker!!!!
spongey
16 May 2007, 11:08
I would have thought that the reason the league rates the imports as you call it, is that generally they are key position players that are extremely good at what they do and come with a reputation.
So if you were on the interleague selection panel (and yes there is a panel not just Bence - although he may be the figurehead) then provided that they can turn up to training, wouldnt you want to pick the gun players for all positions if you have the chance?
If i was a Corowa supporter I would be looking at it as a backhanded compliment. You have a team who is able to be extremely competitive without the need for a lot of outside talent.
But i guess Sunday against Yarra will tell.
Hows Ambrose going this year, hardly gets a mention in best players or goalkickers, has he been injured or is the travelling taking its toll on his body, apparently training with a club in Melbourne. If he fires can Corowa make the finals
Top 10 players after round 6
1. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 48
2. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 39
3. Tim Hargreaves (Yarrawonga) 33
4. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 32
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 32
6. David Steer (Wangaratta) 31
7. Aydan Brown (North Albury) 30
7. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 30
9. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 29
10. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 27
Wonder if the non trvelling Bence follows these ratings!!!!!
BonnScott
16 May 2007, 13:18
Hopefully BOSCO has been removed after his very defamatory comments about Bob Craig last night (post has been erased) did anyone else see that?
Congrats to the Border for puttin back up the their O&M footy stories on the web. Johno and the boys must keep a pretty close eye on the old big footy...!!
Falkroo
16 May 2007, 14:13
Myrtleford must be in dire straits at present, to be beaten so convincingly by the tigers, who are only just travelling at the moment.
I've got nothing against Paton (had a great 2006 season), but he should have been dropped last week, and he comes out and gets 7 kicked on him against the Saints, the change must be made this week and he should be replaced by the consistent Clint Reid, who was in my mind made the scapegoat from the Yarra game.
On a possitive note for the Tigers, it was good to see Kelly get a touch against the Saints, only problem was, it was only 1 touch:D
Bright Boy
16 May 2007, 15:35
Hopefully BOSCO has been removed after his very defamatory comments about Bob Craig last night (post has been erased) did anyone else see that?
Congrats to the Border for puttin back up the their O&M footy stories on the web. Johno and the boys must keep a pretty close eye on the old big footy...!!
About time, looks like Johno & his crew do have the high powers down at the BM. How long have been crying out for some decent O&M footy stories on the BM Website.
Next stop the O&M website.
chicken38
16 May 2007, 21:04
i think its time that this absolute ****er is ousted of this site,or just totally ignored boys.
great point crimsonwarrior just jealous people, go yarra an keep up the good work cleaner boy:D
woof woof
17 May 2007, 17:19
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974
Flowerpower
17 May 2007, 18:03
Wonder if the non trvelling Bence follows these ratings!!!!!
When will someone tag Ryan???
I told you blokes early he is a seriously good player - a ball magnet!
And no, he doesn't know me from a bar of soap. :)
Glitter
17 May 2007, 18:17
When will everyone stop boofing this bloke up the arse???
I saw the game V Wang Magpies on the weeked and Wang's midfield smashed them. Think his dirrect oppenents kicked 8 between them.
Not denying he is a good player but you gotta work both ways.
You are correct he is a seriously good player.
Hopefully Bence and his henchmen go to Sundays game and the boy performs for the seventh match in a row.
Perhaps he should move to Wodonga to avoid any travelling!!!!!!!!!!!
Pearce off Jack
18 May 2007, 12:15
You are correct he is a seriously good player.
Hopefully Bence and his henchmen go to Sundays game and the boy performs for the seventh match in a row.
Perhaps he should move to Wodonga to avoid any travelling!!!!!!!!!!!
Im sure if the Melbourne based players were available to train at every O&M training session then they would be selected!Obviously they cant and therefore dont get a run just as the locals who cant commit dont!Whats the problem?
Bomber9
18 May 2007, 13:21
Im sure if the Melbourne based players were available to train at every O&M training session then they would be selected!Obviously they cant and therefore dont get a run just as the locals who cant commit dont!Whats the problem?
Problem is we are not getting a true reflexion on how good this league is compared to others (GV) by excluding blokes who make the commiment to travell and present themself ready to play each week for their club why wouldnt they be good enough to do it for the rep side.
They are not being given the chance. If you live away from the area you are not selected unless you are an exception ie Marc Lonergan and Chris Jackson.
Seems strange some of the best won't get the chance to say "Thanks but I can't get to training"
Pearce off Jack
18 May 2007, 14:30
They are not being given the chance. If you live away from the area you are not selected unless you are an exception ie Marc Lonergan and Chris Jackson.
Seems strange some of the best won't get the chance to say "Thanks but I can't get to training"
Fair enough i would have thought they would have been asked!Madness if they have not been!!!!
half time raffle
18 May 2007, 14:48
What is the purpose of inter league football,? I would have thought it was to demonstrate the strength of the league. Interleague football showcases your league to others outside the league who may be thinking about playing or coaching in the Ovens and Murray. Wouldn't it make sense to put your best talent on display - Jake Ryan is definitely part of this leagues best side.
You can understand not dealing with travellers that are not interested in representing the league, but Ryan indicated early in the season that he was very keen to play and he has continued to express a desire to play.
Interleague training is pedestrian anyway, the only reason your there is to make sure you are familiar with everyone, their is no game plan or ridgid team structures that you train toward, so does it really matter if one bloke can't train - it is one out of 22.
Bence is making some pretty big decisions for a bloke that never played much senior footy let alone interleague footy. He must still be dark on corowa for beating him in 2003 and then costing him a perfect season in 2004.
Pearce off Jack
18 May 2007, 14:51
What is the purpose of inter league football,? I would have thought it was to demonstrate the strength of the league. Interleague football showcases your league to others outside the league who may be thinking about playing or coaching in the Ovens and Murray. Wouldn't it make sense to put your best talent on display - Jake Ryan is definitely part of this leagues best side.
You can understand not dealing with travellers that are not interested in representing the league, but Ryan indicated early in the season that he was very keen to play and he has continued to express a desire to play.
Interleague training is pedestrian anyway, the only reason your there is to make sure you are familiar with everyone, their is no game plan or ridgid team structures that you train toward, so does it really matter if one bloke can't train - it is one out of 22.
Bence is making some pretty big decisions for a bloke that never played much senior footy let alone interleague footy. He must still be dark on corowa for beating him in 2003 and then costing him a perfect season in 2004.
So does all this mean that if a local squad member misses a training run then he wont be selected?
interchange specialist
20 May 2007, 10:30
Hey guys, my first time in. I am a past player. Not a very good one but I have played O&M seniors (hence my title). I have moved o/s and find that I am really missing the footy. Have been reading this forum for a while and find some things rather entertaining. Can you guys tell me what has happened to Darcy Eaton. I knew him when he was a young fellow and I was really disappointed when the Bulldogs talked him out of trying out for the Bushies. I know that they did a similar thing to Ryan Hynes. What is Darcy doing?
Bronco Billy
20 May 2007, 10:43
Hey guys, my first time in. I am a past player. Not a very good one but I have played O&M seniors (hence my title). I have moved o/s and find that I am really missing the footy. Have been reading this forum for a while and find some things rather entertaining. Can you guys tell me what has happened to Darcy Eaton. I knew him when he was a young fellow and I was really disappointed when the Bulldogs talked him out of trying out for the Bushies. I know that they did a similar thing to Ryan Hynes. What is Darcy doing?
Hey after watching the footy yesterday I must say that Jackson Russell from wodonga (only a seconds player) is the biggest fudge packing sheep dog I have ever seen
interchange specialist
20 May 2007, 11:06
Hey after watching the footy yesterday I must say that Jackson Russell from wodonga (only a seconds player) is the biggest fudge packing sheep dog I have ever seen
Sorry bud I don't know who you are talking about or why you quoted my entry to say that. I never played in Wodonga and only know a few players from the town.:confused:
THE CEO
21 May 2007, 07:27
Sounds like someone got spanked by their opponent on the weekend...
You could be playing the wrong footy code Bronco!
BookerT
21 May 2007, 12:57
When will everyone stop boofing this bloke up the arse???
I saw the game V Wang Magpies on the weeked and Wang's midfield smashed them. Think his dirrect oppenents kicked 8 between them.
Not denying he is a good player but you gotta work both ways.
A lot of talk about this fella. What about David Steer from Wangaratta?
Former player now in Sydney but have checked results evert week and he has not been put out best players yet. No coincidence to see Wang in the top three after recruiting him, whatever side he plays in it goes close to winning it. Couple of Gfs for Myrtleford, how did they let him go? He is Wangs most important player, forget Jon McCormick. Thoughts?
Bright Boy
21 May 2007, 14:42
A lot of talk about this fella. What about David Steer from Wangaratta?
Former player now in Sydney but have checked results evert week and he has not been put out best players yet. No coincidence to see Wang in the top three after recruiting him, whatever side he plays in it goes close to winning it. Couple of Gfs for Myrtleford, how did they let him go? He is Wangs most important player, forget Jon McCormick. Thoughts?
You'll find that his transfer was rejected a couple of times until the Saints relunctantly agreed to let him go a couple of days prior to the season starting. Did he not originally come from Wang.
BookerT
21 May 2007, 14:49
You'll find that his transfer was rejected a couple of times until the Saints relunctantly agreed to let him go a couple of days prior to the season starting. Did he not originally come from Wang.
Yep, he did. As a youngster he might have played one year there before going to Bushrangers.
Then after that went to Myrtleford.
So he is a wang boy first I guess so fair is fair hey?
Falkroo
22 May 2007, 14:09
Let me be the first to congratulate Albury's Chris Kelly on his game against Wangaratta on Saturday.
After picking up 1 kick against the Saints the previous week, he progressed to
2 kicks against Wang (1 of which was a shocker), and all this while spending a good portion of the match playing as a loose man in defence (and I thought the loose man usually gets a lot of cheap possessions).
PS: And by the way Kel, the loose defender is allowed to man-up on an opposition forward if he can see one unattended, standing there with your arms out, asking who's on him doesn't look good.
PSS: Kreutsberger, where are you?
Pearce off Jack
22 May 2007, 14:17
Let me be the first to congratulate Albury's Chris Kelly on his game against Wangaratta on Saturday.
After picking up 1 kick against the Saints the previous week, he progressed to
2 kicks against Wang (1 of which was a shocker), and all this while spending a good portion of the match playing as a loose man in defence (and I thought the loose man usually gets a lot of cheap possessions).
PS: And by the way Kel, the loose defender is allowed to man-up on an opposition forward if he can see one unattended, standing there with your arms out, asking who's on him doesn't look good.
PSS: Kreutsberger, where are you?
Sounds like you are a disgruntled Albury team mate Roo!!
forward pocket
22 May 2007, 14:26
Yeah Roo, you've brought this up a couple of times. Do you want to share more on this or just jab away behind the play so to speak. Is there so bigger issue your need to share???
Falkroo
22 May 2007, 14:26
Sounds like you are a disgruntled Albury team mate Roo!!
No, not a team mate, but as an observer, it surprises me how he spends so much time he spends on the ground, when a guy like Packer, who would be just about leading their B&F at the moment, sits on the pine for extended periods of each game.
The magnet movers at Albury just don't see it!
FROM THE 50
22 May 2007, 14:37
No, not a team mate, but as an observer, it surprises me how he spends so much time he spends on the ground, when a guy like Packer, who would be just about leading their B&F at the moment, sits on the pine for extended periods of each game.
The magnet movers at Albury just don't see it!
How have you been anyway Spargs?:) ;) :D :thumbsu:
harsh, but fair
22 May 2007, 15:29
I have this on very good authority that Roo and his old soccer mate were the first into the Albury rooms after the win and linked arms with the boys and belted out the theme song.
At least Roo and his soccer mate go to every game so they are entitled to their opinion.
half time lollies
22 May 2007, 16:24
Have the O & M trimmed back their interleague squad yet?? Any suprise inclusions/omissions??
scoreboard attendant
22 May 2007, 22:51
Have the O & M trimmed back their interleague squad yet?? Any suprise inclusions/omissions??
matthew drum should have been a shoe in for the squad with his inspector gadget style arms able to negate any forward. Might have been a struggle getting him off his chamberlain though with all this rain!!!!!
big fella 37.5
23 May 2007, 12:47
matthew drum should have been a shoe in for the squad with his inspector gadget style arms able to negate any forward. Might have been a struggle getting him off his chamberlain though with all this rain!!!!!
who the hell is matthew drum?
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 14:45
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).
These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?
(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
x North-Eastern Wolves - Ovens & Murray FL - Darc21
harsh, but fair
23 May 2007, 15:04
who the hell is matthew drum?
A very, very under-rated player from Corowa-Rutherglen who kept the best forward in the OM to three goals last weekend.
cackles23
23 May 2007, 15:46
A very, very under-rated player from Corowa-Rutherglen who kept the best forward in the OM to three goals last weekend.
3 goals 4 behinds could easily have been 5 or 6. Is it fair to say Lance Oswald from Yarrawonga has snuck under everyones gaurd he looks to be having a super year as always mentioned in the best players
harsh, but fair
23 May 2007, 16:51
3 goals 4 behinds could easily have been 5 or 6. Is it fair to say Lance Oswald from Yarrawonga has snuck under everyones gaurd he looks to be having a super year as always mentioned in the best players
I'll concede McMillan could have kicked 5 or 6 as you mentioned and I regard him as a super player in this comp.
But take nothing away from Drum, he did a great job also, top battle, and any team will be happy to keep McMillan to three goals a game.
I hope he kicks a bag for the O and M on Sunday.
half time lollies
23 May 2007, 17:21
Any chance of posting the O & M squad HBF??
harsh, but fair
23 May 2007, 21:58
Not on the OM website?
Here It Is
23 May 2007, 22:39
Top 10 players after round 7
1. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 52
2. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 49
3. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 42
4. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 38
5. Tim Hargreaves (Yarrawonga) 33
6. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 32
6. David Steer (Wangaratta) 32
8. Xavier Leslie (Yarrawonga) 31
8. Daryn McKimmie (Lavington) 31
10. Aydan Brown (North Albury) 30
raidrboy
24 May 2007, 00:39
The squad has been cut to 28 and will be finalised after training on Friday night. I can tell you that Tim Hargreaves is captain and Kade Stevens is his deputy.
interchange specialist
24 May 2007, 01:30
The squad has been cut to 28 and will be finalised after training on Friday night. I can tell you that Tim Hargreaves is captain and Kade Stevens is his deputy.
If that is the case then congratulations to Burger on getting the captaincy. Very good bloke who works very hard and gets a lot of flack thrown his way.
Bright Boy
24 May 2007, 09:27
Not on the OM website?
I think there would be more of a chance it would be posted on the Border Mail Website!:rolleyes:
half time lollies
24 May 2007, 09:38
I think there would be more of a chance it would be posted on the Border Mail Website!:rolleyes:
I've checked both the O & M and Border Mail website's and couldn't find it anywhere!!
Bright Boy
24 May 2007, 10:59
I've checked both the O & M and Border Mail website's and couldn't find it anywhere!!
Sorry I was being sarcastic, in the sense that both websites are as bad as each other!
raidrboy
24 May 2007, 16:34
Here is the O & M squad for Sunday.
ALBURY. Matt Fowler.
Daniel Maher.
COROWA-RUTHERGLEN. Lee Schmidt.
WANGARATTA. David Steer, Ben Cosgriff, Paul Kirby.
NORTH ALBURY. Ayden Brown, Dan Leslie.
LAVINGTON. Kade Stevens (V-CAPT), Brendan Page.
WODONGA. Josh Walker, Matt Shir.
WODONGA RAIDERS. Mark Doolan.
YARRAWONGA. Tim Hargreaves (CAPT), Xavier Leslie, Matt Wollington, Craig Ednie, Marcus McMillan, Scott Oswald, Lance Oswald, Dallas Gallagher, Kyle Archibald.
If anyone is interested in GV squad let me know.
interchange specialist
24 May 2007, 16:58
So it is the case. Congratulations Burger. Also Scotty Oz. Now this kid is a gun that I think flies a long way under the radar. I thought he was excelent in last years GF. Great to see that Bence has taken some notice of him. I thought his year last year was good enough to draw some attention.
KokodaMidget
24 May 2007, 17:16
Can someone tell me how Brendan Page is getting a game in the O&M side? He's a reasonable player & bloke, but wouldn't have thought he would be anywhere near interleague standard......
Clean Bowled
24 May 2007, 18:30
Bence said on radio some time ago he saw him play well in a final last year and had him picked out since then.
Hasn't set the world on fire this year though and Raiders' Trent Storey is going better.
The O and M ruck division will come up against a pretty handy player in Tim Little, who battles against overwhelming odds for Tatura week in, week out.
Here It Is
24 May 2007, 18:50
Yarrawonga v Goulburn Valley........
So it is the case. Congratulations Burger. Also Scotty Oz. Now this kid is a gun that I think flies a long way under the radar. I thought he was excelent in last years GF. Great to see that Bence has taken some notice of him. I thought his year last year was good enough to draw some attention.
Matt Wollington is underated...... the bloke is a very good footy player
interchange specialist
25 May 2007, 02:26
Matt Wollington is underated...... the bloke is a very good footy player
Is that you Wol? My friend I agree Wol is an absolute gun. I love the way he backs into packs. I don't think he is underated at all and playing rep footy last year backs that up. Wol would also be the first to tell you just how good he is, with a grin on his face.
Pearce off Jack
25 May 2007, 10:39
I Find It Very Hard To Believe Adam Prior Is Not In The O&m's Best Side.is It Just Me?
Albert Park
25 May 2007, 13:02
Can someone tell me how Brendan Page is getting a game in the O&M side? He's a reasonable player & bloke, but wouldn't have thought he would be anywhere near interleague standard......
O&M ruck stocks have been depleted for a long time, but have hit a new low now.
Obviously you have not watched a lot of Lavington matches.
BookerT
25 May 2007, 15:13
I Find It Very Hard To Believe Adam Prior Is Not In The O&m's Best Side.is It Just Me?
Dead right POJ - How in gods name is Matt Fowler still getting a game?????
The best player in the league is not in the side either but obviously he did not want to play.
I'm talking about one B.Beams from Myrtleford!
Pearce off Jack
25 May 2007, 15:57
Dead right POJ - How in gods name is Matt Fowler still getting a game?????
The best player in the league is not in the side either but obviously he did not want to play.
I'm talking about one B.Beams from Myrtleford!
Was Beams even asked?Seems to me that the selection criteria needs some work!Im sure all the blokes playing on sunday have not attended every training session!(as was the requirement)
hammer_time
25 May 2007, 18:06
Here is the O & M squad for Sunday.
If anyone is interested in GV squad let me know.
would be good to have a look if u can post it
Could you tell me how could josh walker get a game on sunday he hasnt been getting a kick with wodonga?
forward pocket
25 May 2007, 21:32
Was Beams even asked?Seems to me that the selection criteria needs some work!Im sure all the blokes playing on sunday have not attended every training session!(as was the requirement)
Obviously picking a side for the ovens and murray is tough due to the fact there is alot of very good players. Each year there is controversy over selection as to why or why not so and so was or was not selected.
Can someone please tell me the process, because it seems to me that the coach is picking his side?????? Should it not be a panel (coach and 2 others) who have watched a far greater number of games of various sides.
I presume the answer will be that there is a panel, but I'm not talking about yes men looking for another jacket for winter, I'm talking about selectors who should have and would offer valuable opinions on all players from all sides.
raidrboy
26 May 2007, 00:23
GV SQUAD.
BENALLA. Mark McKenzie, Ben Fahey. (I believe McKenzie may have withdrawn with an injury).
ECHUCA. Colin Durie (Capt)
EUROA. Xavier Campbell, Matthew Pascoe.
KYABRAM. Paul Newman (V-Capt)
MOOROOPNA. Steven Cox.
SEYMOUR. Tim Hooper, Jeff Anderson, Matt O'Keefe, Saad Saad, Paul Scanlon, Rodney Van Reit.
SHEPPARTON. Nick Allen, Marc Harrap, Jeremy O'Brien, Glenn Joyce.
SHEPPARTON SWANS.. Nathan Bell, Lachlan Veale, Lucas White.
SHEPPARTON UNITED. Matt Forys, Justin Davies, Mick Barlow, Sam Dawes, Duane Hueston.
TATURA. Tim Little.
Hey does anyone have the theme songs of all the O&M teams that they could post or tell me where you could get them from off the internet?
raidrboy
26 May 2007, 22:48
Hey does anyone have the theme songs of all the O&M teams that they could post or tell me where you could get them from off the internet?
Wodonga Raiders theme song can be downloaded from our website at http://www.wodongaraiders.com/
Pearce off Jack
27 May 2007, 02:33
Wodonga Raiders theme song can be downloaded from our website at http://www.wodongaraiders.com/
shit that would be a popular choice!
King Kieran
27 May 2007, 09:08
Bence said on radio some time ago he saw him play well in a final last year and had him picked out since then.
Hasn't set the world on fire this year though and Raiders' Trent Storey is going better.
The O and M ruck division will come up against a pretty handy player in Tim Little, who battles against overwhelming odds for Tatura week in, week out.
Kirby rucked against him last year during the inter league when little played for BallaratFL and Kirbs at GVL, and handled him ok. I watched the 2nd half of Tatura's game last week and Little would have won 98% of the hitouts in the middle, but did little around the ground, so if Kirby can break even with him in the middle he can hurt Little around the ground as hes alot more mobile.
big fella 37.5
27 May 2007, 19:05
i no it may be early but can anyone give me the interleauge score and a match reoprt, who played good, bad, etc.
TheJuddstarr#3
27 May 2007, 20:14
i no it may be early but can anyone give me the interleauge score and a match reoprt, who played good, bad, etc.
Seniors
Ovens & Murray FL 4.4 5.5 1.1 2.0 (12.10) d. Goulburn Valley FL 4.0 2.2 1.2 5.3 (12.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL CRAIG EDNIE 2, BRENDAN PAGE 2, TIMOTHY HARGREAVES 2, MARCUS MCMILLAN 2, SCOTT OSWALD 2, LANCE OSWALD 1, KADE STEVENS 1
Goulburn Valley FL SAAD SAAD 4, PAUL NEWMAN 2, SAM DAWES 2, PAUL SCANLON 1, MATT FORYS 1, DUANE HUESTON 1, MATHEW PASCOE 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL SCOTT OSWALD, KADE STEVENS, XAVIER LESLIE, DANIEL LESLIE, AYDAN BROWN, LANCE OSWALD
Goulburn Valley FL PAUL SCANLON, COLIN DURIE, MATTHEW O'KEEFE, NICHOLAS ALLAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, TIM HOOPER, TIM LOOBY
Under 18's
Ovens & Murray FL 8.2 4.1 2.3 0.2 (14.8) d. Goulburn Valley FL 3.1 2.2 1.4 3.0 (9.7)
Goals
Ovens & Murray FL NATHAN WAITE 4, JACK PRICE 3, ZACHARY JONES 2, KURT BRADSHAW 2, JAMES BRAIN 1, NICHOLAS CARTER 1, JOSHUA HAMILTON 1
Goulburn Valley FL FARRAN PRIEST 3, MATTHEW RENDINA 2, ANDREW GREEN 1, JOSHUA STRACHAN 1, BRADEN PULLEN 1, DAVID FERRIER 1
Best
Ovens & Murray FL NICHOLAS CARTER, JOSHUA HAMILTON, MATTHEW FLYNN, LUKE SVARC, JACK PRICE
Goulburn Valley FL BRADLEY CUNNINGHAM, ADAM BOSHEVSKI, BRENDEN KEAST, MATTHEW RENDINA, THOMAS ROCKLIFF
harsh, but fair
27 May 2007, 23:02
Top game of footy.
O and M was 4 goals up at three quarter time, but GV stormed home in last quarter nearly pinched it.
Saad was well held by Josh Walker for three quarters, but came to life in the last to boot three and GV went down by three points.
Tim Hooper had a kick after the siren from 60m out to win the game, but his kick came up short.
He went the drop punt, not the barrel torp after having a bigger run-up since DK Lillee used to kick off the sight screeen at the WACA in his heyday.
Plenty of good players from either side.
The key forwards from both sides had days they would rather forget so full marks to the backlines from both teams.
Roll on 2009 when they play again in a full scale game.
hammer_time
28 May 2007, 12:10
Can anyone also add to that as to who won the best on ground medal i heard about on the radio
jetter18
28 May 2007, 12:18
Can anyone also add to that as to who won the best on ground medal i heard about on the radio
Scott Oswald from Yarrawonga won the medal, did a great job on GV's Paul Newman and ran off half back picking up numerous possies