View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Run Straight
25 Jun 2007, 10:06
No worries. I do receive my best players from The Border Mail.
I used the website best last year and received a lot of criticism about the supposed accuracy of them. Mainly due to the rankings of Anthony Tucci and Calan McClay in the top 10 (nothing against these guys), and moreso due to Luke Carroll being outside the top 100.

Correct me if I'm wrong HII, but aren't the results on the website the official results, and as such the best players are the ones selected by the team's coaching staff. I reckon they would carry more weight than those selected (at times) by journalists/local scribes. No offence to journo's as some of you really no your stuff, but sometimes players that are given jobs to do by their coaches & do them really well, miss out on public acclamation. The downside is that some coaches (as is what probably happened with Carroll last year) don't put themselves in the best players very often. If McClay & Tucci were in the top 10, it just means that their coaching staff were rating them very highly. Once again, no offence, you do a great job.

Winmar_07
25 Jun 2007, 11:10
Correct me if I'm wrong HII, but aren't the results on the website the official results, and as such the best players are the ones selected by the team's coaching staff. I reckon they would carry more weight than those selected (at times) by journalists/local scribes. No offence to journo's as some of you really no your stuff, but sometimes players that are given jobs to do by their coaches & do them really well, miss out on public acclamation. The downside is that some coaches (as is what probably happened with Carroll last year) don't put themselves in the best players very often. If McClay & Tucci were in the top 10, it just means that their coaching staff were rating them very highly. Once again, no offence, you do a great job.

Could not agree more with you. They are the official best players. I think the website best is more accurate and generally speaking correct! The journos the radio station and the paper seem to keep giving votes to players they like even when they have a pretty poor game!:thumbsu:

Here It Is
25 Jun 2007, 11:39
Which ones do people want me to use?
So far I have two complaints for The Border Mail list versus countless complaints for the website list.
I believe the best players listed by neutral observers to be more accurate. Coaches often fudge their best players in a bid to hide who is playing well from future opposition.

Clean Bowled
25 Jun 2007, 13:51
I was at the Rovers v Wodonga game and went home and checked the website best as per normal practice and was stunned to see Anthony Tucci named the Hawks best.
Nothing against the bloke, but how could he.
There would have been 10 Hawks players in front of him.
Go figure.

Aaron Fiora
25 Jun 2007, 14:22
i was recently at the wangaratta v's raiders game on the weekend and watched the stature of one of the ovens and murray big guns rise again. i am talking about the man mountain, the ferocious Van Schaik and what a man he is. after gathering a total of two touches in the first half of football he thought he would assurt his authority by hitting the smallest player on the ground in the back of the head while he wasn't watching. Usually after such a heavy blow by such a physically intimidating player such as Van Schaik is most would fall to there knees. Instead Van Schaik soon found that he is the kind of man that he is not physically able to defend himself and was struck down in retaliation. The strike hit Van Schaik and he fell to the ground crying. At this point the sunny wangaratta ground soon resembled the northern NSW flood zone and Van Schaik left the ground and didn't return.

texas hold em
25 Jun 2007, 14:37
thats a bit rough on the young bloke aaron fiora but it is true he did cop a pretty good one from the little fella and he was down and out the eye was closed over after the game. found it interesting that they only sent the raiders player off and not the wang bloke who started the incident

Run Straight
25 Jun 2007, 15:34
So far I have two complaints for The Border Mail list versus countless complaints for the website list.
I believe the best players listed by neutral observers to be more accurate. Coaches often fudge their best players in a bid to hide who is playing well from future opposition.

Both have their advantages & disadvantages, but as you've started with the Border Mail method, keep using it. Football is not an exact science, so whatever one you use will always just be someones opinion. I'm not fussed which one you use, I'm just glad you take the time to do it, coz I think your points system is an excellent one. Keep it up.

Clean Bowled
25 Jun 2007, 16:45
Anyone see the ruckus at half-time in the players race at half-time of the Lavington-Yarrawonga game on Sat?
Feelings it seems are still running high between these two clubs.

KokodaMidget
25 Jun 2007, 17:53
i was recently at the wangaratta v's raiders game on the weekend and watched the stature of one of the ovens and murray big guns rise again. i am talking about the man mountain, the ferocious Van Schaik and what a man he is. after gathering a total of two touches in the first half of football he thought he would assurt his authority by hitting the smallest player on the ground in the back of the head while he wasn't watching. Usually after such a heavy blow by such a physically intimidating player such as Van Schaik is most would fall to there knees. Instead Van Schaik soon found that he is the kind of man that he is not physically able to defend himself and was struck down in retaliation. The strike hit Van Schaik and he fell to the ground crying. At this point the sunny wangaratta ground soon resembled the northern NSW flood zone and Van Schaik left the ground and didn't return.

Is it Van Schaik or Van Shite...?, cos really, the man is like a big marsh mallow...wandered past him & to hear him crying & sooking like a baby when in the dug out was rather humerous. Remember, this tall squib was somehow on an AFL rookie list.....must be some very, very, very ordinary recruiting staff at Melbourne, maybe thats why they are 15th & bottoming out!!!

chicken38
25 Jun 2007, 20:04
Is it Van Schaik or Van Shite...?, cos really, the man is like a big marsh mallow...wandered past him & to hear him crying & sooking like a baby when in the dug out was rather humerous. Remember, this tall squib was somehow on an AFL rookie list.....must be some very, very, very ordinary recruiting staff at Melbourne, maybe thats why they are 15th & bottoming out!!!
who is s.boyd that is playing for lavi is he lachie boyd younger brother just wondering thats all
:rolleyes:

big fella 37.5
25 Jun 2007, 20:41

that is an absolute joke. the fact of the matter is u must be a one eyed supporter. i was also at this game, and firstly, van schaik was hit first whilst trying to shepherd, and did not throw a punch, he merely pushed his opponent, and secondly he did not come off the ground crying, for u to say that is putting a smear on this player which is solely your opinion, people will read this slander and go away thinking van schaik actually cried whilst playing football, i can tell everyone who read this it is not true. im am neither a wang or raiders supporter, i was merely watching the game, but i just dont think its right for this report to be so over exaggerated.

Hand Grenade
25 Jun 2007, 21:45

Just stick with the system you've been using Here It Is. You do a great job, it's pretty accurate. It's much appreciated.

roast beef roll
25 Jun 2007, 22:07
I'll have an early crack at it

Yarra (by how far)
Wang (McCormack coming back vital for them)
North (Some big inclusions)
Tigers (some bias here)
Lavi (seem to hang in most years)
Myrtleford (Hard to know wot'll happen)
Dogs (Big gains and big losses)
Roos (Could surprise me)
Rovers (haven't heard anything)
Raiders (Long way off it in 06)

Leading Goal Kicker - Adam Prior 85 goals
Morris Medal - Jon MacCormack, Kade Stevens, Luke Carroll
Premiers - Yarra by 12 goals over daylight

Here's my ladder prediction from late jan.
At this point the top four are spot on, after that things are a bit out, but i'm pretty happy with my work to this point (and yes i'm happy to point that out)
At this stage there are about 3-4 teams fighting for fifth spot. On form i'd say rovers will get it. But i'm happy to stick with lavi at this stage.

Great to see the tigers up there after the shocking start to the season.

raidrboy
25 Jun 2007, 22:41
that is an absolute joke. the fact of the matter is u must be a one eyed supporter. i was also at this game, and firstly, van schaik was hit first whilst trying to shepherd, and did not throw a punch, he merely pushed his opponent, and secondly he did not come off the ground crying, for u to say that is putting a smear on this player which is solely your opinion, people will read this slander and go away thinking van schaik actually cried whilst playing football, i can tell everyone who read this it is not true. im am neither a wang or raiders supporter, i was merely watching the game, but i just dont think its right for this report to be so over exaggerated.

I was also at the game and obviously a raider supporter but I can reassure you that the retaliator got nabbed by the umpire not the instigator.

Raffy
25 Jun 2007, 22:47
Just to confirm, there was a bit of a barny in the players race at half-time in the panthers vs yarra game on the weekend, whats even more interesting is that not one actual player from either side was directly involved, although one pigeons player did poke his head up from the race but from all reports didnt get invloved. Didnt rate much of a mention until after the game when the frothies started being poured

KokodaMidget
26 Jun 2007, 17:06

Mate, don't take things so literally, as im sure he didn't "cry me a river" (apologies to Justin Timberlake) It was a phrase used to point out that the big soft Pr*&k didn't give a yelp or a whimper when, after he tried to intimidate the 4 foot midgets, he got felled by one, ergo Jack & the beanstalk!!!!

indie
26 Jun 2007, 18:03
I'm with you on this one kokodamidget.Gee Big fella 37.5 dont take things to heart, sometimes the truth hurts.

Glitter
26 Jun 2007, 21:05
I'm with you on this one kokodamidget.Gee Big fella 37.5 dont take things to heart, sometimes the truth hurts.

Was also as the game as a nutural supporter.
I'm with Big Fella 37.5.. I don't know what you have got against the big man in Shake but as a person he didn't deserve what he got.
He got punched as he lay a shepard, then pushed the little bloke, then proceeded to cop a round arm.
I've herd he may have a broken eye socket so pull your heads in. Just because he's taller than most does that mean he shouldn't go off after being whacked.
It's all well and good to can the poor guy when you don't have your names up here.

KokodaMidget
27 Jun 2007, 10:53
I'm with Big Fella 37.5.. I don't know what you have got against the big man in Shake but as a person he didn't deserve what he got.
He got punched as he lay a shepard, then pushed the little bloke, then proceeded to cop a round arm.
I've herd he may have a broken eye socket so pull your heads in. Just because he's taller than most does that mean he shouldn't go off after being whacked.
It's all well and good to can the poor guy when you don't have your names up here.

Glitter, not exactly sure if the sun was in your eyes or not, but Shaky Knees didn't get hit when he laid a shepherd. For one, the ball was about 50 metres away, & two, as previously posted by others, he only got decked in retaliation of his coward act.

And i'll can & praise whoever i like, because unless your name is Gary Glitter, you too sir are hiding behind a nom de plume, as are 99.9% of Big Footy posters

JOHN DENVER
27 Jun 2007, 17:39
the fact of the matter is van shaik started something he couldnt finish and should maybe try his luck in a non contact sport.

big fella 37.5
27 Jun 2007, 17:48
the fact of the matter is van shaik started something he couldnt finish and should maybe try his luck in a non contact sport.

the thing i was trying to get across is that van shaik never actually swang a punch, do we as fans encourage people to through punches when they've only received a shove??
i just think its a part of the game that is uneccesary, and can only cause injuries...and, in this case uneeded suspensions....

JOHN DENVER
27 Jun 2007, 17:56
the thing i was trying to get across is that van shaik never actually swang a punch, do we as fans encourage people to through punches when they've only received a shove??
i just think its a part of the game that is uneccesary, and can only cause injuries...and, in this case uneeded suspensions....
i thing you should go with him a follow a non contact sport football is oviously too rough for you. you cant have a player pushing you around on the footy field and the only reason van shaik did it was because he thought he would get away with it, for this reason he deserved what he got!

Tigerspirit#21
27 Jun 2007, 19:35
Oz is an absolute gun. I love watching the kid play.:thumbsu: Nearly as good as Wha.:thumbsu:

yeah oswald is a gun .... not as good as jac ryan i rate him the best player in the ovens and murray very hard player love it.... love watchin him:)

forward pocket
27 Jun 2007, 19:41
i thing you should go with him a follow a non contact sport football is oviously too rough for you. you cant have a player pushing you around on the footy field and the only reason van shaik did it was because he thought he would get away with it, for this reason he deserved what he got!

Who cares who got whacked and why. It happened. I get on here to read about footy and keep updated with what sides are going well and who aren't going so well and hope someone can shed some light as to why!! 3 guys having an arguement over last weeks game is getting a bit tedious!

I believe someone picked up a good forward in the last day or two from Melbourne way, a mate told me and he couldn't tell me his name but thought it was Yarra. Surely not???? If it is I would hate to be playing in other O & M backlines, actually I'd hate t be coaching Yarra come mid September as they all won't fit into 22.

Bighawk15
27 Jun 2007, 20:33
Who cares who got whacked and why. It happened. I get on here to read about footy and keep updated with what sides are going well and who aren't going so well and hope someone can shed some light as to why!! 3 guys having an arguement over last weeks game is getting a bit tedious!

I believe someone picked up a good forward in the last day or two from Melbourne way, a mate told me and he couldn't tell me his name but thought it was Yarra. Surely not???? If it is I would hate to be playing in other O & M backlines, actually I'd hate t be coaching Yarra come mid September as they all won't fit into 22.

Yeh Your right with that one this site is turning into a girls chat room.

With the amount of class in yarras forward line it would be near impossible to have one key forward, maybe that’s why the struggled against the Magpies & the Rovers because they were not playing direct footy. I’m no O&M backman but I know that kicking the ball long to McMillan, Gallagher, Archibald, Henderson & Hargreaves will make it a tuff day. Bringing in another big named forward would just make it confusing to get a forward line structure that works, but that’s for steak Seymour to figure out.

Someone who could do with a forward right now is Corowa-Rutherglen, they are struggling to field a forward line rather then a structure.

P.S if this sends twice please ignore it...:thumbsu:

Here It Is
27 Jun 2007, 21:33
My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players after round 11.

1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 71
2. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
3. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 59
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 57
5. Xavier Leslie (Yarrawonga) 54
6. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 52
6. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 52
8. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 49
8. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 49
10. Daine Porter (Wangaratta) 45

raidrboy
27 Jun 2007, 22:49
My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players after round 11.

1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 71
2. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
3. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 59
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 57
5. Xavier Leslie (Yarrawonga) 54
6. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 52
6. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 52
8. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 49
8. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 49
10. Daine Porter (Wangaratta) 45

Prior to last weekends games here is the OakFM player of the year top ten;

1. Jacob Ryan
2. Jon McCormick
3. Mark Doolan
4. Xavier Leslie
5. Lance Oswald
6. Kade Stevens
7. Adam Prior
8. Aydan Brown
9. Andrew Hill
10. Tim Hargreaves

Only a couple of different players so your system is pretty close to their mark. Keep up the good work is very interesting to compare.

Here It Is
27 Jun 2007, 23:04
7. Adam Prior ----- No.26 on 32 points
8. Aydan Brown ----- No.21 on 35 points
9. Andrew Hill ----- No.12 on 43 points
10. Tim Hargreaves ----- No.15 on 39 points

And those blokes aren't that far away either.

Dees08
28 Jun 2007, 15:48
Hi
Im new to this site but am a keen O and M supporter. Throughout the year I would of seen all ten teams at one stage or another and from the games ive seen Yarrawonga and Wangaratta have been clear standouts from the other teams in the comp and in my opinion will almost defintly play off in the granny. Just wanted to get some other opinions. Do you see this season as a 2 horse race or is there more to it and is there a wildcard that could get things right and challange

BestOnGround
28 Jun 2007, 17:29
What is everyone's opinions of the umpiring standard in O&M ? Have seen several games this year, and inconsistancy is causing players to be uncertain of the rules.

Also have heard that Yarrawonga has some internal worries between committe members interfering with players and coaching staff and causing a divide in the playing group. Any truth ?

Wang seem to have found a money tree this year, which could gain them a flag, but the club is financially introuble in 12 months. Any thoughts ?:rolleyes:

hammer_time
28 Jun 2007, 21:26

I belive this may be Tom Nixon. A former player of the club and a cousin of Natt and Bo Nixon at Port Melbourne. Currently playing in the VAFA, could possibly play a game or 2 in the seniors seniors but wouldn't push McMillian, Archibald, Gallagher etc out. However you could be talking about someone else.

forward pocket
28 Jun 2007, 22:11
I belive this may be Tom Nixon. A former player of the club and a cousin of Natt and Bo Nixon at Port Melbourne. Currently playing in the VAFA, could possibly play a game or 2 in the seniors seniors but wouldn't push McMillian, Archibald, Gallagher etc out. However you could be talking about someone else.

That's the bloke I was on about HT.

Sorry, I was under the impression he went alright. And you are correct, if he is only just a goer he won't be playing many senior games when you list those forwards Yarra have already.

Jimweagles
29 Jun 2007, 14:23
Does anyone know a bloke named James Harris? He plays over in Perth now for North Beach and captains the 2's side... said he was a bit of a gun when playing for Wodonga a few years back... said he won flags for the club and was a very popular member around the club? Can anyone confirm or deny?

JOHN DENVER
29 Jun 2007, 14:37
Does anyone know a bloke named James Harris? He plays over in Perth now for North Beach and captains the 2's side... said he was a bit of a gun when playing for Wodonga a few years back... said he won flags for the club and was a very popular member around the club? Can anyone confirm or deny?
Jimweagles=James Harris

jimbob21
29 Jun 2007, 15:41
Jimweagles=James Harris

No, no not at all... jimbob21= James Harris

Jimweagles would be my poor excuse for a mate Ben (Barge Arse) Wilson, he thinks its funny to get back at blokes with the gag they've alredy played on him.

He is a simple human being who shouldn't ever be taken seriously. The word is that he wet the bed up till he was 17 and has never kissed a girl.

Disregard anything posted by Jimweagles

Flowerpower
29 Jun 2007, 16:34
Saw the Corowa game last week, and you blokes have finally cottoned onto Ryan being tagged!!!!!

Only taken you half the year :)

Put a hard tag on him and he crumbles like a deck of cards.

I am available to coach next year to the highest bidder. Starting at $100k. :D

FROM THE 50
29 Jun 2007, 16:47
Saw the Corowa game last week, and you blokes have finally cottoned onto Ryan being tagged!!!!!

Fair call about the putting the heat (tags) on Ryan but I too saw the game against Alb and he was by far one of their best.

rowger
29 Jun 2007, 19:12
Jimweagles=James Harris
Gday Jimweagles,
I know the big unit! There is a whisper the lad might be heading back to country vic. He would be a handy pick up for a Tallangatta league team.

scoreboard attendant
29 Jun 2007, 22:11
How is the return of the prodigal son kade mills going at corowa this year? It was a big move for kade to return this year as he gave up a potentially lucrative modelling contract in the west to play for the roos this year. Has he been a model of consistency this year???

Tigerspirit#21
29 Jun 2007, 22:20
ANy news on the Ovens and Murray at this time of year?

Who looks to have recruited well, who has lost players?

Im not sure who has gained players but corowa are losing players and are losing them quick because of the cambells is what i have heard
the word is if he coaches next year they will lose alot of players and will most unlikley recruit anymore

Tigerspirit#21
29 Jun 2007, 22:24

No... its not they havnt tried taggin ryna they have but havnt been succesful and albury have done the best job but he was still among the best players

Clean Bowled
1 Jul 2007, 15:54
How the freakin hell did Corowa beat Lavington on Saturday?

indie
1 Jul 2007, 17:56
lavi are in a bit of trouble at the moment. The roos are a much better side at there home ground, and would have wanted it more.

Hand Grenade
1 Jul 2007, 20:45
How the freakin hell did Corowa beat Lavington on Saturday?

Um ..... they must have been ahead on the scoreboard at the final siren perhaps???:p

Ozz12
1 Jul 2007, 20:55
Um ..... they must have been ahead on the scoreboard at the final siren perhaps???:p

You must be one of those clever Rocket Surgeons that they talk about Hand Grenade! ;)

Bomber9
2 Jul 2007, 10:14
Wang seem to have found a money tree this year, which could gain them a flag, but the club is financially introuble in 12 months. Any thoughts ?:rolleyes:[/quote]

The club is in the best financial position in years there were some very worring times a few years ago but from all reports they are heading in right direction.

rowger
2 Jul 2007, 10:35
You must be one of those clever Rocket Surgeons that they talk about Hand Grenade! ;)
I cant remember the last time a surgeon operated on a Rocket Ozz12. Any chance you meant Rocket Scientist? Back to the footy, Lavi seem to be in all sorts. They cant kick a winning score yet they have blokes kicking bags in two's each week and refuse to make changes.

Jimweagles
2 Jul 2007, 12:12
No, no not at all... jimbob21= James Harris

Jimweagles would be my poor excuse for a mate Ben (Barge Arse) Wilson, he thinks its funny to get back at blokes with the gag they've alredy played on him.

He is a simple human being who shouldn't ever be taken seriously. The word is that he wet the bed up till he was 17 and has never kissed a girl.

Disregard anything posted by Jimweagles

Ooww, touchy subject James? Give and take my friend? Me wet the bed? you wear the nappy not me!!!

THE CEO
2 Jul 2007, 14:40
I cant remember the last time a surgeon operated on a Rocket Ozz12. Any chance you meant Rocket Scientist?

sorry to burst your bubble rowger but i think Ozz did mean Rocket Surgeon...

rocket surgery
(n.) a play on words which mixes two common metaphors: "rocket science (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=rocket+science)" and "brain surgery (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=brain+surgery)"

Just remember Ozz that Home & Away is on the same time as Kath and Kim :cool:.

BookerT
2 Jul 2007, 15:10
Any truth in rumour Jon McCormick was donged behind play by a North Albury player on Saturday? Mustn't have done the job I heard he had a heap of the footy. He is a star :-) Morris Medal?

In the mix
2 Jul 2007, 15:16
Any truth in rumour Jon McCormick was donged behind play by a North Albury player on Saturday? Mustn't have done the job I heard he had a heap of the footy. He is a star :-) Morris Medal?

McCormick is a sook and would have dived :p

Dees08
2 Jul 2007, 15:31
McCormick is a sook and would have dived :p
Rediculous comment. I was at the game and yes he was hit behind the play sparking a massive melee involving over half the field. McCormick went on to collect his usual 40 touches. Is by far and away the best player in this comp and will win the morris medal easily.

Clean Bowled
2 Jul 2007, 16:11
The story goes he was taken out by a bloke coming off the back of the square.
Real brave when the player being taken out has his eyes fixed squarely on the ball.

rowger
2 Jul 2007, 16:23
sorry to burst your bubble rowger but i think Ozz did mean Rocket Surgeon...

rocket surgery
(n.) a play on words which mixes two common metaphors: "rocket science (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=rocket+science)" and "brain surgery (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=brain+surgery)"

Just remember Ozz that Home & Away is on the same time as Kath and Kim :cool:.
Your too sharp for me CEO! Very impressed with your knowledge of the english language.;)

indie
2 Jul 2007, 19:10
just wondering if anyone knows how jake ryan's shoulder is they said in the paper he poped it out, he is lucky that they have the week off.

Hand Grenade
2 Jul 2007, 19:34

Gees Ozz12 - from footy to a discusion of correct grammatical and rocket terminology! Have given myself an uppercut re my earlier smartarsed reply but it was a dumb question! Back to the footy. Those rumours of the Campbells causing all the problems at Corowa can't be all true judging ny the result against Lavi. Ot are the panthers in even worse trouble?

raidrboy
2 Jul 2007, 20:33
just wondering if anyone knows how jake ryan's shoulder is they said in the paper he poped it out, he is lucky that they have the week off.

It popped out a second time after the trainers had helped him get the shoulder back in place. Doesn't sound to good for him.

plumber2
2 Jul 2007, 21:04
How is the return of the prodigal son kade mills going at corowa this year? It was a big move for kade to return this year as he gave up a potentially lucrative modelling contract in the west to play for the roos this year. Has he been a model of consistency this year???

Kade has been injured the past few weeks but I believe his return has been slightly inconsistent by his own lofty standards. Maybe he is regretting his decision to not to be the face of Cottlesoe Panel Repairs.
Also he has taken on the job of coaching the thirds so that may be weighing him down. Apparently his quarter time speeches though have been ultra-consisent with many supporters now getting up early to wander down to John Foord and listen to his inspiring orations.

Flowerpower
3 Jul 2007, 12:03
It popped out a second time after the trainers had helped him get the shoulder back in place. Doesn't sound to good for him.

But gets back on the ground to help the Roos to victory!

The kid is a genuine hard nut star!

I'm tipping he won't miss a game because "rolls royce" raines (Border Mail) will be coming hard at him in the B&F.

Where It All Began
3 Jul 2007, 13:51
Saw Lee Schmidt get carried from the ground with a calf injury on TV highlights, the roos are really struggling to get a team on the park, and can ill afford having a good player like him missing. Anyone know how bad it is?

In the mix
4 Jul 2007, 10:46
The story goes he was taken out by a bloke coming off the back of the square.
Real brave when the player being taken out has his eyes fixed squarely on the ball.

Wangaratta are notorious squealers and make a habit of blowing little love taps out of proportion. A couple of years ago they did the same thing about a hit on one of their crab players that nearly cost a bloke a grand final. McCormick is a tumbleweed, wouldn't have taken much of a hit to blow him over, so as usual its all a big w@nk.
Toughen up.

In the mix
4 Jul 2007, 10:53
Rediculous comment. I was at the game and yes he was hit behind the play sparking a massive melee involving over half the field. McCormick went on to collect his usual 40 touches. Is by far and away the best player in this comp and will win the morris medal easily.

McCormick is overrated and his profile is blown up by the local media, or should I say David Johnson. Granted a good player, but whatever his possession count in the paper, subtract it by 15 as he is credited with a stat if he even runs within five metres of the leather. A lot better players in comp than him I give you the tip. Ridiculously over-rated.

Bomber9
4 Jul 2007, 12:58
McCormick is overrated and his profile is blown up by the local media, or should I say David Johnson. Granted a good player, but whatever his possession count in the paper, subtract it by 15 as he is credited with a stat if he even runs within five metres of the leather. A lot better players in comp than him I give you the tip. Ridiculously over-rated.

Without really needing to say much you are a fool who doesnt really know alot about football. ( Sorry to everyone else on this forum for stating the obvious)

In the mix
4 Jul 2007, 14:08
Without really needing to say much you are a fool who doesnt really know alot about football. ( Sorry to everyone else on this forum for stating the obvious)

I'd back my judgment against any other person on this forum, and can't see how I'm a fool by giving an opinion (which by the way I'm sure many on this forum would agree with).
Why don't you enlighten me with with your top 5 players in the comp bomber? 'Hoppa' doesn't slip into mine. The best players are the ones who can directly influence the result of a game. Getting 40 kicks means little if 20 of them are 10 metre pokes, sideways across half back or in the defensive 50m. Ala another former Wang player, the current coach!

ITM top 5:
Kade Stevens (Lavington): The most 'damaging' midfielder in comp. Gets his kicks in dangerous spots from guts and forward of centre.
Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga): A freak, all the tricks.
Ben Beams (Myrtleford): See above.
Marcus McMillan (Yarrawonga): Most powerful forward in the comp - it wins you premierships.
Matt Shir (Wodonga): Could be the most gifted in comp.

If Jon McCormick is a better player than any of the above, I would love to hear about it?
Argument over...

BookerT
4 Jul 2007, 14:34
ITM top 5:
Kade Stevens (Lavington): The most 'damaging' midfielder in comp. Gets his kicks in dangerous spots from guts and forward of centre.
Marcus McMillan (Yarrawonga): Most powerful forward in the comp - it wins you premierships.

If Jon McCormick is a better player than any of the above, I would love to hear about it?
Argument over...

You know what, as much as I think Jon McCormick is a very good player, I think you're actually right here In The Mix. I have to agree with you.
I can't say he is a better player than any of the guys you mentioned. Absolute A Grade response to Bomber's critisicm - so credit where credit is due.
Look forward to hearing responses on this one.

Bighawk15
4 Jul 2007, 16:21
Argument over...No way for the simple fact that Jon McCormick is a better player then the above if not better, at least on the same par as them. For instances Kade Stevens (Lavington) Gets his kicks in dangerous spots from guts and forward of center, so dose Jon McCormick except Jon gets more possessions Kade. Craig Ednie always seems to go missing when yarra are struggling, therefore his silky skills are good for nothing. Marcus McMillan (wins premierships) its no good having a star full forward if you don’t have any on ballers to supply you with the ball.

Surely he could squeeze one of those three out to get a spot.

interchange specialist
5 Jul 2007, 02:44
Argument over...No way for the simple fact that Jon McCormick is a better player then the above if not better, at least on the same par as them. For instances Kade Stevens (Lavington) Gets his kicks in dangerous spots from guts and forward of center, so dose Jon McCormick except Jon gets more possessions Kade. Craig Ednie always seems to go missing when yarra are struggling, therefore his silky skills are good for nothing. Marcus McMillan (wins premierships) its no good having a star full forward if you don’t have any on ballers to supply you with the ball.

Surely he could squeeze one of those three out to get a spot.

Are you serious?

IN & UNDER
5 Jul 2007, 09:40
Are you serious?

Interesting arguement chaps. FWIW I think McCormick is undoubtedly in the top 5 in the O&M. This guy constantly covers the ground for 120 minutes each and every week whilst racking up a regulation 30 plus possies. He has a huge tank and rarely wastes the aggot! I also note his worth to the Magpies side in 07, surely not just coincedence that he is back on the paddock this year. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif

WARBLERER
5 Jul 2007, 10:17
FELLAS IF HOPPA DECIDED TO LEAVE WANG TOMORROW HE WOULD NEED A PERSONAL ASS TO FIELD ALL OF THE OFFERS BEGINNING WITH 9 OM CLUBS ALL OF THE PLAYERS THAT HAVE BEEN MENTIONED ARE SUPER PLAYERS AND YOU WILL ARGUE ALL DAY AS TO WHO IS BETTER THEY EACH HAVE THEIR OWN ATTRIBUTES AND YOU COULD PROBABLY PUT ANOTHER TWO OR THREE IN THE MIX:thumbsu:

Clean Bowled
5 Jul 2007, 10:29
For what it's worth here is my top 5.
1. Ben Beams
2. Jon McCormick
3. Craig Ednie
4. Matt Shir
5. Adam Butler

I know it's hypothetical, but Myrtleford would have at least one flag if Beams was playing in 2005, 2006.
Even still taking into account many of the Saints players had poor days in the two grand finals and still only got beaten by a point with a kick after the siren in one (2005) Beams would have risen and got them across the line.
He will rip this competition up if he gets a half decent around him.
Very little separates this group, but on match-winning ability alone I think Beams just gets the nod.

interchange specialist
5 Jul 2007, 11:48
Interesting arguement chaps. FWIW I think McCormick is undoubtedly in the top 5 in the O&M. This guy constantly covers the ground for 120 minutes each and every week whilst racking up a regulation 30 plus possies. He has a huge tank and rarely wastes the aggot! I also note his worth to the Magpies side in 07, surely not just coincedence that he is back on the paddock this year. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif

I am not in a position to argue who the best players in the O&M are becuase it sure isn't me and I doubt that it is anyone that has time to waste posting on here. Like myself I doubt that many posters were/are very good players (so making comments that are slanderous about a bloke is gutless and unsubstantial). What I was questioning was the comment about Craig Ednie. I didn't think there was any evidence to back up the feeble arguement that stated he went missing when the Pigeons are struggling. If you are going to make a comment like that, state your name and credentials or, keep your comments for Saturdays when can you hide behind the fence with a pie in your hand.

Hornie
5 Jul 2007, 13:12
1. Ben Beams
2. Jon McCormick
3. Craig Ednie
4. Matt Shir
5. Adam Butler

I know it's hypothetical, but Myrtleford would have at least one flag if Beams was playing in 2005, 2006.
Even still taking into account many of the Saints players had poor days in the two grand finals and still only got beaten by a point with a kick after the siren in one (2005) Beams would have risen and got them across the line.
Very little separates this group, but on match-winning ability alone I think Beams just gets the nod.

Amazing the lack of Lavington Panthers games you musyt have seen this year to include Adam Butler. True a best and fairest winner in a premiership year but very disappointing tis year.

Certainly Kade Stevens would e the leading Panther this year.

FWIW my top 5 would be:

Hornie
5 Jul 2007, 13:20
Amazing the lack of Lavington Panthers games you musyt have seen this year to include Adam Butler. True a best and fairest winner in a premiership year but very disappointing tis year.

Certainly Kade Stevens would e the leading Panther this year.

FWIW my top 5 would be:

Sorry wrong button

1 Marcus McMillan - a power forward who can turn games around
2 Jon McCormick (does Johnno really love him?????)
3 Kade Stevens
4 Matt Shir
5 Craig Ednie

Apologies to Beams but if we are writing this next year a fully fit Beams has shown enough to suggest he would be there.

In the mix
5 Jul 2007, 13:44
Sorry wrong button

1 Marcus McMillan - a power forward who can turn games around
2 Jon McCormick (does Johnno really love him?????)
3 Kade Stevens
4 Matt Shir
5 Craig Ednie

Apologies to Beams but if we are writing this next year a fully fit Beams has shown enough to suggest he would be there.

Yes, Johno really loves him. Have a look at the leaderboard of 'The Border Mail' player of the year. I think McCormick on 20 votes already.
Who do you think puts that together???? Who would have attended most Wangaratta matches this year?? Therefore, who would be giving the votes??? You do the math....

Winmar_07
5 Jul 2007, 13:51
Yes, Johno really loves him. Have a look at the leaderboard of 'The Border Mail' player of the year. I think McCormick on 20 votes already.
Who do you think puts that together???? Who would have attended most Wangaratta matches this year?? Therefore, who would be giving the votes??? You do the math....
Couldn't agree more that johnson is a nerd that pumps up any player much more than what they really are.. His knowlege of the game is very poor and that is why he is a journo in that area (anyone could be). ;)

Flowerpower
5 Jul 2007, 14:02

Blokes that get the job done in weaker sides usually don't get the recognition they deserve.

And yes I may be biased towards the Roos, but Nick Raines would be a standout player in any side on the O&M.

Comparing apples with apples, would have him before Ednie any day of the week.

But again, just my opinion!!!!! :)

Falkroo
5 Jul 2007, 14:07
Couldn't agree more that johnson is a nerd that pumps up any player much more than what they really are.. His knowlege of the game is very poor and that is why he is a journo in that area (anyone could be). ;)

So, you know him well by the sounds of it? Pretty harsh comments, he didn't bag you at some stage, did he?

Winmar_07
5 Jul 2007, 14:33
So, you know him well by the sounds of it? Pretty harsh comments, he didn't bag you at some stage, did he?
No i used to live up that way! nothing personal against the guy just stating the truth!:)

He

Winmar_07
5 Jul 2007, 14:34
:)So, you know him well by the sounds of it? Pretty harsh comments, he didn't bag you at some stage, did he?

:)Just stating the truth nothing personal!

Clean Bowled
5 Jul 2007, 15:16
My top 5 was based on talent alone and not performances this year.
Everything being equal, not carrying injury, which I think Butler has for some of this year.
I am not sticking up for Johnno because some of his tips leave a bit to be desired, but at least he does go to games on a weekly basis and is entitled to have an opinion.
Let's remember Jon McCormick would have won the Morris Medal by a street in 2005 when he had 18 votes after 10 games and lost by three or four.
He is in similar form in the games I've seen this year despite the less than successful attempts by opposition teams to curb him by foul means or fair.
As for the stats attributed to McCormick in recent weeks, it's my understanding the OAKFM boys have had a bloke doing them for the last couple of games Wang have played in.
If I am not mistaken he is a wang bloke who does the stats and knows the players pretty well.

Run Straight
5 Jul 2007, 15:24

I reckon if you want to get on here and bag our "area" you should rack off to wherever you come from. Comments like that give you about as much credibility as the guy you are named after. Nil around here. The Border Mail consistently wins awards for best country newspaper football coverage, and a lot of that credit goes to David Johnston.

texas hold em
5 Jul 2007, 15:43
i have foud it interesting to see peoples best 5 players in the competition and my top 5 would be.
1. jon mccormick
2. kade stevens
3. marcus mcmillan
4. ben beams
5. brendan van shaik

daisy_train
5 Jul 2007, 16:18
Johnston is a very good judge.
Whatever he says I say.

Where It All Began
5 Jul 2007, 16:26
i have foud it interesting to see peoples best 5 players in the competition and my top 5 would be.
1. jon mccormick
2. kade stevens
3. marcus mcmillan
4. ben beams
5. brendan van shaik

McMillan, very overrated, leads the goalkicking in the gun side of the league, his tallies against other sides in the top 5 are ordinary, best being 5 against Albury and at least 2 of those were handballs over the top in the goalsquare. He donkey-licked a couple of the bottom sides, but that's about all.

Winmar_07
5 Jul 2007, 16:59
Johnston is a very good judge.
Whatever he says I say.
Nicky Winmar has a lot more respect in any area of australia than Johsnon he was a very very good footballer!
Nic Raines is a good player i agree flowerpower! Anyone else got any opions on him? I know he was from Qld and spent some times with the Lions when they were quite a strong side.:thumbsu:

daisy_train
5 Jul 2007, 17:13
Rutherglen and Wodonga Saints have a very high opinion of Johnno, but i'm not sure what they think of Nicky.

Where It All Began
5 Jul 2007, 17:29
I must admit i'm a bit of Johno fan too, but I will say this, reading between the lines sometimes, you get the impression, he likes to stick it to the wodonga bulldogs whenever he can:D

Clean Bowled
5 Jul 2007, 17:52
I think you are onto something. I reckon he has got a bit of a bias against all Albury-Wodonga clubs.
He has had many blews with Albury and the Tigers people hate him with a passion.
But, he is all over the out of town teams when they get on a roll, Corowa-Rutherglen, Myrtleford and Yarrawonga.
In fact I reckon I saw his young bloke wearing a Pigeons hat around during the summer.
True story/

Hornie
5 Jul 2007, 19:04
I think you are onto something. I reckon he has got a bit of a bias against all Albury-Wodonga clubs.
He has had many blews with Albury and the Tigers people hate him with a passion.
But, he is all over the out of town teams when they get on a roll, Corowa-Rutherglen, Myrtleford and Yarrawonga.
In fact I reckon I saw his young bloke wearing a Pigeons hat around during the summer.
True story/

No doubt Johnno is good for football and his work at the BM is excellent. Has a passion for the league and knows his stuff but like most of us, not everybody agrees with him and when he writes a story about a club that is negative they are going to respond.

Is the Albury blew because he has told the truth about some issues?????

Does he hate Lavi or just gets under Timba's nose????????

Does he not get on with Steak because he wrote negative articles about interleague coaching????????

If the young bloke was wearing a Pidgeons hat it would have been a freebie, certainly not from Jinksy though!!!!!!!!!

Hornie
5 Jul 2007, 19:06
1. jon mccormick
2. kade stevens
3. marcus mcmillan
4. ben beams
5. brendan van shaik

Is that you Brendan?????????????

Tigerspirit#21
5 Jul 2007, 19:51
1. jon mccormick
2. kade stevens
3. marcus mcmillan
4. ben beams
5. brendan van shaik

Yeah not a bad five more like it with Mcormick in it
where would jac ryan take place in the top ten?
i would take he would have to be in the top 10:thumbsu:

texas hold em
5 Jul 2007, 22:25
Yeah not a bad five more like it with Mcormick in it
where would jac ryan take place in the top ten?
i would take he would have to be in the top 10:thumbsu:
jac ryan otherwise known as jake ryan couldnt get a kick in lee freedmans stable. clearly i was not serious about brendan van shaik in the top 5 but my top 4 are as stands and i believe mccormick is the best player in the comp.
my top 10.
1. jon mccormick
2. kade stevens
3. marcus mcmillan
4. ben beams
5. matt shir
6. xavier leslie
7. andrew carey
8. matt pendergast
9. jake ryan
10. daniel leslie

my top 10 overrated players are as follows
1. mark doolan
2. brendan page
3. adam matthews
4. brendan van shaik
5. mark bush
6. anthony tucci
7. kyle raven
8. chris jackson
9. justin fulton
10. joel mackie

jimbob21
5 Jul 2007, 23:57
jac ryan otherwise known as jake ryan couldnt get a kick in lee freedmans stable. clearly i was not serious about brendan van shaik in the top 5 but my top 4 are as stands and i believe mccormick is the best player in the comp.
my top 10.
1. jon mccormick
2. kade stevens
3. marcus mcmillan
4. ben beams
5. matt shir
6. xavier leslie
7. andrew carey
8. matt pendergast
9. jake ryan
10. daniel leslie

my top 10 overrated players are as follows
1. mark doolan
2. brendan page
3. adam matthews
4. brendan van shaik
5. mark bush
6. anthony tucci
7. kyle raven
8. chris jackson
9. justin fulton
10. joel mackie

Mark Doolan number 1 overrated player in the comp.... You've gotta be joking, he cops a heavy tag week in, week out and still manages to average 30 plus possies a week in a team that has only won 2 games.
You're either blind Freddy or you dont know a thing about football. Mark Doolan would almost be leading the comp in clearances.
Get a brain.....

Bomber9
6 Jul 2007, 10:11
[quote=In the mix;8012534]I'd back my judgment against any other . The best players are the ones who can directly influence the result of a game. Getting 40 kicks means little if 20 of them are 10 metre pokes, sideways across half back or in the defensive 50m. Ala another former Wang player, the current coach!

ITM top 5:

Are you saying lappin was no good either; your credibility is starting to slip.

I will agree with 3 out of your top 5 with hoppa better than shir ( in my opinion) and I haven't seen Beams play this year but going off everybody else's comments I will give him benefit of doubt and put him in there with butler being my alternative.

In the mix
6 Jul 2007, 10:59
Getting 40 kicks means little if 20 of them are 10 metre pokes, sideways across half back or in the defensive 50m. Ala another former Wang player, the current coach!

I will agree with 3 out of your top 5 with hoppa better than shir ( in my opinion) and I haven't seen Beams play this year but going off everybody else's comments I will give him benefit of doubt and put him in there with butler being my alternative.[/quote]

I have never once said Lappin, or McCormick for that matter, was no good.
I have simply said Hoppa is a very overated footballer. I think I actually stated on this forum that he was a 'good player', but not half as good as he is made out to be. Especially by one DJ.
Lappin was very good at what he did - which was collect junk kicks in the defensive 50 or sheeping it across half back.
I think I could pick your credibilty apart Bomber if you gave me something to argue about. All the above is a non argument, no one can tell me Lappin didn't used to play like that. Some might like to call his type of player a 'Cat', but i'll leave that to others.
He was a good cat though.

Bomber9
6 Jul 2007, 12:11
Getting 40 kicks means little if 20 of them are 10 metre pokes, sideways across half back or in the defensive 50m. Ala another former Wang player, the current coach!

I have never once said Lappin, or McCormick for that matter, was no good.
I have simply said Hoppa is a very overated footballer. I think I actually stated on this forum that he was a 'good player', but not half as good as he is made out to be. Especially by one DJ.
Lappin was very good at what he did - which was collect junk kicks in the defensive 50 or sheeping it across half back.
I think I could pick your credibilty apart Bomber if you gave me something to argue about. All the above is a non argument, no one can tell me Lappin didn't used to play like that. Some might like to call his type of player a 'Cat', but i'll leave that to others.
He was a good cat though.

Every side needs blokes who can deliver the ball both of them are great kicks and creative. Will agree with you to a certain degree that they both picked up kicks across half back but most of the time the next kick is to the CHF or to a bloke who can put the ball into F.50. But I reckon they both get just as much from contested situations with blokes hanging off them tagging (which all good players have to put up with). I also have never said he is the best player in the league but most people on this forum have him in top 5 players. Can we all be wrong?

Ps Buckley does the same thing at the pies.

Clean Bowled
6 Jul 2007, 12:24
Can I pose a question to the mix master?
How many times has he seen Wang play this year?
He is pretty quick to bag people who have and question their judgment, but how many times has he seen them go around is critical to this whole argument.
I hope he is not basing his whole argument on one bad experience as an opposition player!!!!!!!

Clean Bowled
6 Jul 2007, 12:55
One other player we have all overlooked on our "best" list is Lance Oswald from Yarrawonga.
He was slaying them before he got injured.

switch the play
6 Jul 2007, 13:17
1. Ben Beams
2. Jon McCormick
3. Craig Ednie
4. Matt Shir
5. Adam Butler

Very little separates this group, but on match-winning ability alone I think Beams just gets the nod.Not disputing any of the players but from an impartial;spectator point of view i enjoy watching Butler the most.Always carries the footy and stands out every time i have watched him.If i have a choice to watch games i generally choose his game as he is super to watch.

indie
6 Jul 2007, 15:54
does anyone care about games this week. I think we have flogged who is the top five players in the league. The winners this week will be yarra and wodonga and in the match of the round the rovers to get over tigers in a tight one by a couple of goals. Any thoughts!!