View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

texas hold em
6 Jul 2007, 16:20
does anyone care about games this week. I think we have flogged who is the top five players in the league. The winners this week will be yarra and wodonga and in the match of the round the rovers to get over tigers in a tight one by a couple of goals. Any thoughts!!
the winners this week will be yarrawonga, albury and in match of the round raiders will upset wodonga

Clean Bowled
8 Jul 2007, 11:53
Hey Texas, I heard on radio yesterday Mark Doolan had 50 p for Raiders in their win over Wodonga.
The blokes quoted the Raiders stats people who said he had 33 kicks and 17 handballs and something like 11 tackles.
Good stats for an "over-rated" player would you agree?
Texas = poor judge.

In the mix
8 Jul 2007, 17:26
Every side needs blokes who can deliver the ball both of them are great kicks and creative. Will agree with you to a certain degree that they both picked up kicks across half back but most of the time the next kick is to the CHF or to a bloke who can put the ball into F.50. But I reckon they both get just as much from contested situations with blokes hanging off them tagging (which all good players have to put up with). I also have never said he is the best player in the league but most people on this forum have him in top 5 players. Can we all be wrong?

Ps Buckley does the same thing at the pies.

I absolutely, totally agree with you Bomber. Every side needs receivers. They can be the most damaging players if they play it right. John Hunt used to terrorise sides five years ago for Lavington!
In closing this argument and moving on, for the record I will state that I think Jon McCormick is a 'good' footballer. Read into what you will.

Hand Grenade
8 Jul 2007, 18:44
I am not in a position to argue who the best players in the O&M are becuase it sure isn't me and I doubt that it is anyone that has time to waste posting on here. Like myself I doubt that many posters were/are very good players (so making comments that are slanderous about a bloke is gutless and unsubstantial). What I was questioning was the comment about Craig Ednie. I didn't think there was any evidence to back up the feeble arguement that stated he went missing when the Pigeons are struggling. If you are going to make a comment like that, state your name and credentials or, keep your comments for Saturdays when can you hide behind the fence with a pie in your hand.

IS - Bighawk is a schoolboy Coreen League pest who when not talking rubbish on the coreen thread is questioning the abilities and crdentials of last year's O&M Medallist in Ednie but won't state his own. Sorry to say that he and a few mates on school holidays are treating some of these threads as a laugh - it must be better fun than those obscene phone calls schoolboys usually do. Take not notice and he might go away soon.

indie
8 Jul 2007, 20:32
good to see some upset results in round 12 in the leauge, which just shows how even it really is. Round 13 shapes as an interesting round and shape how the year pans out for clus as to where they finish, if clubs can continue there form from the previous round. Raiders to push yarra at home as they aren't in great form over the last month, Lavi and Wodonga both need to bounce back and get back on track, with the local derby of both Albury teams to be a tuff game with both teams coming of a lose and could be fighting for a top 3 spot, mertyleford playing home to wang will have to be on top of there game, and to finish off the round a tight one with rovers with winning form and back in the five against the roos getting players back and a win last week. Look forward to this week of footy.

Tigerrr_Uppercut
8 Jul 2007, 21:51
I absolutely, totally agree with you Bomber. Every side needs receivers. They can be the most damaging players if they play it right. John Hunt used to terrorise sides five years ago for Lavington!
In closing this argument and moving on, for the record I will state that I think Jon McCormick is a 'good' footballer. Read into what you will.

Yeah, thats true McCormick is by far and away the best 'receiver' in the comp..

vantheman32
8 Jul 2007, 22:27
hows steve mcintyre and marcus webb going for wang rovers?

rowger
9 Jul 2007, 16:11
Is Mark Doolan a genuine contender for the Morris Medal? The lad seems to be having a ripper of a year. Have the Raiders won enough games to allow this?
For those in the know, are the Raiders improving? They seem to be.

rowger
9 Jul 2007, 16:15
the winners this week will be yarrawonga, albury and in match of the round raiders will upset wodonga
Great pick with the Raiders Tex! You must have some inside knowledge. Am i correct in saying this? Do you like sausages?

texas hold em
9 Jul 2007, 17:37
Great pick with the Raiders Tex! You must have some inside knowledge. Am i correct in saying this? Do you like sausages?
texas = good judge
no inside knowledge just a good judge of local footy

Clean Bowled
9 Jul 2007, 18:15
Texas = FIGJAM

interchange specialist
10 Jul 2007, 13:39
Can anyone post a summary of the article about the Pigeons that was in todays BM?

Where It All Began
10 Jul 2007, 13:47
Is Mark Doolan a genuine contender for the Morris Medal? The lad seems to be having a ripper of a year. Have the Raiders won enough games to allow this?
For those in the know, are the Raiders improving? They seem to be.

Regardless of how many wins they have, if you're picking up 35+ possessions every week, you've got to be getting votes almost every game. Based on that i'd say he's over the line as medal winner.
Having said that, let me say this, does anyone seriously believe he picked up 50 possessions in those conditions? They have a habit of counting by 2s at raiderland, why do you think his total possessions are always an even number:D

KokodaMidget
10 Jul 2007, 14:54
Regardless of how many wins they have, if you're picking up 35+ possessions every week, you've got to be getting votes almost every game. Based on that i'd say he's over the line as medal winner.
Having said that, let me say this, does anyone seriously believe he picked up 50 possessions in those conditions? They have a habit of counting by 2s at raiderland, why do you think his total possessions are always an even number:D

Yeah don't reckon he would have had 50, probably closer to 60, lol. Seriously, he's a lot more likely to get 50 touches in those conditions than you, or i, or most players, because the conditions lend themselves to plenty of stoppages, which he is a king at.

rowger
10 Jul 2007, 16:21
Texas = FIGJAM
I am hearing you CB. I have a sneaking suspicion that our old mate Tex(FIGJAM) knows a little more about the boys at Biralee Park than the average bear.

rowger
10 Jul 2007, 16:23
texas = good judge
no inside knowledge just a good judge of local footy
Texas=Tool

Tigerrr_Uppercut
10 Jul 2007, 17:54

Raiders really need to tell the parents of the two 7 y.o dislexic kids who do the stats each week to give the home schooling a rest coz it just aint working! Its laughable, it really is.

JOHN DENVER
11 Jul 2007, 10:59
Raiders really need to tell the parents of the two 7 y.o dislexic kids who do the stats each week to give the home schooling a rest coz it just aint working! Its laughable, it really is.
they obviously count training during the week

bushfooty
11 Jul 2007, 15:11
Can anyone give me a run down on how Cal McClay (I think Albury Tigers) is going or if he is still playing?

Where It All Began
11 Jul 2007, 16:56
Can anyone give me a run down on how Cal McClay (I think Albury Tigers) is going or if he is still playing?

Indeed, Cal is still playing, holding down the number 1 ruck position, and at the moment would be rating well in B&F calculations.

He is certainly one player who gives his all every time he runs onto the ground. I just get a bit concerned when he has to kick it:D

Seriously though, having a ripper year!

bushfooty
11 Jul 2007, 17:11
Good to hear...is he still mad on the footy field?

How are Albury going this year?

Where It All Began
11 Jul 2007, 17:37

He has played with controlled aggression this season, but yes, you could say he is still mad (sorry Cal:o)

The Tigers are going along nicely at the moment, sitting 4th, 1 game clear of Rovers and 2 clear of Wodonga. They lost 4 of their first 5 and then won 6 straight, only to lose to Rovers in a close one last week, I think that win gave Rovers 6 wins on the trot after losing their first 6.

Albury have a huge match this weekend against North Alb, who are 3rd one game clear of the Tigers.

forward pocket
11 Jul 2007, 21:44
He has played with controlled aggression this season, but yes, you could say he is still mad (sorry Cal:o)

The Tigers are going along nicely at the moment, sitting 4th, 1 game clear of Rovers and 2 clear of Wodonga. They lost 4 of their first 5 and then won 6 straight, only to lose to Rovers in a close one last week, I think that win gave Rovers 6 wins on the trot after losing their first 6.

Albury have a huge match this weekend against North Alb, who are 3rd one game clear of the Tigers.

Thanks WIAB. Finally someone posts something worth reading. All the rubbish about Doolan we seemed to forget to discuss any of the games, best players and also the up coming week. From what WIAB says Albury V North should be a great game this week and very important to both clubs.

Any other good games on. Sounds like a few teams are starting to fight it out for the 5. Who will and who won't make it??

JOHN DENVER
11 Jul 2007, 21:52
Thanks WIAB. Finally someone posts something worth reading. All the rubbish about Doolan we seemed to forget to discuss any of the games, best players and also the up coming week. From what WIAB says Albury V North should be a great game this week and very important to both clubs.

Any other good games on. Sounds like a few teams are starting to fight it out for the 5. Who will and who won't make it??
its really hard to pick FP cos wang and yarra are so far ahead of the rest other games are a raffle really. i still reckon lavi might get the 5th spot and win some games on the way home. maybe 8 wins and a good percentage will be enough to earn a finals berth this year cos the comp is very even. wang rovers seem to be playing above themselves in my opinion but when i saw them it was earlier in the year. i dont think corowa can make it and wodonga have lost all form and look gone.. however anything can happen

Hand Grenade
11 Jul 2007, 22:39

A bit more controlled than when he was over at the Bay (or in Bali for that matter) .... Good to see that a bloke like to Cal who came into senior footy in what is much lower league (NSW Sth Coast) can step up to the O&M. A good sign for any other young bloke in the lower leagues that if they get fit and with the right club they can play a high level.

Dees08
12 Jul 2007, 12:15

Yeah Should be an interesting round this week Albury-North Albury fighting for that double chance. Yarra (missing several key players) taking on a enthusiastic raiders coming off a massive win over arch rivals Wodonga last week. Magpies (Also with share of injury worries) against Myrtleford who last week pushed the reinging champs. The inform rovers going for 7 on the trot up against Corowa who must win or its season over. The Struggling Wodonga against the equally struggling Lavington, the loser of this may also be gone. Very much a round that will shape the season for many clubs.

Im going to tip; Albury 8pts need to win or face tough task to get 3rd, Yarra 25pts, Just a little too classy and polished for the improveing raiders
Wangaratta 42pts, Same as Yarra
Rovers 18pts, Form to good to look past
Lavingtons 5pts, Very tight game could go either way

JOHN DENVER
12 Jul 2007, 16:51

cal mcclay is about as aggresive as aaron fiora on the footy field

KokodaMidget
12 Jul 2007, 17:06

But is he as aggressive as that hard nut Brendan van Schaik....!

JOHN DENVER
12 Jul 2007, 17:19
But is he as aggressive as that hard nut Brendan van Schaik....!
van shaik is in a league of his own when it comes to aggression on the footy field but mclay is a very similar player

KokodaMidget
12 Jul 2007, 18:07
van shaik is in a league of his own when it comes to aggression on the footy field but mclay is a very similar player

Good point John Denver, word of advice to you, keep out of planes for a while........

backmanbrotherhood13
12 Jul 2007, 18:14
just interested to see how ex wagga tigers lads r traveling the likes of jackson kahldefelts and doswell m fife.. heard b doswell has been playin very well.

and if wagga tigers applied for ovens and murray how could you see the application going

ClaudeVonStroke
12 Jul 2007, 18:19
heard news that albury have been having talks
with gun footballer from the WAFL
Earvin Johnson

This bloke can play and will tear shreds off of all oposition sides.

Hitman01
12 Jul 2007, 22:11
Nice cheap shot John Denver. You obviously had your colours lowered by the big man. Maybe you should put your name out there so we can see how tough you are or do you put yourself in the same category as Fiora and Van Shaik.

Here It Is
13 Jul 2007, 00:59
heard news that albury have been having talks
with gun footballer from the WAFL
Earvin Johnson

This bloke can play and will tear shreds off of all oposition sides.

Wouldn't be hard to guess his nickname!!!!!

JOHN DENVER
13 Jul 2007, 10:11
just interested to see how ex wagga tigers lads r traveling the likes of jackson kahldefelts and doswell m fife.. heard b doswell has been playin very well.

and if wagga tigers applied for ovens and murray how could you see the application going
The kalefeldts and matt fyfe have been good contributors for the raiders this season and have contributed to their improved perfomances on the previous 2 seasons. on the other hand i would suspect wodonga would be disappointed with the 2 jackson boys who started the year off ok as did wodonga but havent had a kick in 6 weeks.
i havent seen wagga tigers play but i've heard from people that have played there and now play o&m that they would probably struggle to match it with better sides

JOHN DENVER
13 Jul 2007, 10:15
Nice cheap shot John Denver. You obviously had your colours lowered by the big man. Maybe you should put your name out there so we can see how tough you are or do you put yourself in the same category as Fiora and Van Shaik.
if your real name is hitman01 then i will tell you my real name, cant really work out what your talking about me having cheap shots, i'm guessing you dont consider fiora or van shaik tough players? this would mean your having cheap shots at them would it not?

Run Straight
13 Jul 2007, 11:27
if your real name is hitman01 then i will tell you my real name, cant really work out what your talking about me having cheap shots, i'm guessing you dont consider fiora or van shaik tough players? this would mean your having cheap shots at them would it not?

I don't think anyone is under any illusions as to how Aaron Fiora plays the game. Not even Aaron Fiora.

rockstarr
13 Jul 2007, 12:31
The kalefeldts and matt fyfe have been good contributors for the raiders this season and have contributed to their improved perfomances on the previous 2 seasons. on the other hand i would suspect wodonga would be disappointed with the 2 jackson boys who started the year off ok as did wodonga but havent had a kick in 6 weeks.
i havent seen wagga tigers play but i've heard from people that have played there and now play o&m that they would probably struggle to match it with better sides

Ye i think the Wagga Tigers would struggle in the O&M as they are only 3rd in the RFL and they struggled for years in AFL Canberra which would be of similar standard may i suggest?

rowger
13 Jul 2007, 13:26

The word from the "Dog Kennel" is that they have been extremly dissapointed with Doswell. They are paying him big bucks and my informant tells me he does not seem interested in actually playing.

rowger
13 Jul 2007, 13:42
Can anyone confirm or deny that Jarrod Twitt was sacked then reappointed during the week. If so what were the reasons?

JOHN DENVER
13 Jul 2007, 14:07
i have a sneaking suspicion that the bulldogs were reactive to the zero tolerance drug policy, rather than the pro-active approach that they proclaim. can anyone else shed any light on this situation?

interchange specialist
13 Jul 2007, 17:32
i have a sneaking suspicion that the bulldogs were reactive to the zero tolerance drug policy, rather than the pro-active approach that they proclaim. can anyone else shed any light on this situation?

I would be careful about what you are implying there JD.

Where It All Began
13 Jul 2007, 17:56

You're so modest, Cal:D

Tigerrr_Uppercut
13 Jul 2007, 20:00
Wouldn't be hard to guess his nickname!!!!!

what, jonno?

doosch..

The Toecutter
13 Jul 2007, 21:27
i have a sneaking suspicion that the bulldogs were reactive to the zero tolerance drug policy, rather than the pro-active approach that they proclaim. can anyone else shed any light on this situation?Heard at least 6 players have cause for concern with the club's zero tolerance policy but a couple of them are very high profile so it will be interesting to see how it all pans out:confused:

Tigerrr_Uppercut
13 Jul 2007, 23:22
You're so modest, Cal:D

Heard a little whisper that is gunna shock the o&m in the comming weeks, apparently there is a reasonable profile player north of the border, considering publicly comming out... anyone shed any light on this?

Here It Is
14 Jul 2007, 10:02
what, jonno?

doosch..

Wrong. Obviously know nothing outside your little world.

Tur d Sandwich.

daisy_train
14 Jul 2007, 11:00
Heard a little whisper that is gunna shock the o&m in the comming weeks, apparently there is a reasonable profile player north of the border, considering publicly comming out... anyone shed any light on this?

I heard the Border Mail is all over it.
Apparently they have a "super sleuth" currently investigating.
Might be one for harsh but fair to tell us about.

Clean Bowled
16 Jul 2007, 13:05
Been a big week for red herrings, ie: proposed drug policies and now gay footballers.
What next to come out of the OM.
The Border Mail would be sitting back laughing all the way if they were any truth to these stories.

Winmar_07
16 Jul 2007, 15:40
Been a big week for red herrings, ie: proposed drug policies and now gay footballers.
What next to come out of the OM.
The Border Mail would be sitting back laughing all the way if they were any truth to these stories.

Anyway back to a bit of footy! How are the top 10 players going this time of year, with that voting system that guy does? Please inform!!:thumbsu:

Here It Is
16 Jul 2007, 19:34
Anyway back to a bit of footy! How are the top 10 players going this time of year, with that voting system that guy does? Please inform!!:thumbsu:

Been a bit snowed under lately to get them posted Nicky, but they will appear up to date this week.

footy.mad
16 Jul 2007, 21:30
does any1 agree with me that jon mcCormack should be playing afl or a higher level that o&m!!!!

because i cerntainly do!!!

Here It Is
17 Jul 2007, 03:02
does any1 agree with me that jon mcCormack should be playing afl or a higher level that o&m!!!!

His delisting from Carlton beggared belief at the time - I don't know what he did to fall out of favour but he looked like he was going to make it.
Unfortunately I don't think he will ever get another chance now due to his knee.

BlindTurn
17 Jul 2007, 15:20
His delisting from Carlton beggared belief at the time - I don't know what he did to fall out of favour but he looked like he was going to make it.
Unfortunately I don't think he will ever get another chance now due to his knee.
I think his height had fair bit to do with it.

Here It Is
17 Jul 2007, 16:29
I think his height had fair bit to do with it.

Didn't matter when he played half a dozen blinders the previous year. Ball magnets don't grow on trees.
Blues made one of their many recent Blues on this one methinks.

rowger
17 Jul 2007, 16:35
Didn't matter when he played half a dozen blinders the previous year. Ball magnets don't grow on trees.
How old is John boys? Is it unrealistic for him to be drafted again?

BlindTurn
17 Jul 2007, 16:45
I dont think they did, we have different opinions. Im tipping it would have been out of Carrazzo and McCormack to be on the list and by looking at his year, Im tipping the Blues fans would be then happy with Carrazzo. Couldnt see McCormack getting a game before Carrazzo, Stevens, Houlihan, Scotland, Gibbs, Murphy in the position that he would be playing.

A more then handy O&M player though.

footy.mad
17 Jul 2007, 21:11
I dont think they did, we have different opinions. Im tipping it would have been out of Carrazzo and McCormack to be on the list and by looking at his year, Im tipping the Blues fans would be then happy with Carrazzo. Couldnt see McCormack getting a game before Carrazzo, Stevens, Houlihan, Scotland, Gibbs, Murphy in the position that he would be playing.

A more then handy O&M player though.

carrazzo wasnt even playing at carlton when jon was at carlton!!! carlton mad a big mistake letting him go ill tell ya!!!! hes defintally abit above O&M i think!!!! but there is also a few player such as ednie, stvens, shmit. that prob should be playing in a higer level!!!!

Snakeman66
17 Jul 2007, 21:12

David Teague won Carltons 2004 B & F and Pagan hasn't played at all this year. Obviously no longer a Pagan favourite also.

Tigerrr_Uppercut
17 Jul 2007, 21:30
carrazzo wasnt even playing at carlton when jon was at carlton!!! carlton mad a big mistake letting him go ill tell ya!!!! hes defintally abit above O&M i think!!!! but there is also a few player such as ednie, stvens, shmit. that prob should be playing in a higer level!!!!

Yeah, Carrazzo was on Geelongs list a few years back, but got delisted. He may average 20 - 25 disposals a game this year, but out of that 20-25 he turns the ball over 15-20 times. You just cant have your prime movers turning the ball over time and time again, one of the many reasons carlton is still down the bottom

footy.mad
17 Jul 2007, 22:33
How old is John boys? Is it unrealistic for him to be drafted again?

um think he would have to be 21-23 id say!!! if he really wanted to have a crack at it again no i dont think it is unrealistic hes a very good player as i hope use all know!!!!

Aaron Fiora
17 Jul 2007, 22:42
Don't know whats going on with all the cheap shots at Aaron Fiora its obvious that i'm soo mean i make medicine sick.

How can you compare me to the likes of Cal Mclay and Brendon Van Shaik (squibs).
It would be better comparing me to the likes of Glen Archer in terms of courage because it is obvious that he doesn't compare with me in ability.

P.S That John Denver is full of shit!

interchange specialist
18 Jul 2007, 01:16
Don't know whats going on with all the cheap shots at Aaron Fiora its obvious that i'm soo mean i make medicine sick.

How can you compare me to the likes of Cal Mclay and Brendon Van Shaik (squibs).
It would be better comparing me to the likes of Glen Archer in terms of courage because it is obvious that he doesn't compare with me in ability.

Very good quote taken from an all time great movie.:thumbsu:

In the mix
18 Jul 2007, 11:41
Yeah, Carrazzo was on Geelongs list a few years back, but got delisted. He may average 20 - 25 disposals a game this year, but out of that 20-25 he turns the ball over 15-20 times. You just cant have your prime movers turning the ball over time and time again, one of the many reasons carlton is still down the bottom

You blokes are absolutely kidding yourselves? Are you all serious or taking the pi$$? Have a look at McCormick, and then have a look at the midfielders currrently running around at league level. It's like comparing silk and sandpaper!
It's Ovens and Murray footy guys, get real!!!!!!!!!!!

Hornie
18 Jul 2007, 11:54
um think he would have to be 21-23 id say!!! if he really wanted to have a crack at it again no i dont think it is unrealistic hes a very good player as i hope use all know!!!!

Born 26/3/1981

Dees08
18 Jul 2007, 12:16
You blokes are absolutely kidding yourselves? Are you all serious or taking the pi$$? Have a look at McCormick, and then have a look at the midfielders currrently running around at league level. It's like comparing silk and sandpaper!

ITM you are an absolute negitive fool. Every post you write on this forum is downgrading a particular player im guessing you are probably just another O and M player that rates yourself alot higher than you actually are and gets jealous when ever people talk up a great player

My Guess is In the Mix = Myrtleford Reserves Player

Mongoose
18 Jul 2007, 17:30

Pretty sure if mccormack wanted to be playing at a higher level then he would be. Obviously he does not, that is why he is playing in the o & m.

Falkroo
18 Jul 2007, 17:53
I noted on the O&M website that Chris Kelly was named 4th best for Albury on the weekend. I'm sure even Chris would concede that he was lucky to be named 4th, in fact wasn't in the best 15.

Albury can't seriously intend to go into a finals series with this bloke, and in fact, they may not make it, should they keep playing 1 man short as they are doing. Someone should tell Chris that the SPECTATORS STAND OUTSIDE THE FIELD OF PLAY, NOT INSIDE!

Tigerrr_Uppercut
18 Jul 2007, 18:07

aaron fiora's mum could land a better tackle and hip'n'shoulder than aaron fiora, with two broken arms.

big fella 37.5
18 Jul 2007, 19:10

mate i think ur the one kidding yourself, uv obviously got a severe lack of knowledge of football, and leagues. the fact of the matter is om is prob in the top 10 leagues in australia behind obviously AFL, VFL SANFL and not too far behind WAFL from what iv been told.
and for one player (and there is a few rich prob made a mistake with ednie too) to be dominating the league as much as say mcormick, and ryan, then they should definitely be looked at.
PS. give u guys the hot tip (this is just me talking out my ass) lee schmidt=sydney rookie at the end of the year...

Hitman01
18 Jul 2007, 21:25
mate i think ur the one kidding yourself, uv obviously got a severe lack of knowledge of football, and leagues. the fact of the matter is om is prob in the top 10 leagues in australia behind obviously AFL, VFL SANFL and not too far behind WAFL from what iv been told.
and for one player (and there is a few rich prob made a mistake with ednie too) to be dominating the league as much as say mcormick, and ryan, then they should definitely be looked at.
PS. give u guys the hot tip (this is just me talking out my ass) lee schmidt=sydney rookie at the end of the year...
Yeah i heard lee Schmidt got asked to train with saints mid last yr but declined due to work and family. Any truth behind this? good honest player i reckon and would be a big loss for corowa if he went elsewhere.

rowger
18 Jul 2007, 21:49
That tip might not be such a bad one big fella. Apparently there are atleast two AFL clubs that have come to watch him play this year. I think Nth Melbourne was one, not 100% with that but.

JOHN DENVER
19 Jul 2007, 10:17

this is true

In the mix
19 Jul 2007, 13:23

By 'league' I mean AFL you twirp. There is no doubt if Hoppa wanted to play at any state comp in the country he could, so its just a silly question. Mongoose hit it on the head by saying if he wanted to play SANFL, VFL etc, he could. He's obviously happy at Wang.
And he obviously has been a very good VFL player when he was at Carlton.

But compare him to the midfielders running around at 'AFL' level at the moment, and he doesn't cut the mustard! That was my point.
Carlton got rid of him for a reason....

And lets talk about a lack of knowledge..... To say the O&M is only marginally behind the WAFL in standard just re-iterates my sentiments that a lot of people on this site are absolutely 'kidding themselves'! Once again, get real!

Falkroo
19 Jul 2007, 13:38

Your ass is sniffing the good oil. Word is Sydney have already approached Schmidt, but he declined the offer, playing O&M would be a higher standard than Sydney 2s. Family may be the only thing stopping him, country boy through and through.

BestOnGround
19 Jul 2007, 13:41
Word out of the Roos is that Brad Campbell is on the verge of being sacked due to a player dispute. Word also has it that Jason Wild from Yarrawonga has been approached about taking on the job.

Any truth ??:cool:

Clean Bowled
19 Jul 2007, 15:07
One of the most ridiculous things I've heard.
Do you really think Corowa-Rutherglen would sack Brad Campbell when his old man is the president?
I think not.
There is some seriously bad info getting posted on this site.

JOHN DENVER
19 Jul 2007, 15:23
Do you really think Corowa-Rutherglen would sack Brad Campbell when his old man is the president?
I think not.
BRAD CAMPBELL WONT BE COACHING COROWA NEXT YEAR

rowger
19 Jul 2007, 15:44
I think not.
Settle down Clean Bowled! There is definatley some issues in the Corowa camp. He wont be there next year, as a coach anyway.

hammer_time
19 Jul 2007, 15:59
Word also has it that Jason Wild from Yarrawonga has been approached about taking on the job.

Don't know much about it but I doubt he would leave to coach Yarrawonga's biggest rival.

Winmar_07
19 Jul 2007, 17:25
Don't know much about it but I doubt he would leave to coach Yarrawonga's biggest rival.

Rumour has it that one of Corowa's fav sons the last premiership coach could quite possibly coach the Roos next seasons!

Peter Tossel any one else heard about this? Campbell is in strife! Also heard corowa are getting a number of good players next year obviousy through Raines and Ryans connections they could be a chance of improving immensely. Lets face it this year they are in a bit of trouble!
I believe the roos have two of the best midfielders in the O&M for that point in the duo of Raines and Ryan they just need some cattle around them. :)

Junkie
19 Jul 2007, 18:15

I'm not too sure about that comment big fella...from what I've been told, Ryan played mostly in the two's when at Subiaco in the WAFL and has been a standout in the O&M this year. As good a player as Ryan has been in the O&M I can't see how any league club would be looking at him.

Paul Kaos
19 Jul 2007, 18:46
I'm not too sure about that comment big fella...from what I've been told, Ryan played mostly in the two's when at Subiaco in the WAFL and has been a standout in the O&M this year. As good a player as Ryan has been in the O&M I can't see how any league club would be looking at him.

Especially seeing as he won't play again this year........shoulder reco!

Clean Bowled
19 Jul 2007, 20:11
I don't doubt Brad Campbell won't be in charge next year, but strongly doubt he would be SACKED.
I reckon he will do the right thing and step aside and let the club get on with the business of seeking a replacement.

Here It Is
19 Jul 2007, 23:01
It's been a while but the rankings are back!

My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at July 19.

1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 90
2. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 70
3. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 69
4. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
4. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 66
6. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 60
7. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 59
7. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 59
9. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 55
10. Xavier Leslie (Yarrawonga) 54

roast beef roll
19 Jul 2007, 23:09
I don't doubt Brad Campbell won't be in charge next year, but strongly doubt he would be SACKED.
I reckon he will do the right thing and step aside and let the club get on with the business of seeking a replacement.

sacked/stepped aside, who cares how it's put, think we can agree he won't be there. tossol would be a good get.

What about other clubs? are there any possible changes for next year.

Yarra - Seymour, first year in this dig, got the cattle, staggering at the moment. will they keep him?

Wang - Lappin, surely again.

North - Hodgson again, unless myrt make a good offer :D

Tigers - Carroll in his second year, seems to be doing ok, a good finals campaign would help.

Rovers - MacNamara they seem to have got a game plan that suits there list and are motoring. I reckon they'd keep him.

Wodonga - Twitt, 2nd year. will he be there in 08, i say no.

Corowa - Read previous posts

Lavi - Sanson 45th year, been a poor year out there. will they look elsewhere or stick with him.

Raiders - Way/Twycross, first year duo, poor year but have improved and had a lot of ground to make up, stay with them.

Myrt - MacFarlane, first year in the hills, tough gig considering the turnover from last year. he'll be there again.

These are my thoughts, not based on any knowledge or rumours, feel free to add or argue?

Darc21
20 Jul 2007, 00:08
sacked/stepped aside, who cares how it's put, think we can agree he won't be there. tossol would be a good get.

What about other clubs? are there any possible changes for next year.

Yarra - Seymour, first year in this dig, got the cattle, staggering at the moment. will they keep him?

Wang - Lappin, surely again.

North - Hodgson again, unless myrt make a good offer :D

Tigers - Carroll in his second year, seems to be doing ok, a good finals campaign would help.

Rovers - MacNamara they seem to have got a game plan that suits there list and are motoring. I reckon they'd keep him.

Wodonga - Twitt, 2nd year. will he be there in 08, i say no.

Corowa - Read previous posts

Lavi - Sanson 45th year, been a poor year out there. will they look elsewhere or stick with him.

Raiders - Way/Twycross, first year duo, poor year but have improved and had a lot of ground to make up, stay with them.

Myrt - MacFarlane, first year in the hills, tough gig considering the turnover from last year. he'll be there again.

These are my thoughts, not based on any knowledge or rumours, feel free to add or argue?

John McNamara will be at Rovers again next year. Has alot of respect from the playing group and despite not pulling in the massive amounts of recruits like other clubs, has been able to get the best out of the list. Myrtleford president quoted in the Border Mail last week that the job is McFarlane's next year if he wants it but Ben Beams has the spot secured for him for 2009 and beyond. Whether Jock will continue as a playing coach next season is debatable but I'm fairly sure he will still be at the helm. Still on Myrtleford, I have been disappointed with reports on the Martinello boys this season. The old man played against their father and had big wraps for him. I believe they also had very good years in the GV for Benalla last year. Is it just a case of the O&M being stronger than the GV and them not being able to adjust to the rise in skill level, or is it something else?

PS. Good to see my beloved Hawks flying high like I always knew they could!

Bright Boy
20 Jul 2007, 10:07
Hard to gauge the Martinello boys form this year they have been named in the best about half a dozen times, but how accurate this is, based on the poor form from the Saints and the drop in ability from the top 6 or so.

Ive seen only a couple of games and thought Yoda did a good job on McCormick first time around but not so good on the weekend.

Will be interesting to see if he has first crack on Stevens tomorrow.

With the pending recruitment of new players for next year, it will interesting to see how they go in an 'improved squad".

Winmar_07
20 Jul 2007, 11:25

I think what some of you people don't realise is some players playing in the O & M are not neccesarily what clubs are looking for. The system has changed and they would rather develop kids straight out of the u18 system. No doubting that these elite players are quality in the O&M but the higher the competition the tougher it gets. O&M is no where near the state comps such as SANFL or VFL which are the premier comps outside the AFL. The other thing is leg speed you need to have it at the top level and there are probably only 2 or 3 midfielders in the O&M with that explosive pace and skill. I will name a few Ednie, Mc Cormick, Raines, and Beams as a forward!

People rave about Doolan, Ryan, Carey these types they are quality O&M i players but lack the polish of the others. In saying that every side needs these players, but when your talking about AFL level the guys mentioned above would be the ones you would want to recruit.:thumbsu:

raidrboy
20 Jul 2007, 14:02
Word out of the Roos is that Brad Campbell is on the verge of being sacked due to a player dispute. Word also has it that Jason Wild from Yarrawonga has been approached about taking on the job.

Brad Campbell will step down as coach of Corowa-Rutherglen at the end of this season citing business and family commitments as his reason.

Bright Boy
20 Jul 2007, 15:50
Raider Boy - Andrew Johnston & Leigh Corcoran. Do these guys come from the EFL. I recall an Andrew Johnston was captain of Scoresby FC a few years back and Leigh Corcoran running around for Boronia. Are these the same guys?

JOHN DENVER
20 Jul 2007, 17:17
Raider Boy - Andrew Johnston & Leigh Corcoran. Do these guys come from the EFL. I recall an Andrew Johnston was captain of Scoresby FC a few years back and Leigh Corcoran running around for Boronia. Are these the same guys?
it would be a different andrew johnson as the one at raiders is only about 19 and came from ganmain. not sure if leigh corcoran played at boronia but i think he may have played for petoria

Bright Boy
20 Jul 2007, 17:47
it would be a different andrew johnson as the one at raiders is only about 19 and came from ganmain. not sure if leigh corcoran played at boronia but i think he may have played for petoria

If he was from Boronia, he would be about 32/33

Tigerrr_Uppercut
20 Jul 2007, 18:58
I think not.

Hahaha do u feel like the biggest fool in the universe now? you sure look like it!

Morales
20 Jul 2007, 19:41
How has Trenfield been going for Wang? Reading some of the posts I see he is travelling really well. Used to watch him when he was down at Geelong in the VFL. Quality player with a big engine....

raidrboy
20 Jul 2007, 21:18

As John Denver stated Johnston is from Ganmain and Corcoran is former junior at Raiders who played with the Murray Kangaroos and Williamstown before returning to Raiders.

rowger
20 Jul 2007, 23:05
I heard from a Wodonga supporter that Twitty has told them he is gone in 2008. Apparently heading to West Adelaide to join Hollands & McCormack.
Any possible replacements at Martin Park?

Hitman01
20 Jul 2007, 23:24
I heard from a Wodonga supporter that Twitty has told them he is gone in 2008. Apparently heading to West Adelaide to join Hollands & McCormack.
Any possible replacements at Martin Park?
I cant see anyone on the bulldogs playing list taking over from Twitt. Bob Craig would have to be in the running and corey lambert could be an outside chance.

godogsgo
21 Jul 2007, 00:27
Would be good to see Bob Craig do it just to see if he can coach a side that is not full of guns. Every one keeps saying he is so good i would like to see how he would go. Not saying he is not a good coach by the way.

NSWelshman
21 Jul 2007, 02:00
You Lavi boys, how is Mr Bunyan going there, see he is finally being picked in the centre more regularly, is he your clubs the pick up of the season or what, and how did yous track him down from Hay. You Lavi boys have a nack of draining the NSW of its talent over the years