View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

godogsgo
21 Jul 2007, 09:58
I am not a lavi boy but have seen them play about 4 or 5 times this year.And from what i have seen he is just a player at O&M level if they had a top 3 side he would maybe come of the bench mabye. From what i have seen he has a go tho.

l

raidrboy
21 Jul 2007, 20:04
I heard from a Wodonga supporter that Twitty has told them he is gone in 2008. Apparently heading to West Adelaide to join Hollands & McCormack.
Any possible replacements at Martin Park?

I heard that Simon Bone might be a contender!!!

Tigerrr_Uppercut
21 Jul 2007, 20:57
Would be good to see Bob Craig do it just to see if he can coach a side that is not full of guns. Every one keeps saying he is so good i would like to see how he would go. Not saying he is not a good coach by the way.

he coached yarra for more than one year, brainiac

Tigerrr_Uppercut
21 Jul 2007, 21:01
As John Denver stated Johnston is from Ganmain and Corcoran is former junior at Raiders who played with the Murray Kangaroos and Williamstown before returning to Raiders.

Heard that kurt gowers snatched it today? big dummy spit in the rooms after the game, sick of not gettin much of a go under way!! Back page monday?

godogsgo
22 Jul 2007, 15:23
he coached yarra for more than one year, brainiac
Sorry Tigerrr_Uppercut, I thought you might be smart enough to read between the lines. Obviously I was wrong!
So I will try and make it as clear as I can for you. Ok BRAINIAC?
Now, I did not once say that he only coached Yarrawonga for one year. He actually coached for four years and in the first two years he had ok sides but did not make the finals. During the third year the first half of that year was s**t and they ended the year ok, but did not make finals.
Then the fourth year rolled around and we all know about their recruiting spree! As we know, they recruited a team full of guns (as I quoted before), and we all know the end result in 2007.
If you've heard Bob Craig speak more than once and if you have spoken to any players who played at Yarrawonga under Bob Craig (and not just the ones who missed out), you would be like a lot of others in the O & M, who would like to see if he can actually coach a "middle of the ladder team." Hopefully this is clear for you now, BRAINIAC!

Tigerrr_Uppercut
22 Jul 2007, 20:02
Sorry Tigerrr_Uppercut, I thought you might be smart enough to read between the lines. Obviously I was wrong!

So I will try and make it as clear as I can for you. Ok BRAINIAC?

Now, I did not once say that he only coached Yarrawonga for one year. He actually coached for four years and in the first two years he had ok sides but did not make the finals. During the third year the first half of that year was s**t and they ended the year ok, but did not make finals.

Then the fourth year rolled around and we all know about their recruiting spree! As we know, they recruited a team full of guns (as I quoted before), and we all know the end result in 2007.

If you've heard Bob Craig speak more than once and if you have spoken to any players who played at Yarrawonga under Bob Craig (and not just the ones who missed out), you would be like a lot of others in the O & M, who would like to see if he can actually coach a "middle of the ladder team." Hopefully this is clear for you now, BRAINIAC!

hey lady, better stay off the computer when it that time of the month, perhaps...

godogsgo
22 Jul 2007, 21:10
hey lady, better stay off the computer when it that time of the month, perhaps...

Did you think of that come back all by yourself ? Well done sport.

rowger
22 Jul 2007, 21:54
I heard that Simon Bone might be a contender!!!
I know that Bone is seeking employment in QLD ts the moment Raider Boy. I reckon Wodonga would benifit from replacing Twitt with an outsider.

Clean Bowled
23 Jul 2007, 12:01
I think the Twitt rumours are just that, rumours.
Why would he walk away from a club where he has got one year to run on his contract?
Wodonga is like a lot of clubs only couple of guns away from being a serious challenger provided they can keep the guns they got at the moment (I speak of Shir, Bradshaw and Twitty when he is fully fit).
David Antonowicz is coming good as is Brett Doswell who was shaping up as one of the most over-rated pick-ups this year.
Josh Walker plays his best footy on a half-back flank and nowhere else and I think Wodonga have finally conceded this after trying to make him into a midfielder where he gets lost in traffic and doesn't have an impact.
The Jackson brothers are okay, but have come to the OM 4 years too late.

rowger
23 Jul 2007, 13:26
I think the Twitt rumours are just that, rumours.
Why would he walk away from a club where he has got one year to run on his contract?
Wodonga is like a lot of clubs only couple of guns away from being a serious challenger provided they can keep the guns they got at the moment (I speak of Shir, Bradshaw and Twitty when he is fully fit).
David Antonowicz is coming good as is Brett Doswell who was shaping up as one of the most over-rated pick-ups this year.
Josh Walker plays his best footy on a half-back flank and nowhere else and I think Wodonga have finally conceded this after trying to make him into a midfielder where he gets lost in traffic and doesn't have an impact.
The Jackson brothers are okay, but have come to the OM 4 years too late.
I can tell you now CB. Twitt will be gone in 2008. Trust me!

Clean Bowled
23 Jul 2007, 13:59
Fair enough, I've heard the rumours as well, but there is a fair reason to stay I would have thought.

JOHN DENVER
23 Jul 2007, 17:37
I can tell you now CB. Twitt will be gone in 2008. Trust me!
what would you know gecko?

BestOnGround
23 Jul 2007, 19:49
I heard from a Wodonga supporter that Twitty has told them he is gone in 2008. Apparently heading to West Adelaide to join Hollands & McCormack.
Any possible replacements at Martin Park?

Bob Craig a certainty. Was guaranteed the 2008 job, when he stood down as Yarra's coach. Wodonga's favourite son will lead the Bulldogs in 2008:cool:

raidrboy
23 Jul 2007, 20:40
Heard that kurt gowers snatched it today? big dummy spit in the rooms after the game, sick of not gettin much of a go under way!! Back page monday?

Might be in Tuesday's but I doubt it. I think you should look for a better info source than your current one as he is feeding you crap.

Tigerspirit#21
24 Jul 2007, 18:10
Might be in Tuesday's but I doubt it. I think you should look for a better info source than your current one as he is feeding you crap.

Who is this 'Fulton' Playing on a wing for corowa/rutherglen? is he any good? must be young i take?

footy.mad
24 Jul 2007, 20:49
can any one tell me that jon mcCormack should not be playing afl!!!! he absolutely desroying o&m!!! hes way to good for the league!!!

roast beef roll
24 Jul 2007, 21:59
does any1 agree with me that jon mcCormack should be playing afl or a higher level that o&m!!!!

because i cerntainly do!!!

Haven't we been through this a few pages back. Yes, he's a very good player. I guess you think robbie walker was a handy footballer in his day as well. If you think hoppa should be playing at a higher level, ring him and tell him, rather than repeating yourself on here.

Billybootlace
25 Jul 2007, 10:31
Who is this 'Fulton' Playing on a wing for corowa/rutherglen? is he any good? must be young i take?
Fulton will be a very good player if he continues to work hard.good to see the young Rutherglen boys wanting to play the best football available to them again

Tigerspirit#21
25 Jul 2007, 12:08
can any one tell me that jon mcCormack should not be playing afl!!!! he absolutely desroying o&m!!! hes way to good for the league!!!

Yeah i agree with that, i rate him the highest standard in this league, but thats just my opinion and there are some very good footballers in this league, Some wouldnt be far of his standard.

big fella 37.5
25 Jul 2007, 14:27
Haven't we been through this a few pages back. Yes, he's a very good player. I guess you think robbie walker was a handy footballer in his day as well. If you think hoppa should be playing at a higher level, ring him and tell him, rather than repeating yourself on here.

yes this conversation was definitely had a few pages back and it just went round in circles,
but 4 one man who gets tagged to get 50+ possys 3 weeks in a row is amazing.

Winmar_07
25 Jul 2007, 15:24
yes this conversation was definitely had a few pages back and it just went round in circles,

I strongly doubt he is getting 50 plus! Don't know who is counting them maybe his mummy!

half time lollies
25 Jul 2007, 17:04
McCormick does get a bucket load of the footy and will win the Morris by a record margin however I do believe that the maggies stats man counts in 2's!!

half time lollies
25 Jul 2007, 17:08

Rob Walker did this for 12 years so what does that make him???

Kage
25 Jul 2007, 18:01
Absolute Champion..... Thats what Robbie Walker is...... He will forever be a Legend of O&M football..

footy.mad
25 Jul 2007, 18:25
mcCormack is the best player in the o&m at the moment no one can match him!!! hes ripped apart the o&m this year!!

Robbie walker in the top 5 player to have ever played o&m footy!!! will never be forgot!!!

BestOnGround
25 Jul 2007, 18:42
Robbie walker in the top 5 player to have ever played o&m footy!!! will never be forgot!!![/quote]

Robbie, may have won Morris Medals, but my last memories of him in his last game, was of an old man too slow and king hitting a young Albury player. Lost all respect for him that day.

SO Jon McCormick is a far better footballer than Walker ever was, he should have won a medal a few years ago before he did his knee. He thoroughly deserves to win this year, because he has been the best player this year.

godogsgo
25 Jul 2007, 18:49
mcCormack is the best player in the o&m at the moment no one can match him!!! hes ripped apart the o&m this year!!

Robbie walker in the top 5 player to have ever played o&m footy!!! will never be forgot!!!

Who else would be in your top 5 of all time footy.made ?

big fella 37.5
25 Jul 2007, 19:42
McCormick does get a bucket load of the footy and will win the Morris by a record margin however I do believe that the maggies stats man counts in 2's!!

i think you'll find half time lollies that these are the stats that the radio does

big fella 37.5
25 Jul 2007, 19:43

we all know rob walker was a champion, but isnt this thread about present ovens and murray football events

Bighawk15
25 Jul 2007, 21:17
Griffen from Wangaratta, could he be possibly play afl?? i know of club scouts that have come to watch him but will they draft him?

Darc21
25 Jul 2007, 21:21

Robbie, may have won Morris Medals, but my last memories of him in his last game, was of an old man too slow and king hitting a young Albury player. Lost all respect for him that day.

SO Jon McCormick is a far better footballer than Walker ever was, he should have won a medal a few years ago before he did his knee. He thoroughly deserves to win this year, because he has been the best player this year.[/quote]

He won five actually, McCormick is yet to win one, how does that make him a better footballer than Walker? Robbie Walker was never blessed with great speed but he could run for longer than anyone who has ever pulled on the boots in the O&M. I have fond memories even in his final years of players tagging him, dry retching on the ground because they couldnt keep up with him. And as for king hitting a young Albury player, that couldnt have been that preliminary final where one of the Carrols King hit and knocked out Travis Hubble? Hardly think Albury can whinge about stuff like that. Walker is without a doubt the best O&M player of all time, and one of the finest country footballers to ever play.

BestOnGround
25 Jul 2007, 21:57
He won five actually, McCormick is yet to win one, how does that make him a better footballer than Walker? Robbie Walker was never blessed with great speed but he could run for longer than anyone who has ever pulled on the boots in the O&M. I have fond memories even in his final years of players tagging him, dry retching on the ground because they couldnt keep up with him. And as for king hitting a young Albury player, that couldnt have been that preliminary final where one of the Carrols King hit and knocked out Travis Hubble? Hardly think Albury can whinge about stuff like that. Walker is without a doubt the best O&M player of all time, and one of the finest country footballers to ever play.[/quote]

Darc21, be very careful when saying he is the best in o&m and country footy, you will get in deep trouble. He stayed at one club yes, but many great players have graced the competition.

Eg - Bob Rose, Bill Stephens, Jim Sandral, John Smith, Les "Salty" Parish, Norm Minns, John Brunner, Stan Seargant, Jason Wild, Doug and Gordon Strang, Dennis, Sandral, Juice Kingston, Jim Francis,

Best Five
1 - Bob Rose
2 - Les Parish
3 - Norm Minns
4 - John SMith
5 - Jim Sandral:cool:

Darc21
25 Jul 2007, 23:01
He won five actually, McCormick is yet to win one, how does that make him a better footballer than Walker? Robbie Walker was never blessed with great speed but he could run for longer than anyone who has ever pulled on the boots in the O&M. I have fond memories even in his final years of players tagging him, dry retching on the ground because they couldnt keep up with him. And as for king hitting a young Albury player, that couldnt have been that preliminary final where one of the Carrols King hit and knocked out Travis Hubble? Hardly think Albury can whinge about stuff like that. Walker is without a doubt the best O&M player of all time, and one of the finest country footballers to ever play.

Darc21, be very careful when saying he is the best in o&m and country footy, you will get in deep trouble. He stayed at one club yes, but many great players have graced the competition.

Eg - Bob Rose, Bill Stephens, Jim Sandral, John Smith, Les "Salty" Parish, Norm Minns, John Brunner, Stan Seargant, Jason Wild, Doug and Gordon Strang, Dennis, Sandral, Juice Kingston, Jim Francis,

Best Five
1 - Bob Rose
2 - Les Parish
3 - Norm Minns
4 - John SMith
5 - Jim Sandral:cool:[/quote]

Fair opinion, all terrific players in their time. But Robbie Walker played in the modern era, arguably better standard of football than when the great Bob Rose and Jim Sandral graced their respective grounds, and his accolades speak for themselves. No one else has won as many Morris Medals (5) as he has, neither has anyone won as many club best and fairests (13 or so) in an era where his the Rovers were the dominant team. He represented Vic Country many a time and was selected in the All Australian country team as well. And even more impressive about Walker was that he began his career as a gun CHF but was able to reinvent himself as the premier midfielder in the competition. If you were like me and grew up in the fold at the Rovers, with countless legends coming and going, all proclaiming Robbie Walker as the finest they have seen, then you too would perhaps be tempted to say the same. As modest as he is though, he would probably deny it himself.

big fella 37.5
25 Jul 2007, 23:39
Griffen from Wangaratta, could he be possibly play afl?? i know of club scouts that have come to watch him but will they draft him?

i am a maggies supporter, and have been watching him, i think he could be a chance to be rookied as he just has the X factor that some times like sydney would look closely. i no 4 a fact that he has had scouts come watch him this yr, im pretty sure they were sydneys.
iv said it once b4, lee shcmidt would have to b close to drafted at the end of the yr, and i think griffin could have an outside outside chance, i think if he performs well in the finals, this could help his cause. perhaps not this yr maybe next...

big fella 37.5
25 Jul 2007, 23:40
thats solely my opinion tho

godogsgo
25 Jul 2007, 23:56

Best Five
1 - Bob Rose
2 - Les Parish
3 - Norm Minns
4 - John SMith

Fair opinion, all terrific players in their time. But Robbie Walker played in the modern era, arguably better standard of football than when the great Bob Rose and Jim Sandral graced their respective grounds, and his accolades speak for themselves. No one else has won as many Morris Medals (5) as he has, neither has anyone won as many club best and fairests (13 or so) in an era where his the Rovers were the dominant team. He represented Vic Country many a time and was selected in the All Australian country team as well. And even more impressive about Walker was that he began his career as a gun CHF but was able to reinvent himself as the premier midfielder in the competition. If you were like me and grew up in the fold at the Rovers, with countless legends coming and going, all proclaiming Robbie Walker as the finest they have seen, then you too would perhaps be tempted to say the same. As modest as he is though, he would probably deny it himself.[/quote]

Interesting thoughts would have to agree with a few of those. I would go - Bob Rose
- Les Parish
- Robbie Walker
- John Brunner
- John Smith
Brunner played half the games as most the these guys for 3 medals pretty good effort.

half time raffle
26 Jul 2007, 09:09
Robbie Walker is the best i've ever seen at this level, he could single handedly drag Rovers across the line and he did this in many games. McCormick is a wonderful player, that gets heaps of the ball but he doesn't have this ability to break the spirit of opposition sides like walker did. Walker did it consistently for 14years, winning everything around and he did it at the height of Rovers on field powers. McCormick has been doing it for a few seasons, lets wait to see what his longevity is like.

As for him getting rookied, he is certainly not the type of player the AFL is after, he is old (by AFL standards) and lacks leg speed, however i think the o and m is lucky to have such a good player gracing their paddocks.

Winmar_07
26 Jul 2007, 10:30
Robbie Walker is the best i've ever seen at this level, he could single handedly drag Rovers across the line and he did this in many games. McCormick is a wonderful player, that gets heaps of the ball but he doesn't have this ability to break the spirit of opposition sides like walker did. Walker did it consistently for 14years, winning everything around and he did it at the height of Rovers on field powers. McCormick has been doing it for a few seasons, lets wait to see what his longevity is like.

As for him getting rookied, he is certainly not the type of player the AFL is after, he is old (by AFL standards) and lacks leg speed, however i think the o and m is lucky to have such a good player gracing their paddocks.

Medals are over rated especially in the O & M once an umpire gets on a player they will no doubt give him an easy ride. The award is judged by umpires and have a look at who they are nuff nuffs from the bush that don't have a clue. Seriously if you think winning the medal makes you a good player think again!

Winmar_07
26 Jul 2007, 11:00

Best Five
1 - Bob Rose
2 - Les Parish
3 - Norm Minns
4 - John SMith

Fair opinion, all terrific players in their time. But Robbie Walker played in the modern era, arguably better standard of football than when the great Bob Rose and Jim Sandral graced their respective grounds, and his accolades speak for themselves. No one else has won as many Morris Medals (5) as he has, neither has anyone won as many club best and fairests (13 or so) in an era where his the Rovers were the dominant team. He represented Vic Country many a time and was selected in the All Australian country team as well. And even more impressive about Walker was that he began his career as a gun CHF but was able to reinvent himself as the premier midfielder in the competition. If you were like me and grew up in the fold at the Rovers, with countless legends coming and going, all proclaiming Robbie Walker as the finest they have seen, then you too would perhaps be tempted to say the same. As modest as he is though, he would probably deny it himself.[/quote]

Ok enough of the old and onto the new. NEED UPDATED TOP 10 for this year??

THE CEO
26 Jul 2007, 11:36
Medals are over rated especially in the O & M once an umpire gets on a player they will no doubt give him an easy ride. The award is judged by umpires and have a look at who they are nuff nuffs from the bush that don't have a clue. Seriously if you think winning the medal makes you a good player think again!

:confused: What a crock Winmar!!!

I've been following O&M footy for the last 20 years and other than the small amount of votes that Brett Kirk recieved one year, i cant remember one other occurance where the Morris Medal was in dispute as to who did or didnt win the medal.

But im happy to be proven wrong :)

Tigerspirit#21
26 Jul 2007, 12:52
i am a maggies supporter, and have been watching him, i think he could be a chance to be rookied as he just has the X factor that some times like sydney would look closely. i no 4 a fact that he has had scouts come watch him this yr, im pretty sure they were sydneys.
iv said it once b4, lee shcmidt would have to b close to drafted at the end of the yr, and i think griffin could have an outside outside chance, i think if he performs well in the finals, this could help his cause. perhaps not this yr maybe next...

Schmidt has been asked by clubs and denied them all

BestOnGround
26 Jul 2007, 14:25
:confused: What a crock Winmar!!!

I've been following O&M footy for the last 20 years and other than the small amount of votes that Brett Kirk recieved one year, i cant remember one other occurance where the Morris Medal was in dispute as to who did or didnt win the medal.

But im happy to be proven wrong :)

WINMAR - last time I looked this was a public forum, so pull your head in !!!!!!

Two absolute duds have won the Morris Medal -
1 - Mark Lambertini - Myrtleford
2 - Ryan McKenzie - Corowa/Rutherglen

These 2 players are a disgrace to all other winners of the medal, the umpires in these years should be ashamed of themselves, just like that 16 year ols LIAR that punced around in the Albury gaem last weekend.

The umpires need to remember that they are not the centrepiece of the game, so pipe down.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Tigerspirit#21
26 Jul 2007, 14:44
WINMAR - last time I looked this was a public forum, so pull your head in !!!!!!

These 2 players are a disgrace to all other winners of the medal, the umpires in these years should be ashamed of themselves, just like that 16 year ols LIAR that punced around in the Albury gaem last weekend.

The umpires need to remember that they are not the centrepiece of the game, so pipe down.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Best on ground, i could pretty much garantee that both of those players that you have named and called them 'duds' we be alot better player then you. I seen ryan Mckenzie play a couple of times the year he won the morris medal and the times i seen him he absolutley dominated. So unless your thinking of other people i dont know what your talking about.

Winmar_07
26 Jul 2007, 14:54
Schmidt has been asked by clubs and denied them all
He can not be drafted as he is not listed with a state comp team ie. VFL,SANFL or u18 comp! So i doubt that strongly!:)

Winmar_07
26 Jul 2007, 15:00

Hey i am on your side!! Ryan Mckenzie absolute piece of shit can't even get a game in a wafl side!

The bottom line is a club best and fairest is much more important than a morris medal. The exposure you get from winning a morris yes thats about it. Your peers and respected club members would be much more satisfying than a bunch of umpires. They might get it right some years but doesn't mean they are the best player in the comp! It has alot to do with winning games ie. 3 votes instead of loosing sides getting 1's and occasionally 2's.
The mistake all you gooses are making is the winner does not mean they are the best player in the league!

Dees08
26 Jul 2007, 15:29
I agree it was a big surprise when McKenzie won the medal but was great to see because he had a great season that year and goes to show you dont need to be one of the media's favourites to get the umpires attention.

Here's the top 10 players so far for 2007 based on
6 points for teams best player,
5 for teams 2nd best,
4 for teams 3rd best,
3 for teams 4th best,
2 for teams 5th best
1 for teams 6th best player from each week as judged by the individual teams coaching staff

1.Jon McCormick Wangaratta 59
2.Kade Stevens Lavington 56
3.Mark Doolan Wodonga Raiders 52
4.Jake Ryan Corowa-Rutherglen 46
5.Nick Raines Corowa-Rutherglen 46
6.Andrew Carey Myrtleford 46
7.Brandon Ryan North Albury 43
8.Matt Shir Wodonga 41
9.Lee Schmit Corowa-Rutherglen 40
10.Daine Porter Wangaratta 40

Using this system no weight is given to the winning teams so each team just gets 6,5,4,3,2,1 will be interesting to compare with Here it is's current Top 10

Clean Bowled
26 Jul 2007, 18:22
Will Tim Sanson coach next year or does anyone really care?

Here It Is
26 Jul 2007, 20:16
Not much difference Dees.

My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at July 26.

1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 100
2. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 76
3. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 72
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 70
5. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 68
6. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 68
7. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
7. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
9. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 63
10. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 59
10. Daine Porter (Wangaratta) 59

Dees08
27 Jul 2007, 10:37
Not much difference Dees.

My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at July 26.

1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 100
2. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 76
3. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 72
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 70
5. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 68
6. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 68
7. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
7. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
9. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 63
10. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 59
10. Daine Porter (Wangaratta) 59

Yeah very similar with only 2 differences, Piltz and Trenfield both of whom aren't far off on my list either. Trenfield 12th 37 points and Piltz 13th on 36

Cannons02
27 Jul 2007, 14:30
Yeah very similar with only 2 differences, Piltz and Trenfield both of whom aren't far off on my list either. Trenfield 12th 37 points and Piltz 13th on 36

G'day guy's, just wondering how benny cosgriff has been going ? Was on the bombers rookie list a few years back and spent some time in the VFL with casey..Good bloke and super player. cheers.:thumbsu:

flagpie
27 Jul 2007, 16:38
He can not be drafted as he is not listed with a state comp team ie. VFL,SANFL or u18 comp! So i doubt that strongly!:)

Winmar, this is not true.

A recent example is Karl Norman, who was drafted straight from a Wangaratta Rovers grand final side to Carlton.

Schmidt is good enough and IF he wanted to have a crack at the big time, I'm sure he would be successful.

IF being the key word there, he's a country boy through and through so I don't think he can be bothered with it all.

godogsgo
27 Jul 2007, 18:04

A recent example is Karl Norman, who was drafted straight from a Wangaratta Rovers grand final side to Carlton.

Schmidt is good enough and IF he wanted to have a crack at the big time, I'm sure he would be successful.

IF being the key word there, he's a country boy through and through so I don't think he can be bothered with it all.

You are right flagpie you can get drafted from anywhere you just have to nominate and when you nominate it lasts 2 years. On Karl Norman is he still playing ?

Darc21
27 Jul 2007, 18:17
You are right flagpie you can get drafted from anywhere you just have to nominate and when you nominate it lasts 2 years. On Karl Norman is he still playing ?

Was at Mooroopna but I haven't seen his name in the best for them for God knows how long or in the goal kickers. If hes still there, hes playing un-noticed! Was such a talent at Rovers, but it seems to have gone all downhill from there. Shame!

godogsgo
27 Jul 2007, 18:34
Was at Mooroopna but I haven't seen his name in the best for them for God knows how long or in the goal kickers. If hes still there, hes playing un-noticed! Was such a talent at Rovers, but it seems to have gone all downhill from there. Shame!

Thanks for that Darc and yeah your right it is a shame.

half time lollies
27 Jul 2007, 22:31
we all know rob walker was a champion, but isnt this thread about present ovens and murray football events

I thought it was a public forum where people could voice their opinions! I didn't realise it had to be about present ovens and murray football events..!!

half time lollies
27 Jul 2007, 22:32

Still at Mooroopna but has a broken wrist.

JOHN DENVER
30 Jul 2007, 10:41
what has happened to yarrawonga they seem to be struggling for form at the moment. could it be that there is too many ego's on the one side and that they are more interested in fashion than footy?

Dees08
30 Jul 2007, 11:53
Dees Top 10 after 15 rounds

1.Jon McCormick Wangaratta 64
2.Kade Stevens Lavington 61
3.Mark Doolan Wodonga Raiders 57
4.Andrew Carey Myrtleford 50
5.Nic Raines Corowa Rutherglen 46
5.Jake Ryan Corowa Rutherglen 46
7.Lee Schmidt Corowa Rutherglen 45
8.Brandon Ryan North Albury 43
9.Darryn McKimmie Lavington 42
9.Daine Porter Wangaratta 42

Winmar_07
30 Jul 2007, 12:52

Shows how much you know and why you shouldn't be writing on these forums as you are another nuffy!
Norman was drafted from the northan bullants he may have even come off a rookie list, whichever way he came from the bullants in the VFL.;)

KokodaMidget
30 Jul 2007, 13:35
Shows how much you know and why you shouldn't be writing on these forums as you are another nuffy!
Norman was drafted from the northan bullants he may have even come off a rookie list, whichever way he came from the bullants in the VFL.;)

I reckon you're the nuffy Winmar07!! Norman was drafted from Rovers in 2002, pick 79. He probably played with the Bullants because they are the Carlton seconds. So perhaps you should take your own advice & not write on this, or any, forum, you NUFFY!!!!!

texas hold em
30 Jul 2007, 14:53
I reckon you're the nuffy Winmar07!! Norman was drafted from Rovers in 2002, pick 79. He probably played with the Bullants because they are the Carlton seconds. So perhaps you should take your own advice & not write on this, or any, forum, you NUFFY!!!!!
bit cranky today are we KM? it wouldnt be because your hung over by any chance?

KokodaMidget
30 Jul 2007, 15:51
bit cranky today are we KM? it wouldnt be because your hung over by any chance?

Quite possible Texas, however buffoons like Winmar should do some research before posting!

flagpie
30 Jul 2007, 16:29

Deary, deary me ... What an embarrassing comment!

Doesn't say much for your intelligence, Mr Winmar, when the Kokoda Midget (with 20 beers, 13 pulse cans and 2 hours sleep under his belt) can pull you up on something like that!

Darc21
30 Jul 2007, 17:23

Hahahaha your little remaining credibility went out the window with that comment champ. Karl Norman was drafted straight from the Wangaratta Rovers side to Carlton. His association with the Northern Bullants was when he has playing twos for Carlton after being drafted, with the Bullants being Carlton's VFL affiliate. And don't try and rebut with your crap because I'm a Rovers supporter and player and I am 100% on this one as are the others who have said the same thing. How embarrasing for you to say what you did hahaha!

Clean Bowled
30 Jul 2007, 17:31
How good were the Hawks on Sat'dy Darc?
Or was it a case of Raiders putting the cue in the rack for the season?

Tigerrr_Uppercut
30 Jul 2007, 18:32

Hahaha sucked in Winmar! U got shot down, massively. Whatever little credabilty you had left is now long gone. I look forward to never hearing from you on a forum ever again

look after yourself pal ;)

off the cuff
30 Jul 2007, 19:04

Great job by Rovers to bounce back from the flogging the week before - retains some of that % lost with the big win.
Peter Cristoforo booting 10 was a ripper performance - this bloke just continues to perform for the Rovers - a great pick up from Melbourne,not enough credit,goes under the rador and is the most important player in that side without a doubt.
Wodonga Raiders must hate the site of this bloke - if my memory serves me correctly he smashed a club record last year when he kicked 9 in 3 quarters before John McNamara took him off at 3/4 time as a precaution with a hamy or groin not sure of what injury it was at the time.
Now again this year he beats his own record with 10.
He has 50 odd with 3 to go - he will end up with more than his 60 he kicked last year for the club.
Can the Rovers make finals?
and how far could they go?

Darc21
30 Jul 2007, 20:06

Unfortunately I wasn't at the game as I'm still down the city at school atm. Word that reached me though was that the Raiders were ravaged by injury going into the game. However I dunno how true this is, as the usual stars for Raiders in Doolan, the Kahlefeldts, Fife, Mardling etc were amongst the best. I notice that Peter Cook lined up in the 2's for Raiders, interesting in that he is the Raider's leading goalscorer this season...... But to win by 100+ points is a sign of a good performance, despite the oppositions predicament. Cristoforo goes from strength to strength every week and Jesse Silver has been fantastic as well, giving the Hawks a very potent forward line. Still a good ten points percentage or so behind 4th placed Wodonga though which could pose a problem in the race for 4th and 5th spots at seasons end.

Benched
30 Jul 2007, 20:12
Hahaha sucked in Winmar! U got shot down, massively. Whatever little credabilty you had left is now long gone. I look forward to never hearing from you on a forum ever again

I think Norman may have played one or two with the bushies before deciding not to persue his career with them and then went to play with Glenrowan. Rovers recruited him from Glenrowan and then he went to Carlton in the draft.

Aaron Fiora
30 Jul 2007, 20:14
Best on ground, i could pretty much garantee that both of those players that you have named and called them 'duds' we be alot better player then you. I seen ryan Mckenzie play a couple of times the year he won the morris medal and the times i seen him he absolutley dominated. So unless your thinking of other people i dont know what your talking about.

I'm with you tigerspirit, Ryan Mackenzie had a fantastic year he won the medal and plays a style of footy that gets the umpires attention. he deserved the medal the year he won because both times they played us he was best on ground.

He now plays well in the wafl which shows that he is a gun because its strong footy and he would star if he was playing o and m now.

Winmar_07
31 Jul 2007, 14:09

I am so shattered. Think i might have a tear.:mad: My life is over!:mad:

Winmar_07
31 Jul 2007, 14:09
I'm with you tigerspirit, Ryan Mackenzie had a fantastic year he won the medal and plays a style of footy that gets the umpires attention. he deserved the medal the year he won because both times they played us he was best on ground.

He now plays well in the wafl which shows that he is a gun because its strong footy and he would star if he was playing o and m now.

Plays twos in the WAFL! So yeah he aint that good!

Winmar_07
31 Jul 2007, 14:24
Dees Top 10 after 15 rounds

1.Jon McCormick Wangaratta 64
2.Kade Stevens Lavington 61
3.Mark Doolan Wodonga Raiders 57
4.Andrew Carey Myrtleford 50
5.Nic Raines Corowa Rutherglen 46
5.Jake Ryan Corowa Rutherglen 46
7.Lee Schmidt Corowa Rutherglen 45
8.Brandon Ryan North Albury 43
9.Darryn McKimmie Lavington 42
9.Daine Porter Wangaratta 42

Imagine if the lethal combo of Ryan and Raines had not have missed games through injury they would probably steal the Morris Medal from each other! Although the roos probably haven't won enough games.:thumbsu:

Darc21
31 Jul 2007, 14:28
Imagine if the lethal combo of Ryan and Raines had not have missed games through injury they would probably steal the Morris Medal from each other! Although the roos probably haven't won enough games.:thumbsu:

Your credibility is shot pal so no one will take anything you say seriously so why bother. Your O&M knowledge is very primitive from what you have shown so far. Still thats what arrogance gets you......

D.I.Y. Man
31 Jul 2007, 22:37

U R A W A N K A!!! get off here before someone finds out who you are, Id hate to see a fatality from a gossip thread.

Ryan Mackenzie was 3rd in East perths B & F last year in the SENIORS!! Then to follow it up, Yes he has played 2's this year but if you had done your research right, you would know he played every game in the seniors until he injured his shoulder, which he has popped out more than once on his return, Now back playing with pain the only thing to keep it together before he has a shoulder Reco is the good old 2 inch trainers tape.. Pretty couragous if you ask me..... And i'm not quite sure right now but he did come back and play seniors the way it was!!!

Not bad hey W A N K A !!!

Please go walk-a-bout like your alias namesake did to Rutherglen and Wod Saints:D:thumbsd::D:thumbsd:

Tigerrr_Uppercut
1 Aug 2007, 00:15
U R A W A N K A!!! get off here before someone finds out who you are, Id hate to see a fatality from a gossip thread.

Ryan Mackenzie was 3rd in East perths B & F last year in the SENIORS!! Then to follow it up, Yes he has played 2's this year but if you had done your research right, you would know he played every game in the seniors until he injured his shoulder, which he has popped out more than once on his return, Now back playing with pain the only thing to keep it together before he has a shoulder Reco is the good old 2 inch trainers tape.. Pretty couragous if you ask me..... And i'm not quite sure right now but he did come back and play seniors the way it was!!!

Please go walk-a-bout like your alias namesake did to Rutherglen and Wod Saints:D:thumbsd::D:thumbsd:

Winmar_07 is Cade Mills, just so everyone knows

half time raffle
1 Aug 2007, 09:36
Winmar_07 is Cade Mills, just so everyone knows

I don't know where you get your information from Tiger but i doubt very much that winmar would be millsy. I can't see that he'd be on a public forum rubbishing a mate like Macca - not to metion they're premiership teammates. I don't think Dos would be very happy being linked to a twat like this winmar.

BookerT
1 Aug 2007, 13:25

Winmar, you are a goose.
A WAFL reserves side like East Perth would play O and M finals no doubt about it, so to say you are no good by playing WAFL reserves is laughable.
I could name close to 20 quality O and M players who have spent a heap of time in the WAFL reserves, so here is a handful to absolutely shoot your credibility down further.
And McKenzie is a good player, its not his fault the umpires voted for him, so get off his back.

Dustin Burns (West Perth) - O and M Morris Medalist - Wod Raiders.
Richard Ambrose (Subiaco) - Corowa-Rutherglen gun.
Brent Rhynehart (West Perth) - Former Albury, O and M rep.
Brad Murray (West Perth) - O and M Morris Medalist - Myrtleford.
Jake Ryan (Subiaco) - Corowa-Rutherglen B & F in waiting.

Many would argue WAFL twos is close to as good a standard as the O and M, thats a fact.

Now, shoe fly....

dazzledavey36
1 Aug 2007, 18:29

why aren't u telling that we are wrong about karl norman gettin drafted from wang rovers??

****wit!

Here It Is
2 Aug 2007, 00:37
My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at August 1.

1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 108
2. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 77
2. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 77
4. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 76
5. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 72
5. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 72
7. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 68
8. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 67
9. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66
9. Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen) 66

flagpie
2 Aug 2007, 19:44
Where has the Daisy Train gone?

I miss his cutting edge humour and breaking news stories!

JOHN DENVER
3 Aug 2007, 10:45
have heard around the traps that hargraeves and archibald from yarawonga cant stand eachother. can anyone confirm or deny and if so could this be a factor in yarrawongas form slump?

big fella 37.5
3 Aug 2007, 16:12
Winmar, you are a goose.
A WAFL reserves side like East Perth would play O and M finals no doubt about it, so to say you are no good by playing WAFL reserves is laughable.
I could name close to 20 quality O and M players who have spent a heap of time in the WAFL reserves, so here is a handful to absolutely shoot your credibility down further.
And McKenzie is a good player, its not his fault the umpires voted for him, so get off his back.

Dustin Burns (West Perth) - O and M Morris Medalist - Wod Raiders.
Richard Ambrose (Subiaco) - Corowa-Rutherglen gun.
Brent Rhynehart (West Perth) - Former Albury, O and M rep.
Brad Murray (West Perth) - O and M Morris Medalist - Myrtleford.
Jake Ryan (Subiaco) - Corowa-Rutherglen B & F in waiting.

Many would argue WAFL twos is close to as good a standard as the O and M, thats a fact.

Now, shoe fly....

just on this did richard ambrose win a sandover medal??? not questioning u about him playing 2's footy just solely curious about it...

daisy_train
3 Aug 2007, 16:36
The train still lurks flagpie.
Been flat out at work. New boss, he's a hard task master.
How good are Daisy and Pendles going?
Shades of a young Ian Stewart in Pendles and what about that young Irish kid?

daisy_train
3 Aug 2007, 16:38
just on this did richard ambrose win a sandover medal??? not questioning u about him playing 2's footy just solely curious about it...

Yes in 2000 playing for Subiaco.

DOGGIE DEFENDER
3 Aug 2007, 18:06
Just a rumour heard recently, Mark Almond to coach Murray Magpies, 2008. Anyone got any more info?

crimsonwarrior
3 Aug 2007, 23:20
to qoute a line from the great movie(dumb and dumber)that john denvers full of shit!have heard around the traps that hargraeves and archibald from yarawonga cant stand eachother. can anyone confirm or deny and if so could this be a factor in yarrawongas form slump?

rowger
4 Aug 2007, 10:31
Pretty sure he did Big Fella.

rowger
4 Aug 2007, 10:33
Just a rumour heard recently, Mark Almond to coach Murray Magpies, 2008. Anyone got any more info?
Bloody Hell! Is there a club that Almond wont coach next year? I have heard Murray Magpies, Jindera (Befrore Robbie Murray got the job), Howlong, Tallangatta and Walbundrie.

The fat side
4 Aug 2007, 20:40
Bloody Hell! Is there a club that Almond wont coach next year? I have heard Murray Magpies, Jindera (Befrore Robbie Murray got the job), Howlong, Tallangatta and Walbundrie.

My mail is he is going to Howlong form a good inside source at Lavi. Jindera spoke to him but he has had no contact from Walbundrie from my source and definitely no word from Tallangatta, but maybe any club up for a coach should approach him.

Kanga Magoo
4 Aug 2007, 20:59
Any recent news on who will coach Corowa/Rutherglen next year.

rowger
5 Aug 2007, 18:21
My mail is he is going to Howlong form a good inside source at Lavi. Jindera spoke to him but he has had no contact from Walbundrie from my source and definitely no word from Tallangatta, but maybe any club up for a coach should approach him.
No doubt, i reckon he would be great. The latest is that Howlong is a sure thing. He is already ringing existing players such as Hansen and Nicholls to sure them up for 2008.

JOHN DENVER
6 Aug 2007, 10:30
peter tossol's name is getting thrown around and i believe he is the top candidate. alaso houlihan, henneman and tom dickson

Here It Is
6 Aug 2007, 10:56

Marc Almond? ;)

Aaron Fiora
6 Aug 2007, 15:42
peter tossol's name is getting thrown around and i believe he is the top candidate. alaso houlihan, henneman and tom dickson

All would be excellent additions to any club.

Winmar_07
6 Aug 2007, 16:35

sounds like you are ryan mckenzie żou twit east perth are actually one of the weaker teams in the wafl and the wafl is no where near the standard of other state comps so don't start bragging on here ryan!!

secondly winmar was a star and is one of the games most decorated indigineous players are you racist?? have some respect. the clubs that had him up our way would have made money out of him although the rumours don't have it that way! rutherglen and saints would have made more than what they have any other year from their gate takings people would have come in droves to watch the man.. :)

Dell
6 Aug 2007, 16:40
sounds like you are ryan mckenzie żou twit east perth are actually one of the weaker teams in the wafl and the wafl is no where near the standard of other state comps so don't start bragging on here ryan!!

secondly winmar was a star and is one of the games most decorated indigineous players are you racist?? have some respect. the clubs that had him up our way would have made money out of him although the rumours don't have it that way! rutherglen and saints would have made more than what they have any other year from their gate takings people would have come in droves to watch the man.. :)
Sorry Winmar_07, you seem to be putting your foot in it a bit. He never played a game for the Saints, find it hard to beleive he would have increased their gate taking, unless people went to watch him because he wasn't playing?

JOHN DENVER
6 Aug 2007, 17:10

forget about just footy knowledge, but do you have any knowledge at all?

Tigerrr_Uppercut
6 Aug 2007, 17:28
forget about just footy knowledge, but do you have any knowledge at all?

he's probably got a better knowledge of how to fly a plane than you, bang! r.i.p

Darc21
6 Aug 2007, 19:40

Bahahaha yet another embarrassing ramble from you Winmar! What he said was not a racist comment as Winmar did go walkabout, and as decorated as he was, it was a disgrace what he did to the Wodonga Saints. Wether he had problems or what, he didnt show the Saints the least bit of courtesy after all their efforts for him. And everything you have posted has been ill informed and garbage. Although I do get pleasure from reading your comments and seeing them taken to pieces by others, so I'm not going to discourage you from continuing to post here. Keep up the bad work!