View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
up the dishies
21 Aug 2007, 12:37
Definately not a hip and shoulder. Was jumped on while lying on the ground.
That is the gayest thing i have ever heard he was jumped on while on the ground well stop the press and what a monster of a man who did the damage who is towering 178cm and how was the trainer calling for a strecher when he injured his collarbone his legs werent injured so get up and walk off
Winmar_07
21 Aug 2007, 14:34
That is the gayest thing i have ever heard he was jumped on while on the ground well stop the press and what a monster of a man who did the damage who is towering 178cm and how was the trainer calling for a strecher when he injured his collarbone his legs werent injured so get up and walk off
Leave the poor bugger alone he is one of the best players in the O & M and all you can do is bag the poor guy... Just shows the amount of loosers that actually post threads on this site:mad:
Sheegers
21 Aug 2007, 17:18
Does anyone know whom Wodonga Raiders is trying to recruit next year?
Also In regards to The O&M inter league squad Brendan Paige was selected over Raiders Big Man Trent Storey, am i the only person out there who thinks he is severely under-rated in the league, and has had a much better year then Paige?
Does anyone have any Info?
thegrowler
21 Aug 2007, 18:15
I saw the so called incident and it was a tackle just after the ball had left the area. Nothing too illegal about it and in fact if the 'sheep dog' hadn't been out the back looking for an easy give and go to get his possession rate up, he wouldn't have been injured. I suggest that before those who wanna turn footy into netball start blaming anyone they should perhaps look at the rock hard ground as an issue. Who would wanna play finals footy on that peice of slate!!!
Aaron Fiora
21 Aug 2007, 18:29
Also In regards to The O&M inter league squad Brendan Paige was selected over Raiders Big Man Trent Storey, am i the only person out there who thinks he is severely under-rated in the league, and has had a much better year then Paige?
Don't know about who raiders are trying to recruit but in regards to Trent Story i believe that he has had a great year and deserves to be picked over Brendan Page on form and ability.
Tigerrr_Uppercut
21 Aug 2007, 18:34
I saw the so called incident and it was a tackle just after the ball had left the area. Nothing too illegal about it and in fact if the 'sheep dog' hadn't been out the back looking for an easy give and go to get his possession rate up, he wouldn't have been injured. I suggest that before those who wanna turn footy into netball start blaming anyone they should perhaps look at the rock hard ground as an issue. Who would wanna play finals footy on that peice of slate!!!
thats true, that wang surface is a disgrace. It would be and absolute embarrassment to the O&M if they played any finals there at all, wang are dreamin. ya cant have a final a ground because they have a sweet grandstand, and sell reasonable dimmies now can ya
thegrowler
21 Aug 2007, 19:05
Don't know about who raiders are trying to recruit but in regards to Trent Story i believe that he has had a great year and deserves to be picked over Brendan Page on form and ability.
Raiders have been after a certain Bulldog Full forward who killed off Wangaratta last weekend and will no doubt have another crack for next season. They will also no doubt pick up a big gun using their General Manager's 'traineeship' funding. Word is they are looking to AFL Canberra for key position players.
roast beef roll
21 Aug 2007, 21:33
You've been thinking about this for a while haven't you. The squad was selected about 15 weeks ago, if not longer, so who cares.
Yes, you are the only person out there who thinks that!
tap ruckman
21 Aug 2007, 21:39
yeah look me old mate trent was probably a bit stiff!!! he probably actually wait he is the most severely under-rated player in the country, rumour has it a certain GV club r trying to lure him down that way next season... would be a handy pick up :thumbsd:
tap ruckman
21 Aug 2007, 21:40
thats true, that wang surface is a disgrace. It would be and absolute embarrassment to the O&M if they played any finals there at all, wang are dreamin. ya cant have a final a ground because they have a sweet grandstand, and sell reasonable dimmies now can ya
couldnt be as good as those dimmies up at myrt hey tiger????
Tigerrr_Uppercut
21 Aug 2007, 21:43
Trent Storey struggles to string a sentence together let alone win a ruck duel and B.page wasnt the first choice ruck. In all honesty id put van shaik in before trent 'thanks, that was a great' storey.
Sheegers
21 Aug 2007, 21:51
Trent Storey struggles to string a sentence together let alone win a ruck duel and B.page wasnt the first choice ruck. In all honesty id put van shaik in before trent 'thanks, that was a great' storey.
If you have nothing nice to say then don't say anything at all, Thats what i was once told. So maybe you should consider it.
tap ruckman
21 Aug 2007, 22:27
If you have nothing nice to say then don't say anything at all, Thats what i was once told. So maybe you should consider it.
if u have nothing interesting or useful to say then dont say it at all sheegers!! thats wat i was once told
up the dishies
21 Aug 2007, 23:10
who cares who they are trying to recruit why in the world would u want to play there they are not improving and the only games they win a superstar of the comp has to get 50 + touches and the best thing he could do is leave the spuds and play at a higher level send them to the tallangatta and district league they might win a couple more games and to ur other question its because storey is mentally disabled the rumour is he struggles to spell has last name page is much improved since leaving the wooden spooners the mighty faiders
can any body tell me how lance oswald is playing lately for yarra?i u
sed to play bushy's with him great bloke
WARBLERER
22 Aug 2007, 11:53
adrian haberman rand wlabundrie
stanton_monfries
22 Aug 2007, 13:04
a couple of weeks ago i was up in Wodonga. Me dad drove me around to look at all the grounds. All of them are in pretty good nick. Great turf, grandstands, terraces, sheds, social clubs and from what i understand the AFL put a lot of money into the country football leagues
Sheegers
22 Aug 2007, 13:11
adrian haberman rand wlabundrie
What position does he play? and is he any good?
WARBLERER
22 Aug 2007, 13:41
ruckman 6'5 very agile and has reasounable skills OM will suit his type of footy could be a good pick up may play this weekend :thumbsu:
Aaron Fiora
22 Aug 2007, 14:06
who cares who they are trying to recruit why in the world would u want to play there they are not improving and the only games they win a superstar of the comp has to get 50 + touches and the best thing he could do is leave the spuds and play at a higher level send them to the tallangatta and district league they might win a couple more games and to ur other question its because storey is mentally disabled the rumour is he struggles to spell has last name page is much improved since leaving the wooden spooners the mighty faiders
Your giving shit about spelling 'up the dishes' and you can't even structure your sentences properly. Maybe you and Trent can go and see a tutor together and they might even be able to help you with your sexuality because it's clearly evident your a ******.
thegrowler
22 Aug 2007, 14:49
See in Wang - Wodonga Game another cheap shot from behind by a gutless Albury Wodonga pretender has put the leagues best player out for probably the rest of the season.
Same player was involved in a few behind the play incidents on the day and never once faced anyone front on. I believe he did the same against Nth Albury last week.
This sh#t has been happening most of the year and it seems the umpires are just as gutless.
Hope this guy and the wodonga DOGS live to regret it.
I thought Mayday Hills shut down in Beechworth a few years ago, obviously this moron (short black) was never let out. Given the player in Question has only played a few games this year due to a broken head it's obvious that you, short black, are a complete ******** who finds it easy to throw mud in a forum such as this. Footy is a physical game and there is nothing wrong with being hard at the ball not hard at the balls as in your case short black.
The Crumber
22 Aug 2007, 16:33
a couple of weeks ago i was up in Wodonga. Me dad drove me around to look at all the grounds. All of them are in pretty good nick. Great turf, grandstands, terraces, sheds, social clubs and from what i understand the AFL put a lot of money into the country football leagues
Good troll. You understand not very much champ.
Rephrase to "the AFL take a lot" and you are much closer to reality.
Are Yarra gone?? There is trouble in Yarra, Whats new!
Is Wodonga a contender?? A young Group with self Belief an a class FF!
Are Wang now shaky?? There best player gone, will hurt them a lot!!
North Albury do they miss a class on baller? They do have class Fwd/Back
After the weekend results the flag race is wide open!! Heading towards the most open finals series in years!!
I agree big H, definately a final series to be watching as all teams in the final 5 have been able to beat each other during the year. As everyone knows though finals footy is a bit different to the normal season as it jumps up a beat and anything could happen. Experience in playing finals will be the difference.
On recent form and after playing against both sides I'm tipping wodonga and Wang to play off in the final.
Your a very negative person and your posts reflect that. Both Wang ovals have suffered more than any other from the drought and are both in reasonable nick considering this. If they have been able to play the second half of the season on the grounds, then there is no reason why finals should be any different. And I agree, you can't have a final at a venue just because they have a grandstand and good dimmies, but the fact that the Wang Showgrounds is the second best ground behind the LPO in the O&M facility and spectator wise means it is a logical choice to hold final/s. Also that there are two Wang teams playing finals furthers the cause. Finally, on your negative comments towards Jon McCormick, I'm a Rovers man and any dent to the Magpies ego and finals chances puts a smile on my face. But there is no doubting McCormick's ability and fairness and its fairly cheap to attack him on a website after he has suffered an injury. I have seen him play several times this year and the attention he gets from opposition taggers is filth at the best of times. Hang your head high Jon! Even your traditional rivals are behind ya!
Tigerrr_Uppercut
22 Aug 2007, 20:14
Your a very sexy person and your posts reflect that. Both Wang ovals have suffered more than any other from the drought and are both in reasonable nick considering this. If they have been able to play the second half of the season on the grounds, then there is no reason why finals should be any different. And I agree, you can't have a final at a venue just because they have a grandstand and good dimmies, but the fact that the Wang Showgrounds is the second best ground behind the LPO in the O&M facility and spectator wise means it is a logical choice to hold final/s. Also that there are two Wang teams playing finals furthers the cause. Finally, on your negative comments towards Jon McCormick, I'm a Rovers man and any dent to the Magpies ego and finals chances puts a smile on my face. But there is no doubting McCormick's ability and fairness and its fairly cheap to attack him on a website after he has suffered an injury. I have seen him play several times this year and the attention he gets from opposition taggers is filth at the best of times. Hang your head high Jon! Even your traditional rivals are behind ya!
thanks for the compliment darc, but i dont swing that way pal. Maybe try lookin a bit closer to home for your soulmate, keep harrassing me and ill call the cops!
raidrboy
22 Aug 2007, 21:16
Heard on the WIN News tonight that McCormick may not be playing next year, word is that he is heading overseas.
thanks for the compliment darc, i do swing that way pal. Maybe try comin round to my home for some sodomy, keep turning me on and ill call a gimp!
How old are you pal? 5 or something? You clearly do swing that way otherwise you wouldn't have taken the time to change what I actually said to make it seem as if a bloke was interested in you. Seems I hit a nerve with you. Your as bad as Winmar, you may even in fact be the same person. Clearly your footballing pedigree extends as far your ability to discuss the subject properly without turning out an immature or negative comment. Leave the footy talk for the big boys! And you go show mummy that finger painting you did today! Oh by the way, I can change posts too!
tap ruckman
22 Aug 2007, 22:14
bit of a whisper going around that an albury player is retiring at the end of the season due to up and coming commitments on chanel 10's biggest loser!! hint: starts with F ends with OWLER
petro civoniceva
23 Aug 2007, 00:04
bit of a whisper going around that an albury player is retiring at the end of the season due to up and coming commitments on chanel 10's biggest loser!! hint: starts with F ends with OWLER
it sounds as if the tap ruckman is bitter that he didn't get a gig on the show and now has to live with his obesity
JOHN DENVER
23 Aug 2007, 10:21
I agree big H, definately a final series to be watching as all teams in the final 5 have been able to beat each other during the year. As everyone knows though finals footy is a bit different to the normal season as it jumps up a beat and anything could happen. Experience in playing finals will be the difference.
On recent form and after playing against both sides I'm tipping wodonga and Wang to play off in the final.
wodonga are kidding themselves they have no serious chance of playing in a grand final and will be out the first week of finals. every game they have played lately has been a final for them as they had to win to keep there finals hopes alive while wang and yarra had their spots sewn up already. doggies aren't much good AGENT dont get carried away with recent form
I'd say the race for the cup is fairly wide open. Wang have shown that they are vulnerable particularly after last w.e and in losing their prime ball getter, other players are going to have to step into that role, e.g. Trenfield, Lord, and Higgs if he returns. Wodonga have shown that they deserve a spot in September, but lack the polish of the other finalists. Bradshaw is the real wildcard for them in that he can almost single handedly win the dogs a game if he performs, as he did last w.e. The plates are wobbling at Yarra and Steak Seymour needs to get his boys back on track if they are going to go back to back. Injuries could be the main thing to cost them the flag, although with Lance Oswald possibly returning in the next few weeks, the momentum could swing in the Pigeons favour. North Albury are the darkhorse in that when they are on their game, they are a force to be reckoned with. However they need to produce their best footy more consistently to have a chance. The Wang Rovers are more than a decent chance to make that 2nd last Saturday in September as they have proven that they can beat any team in the comp so far this year, with the exception of the maggies. Possibly the most even finals series for a few years with all teams a possibility to take the premiership and the 4th and 5th sides not there to just make up the numbers as they sometimes have been. Thats just my opinion anyway :)
daisy_train
23 Aug 2007, 14:34
I'd say the race for the cup is fairly wide open. Wang have shown that they are vulnerable particularly after last w.e and in losing their prime ball getter, other players are going to have to step into that role, e.g. Trenfield, Lord, and Higgs if he returns. Wodonga have shown that they deserve a spot in September, but lack the polish of the other finalists. Bradshaw is the real wildcard for them in that he can almost single handedly win the dogs a game if he performs, as he did last w.e. The plates are wobbling at Yarra and Steak Seymour needs to get his boys back on track if they are going to go back to back. Injuries could be the main thing to cost them the flag, although with Lance Oswald possibly returning in the next few weeks, the momentum could swing in the Pigeons favour. North Albury are the darkhorse in that when they are on their game, they are a force to be reckoned with. However they need to produce their best footy more consistently to have a chance. The Wang Rovers are more than a decent chance to make that 2nd last Saturday in September as they have proven that they can beat any team in the comp so far this year, with the exception of the maggies. Possibly the most even finals series for a few years with all teams a possibility to take the premiership and the 4th and 5th sides not there to just make up the numbers as they sometimes have been. Thats just my opinion anyway :)
Wodonga lack the polish Darc? Shir and Bradshaw - two of the top five in the league.
Twitt and Doswell can mount cases to being in the top 10 in the league.
I think you will find if there is a query over the Dogs it would be their depth with 15-21 in the team still with question marks over their heads.
Another thing the Dogs have going for them is the "C factor". They have a lot of players with a bit of prick about them which Wangaratta appeared to lack on the weekend.
The $8.00 on sportsbet was too good to resist.
buck holly
23 Aug 2007, 14:35
Can anyone shed any light on a rumour that 'shir' from wodonga is on the move next year?
I too wouldn't be getting too carried away with Wodonga's current hot streak They will have to first get past Rovers Sunday week and even if they manage this they then have to beat the top 3 week after week through September... This is a side that lost to The raiders when there season was possibly on the line about six weeks ago. Rovers to have a tough ask having to win 4 from 4 against the top 4 in September. With the Double chances it Should be Wang Yarra and Nth fighting it out obviously Wang and yarra have there fair share of injury worries so right at this minute Im Thinking Nth Alb. We might know more after this weekends games with Nth playing the Rovers and Yarra playing Wang
Can anyone shed any light on a rumour that 'shir' from wodonga is on the move next year?
Shir does this every year!! He throws these rumors around himself so clubs start calling him! I know for a fact he has spoken to 2 Canberra clubs an also a club in Adelaide!
You would think if he was fair dinkum he would only be worried about Wodonga an their surge into the finals!!
Tigerrr_Uppercut
23 Aug 2007, 16:49
How old are you pal? 5 or something? You clearly do swing that way otherwise you wouldn't have taken the time to change what I actually said to make it seem as if a bloke was interested in you. Seems I hit a nerve with you. Your as bad as Winmar, you may even in fact be the same person. Clearly your footballing pedigree extends as far your ability to discuss the subject properly without turning out an immature or negative comment. Leave the footy talk for the big boys! And you go show mummy that finger painting you did today! Oh by the way, I can change posts too!
how do u figure that? and get your own material
Here It Is
23 Aug 2007, 19:15
My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at August 23.
1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 121
2. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 92
3. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 87
4. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 86
5. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 83
6. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 82
7. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 77
8. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 76
9. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 75
9. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 75
Little Ralphie
23 Aug 2007, 21:10
I too wouldn't be getting too carried away with Wodonga's current hot streak They will have to first get past Rovers Sunday week and even if they manage this they then have to beat the top 3 week after week through September... This is a side that lost to The raiders when there season was possibly on the line about six weeks ago. Rovers to have a tough ask having to win 4 from 4 against the top 4 in September. With the Double chances it Should be Wang Yarra and Nth fighting it out obviously Wang and yarra have there fair share of injury worries so right at this minute Im Thinking Nth Alb. We might know more after this weekends games with Nth playing the Rovers and Yarra playing Wang
Might want to have a look at the draw Dees and check out who Wodonga has beaten in the last three rounds. Good form I would think. As an outsider im not sure their just making up the numbers as you would think, but as they say in the classics only time will tell
godogsgo
23 Aug 2007, 23:09
Lance played last week.
How did he go?
godogsgo
24 Aug 2007, 00:18
[quote=Darc21;8504315]How did he go?[/quote
Not to bad i think. Would just be happy to be playing again i would think.
yong barger
24 Aug 2007, 10:31
I thought Mayday Hills shut down in Beechworth a few years ago, obviously this moron (short black) was never let out. Given the player in Question has only played a few games this year due to a broken head it's obvious that you, short black, are a complete ******** who finds it easy to throw mud in a forum such as this. Footy is a physical game and there is nothing wrong with being hard at the ball not hard at the balls as in your case short black.
McCormick got cleaned up by a good old fashioned hip 'n shoulder by Luke Bloom (as did Aiden Brown, Nth Albury the week before) - saw both contests and there was nothing untoward in either. Not denying Hoppa can run and receive to rack up possies but doesn't get many hard balls (maybe the reason the Blues discarded him?). I suggest short black checks the netball start times if he gets a bit queasy about contact sport.
And as far as playing a final at Wang's ground - what a joke!
JOHN DENVER
24 Aug 2007, 10:38
McCormick got cleaned up by a good old fashioned hip 'n shoulder by Luke Bloom (as did Aiden Brown, Nth Albury the week before) - saw both contests and there was nothing untoward in either. Not denying Hoppa can run and receive to rack up possies but doesn't get many hard balls (maybe the reason the Blues discarded him?). I suggest short black checks the netball start times if he gets a bit queasy about contact sport.
And as far as playing a final at Wang's ground - what a joke!
the wangaratta people dont do jon any favors by continually complaining about the physical attention he gets because it makes it obvious to opposistion sides that they dont like it and is going to make teams more likely to target him phsically. you cant rely on umpires to stop this boys so his wang teammates should be sorting it out themselves by dishing a bit back. i'd suggest their big imposing enforcer brendan van shaik would be the man to do this as he did a good job of sorting out a 16 year old raider all of 40kg earlier in the season
WARBLERER
25 Aug 2007, 23:33
WEELL ANYONE OUT THERE PREPARED WRITE OFF THE PI GEONS.WITH ALL THE SO CALLED IN FIGHTING THEY LOOKED LIKE A SIDE READY TO DEFEND THE CROWN THE ONLY DOWN SIDE IS THE INJURY TO BANGERS LOOKS LIKE OUT FOR THE YEAR BRING ON the finals
Hand Grenade
26 Aug 2007, 10:32
WEELL ANYONE OUT THERE PREPARED WRITE OFF THE PI GEONS.WITH ALL THE SO CALLED IN FIGHTING THEY LOOKED LIKE A SIDE READY TO DEFEND THE CROWN THE ONLY DOWN SIDE IS THE INJURY TO BANGERS LOOKS LIKE OUT FOR THE YEAR BRING ON the finals
Yeah well done pigeons. Obviously their heads aren't so big after all. They have too many good players not to give the flag a shake. Will be interested to see if the Yarra knockers get on the thread this week ... Warbler - I don't know many of the Yarra boys - who is bangers and what is the injury?
thegrowler
26 Aug 2007, 15:33
wodonga are kidding themselves they have no serious chance of playing in a grand final and will be out the first week of finals. every game they have played lately has been a final for them as they had to win to keep there finals hopes alive while wang and yarra had their spots sewn up already. doggies aren't much good AGENT dont get carried away with recent form
One thing Wodonga are is hard at the ball and they are playing for each other. Mind you it is easy to play for each other when most of you have played together since Juniors. They may not have recruited half the VFL but they are an honest side and when at full strength will test the resolve of any top side. Wodonga has resisted attempting to 'purchase' a Premiership unlike Yarrawonga, Wangaratta and in recent times Myrtleford. Wodonga are playing kids and the wildcard is 16 year old Jack Ziebell who destroyed Myrtleford yesterday and made Wangaratta look average the week before. Win or lose next Saturday I know which side I would rather follow next year and in the future. Wodonga should be commended for not following the others and playing cheque book footy.
WARBLERER
26 Aug 2007, 19:40
sorry boys bangers is lance oswald and the kid can not take a trick he has dislocated his shoulder and is probably finished for the year.
as for wodonga and not using the cheque book i am sure shir jacksonx2,doswell,bradshaw,and twitt are playing for nothing you would have to be joking to get on here and tell us how rightous wodonga is get a grip :cool:
thegrowler
27 Aug 2007, 10:39
sorry boys bangers is lance oswald and the kid can not take a trick he has dislocated his shoulder and is probably finished for the year.
as for wodonga and not using the cheque book i am sure shir jacksonx2,doswell,bradshaw,and twitt are playing for nothing you would have to be joking to get on here and tell us how rightous wodonga is get a grip :cool:
I know for a fact that Wodonga has spent half of what the other two have this year. I wonder where Yarrawonga will be on the ladder in 2 years time when the $ have run out. Probably the same position the Myrtleford are in now!
WARBLERER
27 Aug 2007, 11:21
The only reason wodonga have only spent half as much is you probably have nothing left from your last flag
big fella 37.5
27 Aug 2007, 13:43
I know for a fact that Wodonga has spent half of what the other two have this year. I wonder where Yarrawonga will be on the ladder in 2 years time when the $ have run out. Probably the same position the Myrtleford are in now!
if you know for a FACT, reveal us this source....ie. how much wang and yarra have spent and how much wodonga have spent then tell us where you got your FACT then i, and the rest of us will believe you when you say shir, twitt, bradshaw, jacksons, walker are all playing 4 pennies...
WARBLERER
27 Aug 2007, 14:13
fair enough question big fella37.5 would be nice to see what facts he has
raidrboy
27 Aug 2007, 17:40
if you know for a FACT, reveal us this source....ie. how much wang and yarra have spent and how much wodonga have spent then tell us where you got your FACT then i, and the rest of us will believe you when you say shir, twitt, bradshaw, jacksons, walker are all playing 4 pennies...
And don't forget to add Antonawicz to the list.
Tigerrr_Uppercut
27 Aug 2007, 17:54
And don't forget to add Antonawicz to the list.
yeah, heinrich isnt playing for just the love of the game either
thegrowler
27 Aug 2007, 19:25
Yarrawonga $245K this year, facts gained from a bragging Yarrawonga 'person'. Wodonga $125K from a Committee member. If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck then it is probably a duck I say. Interesting that Heinrich has played reserves most of the year and did so last year too. Does $50 a game put you into the best payed players at a club????
big fella 37.5
27 Aug 2007, 19:37
Yarrawonga $245K this year, facts gained from a bragging Yarrawonga 'person'. Wodonga $125K from a Committee member. If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck then it is probably a duck I say. Interesting that Heinrich has played reserves most of the year and did so last year too. Does $50 a game put you into the best payed players at a club????
unless the yarrawonga person was peter brear or steak seymour, how can u be sure they spent that much?? youd wanna have a pretty good yarrawonga source b4 you start throwing those numbers around...
up the dishies
27 Aug 2007, 20:29
well compared to what other clubs offered them yes they are, bradshaw and big tonna are on a quater of what the raiders offered them doswell and the jacksons were long time freinds of twitt and were looking forward to change of clubs shir took a pay cut this year this may be hard to understand for yarra blokes wodonga blokes play to win and to play with there mates and to enjoy themselves not to make big bucks plus when around three quarters of the players are on base payments compare that to wang and yarra
roast beef roll
27 Aug 2007, 22:06
Some interesting figures tossed about there. I don't dispute them, cos i don't really know. I'm interested in what us footy forumers think clubs spend and which players take the biggest chunks out of the kitty.
For instance i'd guess the tigers would spend something around the 100k mark for the year on all players. Carroll gets the lions share obviously (i'd guess 20k+) and maher, fowler, bush, mccallister would get the bigger pay cheques come seasons end.
Some will say i'm kiddin myself, but outta the tigers list a lot of blokes don't get much per game. But i don't actually have any hard evidence to support claims either.
245k is a lot of meat trays!
Heard a rumor the other day that Paul Kirby is being paid $1200 a game by the Magpies. Any truth to this? A very good player but do you think he is worth that much? Thats a possible $25,200 on one player alone for the year. ($24,000 if they go straight through to the GF from the semi's) There are a couple of other decent players there who would command some good money, e.g. McCormick, Trenfield, Steer, Cosgriff, Hayes, Lord, Clarke, Pell, Van Shaik. Also believe that the Maggies were reprimanded over some salary cap breach a few years back. Wasn't even aware that the O&M had a salary cap.......
WARBLERER
28 Aug 2007, 09:12
glen brear and brian walsh would be the only two who would have any idea what yarra has spent and they would not tell anyone
Benched
28 Aug 2007, 10:35
well compared to what other clubs offered them yes they are, bradshaw and big tonna are on a quater of what the raiders offered them doswell and the jacksons were long time freinds of twitt and were looking forward to change of clubs shir took a pay cut this year this may be hard to understand for yarra blokes wodonga blokes play to win and to play with there mates and to enjoy themselves not to make big bucks plus when around three quarters of the players are on base payments compare that to wang and yarra
Wodonga have spent plenty of cash in the past so dont point the finger at other clubs that are having a crack. The only reason Wodonga are not spending big is because they haven't got the cash due to an overspend to win their last flag.
Firstly Darc no there is no longer an O & M salary cap. It used to be only 80k a few years back but the league had no real way of keeping track of clubs spending so it was scrapped. Your other point about Kirby is the biggest exaggeration I have ever heard I played at Tat with Paul for a couple of seasons and still keep in pretty close contact with him and your so called rumour is so far off the mark its not funny. Also there is no way some of those players you mentioned would be on much more than base i.e Lord, Pell, Van Shaik.
Yeah the bullants boys are not on much at all, just wanting a regular game.
Also there are a lot of locals in the wang team, that will bring the $$$ down, Same story with Yarra, you will find that guys are willing to play for less than they are offered at other clubs to play with mates.
If it was all about money why would blokes like McCormick, Ednie, Hammond, Mullins come from AFL clubs and play OM, rather than play WAFL SANFl or Metro footy for way more $$.
No one really knows what clubs are paying, its all a bit silly throwing figures around. Maybe half a dozen people at each club would be fully across individual payments
interchange specialist
28 Aug 2007, 12:39
I don’t think that Wodonga can sit high on a perch and point a finger at teams that they suspect of spending big. As stated Wal and Walsh would be the only two people that would have any idea what the club spends. To be honest, it is not an issue in today’s game. If the club can formulate the funds then they can spend what they like how they like. There is no salary cap to adhere to. Yarrawonga have worked hard off the field to produce a money making scheme that sees them able to put a competitive team on the field. Yarrawonga has had to do that because they have found it difficult to compete with clubs from the bigger towns. I am making an assumption by stating that both Myrtleford and Corowa also have similar difficulties. Just look at how the seconds teams compare and you can see that these clubs have trouble with depth. Neither Wodonga nor any other club can point a finger at Yarrawonga or the Pies. Both teams have put themselves in positions to have a crack at the flag. Maybe the recruiting committees at both clubs should take a bow, pat each other on the back and congratulate each other for formulating good teams and making supporters from Wodonga squeal, ‘foul play’. Maybe instead of squealing, you should be congratulating the Pigeons for producing a competitive team three years in a row.
Go Pigeons
interchange specialist
28 Aug 2007, 12:42
Just out of curiosity can anyone name all the players on the Pigeons list who don't have ties with the club or surrounding region but are playing footy at the club?
THE CEO
28 Aug 2007, 15:22
What would be base level for O&M players?
Base is around $50-60 a senior game at most clubs
My Final top 10 at the end of the 2007 Home and Away Season;
1.Jon McCormick Wangaratta 74
2.Mark Doolan Wodonga Raiders 70
3.Kade Stevens Lavington 68
4.Nick Raines Corowa Rutherglen 59
5.Brandon Ryan North Albury 59
6.Lee Schmidt Corowa Rutherglen 56
7.Andrew Carey Myrtleford 53
8.Darryn McKimmie Lavington 52
9.Daine Porter Wangaratta 51
10.Jarrod Gorupic Wodonga Raiders 47
Well done to those 10 blokes on there seasons interesting to see only 3 will be playing finals Ryan, Porter and McCormick, if he gets back
Tigerrr_Uppercut
28 Aug 2007, 18:18
I don’t think that Wodonga can sit high on a perch and point a finger at teams that they suspect of spending big. As stated Wal and Walsh would be the only two people that would have any idea what the club spends. To be honest, it is not an issue in today’s game. If the club can formulate the funds then they can spend what they like how they like. There is no salary cap to adhere to. Yarrawonga have worked hard off the field to produce a money making scheme that sees them able to put a competitive team on the field. Yarrawonga has had to do that because they have found it difficult to compete with clubs from the bigger towns. I am making an assumption by stating that both Myrtleford and Corowa also have similar difficulties. Just look at how the seconds teams compare and you can see that these clubs have trouble with depth. Neither Wodonga nor any other club can point a finger at Yarrawonga or the Pies. Both teams have put themselves in positions to have a crack at the flag. Maybe the recruiting committees at both clubs should take a bow, pat each other on the back and congratulate each other for formulating good teams and making supporters from Wodonga squeal, ‘foul play’. Maybe instead of squealing, you should be congratulating the Pigeons for producing a competitive team three years in a row.
Go Pigeons
Or maybe not
JOHN DENVER
28 Aug 2007, 18:32
Well done to those 10 blokes on there seasons interesting to see only 3 will be playing finals Ryan, Porter and McCormick, if he gets back
the reason most of these players are from bottom sides is because the better sides have a more even contribution from all it players and hence why they win more games.
on the player payments side of things i think its rediculous to suggest that wodongas players get paid pittance to play and i know for a fact that even there base payment at senior level is $100 where there are other lowly sides in the comp that may only have 6-10 players getting paid more than that and no player over $500 and i bet wodonga have at least 6 in that catagory. if the wodonga boys are so loyal and playing for there mates and nothing else why does matt shir put himself on the market every year? i agree loyalty comes into it and there would be local players at wang, yarra, nth albury, wodonga etc that would get more at other clubs but i can assure you they wouldn't be playing for much less
Hitman01
28 Aug 2007, 18:33
Thats not your top 10 mate. You just copy and pasted that straight off the omfl website. 'Here it is' does the top 10 around here and has his own structure. maybe you could think of your own? or just give up.
Oxygen Thief
28 Aug 2007, 19:08
u are naive to think that those melbourne boys would come up here for nothin buddy. what do you think it was just love of the game... You would need a fair bit of kanga to even think about associating with Aaron Braden
Oxygen Thief
28 Aug 2007, 21:34
throw Macey in their as well. heard he was on the move in february and by march he was driving round in a brand new holden ute. you can't afford those on an abbatoir cleaner salary...
checkmate
28 Aug 2007, 21:49
Heard Tom Dickson has been offered massive money to join the dogs next year and is already making plans to come back. Apparently he wasnt happy he didnt get offered the job at raiders this year.
Here It Is
28 Aug 2007, 21:52
Thats not your top 10 mate. You just copy and pasted that straight off the omfl website. 'Here it is' does the top 10 around here and has his own structure. maybe you could think of your own? or just give up.
Cheerz for the support Hitman, but I've got no problem with Dees posting that list as a comparison. It's interesting.
My final home and away Top 10 is on its way.
Hand Grenade
28 Aug 2007, 22:42
Go Pigeons
Ah come on Tim. You make it too hard for the Yarra knockers to get on their high horses when you put across such sound and sensible arguments!
yeah fair enough mate just thought people might be interested in comparing a couple of lists not disputing that Here it is's system is very detailed and well done
JOHN DENVER
29 Aug 2007, 11:39
Heard Tom Dickson has been offered massive money to join the dogs next year and is already making plans to come back. Apparently he wasnt happy he didnt get offered the job at raiders this year.
i've heard tom dickson was hunted from the raiders and told never to return because of an alleged affair with wayne the trainer a few years back. old waynal passage and tom were both told to leave their raiders stubby holders at the gates and never to return
tom dickson
29 Aug 2007, 14:51
i've heard tom dickson was hunted from the raiders and told never to return because of an alleged affair with wayne the trainer a few years back. old waynal passage and tom were both told to leave their raiders stubby holders at the gates and never to return
Look this is an absolute disgrace! I never had any intentions of coaching raiders. I thought about coaching corowa, but decided i did not want to do it. I might yet coach lavington when timba stands down if i want to, but that is another issue altogether. Also i have not been approached by the doggies. and JD for you to suggest i was kicked out of the club for those reasons, is nothing short of ludicrous! There is plenty of other blokes there that you would kick out before me, e.g, mossop, 'sausage arms' doolan, etc, etc. If you had anything to do with the club you would realise these blokes (esp the 2 named) are worse people than me.
tigerjack
29 Aug 2007, 14:54
Hey Wang Rovers supporters can anyone tell me how Tyson Hartwig is going this season any info would be appreciated
Thanks
Hey Wang Rovers supporters can anyone tell me how Tyson Hartwig is going this season any info would be appreciated
Thanks
Tys has been playing some brilliant footy in the 2's for most of the season. Backs into packs like no other and pulls down marks that even Jonathon Brown would be stunned at the sight of. Played Seniors a week or two ago but due to the strength of the current Rovers backline, Matt Allen, Anthony Carlile, Steve McIntyre, John Conroy, Anthony Tucci, Mark Strack, with four of the six being tall Key Position backmen, there isnt really a spot for Tys at present. A fantastic player and has a long future ahead of him.
tap ruckman
29 Aug 2007, 17:00
heard that young chapman from myrtleford who hides each week down in the forward pocket is on $500 a game!! can anyone assure me that this is a joke?
Tigerrr_Uppercut
29 Aug 2007, 18:09
Tys has been playing some brilliant footy in the 2's for most of the season. Backs into packs like no other and pulls down marks that even Jonathon Brown would be stunned at the sight of. Played Seniors a week or two ago but due to the strength of the current Rovers backline, Matt Allen, Anthony Carlile, Steve McIntyre, John Conroy, Anthony Tucci, Mark Strack, with four of the six being tall Key Position backmen, there isnt really a spot for Tys at present. A fantastic player and has a long future ahead of him.
i agree, it'd be hard for big ty ty to get a game in the one's with you sniffing around his groinal region 24/7. bang
Tigerrr_Uppercut
29 Aug 2007, 21:05
Fact: Mark Doolan was spotted having brunch with Ainsley (ACT) officials Sunday 18th of Aug.
Tigerrr_Uppercut
29 Aug 2007, 21:16
ATT; John Denver
Dear John our records show that you still have an outstanding payment required for your romantic one night stay at our luxurious Hawk Crt B&B. If you could please send your payment to the above establishment as soon as possible, that would much appreciated.
Thanks for you cooperation John
(Ps. we dont anyother skeletons jumping out of the closet now do we john?)
Yours faithfully
Management of Hawk Crt B&B
Here It Is
29 Aug 2007, 21:35
Ahead of the counting of the Morris Medal, I give you my Top 10 at the completion of the home and away season.
The first list is the one you have seen all year and is my tips for the medal and also the club best and fairest awards, while the second list is a back up medal tip with the number of votes each player could get.
Let's see how it goes this year......
My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at August 29.
2. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 97
3. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 92
4. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 90
4. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 90
6. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 85
6. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 85
8. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 83
9. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 82
10. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 77
So, my selections are:
Morris Medal: 1st Jon McCormick (Wangaratta), 2nd Matt Shir (Wodonga), 3rd Kade Stevens (Lavington), 4th Brent Piltz, Brandon Ryan (North Albury)
Smoky: Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders)
Cruelled by injury: Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga), Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen)
Your club's best chances and my best and fairest tips
ALBURY: 1 Charles Gaylard 2 Mark Bush 3 Matthew Fowler 4 Jacob Collins 5 Jason Sheather
COROWA-RUTHERGLEN: 1 Nic Raines 2 Jacob Ryan 3 Lee Schmidt 4 Richard Ambrose 5 Kade Kuschert
LAVINGTON: 1 Kade Stevens 2 Darryn McKimmie 3 Paul Sanson 4 Brendan Page 5 Matthew Pendergast
MYRTLEFORD: 1 Andrew Carey 2 Blake Arnold 3 Ben Beams 4 Jim Martiniello 4 Rhys Fitzpatrick
NORTH ALBURY: 1 Brandon Ryan 1 Brent Piltz 3 Adam Prior 4 Daniel Leslie 5 Aydan Brown
WANGARATTA: 1 Jon McCormick 2 Nick Trenfield 3 Daine Porter 4 Paul Kirby 5 Judd Porter
WANGARATTA ROVERS: 1 Andrew Hill 2 Dan McLaughlin 3 Matthew Allen 4 Ross Hill 5 Kyle Raven
WODONGA: 1 Matthew Shir 2 Brett Doswell 3 Josh Walker 4 Darren Bradshaw 4 Adam Williams
WODONGA RAIDERS: 1 Mark Doolan 2 Trent Storey 3 Brendan Way 4 Jarrod Gorupic 5 Nathan Mossop
YARRAWONGA: 1 Craig Ednie 2 Warren Carlyle 3 Xavier Leslie 4 Lance Oswald 5 Tim Hargreaves
Top 10, using only best three players instead of best 10
1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 29
2. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 18
3. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 15
3. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 15
5. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 14
6. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 13
6. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 13
8. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 12
9. Brett Doswell (Wodonga) 11
9. Xavier Leslie (Yarrawonga) 11
GOOD LUCK TO ALL
daniel kerr jr
29 Aug 2007, 21:41
just a few morrish medal fancies out of the kennel
senoirs: Brent Lewington. Ultra consistant season rarely out of the teams best
reserves: Jack "Uncle Porky" Russel. Many richo like performances leads from the front and regularly kicks bags of goals against quality oppostion
thirds: Sean "Sea Cow" Lappin. Massive man deserves credability.
word on the vine
29 Aug 2007, 22:15
reserves: Jack "Uncle Porky" Russel. Many richo like performances leads from the front and regularly kicks bags of goals against quality oppostion
Here are my hot favourites to take out the league B&F
1st: Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) – is outstanding above everyone’s standards in the O&M
2nds: Carl Norton (Wangaratta)– had a very impressive year last year. should go back-to-back
3rds: Jacob Craven (Wangaratta) – On the Murray bushies list and a great utile player had a good year
Thats the second time you have talked up Lewington. Either there is something going on between you and him or you are him. Its likely the later, i spose you feel the need to talk yourself up cause no one else would
WARBLERER
30 Aug 2007, 12:21
i am with you dees08 these wodonga boys like talking about themselves
first of all they have turned amateur.
and now we have three of them winning the medals
lewington lets have a guess how many votes he gets
0:thumbsd:
0 votes wont be too far off the mark at all. I'm predicting Lewington would struggle to feature in the Top 10 in Wodonga's B & F from what Ive seen of him
Glitter
30 Aug 2007, 12:40
Heard a rumor the other day that Paul Kirby is being paid $1200 a game by the Magpies. Any truth to this? A very good player but do you think he is worth that much? Thats a possible $25,200 on one player alone for the year. ($24,000 if they go straight through to the GF from the semi's) There are a couple of other decent players there who would command some good money, e.g. McCormick, Trenfield, Steer, Cosgriff, Hayes, Lord, Clarke, Pell, Van Shaik. Also believe that the Maggies were reprimanded over some salary cap breach a few years back. Wasn't even aware that the O&M had a salary cap.......
Not sure what happens at you club Darc but i know at most of the other teams blokes play for there clubs in finals and don't get paid $.
Little Ralphie
30 Aug 2007, 13:13
Read the first line of the original quote. I think it read something along the lines of 'fancies', and at no stage did it say any of them would win it.
I'm tipping though that Lewington is more of a chance of gaining votes than maybe your good self!!
Anyway my thoughts are McCormick first, daylight second!!
JOHN DENVER
30 Aug 2007, 16:42
ATT; John Denver
Dear John our records show that you still have an outstanding payment required for your romantic one night stay at our luxurious Hawk Crt B&B. If you could please send your payment to the above establishment as soon as possible, that would much appreciated.
Thanks for you cooperation John
(Ps. we dont anyother skeletons jumping out of the closet now do we john?)
Yours faithfully
Management of Hawk Crt B&B
i'm not sure who you think this is TU but i've got no idea what your talking about?
JOHN DENVER
30 Aug 2007, 17:48
Ahead of the counting of the Morris Medal, I give you my Top 10 at the completion of the home and away season.
The first list is the one you have seen all year and is my tips for the medal and also the club best and fairest awards, while the second list is a back up medal tip with the number of votes each player could get.
Let's see how it goes this year......
My Top 10 Ovens and Murray players at August 29.
2. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 97
3. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 92
4. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 90
4. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 90
6. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 85
6. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 85
8. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 83
9. Nic Raines (Corowa-Rutherglen) 82
10. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 77
So, my selections are:
Morris Medal: 1st Jon McCormick (Wangaratta), 2nd Matt Shir (Wodonga), 3rd Kade Stevens (Lavington), 4th Brent Piltz, Brandon Ryan (North Albury)
Smoky: Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders)
Cruelled by injury: Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga), Jacob Ryan (Corowa-Rutherglen)
Your club's best chances and my best and fairest tips
ALBURY: 1 Charles Gaylard 2 Mark Bush 3 Matthew Fowler 4 Jacob Collins 5 Jason Sheather
COROWA-RUTHERGLEN: 1 Nic Raines 2 Jacob Ryan 3 Lee Schmidt 4 Richard Ambrose 5 Kade Kuschert
LAVINGTON: 1 Kade Stevens 2 Darryn McKimmie 3 Paul Sanson 4 Brendan Page 5 Matthew Pendergast
MYRTLEFORD: 1 Andrew Carey 2 Blake Arnold 3 Ben Beams 4 Jim Martiniello 4 Rhys Fitzpatrick
NORTH ALBURY: 1 Brandon Ryan 1 Brent Piltz 3 Adam Prior 4 Daniel Leslie 5 Aydan Brown
WANGARATTA: 1 Jon McCormick 2 Nick Trenfield 3 Daine Porter 4 Paul Kirby 5 Judd Porter
WANGARATTA ROVERS: 1 Andrew Hill 2 Dan McLaughlin 3 Matthew Allen 4 Ross Hill 5 Kyle Raven
WODONGA: 1 Matthew Shir 2 Brett Doswell 3 Josh Walker 4 Darren Bradshaw 4 Adam Williams
WODONGA RAIDERS: 1 Mark Doolan 2 Trent Storey 3 Brendan Way 4 Jarrod Gorupic 5 Nathan Mossop
YARRAWONGA: 1 Craig Ednie 2 Warren Carlyle 3 Xavier Leslie 4 Lance Oswald 5 Tim Hargreaves
Top 10, using only best three players instead of best 10
1. Jon McCormick (Wangaratta) 29
2. Matt Shir (Wodonga) 18
3. Brent Piltz (North Albury) 15
3. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 15
5. Lance Oswald (Yarrawonga) 14
6. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 13
6. Craig Ednie (Yarrawonga) 13
8. Nick Trenfield (Wangaratta) 12
9. Brett Doswell (Wodonga) 11
9. Xavier Leslie (Yarrawonga) 11
GOOD LUCK TO ALL
that is a very thorough evaluation well done. would find it hard to believe daniel maher will not finish in albury's top 5 in the B&F though. anyone agree?
tap ruckman
30 Aug 2007, 19:20
0 votes wont be too far off the mark at all. I'm predicting Lewington would struggle to feature in the Top 10 in Wodonga's B & F from what Ive seen of him
this is an interesting topic!! from a close source of mine i have been told he was 5th in the clubs B & F last year in his first full season of o and m. maybe time to give the bloke a little slack!! u still cuttin the oranges for the 2nds "dees08"??
big fella 37.5
30 Aug 2007, 21:18
can anyone tell me how nick trenfield is going?? i used to watch him a bit at port melb, heard he's been carving it up and that maybe a few clubs were interested in him??
Here It Is
31 Aug 2007, 10:34
can anyone tell me how nick trenfield is going?? i used to watch him a bit at port melb, heard he's been carving it up and that maybe a few clubs were interested in him??
Don't you read other posts?
Winmar_07
31 Aug 2007, 11:39
Thats the second time you have talked up Lewington. Either there is something going on between you and him or you are him. Its likely the later, i spose you feel the need to talk yourself up cause no one else would
Ha??? Brent who ?? Never heard of him!!
napoleondynamite
31 Aug 2007, 12:01
rumour has it lewington is on big dollars at the dogs aswell?
big fella 37.5
31 Aug 2007, 12:25
Don't you read other posts?
whats your problem mate, im just asking a simple question, if i knew how he was going would i ask that friggin question?!?!
tap ruckman
31 Aug 2007, 16:08
a good source infiormed me today that luke bloom is getting paid $100 everytime he takes a bloke out!!! is football really getting to this?? i put the question to u