View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

raidrboy
8 Sep 2007, 20:46
Tim Hargreaves will be at Barooga next year. Whether or not as a coach, I don't know. He definitley will play for Barooga. Jason Wild to coach next year, as will Dallas Gallagher - Corowa and Tungamah appear to be the likely places. Craig Ednie to play with East Ballarat. Rick James to coach Strathmore. Peter Seymour expected to chuck in the job for a 2 TIME !!!!
Jon McCormick to retire from all footy.

Saw the 2nd Semi today - Hodgson T - hitting behind play as usual, nothing changes. Pressure will be on Hodgson in 2 weeks time, could he be a triple time losing coach in a Grand Final, 3 years running. The word THUG comes to kind when that name is mentioned. Just remember the comments you made on the radio this morning Trav old boy, comes on GF day, you will hear them resonate when your crying again.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Wodonga to take the flag.

Talking to Tom Dickson today and he says that Clint Bizzell is a strong bet to take over the reigns at Wodonga next season.:confused:

Massive Merv
9 Sep 2007, 15:06
Tim Hargreaves will be at Barooga next year. Whether or not as a coach, I don't know. He definitley will play for Barooga. Jason Wild to coach next year, as will Dallas Gallagher - Corowa and Tungamah appear to be the likely places. Craig Ednie to play with East Ballarat. Rick James to coach Strathmore. Peter Seymour expected to chuck in the job for a 2 TIME !!!!

Saw the 2nd Semi today - Hodgson T - hitting behind play as usual, nothing changes. Pressure will be on Hodgson in 2 weeks time, could he be a triple time losing coach in a Grand Final, 3 years running. The word THUG comes to kind when that name is mentioned. Just remember the comments you made on the radio this morning Trav old boy, comes on GF day, you will hear them resonate when your crying again.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Obviously BOG is licking his (or her) wounds after realising her team could be going out in straight sets. Trav is one of the fairest players (and nicest blokes) you will ever see... but provoke him at your peril. The umpires would not have been watching behind play as they were too busy trying to pick out another free kick for the Wangaratta Whingers. I'll bet the bus trip back to Melbourne (for half of their players) was pretty quiet.
How about a bit of credit to a bloke in his third season as coach entering his third successive grand final. Nobody gave North a chance at the start of the year and Hoggy has got them into the decider. By the way Bog, if North wins he will become a triple premiership player with the Hoppers...not a bad effort wouldn't you say? How many premiership medallions do you have?....and what is your coaching like? Sorry, what was I thinking, there aren't any girls playing or coaching in the O&M.

ECHUCABOY
9 Sep 2007, 17:42
Talking to Tom Dickson today and he says that Clint Bizzell is a strong bet to take over the reigns at Wodonga next season.:confused:

Word has it that Dickson has sustained yet another injury. Apparently he had a long term injury which has flared up again in the groin region. Some say it has something to do with a 45 year old gray street hooker. Really bad luck for Tom who has been struggling after his knee reco earlier this year.

This may be bad news with Tom set to miss the next two seasons with enlargoredchaffbalssis. Although it may be a blessing in disguise as he will now be able to to focus on his coaching career.

He may be only 21, but hell, I'd play under the kid!!!

thegrowler
9 Sep 2007, 18:31

Saw Wodonga Vs Yarrawonga today. I must admit I wasn't a true believer in the Dogs ability to go all the way but after today I doubt anyone will stop them. Speaking of sniping Tim Hargreaves did more sniping than there was in the whole Vietnam War in one day today especially to the Wodonga kids. And what's with McMillan is that bloke a sook or what! Pound for pound Yarrawonga are/were the best side in the comp. It's gonna be a long drive back to Melbourne tonight for most of them!!!

thegrowler
9 Sep 2007, 18:34

The only 'people' that have a chance of coaching Wodonga next season are the current coach, the Interleague Coach and the Premiership coach from last year!!! The Clint Bizzell claim is B.S

up the dishies
9 Sep 2007, 21:48
The only 'people' that have a chance of coaching Wodonga next season are the current coach, the Interleague Coach and the Premiership coach from last year!!! The Clint Bizzell claim is B.S

what is this dribble u are talking Jarrod Twitt is the wodonga caoch next year he has done a fantastic job with the club have a look at the list and where they are and how they are playing half the side is 21 or under they will win the flag and look out for the future as these kids keep developing

arctic hall
9 Sep 2007, 21:57
shockin call about the sniping..
altho bloom doesnt mind a hit late after the player has kicked it..
definately in the same boat with the judging of wodonga's flag credentials.. wang will have to be on their game next week..
out of the yarra team today only 4 travel from melbourne..
and 3 of them played all their junior footy at yarra.. so the 'long drive back to Melbourne tonight for most of them!!!' comment was a poor one

thegrowler
9 Sep 2007, 22:55
what is this dribble u are talking Jarrod Twitt is the wodonga caoch next year he has done a fantastic job with the club have a look at the list and where they are and how they are playing half the side is 21 or under they will win the flag and look out for the future as these kids keep developing

Thats assuming that Twitty has time to coach next year. I have heard the new job is placing time constraints on him and I believe there has been quite alot of absences from training. I think you give him a little too much of the credit as Robbie Jackson has definetly played a major role in turning the boys around in Twitty's absence

Tigerrr_Uppercut
9 Sep 2007, 23:46
shockin call about the sniping..
altho bloom doesnt mind a hit late after the player has kicked it..
definately in the same boat with the judging of wodonga's flag credentials.. wang will have to be on their game next week..
out of the yarra team today only 4 travel from melbourne..
and 3 of them played all their junior footy at yarra.. so the 'long drive back to Melbourne tonight for most of them!!!' comment was a poor one

a massive 3 of them played junior footy at yarra? hahah thats great stuff

THE CEO
10 Sep 2007, 09:08
a massive 3 of them played junior footy at yarra? hahah thats great stuff

I think you will find he meant 3 of the 4 that travel from Melbourne Tiger! not the whole team :rolleyes:

Gun Recruit
10 Sep 2007, 12:13
Thats assuming that Twitty has time to coach next year. I have heard the new job is placing time constraints on him and I believe there has been quite alot of absences from training. I think you give him a little too much of the credit as Robbie Jackson has definetly played a major role in turning the boys around in Twitty's absence

The word going around is that Jarrod Twitt wont coach Wodonga next season, regardless of what happens to them this season. It appears that Twitty will accept a relocating position in the business he works for in Coffs Harbour. Also heard that Matt Shir is pissed off that Andy Carey is appearing to be the gun pick up from the O&M in the Canberra comp. Apparently Shiry wanted to be the O&M's 'ambassador' in the nations capital next season....because apparently that position pays pretty well. Thats the word along the grape-vine anyway....

thegrowler
10 Sep 2007, 20:16
The word going around is that Jarrod Twitt wont coach Wodonga next season, regardless of what happens to them this season. It appears that Twitty will accept a relocating position in the business he works for in Coffs Harbour. Also heard that Matt Shir is pissed off that Andy Carey is appearing to be the gun pick up from the O&M in the Canberra comp. Apparently Shiry wanted to be the O&M's 'ambassador' in the nations capital next season....because apparently that position pays pretty well. Thats the word along the grape-vine anyway....

I would think Shirry would be more pissed off about not picking a winner in Race 4 at Flemington on Saturday than not being recruited to AFL Canberra!

Hitman01
10 Sep 2007, 20:40
Can someone please tell Ed Clarke from Wang to shave or wax those disgustingly hairy arms of his on a regular or more regular basis.

Oxygen Thief
10 Sep 2007, 22:19
Can someone please tell Ed Clarke from Wang to shave or wax those disgustingly hairy arms of his on a regular or more regular basis.

the man should take a leaf out of Robbie Jacksons book and really take pride in his appearance

yong barger
11 Sep 2007, 10:10
Word is that Twitt is signed, sealed & delivered for 2008. And he will deliver the flag - Yarra were a rabble (more ramifications to come off the field I hear). Hargreaves rep is in tatters after his sniping efforts and piss poor year - he could also be in strife with the O&M following his performance after the game (stay tuned!). Also, the Dogs have been promoting their youth all year in 1st & 2nds (at least 20 kids 18 or under have had a taste of senior footy).

thegrowler
11 Sep 2007, 15:30
the man should take a leaf out of Robbie Jacksons book and really take pride in his appearance

Big News of the Day - Bulldogs are recruiting another 6 bald players for 2008...stay tuned!

Oxygen Thief
11 Sep 2007, 16:25
Word is that Twitt is signed, sealed & delivered for 2008. And he will deliver the flag - Yarra were a rabble (more ramifications to come off the field I hear). Hargreaves rep is in tatters after his sniping efforts and piss poor year - he could also be in strife with the O&M following his performance after the game (stay tuned!). Also, the Dogs have been promoting their youth all year in 1st & 2nds (at least 20 kids 18 or under have had a taste of senior footy).

wats hargreaves done?

box_16
11 Sep 2007, 19:39
Which Clubs will be after new coaches next year any thoughts?

The Crumber
11 Sep 2007, 21:50
wats hargreaves done?

Apparently had some sort of altercation with the League GM.

Brief mention (one sentence!) on WIN TV news this evening that the League was working with Yarra (whatever that means).

A. Moir will be lurking hereabouts - he may be able to shed some light on the matter. May not be willing to though, and fair enough :D.

JOHN DENVER
12 Sep 2007, 10:57
Which Clubs will be after new coaches next year any thoughts?
corowa, yarrawonga and north albury

Sheegers
12 Sep 2007, 11:21

North Albury has already resigned their current coach. Although i think they will keep it under raps until the finals are over.

Billybootlace
12 Sep 2007, 13:11
Apparently had some sort of altercation with the League GM.

Brief mention (one sentence!) on WIN TV news this evening that the League was working with Yarra (whatever that means).

A. Moir will be lurking hereabouts - he may be able to shed some light on the matter. May not be willing to though, and fair enough :D.

How does a twot like hargreaves get to be O & M captain,believe not even popular at Yarra, who makes these decisions.

Buckster
12 Sep 2007, 14:15
Former Wodonga player - Hayden Heta took out the "A" grade league best and fairest on monday night - massive effort considering he didnt play the last 3 games - he won by 1 vote!

D.I.Y. Man
12 Sep 2007, 20:02
How does a twot like hargreaves get to be O & M captain,believe not even popular at Yarra, who makes these decisions.
Twot thats being nice billy :thumbsd:

box_16
12 Sep 2007, 20:21

Not to sure about Yarra i think Peter Seymour may stay

KooKoo Koala
12 Sep 2007, 23:03
Former Wodonga player - Hayden Heta took out the "A" grade league best and fairest on monday night - massive effort considering he didnt play the last 3 games - he won by 1 vote!
He must have improved a hell of alot look he was a good player in the O&M but to win an A grade amatuers best & fairest thats a pretty good effort thats a pretty high standard of footy well it was back in the old uni days:thumbsu:

Buckster
13 Sep 2007, 10:43
He must have improved a hell of alot look he was a good player in the O&M but to win an A grade amatuers best & fairest thats a pretty good effort thats a pretty high standard of footy well it was back in the old uni days:thumbsu:

Hes a monster of a bloke these days - i was keeping an eye on him this year - he was regularly in the best and they were winning games.
he has improved and i reckon hes prob 2-3 yrs away from reaching his best footy.

Little Ralphie
13 Sep 2007, 11:06

Good mail has it that 'The Steak' is cooked and will not go on again next year.

May have something to do with all the ego's in Yarra, one in particular, who gave the Steak a massive serve at Martin Park a fortnight ago!!!

Silver_kid
13 Sep 2007, 11:09
Hes a monster of a bloke these days - i was keeping an eye on him this year - he was regularly in the best and they were winning games.
he has improved and i reckon hes prob 2-3 yrs away from reaching his best footy.

Apparently getting close to legend status out at ivanhoe too...

Bright Boy
13 Sep 2007, 17:58
Who wins this week?

The Dogs look a little more settled and without McCormick I think they will head to the dance next week and are a massive chance.

Dogs by 15 Points with Bradshaw to kick 6.

Who does everyone else like?

Buckster
13 Sep 2007, 18:23
Who wins this week?

The Dogs look a little more settled and without McCormick I think they will head to the dance next week and are a massive chance.

Dogs by 15 Points with Bradshaw to kick 6.

Who does everyone else like?

dogs by 35 points - bradshaw kicks 8 - Luke bloom 8 hip n shoulders!

khali
13 Sep 2007, 21:29
dogs by 35 points - bradshaw kicks 8 - Luke bloom 8 hip n shoulders!

Bloom=Snipper

box_16
13 Sep 2007, 23:05

May have something to do with all the ego's in Yarra, one in particular, who gave the Steak a massive serve at Martin Park a fortnight ago!!!

just my opinion, but i would be very surprised if he didnt coach next year

Buckster
14 Sep 2007, 08:38
Bloom=Snipper

na bloom = enforcer.

KokodaMidget
14 Sep 2007, 10:56
Bloom=Snipper

Bloom is a snipper, think he is a gardener or something along those lines, a sniper he is not, any club would want someone like him who goes at the ball & whatever is in his way hard as he can. Reckon some soft Wang Maggies people should give him some credit for coming back from a fractured skull the way he has, & maybe big Brendan VS should ask for a courage transplant as well!

THE CEO
14 Sep 2007, 12:42
..... maybe big Brendan VS should ask for a courage transplant as well!

Just out of curiosity KM - what did Brendan VS do to you to get under your skin so much?

Or is this your motherly instrinct coming out - NAG NAG NAG!!!!

KokodaMidget
14 Sep 2007, 15:39
Just out of curiosity KM - what did Brendan VS do to you to get under your skin so much?

Not so much of a NAG, more that when you see a 6 foot 8 inch bloke running around on a footy field resembling the cowardly lion from the Wizard of Oz, makes for some humerous banter. I also once overheard Brendan saying to Dorothy, Tin Man & Scarecrow:

Courage! What makes a king out of a slave? Courage! What makes the flag on the mast to wave? Courage! What makes the elephant charge his tusk in the misty mist, or the dusky dusk? What makes the muskrat guard his musk? Courage! What makes the sphinx the seventh wonder? Courage! What makes the dawn come up like thunder? Courage! What makes the Hottentot so hot? What puts the "ape" in apricot? What have they got that I ain't got?

COURAGE cowardly Lion..........!!!!

chewydog
14 Sep 2007, 16:24
Not so much of a NAG, more that when you see a 6 foot 8 inch bloke running around on a footy field resembling the cowardly lion from the Wizard of Oz, makes for some humerous banter. I also once overheard Brendan saying to Dorothy, Tin Man & Scarecrow:

Courage! What makes a king out of a slave? Courage! What makes the flag on the mast to wave? Courage! What makes the elephant charge his tusk in the misty mist, or the dusky dusk? What makes the muskrat guard his musk? Courage! What makes the sphinx the seventh wonder? Courage! What makes the dawn come up like thunder? Courage! What makes the Hottentot so hot? What puts the "ape" in apricot? What have they got that I ain't got?

COURAGE cowardly Lion..........!!!!

Ha ha ha lol - quality stuff and I have know idea who thats about but quality post mate :D

chewydog
14 Sep 2007, 16:26
Ha ha ha lol - quality stuff and I have know idea who thats about but quality post mate :D

definately goin to use that - might be a good red faces act for 2008, I assume there's a good dance to accompany it as well, have to rent the DVD:p

Tigerrr_Uppercut
14 Sep 2007, 17:36

give it a bone harro, or ill tell hargy where you live

SoapOnARope
14 Sep 2007, 19:35
Who's McIntyre?
The mantis.

whale
14 Sep 2007, 21:10

Heard today steak has pulled the pin

THE CEO
14 Sep 2007, 22:47
give it a bone harro, or ill tell hargy where you live

Do you seriously think that Steve Harrison would be posting on this forum?

But you have used one of the signature sayings of the person that i was trying to hang shite on.... but perhaps i was a little too subtle!

Morales
14 Sep 2007, 23:11
Have to agree with Bloom and the sniper comment......

Word is now that Hopper is playing on Sunday. And for this reason I now predict Wang winning by a margin of 30 points.....

Trenfield for best on. I'll take bets now 2/1

The No 1 Bombers Fan
15 Sep 2007, 02:32
whats the go with the Myrtleford coaching job? Have heard rumour that Jock is not going again can anyone confirm this.

roast beef roll
15 Sep 2007, 10:24
whats the go with the Myrtleford coaching job? Have heard rumour that Jock is not going again can anyone confirm this.

Yep. It was in the BM a few weeks ago. Work commitments was the reason given, don't know the full story though.

Not sure if he'll stay around to play. He took a few blokes from benalla with him so it'll be interesting to see what they do.

Ben Beams to coach for the next 2 years i think. They'll need a long list of recruits, they battled this year and no A. Carey next year (off to canberra) and beams comin back from a knee reco.

On Carey, i still find it hard to believe that north were speaking to him. I'd reckon they'd have put a fair offer on the table if it ever got to that stage. They have got no shame at all and i'd imagine a few in the hills are filthy about it.

Bright Boy
15 Sep 2007, 12:33
Yep. It was in the BM a few weeks ago. Work commitments was the reason given, don't know the full story though.

Not sure if he'll stay around to play. He took a few blokes from benalla with him so it'll be interesting to see what they do.

Ben Beams to coach for the next 2 years i think. They'll need a long list of recruits, they battled this year and no A. Carey next year (off to canberra) and beams comin back from a knee reco.

On Carey, i still find it hard to believe that north were speaking to him. I'd reckon they'd have put a fair offer on the table if it ever got to that stage. They have got no shame at all and i'd imagine a few in the hills are filthy about it.

I heard that the Saints are chasing a Tassie player Derbyshire. Kicked 10 in a game a few weeks back.

Its also been mentioned that Beams caught up with Daniel Ward also.

We need Johnno back, he's pretty spot on with the news!

Little Ralphie
15 Sep 2007, 13:15

Sorry about giving you guys the 'good oil' three days ago. My bad!!!

'The Mailman' delivers again BANG!!

Tigerrr_Uppercut
15 Sep 2007, 14:17
Do you seriously think that Steve Harrison would be posting on this forum?

But you have used one of the signature sayings of the person that i was trying to hang shite on.... but perhaps i was a little too subtle!

ok, sure steve, whatever you reckon maan

thegrowler
15 Sep 2007, 14:30

Actually noone was speaking to Carey it was more like Carey was speaking to everyone else. Same thing has happened for the last three seasons!

THE CEO
15 Sep 2007, 15:18
ok, sure steve, whatever you reckon maan

Shit you got me with that one Einstein :cool:

dazzledavey36
15 Sep 2007, 19:01

clint bizzell is pursing an acting career somewhere.. he mentioned that himself on SEN

FAST_AS_RFL
16 Sep 2007, 00:32
Who are sum of the best up and coming big men in the comp? ruck and chb? give me some details on your thoughts..

FAST_AS_RFL
16 Sep 2007, 00:35
Also, interested to get sum O&M players ideas/thoughts...
why do you all reckon their is such a difference in the standard of the rfl (riverina) and o&m sice we are only 1.5 hour apart.
There just seems to be such a good football culture down on the border and quality of footy is heaps better....why??? your thoughts....

harmesy 37
16 Sep 2007, 09:18
Who i s in the grand final this year?

Can anyone help me onthis question. I couldn't find info. any other place.

thegrowler
16 Sep 2007, 10:56
Who i s in the grand final this year?

Can anyone help me onthis question. I couldn't find info. any other place.

Wodonga Bulldogs play Wangaratta today at the Albury Sportsground to see who plays North Albury in next Sunday's Grand Final. Wodonga 'should' win.

indie
16 Sep 2007, 18:46
Interesting result today as i thought that Wodonga would win, did hoppa play today if he plays next week they will win as i dont rate Nth Albury. Wang have been the best team all year.

WARBLERER
16 Sep 2007, 21:04
Interesting result today as i thought that Wodonga would win, did hoppa play today if he plays next week they will win as i dont rate Nth Albury. Wang have been the best team all year.
wang won easy and hoppa was not required.
the sniper got a tap early and then hid on the bench did they get word he was gonna cop it

Silver_kid
16 Sep 2007, 21:55
wang won easy and hoppa was not required.
the sniper got a tap early and then hid on the bench did they get word he was gonna cop it

Yeah wang must have had thier a-grade game on! surprising win... although im sure he didn't choose to hide on the bench, thats just ridiculous

Gun Recruit
16 Sep 2007, 22:24
Who are sum of the best up and coming big men in the comp? ruck and chb? give me some details on your thoughts..

Who are you recruiting for ? Wouldnt be the team that where's the bulldogs colours in the RFL would it....:thumbsu:

SoapOnARope
17 Sep 2007, 02:02
Lappin's the man. Wang will be victorious. Bets on boys!!!!

JOHN DENVER
17 Sep 2007, 10:46
CLEARLY ITS NATHAN MOSSOP. WHAT HE LACKS IN ABILITY HE MAKES UP FOR IT IN HIS OFF THE FIELD PERFORMANCES

khali
17 Sep 2007, 11:40
Actually noone was speaking to Carey it was more like Carey was speaking to everyone else. Same thing has happened for the last three seasons!

North where very close to signing him and hodgson has chassed andy carey for twelve months dought he speaks to everyone.

FAST_AS_RFL
17 Sep 2007, 12:09
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAST_AS_RFL http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8780875#post8780875)

Who are you recruiting for ? Wouldnt be the team that where's the bulldogs colours in the RFL would it....:thumbsu:

Nah its not the bulldogs in the rfl, another rfl team though who are on the rise, had a about par year and want a few quality players, dont need to be stand outs but more consistent week by week
Gun Recruit - have they been chasing you? They are going after alot of players, word is spending up big to buy a flag and few of their players aren't happy about it.
We looking for ruck, chb, tall, onballer -- these posi's being filled by players leaving for the coast --- interest?

bodi
17 Sep 2007, 17:10
So who is everyone tipping this week?

Looks like the pies might be back in town after looking like going out in straight sets. What does everyone think?

Alter Ego
17 Sep 2007, 18:32
So who is everyone tipping this week?

Looks like the pies might be back in town after looking like going out in straight sets. What does everyone think?
Pell was big loss but the Maggies rebounded well after Wodonga smashed them late in the season. If Hopper McCormick suits up and the other on - ballers can run some interference they will be a big chance. Nth Albury however have timed their run beautifully and will be very confident.

WARBLERER
17 Sep 2007, 19:32
Pies to win flag and i think it could be convincing
Craig Ednie to coach Yarra and be prepared for some interesting recruits;)

Gun Recruit
17 Sep 2007, 19:52
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAST_AS_RFL http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8780875#post8780875)

Nah its not the bulldogs in the rfl, another rfl team though who are on the rise, had a about par year and want a few quality players, dont need to be stand outs but more consistent week by week
Gun Recruit - have they been chasing you? They are going after alot of players, word is spending up big to buy a flag and few of their players aren't happy about it.
We looking for ruck, chb, tall, onballer -- these posi's being filled by players leaving for the coast --- interest?

Im a short, fat, trusty back pocket mate, sort of in the same mould as Brian Straughn, you know the gun from collingwood.

Gun Recruit
17 Sep 2007, 19:56
Pies to win flag and i think it could be convincing
Craig Ednie to coach Yarra and be prepared for some interesting recruits;)

Speaking to an ex yarra player the other day and he said if Snout coaches yarra next year the club will face the same outcome as the 'A' grade corowa netball team did this year :eek:

D.I.Y. Man
17 Sep 2007, 23:53
Lappin's the man. Wang will be victorious. Bets on boys!!!!
Righto, Soapie yr on!! Nth by 3goals. I'll have a yellow drinking voucher on it with u :thumbsu:

half time raffle
18 Sep 2007, 09:18
Very disappointed in the startegy adopted by the Ovens and Murray hierachy this year to fill the seats at the Morris Medal dinner. In the past the league has suggested to clubs that certain players should be at the night because they had either won an award or had come very close. This year there policy seems to have changed. In the past players from our club have been invited with due cause - they won a league b+f. This year however players were invited and were not even mentioned in the top ten of their respective awards. This is particularly disappointing for under 18 players, they fork out the $60 to attend and then are left wondering why they even came - not mentioned in the top 5 on the night and not in the top 10 in the border the next morning. The league should have a good hard look at its policy because soon its going to be a case of "the boy who cried wolf" and when they genuinly want a player in attendance he or she wont bother turning up.

bodi
18 Sep 2007, 09:35
Any results fromthe Morris medal last night?

The Crumber
18 Sep 2007, 09:53
J. McCormick (Wang) 24
K. Stevens (Panthers) 19
J. Ryan 18 (Corowa/Ruth)
X. Leslie (Yarra) 17
R. Jackson (Wodonga) 16
B. Horn (North Alb) 13
M. Bush (Albury) 12

Hopper won the "best dressed" as well.

THE CEO
18 Sep 2007, 10:04
[quote= Hopper won the "best dressed" as well.[/quote]

It seems that he took some style lessons on how to dress from Craig Ednie!

Note to all good players for 2008 season - dress like you just got off the harvester or woke up - It should mean your a cert come the count night :thumbsu:

Winmar_07
18 Sep 2007, 14:21
J. McCormick (Wang) 24
K. Stevens (Panthers) 19
J. Ryan 18 (Corowa/Ruth)
X. Leslie (Yarra) 17
R. Jackson (Wodonga) 16
B. Horn (North Alb) 13
M. Bush (Albury) 12

Does anyone know the top 3 players from each club??

Mc Cormick was always going to win! Jake Ryan particularly good effort seeing his side losty more than they won.

JOHN DENVER
18 Sep 2007, 16:53
J. McCormick (Wang) 24
K. Stevens (Panthers) 19
J. Ryan 18 (Corowa/Ruth)
X. Leslie (Yarra) 17
R. Jackson (Wodonga) 16
B. Horn (North Alb) 13
M. Bush (Albury) 12

robbie jackson was a surprise to poll that many votes i thought. it would be interesting to hear some wodonga peoples thoughts cos its hard to judge unless you see every game

SoapOnARope
18 Sep 2007, 17:14
Righto, Soapie yr on!! Nth by 3goals. I'll have a yellow drinking voucher on it with u :thumbsu:

Wang by 13 points! With blue boy McCormick back and the likes of the great Daine Porter, Griffin and Braden on the field Wang will bring it home by a claw! Although keeping Prior restrained will be vital to thwart North's chances of hopping in front.

Magpies to roost as premiers!! I need my pineapple! :p

The Crumber
18 Sep 2007, 17:27
robbie jackson was a surprise to poll that many votes i thought.

Blond hair will get you the votes every time.

raidrboy
18 Sep 2007, 18:02
Wang by 13 points! With blue boy McCormick back and the likes of the great Daine Porter, Griffin and Braden on the field Wang will bring it home by a claw! Although keeping Prior restrained will be vital to thwart North's chances of hopping in front.

Ben Cosgirff or David Steer will probably play on Prior, with the both of them very solid on Sunday. Wang by 16 points.

Buckster
18 Sep 2007, 18:13
robbie jackson was a surprise to poll that many votes i thought. it would be interesting to hear some wodonga peoples thoughts cos its hard to judge unless you see every game

I went to about 4-5 games this year from Melbourne. Every game i went too - jackson was in dogs best 3. But i thought Shir would be top vote getter followed by Doswell on a late charge to lead the doggies board.

dogs B&F - 1.M Shir 2.B Doswell 3.R.Jackson 4.D Bradshaw

plumber2
18 Sep 2007, 18:55
Very disappointed in the startegy adopted by the Ovens and Murray hierachy this year to fill the seats at the Morris Medal dinner. In the past the league has suggested to clubs that certain players should be at the night because they had either won an award or had come very close. This year there policy seems to have changed. In the past players from our club have been invited with due cause - they won a league b+f. This year however players were invited and were not even mentioned in the top ten of their respective awards. This is particularly disappointing for under 18 players, they fork out the $60 to attend and then are left wondering why they even came - not mentioned in the top 5 on the night and not in the top 10 in the border the next morning. The league should have a good hard look at its policy because soon its going to be a case of "the boy who cried wolf" and when they genuinly want a player in attendance he or she wont bother turning up.

Well said half time but you're way off. People love going to the morris for the beer, floosies and footy talk. Who'd ever say no to that?

Kanga Magoo
18 Sep 2007, 19:19
Can anyone tell me why the border mail has stopped reporting the footy on its website. Not just O & M, but all leagues and sport for that matter.

Pretty F*&%ing ordinary if you ask me. Supposed to be the leading paper on the border. The website is absolute shite!!!!!!

Would love to know who won the twos award last night and how the Corowa boys fared in the votes

plumber2
18 Sep 2007, 19:57
Can anyone tell me why the border mail has stopped reporting the footy on its website. Not just O & M, but all leagues and sport for that matter.

Pretty F*&%ing ordinary if you ask me. Supposed to be the leading paper on the border. The website is absolute shite!!!!!!

Would love to know who won the twos award last night and how the Corowa boys fared in the votes

Wangaratta's Carl Norton won the twos for the second year running and as for the Roo boys, Jake Ryan was third in the seniors with 18.
Lee Schmidt and Nic Raines were next best with about 7 apiece.

Hitman01
18 Sep 2007, 20:23
Does anyone have any ideas or thoughts on a team of the year? This is my attempt anyway.

B: Doswell, M. Allen, S. Oswald
HB: L. Carroll, Dan Leslie, D. Porter
Centre: Schmidt, Shir, Bush
CHF: Silver, McMillan, Doolan
F: Prior, Bradshaw, Ednie
Rucks: Kirby, McCormick, Stevens
Inter: Carlyle, A. Carey, X Leslie.

Kanga Magoo
18 Sep 2007, 20:25
Wangaratta's Carl Norton won the twos for the second year running and as for the Roo boys, Jake Ryan was third in the seniors with 18.
Lee Schmidt and Nic Raines were next best with about 7 apiece.

Thanks plumber!!!

raidrboy
18 Sep 2007, 21:47
Does anyone have any ideas or thoughts on a team of the year? This is my attempt anyway.

Pretty good side there Hitman but I would have Andrew Carey in the starting lineup and I would have Brad Horn in the side instead of Bush.

Gun Recruit
18 Sep 2007, 22:31

I cant believe Matt Shir only got 9 votes ! He would be one bloke (of a few) who would have walked away from the SS&A club last night a little confused. I seen him play a handful of times this year and he was by far the best player on the ground in at least four of those games, whether the dogs won or lost. He never even had a 3 vote game (2,2,2,1,2) ! I thought Doswell would have taken votes off him in the last few rounds but thought Shir would have finished top 5 at least. Anyway thats just my thoughts, happy to hear what others think.
PS- I am NOT Matt Shir

KooKoo Koala
18 Sep 2007, 23:43

Quite a clever d i c k aren't u soapie!!

KooKoo Koala
18 Sep 2007, 23:46

If Carey can't get in your starting 18 u prob haven't seen him play much i guess :thumbsd:

Dees08
19 Sep 2007, 11:17

Thats a Good Looking team, mine has quite a few simularities
a few differences as well as some positional changes

B: D.Porter, D.Steer, M.Allan
HB: M.Shir, D.Leslie, N.Trentfield
C: B.Doswell, J.McCormick , X.Leslie
HF: L.Schmidt, A.Prior, A.Carey
F: M.McMillan, D.Bradshaw, C.Ednie
Foll: W.Carlyle, M.Doolan, K.Stevens
Int: P.Kirby, J.Ryan, B.Ryan

mattitudes
19 Sep 2007, 12:16
watch bomber hilton have a blinder this week in the granny and take the B.O.G. award home with him.

daisy cutter
19 Sep 2007, 15:36
Speaking to an ex yarra player the other day and he said if Snout coaches yarra next year the club will face the same outcome as the 'A' grade corowa netball team did this year :eek:
spot on gun recruit.
snout much to small and far to many freckles.. I know a few that wouldn't play under him..

Alter Ego
19 Sep 2007, 15:38
watch bomber hilton have a blinder this week in the granny and take the B.O.G. award home with him.
Might have some competition from the Morris Medal winner. One J Henry will also be looking to finish on a high.

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
19 Sep 2007, 16:32
PS- I am NOT Matt Shir

G'day Mrs. Shir :D

I thought he may have polled a few more as well.

Hitman01
19 Sep 2007, 18:02
If Carey can't get in your starting 18 u prob haven't seen him play much i guess :thumbsd:
yeah i tried to put the best players for that particular spot. It doesnt mean Carey didnt have a better year then eg. silver. i just reckon he wouldnt play that position as good.

dazzledavey36
19 Sep 2007, 19:17
spot on gun recruit.
snout much to small and far to many freckles.. I know a few that wouldn't play under him..

name one?? i reckon he would be sweet to play under.

Tigerrr_Uppercut
19 Sep 2007, 20:22
So who does everyone think is gunna win out of Graeme Edwards vs. Nrth Albs/Wang in the granny? Should be a close game. And hows his quest for world domination comming along?

SoapOnARope
19 Sep 2007, 21:52
Quite a clever d i c k aren't u soapie!!
Yes, I do use it wisely...unlike some........

D.I.Y. Man
20 Sep 2007, 08:35
yeah i tried to put the best players for that particular spot. It doesnt mean Carey didnt have a better year then eg. silver. i just reckon he wouldnt play that position as good.

Mate KooKoo is right u must not of seen Andy Carey play, cos u r kidding yourself if he can't beat one player in that team. its a big statement to say who is the best footballer in the league ( by rights Johnny "hopper" McCormick should hold that mantle at present) but i would rate Andy better than him, Bit like Robbie Walker, due to him being able to play in almost any position on the ground. And he is an absolute match winner and can turn any game on its head. Pity he just had not much support this year!

Gun Recruit
20 Sep 2007, 09:57
So who does everyone think is gunna win out of Graeme Edwards vs. Nrth Albs/Wang in the granny? Should be a close game. And hows his quest for world domination comming along?

Well said TU. I hope the umpires dont ruin what should be a great game. If they just stick to paying the free's that are there and dont go out looking to stamp their control on the game everything should go alright. They need to realise that whilst they are an important part of the day, thier role should be minute and 'unoticable' to an extent. In saying that, good luck to the boys in orange or whatever colour they are wearing :thumbsu: