View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Jonathon Brown
16 Nov 2007, 19:42
i heard mark hilton offered to stay on one more season at nrth but said could only play full forward because of his knee situation, which is fair enough. But big bad bustling hoggy told him to hit the highway because 'that is where he plays'

news just in!! That nrth will only be fielding a seconds and thirds team this year due to lack of players?? confirm deny? much like the corowa rutherglen netball situation last season! :eek:
Thats bullshit Tiger you obviously have never had any dealings with Travis!He would never say that!

big fella 37.5
17 Nov 2007, 10:53
i heard mark hilton offered to stay on one more season at nrth but said could only play full forward because of his knee situation, which is fair enough. But big bad bustling hoggy told him to hit the highway because 'that is where he plays'

news just in!! That nrth will only be fielding a seconds and thirds team this year due to lack of players?? confirm deny? much like the corowa rutherglen netball situation last season! :eek:

HAHA very comical stuff T_U!!!!:D:thumbsu:

SoapOnARope
18 Nov 2007, 01:42
Pretty sure Rhys would know how to spell his own name????
His name is Fitzy and apparently he likes the easy ladies!!!!!!! Hopefully he'll put up a challenge on ground

Darc21
18 Nov 2007, 16:46
And hows about the penda call?? in the paper today! told ya. yeah ole' T_U gets a bit of credability back! get that into ya Darc

What have I got to do with this? Honestly mate, don't understand why you've got this obsession with me. But kudos on predicting 'Penda's' initiation into Myrtleford's every second year spending spree in search of success. With the tobacco pullout and the drought, one wonders where the Saints get their funds from?

Cockle doodle doo
19 Nov 2007, 08:45
Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.

freakonaleash
19 Nov 2007, 09:03
His name is Fitzy and apparently he likes the easy ladies!!!!!!! Hopefully he'll put up a challenge on ground

Sounds like he was probaly getting root sunday morning about the same time you had your hand on your dick in front of your computer Soap!!

Mongoose
19 Nov 2007, 09:31
What have I got to do with this? Honestly mate, don't understand why you've got this obsession with me. But kudos on predicting 'Penda's' initiation into Myrtleford's every second year spending spree in search of success. With the tobacco pullout and the drought, one wonders where the Saints get their funds from?

Mytrleford is the smallest town in the league and up against some pretty big rivals. They have no choice but to throw a bit of cach every couple of years. If they didn't they would be no competition. It's hard to keep recruits in myrtleford becuase the town is so small and has a lack of employment oppurtunities. Thy have some very generous people around the club and with out them the club would struggle to survive. Good luck to them!

Bob31
19 Nov 2007, 12:24
Sounds like he was probaly getting root sunday morning about the same time you had your hand on your dick in front of your computer Soap!!
You sound pretty sure about that Freak, were you with him?

Silver_kid
19 Nov 2007, 17:29
confirmed today - two youngsters from the doggies, Bloom and lieschke are heading up north to play with the crocs. big loss from the kennel...

up the dishies
19 Nov 2007, 17:40
confirmed today - two youngsters from the doggies, Bloom and lieschke are heading up north to play with the crocs. big loss from the kennel...

daniel kerr jr posted that on the forum two weeks ago mate but yeah it will be a big loss

half time raffle
20 Nov 2007, 07:52
Welcome news for Corowa/Rutherglen with the return of Craig Taft, surely this is one of the biggest signings of the preseason to date, he was an absolute star of the competition!

With Sam Carpenter coming on board as well the roos will have one of the most potent onball brigades in the league - Ryan, Raines, Carpenter, Schmidt and Renyoldson - plenty of class there

arceri
20 Nov 2007, 14:10
Don't forget about yourself Cade. You go alright.

juddy_08
20 Nov 2007, 14:16
the border mail website is PATHETIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

does it post any football news???????????

flagpie
20 Nov 2007, 15:12

don't think there's any o and m stories in the paper today, that would be why there's no stories on the web relating to o and m

Tigerrr_Uppercut
20 Nov 2007, 15:49
don't think there's any o and m stories in the paper today, that would be why there's no stories on the web relating to o and m

Yeah David Johnston has apparently taken leave from the BM and is persuing a television media career in the big smoke. He has been spotted around Melbourne and Sydney Hotspots wining and dining with some of televisions bigwigs

eg. Tracy 'the grimreaper' Grimshaw Anna 'hadrcore' Corrin and Naomi 'the horse' Robson. Word on the street is he has been touted as the replacement for today's morning shows's Carl Stephanovic

Good luck to the D-man if he does choose to further his career, im am sure his absolute sterling journalism work he has done for the border mail wont be forgotten..;)

Gotheroos
20 Nov 2007, 17:03
Yeah David Johnston has apparently taken leave from the BM and is persuing a television media career in the big smoke. He has been spotted around Melbourne and Sydney Hotspots wining and dining with some of televisions bigwigs

eg. Tracy 'the grimreaper' Grimshaw Anna 'hadrcore' Corrin and Naomi 'the horse' Robson. Word on the street is he has been touted as the replacement for today's morning shows's Carl Stephanovic

Good luck to the D-man if he does choose to further his career, im am sure his absolute sterling journalism work he has done for the border mail wont be forgotten..;)

David has a good head for radio and thats about it.

Good to see the roos sign Craig Taft. He was an absolute gun when he played and was very rarely beaten. Just ask Timba!!!

Kanga Magoo
21 Nov 2007, 05:33

Worst newspaper site in Australia bar none!!!

Great to hear Tafty back. Loves playing for Toss and will be a huge addition even after three years out.

KokodaMidget
21 Nov 2007, 08:25

Doesn't matter anyway, most of the breaking O&M stories are posted on here first, especially anything to do with Corowa Rutherglen. Something fishy about the relationship between the BM football dept & the Roos.....

Polkinghorne
21 Nov 2007, 09:33
big news down here is that one R Walker has been seen at the City Oval moving freely and looking very fit - could this be a come back?

Buckster
21 Nov 2007, 10:52
big news down here is that one R Walker has been seen at the City Oval moving freely and looking very fit - could this be a come back?

yeah i think the "super rules" veteran comp is running a tournament in May - he would prob get a guernsey in that.....
His last year in O+M - he was a typical old cranky footballer running around chasing arse allday and getting frustrated at the drop of a hat...

dazzledavey36
21 Nov 2007, 10:52
pffft doubt it mate.. he is happy teaching ( student of his) lovesto keep fi thats all.

Alter Ego
21 Nov 2007, 11:00
Probably sussing out where to put his Hall of Fame memorial statue.

Polkinghorne
21 Nov 2007, 14:13
yeah i think the "super rules" veteran comp is running a tournament in May - he would prob get a guernsey in that.....
His last year in O+M - he was a typical old cranky footballer running around chasing arse allday and getting frustrated at the drop of a hat...

Ill take that as a no

Here It Is
21 Nov 2007, 20:38

Didn't he win the medal in his last year?

Buckster
22 Nov 2007, 07:58
Didn't he win the medal in his last year?

won his last in 2003. pretty sure he played after that. dont get me wrong - absolute legend of country football and o+m - but i saw him play at the end and it was not the way robbie walker would like to be remembered.....

half time raffle
22 Nov 2007, 10:06
Pretty sure Robbie's last game was the elimination final at Yarrawonga in 2003

Buckster
22 Nov 2007, 10:17
Pretty sure Robbie's last game was the elimination final at Yarrawonga in 2003

i think your on the money - it was finals football i was watching. it might have been that actaull game against yarra - he struggled. but still in the top 2-3 o+m players of all time. Anyway the the point of my initial quote - stay on the sidelines robbie!

forward pocket
22 Nov 2007, 21:13
I was just reading Hume league thread as I have some mates that play in that league. Firstly is Jocka really playing for Walla?? Wasn't he Myrtleford? Secondly, is the mentioned Dale Carroll to Holbrook x-Albury?? I know it's country footy but how would they go, both ex o and m and I haven't seen them in a while and I'd think 1 would be fit and the other would be well, still playing in the mid-field. Some great experience for 2 clubs either way.

Big Al 11
23 Nov 2007, 07:17
I was just reading Hume league thread as I have some mates that play in that league. Firstly is Jocka really playing for Walla?? Wasn't he Myrtleford? Secondly, is the mentioned Dale Carroll to Holbrook x-Albury?? I know it's country footy but how would they go, both ex o and m and I haven't seen them in a while and I'd think 1 would be fit and the other would be well, still playing in the mid-field. Some great experience for 2 clubs either way.

Definate RE Carroll and is ex-Albury premiership player, signed as Manny's ac. Will be good for the young Holbrook side to learn from a quality footballer in DC. :thumbsu:

Hirdy005
23 Nov 2007, 13:53
Whats the news with the raiders. they signed prior for big money and now everyone is departing. not happy times down there by the sounds of it. can anyone inform me of why?

fairlane
23 Nov 2007, 17:19
won his last in 2003. pretty sure he played after that. dont get me wrong - absolute legend of country football and o+m - but i saw him play at the end and it was not the way robbie walker would like to be remembered.....

I think everyone is forgetting something. He quit because he had a badly injured neck/back so if he wasn't performing at his absolute best he had a good reason. Surely if he is over this problem he can certainly be more than just a good player again at the rovers considering he will prepare like no one else ever has.

Here It Is
23 Nov 2007, 18:22
I think everyone is forgetting something. He quit because he had a badly injured neck/back so if he wasn't performing at his absolute best he had a good reason. Surely if he is over this problem he can certainly be more than just a good player again at the rovers considering he will prepare like no one else ever has.

We're not forgetting. He is the greatest O and M player of all time.
I didn't get to see him play until near the end of his career (2001-03), but I'm privileged to be able to say I did.
An absolute champion, however, he is now 38 or 39? and although he would be a good player again, it would be near impossible for him to regain what he had.
And I'm almost certain he wouldn't want to come back to just be a bit player.
If Robbie Walker came back, I hope he'd prove me wrong, but I think he'd be best served with his mates the Wilsons at Tarrawingee or somewhere like that teaching the young guys coming through rather than putting his reputation on the line by trying to play O&M seniors again.

The analogy that springs to mind is Tony Lockett - the greatest goalkicker in VFL/AFL history, but a lot of people remember him for his failed comeback in 2002.

There is no need to do it, Robbie.

Hornie
24 Nov 2007, 11:50

Are you still fit enough to play Jocka?????

bodi
27 Nov 2007, 07:28
Have all teams started back training yet? I think there is about 5 weeks till christmas so would be interested to see if any teams have been at it all ready

Wonga
27 Nov 2007, 10:56
GOTHEROOS

Is it true, Corowa / Rutherglen have signed a guy from Tungamah, who has a twin brother who has connections at Yarra, Goorambat, Strathmore, Glenroy and East Doncaster?

Rumor has it they are identical twins ?

ANY TRUTH ??????:cool:

Hirdy005
27 Nov 2007, 14:27
is anybody keen to predict the finish of next years ladder? Wodonga look stronger than last year look good on the track. If they sign bradshaw they will be a big chance you would think?

dazzledavey36
27 Nov 2007, 16:38
GOTHEROOS

Is it true, Corowa / Rutherglen have signed a guy from Tungamah, who has a twin brother who has connections at Yarra, Goorambat, Strathmore, Glenroy and East Doncaster?

u will hardly get a good pick up from tungamah trust me.. dont get too excited lol

Wonga
28 Nov 2007, 11:32
u will hardly get a good pick up from tungamah trust me.. dont get too excited lol

You would know dazzlw, with your inclination towards males!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wonga
28 Nov 2007, 11:35
David has a good head for radio and thats about it.

Good to see the roos sign Craig Taft. He was an absolute gun when he played and was very rarely beaten. Just ask Timba!!!

Good to see Johnno neglecting the other sides outside Albury Wodonga again. When is he gunna learn it is not the Albury Football League. Yarra and Corowa are recruiting tonnes of talented players and all the border Mail gives us is abot Fat Little Hoggy, talking up his side after players walked out.

Shame David Shame !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsd:

KokodaMidget
28 Nov 2007, 14:31
Good to see Johnno neglecting the other sides outside Albury Wodonga again. When is he gunna learn it is not the Albury Football League. Yarra and Corowa are recruiting tonnes of talented players and all the border Mail gives us is abot Fat Little Hoggy, talking up his side after players walked out.

Shame David Shame !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsd:

Wonga, pretty sure that the scribe in question has written 2 or 3 articles in recent days regarding his beloved Corowa/Rutherglen

Tigerrr_Uppercut
28 Nov 2007, 15:49
Wonga, pretty sure that the scribe in question has written 2 or 3 articles in recent days regarding his beloved Corowa/Rutherglen

yeah thats true, the big wilderbeast in question is actually a corowa/rutherglen supporter. So its no wonder they are always in the news.. even tho they've been ordinary for 15 out of the last 20 years and only 68 people live there, 7 of whom purchase the border mornin mail 'on occasion' :confused:

Gotheroos
28 Nov 2007, 18:05
GOTHEROOS

Very true Wonga. Have heard he is training the house down and he is very keen for a big year at the roos

jameshirdy
28 Nov 2007, 19:19
yeah thats true, the big wilderbeast in question is actually a corowa/rutherglen supporter. So its no wonder they are always in the news.. even tho they've been ordinary for 15 out of the last 20 years and only 68 people live there, 7 of whom purchase the border mornin mail 'on occasion' :confused:

u blokes should off your high horse, i reckon u have the best footy coverage in country victoria, certainly better than down our way.

rather buy the border mail any day than our so called local rag

dazzledavey36
28 Nov 2007, 22:00
You would know dazzlw, with your inclination towards males!!!!!!!!!!!!

why dont u tell me dipshit

Polkinghorne
29 Nov 2007, 09:09
is anybody keen to predict the finish of next years ladder? Wodonga look stronger than last year look good on the track. If they sign bradshaw they will be a big chance you would think?

With Bradshaw

WODONGA
WANG
YARRA
ROVERS
COROWA

Without Bradshaw

WANG
YARRA
ROVERS
COROWA
WODONGA

Spoon - Raiders

Silver_kid
29 Nov 2007, 09:57
Have the Dogs signed some big names for 08?

half time lollies
29 Nov 2007, 14:48
YARRAWONGA - GAINS

JEREMY OBRIEN - SHEPP
PAUL O'NEILL - MULWALA - should have been AT YARRA 12 months ago
JOSH FRAWLEY - AINSLE
CLINT RUNNALLS - ABERFELDIE
LAURANCE FURLAN - CAMPBELLTOWN

YARRAWONGA - LOSSES

DALLAS GALLAGHER - BAROOGA
SIMON RUDD - COBRAM
ADAM RUDD - COBRAM
PHIL BOURKE - COBRAM
LUKE HAMMOND - TRAVEL
MARC LONERGAN - PERTH
JASON WILD - RETIREMENT
TIM HARGREAVES - COBRAM OR FINLEY
MARCUS MCMILLAN - DARWIN / ECHUCA
SCOTT OSWALD - ECHUCA
LANCE OSWALD - ECHUCA
RICK JAMES - STRATHMORE/GLENROY
MARK TYRELL - BOX HILL
LEIGH RAMSDALE - NATHALIA
ZACH GALLAGER - BAROOGA
ROSS MULQUINNEY - MELBOURNE
:cool::cool::cool::thumbsu::cool:

I think you will find that the Oswaldsx2, Mcmillan, Ramsdale, Hargreaves and Wild will be at the pigeons in '08'.

Here It Is
29 Nov 2007, 15:01
yeah thats true, the big wilderbeast in question is actually a corowa/rutherglen supporter.

Um, incorrect.

Wonga
29 Nov 2007, 15:48
I think you will find that the Oswaldsx2, Mcmillan, Ramsdale, Hargreaves and Wild will be at the pigeons in '08'.

Money speaks all languages !!!!!!!!!

Wonga
29 Nov 2007, 15:49
why dont u tell me dipshit

Last thing to say to you. TRUTH HURTS DOESNT IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Run Straight
30 Nov 2007, 13:27
Ya just starting to look desparate now buddy

timmy123
30 Nov 2007, 22:41
Im from a melbourne based club, looking for quality players for 2008 season. If you or anyone is interested in coming to a new club, however we really are after quality recuits and they will be rewarded accordingly, please PM me. Thanks

Good Footy Son
1 Dec 2007, 11:04
Don't know about recruits, but C. Martin and A.Mudra have been seen talking and spending a lot of time with the Seymour F.C. vise President and players in the last month.The rumour is they have been approached to slot into the coaching staff as a package deal.Maybe Bull dust, but C.Martin is on holiday with said V.P at moment.

Top Cat
2 Dec 2007, 16:32
Don't know about recruits, but C. Martin and A.Mudra have been seen talking and spending a lot of time with the Seymour F.C. vise President and players in the last month.The rumour is they have been approached to slot into the coaching staff as a package deal.Maybe Bull dust, but C.Martin is on holiday with said V.P at moment.

a mudra will fill the role of canteen manager eating all the pies or would that be the chocolates

Sheegers
4 Dec 2007, 08:06
Whats the news with the raiders. they signed prior for big money and now everyone is departing. not happy times down there by the sounds of it. can anyone inform me of why?

I can only give you my thoughts on why everyone is leaving!!!!
I think its because the club has been telling its players for the last 3 years or so that they are chasing big name players. And they always fall over when they are just about to put pen to paper. Because nobody wants to go and play for the almost wooden spoon club every year.

And when Waysie left the club the first time after Whip departed he took up to 15 of their 2nd/senior players with him to chiltern. And raiders have never managed to get their stocks up since. And the club has a tendency to be cheap when approching players, this is why raiders have alot of young blood and 2nd tier players.

I have heard that raiders got away cheaply with Prior because they offered him that admin role. And he needed to get some type of formal training behind him.

From what i hear, Raiders need to sign alot more strong players otherwise at the end of next season they will lose what senior players that have left.

fairlane
4 Dec 2007, 10:02
I think its because the club has been telling its players for the last 3 years or so that they are chasing big name players. And they always fall over when they are just about to put pen to paper. Because nobody wants to go and play for the almost wooden spoon club every year.

And when Waysie left the club the first time after Whip departed he took up to 15 of their 2nd/senior players with him to chiltern. And raiders have never managed to get their stocks up since. And the club has a tendency to be cheap when approching players, this is why raiders have alot of young blood and 2nd tier players.

I have heard that raiders got away cheaply with Prior because they offered him that admin role. And he needed to get some type of formal training behind him.

From what i hear, Raiders need to sign alot more strong players otherwise at the end of next season they will lose what senior players that have left.
Are you sure that Raiders got away cheaply with Prior because it seems like everyone is saying that a massive match payment and a pretty good sign on was what helped seal the deal.

bodi
4 Dec 2007, 10:16
Are you sure that Raiders got away cheaply with Prior because it seems like everyone is saying that a massive match payment and a pretty good sign on was what helped seal the deal.

what sort of money would he be on to do the admin role?

fromthebackline
4 Dec 2007, 10:35
what sort of money would he be on to do the admin role?

Looking for lifestyle change. Why not Cairns. Good climate and footy. Assistance with work and accomodation. Good remuneration Our coach is Steve Daniels, twice Vic Country Coach of the year and dual premiership coach in G.V. Looking for talls but all welcome. If interested please contact me through this site.

texas hold em
4 Dec 2007, 10:51

on what basis do you conclude that the players that have left raiders have left on bad terms? from my knowledge the players that have left this year have had genuine reasons and are moving out of the area. doolan to perth, gowers to hamilton island, corcoran to canada and their are a few others that may be leaving the area also for different reasons not related to footy. i agree raiders need to sign some more strong players to be competetive but the players that are there are committed to the club and trying to improve. its definately not a case of everyone being sick of whats going on and the club struggling as reasons for players leaving

fairlane
4 Dec 2007, 10:52
Not having ever held down a job for long enough I wouldnt know but it would have to be 30k or up you would think. Didnt Hoggy say in the paper that north could maatch the job money but not the footy money

DanielJohns
4 Dec 2007, 11:34
you obviously have no idea sheegers, Prior was offered plenty and from what I hear Raiders have been pretty generous with their offers. There appears to have been a bit of bad luck regarding recruiting players and obviously Doolan going is bad timing. I hear that things are going along pretty well and generally everyone is happy with those in charge.

Massive Merv
4 Dec 2007, 11:49
North matched the job and $700 a game....so Raiders went to $1000 a game plus $2000 sign on.

Hornie
4 Dec 2007, 12:35
North matched the job and $700 a game....so Raiders went to $1000 a game plus $2000 sign on.

The biggest question is not what he is paid as a player but can he do the job off the ground. Hopefully he is given a good support network as he will need it to complete the role.

Hard enough with a proven administrator than a player with no experience.

up the dishies
4 Dec 2007, 16:13
on what basis do you conclude that the players that have left raiders have left on bad terms? from my knowledge the players that have left this year have had genuine reasons and are moving out of the area. doolan to perth, gowers to hamilton island, corcoran to canada and their are a few others that may be leaving the area also for different reasons not related to footy. i agree raiders need to sign some more strong players to be competetive but the players that are there are committed to the club and trying to improve. its definately not a case of everyone being sick of whats going on and the club struggling as reasons for players leaving

most of the players are leaving because they are sick of losing games as you can imagine no one likes losing and its not like they are improving by the looks they will be much worse this year they have only won something like 10 games in the last 4 years and with nearlly half there senoir team from last year leaving and only 2 recruits they are really battling from what i herd there numbers at pre season have been ordinary as well

Hitman01
4 Dec 2007, 17:17
North didnt get him into uni and raiders did and the job north offered him is not the one he wanted either so he went with the raiders..

godogsgo
4 Dec 2007, 17:37
Looking for lifestyle change. Why not Cairns. Good climate and footy. Assistance with work and accomodation. Good remuneration Our coach is Steve Daniels, twice Vic Country Coach of the year and dual premiership coach in G.V. Looking for talls but all welcome. If interested please contact me through this site.

Cairns is not that good of footy.

Lavy_Panther
4 Dec 2007, 21:20
North didnt get him into uni and raiders did and the job north offered him is not the one he wanted either so he went with the raiders..
Raiders got him into uni? Sheeze, who would've thought a small town football club could be above educational regulations...

WALKERTOBETTS
5 Dec 2007, 06:33
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

KokodaMidget
5 Dec 2007, 14:55
most of the players are leaving because they are sick of losing games as you can imagine no one likes losing and its not like they are improving by the looks they will be much worse this year they have only won something like 10 games in the last 4 years and with nearlly half there senoir team from last year leaving and only 2 recruits they are really battling from what i herd there numbers at pre season have been ordinary as well

Most team numbers at pre season fluctuate, particularly before Xmas, however im sure like most clubs they would like more players there, however, they won't be the only club with small numbers training at the moment.

Dunno if they are not improving, pretty sure they won more games last year than the year previous, including wins over sides that finished in the top 5. If memory serves me correct, they beat Wodonga before the Dogs went on their winning streak in the later rounds of the year.

YVETTEKIBBEY
6 Dec 2007, 13:07
Can someone up that way help me out in regards to some info on a player that has moved to our neck of the woods his name is brett/brad davis and he played at corowa/rutherglen i believe. Your input on type of player and form most revently would be much appreciated.:thumbsu:

Kage
11 Dec 2007, 14:38
was their anyhting in todays border mail about some new nth albury recruits???? talking to some nth supporters last night at the pub and they said their might be something about in this weeks papers

Glitter
11 Dec 2007, 15:14
This thread has gone a bit quiet boys..

Can we get some people posting on each clubs comings and goings so far?

Darc - you can start us off with the Rovers. Who have they picked up apart from Norman?

Bob31
12 Dec 2007, 09:51
Myrtleford have lost Carey and McFarlane and retained the rest + added a couple. Look for Tom Ivone to step up to Senior level as a Key forward, training the house down at the moment.

Darc21
12 Dec 2007, 22:59
This thread has gone a bit quiet boys..

Can we get some people posting on each clubs comings and goings so far?

Darc - you can start us off with the Rovers. Who have they picked up apart from Norman?

I think the main aim was to keep most of last year's list together which has been achieved. Apart from Karl, the only other new fella at the club is Jake Platfuss, ex bushies boy and might have won or come 2nd in Finley's B&F last season as an 18 year old. Comes with big wraps and will be an asset. Cristoforo, Silver, McIntyre, Webb and Hill are all going round again for another year. Forward line is looking potent with Cristoforo, Silver, Ross and Andy Hill and now Norman. Wont see many better in the league!

khali
13 Dec 2007, 20:07
Myrtleford have lost Carey and McFarlane and retained the rest + added a couple. Look for Tom Ivone to step up to Senior level as a Key forward, training the house down at the moment.

Also the absense of Burgess this season will hurt the saints.

Knives06
17 Dec 2007, 08:45
Also the absense of Burgess this season will hurt the saints.
Didnt think they would be able to replace him either, but they have just signed a pacy wingman from Echuca someone Jackson. Which should lesson the blow.

Trueblueroo
17 Dec 2007, 11:07
Can anyone confirm or deny Jess D Smith former Carlton rookie and North Adelaide player has signed with Wang Maggies?

Silver_kid
17 Dec 2007, 15:37
Didnt think they would be able to replace him either, but they have just signed a pacy wingman from Echuca someone Jackson. Which should lesson the blow.

Is that nick jackson???

juddy_08
17 Dec 2007, 17:08
Can anyone confirm or deny Jess D Smith former Carlton rookie and North Adelaide player has signed with Wang Maggies?

yeah he has, as well as former bullants and west adelaide player michael hooper...it happened around about 2 months ago...

Knives06
18 Dec 2007, 08:32
Is that nick jackson???
Think that is him. Can he play?

Silver_kid
18 Dec 2007, 09:02
Think that is him. Can he play?

could play well as a youngster, havent seen him play for a few years. only light though..

Agent
18 Dec 2007, 09:58
could play well as a youngster, havent seen him play for a few years. only light though..

Do you know Silverkid if Myrtleford have signed anyone else?

Silver_kid
18 Dec 2007, 10:39
Do you know Silverkid if Myrtleford have signed anyone else?

Not really mate just the purss boys who will be very handy!

captain peanut
18 Dec 2007, 11:10
I hear that Wangaratta Magpies have signed smith and hooper from the sanfl and have retained basically the entire 2007 premiership squad. Even mccormick now sounds like he will be there for round 1 rather than mid year. Kirby carmody and henry are all going around again. They will be very short odds to go back to back.

juddy_08
18 Dec 2007, 11:17
I hear that Wangaratta Magpies have signed smith and hooper from the sanfl and have retained basically the entire 2007 premiership squad. Even mccormick now sounds like he will be there for round 1 rather than mid year. Kirby carmody and henry are all going around again. They will be very short odds to go back to back.

i thought mccormick was travelling till mid yr?? whats changed?

captain peanut
18 Dec 2007, 13:39
i thought mccormick was travelling till mid yr?? whats changed?
The prospect of another big season for the club might be too enticing for mccormick to miss out on. Have also just heard that wang have signed a 3rd sanfl player in the last week or 2. Where's all their cash coming from??

sparra
19 Dec 2007, 09:00
The prospect of another big season for the club might be too enticing for mccormick to miss out on. Have also just heard that wang have signed a 3rd sanfl player in the last week or 2. Where's all their cash coming from??

Just remember, they have some pretty well off businessman around town who have been starved of success for about 30 years.

I am sure if they can see a light at the end of the tunnel, and were asked nicely enough for a donation, a fair few hands would dig deep into pockets.

They may even see themselves as a slight chance to match the Rovers in their golden eras. There does seem to be similar names running around for the magpies now, as was with the Rovers back then!

Knives06
19 Dec 2007, 09:21
Who cares where footy clubs get their cash from, winning attracts people and the pies are definatley doing that

captain peanut
19 Dec 2007, 09:31
I can only hope the pies are headed for a similar era. Seeing flag no. 1 in my lifetime was another life event now ticked off. But a few more would be nice. I am already looking forward to round 2 next year and making the trip up the freeway to see the pies unfurl the flag in front of the mob from across the road.

Silver_kid
19 Dec 2007, 11:41

Do you know if Luke Mullins will return from O/S to play in 08??

Glitter
19 Dec 2007, 11:44
Just remember, they have some pretty well off businessman around town who have been starved of success for about 30 years.

I am sure if they can see a light at the end of the tunnel, and were asked nicely enough for a donation, a fair few hands would dig deep into pockets.

They may even see themselves as a slight chance to match the Rovers in their golden eras. There does seem to be similar names running around for the magpies now, as was with the Rovers back then!

Well put Sparra. Who cares how clubs get there money. The fact is every club has there top players getting paid well. It's just attracting quality players that's the trouble for most.

Wang seem to have targeted some top players that have come through with the goods so good luck to them and hopefully they do have some further sucess.

Peaunut who is this 3rd SANFL player your talking off? The pies look to be shaping up alright for next year.

Can anyone list any other inclusions to the other clubs there hasn't been much in the news lately.

Corowa look as though they'll be up there in '08.

bodi
19 Dec 2007, 12:26
Do you know if Luke Mullins will return from O/S to play in 08??

Depends whether he can get a regular gig over there after dancing his way through carnivale in Feb.

The boy can dance

PMART
19 Dec 2007, 12:50
Can anyone confirm that Ben Beams has accepted an assistants posistion at Morwell under Jock McFarlane?

juddy_08
19 Dec 2007, 13:05
Can anyone confirm that Ben Beams has accepted an assistants posistion at Morwell under Jock McFarlane?

ben beams is coaching myrt so i doubt hes gonna be an assistant elswhere.

PEANUT would u care to elaborate on the 3rd SANFL player 4 the pies??

sparra
19 Dec 2007, 13:29

I just thought that was a nice play on words

krusty123
19 Dec 2007, 13:40
Hello all,

This is my first posting having recently discovered this stream.

I am an ex-Alburian (the city, not the FC) and up until I left 2 years ago, had an active interest in the O&M.

From the western side of the border I can inform you of a few things:-

* I can confirm (although It may not need confirming) that Joel Mackie is with Woodville/West Torrens. I saw him myself in the supermarket (with Woodville player Mark McKenzie).

* Brad Murray will be staying at Port Adelaide. I understand (second hand info) that he signed at least a two year contract...Last year

* Simon McCormack (Ex North Albury, Ex Wodonga) has been made West Adelaide vice-captain where he will play alongside captain Nathan Brown (Ex Melbourne) and Ben Hollands (Ex North Albury, Ex Wodonga). Simon won a lot of respect in a poor team this year. No wonder they made him a leader in what should be a vastly improved team next year.

Just in case you lot didn't know

Knives06
19 Dec 2007, 15:17
That couldnt be true. I was told the reason Jock left was because Beams was so full of himself and he couldnt stand him.

Roughy
19 Dec 2007, 21:15
Can anyone tell me if Mark Lambertini is still playing in the area?

Jonathon Brown
20 Dec 2007, 06:56
That couldnt be true. I was told the reason Jock left was because Beams was so full of himself and he couldnt stand him.
I think everyone knows why Mcfarlane left and it had nothing to do with Beams!!

Where It All Began
20 Dec 2007, 11:51
What's going on at tigerland, ok, they've picked up some recruits, but have missed out on what may well be some handy players.

Apparently they were looking the goods to recruit Luke Northon-Smith and Sam Terlich, only to see them go to Lavington and North Albury and lost James Brain to North as well.

Brain will be a good pick-up for North, gutsy and great mark for his size and generally has very good skills, the Tigers would have been expecting big things from him this season!