View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Shambles
18 Feb 2008, 19:40
flag favourite - wangaratta

smoky - corowa

big improver from last year's finallists - wangaratta rovers

big disappointment from last year's finallists - north albury

a few players to watch - karl norman : back at wang rovers, freakishly talented but persistent question marks over commitment to footy. Will be a dominant force if switched on.

jesse smith - ball magnet signed by wangaratta from sanfl. Will be a midfield force, and once mccormick returns wang may well have the 2 best midfielders in the comp.

darren bradshaw - the goal kicking machine has re-committed to wodonga and will get close to the magical 100 for the season.

my revised ladder for 2008 after hearing of some of the confirmed comings and goings at various clubs:

wangaratta
wangaratta rovers
wodonga
corowa
yarrawonga

albury
lavington
myrtleford
nth albury
raiders

I reckon we might be set for a return to the 70's and witness a good old stoush between the 2 wang rivals in the granny. Surely that wouldn't be played at lavi????

anyone else got any thoughts on the fortunes of clubs now that we have a clearer picture of departures and arrivals?

Capt. Peanut, not far of the money i reckon. I would probably have Nth at 6 or 7 though.
Im probably stating the obvious but for me watch Jamie Allans form this year. Spending time at state footy level would have given him the experience and knowledge to take his game to the next level and thats not to mention how fit he will be. Morris medal fav for me.
Im a big fan of Bradshaw as a player and remember he came back very fit for him last year, the question is will he be as fit and dedicated? Word is he hasnt trained much.
I am looking forward to the Wang battle. Bring it on.

RatherHaveABeer
18 Feb 2008, 20:59
Good point made before about the Maggies backline but where i think they lack is probably up forward. Can imagine Carmody spending a fair bit of time up there this season, making him and Henners the two tall options with Hayes the midsized player in the mix. Come round two however i think the Hawks will win out in that area of the ground. With the likes of Matty Allen, still the best fullback in the league, Tyson Hartwig, Steve McIntyre, John Conroy, Mark Strack, and Ben Kneebone down there, that would amount to just about the best backline in the comp. A plethora of tall options who can play both big and small. Rovers forward line looking scary too. hope that they dont end up fighting amongst each other over who is goin to kick 50 goals first.

juddy_08
18 Feb 2008, 23:08
Good point made before about the Maggies backline but where i think they lack is probably up forward. Can imagine Carmody spending a fair bit of time up there this season, making him and Henners the two tall options with Hayes the midsized player in the mix. Come round two however i think the Hawks will win out in that area of the ground. With the likes of Matty Allen, still the best fullback in the league, Tyson Hartwig, Steve McIntyre, John Conroy, Mark Strack, and Ben Kneebone down there, that would amount to just about the best backline in the comp. A plethora of tall options who can play both big and small. Rovers forward line looking scary too. hope that they dont end up fighting amongst each other over who is goin to kick 50 goals first.

how is that the best back line?????????????????????
ive never even heard of half of em!!!!!!

thinkbig
19 Feb 2008, 08:52
thats coz your in QLD juddy when you should be at princes park...!!!

the rovers forward line is where the hype will be for most of the year... i guarantee that all opposing teams will envy that line up but will be interesting to see if they do get in each others road... i think too classy for that though...

opinions on maybe who will take number one backmenand who could slip under radar? who will be first to the half ton???

captain peanut
19 Feb 2008, 09:09

agree that wang won't have the firepower of rovers, but don't underestimate them. Hooper will hold down CHF for wang, he will be a gun O&M player having seen a bit of him in melb in 06. He'll be supported by hayes and henry in the last line of attack, and don't forget blokes like braden who bobbed up as a goalkicker as the 3rd option last year. Their midfielders also kick alot of goals.

re the rovers backline, with all due respect, to say that matty allen is still the best fullback in the comp is a massive call. He was well beaten on the 2 occasions i saw him in 07. I also read that bradshaw kicked 7 in the elimination final so the stopping job on him was obviously ordinary (not sure that allen actually played on him though?)

the game that sticks in my mind from 07, with a view to 08, was the 2nd meeting between wang and rovers. Both teams went in with a full head of steam, and wang stood rovers up a 3 goal start at 1/4 time and gave them a 15 goal beating, allowing rovers only 3 goals after 1/4 time. Therefore, if wang are anywhere near the level they were last year, rovers still have some way to go to get near them. Having said that, they have recruited well and will close the gap, question is just how much? I reckon the 2 wang sides are well placed to dominate the season though.

Gun Recruit
19 Feb 2008, 12:07

Over the last 5 seasons the two sides with the best defensive records would no doubt be lavington and rovers. They both had at least 4 high quality backmen who could play in any of the 6 positions. In 08' tho I cant see rovers having the best back 6, to many younger type players who wont be able to handle to types like bradshaw, fowler, prior, leslie or ambrose. And without being disrespectful, I no longer think matty allen can hanlde fowards of this calibre anymore. He's best suited to the 3rd or 4th best foward and using his experience to win the one on one contest.

Kage
19 Feb 2008, 12:50
how is that the best back line?????????????????????
ive never even heard of half of em!!!!!!
don't know your players too well then do ya juddy!!!!????

Kage
19 Feb 2008, 12:55
Over the last 5 seasons the two sides with the best defensive records would no doubt be lavington and rovers. They both had at least 4 high quality backmen who could play in any of the 6 positions. In 08' tho I cant see rovers having the best back 6, to many younger type players who wont be able to handle to types like bradshaw, fowler, prior, leslie or ambrose. And without being disrespectful, I no longer think matty allen can hanlde fowards of this calibre anymore. He's best suited to the 3rd or 4th best foward and using his experience to win the one on one contest.
which team will have the best 6 then???

Glitter
19 Feb 2008, 16:55
agree that wang won't have the firepower of rovers, but don't underestimate them. Hooper will hold down CHF for wang, he will be a gun O&M player having seen a bit of him in melb in 06. He'll be supported by hayes and henry in the last line of attack, and don't forget blokes like braden who bobbed up as a goalkicker as the 3rd option last year. Their midfielders also kick alot of goals.

re the rovers backline, with all due respect, to say that matty allen is still the best fullback in the comp is a massive call. He was well beaten on the 2 occasions i saw him in 07. I also read that bradshaw kicked 7 in the elimination final so the stopping job on him was obviously ordinary (not sure that allen actually played on him though?)

the game that sticks in my mind from 07, with a view to 08, was the 2nd meeting between wang and rovers. Both teams went in with a full head of steam, and wang stood rovers up a 3 goal start at 1/4 time and gave them a 15 goal beating, allowing rovers only 3 goals after 1/4 time. Therefore, if wang are anywhere near the level they were last year, rovers still have some way to go to get near them. Having said that, they have recruited well and will close the gap, question is just how much? I reckon the 2 wang sides are well placed to dominate the season though.

Good to see some quality posts being made the last few days boys.

Captain P. You seem to have a good understanding of the 2 Wang teams, care to post us a best line up inc match up's for the Wang Derby with a prediction?

Juddy08 as am oposition player I would have thought you should know these Rovers defenders? Not sure if I would say they are the best back 6 but they are solid enough.
Agreed that Matty Allen is a little past playing on the quality forwards but still contributes well as a loose defender sweeping across half back.

head67
19 Feb 2008, 17:04
AFL Practice match at the Narrandera sports ground wil be Sydney Vs Richmond.

Gun Recruit
19 Feb 2008, 20:29
which team will have the best 6 then???

Not 100% sure at this stage, regardless of who has the best back 6 I also agree that I think wang will have a good enough back 6 to get the job done this season, and that's all that really matters i think. I'll have a crack tho and say that without injuries that Wodonga will be hard to score against this season and possibly corowa, altho not completely sure how they will line up at this stage. You could probly throw lavy up there as well just for the fact that there back 6 are so experienced and have all played alot of footy together. Happy to hear others thoughts on the matter

bads
19 Feb 2008, 20:49
Matt Allen made the B.M team of the year last year and i believe finished 2nd in the rovers B&F and probably one of the most consistent players to play O&M. Not a bad effort for someone who you don't seem to be rating. Would and could still play on the best forwards in the competition.Smart move i would say to take the pressure off him and let him finish his career directing and nurturing HIS defence from the back pocket.

Kage
19 Feb 2008, 22:13
Matt Allen made the B.M team of the year last year and i believe finished 2nd in the rovers B&F and probably one of the most consistent players to play O&M. Not a bad effort for someone who you don't seem to be rating. Would and could still play on the best forwards in the competition.Smart move i would say to take the pressure off him and let him finish his career directing and nurturing HIS defence from the back pocket.
totally agree BADS

snap_goal
20 Feb 2008, 07:23
matty allen is still one of the best defenders in the league. rovers people believe that last year was one of his best in years. if people think that he is past it have a chat to the lavi coach and ask him if he thinks it is easy playing on matty.

juddy_08
20 Feb 2008, 10:25
don't know your players too well then do ya juddy!!!!????

whys that kage....cos strack played twos, and hartwig played twos all yr...anyteam with 2 players whos played twos all yr cant have the best back line in the league....put it up against maggies,...j.porter, OM rep, steer VCFL rep, Trenfield Former VFL and AFL listed player, Lord former VFL listed player, Cairns 150game player, Harrington up and coming gun....but sure....rovers is the best backline:rolleyes:

juddy_08
20 Feb 2008, 10:26

Captain P. You seem to have a good understanding of the 2 Wang teams, care to post us a best line up inc match up's for the Wang Derby with a prediction?

Juddy08 as am oposition player I would have thought you should know these Rovers defenders? Not sure if I would say they are the best back 6 but they are solid enough.
Agreed that Matty Allen is a little past playing on the quality forwards but still contributes well as a loose defender sweeping across half back.

Haha also glitter im not judd porter!!

Glitter
20 Feb 2008, 13:25
matty allen is still one of the best defenders in the league. rovers people believe that last year was one of his best in years. if people think that he is past it have a chat to the lavi coach and ask him if he thinks it is easy playing on matty.

"bradshaw, fowler, prior, leslie or ambrose. And without being disrespectful, I no longer think matty allen can hanlde fowards of this calibre anymore. He's best suited to the 3rd or 4th best foward and using his experience to win the one on one contest."

Snap - I think if you'll have a read back over my post, I was saying he would struggle to take the gun forwards as listed above by 'Gun Recruit'

Not doubting he still goes alright on the 3 best forward..

BADS - Would you ever consider a move into the O&M to play under your brother?

Juddy08 - Was just checking.

Plenty of Rovers/Maggies talk lately.

What else is news in the O&M?

I hear Panthers might have a couple of sly signings around the corner, we need a couple to cover Stevo in the first half of the year.

Leather Poisoned
20 Feb 2008, 14:09
whys that kage....cos strack played twos, and hartwig played twos all yr...anyteam with 2 players whos played twos all yr cant have the best back line in the league....put it up against maggies,...j.porter, OM rep, steer VCFL rep, Trenfield Former VFL and AFL listed player, Lord former VFL listed player, Cairns 150game player, Harrington up and coming gun....but sure....rovers is the best backline:rolleyes:

Also Ben cosgriff (afl listed and vfl centre half back at casey scorpians)

Kage
20 Feb 2008, 15:22
so you do know who those players are i wasn't saying they did have the best 6 i was just stating that you didn't know any of players names mention but now ya do good to see ya did ya homework

RatherHaveABeer
20 Feb 2008, 20:34
Matty Allen - 400+ game veteran, judged by many to be one of the greatest fullbacks to play country footy

Steve McIntyre - Ex Assumption boy, played on the likes of McMillan, Prior, Jackson and Leslie throughout the year and rarely lowered his colours. good in the air and outstrips his opponents when the ball is on the deck

Ben Kneebone - dont think i can recall one oponent getting the better of him throughout the year apart from bradshaw in that final. looks like he will go some way to being like his uncle (Allen)

John Conroy - very versatile player, can play on big or small, has nearly 100 games experience now

Tyson Hartwig - far too good a player to have played seconds last year, dominated at that level and when he finally did get time in the snrs, was played up forward and struggled

Karl Norman - will probably play most of the season up forward but started his career as a backman and dominated the O&M from CHB, winning selection in the BM all star team in that position in 2002. could be called down back at various times of the year

I dunno but having a backline like that would make me feel pretty safe!

juddy_08
20 Feb 2008, 20:57
Matty Allen - 400+ game veteran, judged by many to be one of the greatest fullbacks to play country footy

Steve McIntyre - Ex Assumption boy, played on the likes of McMillan, Prior, Jackson and Leslie throughout the year and rarely lowered his colours. good in the air and outstrips his opponents when the ball is on the deck

Ben Kneebone - dont think i can recall one oponent getting the better of him throughout the year apart from bradshaw in that final. looks like he will go some way to being like his uncle (Allen)

John Conroy - very versatile player, can play on big or small, has nearly 100 games experience now

Tyson Hartwig - far too good a player to have played seconds last year, dominated at that level and when he finally did get time in the snrs, was played up forward and struggled

Karl Norman - will probably play most of the season up forward but started his career as a backman and dominated the O&M from CHB, winning selection in the BM all star team in that position in 2002. could be called down back at various times of the year

I dunno but having a backline like that would make me feel pretty safe!

yeah but mate all those are solely your opinion, you havent given us any facts showing that kneebone and mcyntire rarely got their colors lowered and conroy would be closer to 50 not 100 games...

Gun Recruit
20 Feb 2008, 21:37

Clearly a rovers supporter. Allen and timba have had great contests over a long time but lets not forget the games that timba tore matty a new arsehole aswell, allens a great player but like most backmen he does get beaten probly 50% of the time. Great teams cover deficiencies in their backlines, and matty allen has been an intergral member of some absolutely awesome rovers teams in his career, which has probly made his job a little easier, still a great player tho and out-and-out champion of country footy :thumbsu:

captain peanut
21 Feb 2008, 09:02
Clearly a rovers supporter. Allen and timba have had great contests over a long time but lets not forget the games that timba tore matty a new arsehole aswell, allens a great player but like most backmen he does get beaten probly 50% of the time. Great teams cover deficiencies in their backlines, and matty allen has been an intergral member of some absolutely awesome rovers teams in his career, which has probly made his job a little easier, still a great player tho and out-and-out champion of country footy :thumbsu:

Well put gun, allen has been 1 of if not the best full back ever to play O&M. And i don't think anyone on here has actually been bagging him for those that seem to be leaping to his defence. But anyone that considers him still the best full back in the comp is kidding themselves. His days of playing on the influential key forwards and curtailing them on a regular basis are past him, but if he can prolong his career by playing more of a sweeping role in the back half then good luck to him. As for the strength of the rovers backline, and the suggestion that it's the best in the comp by someone, please! On the contrary it is their biggest weakness. In the big games that i saw last year, they simply could not cope with the key forwards in the better sides. To use a couple of examples, bradshaw destroyed them in the elim final, and in the 2nd meeting with wang hayes henry and braden ruled the air and shared about 12 goals i think from memory. Statistically i think it was the 4th best in 07 and i reckon that's about right - better than most, but not as good as the top few. Norman will probably have to play back if they are going to beat wang or wodonga this year. As for other news around the league, i haven't heard much in the last couple of weeks. Anyone else got any news on late signings, injuries, etc? Practice matches fire up on march 1, anyone that wants to see schedules for practice matches, they are on the O&M website at www.omfl.vcfl.com.au , in the left hand menu there is a '2008 countdown' link which has all the border mail articles previewing teams for the year. The practice matches for each club is in their preview.

snap_goal
21 Feb 2008, 11:43

not a rovers supporter mate just agreeing that with the rest off the crowd that allen is a very good footballer. i also believe that he may not be able to play on the big forwards but he still plays his role of zoning off and getting forward on the odd occasion as good as anyone. in last years border mail sanson said that allen was his hardest opponent and that he cant recall ever beating him.

half time raffle
21 Feb 2008, 12:24
not a rovers supporter mate just agreeing that with the rest off the crowd that allen is a very good footballer. i also believe that he may not be able to play on the big forwards but he still plays his role of zoning off and getting forward on the odd occasion as good as anyone. in last years border mail sanson said that allen was his hardest opponent and that he cant recall ever beating him.

We all know Timba only said Matty Allen cause he's still to scared to say Craig Tafts name just in case Tafty comes back to haunt him.

captain peanut
21 Feb 2008, 13:51
We all know Timba only said Matty Allen cause he's still to scared to say Craig Tafts name just in case Tafty comes back to haunt him.

Speaking of taft he is back this year. Just reading too that ambrose is going around again for corowa and that they've also signed a forward from the vafa who used to play in perth with ambrose. Reynoldson sounds like he is fit and raring to go, and they've also signed sam carpenter from vfl. After being destroyed by injuries last year, they are shaping up nicely under tossol.

backtoback08
22 Feb 2008, 07:14
Speaking of taft he is back this year. Just reading too that ambrose is going around again for corowa and that they've also signed a forward from the vafa who used to play in perth with ambrose. Reynoldson sounds like he is fit and raring to go, and they've also signed sam carpenter from vfl. After being destroyed by injuries last year, they are shaping up nicely under tossol.

Dave Clark from Old Brighton is a gun midfielder will be top 5 player in comp, plus Ambrose with a decent midfield at Full Forward will kick 80 plus.
Corowa will win flag easily

captain peanut
22 Feb 2008, 09:03

Glitter, i reckon wang's best 22 will be something like:

B: Cairns Steer Symons
HB: Trenfield Cosgriff Harrington
C: D Porter Smith J Porter
HF: Braden Hooper Mullins
F: Henry Hayse Higgs
Foll: Kirby Mccormick Clarke
Int: Carmody Lord Canny

Not much different to the prem'ship side, only loss is luke griffin who is on track to win a spot with collingwood's reserves side. Only additions are smith and hooper, but they are massive 'ins'. Pell is recovering from a knee reco and might be a chance to play late in the year. Depth could be an issue at wang, as quite a few fringe type players have departed either during last year or over the off season to the O&K mainly. Given a reasonable run with injuries though the above side should be in the GF again.

As for rovers, i am not as well acquainted with them, but i will have a go at their best 22.

B: Allen Carlile Strack
HB: Conroy McIntyre Hamilton
C: Sharp A Hill Tucci
HF: Noonan Norman R Hill
F: Silver Christoforo Webb
Foll: Platfuss Raven Allan
Int: Kneebone Brown Bell

Someone with a better knowledge of rovers may be able to suggest improvements to the above. Seems they've added norman platfuss hamilton and noonan, while losing taylor and mclaughlin from their best 22 of 07. As we've said on here before, the above forward line is going to kick alot of goals, but i reckon the back half is still the worry against the good sides.

Flowerpower
22 Feb 2008, 10:19
Dave Clark from Old Brighton is a gun midfielder will be top 5 player in comp, plus Ambrose with a decent midfield at Full Forward will kick 80 plus.

Looking forward to seeing Reno playing again this year - quality. Arm stronger than ever - been having arm wrestling contests with Millsy and winning easily.......

Win the flag? Bit premature but hopefully shaping up nicely.

Ammos a bit different to the rough and tumble of country footbrawl......hope Clarkey is ready to rock and roll.

FP

Wonga
22 Feb 2008, 10:23
ATTENTION - "GOTHEROOS"

Is there any truth to the rumour that a former premiership player will make his way up the highway and pull on the famous Roos jumper?

Whispers tell me that the recruit from Tungamah has signed with Doncaster ? What is the word on the streets?:cool::thumbsu::thumbsd:

Billybootlace
22 Feb 2008, 13:51
[quote=Flowerpower;10149287]Looking forward to seeing Reno playing again this year - quality. Arm stronger than ever - been having arm wrestling contests with Millsy and winning easily.......

Ammos a bit different to the rough and tumble of country footbrawl......hope Clarkey is ready to rock and roll.

FP[/Good player Renno I'll give you the tip]

RatherHaveABeer
22 Feb 2008, 20:48
My crack at Rovers lineup would be.....

B: Allen Kneebone Strack
HB: Conroy Hartwig McIntyre
C: Tucci A.Hill Hicks
HF: Webb Norman R.Hill
F: Silver Cristoforo Platfuss
Foll: J.Bell Allan Raven
Int: Brown N.Hill Noonan

backtoback08
23 Feb 2008, 12:26
[quote=Flowerpower;10149287]Looking forward to seeing Reno playing again this year - quality. Arm stronger than ever - been having arm wrestling contests with Millsy and winning easily.......

FP[/Good player Renno I'll give you the tip]

If Corowa are going to fly blokes from melbourne & pour 170k plus into there list you would expect them to make the gf and win it, there will at least 5 players on 1k plus a game

big fella 37.5
23 Feb 2008, 15:25
[quote=Billybootlace;10150884]

If Corowa are going to fly blokes from melbourne & pour 170k plus into there list you would expect them to make the gf and win it, there will at least 5 players on 1k plus a game

just becos they're on 1k a game doesnt mean theyre any good u idiot...ambrose finished wont even kicked 40 goals...pull your head in...

goricho12
23 Feb 2008, 23:09
[quote=backtoback08;10157400]

just becos they're on 1k a game doesnt mean theyre any good u idiot...ambrose finished wont even kicked 40 goals...pull your head in...
Any truth to the rumour that Guy Chisnall is coming back to the roos?

bads
24 Feb 2008, 12:46
Rovers had 10 players 22 and under in their elimination final v Wodonga last year so you would think all should improve greatly also having Jamie Allan for the season will be a huge bonus. Heard a whisper from the ranks that noonan can play?

thinkbig
25 Feb 2008, 13:38
word is that noonan more than impressed in a closed intra club on the weekend... would be interested to see the game on the weekend against raiders... did anyone get to that intra club or have any news on who went okay or any other club for that matter?

backtoback08
25 Feb 2008, 14:03

Chisnall going back as well, they will be choc full of confidence Corowa
would be odds on to win it. Ambrose will kick 80 plus playing out of the square he is still at 37 the best player in the comp along with the other 37 yo Dale Carmody

backtoback08
25 Feb 2008, 14:05

the club obviously thinks they are valuable with 6 or 8 guys travelling up from Melbourne on chartered flights

Winmar_07
25 Feb 2008, 16:06

I don't know how good they are going to be but their midfield depth would be up there with the best in the comp.

You have the two stars the pin up boys Ryan and Raines throw in Carpenter Clarke McIntrye Chisnall others to rotate in there could be Reynoldson Schmidt Ambrose Mills..

Thoughts? :)

P.s If they are on 1k a year and don't perform i doubt they would get it again.. Who would be on 1k a game??

Bighawk15
25 Feb 2008, 20:14
yeh just because your on 1k dosent make you a great footballer, you only have to look at Jay Campbell (unsure of spelling) on a little under 1k last year and he wasnt even playing! but you boys are right in saying that at least five would be on 1k Ryan, Rains, Caprpenter, Clarke, Reynoldson, Ambrose and if Chizzy was to play he would not come cheaply....there needs to be more blokes like Schmidty that play for a couple of bucks and a beer a goal!

aflrules
25 Feb 2008, 22:07
I love how blokes (or chicks maybe) get on and have a crack on saying how much money players are on and dont deserve it etc etc etc. You can already tell how jealous they are not just b/c they cant get money for doing something they love but the fact that I bet they cant play footy!!!

If clubs are playing big bucks then no one but the admin and that player knows how much! Of course these blokes dont want to reveal the amount they are on, b/c if they have a shocking game then they dont want to get a huge bagging!

So instead of having a cry about who is on what lets chat about some proper news in footy!

Is the O & M better then the GV this year?? With the news HUME league setup, will this help or hinder the top up of clubs in the O & M?

I havent been in the O & M for yrs but looking to return soon either this yr or next, want to make sure the standard is still great - by the look of some recruits it looks like it is firing!!!

thinkbig
26 Feb 2008, 07:34

Not much different to the prem'ship side, only loss is luke griffin who is on track to win a spot with collingwood's reserves side. Only additions are smith and hooper, but they are massive 'ins'. Pell is recovering from a knee reco and might be a chance to play late in the year. Depth could be an issue at wang, as quite a few fringe type players have departed either during last year or over the off season to the O&K mainly. Given a reasonable run with injuries though the above side should be in the GF again.

As for rovers, i am not as well acquainted with them, but i will have a go at their best 22.

Someone with a better knowledge of rovers may be able to suggest improvements to the above. Seems they've added norman platfuss hamilton and noonan, while losing taylor and mclaughlin from their best 22 of 07. As we've said on here before, the above forward line is going to kick alot of goals, but i reckon the back half is still the worry against the good sides.

peanut i think you might have been asked to predict teams for the wang derby being in round 2... should get your head out of the clouds with including jonny hopper we all would like to see him play but its been made pretty obvious that he wont be there... but you consider yourself in the inner sanctum of the maggies so i could be very wrong!

captain peanut
26 Feb 2008, 11:10
peanut i think you might have been asked to predict teams for the wang derby being in round 2... should get your head out of the clouds with including jonny hopper we all would like to see him play but its been made pretty obvious that he wont be there... but you consider yourself in the inner sanctum of the maggies so i could be very wrong!

wouldn't say i'm in the inner sanctum by any stretch thinkbig. I just know quite a few people associated with wang and have therefore followed their fortunes over the years. But yes you're right, i was asked to pick the sides for rnd 2 and that's what i did.......mccormick will be in town in march, hard to see him missing the lure of playing on the day the flag is unfurled i would have thought?? He may then not be seen again until mid year though.

head67
26 Feb 2008, 12:45
Yarra playing Echuca this weekend in a praccy. Would be good to hear a report on it. Anyone going for a look?

ultimate hater
26 Feb 2008, 15:12

had the pleasure of playing with this bloke last year... absolute gun, very polished, rarely gets caught and sends them forward lace out every time..

good pick up.. pity he is leaving us.. hopefully he'll be back in the future.. good luck to corowa!

zimasquize
26 Feb 2008, 21:36
how does joel price go i heard he played in this leauge he is coaching in the wimmara league this year

scoreboard attendant
27 Feb 2008, 09:33

an arm wrestle between those two would draw the crowds in! i heard that they broke three tables in the process and that was before they started! ended up having to call it a nil all draw and deciding that they were both the toughest guys in history:thumbsu:

Flying.Half-Forward
27 Feb 2008, 10:23

You won't find Liam Harrington on a half back flank for Wang this year.
You'd have a better chance at seeing him in that position at the Northern Bullants in the VFL

Big_Chill
27 Feb 2008, 10:33
I see a guy Zac Fulford is moving down to a club in our league (LPFL), what sort of player is he and is he any good?

Tigerrr_Uppercut
27 Feb 2008, 15:29
how does joel price go i heard he played in this leauge he is coaching in the wimmara league this year

spud

BIG"H"
27 Feb 2008, 16:35

Will be a very good player in that league, seen him play a number of times at yarra little bit up an down but when hes on can hurt sides.

raidrboy
27 Feb 2008, 16:42

Really!!!:eek:

rowger
28 Feb 2008, 15:14
Dont leave your wallets lying around and dont lend him money! Apart from that the bloke can play a bit but could not string two sensible words together. Good luck to the club he coaches.

Hornie
28 Feb 2008, 15:17
I see a guy Zac Fulford is moving down to a club in our league (LPFL), what sort of player is he and is he any good?

Will be a very good player in Lexton Plains League.

Is Robbie Waters still running around?

Must be 42 by now!!!!!!!!!!

Hornie
28 Feb 2008, 15:19
spud

Good Luck!!!!!!

hariot
28 Feb 2008, 15:52
Absolute goose! Owes money everywhere. Not a well liked man in Yarrawonga.

Hitman01
28 Feb 2008, 19:04
Heard a rumour that Bradshaw wont be at the bulldogs this yr..can anyone confirm this?

Glitter
28 Feb 2008, 20:58
Heard a rumour that Bradshaw wont be at the bulldogs this yr..can anyone confirm this?

Hitman.. Was talking to a few of the Wod boys today and they seemed pretty confident he was playing again.

Could be wrong though, what's been said?

KokodaMidget
29 Feb 2008, 08:35
This is a little left field but i am wondering what has happened to the poster Harsh but Fair.....Used to enjoy reading some of his interestingly researched snippets, however, seems to have been some time since he has been back on the boards. Could it be the return of one of his great idols to the coaching ranks in the O&M has rendered him speechless...?

Tigerrr_Uppercut
29 Feb 2008, 09:58
This is a little left field but i am wondering what has happened to the poster Harsh but Fair.....Used to enjoy reading some of his interestingly researched snippets, however, seems to have been some time since he has been back on the boards. Could it be the return of one of his great idols to the coaching ranks in the O&M has rendered him speechless...?

harsh but fair is one David.J he got a few other alias's clean bowled is another

BIG"H"
29 Feb 2008, 10:08
Not a lot of talk about yarra lately boys, they are going along quiet well at the min. An are very close to signing a big name name player in the not to distant future!!

KokodaMidget
29 Feb 2008, 10:34
harsh but fair is one David.J he got a few other alias's clean bowled is another

Clean bowled? Thought he hated cricket with a passion.....Anyway, im fairly certain that Harsh wont be posting anything detrimental about his favourite team this year(CR), & even more certain we won't be reading about it in the Border Mail, or Twin Cities Post!!!!

captain peanut
29 Feb 2008, 12:58
Not a lot of talk about yarra lately boys, they are going along quiet well at the min. An are very close to signing a big name name player in the not to distant future!!

any idea who it is? I also heard they had someone big on the go a couple of weeks back, but no announcements yet. I think you might also find that there will be another big name addition to wang in the not too distant future.

thinkbig
29 Feb 2008, 13:39
while we are on the topic of late big name signings... there is one pending in rover territory! keep your eyes peeled!! literally!! who have we got at maggies and yarra lads?

bads
29 Feb 2008, 15:50
any idea who it is? I also heard they had someone big on the go a couple of weeks back, but no announcements yet. I think you might also find that there will be another big name addition to wang in the not too distant future.

while we are on the topic of late big name signings... there is one pending in rover territory! keep your eyes peeled!! literally!! who have we got at maggies and yarra lads?

Stop beating around the bush boys, give us some names ???

Gun Recruit
29 Feb 2008, 16:20

hmmm, heard this lad is lookin to give up the awesome weather, beautiful beaches and stunning women to come play in the shit-hole that is wangaratta :D

Wonga
29 Feb 2008, 20:06
Typical of most on this website, no names. If you have an balls name names or go back to tellwacking!!!!!!! Noticed a lot of Yarra 3rds from last year are going back to former clubs, eg. O'Shea and Shiels, can it be that the coaching staff are not looking after the younger players???:thumbsd:

Big Al 11
2 Mar 2008, 08:30
Reading Hume league thread saying Luke Daly changing mind and staying at Albury not going to Culcairn.

Glitter
2 Mar 2008, 10:17
Reading Hume league thread saying Luke Daly changing mind and staying at Albury not going to Culcairn.

That'll be handy for the Tigers 2nds.

Glitter
2 Mar 2008, 10:21
Any news from any prac matches that went on over the weekend?

Heard Corowa showed they are going to be somewhere around the top giving the Pies a touch up yesterday.

Any other results ect?

6uldv8
2 Mar 2008, 21:37

Have also heard this rumour but from what i hear it is an ex ruckman from another O&M club with relations at the club:thumbsu:

Albert Park
3 Mar 2008, 08:28
Have also heard this rumour but from what i hear it is an ex ruckman from another O&M club with relations at the club:thumbsu:

McKee ?

Flowerpower
3 Mar 2008, 09:11
Any news from any prac matches that went on over the weekend?

Heard Corowa showed they are going to be somewhere around the top giving the Pies a touch up yesterday.

Any other results ect?

Wouldn't read too much into the result - both teams had a few outs.

Carlton have won 2 of last 3 pre-season cups.............

But was pleasing to see the Rhino Ryan get through the game!

thinkbig
3 Mar 2008, 10:37
hmmm, heard this lad is lookin to give up the awesome weather, beautiful beaches and stunning women to come play in the shit-hole that is wangaratta :D

your a squib GR shouldnt disclose valuable info to reveal yourself... absolute squib!!

captain peanut
3 Mar 2008, 10:58
Wouldn't read too much into the result - both teams had a few outs.

Carlton have won 2 of last 3 pre-season cups.............

But was pleasing to see the Rhino Ryan get through the game!

any details on scores, who played well, injuries, etc?

Gun Recruit
3 Mar 2008, 14:18
your a squib GR shouldnt disclose valuable info to reveal yourself... absolute squib!!

haha, good one toss bag. I dont know who you think I am old big thinker (obviously your not much of a thinker at all by the looks of it), but i think your well off the mark

Flowerpower
3 Mar 2008, 15:20
any details on scores, who played well, injuries, etc?

I think the Roos won about 5 goals or thereabouts.

Injuries - non that I saw.

Good players Wang - Lord (?) was a standout.

Good players Corowa - Collins, Quickdraw McGraw, Mills and Reno after they armwrestled in the rooms before the game....... :)

Ryan better for the run. :D

live the dream
3 Mar 2008, 15:43
Norman much better at CHB than CHF!

head67
3 Mar 2008, 17:21
I think the Roos won about 5 goals or thereabouts.

Injuries - non that I saw.

Good players Wang - Lord (?) was a standout.

Good players Corowa - Collins, Quickdraw McGraw, Mills and Reno after they armwrestled in the rooms before the game....... :)

Ryan better for the run. :D

Pleased to hear that the little man Reno is back on the paddock. Looks like he's set himself for a big year.
Yarra accounted for Echuca easliy. Anyone see the game?

Hand Grenade
3 Mar 2008, 20:25

Is that big ugly ruckman Frawley coming back???

Hand Grenade
3 Mar 2008, 20:26
Typical of most on this website, no names. If you have an balls name names or go back to tellwacking!!!!!!! Noticed a lot of Yarra 3rds from last year are going back to former clubs, eg. O'Shea and Shiels, can it be that the coaching staff are not looking after the younger players???:thumbsd:

The kids don't want to play under this year's 3rds coach. Great appointment as far as the district clubs are concerned!

thinkbig
4 Mar 2008, 07:38
any other pracy results... who else had one i know albury played aberfeldie rovers and raiders and myrt v mooroopna... i think yarra qont be far off the mark again this year...

up the dishies
4 Mar 2008, 10:26
a very undermanned wodonga team defeated a almost full strength north albury outfit 11.15 to 9.5 the bulldogs still have Twitt, Bradshaw, Doswell, Svarc, Laracy and Margery to come back into the side which shows they will be right up there again this year whilst i believe north will really struggle

captain peanut
4 Mar 2008, 11:10
a very undermanned wodonga team defeated a almost full strength north albury outfit 11.15 to 9.5 the bulldogs still have Twitt, Bradshaw, Doswell, Svarc, Laracy and Margery to come back into the side which shows they will be right up there again this year whilst i believe north will really struggle

agree dishies. north in big trouble for 08. going to be a massive slide for them. from GF to bottom 3 i reckon.

who played well for wodonga? agree with you that they seem to be shaping up very strong for 08.

thurgood
4 Mar 2008, 17:11

it's interesting twitt didn't play due to illness supposedly but was out on the drink on saturday night, great leadership there

Little Ralphie
4 Mar 2008, 19:17
it's interesting twitt didn't play due to illness supposedly but was out on the drink on saturday night, great leadership there

If you did your homework, you would know that the coach in question arrived back from a holiday on the morning of the game, therefore had previously made himself unavailable from what im told. He may be Twitt in surname, but I can assure you, that you have him well and truly covered. Keep up the good investigative reporting Thurgood!!!:eek:

thurgood
4 Mar 2008, 19:27
If you did your homework, you would know that the coach in question arrived back from a holiday on the morning of the game, therefore had previously made himself unavailable from what im told. He may be Twitt in surname, but I can assure you, that you have him well and truly covered. Keep up the good investigative reporting Thurgood!!!:eek:

i stand corrected ralphie, like you, i was only going on what i was told.

however, i still reckon it's ordinary that a coach at o and m level would put holidays over the club's first pre-season match, despite how irrelevant some people may think practice matches are.

what sort of message does that send to the young blokes at the club who have been slogging it out since november?

big fella 37.5
4 Mar 2008, 19:49
i stand corrected ralphie, like you, i was only going on what i was told.

however, i still reckon it's ordinary that a coach at o and m level would put holidays over the club's first pre-season match, despite how irrelevant some people may think practice matches are.

what sort of message does that send to the young blokes at the club who have been slogging it out since november?

pull your head in thurgood, twitt is a great player, leader and fella...so what if he has a holiday for one measly friggin practice match...sook on mate, sook on...

thurgood
4 Mar 2008, 19:53
pull your head in thurgood, twitt is a great player, leader and fella...so what if he has a holiday for one measly friggin practice match...sook on mate, sook on...

look mate, i'm entitled to an opinion, and i reckon it's ordinary.

i have absolutely no doubt there would be other o and m followers out there who think the same.

noone's sookin here except you because your little mate twitty has been criticised.

rowger
4 Mar 2008, 20:42
Twitty was out with a genuine excuse Thurgood. He was not out on the drink and for those of us that know how he goes about his coaching & playing we will NEVER question his leadership. He is a great leader!

Flowerpower
5 Mar 2008, 08:27
look mate, i'm entitled to an opinion, and i reckon it's ordinary.

i have absolutely no doubt there would be other o and m followers out there who think the same.

noone's sookin here except you because your little mate twitty has been criticised.

Entitled to an opinion when you have enough supporting information to back it up. Otherwise you a deadset goose Thurgood, which I think is the case here............

Don't bag a bloke just for the sake of it. And FYI, I don't even know the bloke (Twitt) from a bar of soap!

I might come on here and stir the pot occasionally, but all in jest and trying to have a little fun.

You are a deadset clown.

Gun Recruit
5 Mar 2008, 08:46
Reading in the herald sun the other day and seen the odd's for first coach to get the arse for the 08' season, and typically it was Terry Wallace who was as shorter price favourite as when Anthony Mundine took on the taxi driver last week. I know it doesnt happen in country footy as often but for a bit of humour who would like to throw out a similar thing for the O&M coaches ? Doesnt have to be 100% accurate or serious but surely some would be shorter prices than other ??

Bright Boy
5 Mar 2008, 10:47
Managed to see a bit of Echuca V Yarrawonga just on an hour or so

- John McHenry kicked a few from F/F
- Archibald worked hard but couldn't nail the big grabs
- No. 5 at Full Back gun. repelled all attacks
- No 20 Oswald? Kicked 4 or 5 from half forward
- No. 2 big guy with tatts was terrorising a few Echuca guys didn't see him get much of it but is a big unit
- No 8 Josh Hunt style rebounded everything off half back
- No 14 X
- No 13 wal? had a bit of it and looks the goods
- No 30 didnt play at all when I was there
- Ednie coached from the bench then came on had a big of a scrap with a guy looked like he connected, gave away 50 and took himself off
- Hargraves was the runner and didnt play
- Spoke to one of the players mentioned they have lost a few talls

Myrt V Mooroopna also saw just over 2 quarters of this game

When I arrived it looked as though the Saints were back to last years form, as the cats kicked about 3 in 3 mins before the siren, but after that Beams got stuck into them and they really took over in the next 2 periods. As far as I thought they would have been in front but not certain.

A few observations

Beams didn't play and I didn't see Arnold out there, although there was a guy wearing no. 5 icing up an ankle.

I think it was Cam Purss at CHF and was killing it, huge man with great hands and should provide a strong target up forward. Tony Evans also played up forward and dominated also, monster kick and worked well with Purss/.

Tommy Ivone played out the square presented well but couldn't quite nail them.

Others notibles

Chapman at FB

No 14 Maskell? competed well.

Ruckman No 26 Simmo?? worked well on ball

no. 21 Gabe/Gav?? Blond hair looks like Piltz got plenty in the midfield and didn't shurk a contest and worked well with Fitzy

Fitzpatrick killed them won nearly all contested ball and kept on putting the ball forward.

Ross Cavill No. 10 got plenty of it and looks capable at this level

No6 Long Sleeves took some good grabs up forward and kicked a few guys

McIlroy & T Murray stepping up again. McIlroy kicked a pearler from the boundary

No 28 really short guy about 4ft kicked a couple with decent skills

They had about 7 on the bench and assume it was combined 1's/2's.

Not sure who missed or who is to come back but if they find a another KP backman and on baller they should improve.

Hopefully this provides an insight sorry on names as only know of a few.

Winmar_07
5 Mar 2008, 15:12
Twitty was out with a genuine excuse Thurgood. He was not out on the drink and for those of us that know how he goes about his coaching & playing we will NEVER question his leadership. He is a great leader!

TWIT? Leader? I have never seen anything to suggest he is a player let alone a leader...

phil daly
5 Mar 2008, 15:20
2.50 -- carrol
3.50 -- Raiders duo
4.50 -- hodgson
6 -- sanson
15 -- ednie, mcnamara, twitt
20 -- beams
50 -- tossol, lappin

Have no idea how to formulate a book, but my thoughts

rowger
5 Mar 2008, 21:26
TWIT? Leader? I have never seen anything to suggest he is a player let alone a leader...
Go away wanker! Stop trying to stir up shit.

head67
5 Mar 2008, 21:38
Go away wanker! Stop trying to stir up shit.

Have to agree. The man can play.

thurgood
6 Mar 2008, 13:19
Entitled to an opinion when you have enough supporting information to back it up. Otherwise you a deadset goose Thurgood, which I think is the case here............

Don't bag a bloke just for the sake of it. And FYI, I don't even know the bloke (Twitt) from a bar of soap!

I might come on here and stir the pot occasionally, but all in jest and trying to have a little fun.

You are a deadset clown.

if u read my last post you would read that i stood corrected on the point about him being out on the drink, i was only going on what i was told.

as for supporting information, the fact that twitt didn't play/coach on saturday isn't on question because he was away on holidays, i think that's the only thing i said was ordinary if u go back and read my posts.

i'm not just bagging a bloke for the sake of it, simply stating an outsiders opinion on a coach in a league that continually pumps itself up as the premier one outside of the state leagues.

and i bet peter tossol or tim sanson wouldn't miss a practice match because they went on holidays.

Silver_kid
6 Mar 2008, 14:10
i'm not just bagging a bloke for the sake of it, simply stating an outsiders opinion on a coach in a league that continually pumps itself up as the premier one outside of the state leagues.

and i bet peter tossol or tim sanson wouldn't miss a practice match because they went on holidays.

You also have to consider that he may be taking it lightly as he has had injuries over the last few years and is simply managing himself like most other senior players seem to do at clubs...definately not a lack of leadership to not play in a praccy match