View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Flowerpower
6 Mar 2008, 14:31
You also have to consider that he may be taking it lightly as he has had injuries over the last few years and is simply managing himself like most other senior players seem to do at clubs...definately not a lack of leadership to not play in a praccy match
Its 1 practice match for gods sake.......geez..........
Silver_kid
6 Mar 2008, 14:35
Its 1 practice match for gods sake.......geez..........
Fully agreed - means very little come the end of september
Winmar_07
6 Mar 2008, 15:14
if u read my last post you would read that i stood corrected on the point about him being out on the drink, i was only going on what i was told.
as for supporting information, the fact that twitt didn't play/coach on saturday isn't on question because he was away on holidays, i think that's the only thing i said was ordinary if u go back and read my posts.
i'm not just bagging a bloke for the sake of it, simply stating an outsiders opinion on a coach in a league that continually pumps itself up as the premier one outside of the state leagues.
and i bet peter tossol or tim sanson wouldn't miss a practice match because they went on holidays.
Totally agree with that comment. Is it Twitt or Twig?
if u read my last post you would read that i stood corrected on the point about him being out on the drink, i was only going on what i was told.
as for supporting information, the fact that twitt didn't play/coach on saturday isn't on question because he was away on holidays, i think that's the only thing i said was ordinary if u go back and read my posts.
i'm not just bagging a bloke for the sake of it, simply stating an outsiders opinion on a coach in a league that continually pumps itself up as the premier one outside of the state leagues.
and i bet peter tossol or tim sanson wouldn't miss a practice match because they went on holidays.
Dont be filthy that Twitty cut you and Winmar before xmas Thurgood
Flowerpower
7 Mar 2008, 13:03
Corowa v North Albury this weekend.
Should be a cracker.
Roos on the up and as per this forum, Hoppers on the slide????
I reckon Nrth might have a few aces cup the sleeve though....;)
Lets hope the Ryan juggernaut continues to impress! :thumbsu:
thinkbig
7 Mar 2008, 13:47
lets hope Ryan can unleash some of that flowerpower he is known to possess
Shambles
7 Mar 2008, 18:28
This will be a one sided affair. Corowa by a street. For those that watch the game, it will be exciting to see all the new Corowa boys play as im told they should be at close to full strenght. Might be getting an early glimpse at the premiers?
goricho12
7 Mar 2008, 18:46
I agree with Thurgood.
Posts are meant to contain info that may not be quite correct, that is the nature of the beast. Let`s get everyone talking and if you`re wrong admit it and move on, like Thurgood has.
Twitty hasn`t been the first to be on the wrong side of a rumour and won`t be the last. If it wasn`t for rumour and innuendo then threads, or indeed the whole website, wouldn`t last. To all that bagged Thurgood tell us, have you ever spread a rumour that may not have been 100% correct, i bet you have!
Big Al 11
10 Mar 2008, 11:49
This will be a one sided affair. Corowa by a street. For those that watch the game, it will be exciting to see all the new Corowa boys play as im told they should be at close to full strenght. Might be getting an early glimpse at the premiers?
Curious to get your thoughts on the weekend praccy match there Shambles. Corowa must have been going down the wrong street as a 7 goal loss is a fair margin:D. Curious how Chris Moscher (ex-Thurgoona) went for the Hoppers, if he played.
Shambles
10 Mar 2008, 22:27
Curious to get your thoughts on the weekend praccy match there Shambles. Corowa must have been going down the wrong street as a 7 goal loss is a fair margin:D. Curious how Chris Moscher (ex-Thurgoona) went for the Hoppers, if he played.
All I can say Big Al is "Dont believe the hype" and for that matter, comment on it!
But whats this site without comment. As soon as Corowa lost Taft and McIntyre early they were gone for the day, players seemed to lose interest? Nths young kids looked good. Cant really take any form out of the game. Dont know Moscher.
thinkbig
11 Mar 2008, 11:00
you beat me to it big al i think shambles is a pretty accurate name for this week anyway...
think you may have got a little bit too excited a bit early with the 'early premiers' comment.!! just keep a lid on things for as long as you can mate i dont want to be any more embarrassed for you just yet
Max Leader
11 Mar 2008, 11:17
Did any one see the Wodonga vs Old Ivanhoe game on Saturday?
Did J. Twitt play?
Where It All Began
12 Mar 2008, 12:59
Fully agreed - means very little come the end of september
I'm not so sure, if the doggies get rolled in the big one this season, I reckon they'll be looking back and saying where was the coach when we had that first practice match.:rolleyes:
marc_murphy88
12 Mar 2008, 16:56
All I can say Big Al is "Dont believe the hype" and for that matter, comment on it!
But whats this site without comment. As soon as Corowa lost Taft and McIntyre early they were gone for the day, players seemed to lose interest? Nths young kids looked good. Cant really take any form out of the game. Dont know Moscher.
what happened to tim mcintyre???
captain peanut
12 Mar 2008, 17:21
what happened to tim mcintyre???
i heard mcintyre hurt his knee, could be serious.
other praccy games i heard about - rovers beat euroa very easily. Heard that norman played and played well. Few of the other recruits also fired and cristoforo and silver kicked some goals. they'll be hitting round 1 full of steam, will be a massive disappointment to them if they lose their opener based on the build up. Word is they have really set themselves for wodonga and wang in 1st 2 rounds to set up their season.
wang played mansfield in a 6 quarter match if that makes sense. Played their best team for the first half of the match and showed some very good signs. A few blokes had 1st run for year, like henry, symons and smith, and hooper played out of position in ruck and did well. Quite a few of their young blokes showed up too which was a good sign, as depth could be an issue. They've also got dan steel back after a year off. He will be a very solid addition to the key defender ranks.
Plenty of news about wang, corowa, wodonga, albury, nth albury etc how are the other teams shaping up??? Will raiders get off the bottom??? How will lavington go???
Raiders played an intra-club praccy match the other night.
Ladgrove carved it up getting plenty of the pill and not missing a target.
Other than that appeared to be a lot of young blokes running around.
Interesting to see Dean Heta lining up at F.F especially with big stores rucking all game.
Cant see Raiders finishing on the bottom but i also cant see them winning too many games.
thinkbig
13 Mar 2008, 08:51
may i ask if you are blind?
switch the play
13 Mar 2008, 10:15
Interesting to see Dean Heta lining up at F.F especially with big stores rucking all game.
Cant see Raiders finishing on the bottom but i also cant see them winning too many games.
Did they win?Heard they may struggle to field enough numbers to fill reserves as over 30 players have departed.
kicktheballlong
13 Mar 2008, 11:11
can anyone tell me about Marcus McMillan from Yarra who has moved to Cairns. He any good.
Where It All Began
13 Mar 2008, 12:52
Raiders are already locked-in for the spoon, they are talking themselves up, but are in dire straits at the moment and season hasn't even started!
Silver_kid
13 Mar 2008, 14:30
Disappointing news for the Tigers if Jacob Collins' knee is no good - showed some good signs last year and looked to be one of their better players this season...
captain peanut
13 Mar 2008, 15:21
can anyone tell me about Marcus McMillan from Yarra who has moved to Cairns. He any good.
he was 1 of the premier key forwards in the O&M. he will dominate the comp up there if he's half serious
half time raffle
13 Mar 2008, 15:47
he was 1 of the premier key forwards in the O&M. he will dominate the comp up there if he's half serious
Yeah great player, very strong, he would be capable of kicking inexcess of a 100 goals this year but will probably come second to Chris Watson in the league goal kicking and overall nice guy status.
Buckster
13 Mar 2008, 16:51
Disappointing news for the Tigers if Jacob Collins' knee is no good - showed some good signs last year and looked to be one of their better players this season...
yeah...those collins's have always had problems with there knees - not enough milk growing up i suggest.
hopefully he gets back quick.
Reports say that the two Mills boys are set to have a fall out that will rock the foundations at corowa. Rumour has it that the ugly one didnt do the dishes last week and that he good looking one complained to thier pint size room mate who in turn told thier wicket mate and then got back to the ugly one.....
riviting stuff.....
stay tuned
goricho12
14 Mar 2008, 18:12
Reports say that the two Mills boys are set to have a fall out that will rock the foundations at corowa. Rumour has it that the ugly one didnt do the dishes last week and that he good looking one complained to thier pint size room mate who in turn told thier wicket mate and then got back to the ugly one.....
riviting stuff.....
stay tuned
I can`t wait. Ah, who is the ugly one?
BlueBlood7
16 Mar 2008, 10:58
Hi All,
We have had a young fella by the name of Luke Aylett arrive out our club on the Central Coast this season. Apparently he played 2nd grade for "Lavington??". Seems like a fit, well skilled player. Does anyone have any comments on him.
And for those not aware, Steve Church who played for your Yarrawonga a few season back, took out our best and fairest last season. He had a fantastic year, even after he lost 4 weeks to a broken cheek bone.
Hey all. I was wondering how Justin Tapner was travelling at the moment? I believe he is suiting up for Lavington this season.....Good player, good bloke, sh!t drinker though.
thinkbig
17 Mar 2008, 09:40
i hate those types of posts just let the bloke show you what hes got when you see him play dont give people who have something against him the opportunity to vent their anger from the past... if someone gets on and says hes a squib, are you going to run to the coach and get him delisted? doesnt achieve much in my opinion! im not telling people not to write back though...
Your opinion mate, waste of posting space if you aske me but you're enitled to it.
thinkbig
17 Mar 2008, 14:29
and yours isnt mate? its a footy site no-one really cares about your cute drinking achievements...
Bundy Bear
17 Mar 2008, 16:32
and yours isnt mate? its a footy site no-one really cares about your cute drinking achievements...
For F#cks sake would you click on the "QUOTE" button so that we know who or what you are on about. PLEASE, its like listening to a person on a phone we only hear one side of the conversation. :confused:
thinkbig
17 Mar 2008, 16:45
For F#cks sake would you click on the "QUOTE" button so that we know who or what you are on about. PLEASE, its like listening to a person on a phone we only hear one side of the conversation. :confused:
sorry gorgeous
krusty123
18 Mar 2008, 23:11
This forum is fast becoming useless. Squabbling boys are no match for the amount of real information being posted on the O&M site. Lift your game fellas!
couldn't agree more
Has anyone heard the rumour that a major sponsor of the league is planning on closing the doors of thier office.
For the uneducated it aint The S S and A Club
The Crumber
20 Mar 2008, 15:13
Does this mob sponsor a club as well?
Dont know if they do or not but id imagine the club would be HOPPING;) mad if they pull the pin now.;)
rutherglencat
21 Mar 2008, 10:29
Yeah great player, very strong, he would be capable of kicking inexcess of a 100 goals this year but will probably come second to Chris Watson in the league goal kicking and overall nice guy status.
you r joking chris watson??? you cannot be talking about the chris watson from the roos because he is one of the most over rated players in the history of football
thurgood
21 Mar 2008, 22:07
was just talking to one of my mates from lavington and he said aiden brown broke his ankle/lower leg against the panthers tonight, big blow for the hoppers there
Bighawk15
21 Mar 2008, 22:57
Thought i might try rival some of the so called "footy guruz" of the ovens and murray. My crystal ball is as follows.
Top Five:Wangaratta (5 goals infront of the rest) Wang Rovers (recruited well as well as the talant that was there) Yarrawonga ( too much class to write them off) Corowa-Rutherglen (injurys will cost them) North Aulbury (will scape in to make up the numbers)
Premier:Magpies
Wooden Spoon:Raiders
Morris Medal: Sam Carpenter (wonder if he gets tagged before round 10, unlike his stable mate Jake Ryan)
Strang Medal:Tim Hargreaves (88)
You blokes are most likely gonna piss and moan about what i done wrong but its about time some footy talk started to happen!
Lavy_Panther
21 Mar 2008, 23:16
Hoppers are insipid.
Here It Is
22 Mar 2008, 11:27
[QUOTE=Bighawk15;10392834]Thought i might try rival some of the so called "footy guruz" of the ovens and murray. My crystal ball is as follows.
Top Five:Wangaratta (5 goals infront of the rest) Wang Rovers (recruited well as well as the talant that was there) Yarrawonga ( too much class to write them off) Corowa-Rutherglen (injurys will cost them) North Aulbury (will scape in to make up the numbers)
You only need Myrtleford to replace North Albury to really get the establishment up in arms.
switch the play
22 Mar 2008, 11:59
Be an interesting year for one T.Hodgson.Obviously no open cheque book like he has had for the last few years.08 will see if he can really coach.On last nights efforts-short answer seems to be no.Maybe get his head out of the media and coach
its great to see t hodgson back at his favourite backyard of lpo, must bring back all those wonderful memories of grand finals as a coach
Cats Superstar
22 Mar 2008, 18:59
you r joking chris watson??? you cannot be talking about the chris watson from the roos because he is one of the most over rated players in the history of football
Ive only ever seen him play one decent game and that was a practice match in 2004
chicken38
22 Mar 2008, 19:00
Be an interesting year for one T.Hodgson.Obviously no open cheque book like he has had for the last few years.08 will see if he can really coach.On last nights efforts-short answer seems to be no.Maybe get his head out of the media and coach
gday switch just wondering did u play last nite or are u just coaching ps any chance of 2bob playing?:D
Benched
23 Mar 2008, 20:53
Didnt Travis say that his squad was better then last years on the news the other night. The twos didn't look real good either. Long year for the hoppers I think.
Still undecided on the Panthers as they had a few no names who had a night out, if they find consistency may play finals.
dont know about any of you blokkes but i think ed clarke is one of the best at the cheap shots but when it comes around to him he goes missing big time, anyone can hit a bloke when they are'nt looking (ednie) it takes somes ball's to stand up after that, i;m a yarra boy , lets see him front up to andy hill next game....
Glitter
24 Mar 2008, 10:34
dont know about any of you blokkes but i think ed clarke is one of the best at the cheap shots but when it comes around to him he goes missing big time, anyone can hit a bloke when they are'nt looking (ednie) it takes somes ball's to stand up after that, i;m a yarra boy , lets see him front up to andy hill next game....
Your not a Yarra boy you the Rovers coach (Macs) brother.
I'd like to see you take a tackle or hit from him Adam.
Was a great Physical game of footy that was good to watch i think all will agree.
Some other interesting results, Lavi boys might have been written of a little early this year. Hoggy may have also talked himself up a bit pre-mature..
Your not a Yarra boy you the Rovers coach (Macs) brother.
I'd like to see you take a tackle or hit from him Adam.
Was a great Physical game of footy that was good to watch i think all will agree.
Some other interesting results, Lavi boys might have been written of a little early this year. Hoggy may have also talked himself up a bit pre-mature..
Born and bred in yarra mate, no i wouldn't like to take a cheap shot from him ya right...
mossysausage
24 Mar 2008, 13:59
Does anyone know how Tom Dickson from raiders went on the weekend, i hear he was supposed to be making his comeback match for the raiders 2's. I see he didnt get in the best or kick a goal, (unlike his more talented older brother James, some things never change i guess). Keen to hear from anyone that was at the game and hear how the kid is progressing after his massive preseason!! Be good to see him get back to the seniors where he belongs.
rutherglencat
24 Mar 2008, 17:02
Ive only ever seen him play one decent game and that was a practice match in 2004
i must have missed that one or maybe I got their late and missed the thirds & seconds matches, you should never count practice match form anyway
Leather Poisoned
24 Mar 2008, 18:05
You are a dead set spud. Ednie is well known in th o&m for his consistent cheap shots and whining. I was at the game 2, and clark was responding to ednie cheap shots. Next time bring ur glasses to the game u idiot.
switch the play
24 Mar 2008, 19:19
gday switch just wondering did u play last nite or are u just coaching ps any chance of 2bob playing?:D
Think you may have the wrong person Chicken.Didn't go to the game Friday night-only coaching i do is my supercoach team.2bob though from what i hear is well and truly retired.On another note Raiders wern't that far away from Corowa-got within a couple of goals in the final term.
chicken38
24 Mar 2008, 20:00
Think you may have the wrong person Chicken.Didn't go to the game Friday night-only coaching i do is my supercoach team.2bob though from what i hear is well and truly retired.On another note Raiders wern't that far away from Corowa-got within a couple of goals in the final term.sorry mate wrong person:eek:
girlscanplay2
24 Mar 2008, 20:28
Only the first round has been played so far, so let's fill out the questions below and see who is closest at the end of the season.
Premiers:
Runner-Up:
Wooden Spoon:
Leading Goalkicker:
Morris Medal:
Team that will make finals that didn't make it last year:
thinkbig
25 Mar 2008, 09:38
Only the first round has been played so far, so let's fill out the questions below and see who is closest at the end of the season.
Premiers:
Runner-Up:
Wooden Spoon:
Leading Goalkicker:
Morris Medal:
Team that will make finals that didn't make it last year:
Premier: Wang Rovers (did what they had to do against bulldogs and didnt seem to get out of 2nd gear... wont get away with that against maggies though but have the class and belief now to get to that next level)
Runners Up: Wangaratta ( i know its probably fairytale stuff with a derby granny but these two teams continue to improve seemingly more than those around them... anything can happen we know that but would be a fair spectacle... crowd prediction?)
Wooden Spoon: Myrtleford ( struggling isnt the word and couldnt get off to a worse start at home especially! havent recruited too well and will be just plodding for most of the season...)
Leading Goalkicker: Cristoforo/Silver/bradshaw (3 way tie...! has it ever been done? the 2 rover boys have started off level pegging and that could happen the whole way through would be a pretty remarkable effort if they could pull it off but last year there were only a few between them with Cristoforo runner up and with more firepower throught the mid field and half forward why couldnt they? As for Bradshaw, he's a class act!)
Morris Medal: Matt Shir (very good midfielder gets a heap of it and is one of few that does something with it most of the time) maybe Andy Hill as a smokey
Finals Team That Didnt Make It Last Year: Lavington ( could be one of the surprise packets for a big part of the year)
Flowerpower
25 Mar 2008, 09:55
sorry mate wrong person:eek:
Roos were in cruise control for 3 quarters after a very good start.
Can the squad selectors pencil in Raines NOW!!!!!!!!
The Crumber
25 Mar 2008, 12:09
Dont know if they do or not but id imagine the club would be HOPPING;) mad if they pull the pin now.;)
:) Reckon!!
They were advertising for staff in Saturdays' paper tho. :confused:
Birdancer
25 Mar 2008, 13:18
Premier: Wang Rovers (did what they had to do against bulldogs and didnt seem to get out of 2nd gear... wont get away with that against maggies though but have the class and belief now to get to that next level)
Runners Up: Wangaratta ( i know its probably fairytale stuff with a derby granny but these two teams continue to improve seemingly more than those around them... anything can happen we know that but would be a fair spectacle... crowd prediction?)
Wooden Spoon: Myrtleford ( struggling isnt the word and couldnt get off to a worse start at home especially! havent recruited too well and will be just plodding for most of the season...)
Leading Goalkicker: Cristoforo/Silver/bradshaw (3 way tie...! has it ever been done? the 2 rover boys have started off level pegging and that could happen the whole way through would be a pretty remarkable effort if they could pull it off but last year there were only a few between them with Cristoforo runner up and with more firepower throught the mid field and half forward why couldnt they? As for Bradshaw, he's a class act!)
Morris Medal: Matt Shir (very good midfielder gets a heap of it and is one of few that does something with it most of the time) maybe Andy Hill as a smokey
Finals Team That Didnt Make It Last Year: Lavington ( could be one of the surprise packets for a big part of the year)
Have to agree with you there TB. An all Wang granny, but i reckon the maggies might get up again in a close one. Predictions below -
Wooden Spoon - Myrtleford. Just haven't got the quality of other sides. Watched them play on the weekend and only 1 stand out. Gabe O'Brien from King Valley was the only one that played tough footy and looked classy. Beams still looks alittle frail.
Leading Goal Kicker - Bradshaw or Henry
Morris Medal - Brandon Ryan. Don't reckon there will be too many blokes take votes off him at North, but they should win enough games for him to poll well. Jamie Allan would have to be up there to you'd think. Shirry aswell
Winmar_07
25 Mar 2008, 14:29
Have to agree with you there TB. An all Wang granny, but i reckon the maggies might get up again in a close one. Predictions below -
Wooden Spoon - Myrtleford. Just haven't got the quality of other sides. Watched them play on the weekend and only 1 stand out. Gabe O'Brien from King Valley was the only one that played tough footy and looked classy. Beams still looks alittle frail.
Morris Medal - Brandon Ryan. Don't reckon there will be too many blokes take votes off him at North, but they should win enough games for him to poll well. Jamie Allan would have to be up there to you'd think. Shirry aswell
Brandon Ryan gets heeps of the ball but is possibly the worst kick i have ever seen.. Good average player!:thumbsd:
thinkbig
26 Mar 2008, 10:03
yeh myrt arent going too far in a hurry and i think that O'Brien bloke is another good average player he doesnt seem to do much with it but compared to the rest of the team can look okay not sure if classy is the work though... ugly maybe is though!
Have heard a lot about John Henry as a forward. Can some one perhaps elaborate on where he rates. And how was Yarra's performance on the weekend.
FOOTYBOSS
26 Mar 2008, 14:16
Have heard a lot about John Henry as a forward. Can some one perhaps elaborate on where he rates. And how was Yarra's performance on the weekend.
I see both the Thomson boys played head. Daniel Thomson got named best on, which is great. After all he hadnt played footy for a year.
You still playing?
bedford
26 Mar 2008, 15:01
Roos were in cruise control for 3 quarters after a very good start.
Can the squad selectors pencil in Raines NOW!!!!!!!!
well said,how good is sam carpenter
I see both the Thomson boys played head. Daniel Thomson got named best on, which is great. After all he hadnt played footy for a year.
You still playing?
Super effort by Dan to come off a year's break and make a signifigant contrib in a comp rated higher than what he has previously played.:thumbsu:
Will be helping out when the 2s are short,Boss.Which i'm hoping wont be often.:)
Flowerpower
27 Mar 2008, 12:41
well said,how good is sam carpenter
very very good. Harder bloke at the pill I have not seen!
Kanga Magoo
28 Mar 2008, 08:43
Haven't seen Carpenter play yet, will do in a couple of weeks. Would he be as hard at it as Carl Dickins, cos he was the hardest I have ever seen!!!
captain peanut
28 Mar 2008, 10:13
i saw both wang teams play last weekend. Both impressive in their own ways. Rovers clearly sharper at this point in time, and maggies will be better as the year progresses. Having said that, wang still threatened to blow yarra away in the 3rd 1/4 but maybe got a bit tired in the heat. Rovers should win the rnd 2 contest, but their clashes later in the year, and probably in the GF, should be classics. If wang can beat rovers next week, it is hard to see rovers turning the tables later in the year.
jesse smith also ocnfirmed he is going to be a star of the comp, up around 40 touches for wang. and old man henry is showing no signs of slowing down either.
as for the peanut talking about ed clarke and cheap shots, you obviously weren't at the same game i was at. he is a ball player, but even for some blokes enough is enough when you are constantly putting up with the sort of crap ednie dishes out on a regular basis.
Silver_kid
28 Mar 2008, 10:21
Haven't seen Carpenter play yet, will do in a couple of weeks. Would he be as hard at it as Carl Dickins, cos he was the hardest I have ever seen!!!
Yeah Dickins definately one of the toughest I'd seen...Is he havin a kick anywhere these days??
Buckster
28 Mar 2008, 10:40
Yeah Dickins definately one of the toughest I'd seen...Is he havin a kick anywhere these days??
yeah saw dickins a few times - he is one hard nut! heres a list of country footballers who are hard nuts, that ive seen over the years:-
Andy Carey (om)
Dave Farrel (murray league)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
Luke trew (om) (havent seen him play for awhile, but he wouldnt have changed)
simon mccormick (om - underrated hard nut)
Theres plenty more obviously - just a quick list to get started....
Pearce off Jack
28 Mar 2008, 11:14
yeah saw dickins a few times - he is one hard nut! heres a list of country footballers who are hard nuts, that ive seen over the years:-
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
Tim Haregreaves is not a hard nut maybe one of the dirtiest but certainly not in the same League as Dickins & Carey when it comes to being hard.
Silver_kid
28 Mar 2008, 11:32
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
Pretty good list - hargraves still hits its hard but yeah sometimes throws a dodgey shot at some but still a hard player.
Good call on dave farrel (murray fl) - was approached by a few om and gv clubs but has stayed at toc. would of been good to see him knock a few over in the om. Trew's brother was also a tough player
knackers27
28 Mar 2008, 11:41
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
Coming from Wodonga two of the Hardest players i've ever seen and played with would be Nev Nugent and Brad Thompson, both ran straight everytime and always stuck their head over the pill, never wanted to get in their way at training cause they trained how they played.
move on
28 Mar 2008, 11:59
carpenter is a cat! played on him on the weekend and smacked him!!! also can someone tell me about lee ramsdale? heard he was playing 2s the dud???? retire idiot your over it!!!
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
I remember watching either the 98 or 99 O&M grandfinal and seeing Geoff Valentine play for the first time. Very hard man.
bedford
28 Mar 2008, 13:41
carpenter is a cat! played on him on the weekend and smacked him!!! also can someone tell me about lee ramsdale? heard he was playing 2s the dud???? retire idiot your over it!!!
nice **** you are,carpenter was very good if he had two arms he'd be playing afl,not against duds like you
Aaron Fiora
28 Mar 2008, 18:36
nice **** you are,carpenter was very good if he had two arms he'd be playing afl,not against duds like you
I watched the Raiders V's Corowa game on the wke.As a raiders supporter i was extremely impressed with Sam Carpenter's performance. i agree he is hard at the ball, is extremely busy around the ground/packs and didn't miss a target. This is a great effort considering his situation. i would of had him in the top 3 on the ground with Clark and Prior.
If i had to have a guess i would think that Move On didn't even play and is just trying to makeup shit, because if he did he is a poor judge of football.
Aaron Fiora
28 Mar 2008, 18:43
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
I would have to say Brendon Way and Christain Macri were hardest players i've played alongside
big fella 37.5
28 Mar 2008, 19:45
I would have to say Brendon Way and Christain Macri were hardest players i've played alongside
obviously havent played much football then!
Robert Walker, Marcus osborne
RatherHaveABeer
28 Mar 2008, 20:32
Andy Hill from Rovers is about as tough and fearsome as they come!
Still remember the day at the Hawks ground a few years ago when they were playing Corowa/Rutherglen, and Marcus Osborne the filthy prick headbutted Hilly on the boundary. Andy then proceded to take his free kick and then drop Osborne to the ground and smash punch after punch into his skull. The sound was sickening to hear and apparently it took the club almost a week to remove the impression of his head from the ground!
bedford
28 Mar 2008, 21:54
I watched the Raiders V's Corowa game on the wke.As a raiders supporter i was extremely impressed with Sam Carpenter's performance. i agree he is hard at the ball, is extremely busy around the ground/packs and didn't miss a target. This is a great effort considering his situation. i would of had him in the top 3 on the ground with Clark and Prior.
If i had to have a guess i would think that Move On didn't even play and is just trying to makeup shit, because if he did he is a poor judge of football.
well said
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
Bobby and Alan Crisp from Myrtleford in the old days?
Kanga Magoo
29 Mar 2008, 07:20
I thought he went back to Wahgunyah with Ozzie but i could be wrong. Other than that I think he may have retired.
Kanga Magoo
29 Mar 2008, 07:23
Bobby and Alan Crisp from Myrtleford in the old days?
Talking of the old days, you couldn't go past Dennis Sandral. I know many people who played with him and they all say he was the toughest.
Winmar_07
29 Mar 2008, 12:03
I agree i think carpenter is a hard at it player and would be playing a higher level.. if you had any balls reveal yourself saying you smacked him?? i was at the game and thought he was good in first half and died out of it a bit after that.. nic raines was clearly one of the best on the ground! along with clarke and possibly mills:)
petro civoniceva
29 Mar 2008, 12:55
Andy Carey (om)
Tim Hargraeves (om)
Carl Dickins (om)
Well while we're on the topic of hard players i'd like to point out some of the softer players to have played at a high level
Aaron Fiora (and his alias on big footy)
Brendan Page (om)
Travis Hodgson (om)
Brent Ohlin (om)
Craig Ednie (om)
Andrew Johnson (om)
Adam Cole (gv)
Mark Bush (om)
Saul Scammel (om jets)
krusty123
29 Mar 2008, 16:46
Still remember the day at the Hawks ground a few years ago when they were playing Corowa/Rutherglen, and Marcus Osborne the filthy prick headbutted Hilly on the boundary. Andy then proceded to take his free kick and then drop Osborne to the ground and smash punch after punch into his skull. The sound was sickening to hear and apparently it took the club almost a week to remove the impression of his head from the ground!
I've seen Osborne do some of the stupidest, most dangerous things I've seen on the footy ground. He is not what I'd call hard at it. The word "thug" comes to mind.
Lavy_Panther
29 Mar 2008, 18:04
Reasoning behind a split second round?
Talking of the old days, you couldn't go past Dennis Sandral. I know many people who played with him and they all say he was the toughest.
Spot on there Kanga.
You only have to go thru old copies of THe Border Mail and u will get testament from many a player that Dennis was there toughest opponent.
Did all his hard hits fairly not like the snipers that run around these days.
Quietly spoken bloke that let his actions on the field do the talking for him:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Gotheroos
30 Mar 2008, 11:42
That is absolute crap. Ozzie had Hill on the ground and it wasn't until the other Hills come in that Ozzie copped a few.
yeah i remember that day...
but more importantly who really cares. this guy culd beat this up. he's tougher than this guy, a shark would beat a croc in a fight...just pointless
Shagger34
30 Mar 2008, 13:25
Well while we're on the topic of hard players i'd like to point out some of the softer players to have played at a high level
Brendan Page (om)
Travis Hodgson (om)
Brent Ohlin (om)
Craig Ednie (om)
Andrew Johnson (om)
Adam Cole (gv)
Mark Bush (om)
Saul Scammel (om jets)
lol, Trav Hodgson... soft? Jealous much?
Aaron Fiora
30 Mar 2008, 14:09
Brendan Page (om)
Travis Hodgson (om)
Brent Ohlin (om)
Craig Ednie (om)
Andrew Johnson (om)
Adam Cole (gv)
Mark Bush (om)
Saul Scammel (om jets)
Don't forget Nathan 'run under the ball so i don't make a contest' Mossop.
any truth in lavington set to unveil another recruit in next couple of weeks possibly named whetherly???
Frank_001
31 Mar 2008, 10:12
Any news on how boom recruit David James went for the Raiders on the weekend?
knackers27
31 Mar 2008, 13:35
any truth in lavington set to unveil another recruit in next couple of weeks possibly named whetherly???
Wouldn't happen to be the weatherley that played for North Adelaide the last few years??
If it is he has played a bit of seniors in the SANFL, was a bit injury prone so it made it hard for him to retain a spot.
Plays FF, really good hands, runs straight, built like a brick s***house, kicking is a little iffy. Would be a quality FF in the Ovens & Murray, make any side straighter down the guts
Winmar_07
31 Mar 2008, 13:54
Any news on how boom recruit David James went for the Raiders on the weekend?
Boom recruit? Who?
On Boom recruits would love to know everyones thinking on travelling players and the O and M squad? I know last year that there were a few quality players that were not picked due to them living out of the region!
Thoughts and feeback??:)