View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Pearce off Jack
27 Apr 2006, 14:21
Can anyone confirm the very strong rumour that Craig Millar will be back at Myrtleford within the next month? Have heard this a fair bit around the traps & Redlands havent got within 130 points of anyone! If this is true would be hard to see Myrtleford losing to many more games!

Agent
28 Apr 2006, 15:02
I have also heard the same rumour, how potent would the forward line be with Mckee, Millar, Hodgson, Murray, J.Chapman, T.Purss, Steer etc. It would be hard to stop.

arceri
28 Apr 2006, 15:04
no truth in the Millar rumour.

I work with his cousin, Colin, in Melbourne.

Pearce off Jack
28 Apr 2006, 15:37
I have also heard the same rumour, how potent would the forward line be with Mckee, Millar, Hodgson, Murray, J.Chapman, T.Purss, Steer etc. It would be hard to stop.
You seem to know a bit about Myrtleford! You could also add piltz & rigoni to that list!

Gumby
28 Apr 2006, 15:37
Go Rovers! The kids are coming along nicely!!!

Agent
28 Apr 2006, 15:44
You seem to know a bit about Myrtleford! You could also add piltz & rigoni to that list!

Piltz has been playing in the backline and Rigoni has been playing on the wing that is why I didn't include them.

Pearce off Jack
28 Apr 2006, 15:49
Piltz has been playing in the backline and Rigoni has been playing on the wing that is why I didn't include them.
Rigoni kicked 3 on Tuesday.Andrew Carey could kick anything if left up forward!

Pearce off Jack
28 Apr 2006, 16:08
Dont think they can match Myrt & yarra yet! do you?Be honest

Pearce off Jack
28 Apr 2006, 16:12
Go Rovers! The kids are coming along nicely!!!
Do you think they can beat Myrt or Yarra?

Gumby
28 Apr 2006, 16:31
Do you think they can beat Myrt or Yarra?

Yep, both

Big Fella 37
1 May 2006, 10:38
How will the o and m go in inter league this year, return to the glory days?

arceri
1 May 2006, 10:58
no good. Unlike the GV, we don't get former AFL players.

Myrt and Yarr may as well play off tomorrow for the flag.

TuskenRaider
1 May 2006, 11:34

What about the likes of Matt Shir, Craig Ednie, Jason Wild, Hargreaves, McCormick for example?

arceri
1 May 2006, 11:42
do you want to compare the leagues in former AFL players?

TuskenRaider
1 May 2006, 12:40
I've just named a few that came to mind straight away, in response to your post that said the O&M don't get former AFL players.

I didn't say one league had more than the other. You can do a list of the two leagues former AFL players if you want, it'd be interesting if nothing else. A lot of the former AFL players probably won't be playing interleague anyway.

Pearce off Jack
1 May 2006, 16:04
Anyone got any thoughts on Myrtleford on baller Rhys Fitzpatrick? Watched him on Saturday and thought he was solid but not in same class as Murray & Carey!

Lavy_Panther
1 May 2006, 18:45

You're basing the quality of the league on the number of ex-AFL players?

*cough*

Dont Argue
1 May 2006, 20:16
Can any one tell me how the lavi panthers are travellin this year.... how is there first grade side and can or have they knocked over the in form yarra side???

morphous
1 May 2006, 20:37
Can anyone confirm the very strong rumour that Craig Millar will be back at Myrtleford within the next month? Have heard this a fair bit around the traps & Redlands havent got within 130 points of anyone! If this is true would be hard to see Myrtleford losing to many more games!

I haven't heard that one either.

Lavy_Panther
1 May 2006, 20:48
Can any one tell me how the lavi panthers are travellin this year.... how is there first grade side and can or have they knocked over the in form yarra side???

2-2. Haven't played Yarra yet, can knock them off if the stage is big enough.

arceri
2 May 2006, 12:31
no, I'm not basing it on the standard, just saying it would help and add another dimension to a comp which is lagging.

look at the interest winmar injected at the weekend in the TDFL. They have 3 times as many people as watch a Lavington or Wang Rovers..

Lavy_Panther
2 May 2006, 18:18
no, I'm not basing it on the standard, just saying it would help and add another dimension to a comp which is lagging.

look at the interest winmar injected at the weekend in the TDFL. They have 3 times as many people as watch a Lavington or Wang Rovers..
So now you're talking about crowds and game interest.

Righto...

Maybe if we pay the crowd $10 each to come to the game it'll increase the quality of the league, because as we know, interest = performance...

fish1
2 May 2006, 21:26
Can anyone tell me if Tyler Bonat from Yarrawonga has been washing hes own socks after use?

Interesting

Agent
3 May 2006, 10:47
Anyone got any thoughts on Myrtleford on baller Rhys Fitzpatrick? Watched him on Saturday and thought he was solid but not in same class as Murray & Carey!

Haven't really seen him do a real lot for the first few rounds, a good back up midfielder for murray and carey but that is about it.

madpie
3 May 2006, 11:00
Can someone tell me how adrian(the fang)newman is going this year??

Dont Argue
3 May 2006, 11:31
2-2 is an pritty reasonable start and lets hope the lavi boys can continue throughout the season to play good footy and go all the way!!! whats the story with the new lavi recruits??? has any of the new boys excelled this year??

Here It Is
4 May 2006, 00:39
My Top 10 players after round 4.

1. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 27
2. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 26
3. Joel Mackie (North Albury) 23
4. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 22
4. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 22
4. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 22
7. Carl Dickins (Corowa-Rutherglen) 21
7. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 21
9. Jason Wild (Yarrawonga) 20
10. Peter Cristoforo (Wangaratta Rovers) 19
10. Michael Lamb (Wodonga) 19

barrybogan
4 May 2006, 10:43

The little brat from WA can play. Finds a lot of the footy and uses it well. Different type of player to Carey and Murray but definitely in the same class. That's why he's currently second on the list above Pearce off Jack and Agent.

Mongoose
4 May 2006, 10:55

Here It Is - can you explain how this system works again. How does a player get points? How many points do they get for being in best players, goals etc.

gofootygo
4 May 2006, 15:10
hey does anyone know if adam bultler is still playing in the Ovens and Murray league,he had a stint at fremantle and he went back to ovens and murray but dont know where he is now

arceri
4 May 2006, 16:06
He's playing good footy at Lavington.

fish1
4 May 2006, 17:23

Where is Xav Lesile (Yarra) heard down here in the big smoke he was playing well.

WRFLfan
4 May 2006, 17:27
Where is Xav Lesile (Yarra) heard down here in the big smoke he was playing well.
Going very well down there glad to see be nice if Corowa were do well too, good luck

Gotheroos
5 May 2006, 23:24
Can someone tell me how adrian(the fang)newman is going this year??

Could not get a kick in Bart Cummings' stables!!!
Heard he's about to sign for a side in Adelaide.

madpie
6 May 2006, 09:27
Could not get a kick in Bart Cummings' stables!!!
Heard he's about to sign for a side in Adelaide.you truly are a goose

raso43
7 May 2006, 18:39
Any info on daniel maher at Albury? Was a gun in the WAFL last two years

numba4
7 May 2006, 18:55
Hey just wondering what under 18's have played Senior football from the O&M either this year or last?

fish1
8 May 2006, 21:48
Heard Adrian Newman was being chased by Murray League side Mulwala, has anyone heard of this.

barrybogan
10 May 2006, 13:07
several more have pulled the pin on the country championships this weekend, again reinforcing the fact that the current carnival format does not draw the best league representative sides.

http://www.omfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=21239&orgID=381&Oname=Ovens+%26+Murray+FL&O1c=5&O10c=5

i think it should be all or nothing. if your going to have the country championships each year bring back the old knockout format with real matches. the best two leagues in country victoria playing off for the country championship on the second weekend provides a far better spectacle for spectators and would make winning the championship that much sweeter i suspect.

the league should also adequately pay the blokes for playing. i think all players still believe it's an honour to play for the league, but it's also understandable that players don't want to risk injury with three fast paced shortened games in two days. the geelong league pulling out of the whole thing this year just supports this further.

any thoughts?

harsh, but fair
10 May 2006, 13:47
The round robin format lacks credibility and isn't popular with players which is painfully obvious.
Let's skid the whole idea of country championships and let leagues like the O and M and GV go head-to-head in a real game played over four quarters once a year.
Other leagues (Bendigo v Ballarat), (Hampden v Geelong), (West Gippsland-Latrobe v Mornington Peninsula) can do the same until enough interest is sparked again for a full blown knockout comp.
And why shouldn't these matches be played as curtain-raisers to AFL games which would be a real incentive for players to pull on the jumper and represent their leagues.
They should also be played on the AFL's Grassroots weekend.
It ain't rocket science.

arceri
10 May 2006, 14:04
exactly, that would be a winner.

It's a joke at present.

Pearce off Jack
10 May 2006, 15:06
several more have pulled the pin on the country championships this weekend, again reinforcing the fact that the current carnival format does not draw the best league representative sides.

http://www.omfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=21239&orgID=381&Oname=Ovens+%26+Murray+FL&O1c=5&O10c=5

i think it should be all or nothing. if your going to have the country championships each year bring back the old knockout format with real matches. the best two leagues in country victoria playing off for the country championship on the second weekend provides a far better spectacle for spectators and would make winning the championship that much sweeter i suspect.

the league should also adequately pay the blokes for playing. i think all players still believe it's an honour to play for the league, but it's also understandable that players don't want to risk injury with three fast paced shortened games in two days. the geelong league pulling out of the whole thing this year just supports this further.

any thoughts?
If representing your league at the highest level you can is not enough incentive to play then there is no way these blokes should be getting paid! Surely there is more than enough money in football! Maybe some of the modern day players need to look at past eras and play for the glory and not financial reward!

Gotheroos
10 May 2006, 15:17
The round robin format lacks credibility and isn't popular with players which is painfully obvious.
Let's skid the whole idea of country championships and let leagues like the O and M and GV go head-to-head in a real game played over four quarters once a year.
Other leagues (Bendigo v Ballarat), (Hampden v Geelong), (West Gippsland-Latrobe v Mornington Peninsula) can do the same until enough interest is sparked again for a full blown knockout comp.
And why shouldn't these matches be played as curtain-raisers to AFL games which would be a real incentive for players to pull on the jumper and represent their leagues.
They should also be played on the AFL's Grassroots weekend.
It ain't rocket science.

For sure. Great post. :thumbsu:
Something needs to be done.

barrybogan
10 May 2006, 15:27
If representing your league at the highest level you can is not enough incentive to play then there is no way these blokes should be getting paid! Surely there is more than enough money in football! Maybe some of the modern day players need to look at past eras and play for the glory and not financial reward!

times are changing jack. it used to be the biggest honour to play for state in the AFL, but the state of origin failed because the better players started pulling out. the country championships could be headed down the same track unless they make some changes, and that may mean a change of format, player payments or something else to generate interest. the AFL curtain raisers definitely sound like a good idea if that was possible. but the whole thing needs to be done properly or not at all IMO.

harsh, but fair
10 May 2006, 15:47
A lot of VCFL money is wasted on the championships under this present format (accommodation subsidies, participation subsidies, etc) and these costs are doubled with an under-18 comp and not to mention netball.
The biggest cost of the curtain-raiser idea would be accommodation.
But, one of the VCFL's sponsors is best western motels who have obviously have motels in melb so they could come to the party there on discounted rates.
Best western can recoup a bit of their money by attracting parents, girl-friends, interested supporters to stay at the same places when they make the trip to the big smoke.
The better under 18 players are playing at senior level so they would be in contention for senior selection so this eliminates the need to have an under 18 carnival.
There is also the east v west under-18 game which needs a bigger stage as well so they could play as a AFL curtain-raiser as well.
The netballers have two comps, a State Championships and the VCFL championships.
One should suffice there.
As as I've said before it ain't rocket science and if a player isn't motivated by playing at the MCG, Telstra Dome or Skilled Stadium they need to find another sport and quickly.

harsh, but fair
10 May 2006, 15:49
And where has the VCFL-driven promotion of these championships been this week I ask?

Pearce off Jack
10 May 2006, 15:51
times are changing jack. it used to be the biggest honour to play for state in the AFL, but the state of origin failed because the better players started pulling out. the country championships could be headed down the same track unless they make some changes, and that may mean a change of format, player payments or something else to generate interest. the AFL curtain raisers definitely sound like a good idea if that was possible. but the whole thing needs to be done properly or not at all IMO.
I agree that the matter needs attention however the day we make money the key ingredient to forming a rep side then we might as well get rid of the whole concept! And who do you think will end up paying for these rep players that are only in it for the money? You and your footy club barry!!!!

barrybogan
10 May 2006, 16:06
I agree that the matter needs attention however the day we make money the key ingredient to forming a rep side then we might as well get rid of the whole concept! And who do you think will end up paying for these rep players that are only in it for the money? You and your footy club barry!!!!

yeah point taken jack. you're probably right that clubs will end up footing the costs if players were paid at present. but perhaps if they changed the format and made the championships the spectacle it should be (especially the final), it would probably be very well attended, generating it's own gate receipts which could be passed on to those who participate.

anyway main point was that current format is not ideal and should be changed.

Pearce off Jack
10 May 2006, 16:15
yeah point taken jack. you're probably right that clubs will end up footing the costs if players were paid at present. but perhaps if they changed the format and made the championships the spectacle it should be (especially the final), it would probably be very well attended, generating it's own gate receipts which could be passed on to those who participate.

anyway main point was that current format is not ideal and should be changed.
Couldnt agree more with your main point bogan.

Here It Is
10 May 2006, 20:27
Here It Is - can you explain how this system works again. How does a player get points? How many points do they get for being in best players, goals etc.

It takes into account the named best players and the match results.

harsh, but fair
10 May 2006, 21:26
It's hopelessly flawed in my humble opinion.
Unless you are at games how can you honestly give votes?

Lavy_Panther
10 May 2006, 22:08
The same way reporters can report a game without being there.

:thumbsu:

localfootyguru
11 May 2006, 00:30
I think the credibility of the Championships was really damaged with the withdrawal of the Geelong FL due to financial issues and the current situation in Group B with only the Hampden and Mornington Peninsula FL competing.

I liked the old knock out format much better. The current format is just like one day cricket in that it is more like a "kick and giggle" with the strongest generally the winner.

Another issue with the championships is the withdrawal of many key players from all leagues due to injury, unavailability etc. All these withdrawals basically assist in casting a shadow over the future of the round robin format.

Would still like to be at Lavington this weekend though to say how things pan out - Goulburn Valley would certainly start hot favorites I think.

Here It Is
11 May 2006, 00:54
The same way reporters can report a game without being there.

:thumbsu:

I'm with you on this one Timba;)

arceri
11 May 2006, 08:57
Fair dinkum, is that you Timba (Here It Is)?

Congratulations on last year mate. Great effort.

Will you be right to play after the inter-league?

Lavy_Panther
11 May 2006, 15:26
Yeah top effort, Tim...

arceri
12 May 2006, 11:37
Seriously, if it is you Timba, I hope you blokes go back-to-back. I reckon Yarra amd Myrtleford are ahead at this stage, but you blokes are capable of lifting a cog or two.

Gotheroos
12 May 2006, 13:28
Seriously, if it is you Timba, I hope you blokes go back-to-back. I reckon Yarra amd Myrtleford are ahead at this stage, but you blokes are capable of lifting a cog or two.

get out of his arse!!! ;)

wobbler
12 May 2006, 15:23
How is Damian Slater going at woodonga bulldogs? Can anyone tell me? What about the two's he coaches is it true they are on the slide

Here It Is
13 May 2006, 01:32
The Top 10 players for this week are:

1. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 30
2. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 27
2. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 27
4. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 26
4. Adam Williams (Wodonga) 26
6. Matt Wollington (Yarrawonga) 25
7. Joel Mackie (North Albury) 23
8. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 22
8. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 22
8. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 22
8. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 22

Gotheroos
15 May 2006, 13:06
Good to see that the O:thumbsu: MFL pulled the pants down of the GVFL and smacked there arses!!!

jimmyboy
15 May 2006, 13:47
Good to see that the O:thumbsu: MFL pulled the pants down of the GVFL and smacked there arses!!!
Just read a couple of your rescent posts Gotheroos, and you seem to like pulling peoples pants down and smacking them.:thumbsu:

Lavy_Panther
15 May 2006, 15:04

Would you like a side of coleslaw with the words you're about to eat?

Gotheroos
15 May 2006, 16:27
Just read a couple of your rescent posts Gotheroos, and you seem to like pulling peoples pants down and smacking them.:thumbsu:

I just like having the last laugh. And as I was a past player of the OMFL league it was good to see them shut the GVFL guys up for a least a year.:)

Gotheroos
15 May 2006, 16:29
Would you like a side of coleslaw with the words you're about to eat?

Absolute GOLD!!!!:thumbsu:

Mongoose
17 May 2006, 13:30
I see that Guy Rigoni is playing for Myrtleford this weekend against Corowa. Should put a few more people through the gate and this game should be a good one with both teams having a few injury concerns at the minute.

Anyone got any thoughts about rigoni playing! Would you tag him or just let him go? Wonder how he will go?

arceri
17 May 2006, 14:58
Fair comment Timba. I'll have a bit of coleshaw on my roll from the Black Range cafe.

PS: Are you right to play on Saturday. if you blokes can win the next two, I reckon top three is well and truly alive.

How many do you get back from injury (without giving away too many secrets)?

daisy_train
19 May 2006, 13:58
Whats your thoughts on Lavys premiership defence now Arceri? No C Brown no Lavington? Are the wheels falling off out there?

daisy_train
19 May 2006, 14:01
I see that Guy Rigoni is playing for Myrtleford this weekend against Corowa. Should put a few more people through the gate and this game should be a good one with both teams having a few injury concerns at the minute.

Anyone got any thoughts about rigoni playing! Would you tag him or just let him go? Wonder how he will go?

Mate Brad Murray being out for Myrtleford is a massive blow, Rigoni will fill the void for the week.

arceri
19 May 2006, 14:09
Lavi will be okay.

I'm a bit concerned about persistent rumours that a Panther veteran is about to leave the club for a district league club though.

Pearce off Jack
19 May 2006, 14:56
Mate Brad Murray being out for Myrtleford is a massive blow, Rigoni will fill the void for the week.
I agree that losing Murray is a blow,but there is plenty of depth in the on ball department at Myrtleford! Carey,Fitzpatrick,Browne,Nightingale,Ivone,Dean-Johns,Cartwright,Peters,Jones just to name a few!

Agent
19 May 2006, 15:52
I agree that losing Murray is a blow,but there is plenty of depth in the on ball department at Myrtleford! Carey,Fitzpatrick,Browne,Nightingale,Ivone,Dean-Johns,Cartwright,Peters,Jones just to name a few!

Good to see Myrtleford bringing up a local Bright youngster in Benstead. It will be interesting to hear how the young fella goes. Ivone is becoming a great midfielder really gets his head over the footy.

What has been going on with Shane Peters playing in the reserves, wasn't he in last years o&m representative side?

gnik
19 May 2006, 15:56
Has anyone heard that funky millar is returning to the myrtleford football club next season. I heard that he was down there signing up for next season.

arceri
22 May 2006, 10:08
I'll admit I'm worried about Lavi after the weekend.

Timba, have you got a message for your supporters?

Mongoose
22 May 2006, 13:19
I'd be interested if anyone has got anything to say about how pathetic Damien Pattison is as an Ovens & Murray umpire.

It is that obvious that he has not got any idea about what he is doing and he is going to cost a side a match sooner or later.
He would not know how to hold a frigging football let alone umpire a ovens & murray match. He spoils a good game of footy every time he umpires.

If any umpires are out there and following the big footy forum then for christ sake, tell me how this spastic continually gets the green light to officiate in one of the best leagues in country victoria. Send him else where, where the standard is of the same as his umpiring ability, if you can find such a s h i t standard.

He is woeful and shorely the umpiring board can see this!

Has anyone else been involved in a game , or been at a game where this poor excuse for an umpire has "officiated"?

Pearce off Jack
22 May 2006, 16:34
I'd be interested if anyone has got anything to say about how pathetic Damien Pattison is as an Ovens & Murray umpire.

It is that obvious that he has not got any idea about what he is doing and he is going to cost a side a match sooner or later.
He would not know how to hold a frigging football let alone umpire a ovens & murray match. He spoils a good game of footy every time he umpires.

If any umpires are out there and following the big footy forum then for christ sake, tell me how this spastic continually gets the green light to officiate in one of the best leagues in country victoria. Send him else where, where the standard is of the same as his umpiring ability, if you can find such a s h i t standard.

He is woeful and shorely the umpiring board can see this!

Has anyone else been involved in a game , or been at a game where this poor excuse for an umpire has "officiated"?
Couldnt agree more with everthing you said Mongoose! The Bloke is an absolute tool and an oxygen thief!!!

Lavy_Panther
22 May 2006, 18:09
I'll admit I'm worried about Lavi after the weekend.

Timba, have you got a message for your supporters?

One swallow doesn't make a summer, as they say.

arceri
23 May 2006, 09:41
thanks big fella

OLDUMP
23 May 2006, 09:56
Pretty weak Mongoose. But I suppose umpiring always looks easy through the bottom of a stubby.
If you had any ticker you would identify yourself - after all the umpires are named in the paper. All you have done is reinforce my opinion that chat lines are the haunt of peadophiles and geeks. Which are you?
Get off your bum, do something positive and stop whining.

PS - there are two spelling mistakes and four grammar mistakes in your little diatribe too dummy.

Special thanks to bigfooty.com for publishing this crap - it does nothing to help the game

freakonaleash
23 May 2006, 10:48
Pretty weak Mongoose. But I suppose umpiring always looks easy through the bottom of a stubby.
If you had any ticker you would identify yourself - after all the umpires are named in the paper. All you have done is reinforce my opinion that chat lines are the haunt of peadophiles and geeks. Which are you?

PS - there are two spelling mistakes and four grammar mistakes in your little diatribe too dummy.

Special thanks to bigfooty.com for publishing this crap - it does nothing to help the game

Takes one to know one OLDDUMP. Which one are you?

Mongoose
23 May 2006, 15:29

Yeah like evryone else on this forum identify's theirself don't they?

I'm not talking about umpires in general i'm talking about a certain umpire that acts like a kid in a mans body. He craps himself when a player doesn't like a decision he has made (which is all the time) and nearly starts crying, and then uses the a fifty metre penalty as a cop out to his cry baby antics.
He swears at players because he panics, and if you ask any player that has played in a game where he has umpired they'll tell you he's has no idea. He didn't even wear the correct uniform on the weekend because his mum didn't pack his bags properly for him.

Maybe he could umpire on Sundays when the juniors play!

P.S. I couldn't care less how many spelling mistakes there were, you got the point!

Pearce off Jack
23 May 2006, 16:25

Noticed that you are a registered user of big footy Oldump!! How unusual considering that you think it is a load of crap!! Maybe if your user name was oldplayer you might have some credibility,but seeing it isnt then maybe picking out peoples spelling mistakes probably is the biggest piece of crap i have read on here!!!!!!!!!

Lavy_Panther
23 May 2006, 19:15
Very weak to target an individual umpire who is far from the worst going around.

localfootyguru
23 May 2006, 23:28
Pretty weak stuff to hide behind an alias and target a guy that is far from the worst umpire in the competition. As a former player I can definitely say he is one of the better ones.

Perhaps you guys that want to write this crap on here would be brave enough to put your names to it. To be honest I don't think that will happen!

Pearce off Jack
24 May 2006, 09:35
Very weak to target an individual umpire who is far from the worst going around.
If he is one of the better umps going around then we are in trouble!

Pearce off Jack
24 May 2006, 09:57
Pretty weak stuff to hide behind an alias and target a guy that is far from the worst umpire in the competition. As a former player I can definitely say he is one of the better ones.

Perhaps you guys that want to write this crap on here would be brave enough to put your names to it. To be honest I don't think that will happen!
Hey Guru i pay my money to walk in the gate and therefore am entitled to my opinion. This forum is based on everyones opinion wright or wrong! My name is Jack Pearce and if that makes you feel better then thats fantastic! No one seems to have a problem bagging the crap out of players every day so why should an umpire who obviously has no control or idea be protected!

Ozz12
24 May 2006, 10:57
Jack,

Its interesting that you mention that people have no problem bagging the crap out of players, so that makes it alright to personally bag an umpire.

That is a pretty long bow to draw especially since in all your other posts you have said not one thing about a player playing poorly, but are only too happy to take a swipe at the men with whistles (whether at the AFL or local level).

Now i could be wrong here but i have a feeling that the reason that they try to protect umpires is that its so bloody hard to get people to put their hands up to do it in the first place.

The bonus for you is that you seem to be such a wonderful judge of football yourself (although they do say self praise is no recommendation) and that makes you an excellent candidate to become one.

Im sure the North East Umpires Board would love to see you turn up for training.

Mongoose
24 May 2006, 11:04

That's right you are a "former" player and would have no idea about how bad an umpire he is.

And your going tell me that i hide behind an alias, every person on this forum has an alias you unit. That's my opinion, and i reckon i would have a bit more of an idea than your "localfootyguru" self.

If you have a look at other topics on this forum you'll see that alot of players get bagged out, so why should an umpire be an exception. This topic is "Ovens & Murray" and this certain umpire officiates in it, so it's open slather as far as i'm concerned.

You can call me week or what ever you want, but it's my opinion that he's a terrible umpire and you've got your opinion and everyone else on this forum has their's.

Pearce off Jack
24 May 2006, 12:10
Jack,

Its interesting that you mention that people have no problem bagging the crap out of players, so that makes it alright to personally bag an umpire.

That is a pretty long bow to draw especially since in all your other posts you have said not one thing about a player playing poorly, but are only too happy to take a swipe at the men with whistles (whether at the AFL or local level).

Now i could be wrong here but i have a feeling that the reason that they try to protect umpires is that its so bloody hard to get people to put their hands up to do it in the first place.

The bonus for you is that you seem to be such a wonderful judge of football yourself (although they do say self praise is no recommendation) and that makes you an excellent candidate to become one.

Im sure the North East Umpires Board would love to see you turn up for training.
You idiot Ozz12 this is an open forum to discuss matters related to Ovens & Murray football! Mongoose made a statement that i totally agreed with and now it seems he and i are the only 2 people using an alias. You have no idea about my football knowledge but you obviously feel that yours is far superior!

Ozz12
24 May 2006, 12:31
Jack,

I couldn’t care less what you think of me personally and at the end of the day my footy knowledge (irrespective of the level) is not the issue. Indeed an old saying is that you never argue with an idiot because they will drag you to their level and beat you with experience! (Others will be the judge as to whom they think the fool)...

However the point I was trying to make is that love them or hate them umpires are a part of the game and as has been said before "you don’t have a game without them".

Sure some will blend into the background whilst others will stand out to certain people because of things that they do. All im saying is that there is a difference between outright slander and constructive criticism that helps the person or indeed the game.

Without wanting to sound condescending, you be the judge as to how Mongoose and yourself have helped the situation.

Pearce off Jack
24 May 2006, 12:56
Jack,

I couldn’t care less what you think of me personally and at the end of the day my footy knowledge (irrespective of the level) is not the issue. Indeed an old saying is that you never argue with an idiot because they will drag you to their level and beat you with experience! (Others will be the judge as to whom they think the fool)...

However the point I was trying to make is that love them or hate them umpires are a part of the game and as has been said before "you don’t have a game without them".

Sure some will blend into the background whilst others will stand out to certain people because of things that they do. All im saying is that there is a difference between outright slander and constructive criticism that helps the person or indeed the game.

Without wanting to sound condescending, you be the judge as to how Mongoose and yourself have helped the situation.
Well i dont want to get be dragged down so i will stop however there was no situation until you and a couple of others started commenting on our opinions!!

Lavy_Panther
24 May 2006, 15:08
Well i dont want to get be dragged down so i will stop however there was no situation until you and a couple of others started commenting on our opinions!!
They were our opinions of your opinion.

Works both ways, Tiger.

Pearce off Jack
24 May 2006, 15:22
They were our opinions of your opinion.

Works both ways, Tiger.
No problems Panther but maybe your opinions on the topic are more relevant than your opinions on my opinion !!

daisy_train
24 May 2006, 18:51
Good work stiffs, good to see a bit of emotion back in the league, even if he is the best murray jets umpire going around he probably isn't up to O&M standards.

kangas23
24 May 2006, 19:15
can anyone tell me how tyler "pumpkin" bonnet has been travelling for yarra? and adrian newman down at corrowa? any news on there performances last weekend

slim18
24 May 2006, 19:54
No problems Panther but maybe your opinions on the topic are more relevant than your opinions on my opinion !!

I wish I had an opinion. Where do you get one?

Grimmett
24 May 2006, 23:43
Any word on Albury's next move in the chase for Josh Dicketts, ex-Lake Wendouree?
Now that the VCFL has stepped in and overturned the Ballarat Regional Appeals Board decision to grant his clearance he is tied to the Ballarat FL club. Just wondering what Albury where considering in their efforts to get him on the field with his brother in 2006.

journeyman
25 May 2006, 12:23
What do people think about the Dickett's situation? I'm only going from what I read in the papers (both Ballarat Courier and Border Mail) but if it's a binding contract then surely he should fulfill it.

As a student teacher wouldn't he know a year in advance that he would be doing a 10-week teaching stint the following year and therefore only sign for one? It's not the club's fault that he decided after signing contract that he wanted to do his rounds in Albury.

As I said earlier I don't know intricite details but if Lake Wendouree had paid him the agreed amount and on time (which a lot of clubs don't) then he should be playing for them as he said he would

fish1
26 May 2006, 10:54
can anyone tell me how tyler "pumpkin" bonnet has been travelling for yarra? and adrian newman down at corrowa? any news on there performances last weekend

He's (Ty) doing alright in the FP next to the pig. Wats with the pumpkin bit.

barrybogan
26 May 2006, 12:22
g'day,

just wondering if there's anywhere you can find the o&m teams for each weekend on the internet. the o&m site used to put them up on friday mornings but doesn't anymore, and i can't find them on the bordermail website either.