View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Frank_001
31 Mar 2008, 14:05
Boom recruit? Who?
On Boom recruits would love to know everyones thinking on travelling players and the O and M squad? I know last year that there were a few quality players that were not picked due to them living out of the region!
Thoughts and feeback??:)
Nicky, I can't believe you haven't heard of David James. He is an enigma. His long flowing locks and chunky thighs make girls weak at the knees. If he doesn't get a kick this year he is sure to do some damage with the ladies up Wodonga way.
Meant to be on good $$$. just wanted to know if he is worth it
Winmar_07
31 Mar 2008, 14:17
Nicky, I can't believe you haven't heard of David James. He is an enigma. His long flowing locks and chunky thighs make girls weak at the knees. If he doesn't get a kick this year he is sure to do some damage with the ladies up Wodonga way.
Was at that game!
If you didn't mention the hair wouldn't have known who he was!
If he is a boom recruit they have problems which is obvious.. Goes ok but doesn't do enough for a well paid player.. Corowa's on ball made him look second rate.. Mind you they would make most look second rate!:thumbsu:
Winmar_07
31 Mar 2008, 14:19
Was at that game!
If he is a boom recruit they have problems which is obvious.. Goes ok but doesn't do enough for a well paid player.. Corowa's on ball made him look second rate.. Mind you they would make most look second rate!:thumbsu:
For the record he has a head like a pig! Although wouldn't take much to pick up in wodonga!:)
RatherHaveABeer
31 Mar 2008, 15:12
That is absolute crap. Ozzie had Hill on the ground and it wasn't until the other Hills come in that Ozzie copped a few.
Sounds like Hilly smashed you in the head a few times on the same day from that account! Either that or you were over watching the netball at the time. Osborne possibly the most hated player of his time got what he deserved that day because he made the mistake of hitting a bloke who was in a position to fight back for a change. Don't recall if any of his own teamates joined the fray in his defence.......
You obviously havent seen ozzie play.. or know him for that matter. Tough .. and a great bloke off the field... white line fever never hurt anyone.
thinkbig
31 Mar 2008, 16:48
anyway fellas just thought id get the ball rolling with a couple of early crackerjack matches coming up this week, particularly the much anticipated wang derby?
who are the key players for both teams in the derby?
thurgood
31 Mar 2008, 18:05
Boom recruit? Who?
On Boom recruits would love to know everyones thinking on travelling players and the O and M squad? I know last year that there were a few quality players that were not picked due to them living out of the region!
Thoughts and feeback??:)
oh here we go again, winmar looking for people to pump up jake ryan and nick rains
yes winmar, i think they r the best players to ever travel out of melbourne and play in the ovens and murray and selectors would be mad not to pick them
here's what my o and m team would look like
Backline: j ryan, d clark, n raines
H-Backline: n raines, d clark, j ryan
Centre: j ryan, d clark, n raines
H-Forwardline: n raines, d clark, j ryan
Forwardline: j ryan, d clark, n raines
Rucks: n raines, d clark, j ryan
Bench: carpenter, carpenter, carpenter, carpenter
thurgood
31 Mar 2008, 18:07
Was at that game!
considering he debuted against yarra on saturday, i'm not surprised he didn't get a kick against corowa :rolleyes:
How is Leigh Ramsdale travelling down at Yarrawonga? I heard he is a Yarrawonga superstar. A pin up boy for the girls, gun footballer, has model type good looks, a brand new BMW (paid cash from last years footy money) and just an all round top bloke. I was told he was spotted at a Melbourne nightspot not so long ago getting very cosy with a reasonably well known gay male. I hope this isnt the case as the girls of Yarra will be heart broken if this is the case.
Gotheroos
31 Mar 2008, 19:10
Not at all but from your post it looks like you were watching the game from the bottom of a vb can. Keep up the good posts goose.
Was at that game!
Intersting quote there as Raiders played Yarra and not Corowa on the weekend.
Maybe you were thinking of round 1 and Ladgrove as the bloke with the hair.
Mango83
31 Mar 2008, 19:33
How is Leigh Ramsdale travelling down at Yarrawonga? I heard he is a Yarrawonga superstar. A pin up boy for the girls, gun footballer, has model type good looks, a brand new BMW (paid cash from last years footy money) and just an all round top bloke. I was told he was spotted at a Melbourne nightspot not so long ago getting very cosy with a reasonably well known gay male. I hope this isnt the case as the girls of Yarra will be heart broken if this is the case.
i work with leigh and he is a top bloke. great value heard abit about his footy ability and heard he can play the game.
RatherHaveABeer
31 Mar 2008, 19:56
Not at all but from your post it looks like you were watching the game from the bottom of a vb can. Keep up the good posts goose.
Nope, watching from the clubroom balcony! Ringside seats for the bloodbath! Worth every cent of the admission fee!
Tigerrr_Uppercut
31 Mar 2008, 20:22
Leigh Ramsdale is probably the most un-respected footballer in the o&m
Lavy_Panther
31 Mar 2008, 21:17
Leigh Ramsdale is probably the most un-respected footballer in the o&m
Just as long as he isn't disrespected...
Winmar_07
1 Apr 2008, 09:42
oh here we go again, winmar looking for people to pump up jake ryan and nick rains
yes winmar, i think they r the best players to ever travel out of melbourne and play in the ovens and murray and selectors would be mad not to pick them
here's what my o and m team would look like
Backline: j ryan, d clark, n raines
H-Backline: n raines, d clark, j ryan
Centre: j ryan, d clark, n raines
H-Forwardline: n raines, d clark, j ryan
Forwardline: j ryan, d clark, n raines
Rucks: n raines, d clark, j ryan
Bench: carpenter, carpenter, carpenter, carpenter
come on mate i reckon carpenter is a bit stiff on the bench??
was asking a general question didn't ask for a smart ass answer.. :thumbsu:
captain peanut
1 Apr 2008, 09:42
anyway fellas just thought id get the ball rolling with a couple of early crackerjack matches coming up this week, particularly the much anticipated wang derby?
who are the key players for both teams in the derby?
should be a cracker derby on saturday. Trenfield carmody and maybe d porter back for wang, so they will be only mccormick and maybe pell away from the best 21 they might field at finals time. Rovers will be at full strength.
battle between rovers forwards and magpie backs should be something to watch. Cristoforo silver norman and r hill up against steer cosgriff cairns and maybe dan steel. Alot will obviously depend on supply, but the 1 on 1 duels should be good ones. Wang's backs were superb against yarra, especially in last 1/4 when it looked like yarra was going to come home over the top of them. Steer and cosgriff are probably the best 2 key defenders in the comp. Rovers don't have much in the small forward department though, which is a worry for them as wang set up so much with their run out of the back half. Once it hits the deck, the likes of symons, trenfield, lord, j porter will have to be kept in check.
Minus mccormick, the midfield battle is shaping as reasonably even although maggies should just have an edge in depth. Smith for maggies is a ball magnet, and he is going to form some sort of combination with mccormick in 2nd half of season. Rovers have allan as their midfield gun and plenty of support runners but they probably lack the depth of midfield quality that wang has. Clarke, mullins, the porters, lord, symons, trenfield can all take a turn in there.
Game may be won and lost inside wang's forward 50. Last year, wang's marking forwards in henry, hayse and braden carved the rovers key backmen to pieces. In their 2nd meeting, Wang turned a 3 goal 1/4 time deficit into a 90 pt win on the back of their forwards aerial dominance in what could only be described as a slaughter. They will all be there again, only with the addition of hooper. Rovers simply don't have the quality tall defenders to cover them all. An option is to throw norman back, but that suits wang down to the ground to have him out of the forward 50. Again, alot depends on the supply coming in.
Overall, rovers are fitter at this stage of the year and this is their chance to beat wang. However, the more you look at it the more the maggies just look too strong all over the ground. Wang by around 5 goals for me.
Winmar_07
1 Apr 2008, 09:45
Nope, watching from the clubroom balcony! Ringside seats for the bloodbath! Worth every cent of the admission fee!
'
your kidding aren't you mate ozzie smashed the living ____ out of hill and as go the roos says he only copped a few after that which were soft by that one eyed monster hill.. looks like the boogie monster!:)
Give me a Pie
1 Apr 2008, 11:25
should be a cracker derby on saturday. Trenfield carmody and maybe d porter back for wang, so they will be only mccormick and maybe pell away from the best 21 they might field at finals time. Rovers will be at full strength.
battle between rovers forwards and magpie backs should be something to watch. Cristoforo silver norman and r hill up against steer cosgriff cairns and maybe dan steel. Alot will obviously depend on supply, but the 1 on 1 duels should be good ones. Wang's backs were superb against yarra, especially in last 1/4 when it looked like yarra was going to come home over the top of them. Steer and cosgriff are probably the best 2 key defenders in the comp. Rovers don't have much in the small forward department though, which is a worry for them as wang set up so much with their run out of the back half. Once it hits the deck, the likes of symons, trenfield, lord, j porter will have to be kept in check.
Minus mccormick, the midfield battle is shaping as reasonably even although maggies should just have an edge in depth. Smith for maggies is a ball magnet, and he is going to form some sort of combination with mccormick in 2nd half of season. Rovers have allan as their midfield gun and plenty of support runners but they probably lack the depth of midfield quality that wang has. Clarke, mullins, the porters, lord, symons, trenfield can all take a turn in there.
Game may be won and lost inside wang's forward 50. Last year, wang's marking forwards in henry, hayse and braden carved the rovers key backmen to pieces. In their 2nd meeting, Wang turned a 3 goal 1/4 time deficit into a 90 pt win on the back of their forwards aerial dominance in what could only be described as a slaughter. They will all be there again, only with the addition of hooper. Rovers simply don't have the quality tall defenders to cover them all. An option is to throw norman back, but that suits wang down to the ground to have him out of the forward 50. Again, alot depends on the supply coming in.
Overall, rovers are fitter at this stage of the year and this is their chance to beat wang. However, the more you look at it the more the maggies just look too strong all over the ground. Wang by around 5 goals for me.
You would have to be a magpie supporter..
You do make some good points but I have to disagree on the final result.
Although the magpies do probably seem slightly stronger on paper I think that it will be the rovers who take the points on Sunday.
Rovers have there Midfield up and firing with the likes of J.Allen, A.Hill and Tucci already in top form where as the maggies midfield looks underdone going into this contest with obviously no McCormick. While D.Porter, Trentfield and Carmody all returning from injuries and probably limited pre seasons.
I think if Matty Allan can win the contest of the vetrans and hold old man henry to only a couple that will also go along way toward winning the match for the Rovers.
Should be a ripping match well worth travelling down the highway for!
Silver_kid
1 Apr 2008, 11:27
Is luke mullins back from O/S and playing already? if so hows he gone so far?
captain peanut
1 Apr 2008, 13:11
Is luke mullins back from O/S and playing already? if so hows he gone so far?
mullins played in round 1 v yarra and was ok without being outstanding.
captain peanut
1 Apr 2008, 13:25
You would have to be a magpie supporter..
You do make some good points but I have to disagree on the final result.
Although the magpies do probably seem slightly stronger on paper I think that it will be the rovers who take the points on Sunday.
Rovers have there Midfield up and firing with the likes of J.Allen, A.Hill and Tucci already in top form where as the maggies midfield looks underdone going into this contest with obviously no McCormick. While D.Porter, Trentfield and Carmody all returning from injuries and probably limited pre seasons.
I think if Matty Allan can win the contest of the vetrans and hold old man henry to only a couple that will also go along way toward winning the match for the Rovers.
Should be a ripping match well worth travelling down the highway for!
It's fair to say that i favour the pies over the rovers. I was however actually thinking rovers would probably win this week until i sat down and looked at the likely sides. I just can't see how rovers can keep wang to a losing score with their defence, although if norman goes to CHB that would go some way to fixing it but at the same time robbing their forward line.
take your point about rovers midfield being up and running and fit, but wang have enough cattle to match them. Smith, clarke, lord, j porter and higgs were great against yarra as was solimo in the 1st game i've seen him play. Add trenfield to that mix and they'll at least break even i think. Trenfield is only coming off suspension and has played in the pre-season so shouldn't be too underdone. If the wang midfield can break even at worst they'll win the game with their forward line and rovers lack of key defenders.
going to be a great contest. for anyone that's going, it is definitely on saturday, has been moved from the sunday as it was going to clash with the wang cup.
also heard this morning that mccormick will be back for wang by about round 6.
thinkbig
1 Apr 2008, 13:55
It's fair to say that i favour the pies over the rovers. I was however actually thinking rovers would probably win this week until i sat down and looked at the likely sides. I just can't see how rovers can keep wang to a losing score with their defence, although if norman goes to CHB that would go some way to fixing it but at the same time robbing their forward line.
take your point about rovers midfield being up and running and fit, but wang have enough cattle to match them. Smith, clarke, lord, j porter and higgs were great against yarra as was solimo in the 1st game i've seen him play. Add trenfield to that mix and they'll at least break even i think. Trenfield is only coming off suspension and has played in the pre-season so shouldn't be too underdone. If the wang midfield can break even at worst they'll win the game with their forward line and rovers lack of key defenders.
going to be a great contest. for anyone that's going, it is definitely on saturday, has been moved from the sunday as it was going to clash with the wang cup.
also heard this morning that mccormick will be back for wang by about round 6.
you like to refer to past results alot which is fine if thats all you can go by agree totally with the wang forwards having it over rovers backs last time but that was largely due to the lack of pressure coming into the forward with rovers losing A.hill and raven (2 major ball winners especially last year) in the first quarter...
rovers have added a more fit and experienced tyson hartwig and steve mcintyre, kneebone held bradshaw to 4 goals round one 2 of which were from free kicks when the game was over and matty allen i think has more than proven he can hold henry to a couple... with the injection of platfuss into the ruck and also going forward and kicking four goals against wodonga, that releases the likes of big guys norman and/or jamie bell to go back if need be but i think if you want to compare to results from last year you will have to take into account circumnstances and changes of both line ups...
no doubting it will be a cracker match but i just think your opinions were a bit too one eyed but this weekends game will be the judge of that.!!
for me i think its going to be a close one with alot of run with both teams having a very attacking game plan but i still think that rovers have a significant edge up forward to that of the oppositon... the likes of cristoforo silver and r hill arent exactly your 6ft 4" key forwards in which you likened them to either! having the injection of taller forwards (platfuss and norman) will allow them to play more of a crumming game which they are more accustomed to... and all have a good turn of foot!
will be interesting to see how our opinions fair... good luck am looking forward to it!
hear dud pendergast is up at cairns with grant corcaran. anyone shed any light on that? reasons, insitives that kinda thing
thinkbig
1 Apr 2008, 15:51
hear dud pendergast is up at cairns with grant corcaran. anyone shed any light on that? reasons, insitives that kinda thing
playing up there? did he play round 1? havent heard... dud though
girlscanplay2
1 Apr 2008, 16:08
Premier:
Runner Up:
Smokey:
Wooden Spoon:
Disappointment:
League Medal:
Leading Goalkicker:
Recruit of the Year:
Headline of the Year
thinkbig
1 Apr 2008, 16:30
Premier:
Runner Up:
Smokey:
Wooden Spoon:
Disappointment:
League Medal:
Leading Goalkicker:
Recruit of the Year:
Headline of the Year
premier: rovers
runner up: wang
wooden spoon: myrtleford
disappointment: wodonga
league medal: trenfield
leading goalkicker: cristoforo/silver/bradshaw
Recruit of the Year: Sam Carpenter
Headline of the year: Rovers win 10 in a row
captain peanut
1 Apr 2008, 17:15
Premier:
Runner Up:
Smokey:
Wooden Spoon:
Disappointment:
League Medal:
Leading Goalkicker:
Recruit of the Year:
Headline of the Year
Premier: Wang Magpies
Runner Up: Wang Rovers
Smokey: Lavington
Wooden Spoon: Myrtleford
Disappointment: Yarrawonga
League Medal: Ed Clarke
Leading Goalkicker: Darren Bradshaw
Recruit of the Year: Jesse Smith
Headline of the Year[/quote] "Wangtastic" as the traditional rivals prepare to square off in a GF for the 1st time in over 30 years
playing up there? did he play round 1? havent heard... dud though
first rounds this weekend.
roast beef roll
2 Apr 2008, 04:06
Runner Up: Yarrawonga (from 5th)
Smokey: Albury
Wooden Spoon: Myrtleford... Daylight 9th.
Disappointment: Wang Rovers - Out in straight sets
League Medal: Pendergast
Leading Goalkicker: Prior - 79
Recruit of the Year: Ben Cousins (two wang clubs in a bidding war)
Headline of the Year: OM Grand Final: LPO til 2012!
Silver_kid
2 Apr 2008, 11:14
Runner Up: Rovers
Smokey: Wodonga
Wooden Spoon: Saints
Disappointment: North Albury
League Medal: Doswell
Leading Goalkicker: Bradshaw 90
Recruit of the Year: Smith
Headline of the Year: Myrtleford move to O&K
Tigerspirit#21
2 Apr 2008, 15:27
carpenter is a cat! played on him on the weekend and smacked him!!! also can someone tell me about lee ramsdale? heard he
was playing 2s the dud???? retire idiot your over it!!!
Move on, if you played on him on the w,e he obviously teared you to pieces and you can't say his a 'Cat' because i think i am speaking for most people when i say he is a hard and courageous player and i rate him to be up there with the top 5 players in the league.I don't think you would be half the player he is and he only has one arm.:thumbsu:
Macgyver
2 Apr 2008, 19:33
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Smokey: Lavi
Wooden Spoon: Saints and Raiders to fight it out
League Medal: Ed Clarke tied with Jess Smith (becasue they are the 2 best players in the league not because i go for wang))
Leading Goalkicker: Bradshaw
Headline of the Year: McMagic (After Jon McCormick dominates his second consectutive successfull granny)
Give me a Pie
2 Apr 2008, 19:46
[quote=Macgyver;10524301]--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
League Medal: Ed Clarke tied with Jess Smith
Both you and Captain Peanut are kidding yourselves if you think Ed Clarke! will get anywhere near the Morris Medal.
The times Ive seen him play he has been lazy and had minimal impact on games. Would need to dramatically lift his workrate to rate up there with the O and Ms best mids
Premier: Rovers
Runner Up: Wang Maggies
Smokey: Yarrawonga
Disappointment: Corowa Rutherglen
League Medal: Jamie Allan/Scott Oswald
Leading Goalkicker: Peter Cristoforo
Recruit of the Year: Jesse Smith/Karl Norman
Headline of the Year: David Johnston Names His Top 50
thurgood
2 Apr 2008, 22:30
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Smokey: Lavi
Wooden Spoon: Saints and Raiders to fight it out
League Medal: Ed Clarke tied with Jess Smith (becasue they are the 2 best players in the league not because i go for wang))
Headline of the Year: McMagic (After Jon McCormick dominates his second consectutive successfull granny)
As good a players as both Clarke and Smith are, they can't possibly share the medal, especially with "McMagic" as you put it, coming back later in the year.
I wasn't at Mulwala for the first game but I hear Smith was very impressive.
captain peanut
3 Apr 2008, 09:34
[quote=Macgyver;10524301]--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
League Medal: Ed Clarke tied with Jess Smith
Both you and Captain Peanut are kidding yourselves if you think Ed Clarke! will get anywhere near the Morris Medal.
The times Ive seen him play he has been lazy and had minimal impact on games. Would need to dramatically lift his workrate to rate up there with the O and Ms best mids
Must have been his laziness and lack of work rate that saw him dominate the GF midfield last year?
thinkbig
3 Apr 2008, 12:27
[quote=Give me a Pie;10524427]
Must have been his laziness and lack of work rate that saw him dominate the GF midfield last year?
you are a black and white disease on this... couldnt have picked a more perfect name for you, peanut is definitely what you are... no-one comes on here wanting to hear you continuously blow wind up every single maggie players a*se... absolute disease that i am hoping rovers can cure this weekend or any other team in the next couple of weeks to keep you in your box!
Gun Recruit
3 Apr 2008, 12:53
[quote=captain peanut;10528444]
you are a black and white disease on this... couldnt have picked a more perfect name for you, peanut is definitely what you are... no-one comes on here wanting to hear you continuously blow wind up every single maggie players a*se... absolute disease that i am hoping rovers can cure this weekend or any other team in the next couple of weeks to keep you in your box!
I agree TB, especially with that effort on the last page by the 'peanut' about who will win the derby this weekend, couldnt have been more one sided if he tried
Give me a Pie
3 Apr 2008, 14:40
[quote=Give me a Pie;10524427]
Agreed Clarke had good game GF day but what magpies player didnt that day. In my opinion was very lucky to have got the simpson medal.
Sitting out behind packs with players like Mcormick, Trentfield, Porter, Higgs and many more pumping the ball out to you continually makes life pretty easy for a reciever like him.
A couple of goals from him GF day (when the game was all over) definitly would of helped his cause for the medal.
Will see this weekend just how good Clarke is with the heat on against some the best mids in the comp, Jamie Allan and Andy Hill
Hope Rovers give you a pumping this weekend so you can stop boofing all your magpie teammates up the a... on this site.
Macgyver
3 Apr 2008, 19:14
Im a mate of Jamie Allens so this is definately on an attack at the bloke... but realisticaly would he get a game in a full strenght magpies line up???
I've had rovers supporters and players agree with me that hes not in the same class as a McCormick, Smith, Clarke, Mullins, Porter ect
Btw anyone who thinks Ed Clarke is a lazy footballer is dreaming, open your eyes and you'll see hes usual the bloke at the botton of the pack dishing it out ffs! and as for him not being a worthy BOG in the granny, were you at the game??? The bloke was fantasic
thurgood
3 Apr 2008, 19:46
Im a mate of Jamie Allens so this is definately on an attack at the bloke... but realisticaly would he get a game in a full strenght magpies line up???
I've had rovers supporters and players agree with me that hes not in the same class as a McCormick, Smith, Clarke, Mullins, Porter ect
Btw anyone who thinks Ed Clarke is a lazy footballer is dreaming, open your eyes and you'll see hes usual the bloke at the botton of the pack dishing it out ffs! and as for him not being a worthy BOG in the granny, were you at the game??? The bloke was fantasic
i think that is a silly question
of course he would get a game for the pies
he is a star of the competition
i think you may know jamie, but you r certainly not a mate of his judging by that last post
big fella 37.5
3 Apr 2008, 21:05
i think that is a silly question
of course he would get a game for the pies
he is a star of the competition
i think you may know jamie, but you r certainly not a mate of his judging by that last post
that is the stupidest question iv ever heard, of course he f*kin would
Macgyver
3 Apr 2008, 21:17
Should have read get a game as starting mid, but comment still stands hes is nothing on McCormick, Smith, Daine Porter or Clarke. Jamies a nice bloke and a good footballer but these other guys are the true elite of ovens and murray at the moment and hes just a level below these guys.
RatherHaveABeer
3 Apr 2008, 21:32
Should have read get a game as starting mid, but comment still stands hes is nothing on McCormick, Smith, Daine Porter or Clarke. Jamies a nice bloke and a good footballer but these other guys are the true elite of ovens and murray at the moment and hes just a level below these guys.
Sounds like your smoking some serious Magpie pole here! Jamie Allan is a class midfielder, up there with the best 5 -10 players in the O&M. Won't compare him to McCormick as they are both super players, or Smith becuase I haven't seen him play, but he is deffinately a better player than Daine Porter and Clarke. Save your rubbish comments for the bar on saturday where some blind fool might take them seriously. Couldn't have had a more biased opinion if you tried......
Shambles
3 Apr 2008, 21:37
What other tricks do you have up your sleeve Macgyver? How many games have you seen Smith play? Jamie would start rover in any team within the Ovens and Murray. Not a Rovers supporter but educated enough to say that Jamie is a star.
thinkbig
4 Apr 2008, 09:36
i tell ya what you maggies blokes ort to pull your heads out of the clouds because you are making absolute fools of yourself and the club whom you probably dont have any official involvement with, and if you do, then you should disclose your names... some of the stuff being posted at the moment is absolutely laughable and that jamie allan post was the pinnacle for me...
the only good thing about both post saying he is 'just a level below' those blokes was the fact that you took mullins out of the original list of bloke... if you were going to say that he wouldnt get a game before mullins i would hope Jamie hunts this "mate" of his down and teaches him a lesson for giving him the ultimate insult...
spider10
4 Apr 2008, 10:39
Can anyone in the wider footballing community shed light on why young Mulraney from the albury football club is being continually overlooked for senior selection after dominating at reserves level in the last half of last year and throughout this years pre season burning up the track, saw the kid play last week against myrt must have had 35 touches and was dangerous around goals. Do the coaches watch reserves football?
Bright Boy
4 Apr 2008, 10:53
Premier: Wang
Runner Up: Yarra
Smokey: Albury
Disappointment: Wodonga
League Medal: Ed Clarke
Recruit of the Year: Sam Carpenter
Headline of the Year: Alpine Eagles Set To Soar In '09
Buckster
4 Apr 2008, 11:24
im so sick of reading about both wang teams. anyone out there got something else to talk about.
boring as bat shit!!!!
thinkbig
4 Apr 2008, 12:21
im so sick of reading about both wang teams. anyone out there got something else to talk about.
boring as bat shit!!!!
for a change maybe? wanna get back onto the subject of wodonga or albury i suppose? they the 2 best teams in the comp and its the eve of the derby so suck it up big guy
Buckster
4 Apr 2008, 12:34
for a change maybe? wanna get back onto the subject of wodonga or albury i suppose? they the 2 best teams in the comp and its the eve of the derby so suck it up big guy
you got tears in your eyes?
Birdancer
4 Apr 2008, 12:41
Are u f***in serious??? He'd get a game in any midfield in the comp!! Clarke, Mullins and Porter are great footy players... But Jamie rates above them from what i've seen. As for McCormick - There's not many better outside the AFL. Stop watching the C Grade netball Wanka... get ur hands off the strudle!
Should have read get a game as starting mid, but comment still stands hes is nothing on McCormick, Smith, Daine Porter or Clarke. Jamies a nice bloke and a good footballer but these other guys are the true elite of ovens and murray at the moment and hes just a level below these guys.To be an elite footballer you have to be able to hit targets on a regular basis and and i'm afraid what i've seen of porter he fails to do so, no where near the elite class for me.
thinkbig
4 Apr 2008, 14:29
you got tears in your eyes?
back to the barn mate
Winmar_07
4 Apr 2008, 15:58
To be an elite footballer you have to be able to hit targets on a regular basis and and i'm afraid what i've seen of porter he fails to do so, no where near the elite class for me.
i agree he can't kick for crap..
well come on who are the elite in the comp.. top 10? or 5?
To be an elite footballer you have to be able to hit targets on a regular basis and and i'm afraid what i've seen of porter he fails to do so, no where near the elite class for me.
Who are you to be judging anyone in the O&M Adam?
I’m sure your Red Nut brother (McNamara) would take Porter in his team at Rovers if he had the chance. Do you think he would get a game in the O&K with your Mohyhu team?
Pretty rich coming from an average 2’s player if you ask me.
Watching last years O&M grand final and talking to a lot of people there I actually think Porter was unlucky not to get the medal on the day.
Also I don’t think any of us on here should be judging anyone playing the league, chances are they are all better players than us retards posting.
Gotheroos
4 Apr 2008, 17:39
i agree he can't kick for crap..
well come on who are the elite in the comp.. top 10? or 5?
In noparticular order:
Hargreaves
McCormack or mic not sure
Jamie Allen
Jake Ryan
Nick Raines
jamie Allen
Ednie
Matt Pendergast
Stevens (When he was playing)
Ben Beams (When he was playing)
Macgyver
4 Apr 2008, 18:31
i tell ya what you maggies blokes ort to pull your heads out of the clouds because you are making absolute fools of yourself and the club whom you probably dont have any official involvement with, and if you do, then you should disclose your names... some of the stuff being posted at the moment is absolutely laughable and that jamie allan post was the pinnacle for me...
the only good thing about both post saying he is 'just a level below' those blokes was the fact that you took mullins out of the original list of bloke... if you were going to say that he wouldnt get a game before mullins i would hope Jamie hunts this "mate" of his down and teaches him a lesson for giving him the ultimate insult...
Your about the only person who picked up on the "level below" aspect of my comments, i dont denie Jamies a good footy player at all, My major point is that wangaratta currently hold four or so of the best mids in the league and that he would stuggle to get much time in the middle... mind you he'd be a handy winger.
As for maggies blokes having our heads in the skys, give us a break we've tasted enought crap off a wooden spoon to last us a life time let us savour our time as the leagues best for aslong or little it lasts. Not as if you rovers blokes didnt brag about how your sh!t didnt stink in the 90's
the unit
4 Apr 2008, 18:43
[quote=Gotheroos;10545434]In noparticular order:
Hargreaves
McCormack
Jamie Allen
Jake Ryan
Ednie
Matt Pendergast
PILTZ, Brent
PRIOR, Adam
HORN, Brad
BUTLER, Adam
Gotheroos
4 Apr 2008, 20:38
Hargreaves
McCormack
Jamie Allen
Jake Ryan
Ednie
Matt Pendergast
PILTZ, Brent
PRIOR, Adam
HORN, Brad
BUTLER, Adam
Good additions the unit.
Little Ralphie
5 Apr 2008, 08:50
Hargreaves
McCormack
Jamie Allen
Jake Ryan
Ednie
Matt Pendergast
PILTZ, Brent
PRIOR, Adam
HORN, Brad
BUTLER, Adam
Just a personal opinion but surely Hargreaves is not in the elite category anymore. Gun when he was at his peak but not anymore I wouldnt have thought
the unit
5 Apr 2008, 18:09
the additions might not be elite but they are awsome footballers
napoleondynamite
6 Apr 2008, 12:13
Hargreaves
McCormack
Jamie Allen
Jake Ryan
Ednie
Matt Pendergast
PILTZ, Brent
PRIOR, Adam
HORN, Brad
BUTLER, Adam
that a serious top ten?
surely not
the unit
6 Apr 2008, 12:48
[quote=the unit;10546183]
that a serious top ten?
surely not
then wats ur top 10 napoleondynamite
Who are you to be judging anyone in the O&M Adam?
I’m sure your Red Nut brother (McNamara) would take Porter in his team at Rovers if he had the chance. Do you think he would get a game in the O&K with your Mohyhu team?
Pretty rich coming from an average 2’s player if you ask me.
Watching last years O&M grand final and talking to a lot of people there I actually think Porter was unlucky not to get the medal on the day.
Also I don’t think any of us on here should be judging anyone playing the league, chances are they are all better players than us retards posting.You hit the nail on the head calling yourself a retard Glitter Mohyhu is Spelt Moyhu???? I'm sure my red nut brother would have Jamie Allan any day.
Gotheroos
6 Apr 2008, 17:37
[quote=the unit;10546183]
Just a personal opinion but surely Hargreaves is not in the elite category anymore. Gun when he was at his peak but not anymore I wouldnt have thought
Still haven't seen your top 10. As I said these were my opinion.
the unit
6 Apr 2008, 18:24
BUTLER, Adam
HORN, Brad
PRIOR, Adam
PILTZ, Brent
RYAN,Jake
McCormack
CLARKE
SMITH
Daine Porter
ZIEBELL, Jack
You hit the nail on the head calling yourself a retard Glitter Mohyhu is Spelt Moyhu???? I'm sure my red nut brother would have Jamie Allan any day.
I'll run a spell check over it for you from now on sorry Adam.
Just wanted to point out who you were in case the people your into (Clarke, Porter ect) happen to read this.
For the record i never mentioned anything about Jamie Allan, he is a star who would be one of the first picked in any team in the comp.
Whoever is saying he wouldn't is getting a bit caried away.
thurgood
6 Apr 2008, 23:05
took the opportunity to go and watch corowa and albury and today after seeing mighty jindera open up with a win yesterday.
can someone explain to me how no.2 for corowa gets a game at senior level in the ovens and murray?
was embarrassing watching him at full forward today ... robbins i think his name is, he is as fat as a house and i don't think he got a touch for the entire game.
can safely say he wouldn't get a game in jindera's forward line with names like hilton, castles and garland.
corowa has plenty of work to do if they want to reach tossols aim of top 3 ... albury looked much better than i thought they would given there hasn't been much said about them over the off season.
Flowerpower
7 Apr 2008, 09:56
took the opportunity to go and watch corowa and albury and today after seeing mighty jindera open up with a win yesterday.
can someone explain to me how no.2 for corowa gets a game at senior level in the ovens and murray?
was embarrassing watching him at full forward today ... robbins i think his name is, he is as fat as a house and i don't think he got a touch for the entire game.
can safely say he wouldn't get a game in jindera's forward line with names like hilton, castles and garland.
corowa has plenty of work to do if they want to reach tossols aim of top 3 ... albury looked much better than i thought they would given there hasn't been much said about them over the off season.
Very disappointing day for the Roos - skills were terrible but pressure applied by Albury very good.
Credit where credit due.
2nd quarter let the Roos down. Albury the much better team on the day......
Jeffrey Boots
7 Apr 2008, 10:40
Frank, I have actually had the pleasure of seeing David James carve up the old Preston Oval playing for the bullants a few years back and this kid has got talent. I liken him to a young Simon Atkins ("the Axe") in both physical apperance and his attack on the footy. I reckon other clubs will soon find out they have let slip a bargain in David James.
Frank_001
7 Apr 2008, 11:02
Frank, I have actually had the pleasure of seeing David James carve up the old Preston Oval playing for the bullants a few years back and this kid has got talent. I liken him to a young Simon Atkins ("the Axe") in both physical apperance and his attack on the footy. I reckon other clubs will soon find out they have let slip a bargain in David James.
Spot on Jeffrey Boots. Does bear an uncanny resemblance to "the axe".
I think "the axe" will make an appearance in everyone's top ten list after he takes the O&M by storm over the next month.
Flying.Half-Forward
7 Apr 2008, 11:48
What are everyone's thoughts on the Wang Derby on Saturday.
Pretty scrappy first half before the Magpies ran away with it in the second half
thurgood
7 Apr 2008, 13:37
Very disappointing day for the Roos - skills were terrible but pressure applied by Albury very good.
Credit where credit due.
2nd quarter let the Roos down. Albury the much better team on the day......
yep would agree with what you said there, the tigers were very hard at it and their key forwards dominated whereas corowa didn't have a sizeable target up forward after tafft went off injured meaning ambrose had to play back.
judging by your last comment, i take it you are confident the roos will square the ledger when they next play flowerpower?
was interesting that jake ryan hardly got a kick after giving the salute to albury bar flies in the 2nd quarter.
Flowerpower
7 Apr 2008, 13:48
yep would agree with what you said there, the tigers were very hard at it and their key forwards dominated whereas corowa didn't have a sizeable target up forward after tafft went off injured meaning ambrose had to play back.
judging by your last comment, i take it you are confident the roos will square the ledger when they next play flowerpower?
was interesting that jake ryan hardly got a kick after giving the salute to albury bar flies in the 2nd quarter.
Bit harsh there Josh. Still reckon he would have had the pill 30+ times.........
He's a firey little fella isn't he!!!! :D
captain peanut
7 Apr 2008, 14:49
[quote=thinkbig;10529658]
I agree TB, especially with that effort on the last page by the 'peanut' about who will win the derby this weekend, couldnt have been more one sided if he tried
I didn't think my assessment of the derby was that 1 sided? I am sure i said it would be a great contest and that this was rovers chance to knock wang off? Pretty sure i credited rovers with a bloody good forward line and a pretty reasonable midfield, but did say they would struggle down back v wang if there was reasonable supply coming in.
Well, it was a great contest for a half. Wang threatened to take control in the 2nd 1/4 but rovers hit back well to lead at half time. The 2nd half just saw too much ball heading inside wang's forward 50 and they were able to capitalise although some wayward kicking kept it much closer than it might have been.
Smith was great for wang again, as were henry and hayse up forward. The backline also held firm under some pressure in the 1st half. Kirby played a very good game, and mullins played his best game for a while.
The derby result shows that wang is some way ahead of the rest at this stage of the year. However so were yarra in the early rounds of 07. It's a long season and things can change pretty quick. It could be very messy at birallee park this week though.
Interesting result between albury and corowa. anyone see it or got any news on the match?
thinkbig
7 Apr 2008, 16:42
Bit harsh there Josh. Still reckon he would have had the pill 30+ times.........
He's a firey little fella isn't he!!!! :D
was good to see jake give the salute to the bar "flies" and was good to see him at the wang derby wearing some flyware specks... flowerpower at its best!!
Where It All Began
7 Apr 2008, 17:38
I'm sure I saw that Robbins guy working out at the new Sara-Lea shop in Urana Road. Apparently he went to a lot off BBQs over the summer.
And a pretty solid effort by the Twin Towers at Albury (Fowler/Shearer), fair dinkum these two are like twins. You can bet your life that at some stage this year these blokes are going to kick a bag of goals between them, but only 1 of them is going to get the credit.
JOHN DENVER
7 Apr 2008, 19:00
have heard rumours that raiders are set to announce a new gun recruit, can anyone confirm or deny these rumours?
Tigerspirit#21
7 Apr 2008, 20:57
Yes it was a very disappointing effort by corowa for some reason i still believe they have a big year ahead of them. They are relying to much on key players such as Ryan, Clark, Raines, Carpenter and schmidt.
Still have to say with the pressure that Ryan and carpenter have on them they stood up and were the only shining light for corowa along with Seymour and young Kerlin on debut.
Silver_kid
8 Apr 2008, 09:28
Anyone see the Wodonga vs Lavi match? Sounds like the Dogs did it pretty easy, who went well for them??
spider10
8 Apr 2008, 14:57
Young Mulraney put in a solid perfomance against the roos on sunday, although he faded in the latter part of the match he really set the tigers up for a comfortable win with his willingness to push hard into space and create the play with his silky skills. Suprised to pick up the border on monday and find his name again absent from the best, surely a senior birth is only around the corner? Surely.
Luca Toni
8 Apr 2008, 15:01
Spider 10 your joking arnt you, not only are you going on about 2s footy, your talking up a bloke who at best had 10 touches on sunday, lets keep the talk to 1s footy, or at least on those who are caplable at that level.
spider10
8 Apr 2008, 15:16
Mate the kid is a class act, may have had in excess of 10 touches in the first quarter. Its negative individuals like you that negate the devlopment of many players in the same situation. Playing well without having exposure at senior level is both frustrating and disheartening. The kid has the attributes of a good long term player at any level but it seems hard work is not being rewarded with oppurtunity.
Gun Recruit
8 Apr 2008, 15:27
Mate the kid is a class act, may have had in excess of 10 touches in the first quarter. Its negative individuals like you that negate the devlopment of many players in the same situation. Playing well without having exposure at senior level is both frustrating and disheartening. The kid has the attributes of a good long term player at any level but it seems hard work is not being rewarded with oppurtunity.
Well if he wants to play senior footy that bad maybe you should pick him up from his house and drive him over the border to the raiders where he can be a 'star' senior footballer at an O&M club. Like many two's players their future lies in the bush where they can be very servicable players
Luca Toni
8 Apr 2008, 15:31
Mate your getting ahead of yourself, ok ive seen mulraney play and he definatly does have a stack of a ability and can run all day, but lets face it albury have played 17 18 and 19 year olds all last year and the start of this year, i cant help but feel mulraney may have missed the boat, espesially with blokes like farrugia, leischke and robertson also going well. Mulraney will have to put in consistent strong perfomance to jump these guys in the queue.
Pearce off Jack
8 Apr 2008, 15:45
Well if he wants to play senior footy that bad maybe you should pick him up from his house and drive him over the border to the raiders where he can be a 'star' senior footballer at an O&M club. Like many two's players their future lies in the bush where they can be very servicable players
Yeah thats the answer Gun Recruit lets tell all the good kids running around in the O & M reserves that their future is in the bush.
Gun Recruit
8 Apr 2008, 15:50
Gun Recruit[/B];10593779]Well if he wants to play senior footy that bad maybe you should pick him up from his house and drive him over the border to the raiders where he can be a 'star' senior footballer at an O&M club. Like many two's players their future lies in the bush where they can be very servicable players
Pearce off Jack[/B];10593974]Yeah thats the answer Gun Recruit lets tell all the good kids running around in the O & M reserves that their future is in the bush.
Need I say anymore wayne kerr ??
Pearce off Jack
8 Apr 2008, 15:53
Need I say anymore wayne kerr ??
Just the sort of answer i would expect from someone who made the previous statement.
Gun Recruit
8 Apr 2008, 16:26
Just the sort of answer i would expect from someone who made the previous statement.
Just the type of answer i would expect from someone who cant read
spider10
9 Apr 2008, 10:31
Mate do you care to share with us your thoughts of which players in the O&M 1s or 2s futures lie in the bush?
Gun Recruit
9 Apr 2008, 10:59
Mate do you care to share with us your thoughts of which players in the O&M 1s or 2s futures lie in the bush?
It wasnt intended to be a derogatory comment directed at any player or any club. I think it would be unrealistic to think that every (or most) two's player at any club would graduate onto senior footballers. History tells us (not the case at every club I know) only a handlefull of two's players every year play senior footy. So what happens to those who continously dont make it, the majority of the time they turn to bush leagues (and im not having a stab at bush footy by any strectch). Like i said it wasnt a derogatory comment at anyone, I think its just the truth of country football.
Tigerrr_Uppercut
9 Apr 2008, 18:22
Bottom 5..?
6. Lavi
7. Nrth
8. C/R
9. Raiders
10. Myrt
Tigerspirit#21
9 Apr 2008, 21:21
Bottom 5..?
6. Lavi
7. Nrth
8. C/R
9. Raiders
10. Myrt
Tiger i think you are under-rating C/R mate, surely you can't have them so low when they have players such as Schmidt, Raines, Ryan, Carpenter, Ambrose, Taft and there is plenty others. But we all have our opinions and mine would be that would end up atleast top five.:thumbsu:
Charmanator
10 Apr 2008, 08:46
Does anyone know the dates for the finals this year?
captain peanut
10 Apr 2008, 10:34
Tiger i think you are under-rating C/R mate, surely you can't have them so low when they have players such as Schmidt, Raines, Ryan, Carpenter, Ambrose, Taft and there is plenty others. But we all have our opinions and mine would be that would end up atleast top five.:thumbsu:
6. lavi
7. c/r
8. nth
9. myrt
10. raiders
corowa won't be playing finals on what they've dished up early. top 5 looks almost clear cut already to me - 2 wang sides, wod, yarra, alb.
captain peanut
10 Apr 2008, 15:02
Does anyone know the dates for the finals this year?
qualifying final - sat aug 30
elim final - sun aug 31
2nd semi - 6 sept
1st semi - 7 sept
prelim - 14 sept
GF - 21 sept
was just reading too that matty allen has been derailed in the attempt to get to 400 games as his broken arm is pretty bad and he'll miss around 10 weeks. Bad luck for him, but in the article he says he's only missed 1 game that he can remember thru injury in his senior career. That is bloody remarkable for a player at that level of footy.
captain peanut
10 Apr 2008, 15:11
any thoughts on this weekend's games?
i reckon yarra v albury at yarra looks to be the match of the round. Will give us a better gauge on how much albury have improved. C/R v nth alb should also be an interesting 1. Got a feeling c/r are going to be nowhere near the threat some of us thought pre-season. A 5 goal win over raiders in rnd 1 is not looking all that impressive and they were pantsed by alb last week.
Couple of slaughters on the cards at birallee park and mcnamara reserve, while lavi v rovers might be a bit closer than people might think at 1st glance. Lavi have a habit of firing up for rovers, while rovers might be in for a bit of a let down after the build up to the derby and their bubble being popped in no uncertain fashion.
also, did anyone see last fri's herald sun, apparently a punter had 4 grand on wang maggies to win the flag at $3 before the derby last week. Ballsy but i bet there's no $3 around at the moment.
thinkbig
10 Apr 2008, 17:42
any thoughts on this weekend's games?
i reckon yarra v albury at yarra looks to be the match of the round. Will give us a better gauge on how much albury have improved. C/R v nth alb should also be an interesting 1. Got a feeling c/r are going to be nowhere near the threat some of us thought pre-season. A 5 goal win over raiders in rnd 1 is not looking all that impressive and they were pantsed by alb last week.
Couple of slaughters on the cards at birallee park and mcnamara reserve, while lavi v rovers might be a bit closer than people might think at 1st glance. Lavi have a habit of firing up for rovers, while rovers might be in for a bit of a let down after the build up to the derby and their bubble being popped in no uncertain fashion.
also, did anyone see last fri's herald sun, apparently a punter had 4 grand on wang maggies to win the flag at $3 before the derby last week. Ballsy but i bet there's no $3 around at the moment.
yarra v alb will be a good game to watch although i think albury have been flattered a bit with the results to date... hope there is an upset at birallee park and will be a slaughter at mcnamara reserve... lavi will give rovers a run too!
ballsy bet? you were the one that was declaring every player for maggies world beaters leading up to the derby im sure? maybe you could put your money where your mouth is...