View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Macgyver
10 Apr 2008, 19:10
yarra v alb will be a good game to watch although i think albury have been flattered a bit with the results to date... hope there is an upset at birallee park and will be a slaughter at mcnamara reserve... lavi will give rovers a run too!

ballsy bet? you were the one that was declaring every player for maggies world beaters leading up to the derby im sure? maybe you could put your money where your mouth is...

I wish it was my money... Threes were massive overs and no this is not from a wang supporter view but from the view of someone who knows alot about punting

thinkbig
11 Apr 2008, 10:04
I wish it was my money... Threes were massive overs and no this is not from a wang supporter view but from the view of someone who knows alot about punting

id give myself a fair chance of knowing more about punting than you do i'll give you that tip, hense me not mentioning anything about 3's being unders i was specifically suggesting that CP puts his money where he's mouth is because the way he was going on about them(maggies) last week, (basically declaring them back to backs), i thought he as a devoted magpie would have had hes crack at the 3's that were on offer...

maybe you meant to quote him not me...

captain peanut
11 Apr 2008, 11:33
id give myself a fair chance of knowing more about punting than you do i'll give you that tip, hense me not mentioning anything about 3's being unders i was specifically suggesting that CP puts his money where he's mouth is because the way he was going on about them(maggies) last week, (basically declaring them back to backs), i thought he as a devoted magpie would have had hes crack at the 3's that were on offer...

maybe you meant to quote him not me...

i have already well and truly put my money where my mouth is, don't worry about that. $3 was a great price this time last week, as a wang victory in the derby was only going to see them shorten up significantly. It was more the manner of the victory that is making $3 look way overs. But as i said the other day, it's a long season, and i reckon at this time last year yarra were odds on and didn't even make the GF.

And far from declaring wang over the line, i gave a fair assessment of how i thought the wang v rovers clash would pan out, which i might add was pretty close to the money. Wang backline just too strong for a very talented forward line, midfield even early but wang got on top through depth of quality in 2nd half and wang key forwards had it all over rovers tall defenders especially once the supply increased in both quantity and quality.

as for determining the value of the flag market, i look at it this way. There are 10 teams. You can immediately rule 6 out of contention for the flag - myrt, raiders, c/r, lavi, nth alb, alb. That leaves 4 live chances. Odds of 2-1 (ie $3.00 in current bookmaker speak) implies that wang has a 33.33% chance of winning the flag. Therefore, if the finals series was played 3 times, wang would be expected to win the flag once. Given there are only 3 other chances, they will each share the other 66.67% of winning opportunity. Split equally between rovers, wodonga and yarra, this would give each a 22.23% chance of winning the flag, which equates to odds of around 4.50 or 7/2 each. That is far too close in the market to the team that is clearly the best in the comp right now. Therefore, $3 was big overs.

thinkbig
14 Apr 2008, 10:30
i have already well and truly put my money where my mouth is, don't worry about that. $3 was a great price this time last week, as a wang victory in the derby was only going to see them shorten up significantly. It was more the manner of the victory that is making $3 look way overs. But as i said the other day, it's a long season, and i reckon at this time last year yarra were odds on and didn't even make the GF.

And far from declaring wang over the line, i gave a fair assessment of how i thought the wang v rovers clash would pan out, which i might add was pretty close to the money. Wang backline just too strong for a very talented forward line, midfield even early but wang got on top through depth of quality in 2nd half and wang key forwards had it all over rovers tall defenders especially once the supply increased in both quantity and quality.

as for determining the value of the flag market, i look at it this way. There are 10 teams. You can immediately rule 6 out of contention for the flag - myrt, raiders, c/r, lavi, nth alb, alb. That leaves 4 live chances. Odds of 2-1 (ie $3.00 in current bookmaker speak) implies that wang has a 33.33% chance of winning the flag. Therefore, if the finals series was played 3 times, wang would be expected to win the flag once. Given there are only 3 other chances, they will each share the other 66.67% of winning opportunity. Split equally between rovers, wodonga and yarra, this would give each a 22.23% chance of winning the flag, which equates to odds of around 4.50 or 7/2 each. That is far too close in the market to the team that is clearly the best in the comp right now. Therefore, $3 was big overs.

well not only do you have too much time on your but you have just provided a very detailed mathematical (or chemical not sure) equation that proves nothing towards your originally argument... correct me if im wrong but you implied that an unknown somebody placed a BALLSY bet on maggies for the flag at $3...(forgive me for not knowing the bet amount!) now your equations and statistics are reflecting how the odds of $3 are way overs... to me, the fella who has obviously got money to spend, has placed a most logical bet as your jargon above highlights!! and i have not once stated that the wang odds are unders... so not sure if there should be any further argument?

captain peanut
14 Apr 2008, 12:56
anyone see any of the O&M games over the weekend? anything noteworthy to report?

Kanga Magoo
14 Apr 2008, 14:41
anyone see any of the O&M games over the weekend? anything noteworthy to report?

Corowa won by 4 goals, could have won by 14 goals if they had of kicked straight. Very lacklustre game. Carpenter was probably the best for Corowa.

Murray Longmire returned to the club to help Toss out on gamedays. Will only be part time for the first few games due to work but will give some good advice to the young blokes at the club. Very smart football brain.

Tigerrr_Uppercut
14 Apr 2008, 17:34

wang rovers; wont win a game on the road this year

Sunny Days
14 Apr 2008, 22:36
Can anyone out there tell me how the two Corryong boys Evan Nicholas and Matty Jefferies went playing for Myrtleford on saturday? I see Matty got a best - was this a legitimate best or just Myrtleford trying to bribe him into staying with them?

Gurnerd Fanning
15 Apr 2008, 00:39
Is Josh Frawley lining up for Yara this year?

krusty123
15 Apr 2008, 01:15
Is Josh Frawley lining up for Yara this year?

Read the News at the O&MFL website http://www.omfl.vcfl.com.au/

Lavy_Panther
15 Apr 2008, 08:49
Just a couple of thoughts.

Wouldn't mind spending some time talking about the Panthers, a team which is often neglected in this thread, probably due to the dearth of supporters.

How would other keen followers rate the Panthers this year? From my point of view, I liken them to North Melbourne of 2007. A team which isn't riddled with super stars, but are coached well with a clever game plan which is built around the strengths of the team. I don't think it's a stretch to say Lavington have one of the fittest lists in the leagues following a big pre-season, and have had some really good additions to the list, in particular Luke Norton-Smith. Norton-Smith was in the top couple of ruckmen in the SydneyAFL (representing the league on a couple of occasions) and has impressive skills for a big man, as well as having the ability to push up forward and expose his direct opponent.

Away from the Panthers, is it too early to say that the Rovers have been a little overrated by some? I know I pencilled them in for a top three finish at the start of the year, but they had a disappointing result against Lavington in partcular, a game they would've expected to win going into it.

Some food for thought.

thinkbig
15 Apr 2008, 09:47
Just a couple of thoughts.

Wouldn't mind spending some time talking about the Panthers, a team which is often neglected in this thread, probably due to the dearth of supporters.

How would other keen followers rate the Panthers this year? From my point of view, I liken them to North Melbourne of 2007. A team which isn't riddled with super stars, but are coached well with a clever game plan which is built around the strengths of the team. I don't think it's a stretch to say Lavington have one of the fittest lists in the leagues following a big pre-season, and have had some really good additions to the list, in particular Luke Norton-Smith. Norton-Smith was in the top couple of ruckmen in the SydneyAFL (representing the league on a couple of occasions) and has impressive skills for a big man, as well as having the ability to push up forward and expose his direct opponent.

Away from the Panthers, is it too early to say that the Rovers have been a little overrated by some? I know I pencilled them in for a top three finish at the start of the year, but they had a disappointing result against Lavington in partcular, a game they would've expected to win going into it.

Some food for thought.

Lavington were very very good against a below par Rovers outfit on the weekend and i believe and i have said it before that lavington could be the smoky this year... you are right in saying they are well coached too... very disciplined and structured performance against rovers!!

as for the rovers, overrated or just not playing to their strengths or to the best of their ability at the moment they are a very good side when they stick to their gameplan of moving the ball quick and relentless running not disimilar to hawthorn but that just hasnt happened the first few weeks and if they dish up what they did on saturday night in the future the same result will occur...however the first 3 weeks i believe they have played 3 of the top 5 teams in the comp and are 1-2 beating the bulldogs comfortably playing 2 quarters of decent footy losing the derby to a classy magpie outfit after only playing 1 quarter of their brand of footy and still being within a couple of kicks up until halfway through the last and last week played half a quarter against lavi who should have probably put them away... im not making excuses because if they cant get their game together against the good sides then that proves they arent up to it but i just think being a young team with alot of good players, we may see the best of them a bit later on...

head16
15 Apr 2008, 19:57
Long time reader first time poster. Currently living in London and will be for the 2008 season after playing most of the last 8 years in the comp, hoping to keep a bit of an eye on the league.
I see wang will be the team to beat, i'm sure they'll enjoy that after the horror run they had some years back.
Good to see Lavi have made a decent start to the year. Can't believe the old fossil K Bahr is back playing again, he loves it, but he prob still can't kick over a jam tin.

Keep up the discussions, opinions, rumours and occasional 'facts'.

nano69
15 Apr 2008, 22:12
Long time reader first time poster. Currently living in London and will be for the 2008 season after playing most of the last 8 years in the comp, hoping to keep a bit of an eye on the league.
I see wang will be the team to beat, i'm sure they'll enjoy that after the horror run they had some years back.
Good to see Lavi have made a decent start to the year. Can't believe the old fossil K Bahr is back playing again, he loves it, but he prob still can't kick over a jam tin.

Keep up the discussions, opinions, rumours and occasional 'facts'.
does that 'head16' have a distinctive box shape:cool:

Lavy_Panther
15 Apr 2008, 22:13
Keep boxing.

Lavy_Panther
15 Apr 2008, 22:14
Beat me to it!

head16
16 Apr 2008, 04:52

Yes it is rather Boxish in shape. Prob wasn't the most secretive of names i could've chosen, but believe it or not Box16 was already taken and i'm not worried too much about remaining anonymous. Being on the other side of the world will mean i won't have lots to contribute, but we'll see what happens.:D

spider10
16 Apr 2008, 12:17
Anyone hear how the tigers/pigeons game panned out, just wondering what is it that the tigers lack that will allow them to beat the better sides in the competition, on paper the side is good enough to be more than competitive. Do they need to inject some pace into the midfield and look at more rotations? Only slight changes have to be made for the tigers to be a real threat in 08. Can anyone update me on the form of young mulraney in the early game?

original
16 Apr 2008, 12:55
Anyone hear how the tigers/pigeons game panned out, just wondering what is it that the tigers lack that will allow them to beat the better sides in the competition, on paper the side is good enough to be more than competitive. Do they need to inject some pace into the midfield and look at more rotations? Only slight changes have to be made for the tigers to be a real threat in 08. Can anyone update me on the form of young mulraney in the early game?

Talented young player has moved to Albury from Queanbeyan Tigers via Sydney. His name is Scott Campbell. Just wondering if anyone has picked him up yet ?.

Voltron
16 Apr 2008, 15:08
Can anyone out there tell me how the two Corryong boys Evan Nicholas and Matty Jefferies went playing for Myrtleford on saturday? I see Matty got a best - was this a legitimate best or just Myrtleford trying to bribe him into staying with them?

I went down to have a look on Sat. Myrt pretty similar to previous weeks in that they seem to really have a crack for first 2 qtrs only to loose focus and the smaller players got sucked into contests which ment their opponents got 50-100 mtrs in the clear. Consequently Dogs ran them off their legs.

Dogs looking good. Found many goal kickers even when Bradshaw got smashed by Martinelo who was rightly judged best for Myrt. Shir not in best but it was obvious he such a key player for them. Made alot of saints players look silly with his ubundant class.

Speaking of Corryong boys, Cam Purss is starting to look fit and had some great patches of play and another one of the Purss's, I think Tristen took about 12-14 marks starting at full fullward before pushing up the ground to fill the hole McIntyre left, who seems lost at CHF. I think they confussed the 2 when giving the best.

In answer to your question. I did see a tough new face on the backline, prob Jeffries. He did actually play quite well. Myrt would love him on the list. It is prob a bit of both as far as getting him to sign.

Silver_kid
16 Apr 2008, 15:32
I went down to have a look on Sat. Myrt pretty similar to previous weeks in that they seem to really have a crack for first 2 qtrs only to loose focus and the smaller players got sucked into contests which ment their opponents got 50-100 mtrs in the clear. Consequently Dogs ran them off their legs.

Dogs looking good. Found many goal kickers even when Bradshaw got smashed by Martinelo who was rightly judged best for Myrt. Shir not in best but it was obvious he such a key player for them. Made alot of saints players look silly with his ubundant class.

Speaking of Corryong boys, Cam Purss is starting to look fit and had some great patches of play and another one of the Purss's, I think Tristen took about 12-14 marks starting at full fullward before pushing up the ground to fill the hole McIntyre left, who seems lost at CHF. I think they confussed the 2 when giving the best.

In answer to your question. I did see a tough new face on the backline, prob Jeffries. He did actually play quite well. Myrt would love him on the list. It is prob a bit of both as far as getting him to sign.

Yeah if Myrt can have all purss boys in top form at once they'll definately have some options for athletic talls around the ground.

Also heard jeffries went well from a fellow player. has good attack on the ball, very rarely intimidated by bigger opponents. only thing which may let him down at OM level is his fitness with a minimal preseason

biting bulldog
16 Apr 2008, 17:55

I'm pretty sure Mcintire took the 12-14marks? Thought bradshaw was well and truly done by martinello.

The Crumber
16 Apr 2008, 21:21
Yes it is rather Boxish in shape. Prob wasn't the most secretive of names i could've chosen, but believe it or not Box16 was already taken and i'm not worried too much about remaining anonymous. Being on the other side of the world will mean i won't have lots to contribute, but we'll see what happens.:D

Minding those Pommy kids would be a tad harder than beating Rexy in a 50 metre sprint wouldn't it?????;)

forward pocket
16 Apr 2008, 22:53
Minding those Pommy kids would be a tad harder than beating Rexy in a 50 metre sprint wouldn't it?????;)

Well done Head16 for basically making yourself known(Lavington I presume). Not many others are keen to follow your example. I don't think I know you but I am now keen for you to bag the s... out of someone to see if we get some interesting replies to you personally?

Want to have a crack considering you are OS? Best /worst players maybe?

Voltron
17 Apr 2008, 01:27
I'm pretty sure Mcintire took the 12-14marks? Thought bradshaw was well and truly done by martinello.

Yeah I saw him get a few cheap ones on the boundary. Had zero impact. For someone who is rated highly by some, it is interesting that the saints fail often across chf when he plays there. Tristen did take alot of marks tho and most were contested.

Anyones thoughts on Raiders? I haven't read much about them on here. Would be difficult for Prior to get a taste of the pill with the ball at the other end....

head16
17 Apr 2008, 03:05

Very good comment. Seriously i've got a better chance of beating rex over 50m than i have managing some of the kids over here. It'd prob involve me kicking him in the shins at the start and cutting him off in the last few steps but i figure i'm used to doing that sort of stuff. I'll have a go at it when i get back

head16
17 Apr 2008, 03:30
Well done Head16 for basically making yourself known(Lavington I presume). Not many others are keen to follow your example. I don't think I know you but I am now keen for you to bag the s... out of someone to see if we get some interesting replies to you personally?

Want to have a crack considering you are OS? Best /worst players maybe?

Yeah mate, panthers are my team. Interesting idea you have, i'd love to tee up on one and all. but unfortunately my alias means they'd have a very good chance of knowing who i am, and unfortunately i was no superstar when i managed to pull the jumper on.
Who knows a few pints one nite and i mite open up.
i'm prob more likely to stir up a few Lavi boys then anything else. I don't care if i upset them.

Best players in the league, most of these will be the main ball winners and prob mid-fielders. They'll be in no particular order, unable to inlcude new players as i haven't seen them.

McCormick
Maher
Stevens (knee, i know)
Shir
Doswell
McMillan (think he's gone, but he smashed me a few times)
X Leslie
Ednie
Butler
Cosgriff
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
Pendergast (not guy)
Myrt ??
Raiders ??

Some i've prob left out, and i've prob put in more panthers than anyone else, but i've seen the Lavi boys play week in week out for years so i know their value.
But i'd reckon the blokes i've listed would get their fair share of votes in their respective B&F's come years end.

There you go chew on that for a while.

Raffy
17 Apr 2008, 11:38
Yeah mate, panthers are my team. Interesting idea you have, i'd love to tee up on one and all. but unfortunately my alias means they'd have a very good chance of knowing who i am, and unfortunately i was no superstar when i managed to pull the jumper on.
i'm prob more likely to stir up a few Lavi boys then anything else. I don't care if i upset them.

Best players in the league, most of these will be the main ball winners and prob mid-fielders. They'll be in no particular order, unable to inlcude new players as i haven't seen them.

McCormick
Maher
Stevens (knee, i know)
Shir
Doswell
X Leslie
Ednie
Butler
Cosgriff
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
Pendergast (not guy)
Myrt ??
Raiders ??

Some i've prob left out, and i've prob put in more panthers than anyone else, but i've seen the Lavi boys play week in week out for years so i know their value.
But i'd reckon the blokes i've listed would get their fair share of votes in their respective B&F's come years end.

I thought that hog (and no i dont mean someone who doesnt pass the ball) runnin around for lavy this year was Guy Pendergast. Geez those boys look the same. Im only goin off that picture on the back page of the border mail a few weeks ago as a reference :thumbsu:

BEAZER
17 Apr 2008, 16:09
How has Leigh 'The premiership cup' Ramsdale been going? Heard he started in the 2's and is now back in the 1's. Early start to the weekend when driving all that way for a kick. He is a real warrior that boy, even though he looks 60. I played with him a while ago and he is a coaches dream. Always did what was asked of him in the back pocket, ran hard when coming off the ground after his opponent had nailed his 5th b4 half time and never whinged when he didnt get a game. Great to see the ex captain back where he belongs, fighting for his beloved Yarra in the 1's. Keep your chins up mate, you'll get there tiger.

raidrboy
17 Apr 2008, 17:08

McCormick
Maher
Stevens (knee, i know)
Shir
Doswell
X Leslie
Ednie
Butler
Cosgriff
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
Pendergast (not guy)
Myrt ??
Raiders ??

Of the 18 names I think you listed it was pretty close to the mark with one exception..
Adam Prior would have to be on that list.

Magpiejack
18 Apr 2008, 11:27
Pies Lavi this Saturday?? Pies for me.:cool:

Tigerspirit#21
18 Apr 2008, 11:40

McCormick
Maher
Stevens (knee, i know)
Shir
Doswell
X Leslie
Ednie
Butler
Cosgriff
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
Pendergast (not guy)
Myrt ??
Raiders ??

Surely you couldn't leave good players such as Carpenter, Ryan, Raines and Clark, all corowa boys i know but they are probably the only club i really follow but i have seen most of those players named above play and i rate these boys right up there.:thumbsu:

thinkbig
18 Apr 2008, 15:19

McCormick
Maher
Stevens (knee, i know)
Shir
Doswell
X Leslie
Ednie
Butler
Cosgriff
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
Pendergast (not guy)
Myrt ??
Raiders ??

hense thats why he said he cant include new players because he hasnt seen them toss...

the unit
18 Apr 2008, 19:29
In no particular order
BROWN, Aydan
McCormick
BRADSHAW, Darren
Stevens
Shir
Doswell
Ednie
Butler
PRIOR, Adam
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
HORN, Brad
ZIEBELL, Jack

forward pocket
18 Apr 2008, 21:37
In no particular order
BROWN, Aydan
McCormick
BRADSHAW, Darren
Stevens
Shir
Doswell
Ednie
Butler
PRIOR, Adam
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
HORN, Brad
ZIEBELL, Jack

I think we might wait until Jack goes to the AFL for 10 years and then returns to Wodonga before he makes the list - which I might add he will do. If this site is still going in 2018 I will be more than happy to put him in there.

head16
20 Apr 2008, 21:54
In no particular order
BROWN, Aydan
McCormick
BRADSHAW, Darren
Stevens
Shir
Doswell
Ednie
Butler
PRIOR, Adam
MacAllister
Piltz
Schmidt
D Leslie
McKimmie
A Hill
Tucci
HORN, Brad
ZIEBELL, Jack

Some good additions. not too sure about brown though. good honest player, but not the match winner like piltz and leslie. Ziebell, i've only seen play 1 game and didn't carve it up that day.
As for the corowa boys, i'd have raines in before ryan, but i've only seen them play once or twice, and carpenter i know sweet FA about.

THE CEO
21 Apr 2008, 08:56
Im going to go against the grain on this one and would argue that Prior isnt in the same league as most of those other players.

I will preface it by saying that i havent seen him play for Raiders, but the times that I saw him play for North he did nothing to impress me at all.

Sure he has talent, but all he does is run around puffing his chest out with a massive chip on his shoulder. If the ball isnt delivered to him correctly he chucks a "Richo" and goes awol arguing with anyone in his path or passing the buck.

At the end of the day the other players on that list do one major thing that Prior doesnt yet appear to have the maturity too do - That is leading by example! Even when things arent going their way.

I'll put it another way - if you had the choice would you choice someone like John Henry, Matt Fowler or Adam Prior in your team?

Silver_kid
21 Apr 2008, 11:26
The wodonga v corowa game must of been a decent hitout, did anyone get to the game?

how'd lewington go in his first game back for the dogs?

Hutchy 001
21 Apr 2008, 11:50
Myrtelford to become the Alpine Eagles in 2010

Magpiejack
21 Apr 2008, 16:05
Henry is having an excellent season for a bloke who is 37 years old, I would rate him over Prior.

SugarRay11
21 Apr 2008, 17:40

actually make it 2009

Falkroo
21 Apr 2008, 18:55
Talented young player has moved to Albury from Queanbeyan Tigers via Sydney. His name is Scott Campbell. Just wondering if anyone has picked him up yet ?.

Yes, he's lobbed at Albury Tigers, haven't set eyes on him myself, but apparently moves ok, I think he may have played a game in the 2s a couple of weeks ago, didn't see if he played last week.

Have you got any background on him (how does he go, position he plays, what would he offer to a club, etc)

slim18
21 Apr 2008, 22:25

Will that include an amalgamation with Bright?

Flowerpower
22 Apr 2008, 11:14
The wodonga v corowa game must of been a decent hitout, did anyone get to the game?

how'd lewington go in his first game back for the dogs?

Corowa lucky to hold on! In control most of the day but Wodonga hit back hard in the last.

Still hard to say where the Roos are - on their game (I don't think we have seen it yet) they could match it with the big boys. In saying that, Wangaratta clearly a standout and would need some very ordinary games or injuries to not see a flag in 08!!!!!

My mate Ryan going ok...... :)

Silver_kid
22 Apr 2008, 11:36
Corowa lucky to hold on! In control most of the day but Wodonga hit back hard in the last.

Still hard to say where the Roos are - on their game (I don't think we have seen it yet) they could match it with the big boys. In saying that, Wangaratta clearly a standout and would need some very ordinary games or injuries to not see a flag in 08!!!!!

My mate Ryan going ok...... :)

both sides that always have a fair crack - would of been good to see... heard that ryan copped just as much as he gave - would take some balls to have a dig at big tonna, and by the sounds of it tonna let rip!

thinkbig
22 Apr 2008, 12:31
both sides that always have a fair crack - would of been good to see... heard that ryan copped just as much as he gave - would take some balls to have a dig at big tonna, and by the sounds of it tonna let rip!

tonna cant see the forest from the trees he floats like a rock and stings like a rose petal... got no idea saw round one he tried to have a crack from behind at hawks hardnuts nige hill and jesse silver and took ten punches before he landed one and silver didnt move... harden up tonna get yourself in the ring and make your time out on the field a little more worth while... i suggest the same result would have occurred if he had a crack at the little gem jake ryan...he wouldnt take no sh*T from him or anyone else hes tough... loves it!! bit of a trend with tonna targetting those smaller blokes...

Silver_kid
22 Apr 2008, 12:51
tonna cant see the forest from the trees he floats like a rock and stings like a rose petal... got no idea saw round one he tried to have a crack from behind at hawks hardnuts nige hill and jesse silver and took ten punches before he landed one and silver didnt move... harden up tonna get yourself in the ring and make your time out on the field a little more worth while... i suggest the same result would have occurred if he had a crack at the little gem jake ryan...he wouldnt take no sh*T from him or anyone else hes tough... loves it!! bit of a trend with tonna targetting those smaller blokes...

I wasn't there but i think he was retaliating by the sound of it - i'm sure you'd say all that to his face too :thumbsd:

Here It Is
23 Apr 2008, 20:48
Hi all,

A delayed start, but whether you like it or not, the list is back.

Please discuss.

OVENS AND MURRAY TOP 10 PLAYERS
After Round 4
1. Jeremy O’Brien (Yarrawonga) 28
2. Nathan Laracy (Wodonga) 27
3. Daniel Thomson (Yarrawonga) 24
4. Jon Henry (Wangaratta) 23
4. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 23
4. Paul Kirby (Wangaratta) 23
7. Adam Butler (Lavington) 21
7. Sam Carpenter (Corowa-Rutherglen) 21
7. David Clark (Corowa-Rutherglen) 21
7. Brad Horn (North Albury) 21
7. Jamie Seymour (Corowa-Rutherglen) 21

Tatsean
23 Apr 2008, 22:35
Did Myrtleford actually look like a team on Sunday? I was going to call in on my way back from Albury and say hello to my fatherinlaw but heard a score I think was in the 4th quater 120 to 7. Is this true? Maybe they should play us. We just lost... by 190pts to Euroa....but at least we were 3.2.20 at 3 qtr time! Pretty happy I was having a great time in Albury and not at Tatura on Saturday. he he:D:D

Hutchy 001
24 Apr 2008, 11:26
How can North Albury supporters take their footy club, and more particularly their coach serious. What type of message is he trying to send by promoting this young Thompson kid. Ive seen him play in their 2's a few times and ill be honest he's a little live wire, but surely hes not up to senoir footy, at this stage anyway. Feel sorry for blokes like Horn, Mcdonald, Goode and those other blokes who have a red hot dip week-in week-out to have to put up with the coach pullin moves like that. So by doing that I hope North get belted tomorrow.

Rob727
24 Apr 2008, 14:03
How can North Albury supporters take their footy club, and more particularly their coach serious. What type of message is he trying to send by promoting this young Thompson kid. Ive seen him play in their 2's a few times and ill be honest he's a little live wire, but surely hes not up to senoir footy, at this stage anyway. Feel sorry for blokes like Horn, Mcdonald, Goode and those other blokes who have a red hot dip week-in week-out to have to put up with the coach pullin moves like that. So by doing that I hope North get belted tomorrow.
He did kick 7 last week in twos and has 17 for the season. Probably isnt right for seniors but at least he is sticking to his word over by bringing in young kids. He was only replacing rowland as the sides small forward.

Hutchy 001
24 Apr 2008, 14:30
He did kick 7 last week in twos and has 17 for the season. Probably isnt right for seniors but at least he is sticking to his word over by bringing in young kids. He was only replacing rowland as the sides small forward.

Thanks Rob. I'll be honest I didnt know he kicked 7 last week, but I really do worry about the physicality of an ANZAC day game and whether or not this kid will provide any output for North. Anyways, been wrong plenty of times before and he'l probably come out and kick 10 on debut now. North still to get belted though :thumbsu:

captain peanut
24 Apr 2008, 17:10
Did Myrtleford actually look like a team on Sunday? I was going to call in on my way back from Albury and say hello to my fatherinlaw but heard a score I think was in the 4th quater 120 to 7. Is this true? Maybe they should play us. We just lost... by 190pts to Euroa....but at least we were 3.2.20 at 3 qtr time! Pretty happy I was having a great time in Albury and not at Tatura on Saturday. he he:D:D

hate to think what wang are going to do to myrtleford on anzac day if they're half serious.

the byes (ie teams playing myrt and raiders) aside, what about some of the other games this weekend? the albury clash generally has a bit of feeling on anzac day, and the rovers v yarra generally has a bit of spice to it as well. couple of good contests brewing maybe, although i hear that yarra will be missing virtually all of their 1st choice key defenders which won't help. Lavi v corowa is also interesting, lavi weren't bad for 3 quarters last week against wang, and they are always hard to beat up there.

anyone got any thoughts or gossip about the weekend's games?

Rob727
24 Apr 2008, 21:35
Thanks Rob. I'll be honest I didnt know he kicked 7 last week, but I really do worry about the physicality of an ANZAC day game and whether or not this kid will provide any output for North. Anyways, been wrong plenty of times before and he'l probably come out and kick 10 on debut now. North still to get belted though :thumbsu:
yeh i agree they will get belted

6uldv8
24 Apr 2008, 23:35
hate to think what wang are going to do to myrtleford on anzac day if they're half serious.

the byes (ie teams playing myrt and raiders) aside, what about some of the other games this weekend? the albury clash generally has a bit of feeling on anzac day, and the rovers v yarra generally has a bit of spice to it as well. couple of good contests brewing maybe, although i hear that yarra will be missing virtually all of their 1st choice key defenders which won't help. Lavi v corowa is also interesting, lavi weren't bad for 3 quarters last week against wang, and they are always hard to beat up there.

anyone got any thoughts or gossip about the weekend's games?

I wanna stick my neck out and say Raiders will beat the Dogs :thumbsu:

6uldv8
24 Apr 2008, 23:38
uote=Hutchy 001;10783533]How can North Albury supporters take their footy club, and more particularly their coach serious. What type of message is he trying to send by promoting this young Thompson kid. Ive seen him play in their 2's a few times and ill be honest he's a little live wire, but surely hes not up to senoir footy, at this stage anyway. Feel sorry for blokes like Horn, Mcdonald, Goode and those other blokes who have a red hot dip week-in week-out to have to put up with the coach pullin moves like that. So by doing that I hope North get belted tomorrow.[/quote]

Has anyone seen young Miles play for Nth Albury 2s,would have 2 b a chance if North r adopting a youth policy.:confused::confused::confused:

the unit
25 Apr 2008, 19:32
hey Hutchy 001 guess wat budNorth did NOT get belted they WON

BIG"H"
25 Apr 2008, 20:05

Scores an best players??????

Pearce off Jack
25 Apr 2008, 21:31
Good call what was Hoggy thinking?

switch the play
25 Apr 2008, 23:32
Hodgson obviously needed a first gamer weighing about 45kgs to go and win some contested footy in the forward half to feed out to him cause thats what the kid did on numerous occasions-won it and Hodgson was outside receiving it off him!Well done to the Hoppers as they were outplayed big time in the first half;but there is something drastically wrong with my first observation of this thread.

DOGGIE DEFENDER
27 Apr 2008, 19:23
Are Lavington Panthers on the lookout for a new coach next year?
Rumours around he's already signed at Hume club BB Saints for next year.:eek:
Hutchy, what you heard?

Hutchy 001
27 Apr 2008, 21:46

Yeah well done to North, showed some of that ANZAC spirit to come back and win. Best effort by them in a long time. Well done hoppers :thumbsu:

Hutchy 001
27 Apr 2008, 21:48

I'll give credit to North for the win but ill stand by my claim on Thompson. Nothing personal against the kid but he didnt show enough to suggest he was up to senior O&M footy. happy to hear others thoughts tho

Hutchy 001
27 Apr 2008, 21:53
Are Lavington Panthers on the lookout for a new coach next year?
Rumours around he's already signed at Hume club BB Saints for next year.:eek:
Hutchy, what you heard?

Fellow followers this is a big story which has really only just surfaced. To early to get a good read on whats happenin, however, I beleive the club in question is cashed up and ready to go with a big name coach. I will do sum more investigative work, BUT, I believe this one is a goer, with a twist, of a fellow local coach....:thumbsu:

Gun Recruit
27 Apr 2008, 22:53
Fellow followers this is a big story which has really only just surfaced. To early to get a good read on whats happenin, however, I beleive the club in question is cashed up and ready to go with a big name coach. I will do sum more investigative work, BUT, I believe this one is a goer, with a twist, of a fellow local coach....:thumbsu:

Surely now that timba has retired and is a non-playing coach he has committed to lavy for at least more than one year of non-playing coaching. who would want to coach BB, doubt timba could go from the state of the art lavy ground to a ground that resembles the kokoda trail

Here It Is
27 Apr 2008, 23:27

Hutchy, this is one that I first heard about when BB was still B-rocklesby and before Bug went to Henty.
Seems it keeps popping up, but will it ever happen? :confused:

head16
27 Apr 2008, 23:40

I just got off the phone to him. Wish i had've seen this before i rang, would've asked him about it. Honestly i wouldn't have a clue whether it would be genuine or not. Got my doubts he would sign with a club for next year, only 4 or 5 rounds into this year.

What's this twist Hutchy?

If i do find out either way, you blokes on here will be the last to know!

captain peanut
28 Apr 2008, 13:38
I wanna stick my neck out and say Raiders will beat the Dogs :thumbsu:

sounds like raiders gave a much better account of themselves than in recent weeks. have they got myrtleford covered in the spoon battle?

most interesting result of the weekend appears to have been at the findlay oval in wang. for yarra to get up there with the defensive players they had out reads as a huge effort on paper at least. anyone see the game? they seem to be the clear threat to wang at this stage. the bottom 2 aside, the other 6 all seem capable of beating each other on any given day based on early season form.

captain peanut
28 Apr 2008, 16:35
further to my previous post, i just read that rovers were without andy hill and jamie allan, as well as matt allen, and lost ross hill during the game, so maybe the injury count evened itself out.

Here It Is
28 Apr 2008, 18:21
If i do find out either way, you blokes on here will be the last to know!

Box, I'd expect nothing less.

juddy_08
28 Apr 2008, 18:28
anyone able to post the full interleague squad..o&m website isnt working for me and i think the squad was released today...cheers

Lavy_Panther
28 Apr 2008, 19:09
anyone able to post the full interleague squad..o&m website isnt working for me and i think the squad was released today...cheers
Senior Interleague Squad Announced

The SS&A Ovens & Murray Football Netball League is delighted to announce the initial 53-man senior interleague training squad for its title defence of the upcoming Victorian Country Championships.

In 2008 the championships will be held at Deakin Reserve Shepparton on the weekend of Friday 30th May, Saturday 31st May and Sunday 1st June. The SS&A O&M will also be represented in under-18 football and open netball, squads for these will be announced soon.

The squad is as follows:

Albury - Mark Bush, Nick Carter, Matthew Fowler, Charles Gaylard, Jayden Kotzur, Daniel Maher, Jason Sheather

Corowa-Rutherglen - Sam Carpenter, David Clark, Nic Raines, Jake Ryan, Lee Schmidt, Craig Tafft

Lavington - Adam Butler, John Hunt, Matthew Pendergast

Myrtleford - Luke Chapman

North Albury - Rob Hodgson, Brad Horn, Dan Leslie, Brandon Ryan

Wangaratta - Ed Clarke, Ben Cosgriff, Jarrod Hayse, Sam Higgs, Paul Kirby, Marc Lord, Judd Porter, Jesse Smith, David Steer, Nick Trenfield

Wangaratta Rovers - Jamie Allan, Peter Cristoforo, Andrew Hill, Karl Norman, Jake Plattfuss, Anthony Tucci.

Wodonga - Darren Bradshaw, Brett Doswell, Nathan Laracy, Matt Shir, Josh Walker, Adam Williams

Wodonga Raiders - Adam Prior

Yarrawonga - Kyle Archibald, Warren Carlyle, Craig Ednie, Xavier Leslie, Jeremy O'Brien, Lance Oswald, Scott Oswald, Ashley Thomson, Matt Wollington

The squad will train on the following dates:

Sunday 4th May at Wangaratta YMCA

Wednesday 21st May at Albury Sportsground

Sunday 25th May at Wangaratta YMCA

Monday 26th May at W.J. Findlay Oval

Wednesday 28th May at Lavington Panthers Oval.

The schedule for the championship weekend is as follows:

Friday 30th May versus Hampden at 8:00pm

Saturday 31st May versus Goulburn Valley at 2:30pm

Sunday 1st June versus Ballarat at 1:15pm.

SS&A Ovens & Murray Football Netball League General Manager Tom O'Connor said "the SS&A O&M prides itself on its strong showing at VCFL interleague level. 2008 gives the league the chance to defend its title as the premier league in Victorian country football."

SS&A O&M interleague coach Corey Lambert said "I am excited with the squad and the form of all the players named. I look forward to getting the guys together on the training track and working towards a successful 2008 campaign."

:thumbsu:

Gun Recruit
28 Apr 2008, 20:03
:thumbsu:

What warrants Craig Taft's selection ???????

krusty123
29 Apr 2008, 00:10
I have been away from the O&M since 2005 and I remember Daine Porter being one of the better up-and-comers. I have been reading these pages for a few months now and I don't recall much chat about him. Is he still playing for the Maggies?

captain peanut
29 Apr 2008, 10:33
I have been away from the O&M since 2005 and I remember Daine Porter being one of the better up-and-comers. I have been reading these pages for a few months now and I don't recall much chat about him. Is he still playing for the Maggies?

he is indeed still playing for the maggies. he was close to best on ground in the grand final last year. has started a bit slower in 08 as had a knee op over the pre season and had a limited prep.

captain peanut
29 Apr 2008, 10:35
What warrants Craig Taft's selection ???????

reputations - from 4 and 5 seasons ago - obviously have a great impact on the coach's thinking. how could he possibly be selected on what he's done in 08???

Gun Recruit
29 Apr 2008, 10:50
reputations - from 4 and 5 seasons ago - obviously have a great impact on the coach's thinking. how could he possibly be selected on what he's done in 08???

Reputation from 5 years ago is a bit ordinary i reckon, i agree with ya peanut that theres no way u could select him on this years form, as there is no form this year ! I wanna know who picked the squad, whether it was Lambert or the Border Mail. fair dinkum i reckon he's sat at home and picked that squad out of the critic !!

Silver_kid
29 Apr 2008, 10:58
Reputation from 5 years ago is a bit ordinary i reckon, i agree with ya peanut that theres no way u could select him on this years form, as there is no form this year ! I wanna know who picked the squad, whether it was Lambert or the Border Mail. fair dinkum i reckon he's sat at home and picked that squad out of the critic !!

Remember the squad has over 50 men in it at this stage. Drawing on his ability, by having him in the initial squad at least he can then be selected should his form improve before the carnival.

Good to see Twitt got through the game on the weekend, came back very early from his shoulder injury and hopefully he can get some form back soon - great player if he can stay injury-free.

Rob727
29 Apr 2008, 13:35
Has anyone seen young Miles play for Nth Albury 2s,would have 2 b a chance if North r adopting a youth policy.:confused::confused::confused:[/quote]

yeh he is only playin thirds this season, he does want to go up and hoggy has already approached him over it but his parents want to keep him in thirds for at least another year. cant believe they got up on the weekend, i was expectin a ten goal belting

2leftfeet
29 Apr 2008, 16:22
whats anyones thoughts of starting up a thirds thread so we can talk bout the upcoming players in the o&m?

head16
30 Apr 2008, 04:11
:D:Dwhats anyones thoughts of starting up a thirds thread so we can talk bout the upcoming players in the o&m?

Um... there is one! Called Under 18's I believe, cos some little vermon on there has the profile name "Box16" and i'm not happy bout it. Either that or you could check out MSN, think that's where they all hang out.

2leftfeet
30 Apr 2008, 11:41
mate that so called under 18s thread is bout two years old whats the harm of talking bout the next crop of young guns

PMART
30 Apr 2008, 12:02
mate that so called under 18s thread is bout two years old whats the harm of talking bout the next crop of young guns

Have you been getting a kick lately in the thirds 2leftfeet??

2leftfeet
30 Apr 2008, 16:22
nah im a bit old for the thirds mate stepped up from that a long time ago i just dont see why we cant talk bout them on here also

Lavy_Panther
30 Apr 2008, 17:13
nah im a bit old for the thirds mate stepped up from that a long time ago i just dont see why we cant talk bout them on here also
Who said you can't?

Head16 pointed you to the u/18's thread, use that.

2leftfeet
30 Apr 2008, 21:08
well who do u think the stars of the comp are on this years performances so far?

Rob727
30 Apr 2008, 21:28
well who do u think the stars of the comp are on this years performances so far?
my boy nick carter, will b someone to look out for making a big impact in the future as well.

2leftfeet
30 Apr 2008, 21:55
yer nick does play well should be a star in the future anyone else

Here It Is
30 Apr 2008, 23:59
OVENS AND MURRAY TOP 10 PLAYERS
After Round 5
1. Jeremy O’Brien (Yarrawonga) 30
2. Paul Kirby (Wangaratta) 29
3. Nathan Laracy (Wodonga) 27
4. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 25
5. Sam Carpenter (Corowa-Rutherglen) 24
5. Jayden Kotzur (Albury) 24
5. Brandon Ryan (North Albury) 24
5. Daniel Thomson (Yarrawonga) 24
9. Jon Henry (Wangaratta) 23
9. Andrew Hill (Wangaratta Rovers) 23

petro civoniceva
1 May 2008, 19:54
Heads up! Three time wodonga raiders best and fairest (and won't stop telling people) Mark Doolan is back in the area talking with his former club about finishing the remainder of the year at birralee park, Mark has conceeded that it would be to hard to get back to full fitness to play at wafl standard but said he'd be more than happy to take another b and f off there hands in just the eight games he'll be able to play for them, i hope this egotistcal asshole is welcomed back with open arms and never returns to perth... i miss you mark xoxo your regards Keplar Bradley

Hitman01
1 May 2008, 21:07
Heads up! Three time wodonga raiders best and fairest (and won't stop telling people) Mark Doolan is back in the area talking with his former club about finishing the remainder of the year at birralee park, Mark has conceeded that it would be to hard to get back to full fitness to play at wafl standard but said he'd be more than happy to take another b and f off there hands in just the eight games he'll be able to play for them, i hope this egotistcal asshole is welcomed back with open arms and never returns to perth... i miss you mark xoxo your regards Keplar Bradley
That doesnt mean Nathan Mossop will be coming back too does it? Raiders has never been better without him.

Here It Is
2 May 2008, 00:52

Pretty friggin ordinary thing to say about a decent bloke and a top footballer. :mad:

Flowerpower
2 May 2008, 10:54
Flowerpower has been quiet but must return!!!!!

Rhino ready to carve it up this week, and take the Roos to 4-2 before the break.

Last week he had the sh*ts (literally) so he has the guns pumped up ready to take on the Saints!

Don't be fooled by the old jumper (heritage), the Rhino is up, out and about!

FP

Gun Recruit
2 May 2008, 11:57
Flowerpower has been quiet but must return!!!!!

Rhino ready to carve it up this week, and take the Roos to 4-2 before the break.

Last week he had the sh*ts (literally) so he has the guns pumped up ready to take on the Saints!

Don't be fooled by the old jumper (heritage), the Rhino is up, out and about!

FP

Heard your man had gastro last week, id of thought he still would of played seeing as you probably would of been the first person to jump up and offer to plug his arsehole for him

Flowerpower
2 May 2008, 14:37
Heard your man had gastro last week, id of thought he still would of played seeing as you probably would of been the first person to jump up and offer to plug his arsehole for him

decorum gunshy...decorum.......

If your cows in the paddock hear you talking like that they may get jealous!

Go Roos! :D

Bright Boy
2 May 2008, 19:31
Round 6 Tips

Part 1

Roos/Saints... The Purss boys to tear it up finally but until the Saints put 4 quarters together and get the skipper back they aint going to win. Roos by 6 goals
Depleted Rovers just over the Raiders. Prior 8 goals
Pigeons to show they are the contender to Wang's title with a classy win over a staunt Panthers outfit.

Lavy_Panther
3 May 2008, 23:28
Thumping win by the Panthers over the Pigeons. Ten goals in the end.

Looks like it's the Magpies, then daylight, followed by more daylight, then the next 4 or 5 are pretty even.

6uldv8
3 May 2008, 23:54
Thumping win by the Panthers over the Pigeons. Ten goals in the end.

Looks like it's the Magpies, then daylight, followed by more daylight, then the next 4 or 5 are pretty even.

Who were best players and goalkickers panther

Lavy_Panther
4 May 2008, 14:56
Goals
Lavington Darryn Mckimmie 4, Dean Pound 3, Justin Fulton 3, Jason Hallandale 3, Myles Aalbers 2, Simon Bunyan 2, John Hunt 1, Luke Schilg 1, Joel Hartley 1, Matthew Pendergast 1
Yarrawonga Jeremy O'brien 3, Lance Oswald 2, Matthew Wollington 1, Tyler Bonat 1, Kyle Archibald 1, Warren Carlyle 1, Craig Ednie 1, Timothy Hargreaves 1, John Lucas 1
Best
Lavington Matthew Pendergast, Justin Fulton, Luke Schilg, John Hunt, Luke Garland, Dean Pound
Yarrawonga Timothy Hargreaves, Jeremy O'brien, Matthew Grinter, Warren Carlyle, Xavier Leslie, Leigh Ramsdale

EchucaBomber
4 May 2008, 16:30
Football club located just north of Melbourne require the services of a Full Forward ASAP..... Good coin up for grabs, good football standard! Open to any player

PM me for more information