View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Football club located just north of Melbourne require the services of a Full Forward ASAP..... Good coin up for grabs, good football standard! Open to any player
PM me for more information
What makes you think any of us 'nerds' on here want to play footy for you. Who cares how much cash you've got, i don't think telling us about it will get you a full forward anytime soon.
Mind you its open to ANY player... got a name for you... B Rhodes, robust 'young' lad, strong set of hands, great football brain, distinguised career playing for Coreen-daysdale-hopefield-buraja-ganmain-grong-grong-matong-ungarie United. He'll kick a few through the sticks for ya.
Some advice, ring some good forwards and talk to them (strange concept i know) or better still get off the computer, head down to your local juniors and teach a few kids how to catch and kick and you'll have plenty of forwards, backs and midfielders in 5-10 years.
You know it makes sense!
krusty123
5 May 2008, 00:21
What makes you think any of us 'nerds' on here want to play footy for you. Who cares how much cash you've got, i don't think telling us about it will get you a full forward anytime soon.
Mind you its open to ANY player... got a name for you... B Rhodes, robust 'young' lad, strong set of hands, great football brain, distinguised career playing for Coreen-daysdale-hopefield-buraja-ganmain-grong-grong-matong-ungarie United. He'll kick a few through the sticks for ya.
Some advice, ring some good forwards and talk to them (strange concept i know) or better still get off the computer, head down to your local juniors and teach a few kids how to catch and kick and you'll have plenty of forwards, backs and midfielders in 5-10 years.
You know it makes sense!
You tell him Box!
I wonder if the coin is good enough for you to travel from London each week. They would expect you to kick straight. :)
You tell him Box!
I wonder if the coin is good enough for you to travel from London each week. They would expect you to kick straight. :)
I used the term nerd a bit loosely, obviously we're not all real nerds.
I'm sure they could offer me more than those mammoth wads of cash i used to command in my time at the LPO.
Being a traveller from London would be a tough gig, but if someone could do it, it'd be me. Imagine that, showing up on Saturday lunchtime every week after a marathan flight, lacing up the boots, plonking my hairy frame in the square and not touching the pill all day. :(
I'll get into some training and send my CV over! You can be my manager Krusty123, whoever you are.:thumbsu:
Flowerpower
5 May 2008, 10:31
Snippet from this mornings Herald Sun;
Roos on the Rampage
Starting the season 4-2, the Roos should now have the finals firmly on the radar.
Many pundits wrote them off - but are now eating humble pie. With the likes of Ryan, Raines and Clark, cameos from Ambrose (is there a better old bloke running around in the Ovens and Murray??) and the local boys all doing their bit, is it time for the powers that be to start talking the F word?
This writer thinks it is!
Go Roo boys!
:D:D:D:D
Lavy_Panther
5 May 2008, 13:17
Snippet from this mornings Herald Sun;
Roos on the Rampage
Starting the season 4-2, the Roos should now have the finals firmly on the radar.
Many pundits wrote them off - but are now eating humble pie. With the likes of Ryan, Raines and Clark, cameos from Ambrose (is there a better old bloke running around in the Ovens and Murray??) and the local boys all doing their bit, is it time for the powers that be to start talking the F word?
This writer thinks it is!
Go Roo boys!
:D:D:D:D
Corowa have only beaten one team who have a shot in a top five finish. Unimpressive.
captain peanut
5 May 2008, 15:07
Corowa have only beaten one team who have a shot in a top five finish. Unimpressive.
agreed. we will know alot more about corowa in 3 weeks time when they have played yarra, wang and rovers consecutively. have a feeling they will be scrapping for 5th spot and might ultimately just fall short.
yarra appeared the contender to wang's crown before the weekend debacle. does anyone know if they were still undermanned in the backline on the weekend? lavi are looming as a real wildcard.
Flowerpower
5 May 2008, 15:13
You can only beat whats out on the park PinkPanther.
Your comments are noted, but I think you might be taking a little bit more out of your win against the Roos than you should have.
Roos are steamtraining along, led by the Ryan, Raines and Clark show! :D
Gun Recruit
5 May 2008, 16:14
You can only beat whats out on the park PinkPanther.
Your comments are noted, but I think you might be taking a little bit more out of your win against the Roos than you should have.
Roos are steamtraining along, led by the Ryan, Raines and Clark show! :D
How did Ryan go on the weekend ? Word on the street is that he didnt train at all last week coz they were having trouble gettin you out of his arse from the gastro issues the week before
Here It Is
5 May 2008, 16:24
You know it makes sense!
Good to see the mother country hasn't sapped your sense of humour, Mr Sanson. :D:D:D.
But seriously, I'll take their money if they're willing to pay it.
I'll do it for airfares from Sydney, accommodation, all I can eat and drink and $1000 a goal. :cool: The last one won't cost them much.
Lavy_Panther
5 May 2008, 16:44
Well you know what they say:
You can only beat whats out on the park.
Winmar_07
5 May 2008, 17:06
Well you know what they say:
There is no doubting the win against the roos was complimented by the late withdraw of Ryan and not having Clarke didn't help there scoring opportunities.. Didn't stop Raines who had 50 and a nice punch on with one of lavvy's taggers (which got great coverage on the media how they both didn't get reported was a disgrace).. Roo boys when all stars are flying no doubt are the danger side in the O and M.. Ryan is a genuine star of the comp also and anyone who continues to pot him is purely jealous! Flowerpower is correct the RHYNO is the MAN!:):D:D
Flowerpower
5 May 2008, 17:40
How did Ryan go on the weekend ? Word on the street is that he didnt train at all last week coz they were having trouble gettin you out of his arse from the gastro issues the week before
Thought Ryan was pretty good - missed a few sitters but probably had 30+ touches and kept his direct opponent in check. Imagine if he had put it into fifth gear - could have been 50+!!!!!!
But what is it with some of you blokes and man sex??
No need to vent your sexual frustrations, be it man, woman or beast, on a public forum. I suggest you sit down and talk to you husband, boyfriend, blue heeler, wooly hand rug and sort it out - it may do you a world of good gunshy! :D
Go Roos!
Hows Sam Carpenter at Corowa/Rutherglen going this season?
Flowerpower
6 May 2008, 12:32
Hows Sam Carpenter at Corowa/Rutherglen going this season?
SSHHHHHHHHhhhhhhhhhhhh Doog !!!!!!!
If he was in the Big Brother house he'd be under the radar..........
I'm from down his way on the Mornington Peninsula and wondered how he was getting on....goes alright doesn't he
Something has been bothering me lads.
Now the Border Mail does a good job of covering the O&M footy and gives most leagues in the district a fair run as well. This is not the thing bothering me though.
Its the BM website, it doesn't deliver enough!
I can understand them not wanting to post their daily sport stories as that could mean readers choose to log onto the net rather than spend their $1 and buy the paper itself.
But surely some time later (a day or 2), they could post the reports from the weekends matches. It's all written on computers, so i'd imagine it'd be a simple task to throw it on the website. The O&M website takes care of the results, goal kickers and best players etc... but it'd be great to read the articles as well.
There are heaps of people outside of the Alb/Wod district who want to keep track of the O&M footy, myself included, and the net is the best way. Consider it a thirst for some "local knowlegde".
Bright Boy
7 May 2008, 09:00
Now the Border Mail does a good job of covering the O&M footy and gives most leagues in the district a fair run as well. This is not the thing bothering me though.
I can understand them not wanting to post their daily sport stories as that could mean readers choose to log onto the net rather than spend their $1 and buy the paper itself.
But surely some time later (a day or 2), they could post the reports from the weekends matches. It's all written on computers, so i'd imagine it'd be a simple task to throw it on the website. The O&M website takes care of the results, goal kickers and best players etc... but it'd be great to read the articles as well.
There are heaps of people outside of the Alb/Wod district who want to keep track of the O&M footy, myself included, and the net is the best way. Consider it a thirst for some "local knowlegde".
Get onto Johnno, Im sure he could rectify the problem. Though it must be said it has greatly improved from last year when there would be weeks on end with no "local" footy.
Also try the O&M website they run most articles from the BM.
captain peanut
7 May 2008, 10:40
Get onto Johnno, Im sure he could rectify the problem. Though it must be said it has greatly improved from last year when there would be weeks on end with no "local" footy.
Also try the O&M website they run most articles from the BM.
yeah the BM website is rubbish. i contacted the BM a couple of times last year regarding the lack of posting of O&M articles and they simply never got back to me. Used to be great until they changed the website, until last year all match reports would be posted by about lunchtime on the monday after games. now we get jack sh*t. The O&M website only posts the articles that appear on the BM website so there's no joy there either. I can't see why by say wednesday they can't just post all of monday's match reports for example. Maybe we need to start a campaign to rectify the situation.
the wangaratta chronicle website posts match previews/reports for the wang teams (www.nenews.com.au). dunno if other places like yarra, corowa, etc have their own newspapers and websites that focus on the local teams but could be worth a search. But as far the border region goes the BM is it and their web coverage is disgraceful.
Gun Recruit
7 May 2008, 12:21
Is it common knowledge that Corey Lambert is coaching Albury next season ? Maybe old hutchy could divulge some info :)
Flowerpower
7 May 2008, 16:22
Is it common knowledge that Corey Lambert is coaching Albury next season ? Maybe old hutchy could divulge some info :)
Is that your first post without reference to homosexuality gunshy?
A hearty congrats from all.
BTW, Rhino Ryan disappointed with the bye this weekend, but will no doubt do a massive session on the weights to pump up the cannons even further!
Go Roos!
Gun Recruit
7 May 2008, 17:52
Is that your first post without reference to homosexuality gunshy?
A hearty congrats from all.
BTW, Rhino Ryan disappointed with the bye this weekend, but will no doubt do a massive session on the weights to pump up the cannons even further!
Go Roos!
haha i think everyone is pretty confident in knowing who the real pillow biter is on this thread flowerpower
Winmar_07
7 May 2008, 22:30
haha i think everyone is pretty confident in knowing who the real pillow biter is on this thread flowerpower
Gunner gunner gunner... Your the first to bag flower about his obsession with the Rhyno.. But its fair to say that he deserves to be obsessed in this little gem he is such a great player and although in saying Flower might be gay i def know Ryan could turn gay and the girls would be still lining up for him.. The bloke is the god of O and M and is a warrior... GO RHYNO GO...
RHYNO for O and M captain...
Go Roos:thumbsu:
Aaron Fiora
8 May 2008, 01:42
I was just wondering what everyone thought of Corowa players Nick 'One nut' Raines and Jake 'pea heart' Ryan. Quite frankley think they are probably the biggest wankers in the O & M and heard a little rumour they are vegemite drillers.
Any thoughts as i have a suspicion that they are Winmar and Flowerpower, therefore not only are they mattress munchers in the O & M but also on bigfooty.
JOHN DENVER
8 May 2008, 01:57
I was just wondering what everyone thought of Corowa players Nick 'One nut' Raines and Jake 'pea heart' Ryan. Quite frankley think they are probably the biggest wankers in the O & M and heard a little rumour they are vegemite drillers.
Any thoughts as i have a suspicion that they are Winmar and Flowerpower, therefore not only are they mattress munchers in the O & M but also on bigfooty.
can not agree more aaron, not only are they raging homosexuals the are tearing the arse out of the corowa football club. as an avid supporter of the club i am disgusted at the attitude of these 2 players who are there purely to feather their own nest and thats it. For this reason corowa will not be successful while this calibre of individuals are running around and i am dissapointed that the club would pay such money for these 2 egotistical clowns
If I was you blokes i'd spend more of your time potting FP and WM07, and not the 2 players in question.
Having never spoken to either raines or ryan, i can't tell you whether they are tools or not. I'll give them benefit of any doubt.
But having read a number of Flowerpower and Winmar07's comments on here, i can 100% say they are tools, cos there is no doubt.
Silver_kid
8 May 2008, 09:26
If I was you blokes i'd spend more of your time potting FP and WM07, and not the 2 players in question.
Having never spoken to either raines or ryan, i can't tell you whether they are tools or not. I'll give them benefit of any doubt.
But having read a number of Flowerpower and Winmar07's comments on here, i can 100% say they are tools, cos there is no doubt.
yeah these comments about ryan seem very homoerotic, almost to the point of obsession...
Flowerpower
8 May 2008, 10:24
There it is again!
Are all you blokes preoccupied with homosexuality? Gunshy, Row25 Aaron Fiora - I find it very tough that a bloke with Aaron Fiora as his identity can have a potshot about peahearts...........
But everyone entitled to there opinions.
I just keep throwing the line out with no bait and catching fish - Rex hunt eat your heart out!!!!!
FP
Stop being such a tighta$$ head16. I am sure the BM will do a deal for you and deliver the paper to you for a few quid (might take a week to get there though). Better still, get your "ex Wodonga Raiders" housemate in London to fill you in with all the goss - he is to OM footy what Molly Meldrum is to the music industry. And the similarities between him and Molly don't stop there!!!
Winmar_07
8 May 2008, 11:17
can not agree more aaron, not only are they raging homosexuals the are tearing the arse out of the corowa football club. as an avid supporter of the club i am disgusted at the attitude of these 2 players who are there purely to feather their own nest and thats it. For this reason corowa will not be successful while this calibre of individuals are running around and i am dissapointed that the club would pay such money for these 2 egotistical clowns
well maybe they are gay but i doubt it?
Not too sure about you referring to them as tearing the ass out of the place.. they would earn every dollar they get and they give as good as they get.. gee they are beauties though!!:) good value around a footy club.. both lunatics on the grog i hear!
judging from the women they bring to the footy i am guessing they are bisexual:):) one of them was in this months ralph would worry about going to the footy to see the champs.. the girls are a treat to look at!
Timba "is" Lavington.
The committee at LPO would be stupid to let him go, and after years of tight purse strings they should open their wallets to keep the legend there. Employing Ron Montgomery to eat all of the pies a few years back almost matches the signing of Brian Wilson (no, not the beach boy!!) back in the early 90's
After a very distiguished and loyal career as a player and coach at Lavington it should be his call on whether he decides to go or not. And if he goes for $$$ then I pity the decision makers at LPO for at least not matching the offer. (Thank god his little brother is gone though!)
2leftfeet
8 May 2008, 12:44
ease up on ron montgomery matey he has done wonders for o&m football over the years
SSHHHHHHHHhhhhhhhhhhhh Doog !!!!!!!
If he was in the Big Brother house he'd be under the radar..........
The lids off, coincidently he's in todays Herald Sun.
ease up on ron montgomery matey he has done wonders for o&m football over the years
Is that you Ron???
Flowerpower
8 May 2008, 18:37
Came across this post by the one and only John Denver on the SFL forum........makes for interesting reading.........
not sure if anyone here can help me but a new fellow from cheltenham football club called adam cole owes me money for sexual services provided on the 18th of april. i was able to get onto some of adams friends who proclaimed that adam denied any paying arrangement with me and purely picked me up at the brothel with his cheesy calls and amorous advances. however i assure you this was not the case and i have exhausted all other avenues to acquire the money owed to myself. this is my last warning to you and to avoid a court appearance i would like the $2.50 paid in full by next week....
And you question others Mr Denver!
Are you trying to divert the attention off yourself Johnny boy??? :D:D
Winmar_07
8 May 2008, 22:12
Came across this post by the one and only John Denver on the SFL forum........makes for interesting reading.........
not sure if anyone here can help me but a new fellow from cheltenham football club called adam cole owes me money for sexual services provided on the 18th of april. i was able to get onto some of adams friends who proclaimed that adam denied any paying arrangement with me and purely picked me up at the brothel with his cheesy calls and amorous advances. however i assure you this was not the case and i have exhausted all other avenues to acquire the money owed to myself. this is my last warning to you and to avoid a court appearance i would like the $2.50 paid in full by next week....
And you question others Mr Denver!
Are you trying to divert the attention off yourself Johnny boy??? :D:D
Denver come out of the closet mate...:confused:
Stop being such a tighta$$ head16. I am sure the BM will do a deal for you and deliver the paper to you for a few quid (might take a week to get there though). Better still, get your "ex Wodonga Raiders" housemate in London to fill you in with all the goss - he is to OM footy what Molly Meldrum is to the music industry. And the similarities between him and Molly don't stop there!!!
:D Love the molly comparison!!
Can you send me a copy of monday's BM every week please codola - mite as well toss in a canberra paper too so i can keep up with your antics on the field.
mossysausage
9 May 2008, 12:39
Denver come out of the closet mate...:confused:
Look id just like to clear all this up and come out of the closet for JD. He and i have been closet buddies for some time now, and i have just recently heard about these 'favours' that he is having performed by others. So im going to take this opportunity to say, JD we are over! You used to make me cry form other places, but now i only cry from my eyes.:( Love TomD.
I'm starting to get sick of logging onto this site and reading absolute shite, will you guys find another site to pump your own tyres up and refering to sexual acts. If you d!ckheads want to talk about d!cks in bums go and log onto a site that is specific to your chat. Lets start talking about football!!!
captain peanut
9 May 2008, 17:23
I'm starting to get sick of logging onto this site and reading absolute shite, will you guys find another site to pump your own tyres up and refering to sexual acts. If you d!ckheads want to talk about d!cks in bums go and log onto a site that is specific to your chat. Lets start talking about football!!!
well said agent
Flowerpower
9 May 2008, 17:44
well said agent
Agreed. :thumbsu:
Lets talk about Corowa, especially the on ball brigade.
FP
Barrys_Mate
9 May 2008, 19:35
Interesting to see after Head16's comments on the Border Mail website the sport has not been updated since the 30th April.......
Fair call but. I have maintained intrest in the league for a long time, but cant get me hands on the BM all the time. I geuss at the end of the day their about selling papers not the OM.:(
Ron Montgomery is nothing but a sloth. He has done nothing but floats Lavi boat, and sink every other club in the O&M. He has done more harm to the O&M then any other person in the history of the league. Got the arse from Canberra so slothed his way back to the league. He is a cretine who deserves nothing.:thumbsd::cool:
Go easy Wonga. Big ron has probably eaten more than his share of red frogs or visited the buffet a few too many times, but he's hardly done anything other than help the league.
Sloth... not yet, but i can see where your coming from ;)
Can you give me some specific examples of the harm he's done to the league. After all, he has done the more harm than anyone else.
He is a character and at the very least he deserves some respect. Unlike your good self who gets on here and drags his name through the mud and hides behind the alias.
Oh yeah... any boat ron's been on in the last 20 years hasn't floated:D So i think the Lavi boat was doing ok before he arrived, during his involvement and now.
The Crumber
11 May 2008, 22:32
^^
Please don't showboat your 1337 English skillz Head16 - especially with that verb/subject edit. I would suggest that you have wasted your time trying to explain that to most of us here.
No doubt you've had the same issue with the little pommy urchins you're presently fettling.
Good on you for leaving "cretine" out of it though.
As for Ronald, larger than life is an apt description, and for a bloke that doesn't drink, he can generally be trusted.
captain peanut
12 May 2008, 10:52
anyone catch any of the games over the weekend?
i saw the wang v nth albury match at the norm minns oval. talk about fiery. nth alb obviously learnt nothing from their GF humiliation last year as they came out out intent on playing the man once again. Kane godde gave judd porter one of the best headbutts you could ever wish to see on a footy field which ignited a brawl involving just about everyone on the field and from there it was simmering for the rest of the day. Brandon ryan also unleashed an awesome flurry of punches to the head of ed clarke in the last 1/4. they were the fight highlights.
as for the footy, it was a tight contest until about 20 min into the 3rd 1/4. Nth alb had reduced the margin to 7 pts after wang threatened to kick right away in the 2nd 1/4, and they seemed to have all the momentum but another undisciplined act by 1 of their defenders saw jesse smith get a free shot at a 2nd goal after having nailed a snap. It was suddenly 19pts and was a procession from there. think it was 10.5 to 2.0 from the 20 min mark of 3rd.
nth's season is just about shot now with rovers and wodonga still to play before the 1/2 way mark. it's a shame, as i would have liked to see t hodgson have the opportunity to participate in his 5th consecutive GF loss.
other game sounded like a good one as well see sawing thru the day. wodonga v wang should be a good one this week, got a feeling wodonga might yet emerge as the clear contender to wang's title once they have everyone up and running.
captain peanut
12 May 2008, 12:36
Fair call but. I have maintained intrest in the league for a long time, but cant get me hands on the BM all the time. I geuss at the end of the day their about selling papers not the OM.:(
further to the BM issue, i see it has updated today with some articles from saturday and also from today's edition.
I particularly like the article they've added where travis hodgson says he 'feared for the safety' of his players at times on saturday against the pies. Why's that travi? Worried godde might break his cheekbone when dishing out head butts or that ryan might break a hand while punching blokes or that leslie might pop a shoulder running thru blokes after they've disposed of the footy??? You can try and deflect attention as much as you like, but everyone that was there knows exactly who the aggressor was on saturday.
Gun Recruit
12 May 2008, 13:37
further to the BM issue, i see it has updated today with some articles from saturday and also from today's edition.
I particularly like the article they've added where travis hodgson says he 'feared for the safety' of his players at times on saturday against the pies. Why's that travi? Worried godde might break his cheekbone when dishing out head butts or that ryan might break a hand while punching blokes or that leslie might pop a shoulder running thru blokes after they've disposed of the footy??? You can try and deflect attention as much as you like, but everyone that was there knows exactly who the aggressor was on saturday.
Now can we please have a North Albury person state their account on the events ? We've just had the usual one-eyed wangaratta report, and now for the north albury follow up please
captain peanut
12 May 2008, 15:29
Now can we please have a North Albury person state their account on the events ? We've just had the usual one-eyed wangaratta report, and now for the north albury follow up please
as reported
Hoppers use same script for spiteful grand final replay, but “Pies prevail
Written by JEREMY WILSON.
SAME teams, same tactics, same result.
That was the outcome of the replay of the Ovens and Murray grand final between Wangaratta and North Albury at the Norm Minns Oval on Saturday.
The Travis Hodgson led North Albury showed it had learned little from its 51 point thrashing in the premiership battle when it again turned to rough-house tactics on Saturday.
When Magpie skipper Judd Porter was head-butted by a North Albury opponent early in the game, leading to an all-in brawl, it was obvious what was in store.
Again the field umpires in charge failed to act, and again the match turned into a spiteful affair.
And again, Wangaratta proved its class to record an emphatic 60-point victory.
For all of three quarters the game was a great spectacle.
The Magpies clearly held the advantage with a stronger forward line consisting of Jon Henry, Aaron Braden, Michael Hooper and Jarrod Hayse, which forced the Hoppers to use their best forward in Dan Leslie at centre half back while pushing Brent Piltz right back to the goal square to man Henry.
However, Wangaratta still couldn’t find a way to put the Hoppers away as they kept finding ways to put goals on the board.
Leading up to the match, both coaches predicted their opponents would come out firing and it didn’t take long for emotions to flare.
The incident between Magpie captain Porter and a North Albury opponent mid-way through the first term seemed to be the start as it led to an all-in brawl.
The Magpies settled the better and led by 13 points at quarter time thanks to some great work by Paul Kirby, Sam Higgs and Marc Lord.
The second quarter was by far the best of the match with both sides going goal for goal and the crowd finding plenty of voice.
Henry was the leading light for the quarter, getting on top of Piltz to boot three while setting up goals for Braden and Hooper.
However, not to be outdone, the Hoppers were just as dominant in their forward line with Rob Hodgson (three goals), Marty Thompson (two) and James Brain keeping their side in the contest.
* All the classified advertisements in this edition can be viewed on this site. See classies icon
Bundy Bear
12 May 2008, 15:38
as reported
Hoppers use same script for spiteful grand final replay, but “Pies prevail
Written by JEREMY WILSON.
SAME teams, same tactics, same result.
That was the outcome of the replay of the Ovens and Murray grand final between Wangaratta and North Albury at the Norm Minns Oval on Saturday.
The Travis Hodgson led North Albury showed it had learned little from its 51 point thrashing in the premiership battle when it again turned to rough-house tactics on Saturday.
When Magpie skipper Judd Porter was head-butted by a North Albury opponent early in the game, leading to an all-in brawl, it was obvious what was in store.
Again the field umpires in charge failed to act, and again the match turned into a spiteful affair.
And again, Wangaratta proved its class to record an emphatic 60-point victory.
For all of three quarters the game was a great spectacle.
The Magpies clearly held the advantage with a stronger forward line consisting of Jon Henry, Aaron Braden, Michael Hooper and Jarrod Hayse, which forced the Hoppers to use their best forward in Dan Leslie at centre half back while pushing Brent Piltz right back to the goal square to man Henry.
However, Wangaratta still couldn’t find a way to put the Hoppers away as they kept finding ways to put goals on the board.
Leading up to the match, both coaches predicted their opponents would come out firing and it didn’t take long for emotions to flare.
The incident between Magpie captain Porter and a North Albury opponent mid-way through the first term seemed to be the start as it led to an all-in brawl.
The Magpies settled the better and led by 13 points at quarter time thanks to some great work by Paul Kirby, Sam Higgs and Marc Lord.
The second quarter was by far the best of the match with both sides going goal for goal and the crowd finding plenty of voice.
Henry was the leading light for the quarter, getting on top of Piltz to boot three while setting up goals for Braden and Hooper.
However, not to be outdone, the Hoppers were just as dominant in their forward line with Rob Hodgson (three goals), Marty Thompson (two) and James Brain keeping their side in the contest.
* All the classified advertisements in this edition can be viewed on this site. See classies icon
Yeah CP as "as reported" in the WANG Cronicle ,Tosser
Glitter
12 May 2008, 16:15
What happened then Bundy?
The report in the Border didn't differ a whole lot from this either?
How good are those Panthers going? They could set themselves up for a chance at a top 3 with a win over the Tigers this week.
Anyone know how serious the "twin tower"'s injury was on the weekend V Wodonga?
captain peanut
12 May 2008, 16:26
yep exactly bundy, as reported in the wang chronicle which provides an excellent coverage of local football. also as reported in the around the grounds summary on oak FM post match. i haven't had the chance to read the BM report apart from what is posted of the headline article i referred to in my earlier post.
i'm all ears if there was a fair bit going on that i must have missed on saturday. however i wouldn't have thought it was exactly earth shattering news that a team coached by travis hodgson turns on the rough stuff in a big match??
captain peanut
12 May 2008, 16:31
What happened then Bundy?
The report in the Border didn't differ a whole lot from this either?
How good are those Panthers going? They could set themselves up for a chance at a top 3 with a win over the Tigers this week.
Anyone know how serious the "twin tower"'s injury was on the weekend V Wodonga?
lavi look like being the wildcard for 08. travelling very nicely. with albury raiders and myrtleford to come in the next 3 rounds they'll be entrenched in the top 3 at the halfway mark. wasn't sure about them till last week but to go to yarra and do a job like that on them has to make you sit up and take notice. what's, or who's, driving the resurgence?
Lavy_Panther
12 May 2008, 16:45
North Albury have been doing that stuff for years, doesn't surprise me in the least. Pretty happy to see them at the arse end of the ladder.
A few questions:
1. Can anyone tell me how John Hunt is going at Lavi? A persistent injury has kept him in and out of footy in the last few years. When he is at his best would be first picked in the Lavi side
2. Michael Sims for Nth Albury - Only a young skinny lad played in last years GF loss, not sure if he is in the 1s at the moment.
3. Josh Frawley - what is the latest on him going back to Yarra?
4. OMFL rep team - last I heard there was a squad of 50 odd, any culling of that list yet?
5. Is it true that Brett Sanson is in the UK recruiting gaelic footballers for Albury Footy Club using his ties with former house mate Luke Carroll?
the unit
12 May 2008, 19:58
anyone catch any of the games over the weekend?
i saw the wang v nth albury match at the norm minns oval. talk about fiery. nth alb obviously learnt nothing from their GF humiliation last year as they came out out intent on playing the man once again. Kane godde gave judd porter one of the best headbutts you could ever wish to see on a footy field which ignited a brawl involving just about everyone on the field and from there it was simmering for the rest of the day. Brandon ryan also unleashed an awesome flurry of punches to the head of ed clarke in the last 1/4. they were the fight highlights.
as for the footy, it was a tight contest until about 20 min into the 3rd 1/4. Nth alb had reduced the margin to 7 pts after wang threatened to kick right away in the 2nd 1/4, and they seemed to have all the momentum but another undisciplined act by 1 of their defenders saw jesse smith get a free shot at a 2nd goal after having nailed a snap. It was suddenly 19pts and was a procession from there. think it was 10.5 to 2.0 from the 20 min mark of 3rd.
nth's season is just about shot now with rovers and wodonga still to play before the 1/2 way mark. it's a shame, as i would have liked to see t hodgson have the opportunity to participate in his 5th consecutive GF loss.
other game sounded like a good one as well see sawing thru the day. wodonga v wang should be a good one this week, got a feeling wodonga might yet emerge as the clear contender to wang's title once they have everyone up and running.
talk it up mate. u do live up to ur name u are a ture peanut the game was closer than wat the scores say and the wang player targeted the north boys. and well the north boys might have not won the game but they won the fights
Gun Recruit
12 May 2008, 20:27
talk it up mate. u do live up to ur name u are a ture peanut the game was closer than wat the scores say and the wang player targeted the north boys. and well the north boys might have not won the game but they won the fights
And there's the response I was lookin for, right on cue and in the manner i thought it would be delivered. Going by your response you are obvioulsy a north player and going by the name "the unit" pretty much gives you away buddy. :thumbsu:
Give me a Pie
12 May 2008, 20:48
Unit and gun rucruit Im afraid you boys are extremely biased or misinformed.
I am a Rovers supporter and saw the Magpies Nth alb game and despite what you boys may think Magpies not only smashed them in all areas of the football game but also in the fighting side of things. I saw a couple of the hopper boys cop some absolute pissers.. Dont think Goode even knew where he was when they finished with him.
This is coming from a man who would have loved nothing more than to see the magpies blokes get there there heads punched in. But you have to post your honest opinion and I what I saw was a weak attemp by nth to get the magpies off there game that back fired on them big time.:thumbsd:
the unit
12 May 2008, 20:58
And there's the response I was lookin for, right on cue and in the manner i thought it would be delivered. Going by your response you are obvioulsy a north player and going by the name "the unit" pretty much gives you away buddy. :thumbsu:
i do play for north but i am not the guy your thinking of mate
i dont even play 1st
Gun Recruit
12 May 2008, 21:13
Unit and gun rucruit Im afraid you boys are extremely biased or misinformed.
I am a Rovers supporter and saw the Magpies Nth alb game and despite what you boys may think Magpies not only smashed them in all areas of the football game but also in the fighting side of things. I saw a couple of the hopper boys cop some absolute pissers.. Dont think Goode even knew where he was when they finished with him.
This is coming from a man who would have loved nothing more than to see the magpies blokes get there there heads punched in. But you have to post your honest opinion and I what I saw was a weak attemp by nth to get the magpies off there game that back fired on them big time.:thumbsd:
Sorry mate how do you tie me in with being biased as I havent made one comment on the game in question
Luca Toni
12 May 2008, 21:21
Good to see in The Border Mail today that Luke Carroll has forecast some changes to what has been, to date, a dissapointing albury outfit.
Hopefully the likes of Ednie, Leischke, and Mulraney will be rewarded with a senior birth for there consistency this year. There should also be a call up for Jez Masterson, to see if he can help Matt Fowler overcome his 11 year battle with premiership hangover.
Hutchy 001
12 May 2008, 21:29
Good to see in The Border Mail today that Luke Carroll has forecast some changes to what has been, to date, a dissapointing albury outfit.
Hopefully the likes of Ednie, Leischke, and Mulraney will be rewarded with a senior birth for there consistency this year. There should also be a call up for Jez Masterson, to see if he can help Matt Fowler overcome his 11 year battle with premiership hangover.
I understand there were a few pissed off boys in the tigers change rooms after the game on Saturday. Not the fact that they lost but that Carroll kept the team in the rooms until 6 o'clock having a talk. This meant that the tigers boys were late getting to the Roi bar
the unit
12 May 2008, 21:41
[quote=Gun Recruit;10992495]Sorry mate how do you tie me in with being biased as I havent made one comment on the game in question[/quot
sorry did not mean it like that but i do play for north but im not the big unit
Sh!t. Sounds like i'v missed an interesting weekend in O&M footy. sounds like those hoppers and pies spent a good part of their game smacking each other.
It's not something i personally condone, but when it happens, you gotta make a stand, or else it'll keep on happening.
Were there any reports or did blokes just throw headbutts and haymakers all day without anything happening.
Codola, my good friend. I was talking to Brett Sanson the other day and he was saying he'd been to several games over here. A few weeks ago in copenhagen watching the Danish Footy League and last weekend watching some of the london teams. Said he saw some handy footballers getting around, and some shockers, but not many of them good enough to fit into Luke's tiger team.
Perhaps they'd get a gig out at the Lake Cargelligo tigers, that could be who he's recruiting for!
spider10
13 May 2008, 10:23
Yes i agree with you luca just wondering by these changes is it simply the bench and the fringe players that that face the axe, if so this will achieve nothing. For changes to be made to the mentality and performance of albury wholesale changes need to be made. Every one on that list should be fighting for their spot regardless of status or $$$. Out of form senior and veteren players would not be hurt with stints in the twos. Nor would highly paid players. Albury need more pace, blooding more younger players like their opponents on the w/e. Fighting for a spot will breed enthusiasm. If blokes feel comfortable they don't try as hard. There are alot of comfortable players in the albury team that seem to be going through the motions.
captain peanut
13 May 2008, 10:29
as for the closeness of the game, 40 scoring shots to 20 and a 60 pt margin is a pretty good summary i would have thought
as for the fights, every neutral report i have heard or read has indicated that nth alb pretty much came out with the same mindset as last year's GF and were intent on attacking the man. The only 'source' that has said wang were the instigators has been travis hodgson. Make up your own mind.
daisy cutter
13 May 2008, 11:32
I hear that a past wodonga raiders promising youngster tom dickson has reciently accepted a job with master foods as their new confectonary taster. could this mean a return to the raiders?
mossysausage
13 May 2008, 11:42
I hear that a past wodonga raiders promising youngster tom dickson has reciently accepted a job with master foods as their new confectonary taster. could this mean a return to the raiders?
Daisy, i think you are pretty well on the money there. Im not too sure about the credability of the job you suggested, however i saw him last wk for the first time in a while and it appears that he may have been a confectionary taster in melbourne for some time now...
Im lead to belive it is a job offer as a graduate, and he reckons he can lift the raiders into finals contention. Time will tell.
Captain Jack Sparrow
13 May 2008, 14:41
Match of the Round this week between the Raiders and the Saints. Has anyone got any predictions??
Lavy_Panther
13 May 2008, 16:10
Anyone else have a bit of a chuckle at Brandon Ryan's quotes in the BM?
I know I did hit him but there was a fair reason why I did it.
You do the crime, you do the time.
The Crumber
13 May 2008, 17:29
You do the crime, you do the time.
I would suggest that the TV footage of certain parts of last year's GF might put the lie to that cliche.
Lavy_Panther
13 May 2008, 17:36
I would suggest that the TV footage of certain parts of last year's GF might put the lie to that cliche.
By no means am I saying that it isn't strange that other reports weren't made, I guess I took umbrage to the use of 'fair reason'. Two wrongs can't make a right.
Macgyver
13 May 2008, 20:21
Ok. Now I know i also will be labeled a one eye pies supporter. However, i was at the game on the weekend and i (like many) witnessed the piss poor approach to footy nth alb took. It was clear from the first quarter that they had it in for the maggies captain and the tactic of man before the ball was also adopted. I will admit that "my man" ed clarke was the instigator of a few dirty blows but it comparision to the efforts of the north boys he looked like a boy scout.
Nth lowered themselfs massively as a footy club on the weekend and that was before their supporters(and others) got nasty in the players race
raidrboy
13 May 2008, 21:35
The O&M have announced that an investigation is to be conducted as a result of Saturdays clash between the Maggies and NA.
Pearce off Jack
13 May 2008, 21:47
Ok. Now I know i also will be labeled a one eye pies supporter. However, i was at the game on the weekend and i (like many) witnessed the piss poor approach to footy nth alb took. It was clear from the first quarter that they had it in for the maggies captain and the tactic of man before the ball was also adopted. I will admit that "my man" ed clarke was the instigator of a few dirty blows but it comparision to the efforts of the north boys he looked like a boy scout.
Nth lowered themselfs massively as a footy club on the weekend and that was before their supporters(and others) got nasty in the players race
Cmon you blokes the poor hard done by magpies! Every year no matter where they are on the ladder it is constant whinging! harden the #### up!
The Crumber
13 May 2008, 22:03
By no means am I saying that it isn't strange that other reports weren't made, I guess I took umbrage to the use of 'fair reason'. Two wrongs can't make a right.
We are at cross-purposes old fruit. I was alluding to the last O&M investigation into these two teams - despite the (to me) fairly obvious violence enacted upon one J. McCormick (as depicted on the TV footage), little happened - therefore "do the crime, don't do the time" :p
The O&M have announced that an investigation is to be conducted as a result of Saturdays clash between the Maggies and NA.
It looked more like it might have been more a result of the Border Mail reports!!
They played up all aspects of some sort of mayhem happening from the GF history in every story of the up coming game last week. It must have been a tremendous relief to be able to follow the story through to its logical conclusion.
Sensationalised much?
As to the issue itself, the bloke that got the week will probably be the one best off of all the blue participants - there's no double-jeapordy is there??
And I would suggest that the comments attributed to some club leaders by the BM could get them into trouble - commenting on umpires and tribunals usually does, regardless of the rights and wrongs.
What a mess.
[quote=The Crumber;11002006]We are at cross-purposes old fruit. I was alluding to the last O&M investigation into these two teams - despite the (to me) fairly obvious violence enacted upon one J. McCormick (as depicted on the TV footage), little happened - therefore "do the crime, don't do the time" :p
I didn't see the whole game in the 07 GF as i spent some quality time in the bar, serving beer unfortunately. I never saw anyone actually belt McCormick (If I missed some really crude efforts, than i'm wrong). however, i definitely saw him get hit late on a numbers of occasions. My point being, of the hits that i saw none deserved a report or subsequent suspension. A downfield kick or a 50m penalty were good enough for me.
I'd suggest the hoppers did 'do some time' for the crimes they committed. They have all spent 6 months without a premiership medal, punishment enough.
Having never been reported in my career, I can understand how Brandon Ryan feels bout being p!ssed at being the only bloke rubbed out from the weekend. If it's all in, you'd think it's either multiple reports or none, but i guess the ump's can only report what they see.
Knowing Ryan and having played 2 years with him at GGGM, I can tell you he's a tough and fair player. He's also one of those types you know will have your back if things turn to sh!t. He obviously got himself involved on the weekend and has got himself in a bit of strife for his troubles.
Question - for those history buffs, who were the players suspended from the 1990 bloodbath?
I know the Lavi boys copped most of the weeks and i reckon wayne penda & Darren holmes were somewhere at the top of the list.
Tatsean
14 May 2008, 09:17
First of all I am not a one eyed Wang Magpies supporter. In the O&M I support the Wang Rovers thanks to my brothers previously playing there and my father in law involved with the club. I don't hate any of the O&M teams but after watching the GF last year I can see why people dislike Nth Albury. If the game on the weekend was a repeat of their dirty tactics from the GF, then most people need to realise that this isn't new. You used to see this in the O&K 20 years ago! These days you probably only occasionally see it in maybe the Biff and Dong (Benalla) League. Does the O&M want to be compared to this? The GVFL we play in is fast and hard but fair. I would have expected the O&M to be the same. I have never seen in the GVFL what I saw in the O&M GF last year! The only thing Nth Albury is achieving is giving the whole league a bad name over Shepparton way. After the way the GF last year was officiated and the investigations that followed, don't expect the league to do anything this time around either! If dirty tactics happen in the future in any O&M games with headbutts, dangerous collisions, punches etc that cause serious injury then don't get the league involved, get the police to do an investigation. Maybe a couple of assault charges is needed to stamp this sort of behaviour out.:mad:
Buckster
14 May 2008, 14:23
Dogs V Pies
What odds can i get?
Who are the key match ups? Will there be any tags through the middle?
Where It All Began
14 May 2008, 17:04
Yes i agree with you luca just wondering by these changes is it simply the bench and the fringe players that that face the axe, if so this will achieve nothing. For changes to be made to the mentality and performance of albury wholesale changes need to be made. Every one on that list should be fighting for their spot regardless of status or $$$. Out of form senior and veteren players would not be hurt with stints in the twos. Nor would highly paid players. Albury need more pace, blooding more younger players like their opponents on the w/e. Fighting for a spot will breed enthusiasm. If blokes feel comfortable they don't try as hard. There are alot of comfortable players in the albury team that seem to be going through the motions.
Agreed, too many egos down there at the moment, but just wait and see, it will be poor old Robinson or Mitchell or the like that get the chop, not one of the more experienced players who haven't been getting a touch lately.
Oh and the Ben Fixter deal is done, now a Tiger, it will be interesting to see what difference he makes!
Tigerrr_Uppercut
14 May 2008, 17:25
First of all I am not a one eyed Wang Magpies supporter. In the O&M I support the Wang Rovers thanks to my brothers previously playing there and my father in law involved with the club. I don't hate any of the O&M teams but after watching the GF last year I can see why people dislike Nth Albury. If the game on the weekend was a repeat of their dirty tactics from the GF, then most people need to realise that this isn't new. You used to see this in the O&K 20 years ago! These days you probably only occasionally see it in maybe the Biff and Dong (Benalla) League. Does the O&M want to be compared to this? The GVFL we play in is fast and hard but fair. I would have expected the O&M to be the same. I have never seen in the GVFL what I saw in the O&M GF last year! The only thing Nth Albury is achieving is giving the whole league a bad name over Shepparton way. After the way the GF last year was officiated and the investigations that followed, don't expect the league to do anything this time around either! If dirty tactics happen in the future in any O&M games with headbutts, dangerous collisions, punches etc that cause serious injury then don't get the league involved, get the police to do an investigation. Maybe a couple of assault charges is needed to stamp this sort of behaviour out.:mad:
ok back in ya box mumsy
50 meters
14 May 2008, 17:52
Not sure we need to get the coppers involved, its not like it happens every weekend and i know it shouldnt happen at all but fit strong youg men arnt going to sit back and watch a team mate cop a liverpool kiss. Maybe the leage admin should have been more active after the 07 granny and sorted it out last September, there has been no deterant for these guys.Only one report from what i seen on TV is unbelievable you dont need the coppers you need the league admin to have somebody at every game, to form thier own opinion on what has happened and not rely on the BM, or the Chronical, or Monday nights news
Run Straight
14 May 2008, 18:08
Not sure we need to get the coppers involved, its not like it happens every weekend and i know it shouldnt happen at all but fit strong youg men arnt going to sit back and watch a team mate cop a liverpool kiss. Maybe the leage admin should have been more active after the 07 granny and sorted it out last September, there has been no deterant for these guys.Only one report from what i seen on TV is unbelievable you dont need the coppers you need the league admin to have somebody at every game, to form thier own opinion on what has happened and not rely on the BM, or the Chronical, or Monday nights news
Maybe the League should've seen this coming and been more proactive in reading the riot act to the two teams prior to the game. Just like Ray Murrihy getting the Golden Slipper jockeys in before the race and warning them that any roughouse tactics will be punished to their full extent. Easy to say in retrospect but after last year's Grand Final I would've thought League admin may have been prepared.
Give me a Pie
14 May 2008, 18:13
Spot on "50 metres" and "run straight", if the league thinks by getting involved now they are going to fix it they are strongly mistaking. Whats happened on saturday has happened and the league and umpires from the game can only blame themselve, stepping in now once its in the past is too late.
In future the league needs to make sure they appoint appropriate umpires, especially for these potentially "fierce games" and then situation like this would be difused there and then!:mad:
forward pocket
14 May 2008, 20:42
Agreed, too many egos down there at the moment, but just wait and see, it will be poor old Robinson or Mitchell or the like that get the chop, not one of the more experienced players who haven't been getting a touch lately.
Oh and the Ben Fixter deal is done, now a Tiger, it will be interesting to see what difference he makes!
From what I read not alot of people had the tigers in their top 5 at the start of the year, yet they lose 2 in a row and they are in the gun. Yes they should have beaten North Anzac day being up by a bit but alot of people had Wodonga high up in the 5 - so why is everyone bagging Albury for losing to Wodonga? Or is just some blokes out of form thats the problem for Albury???
Anyone know much about Alburys new recruit - X Brisbane lions, no shame on missing out on a game with them for the last few years, depending on when he was drafted I suppose as he could have got a game last year.
Lavy_Panther
14 May 2008, 20:52
From what I read not alot of people had the tigers in their top 5 at the start of the year, yet they lose 2 in a row and they are in the gun. Yes they should have beaten North Anzac day being up by a bit but alot of people had Wodonga high up in the 5 - so why is everyone bagging Albury for losing to Wodonga? Or is just some blokes out of form thats the problem for Albury???
Anyone know much about Alburys new recruit - X Brisbane lions, no shame on missing out on a game with them for the last few years, depending on when he was drafted I suppose as he could have got a game last year.
Pretty sure most people on here know who Ben Fixter is.
forward pocket
14 May 2008, 22:59
[quote=Lavy_Panther;11010194]Pretty sure most people on here know who Ben Fixter is.[/quote
Sorry mate. I don't know who Ben Fixter is??? He must be some legend if 'most people' know him!!
Where is he from and how would he end up at Albury from Qld - thats half my point!!!!
Tatsean
14 May 2008, 23:04
Too a few people who have commented on my post from yesterday, I stated that only if a very nasty incident happens consider to get the police involved. You would get charged for assault if you did it at the pub after a game. The League over there obviously has no balls.:eek:
I believe it is very rare that this happens these days in the O&M. But as an example lets say a good O&M player who gets a few hundred for each game he plays gets a broken jaw or the like from a stupid unnecessary headbutt. He Misses 8-10 weeks for reconstruction. Loss of income from the game plus regular work loss of income? You don't go to work to get smashed in the head. Can a player sue another for loss of wages and/or pain and suffering? Yes it has happened. Not too long ago wasn't there a player from Chiltern who got himself and the club in the shite for a nasty accident to a Moyhu player which eventually led them to leave the O&K league? You don't want to see this happen again.:mad:
[quote=Lavy_Panther;11010194]Pretty sure most people on here know who Ben Fixter is.[/quote
Sorry mate. I don't know who Ben Fixter is??? He must be some legend if 'most people' know him!!
Where is he from and how would he end up at Albury from Qld - thats half my point!!!!
Ben Fixter, really! Known to some, but hardly a household name.
He's a 26/27 year old midfield type player who spent a good 3 or 4 years at Sydney after being drafted from the NSW/ACT rams i think. Originally from Ungarie (Daniher country) where he played all his junior footy against people like yours truly. Was a very quick, silky skilled junior. I'd imagine if he's been in the AFL system for 7-8 years things haven't changed much.
Went from Swans to Brisbane about 3 years ago (i'm guessing) and has played his fair share of games up there. All told i'd reckon he could have played 30-50 AFL games in total. Never really spent quality time in either team, but was obviously good enough to get a gig here and there.
Be interesting to see what impact he has, considering recent ex-AFL senior players in McCormick, Ednie, Bradshaw, Norman have been clearly a cut above the rest. Whilst others who have spent time on AFL lists recently have handled themselves well too (Prior, Piltz, Butler, Doswell, Raines, Arhcibald, Beams and no doubt others i can't recall).
I back him to do very well.
I'd suggest he made his way to Albury through connections from back at Ungarie. Luke Daly is from there and so is Tim Foster (maybe West Wyalong). Foster has got some off-field role down at tigerland and that may involve him in recruiting.
No doubt Joss & Co are looking for another worker anyhow!
I wonder whether yarra spoke to him? Archibald is an Ungarie boy too!
Does anyone know when he's playing his first game?
forward pocket
15 May 2008, 08:37
[quote=forward pocket;11011622]
He's a 26/27 year old midfield type player who spent a good 3 or 4 years at Sydney after being drafted from the NSW/ACT rams i think. Originally from Ungarie (Daniher country) where he played all his junior footy against people like yours truly. Was a very quick, silky skilled junior. I'd imagine if he's been in the AFL system for 7-8 years things haven't changed much.
Went from Swans to Brisbane about 3 years ago (i'm guessing) and has played his fair share of games up there. All told i'd reckon he could have played 30-50 AFL games in total. Never really spent quality time in either team, but was obviously good enough to get a gig here and there.
Be interesting to see what impact he has, considering recent ex-AFL senior players in McCormick, Ednie, Bradshaw, Norman have been clearly a cut above the rest. Whilst others who have spent time on AFL lists recently have handled themselves well too (Prior, Piltz, Butler, Doswell, Raines, Arhcibald, Beams and no doubt others i can't recall).
I'd suggest he made his way to Albury through connections from back at Ungarie. Luke Daly is from there and so is Tim Foster (maybe West Wyalong). Foster has got some off-field role down at tigerland and that may involve him in recruiting.
Thanks Head, as expected I have never heard of him but thats a very good resume. He will be a very good player in this league you would think coming straight from AFL.
Gun Recruit
15 May 2008, 11:08
Good summary Head. He's playing this weekend apparently. Debuting against Lavy.
Geez it would be nice to have a person like Colin Joss at every club. When the chips are down and the current crop of 'footballers' cant win a game Carroll askes him to open up the cheque book (they did the same last year with Dicketts) and top up. The pressure now will be turned up on Carroll to see if he can actually COACH a side to victory and not just rely on Jossy to come save the day.
mitta magic
15 May 2008, 11:38
[quote=head16;11013412]
Geez it would be nice to have a person like Colin Joss at every club. When the chips are down and the current crop of 'footballers' cant win a game Carroll askes him to open up the cheque book (they did the same last year with Dicketts) and top up. The pressure now will be turned up on Carroll to see if he can actually COACH a side to victory and not just rely on Jossy to come save the day.
Totally agree "gun recruit" , Carroll's days are all but over in a tigers jumper if he cant take them deep into september this year!
Where It All Began
15 May 2008, 11:50
[quote=head16;11013412]
The emphasis shouldn't be put on Colin Joss, a man who has real passion for his football club, and when able, to help when it might be needed.
Your last 3 lines say it all. Whilst Carroll has been in charge Albury haven't had a champion list, but I would have thought that they may have done a little better than they have delivered. With a good blend of youth and experience and talent, now is the time to start delivering as a coach. If he can't get the most out of this lot, I'd suggest they start looking for someone who can!
Kris Archibald (his brother) is playing for the Belconnen Magpies Mr Head - has been all season. His other brother Mick is there as well. One of my claims to fame is playing alongside Kyle at Belconnen before he was drafted - yep, I taught him a lot (most of which I learnt from you). And as for your previous comment about never being reported - that doesn't make you an angel!!!
Kerry Bahr might also have some information on suspensions from the bloodbath GF in 1990. Given his age though, he probably won't know what the internet is and how to use a keyboard. Send him a telegram!
Latest rumour is that you are in Germany receiving treatment for your injuries (similar to Geelong player last season) and will make a return to the O&M in the second half of the year. If successful Kade Stevens will undergo the same treatment - just what I have heard. Oh, and the money is coming from the "gold mine" across the road from LPO - the one that has bought all of Lavingtons Premierships.
Luca Toni
15 May 2008, 12:39
[quote=Gun Recruit;11014280]
The emphasis shouldn't be put on Colin Joss, a man who has real passion for his football club, and when able, to help when it might be needed.
Your last 3 lines say it all. Whilst Carroll has been in charge Albury haven't had a champion list, but I would have thought that they may have done a little better than they have delivered. With a good blend of youth and experience and talent, now is the time to start delivering as a coach. If he can't get the most out of this lot, I'd suggest they start looking for someone who can!
I think you will find that albury have been looking, and have already found a new coach for next year.
Flowerpower
15 May 2008, 12:44
[quote=Where It All Began;11014578]
I think you will find that albury have been looking, and have already found a new coach for next year.
What are everyones thoughts on the Corowa and Yarrawonga game this week?
Personally, I don't think the Pigeons will "sh*t all over them".
In fact, the Roos might take to them like Marty Monster a few years back :D
Go Roos!
p.s. nah........................won't elaborate!!!!!!!!!!
Terry Tiger
15 May 2008, 12:53
[quote=Where It All Began;11014578]
Not the man sittting in the box on weekends. Wonder what previous Tiger faithful think of having an ex-Nth Albury man at the helm :rolleyes:
Hutchy 001
15 May 2008, 14:15
The 'Gun' was the first to post this rumour. Well done GR. And yes it is a done deal that he will coach tigers next year. There's evidence to suggest that he's already coaching them at the moment.
forward pocket
15 May 2008, 16:02
The 'Gun' was the first to post this rumour. Well done GR. And yes it is a done deal that he will coach tigers next year. There's evidence to suggest that he's already coaching them at the moment.
I think Mr Lambert has inter league on his mind - but once thats out of the road he will be trying his best to get his hands on Carrolls white board as quick as he can.
My opinion doesn't count as I played for the tigers 2nd's and a long time ago but for me I'd prefer no lavy or North blokes coaching Albury. Either an X-player from the tiges or someone completely out of the box who might bring some players - where do you find them though!!