View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Tigerrr_Uppercut
15 May 2008, 18:10
The 'Gun' was the first to post this rumour. Well done GR. And yes it is a done deal that he will coach tigers next year. There's evidence to suggest that he's already coaching them at the moment.
lambert to tiges, carrol to lavi and sanson to BB '09
Hutchy 001
15 May 2008, 18:28
No chance !
Is timba going on Big Brother next year???? Good luck to him, i still won't watch it.
Gun Recruit
16 May 2008, 12:05
What type of show are Albury trying to run down there. I see in wednesdays local rag that Shearer is out for 3-4 weeks with a baby cow problem and in todays rag he's named and may play. Maybe the tigers should worry about winning 4 quarters of footy before worrying about playing funny buggers with the rest of the comp. and the border mail.
Where It All Began
16 May 2008, 13:41
The 'Gun' was the first to post this rumour. Well done GR. And yes it is a done deal that he will coach tigers next year. There's evidence to suggest that he's already coaching them at the moment.
I'd suggest if this is correct, and given the way they're playing, then he also is not the man for the job!
They do however now have an ex AFL player in Fixter in their ranks, maybe coaching material, who knows, has stated that he wants to finish is career with Albury, and at mid 20s should have a fair bit of footy left in him.
Gotheroos
16 May 2008, 19:01
I heard a rumour that Aaron Henneman was seen on the track at Corowa last night???? Would be a very handy pick up before the half way mark of the season.
[quote=Luca Toni;11014992]
What are everyones thoughts on the Corowa and Yarrawonga game this week?
Personally, I don't think the Pigeons will "sh*t all over them".
In fact, the Roos might take to them like Marty Monster a few years back :D
Go Roos!
p.s. nah........................won't elaborate!!!!!!!!!!
Marty Monster ???? last name SHEILS
goalkicker11
17 May 2008, 10:49
I'd suggest if this is correct, and given the way they're playing, then he also is not the man for the job!
They do however now have an ex AFL player in Fixter in their ranks, maybe coaching material, who knows, has stated that he wants to finish is career with Albury, and at mid 20s should have a fair bit of footy left in him.
Lets just say benny didn't move down south he got the ass from the club up here because of his party lifestyle
and one other thing he was terrilble up here on the footy field and would have cost Albury a good clearance fee as well
Hitman01
17 May 2008, 10:59
Lets just say benny didn't move down south he got the ass from the club up here because of his party lifestyle
and one other thing he was terrilble up here on the footy field and would have cost Albury a good clearance fee as well
If Ben got the ass up there why were they so reluctant to clear him from the club? doesnt add up.
If Ben got the ass up there, why were they so reluctant to clear him from the club? doesnt add up.
give him a break... he wants to play good footy close to home, good on him.
What doesn't add up?
bystanding backman
17 May 2008, 11:48
i see matt pell is getting ready to start training with Wang after his reco from the prelim final last year, what do you reckon of his chances of making it back into wangs side this year.
Hitman01
17 May 2008, 14:41
give him a break... he wants to play good footy close to home, good on him.
What doesn't add up?
Why would Bens club in Queensland be so reluctant to clear him if he wasnt playing good footy and got the ass? im not having a crack at ben.
My mistake, mis-read it when i was pissed.
word on the vine
18 May 2008, 11:11
i see matt pell is getting ready to start training with Wang after his reco from the prelim final last year, what do you reckon of his chances of making it back into wangs side this year.
yehs pelly 5-6 weeks off from playing.. will play 2nds to get some match fitness be for he returns to the ones and will have no trouble getting in the side!!
Flowerpower
19 May 2008, 11:24
[quote=Flowerpower;11015052]
Marty Monster ???? last name SHEILS
nah - was supposed to be a reference to the "Early Bird Show" with Daryl Cotton (?). They bought a kangaroo on set one time and it took a liking to "Marty Monster" (some bloke in a monster suit). Gave him a few whacks - was very funny!
Bundy Bear
19 May 2008, 15:21
Match of the Round this week between the Raiders and the Saints. Has anyone got any predictions??
saw a bit of this game with some mates from melb, and F*ck me how they (raiders) can put Prior in the best (even with for goals) is beyond me.even the guys from melb were saying how UN diciplined he was giving away 3-4 50s and not doing the little things like 2nd efforts, which as a Leader I wouldve thought was parramount.Goin to be a loooong couple of years for the raiders which is a real shame because they have got some real battlers behind the scenes who deserve better from the on feild leaders.
captain peanut
19 May 2008, 16:01
saw a bit of this game with some mates from melb, and F*ck me how they (raiders) can put Prior in the best (even with for goals) is beyond me.even the guys from melb were saying how UN diciplined he was giving away 3-4 50s and not doing the little things like 2nd efforts, which as a Leader I wouldve thought was parramount.Goin to be a loooong couple of years for the raiders which is a real shame because they have got some real battlers behind the scenes who deserve better from the on feild leaders.
is prior actually as good as some people would have you believe? admittedly i've only seen him play a handful of times, but on each occasion he has been relatively disappointing. i have never seen him do anything remotely in keeping with the reputation he seems to carry.
Gun Recruit
19 May 2008, 17:07
is prior actually as good as some people would have you believe? admittedly i've only seen him play a handful of times, but on each occasion he has been relatively disappointing. i have never seen him do anything remotely in keeping with the reputation he seems to carry.
I suppose you can have your own opinion on anyone mate. Underestimate him at your own peril though i reckon. he's got a very good footy brain
Bundy Bear
19 May 2008, 17:46
I suppose you can have your own opinion on anyone mate. Underestimate him at your own peril though i reckon. he's got a very good footy brain
Fair point, and to be honest i too have only seen him a handfull of times(none impressive),I just wonder what sort of example it sends to the young kids (and its seems there are plenty at Raiders) that even if your undisiplined you will still get the rewards.
captain peanut
20 May 2008, 12:47
fair enough. as i said i have only seen him play a few times and therefore am probably not qualified to rate him, but i just thought it was interesting to see another poster offer the same view as mine.
KokodaMidget
21 May 2008, 10:28
A different perspective on the Prior discussion. The main reason he gets frustrated & gives away 50s is due to the largely inadequate umpiring displays that see the poor bugger regularly raped by opposition backman, as well as the fact that the umpires have him in the gun if he passes comment regarding their inept performances. There have been numerous times this year that there are rules for some regarding what they say to the umps, & a different "Adam Prior" rule which results in a free kick, &/or 50 metre penalty.
And i'd imagine that his teammates are pretty happy to have him on their side, he's a good leader, getting better, & he finally gives them a target to kick after a couple of years of haphazardness.
flagpie
21 May 2008, 10:39
Clearly you were at a different game to me then Bundy Bear.
If Prior wasn't the best man on the ground on Saturday only Tim Lamb was better I'd suggest.
Granted, the match wasn't much of a spectacle, but given the conditions Prior was sensational.
To say he gave away 3-4 50m penalties is also false, he gave away one in the first quarter (he had some mates) and from that point I thought he stuck to his task very well.
Silver_kid
21 May 2008, 14:48
Massive loss for North Albury with Mackie going to Jindera after just one week back from SA!
Whats happened at North for him to leave after 1 game?
mitta magic
21 May 2008, 18:26
just after anyones thoughts on Mitta joining the ovens&murray???
Looking like another flag this year up in the hills an I think we would give Myrt an the raiders a fair run??:p
2leftfeet
21 May 2008, 19:23
are u kidding me mm it would be like the wodonga saints in the tallangatta league smashed week after week
Massive loss for North Albury with Mackie going to Jindera after just one week back from SA!
Whats happened at North for him to leave after 1 game?
On the news 2nite,North have said the only place they will clear him to is back 2 SANFL.
A massive decision for the young guy 2 make,stay at North or stand out of footy.
Probably a good example for other young players to not sign at a club for more than 1 season.
Although I dont believe many clubs in the O & M sign too many good players on 1 year terms.
A different perspective on the Prior discussion. The main reason he gets frustrated & gives away 50s is due to the largely inadequate umpiring displays that see the poor bugger regularly raped by opposition backman, as well as the fact that the umpires have him in the gun if he passes comment regarding their inept performances. There have been numerous times this year that there are rules for some regarding what they say to the umps, & a different "Adam Prior" rule which results in a free kick, &/or 50 metre penalty.
And i'd imagine that his teammates are pretty happy to have him on their side, he's a good leader, getting better, & he finally gives them a target to kick after a couple of years of haphazardness.
Raiders may well be a chance for Back 2 Back wins in the 2s so maybe a few of the lesser lights at the club are starting to hit thier straps and and starting to put a bit of pressure on the players that r underperforming in the 1s.
Can anyone tell me y Beau Packer is in against the good sides and then dropped against the shit ones.
Surely he would be a target of a few district league clubs.
Has family ties at DMB in the TDFL so lets just wait and c.
2leftfeet
21 May 2008, 22:57
beau packer is a very smart footballer and if raiders arent careful they will lose him to dmb or with his mate out at osborne
bowlingshane
22 May 2008, 00:36
Prior was easily best on Saturday. Just is not real popular with moccassin wearing North Albury people.
Wangaratta will win the flag easy unless cor ruth get the three players from box hill.
Cople that almost came to raiders are reel close to signing.
Silver_kid
22 May 2008, 09:56
On the news 2nite,North have said the only place they will clear him to is back 2 SANFL.
A massive decision for the young guy 2 make,stay at North or stand out of footy.
Probably a good example for other young players to not sign at a club for more than 1 season.
Although I dont believe many clubs in the O & M sign too many good players on 1 year terms.
so he's got a very slim chance of getting to jindera? just seems strange that he wants to leave after 1 game
captain peanut
22 May 2008, 11:23
Prior was easily best on Saturday. Just is not real popular with moccassin wearing North Albury people.
Wangaratta will win the flag easy unless cor ruth get the three players from box hill.
what's the goss on c/r and some potential mid season recruits? I heard last night that they might be unveiling a new signing this week v wang, and then i read your post that they are after players from box hill? Any names?
Where It All Began
22 May 2008, 14:00
Anyone heard any talk about Lee Schmidt making a move at the end of the season? Maybe heading towards Albury-Wodonga?
onefootlong
22 May 2008, 16:34
just after anyones thoughts on Mitta joining the ovens&murray???
Looking like another flag this year up in the hills an I think we would give Myrt an the raiders a fair run??:p
the gap in standard between the two leagues is massive. raiders/myrt would simply smash the pants off tdfl's best side. tdfl is bush footy vs om which has to be one in the top half dozen comps in the land. very silly mitta magic!
krusty123
22 May 2008, 20:43
You can't seriously blame the umpires for one player getting frustrated and giving away 4 50's in a game. Yes, I am an umpire but that doesn't lessen the argument that players should take responsibility for letting their team down through lack of discipline.
Players get paid enough and should take responsibility. The rest of us do in our everyday jobs.
thinkbig
23 May 2008, 10:33
you wouldnt know would ya? i think you'd agree that a fair chunk of the 'good' players at o&m clubs are from melbourne or there abouts distance wise, when those players get poached by o&m clubs it is in the clubs best interest and they will do whatever they can, to have the player at the club, whether it be one or even half a year... the good players dictate how long they want to sign for and its a big move for the boys from melbourne to travel up every week so i can guarantee you that the majority, if not all, 'good' players would sign one year based contracts...
obviously being from melb i cant talk about the shirs, twitts, ednies and other handy local boys
Gun Recruit
23 May 2008, 10:52
Looks like Travis Hodgson's hard ball stratedgy with Joel Mackie is loosing the battle as he has made himself unavailable this week. I reckon it sums up the north albury coach when he's prepared to keep a bloke out of footy for the sake of dollars and a 'contract'. he'd have every right to blow up about it if mackie was going to another O&M club but the bloke just wants to have a kick at his home club.
KokodaMidget
23 May 2008, 11:46
You can't seriously blame the umpires for one player getting frustrated and giving away 4 50's in a game. Yes, I am an umpire but that doesn't lessen the argument that players should take responsibility for letting their team down through lack of discipline.
Players get paid enough and should take responsibility. The rest of us do in our everyday jobs.
Krusty, did you read what i wrote?
My statement centred around the 'dual rules' that seems to affect some decision making.
Umpires i believe get paid as well, so perhaps they should take some responsibility about getting their decisons & positioning correct in the first place, then there wouldn't be half the level of frustration that there is now.
SIXPACK
23 May 2008, 17:16
:thumbsu:Looks like Travis Hodgson's hard ball stratedgy with Joel Mackie is loosing the battle as he has made himself unavailable this week. I reckon it sums up the north albury coach when he's prepared to keep a bloke out of footy for the sake of dollars and a 'contract'. he'd have every right to blow up about it if mackie was going to another O&M club but the bloke just wants to have a kick at his home club.
Apparently there are a few others at North wanting to move on, so maybe Hodgson has to make a stand otherwise contracts will not be worth the papar they are written on.
Hodgson probably can't afford to do a backflip on this one after his statements in the media, otherwise he will be made to look very silly.:thumbsu:
raidrboy
23 May 2008, 21:36
Come and watch a couple of games he is playing in and then and see why he gets frustrated, and actually he only gave away one 50 not 4 as reported in an earlier post.
All he want's is for the umpires to be consistent which hasn't been happening.
Looks like Travis Hodgson's hard ball stratedgy with Joel Mackie is loosing the battle as he has made himself unavailable this week. I reckon it sums up the north albury coach when he's prepared to keep a bloke out of footy for the sake of dollars and a 'contract'. he'd have every right to blow up about it if mackie was going to another O&M club but the bloke just wants to have a kick at his home club.
Not that I know too much about the Mackie situation...... but why have a contract if you cant stick to it? Gives you a bit of insight into the shortcomings of the player i reckon. And I would think it is a football club board decision to agree to a clearance (with the coaches input of course if the committee is good) and not soley the coach.
krusty123
25 May 2008, 19:32
Krusty, did you read what i wrote?
My statement centred around the 'dual rules' that seems to affect some decision making.
Umpires i believe get paid as well, so perhaps they should take some responsibility about getting their decisons & positioning correct in the first place, then there wouldn't be half the level of frustration that there is now.
Yes I did read what you wrote. And it is a shame. Sure some of the umpires at O&M level aren't as fit or able as perhaps they should be.
This is because potential newer, fitter umpires are put off the idea because of your attitude. (Which is the prevailing one throughout the football world).
I won't entertain the idea of 'dual rules'. There is no umpire in the world that would do that. It defeats the purpose and the idea of becoming an umpire in the first place.
Umpires do spend a lot of their time trying to improve. But what do you expect from someone who is paid about 1/10th of what Prior is on per game?
Gotheroos
25 May 2008, 22:27
Yes I did read what you wrote. And it is a shame. Sure some of the umpires at O&M level aren't as fit or able as perhaps they should be.
This is because potential newer, fitter umpires are put off the idea because of your attitude. (Which is the prevailing one throughout the football world).
I won't entertain the idea of 'dual rules'. There is no umpire in the world that would do that. It defeats the purpose and the idea of becoming an umpire in the first place.
Umpires do spend a lot of their time trying to improve. But what do you expect from someone who is paid about 1/10th of what Prior is on per game?
You sound like a very bitter umpire Krsuty123????
The Crumber
25 May 2008, 23:10
Why wouldn't North have the irrits if Mackie has committed to them and the been lured by emotion and $ to Jindera??
Would he have been immediately cleared from SANFL to HFL??? Perhaps he needed the O&M conduit to get out of whatever arrangement he was in over the border.
Maybe someone in the know could fill in the gaps there. Does he really want to play at "home", or is there some other reason that NA doesn't float his boat at the moment?
If it was his whole plan at the outset, it would take a thick & cynical hide to carry it through.
Maybe it's just the fecklessness (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/feckless) of youth. :)
Voltron
25 May 2008, 23:17
If umpirers are on 1/10th of what Prior is on then that is still almost double the average senior player wage. And do you know why players get paid? Because supporters pay money to go watch THE PLAYERS, and not the increasingly self absorbed ego driven umpires.
Too often umpires bring personal emotions into the game and it is reflective in there inability to handle the odd cuss word from a player vented in frustration. Hell it's even to the point were 50's are awarded against players without warning and without swearing.
You wanna talk about a tough job? How about recklessly running into a pack to win a hard ball against 3 opponents for your team and that is expected as the norm. This is a mans game, so officiate accordingly and harden the f*ck up. Grow some skin umpires, seriously. That's why umpires stocks are falling, because you represent the fraternity in an bewildering manner.
Run Straight
26 May 2008, 10:11
I believe umpires in a major league get $151 per game + 61c per km travel allowance where it is over 8km to the game.
Flowerpower
26 May 2008, 10:21
Wangaratta will win the flag easy unless cor ruth get the three players from box hill
to use a line from Big Brother....................."I don't think so" :D
Go Roos!
captain peanut
26 May 2008, 10:27
Wangaratta will win the flag easy unless cor ruth get the three players from box hill
to use a line from Big Brother....................."I don't think so" :D
Go Roos!
what was your summary of the game flower? from the scores looked like 1 way traffic. who played well, etc
Flowerpower
26 May 2008, 11:46
what was your summary of the game flower? from the scores looked like 1 way traffic. who played well, etc
Set up in the first quarter salted peanut.
Roos midfield dominated and gave full use to forwards, who also did the job. Schmidt ended with 7 and Clarky ran rampant. Jake "Rhino" Ryan was great - use of the pill outstanding. Raines the same.
Curtley Ambrose also stepped up and was very strong.
It was more the Roos hit targets and didn't turn it over, which has hurt them in weeks previous.
Another positive is they can still improve...........
captain peanut
26 May 2008, 17:51
Set up in the first quarter salted peanut.
Roos midfield dominated and gave full use to forwards, who also did the job. Schmidt ended with 7 and Clarky ran rampant. Jake "Rhino" Ryan was great - use of the pill outstanding. Raines the same.
Curtley Ambrose also stepped up and was very strong.
It was more the Roos hit targets and didn't turn it over, which has hurt them in weeks previous.
Another positive is they can still improve...........
do you know who was playing on schmidt? i see he kicked a lazy 7. very unusual to see a massive bag of goals kicked against the wang defence.
Gotheroos
26 May 2008, 20:40
If umpirers are on 1/10th of what Prior is on then that is still almost double the average senior player wage. And do you know why players get paid? Because supporters pay money to go watch THE PLAYERS, and not the increasingly self absorbed ego driven umpires.
Too often umpires bring personal emotions into the game and it is reflective in there inability to handle the odd cuss word from a player vented in frustration. Hell it's even to the point were 50's are awarded against players without warning and without swearing.
You wanna talk about a tough job? How about recklessly running into a pack to win a hard ball against 3 opponents for your team and that is expected as the norm. This is a mans game, so officiate accordingly and harden the f*ck up. Grow some skin umpires, seriously. That's why umpires stocks are falling, because you represent the fraternity in an bewildering manner.
Great post Voltron. :thumbsu:
Gotheroos
26 May 2008, 20:42
do you know who was playing on schmidt? i see he kicked a lazy 7. very unusual to see a massive bag of goals kicked against the wang defence.
Obviously no one :eek:
chicken38
26 May 2008, 21:13
By all accounts another petulant;self obsessed;individualistic;enormously overpriced performance by Adam Prior on the weekend.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:big words there switch
theBboi
26 May 2008, 22:19
wang will still win the flag theyve got about 4 to 5 blokes out and got pelly,jordy soll and also jai canny and maybe hopp there all asome players
Winmar_07
27 May 2008, 12:51
wang will still win the flag theyve got about 4 to 5 blokes out and got pelly,jordy soll and also jai canny and maybe hopp there all asome players
Mc Cormick is obviously the quality player they are missing but in saying that might take him a few rounds to get going match fitness is a big thing no matter who you are.. Pell and others are good honest players!
On the same token they needed to drop one somewhere.. but give credit to the Roos there gun players are clearly the best in the comp! RHYNO RAINESMAN CLARKE :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Flowerpower
27 May 2008, 13:48
I think it was one of the Melbourne imports cashew nut. Don't think he is the regular full back, but I may be mistaken.
Solid bloke and got done by pace a few times.
Pretty difficult though when ball coming in like a bullet from the steamtrain rhino...............!!!!!!:D
Hutchy 001
27 May 2008, 17:20
Matt Pendergast to captain the O&M this weekend
theBboi
27 May 2008, 17:28
mate dnt hopp is a quality player he will get bak into it like that and then its going to make other teams having to put there best player on him or tagger which will free up the other on ballers which i thoguht how they played on the weekend was sh********t so they need to be goin at full steamn to keep up wit hopp
theBboi
27 May 2008, 17:44
wer did you her that from mate
Glitter
27 May 2008, 17:58
Would be the obvious choice i would think out of the squad.
Very good player and great leader.
Bit supprising to see him be the only rep from Lavi with how they have gone so far this year.
Buckster
27 May 2008, 18:24
Would be the obvious choice i would think out of the squad.
Very good player and great leader.
Bit supprising to see him be the only rep from Lavi with how they have gone so far this year.
Any chance you could name the recent squad?
Gun Recruit
27 May 2008, 18:35
mate dnt hopp is a quality player he will get bak into it like that and then its going to make other teams having to put there best player on him or tagger which will free up the other on ballers which i thoguht how they played on the weekend was sh********t so they need to be goin at full steamn to keep up wit hopp
Mate if I were you id worry about getting some help with the english language before anything else
Glitter
27 May 2008, 18:41
Any chance you could name the recent squad?
Alb - Gaylard, Fowler, Bush
Raiders - Prior
Wod - Williams, Walker
Wang - Cosgriff, Clarke, Hayse, Porter, Lord, Trenfield, Higgs, Kirby
Yarra - Ednie, O'Bryan, Archibald, S.Oswald, L.Oswald, Carlyle, Wollington
North - Horn, R.Hodgson, Leslie
Corowa - Clark, Ryan, Schmidt, Carpenter
Rovers - J.Allan
Lavi - Pendergast
krusty123
27 May 2008, 23:50
and quote Run Straight
I believe umpires in a major league get $151 per game + 61c per km travel allowance where it is over 8km to the game.
You fellas are lot of fun when stirred up.
I agree with a fair chunk of what Voltron has to say. But he does prove my point with the piss-weak attitude to umpires who, believe it or not, are out there to do the best they possibly can.
The game is about the players. They are the ones putting their bodies on the line and you wouldn't see me putting my hand up to take that kind of physical beating.
Remember that it is not the umpires bringing the emotion to football by mouthing off at the players when they make a mistake. (I reckon that "the odd cuss word" is a little naive)
I have been an umpire for a over decade and I have met some ego-driven individuals (I won't name names). I have also personally umpired with the majority of senior umpires going round at the moment and I know that very few of them fit into this category.
Umpires do go out there to do their best and who can blame them for taking a gob-full of abuse from a player a little bit personally.
As for the payment issue. I am aware that the Senior O&M payment has gone up in the past few years that I have been away from Albury. I reckon the $151 would be the initial payment before insurance and admin deductions.
What is the average senior player payment I wonder?
Alb - Gaylard, Fowler, Bush
Raiders - Prior
Wod - Williams, Walker
Wang - Cosgriff, Clarke, Hayse, Porter, Lord, Trenfield, Higgs, Kirby
Yarra - Ednie, O'Bryan, Archibald, S.Oswald, L.Oswald, Carlyle, Wollington
North - Horn, R.Hodgson, Leslie
Corowa - Clark, Ryan, Schmidt, Carpenter
Rovers - J.Allan
Lavi - Pendergast
what about these players
A Butler-Lav
A.hill-rovers
K.Norman-rovers
Gun Recruit
28 May 2008, 10:44
and quote Run Straight
You fellas are lot of fun when stirred up.
I agree with a fair chunk of what Voltron has to say. But he does prove my point with the piss-weak attitude to umpires who, believe it or not, are out there to do the best they possibly can.
The game is about the players. They are the ones putting their bodies on the line and you wouldn't see me putting my hand up to take that kind of physical beating.
Remember that it is not the umpires bringing the emotion to football by mouthing off at the players when they make a mistake. (I reckon that "the odd cuss word" is a little naive)
I have been an umpire for a over decade and I have met some ego-driven individuals (I won't name names). I have also personally umpired with the majority of senior umpires going round at the moment and I know that very few of them fit into this category.
Umpires do go out there to do their best and who can blame them for taking a gob-full of abuse from a player a little bit personally.
As for the payment issue. I am aware that the Senior O&M payment has gone up in the past few years that I have been away from Albury. I reckon the $151 would be the initial payment before insurance and admin deductions.
What is the average senior player payment I wonder?
Just wanna say a few things on this matter.
Firstly, I do think the umpires are a little bit underpaid. I say this because I dont think its fair when an umpire is on $150 or even $200 a game and is being asked to umpire a game where there could be $10,000 or even $15,000 worth of players on the park. I think they should continue to be paid by their current employee BUT every week each club gives the ground umpires an extra $100 or even $50 each.
Secondly, I think the umpires in the O&M need to relax a bit and have a bit more of a personality. Personally, if im standing on the mark and am in the umpires ear about a shit decision and he tells me to shut up and concentrate on my own game is fine with me. They dont need to act like little girls and give thier whistles a toot and start going back 50m.
So umpires, remember its not personal and give a bit back every now and then, then I reckon the game will become a better spectacle and umpires wont be disliked as much :thumbsu:
Silver_kid
28 May 2008, 12:37
Just wondering what the latest is with Mackie's clearance? Has anymore happened?
Pretty ordinary to make a bloke sit out of footy for a full season, obviously doesn't want to play at North Albury for a reason.
Jonathon Brown
28 May 2008, 12:42
Just wondering what the latest is with Mackie's clearance? Has anymore happened?
Pretty ordinary to make a bloke sit out of footy for a full season, obviously doesn't want to play at North Albury for a reason.
Pretty ordinary to demand $$$$$ and the club agrees to it on a 2 year deal. Then half way through you pull out.
Silver_kid
28 May 2008, 12:48
Pretty ordinary to demand $$$$$ and the club agrees to it on a 2 year deal. Then half way through you pull out.
You have to wonder why so many players have left north albury recently..???
bf virge
28 May 2008, 14:12
Firstly, I do think the umpires are a little bit underpaid. I say this because I dont think its fair when an umpire is on $150 or even $200 a game and is being asked to umpire a game where there could be $10,000 or even $15,000 worth of players on the park. I think they should continue to be paid by their current employee BUT every week each club gives the ground umpires an extra $100 or even $50 each.
Secondly, I think the umpires in the O&M need to relax a bit and have a bit more of a personality. Personally, if im standing on the mark and am in the umpires ear about a shit decision and he tells me to shut up and concentrate on my own game is fine with me. They dont need to act like little girls and give thier whistles a toot and start going back 50m.
So umpires, remember its not personal and give a bit back every now and then, then I reckon the game will become a better spectacle and umpires wont be disliked as much :thumbsu:
Arnt the clubs "their current employees" anyway.
Buckster
28 May 2008, 14:31
what about these players
A Butler-Lav
A.hill-rovers
K.Norman-rovers
What about:
Shir-Dogs - Or is he resting the big rig for a week?
Gun Recruit
28 May 2008, 14:37
Arnt the clubs "their current employees" anyway.
North East Umpires board or whatever its called is their employee isnt it ?
Silver_kid
28 May 2008, 14:51
What about:
Is that you shirry?
bf virge
28 May 2008, 15:47
North East Umpires board or whatever its called is their employee isnt it ?
Yes mate but who do you think pays them the money so they can distribute it to the umps??
forward pocket
28 May 2008, 19:55
Is that you shirry?
Shir should definately be in the side - but so should about 15 others. I presume there were alot of 'no thank you's'??
To me the side or squad or whatever it is looks very light on - thank God the Magpies and Yarra seem to take it seriously. Be interested to know who from what club said 'no' to a game?? Anyone know?? Again it is miles away from the best 25 players in the comp.
THE CEO
28 May 2008, 21:33
...Secondly, I think the umpires in the O&M need to relax a bit and have a bit more of a personality. Personally, if im standing on the mark and am in the umpires ear about a shit decision and he tells me to shut up and concentrate on my own game is fine with me. They dont need to act like little girls and give thier whistles a toot and start going back 50m.
I can't talk about this year Gun, but you do make an excellent point about making sure that umpires have a personality. I cant imagine that they want to spend two hours on a weekend not being involved with the players and enjoying the game.
The only issue with this is that some players dont quite know where to draw the line - surely its ok to ask a question about a decision, but would you talk to your boss or teacher the same way that you would yell or shout to an umpire on saturday?
I have also been pondering the issue about umpires fitness and i wonder if this is being tackled from the wrong direction. I know that the O&M umpires must pass fitness tests in order to be selected for games. However the umpires have acknowledged that they are struggling to get new recruits and they have an aging list that with the rules of genetics means that they slow down over time.
Yet as a football officianados we expect them to keep up with players that are in their early to mid 20's and are able to get a footy from one end of the ground (lets say 160m) to the other in less than 20 seconds in some cases. I challenge anyone to be able to do this over a 2 hour period with only 2 of them. Why do you think that the coaches now rotate their midfield - they want 10 minutes of maximum intensity and to run the legs off their opponents.
I know the umpires wanted to move to a 3 umpire system to help with forward line infringements & to reduce the physical stress on the umpires whom are running approx. 16km a game. This would cost about $35 per club per week. But the O&M board decided that this wasnt needed - Not the umpires.
Bottom line is that forwards are always going to be harshly treated because the umps may miss an early hold from a defender - but surely this also occurs at the opposite end of the ground. As the saying goes - your not going to please all the people all the time.
Just something to ponder.
krusty123
28 May 2008, 23:39
I can't talk about this year Gun, but you do make an excellent point about making sure that umpires have a personality. I cant imagine that they want to spend two hours on a weekend not being involved with the players and enjoying the game.
The only issue with this is that some players dont quite know where to draw the line - surely its ok to ask a question about a decision, but would you talk to your boss or teacher the same way that you would yell or shout to an umpire on saturday?
I have also been pondering the issue about umpires fitness and i wonder if this is being tackled from the wrong direction. I know that the O&M umpires must pass fitness tests in order to be selected for games. However the umpires have acknowledged that they are struggling to get new recruits and they have an aging list that with the rules of genetics means that they slow down over time.
Yet as a football officianados we expect them to keep up with players that are in their early to mid 20's and are able to get a footy from one end of the ground (lets say 160m) to the other in less than 20 seconds in some cases. I challenge anyone to be able to do this over a 2 hour period with only 2 of them. Why do you think that the coaches now rotate their midfield - they want 10 minutes of maximum intensity and to run the legs off their opponents.
I know the umpires wanted to move to a 3 umpire system to help with forward line infringements & to reduce the physical stress on the umpires whom are running approx. 16km a game. This would cost about $35 per club per week. But the O&M board decided that this wasnt needed - Not the umpires.
Bottom line is that forwards are always going to be harshly treated because the umps may miss an early hold from a defender - but surely this also occurs at the opposite end of the ground. As the saying goes - your not going to please all the people all the time.
Just something to ponder.
Its good to see that some good discussion has been stimulated by a few outbursts.
There are some ideas that I reckon are really good. Especially the idea of asking a question to get an answer as opposed to giving a spray and copping 50.
While we're pondering give this little story a thought.
15 years ago there was a surplus of umpires. The Albury Umpires League was supplying umpires to the O&M, TDFL, Hume League, Coreen League, Upper Murray on Saturday and AWJFL and Riverina on Sunday. ALL GRADES down to 3rds.
As I understand it now only O&M 1's and 2's and most district 1's get AUL umpires. Riverina and Coreen has gone, Upper Murray is an afterthought. All the other grades are supplied by club blokes filling in out of necessity
The numbers say it all. Something has gone wrong in this time.
More money would help. Especially in keeping good umpires running. This is how it works: the AUL invoices the leagues for their services who, in turn, invoice their clubs. i.e. the Clubs already foot the bill.
I highlighted the sentence in CEO's quote because this is important to me when I umpire. And perhaps a few umpires could do well remembering it. We are only part of the game, an important part yes, but still only one part.
I'm sure there are some sideline experts out there who are capable and even interested. Those are the people we need to solve the umpiring problem. I can pass on contact numbers should anyone want to put their hand up.
NB: I left before the North East Umpires Board was formed so you may need to replace AUL with NEUB in some places. The AUL does still exist though.
im thinking i mite umpire when i get back, just for something different.
Shir should definately be in the side - but so should about 15 others. I presume there were alot of 'no thank you's'??
To me the side or squad or whatever it is looks very light on - thank God the Magpies and Yarra seem to take it seriously. Be interested to know who from what club said 'no' to a game?? Anyone know?? Again it is miles away from the best 25 players in the comp.
The truth is the whole O and M comp is light on compared to what it was four or five years ago. I watched the GF last year after being away for a few, and was staggered at the drop in standard for supposedly the two best sides in it.
I’ve watched this forum recently and all I see is everyone raving about Jake Ryan??? Deary me......
I think if he is rated one of the best on-ballers running around then that is a fair reflection on how the O and M standard has dropped.
JOHN DENVER
29 May 2008, 11:38
The truth is the whole O and M comp is light on compared to what it was four or five years ago. I watched the GF last year after being away for a few, and was staggered at the drop in standard for supposedly the two best sides in it.
I’ve watched this forum recently and all I see is everyone raving about Jake Ryan??? Deary me......
I think if he is rated one of the best on-ballers running around then that is a fair reflection on how the O and M standard has dropped.
i think your maybe right about the standard dropping jman, and its probably more due to the lack of depth now in the o&m due to the big $$$ fofered to fringe senior players in country leagues. however its jake ryan raving about jake ryan on this forum so i wouldnt take much notice of what flowerpower, winmar and captin peanut etc have to say
Silver_kid
29 May 2008, 11:46
i think your maybe right about the standard dropping jman, and its probably more due to the lack of depth now in the o&m due to the big $$$ fofered to fringe senior players in country leagues. however its jake ryan raving about jake ryan on this forum so i wouldnt take much notice of what flowerpower, winmar and captin peanut etc have to say
I get sick of reading about him also boys
Agree has dropped a lot in the past ten years, just doesnt have the depth of senior players like it used to.
im thinking i mite umpire when i get back, just for something different.
........and just how do you think you will cover the 16km a game as an umpire Head??? You didnt manage to do that in the last 2 years of your "career" as a player!!!
Agree with others' comments regarding the personality issues of umpires. The best umpires are able to build a rapport with the players and even dish out a bit of sledging of their own. It is the umpires who act all "high and mighty" and think they are great that get the most abuse for incorrect decisions.
Joel Mackie should be directed by the O&M to take up umpiring for the rest of the season. Wouldn't allocate any North Albury games for him though!
Gun Recruit
29 May 2008, 15:07
Totally agree with that last comment, the blokes got issues. Could easily be the first bloke in history to walk down the aisle with a mirror
Flowerpower
29 May 2008, 15:11
Agree has dropped a lot in the past ten years, just doesnt have the depth of senior players like it used to.
Sounds like plenty of old and bitter blokes on this forum.
The game has changed gents. No more are your muscle bound meat heads that got kicks from intimidation and brutal player attacks running around.
Why has it changed? Kids moving into other sports (basketball and soccer to name a couple) so numbers dropped away. Quality dropped away though? Probably not IMO. Skills and execution much better from top players (seniors). Reserves is mostly kick and giggle.
And once and for all, Flowerpower is not Jake Ryan.
I will let you in on a little flower secret though - I have played the game at its second highest (VFL) level. So hopefully I can make a judgement about football and that I will not get howled down (especially John Denver) every time I write. I played in an era that when you were knocked down you came up swinging. Not that I was any good - my nose a testament to that!
I am a pimple in the outer - Rhino would not even know me. Not many of the Roos boys would even know me. I just sit back and enjoy the footy each week with my cup of tea and timtams.
Lastly, Rhino - please keep yourself injury free this weekend. That goes for all the Roos boys........
Go Roos!
The game has changed gents. No more are your muscle bound meat heads that got kicks from intimidation and brutal player attacks running around.
Why has it changed? Kids moving into other sports (basketball and soccer to name a couple) so numbers dropped away. Quality dropped away though? Probably not IMO. Skills and execution much better from top players (seniors). Reserves is mostly kick and giggle.
I will let you in on a little flower secret though - I have played the game at its second highest (VFL) level. So hopefully I can make a judgement about football and that I will not get howled down (especially John Denver) every time I write. I played in an era that when you were knocked down you came up swinging. Not that I was any good - my nose a testament to that!
I am a pimple in the outer - Rhino would not even know me. Not many of the Roos boys would even know me. I just sit back and enjoy the footy each week with my cup of tea and timtams.
Lastly, Rhino - please keep yourself injury free this weekend. That goes for all the Roos boys........
Go Roos!
Let me get this straight - you state that you played in the era where you got knocked down and came up swinging..... so you are one of the muscle bound meat heads that intimidated and brutalised players, that you refer to earlier in your spiel???
You really are a meat head. Say gday to your son Jake for me:)
Go Roos!
Rack off Jake you goose!… no-one cares if you get injured. Hopefully your fingers become defunct somehow so you can stop boring everyone by typing comments about yourself on this forum.
What kind of person/player gets on a country footy forum and writes about himself useing multiple aliases anyway? That is hilarious and sad at the same time...
Be good Jake :-)
Thanks for the insight John Denver, Silver Kid, Gun Recruit and Big H… Hopefully with my help you can weed Jake off this forum.
Flowerpower
29 May 2008, 16:44
Rack off Jake you goose!… no-one cares if you get injured. Hopefully your fingers become defunct somehow so you can stop boring everyone by typing comments about yourself on this forum.
What kind of person/player gets on a country footy forum and writes about himself useing multiple aliases anyway? That is hilarious and sad at the same time...
Be good Jake :-)
Thanks for the insight John Denver, Silver Kid, Gun Recruit and Big H… Hopefully with my help you can weed Jake off this forum.
I'll prove it you gooses. He plays in the rep game Friday night? I'll type a post when he is on the ground. Or Perhaps Saturday? You name a time and I'll type, unless it is the following Saturday when the Roos are playing because timtams come first. :)
I think I get bites on Ryan because everyone is genuinely scared of his damaging impact on games.
And just FYI, I said I was no good. Couldn't land a punch with the other blokes hands tied behind his back! I played in the era but wouldn't hurt a butterfly.
FP
captain peanut
29 May 2008, 16:56
since when have i been talking up jake ryan?? like some of the other views expressed today, i am just as sick of reading comments on here banging on about him. from what i've seen he's a pretty good player, but certainly not in the top handful of midfielders in the comp.
Flowerpower
29 May 2008, 17:04
since when have i been talking up jake ryan?? like some of the other views expressed today, i am just as sick of reading comments on here banging on about him. from what i've seen he's a pretty good player, but certainly not in the top handful of midfielders in the comp.
Yeah, don't know how they grouped you in peanut! Once of the first fish I landed I think! :D
Go Roos.
thinkbig
29 May 2008, 17:47
Yeah, don't know how they grouped you in peanut! Once of the first fish I landed I think! :D
Go Roos.
haha i love it... i hope FP is the Rhino i think its good for footy and you blokes who are whingin are playin in to it a treat... keep it up meatheads!
i hope the hawkers can start their onslaught that everyone knows they'll produce pretty soon... its goin to exhilirating to watch them evolve and take the comp by storm... they have been crucified with injuries to their stars and you will see them all come back red hot... im excited...! be good to see the Rhino in action after the bye... i hope FP can choose TB to write for him while he's playin...
lets take em down FP
Go Hawks
TB
Flowerpower
29 May 2008, 18:11
haha i love it... i hope FP is the Rhino i think its good for footy and you blokes who are whingin are playin in to it a treat... keep it up meatheads!
i hope the hawkers can start their onslaught that everyone knows they'll produce pretty soon... its goin to exhilirating to watch them evolve and take the comp by storm... they have been crucified with injuries to their stars and you will see them all come back red hot... im excited...! be good to see the Rhino in action after the bye... i hope FP can choose TB to write for him while he's playin...
lets take em down FP
Go Hawks
TB
I hope they actually do play Thinkbig because how easy would it be to suck them in onfield!
hahahahahaha :)
The line is in but I haven't had a response from the fish yet............
nibble nibble...........
hang on......
nibble nibble...........:D:D
Winmar_07
30 May 2008, 11:04
What about:
Another that probably couldn't be bothered more interested in the horses...
My boy Raines was a certain starter then all of a sudden he is out of the squad anyone know the story there?? The kid is on fire lately... maybe his joining shir at the local TOTE?
captain peanut
30 May 2008, 16:38
Go Roos.
FP
if you are who i think you are, i could have sworn i saw you running around elgar park for box hill north in the good old ammos D4 section only a few weeks back? which would mean you don't get to see too much of the rhino live in action i suppose, which must a source of tremendous heartache to your good self.
CP
Aaron Fiora
30 May 2008, 18:44
Just wondering if anyone could fill me in on the omfl squad for the vcfl championships.
Big Departure coming up for the panthers! No name for you all yet, but keep your eye on the transfers on the O&M site... apparently not seeing eye to eye with the coach and got a decent offer in a lower league!!!:rolleyes:
Can anyone tell me who won the VCFL player of the carnival award? And who got O&M best player?
I had to leae early from the game today,but would think Kyle Archibald would have to have got the O&m award if not both, any help ?
Flowerpower
2 Jun 2008, 12:03
FP
if you are who i think you are, i could have sworn i saw you running around elgar park for box hill north in the good old ammos D4 section only a few weeks back? which would mean you don't get to see too much of the rhino live in action i suppose, which must a source of tremendous heartache to your good self.
CP
No I'm Jake Ryan!!!!!! :)
21goals4
2 Jun 2008, 16:36
Big Departure coming up for the panthers! No name for you all yet, but keep your eye on the transfers on the O&M site... apparently not seeing eye to eye with the coach and got a decent offer in a lower league!!!:rolleyes:
Interesting way to put it there head, I am sure it will create a stir when spotted, and yes he has always had problem with authority figures in his life!
Home Truth
2 Jun 2008, 18:17
Paul Kirby has been in great form of late. Is there any truth to the rumour that his confidence has been buoyed by a second placing in a local beauty contest?
Shagger34
2 Jun 2008, 18:29
2/6/2008 024928 SANSON, Timothy Lavington 2003 > Player > Northern Riverina FL > Lake Cargelligo > In Progress
Whaaa? :eek: