View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50

Darc21
2 Jun 2008, 23:05
2/6/2008 024928 SANSON, Timothy Lavington 2003 > Player > Northern Riverina FL > Lake Cargelligo > In Progress

Whaaa? :eek:

The Sanson's have pretty strong family connections in the Lake Cargelligo area with the previous generations growing up and still residing there. Wouldn't imagine it would all be about the coin having said that.....

head16
3 Jun 2008, 02:51
The Sanson's have pretty strong family connections in the Lake Cargelligo area with the previous generations growing up and still residing there. Wouldn't imagine it would all be about the coin having said that.....

Spot on. Most of the 'Seniors' in the Sanson clan still live there, inlcuding his parents, and those that don't still call it home. Coin is certainly not a part of the deal! It remains to be seen whether he'll actually play a game for them or not. He'll be busy most weekends during the footy season!

21goals4
3 Jun 2008, 15:56
Spot on. Most of the 'Seniors' in the Sanson clan still live there, inlcuding his parents, and those that don't still call it home. Coin is certainly not a part of the deal! It remains to be seen whether he'll actually play a game for them or not. He'll be busy most weekends during the footy season!

will the bordermail get hold of it, I would imagine we wont be able to read about on the internet site anyway

21goals4
3 Jun 2008, 15:58
will the bordermail get hold of it, I would imagine we wont be able to read about on the internet site anyway

well i have been proved wrong, first lavy story i have seen on their site in ages

raidrboy
3 Jun 2008, 22:21
Can anyone tell me who won the VCFL player of the carnival award? And who got O&M best player?

I had to leae early from the game today,but would think Kyle Archibald would have to have got the O&m award if not both, any help ?

Matt Pendergast won the O & M best player award.

I think Col Durie from the GVFL won the best player at the carnival.

theBboi
4 Jun 2008, 22:16
how good is Sam Carpenter watched him agaisnt wang he did alrite and then on the weeknd relly impressed me in the interleague all the other onballers in the other teams struglled on him he inialted them

KokodaMidget
5 Jun 2008, 10:32
how good is Sam Carpenter watched him agaisnt wang he did alrite and then on the weeknd relly impressed me in the interleague all the other onballers in the other teams struglled on him he inialted them

Mate, feel free to ring a bloke named Oxford, he writes a little book called the Dictionary, could help you somewhat with your posts.

Yeah, Carpenter is a very good player, pretty clean skills which is a credit to him.

Home Truth
5 Jun 2008, 20:21

I was surprised Carpenter was picked in the side. I dont rate him at all. Especially as a bloke.

windaaa68
5 Jun 2008, 22:33
i have heard good things about one sam higgs. your thoughts?

Flying.Half-Forward
6 Jun 2008, 10:02
I was surprised Carpenter was picked in the side. I dont rate him at all. Especially as a bloke.

Gee obviously you don't rate many footballers in this league then cos he's up there with the best of them and by all accounts was in the best players at the championships last weekend.

captain peanut
6 Jun 2008, 10:36

very good onballer/half forward. he was the key in wang's premiership win last year. not only did he return to the club but he brought with him clarke pell and lord who were all instrumental in the success. in turn this year the bullant connection has harvested jesse smith and michael hooper

switch the play
6 Jun 2008, 12:19
Prior wont play against his old club 2moz although named.:cool::cool:

Flying.Half-Forward
6 Jun 2008, 12:39
Prior wont play against his old club 2moz although named.:cool::cool:

Any particular reason for this. Injured??

theBboi
6 Jun 2008, 18:05
yer sammy goes pretty good he noes were to find the ball and how to use it and he is a good bloke

theBboi
6 Jun 2008, 18:07

you must not have watched any of his games then becuase he kills it or are you lookin at the wrong player mate

switch the play
6 Jun 2008, 19:49
Any particular reason for this. Injured??
yes slightly injured and slighty scared.On another note T Hodgson surely has egg on his face(not that he spills much food)after his back page comments that Mackie will not be cleared.Guess what ?Mackie cleared.

Macgyver
9 Jun 2008, 18:05
http://omfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=40309&orgID=381&Oname=Ovens+%26+Murray+FL&O1c=5&O10c=5

So what are everybody’s thoughts of the futher strengthening of an already powerful magpies outfit?? Or will the damages of tomorrow’s review decision catch up with the pies before the reinforcements arrive, the stocks are starting to get low down at the Norm Minns... You never know old "Snorkel" could almost be in line for a senior run if the tribunal get the scalps as expected

Flying.Half-Forward
9 Jun 2008, 18:17
http://omfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=40309&orgID=381&Oname=Ovens+%26+Murray+FL&O1c=5&O10c=5

So what are everybody’s thoughts of the futher strengthening of an already powerful magpies outfit?? Or will the damages of tomorrow’s review decision catch up with the pies before the reinforcements arrive, the stocks are starting to get low down at the Norm Minns... You never know old "Snorkel" could almost be in line for a senior run if the tribunal get the scalps as expected

Well Macgyver i don't think the stocks are running quite that low that "Snorks" will get a game, however, Daine Porter could be missing this week and maybe Ed clarke as well. But i guess all will be revealed tomorrow night.

Macgyver
9 Jun 2008, 18:41
Yes FHF you may be on the money there old boy. One Pete Nicolas who i must add is just the perfect specimen of a male would be pushing selection after a good showing on the weekend, if the expected absence of young edward comes to life that is

head16
10 Jun 2008, 07:16
So with the North/Wang investigation complete, i read there have been a few reports laid. I notice the porter boys were mentioned and the way i read it, sounds as though Judd was reported early in the game. Godde was the bloke they were giving it to, but he and Daine weren't reported til the second quarter.

Now be aware i'm in England and have been all year, so i don't know enough about it. But was it the Porter boys trying to fix him up for some reason or had Godde drilled one of them with a headbutt that sparked the boys into action?

I'm just interested to know who got the ball rolling in the whole chain of events. Because the way the story on the BMM site reads, its as if Judd Porter got things going, cos he was reported earlier. Knowing what he plays like I doubt it, and what Godde is like, i'd suggest Porter was retaliating to something.

If Godde had headbutted him to spark it, I hope the wang boys gave him a good old fashion touch up for his troubles.

Be interesting to see if they hand out wristslaps or punishment at the tribunal.

captain peanut
10 Jun 2008, 14:11

the reinforcements might arrive at just the right time. thayer is a real bonus especially with steer being troubled by a back injury that is going to see him miss the next couple at least. few injury concerns at the norm minns oval currently, with henry cairns solimo canny steer d mccormick all unavailable on the weekend. i think henry and solimo will be back this week, and pell is set to resume in the 2's from his knee reco

i saw the 2's on the weekend and nicolas has to be a big chance to come in this week v yarra, especially with the likelihood of some suspensions arising from the investigation in to the wang v nth alb clash

ECHUCABOY
10 Jun 2008, 17:51
How about the return of the great Tom Dickson to the Raiders!!

All hail the great man, looks like the area of Albury/Wodonga could be in for a bout of Syphillis if he has his way!

nonch
11 Jun 2008, 11:44
Any thoughts on the suspensions resulting from the wang-north albury investigation? 5 weeks for D Porter, 2 weeks for Judd, while Godde only got 2 for his head butt, and made a point of dobbing on the Porter boys. Hodgson came off a bit righteous about the whole thing too.

Hitman01
11 Jun 2008, 12:47
Any thoughts on the suspensions resulting from the wang-north albury investigation? 5 weeks for D Porter, 2 weeks for Judd, while Godde only got 2 for his head butt, and made a point of dobbing on the Porter boys. Hodgson came off a bit righteous about the whole thing too.
yeah a dog act from godde dobbing in the wang blokes. have the feeling he woulda been largely influenced by hoggy though. North Albury arent making too many friends down there with hoggy as coach.

Give me a Pie
11 Jun 2008, 13:33
yeah no doubt a dog act if he dobbed the magpies in as well. this to go with his other couragous act of headbutting.

Can someone explain to me how one bloke can get 2 weeks for a pi** weak effort (Goode head butt) while another gets 5 for throwing a couple of punches at Goode after the headbutt

Wheres the consistancy boys?:thumbsd:

Pearce off Jack
11 Jun 2008, 14:22
yeah no doubt a dog act if he dobbed the magpies in as well. this to go with his other couragous act of headbutting.

Can someone explain to me how one bloke can get 2 weeks for a pi** weak effort (Goode head butt) while another gets 5 for throwing a couple of punches at Goode after the headbutt

Wheres the consistancy boys?:thumbsd:
More like give you a tissue! You wang people are the biggest pack of whingers i have ever seen!Just play bloody footy and wear the bumps and bruises like everyone else!!!!

Agent
11 Jun 2008, 14:40
More like give you a tissue! You wang people are the biggest pack of whingers i have ever seen!Just play bloody footy and wear the bumps and bruises like everyone else!!!!

Funny how things change Wang Maggies, remember season 2005 one magpies player at tribunal clearly saying B.Murray hit him!!!!
I agree with Pearce off Jack.
Toughen up princess's!!!!

bodi
11 Jun 2008, 15:00
Funny how things change Wang Maggies, remember season 2005 one magpies player at tribunal clearly saying B.Murray hit him!!!!
I agree with Pearce off Jack.
Toughen up princess's!!!!

I agree, no use whinging about it. By the sounds of it the video evidence played a big hand in it.

Although it does seem a bit weird that both J Porter and Godde both got 2 weeks.

Case closed now lets move on, well until North play Wang again

nonch
11 Jun 2008, 16:11
Just wanted to say I'm not having a whinge - I don't mind the wang boys being suspended, i don't barrack for them. And I'd add that they probably aren't too woried about playing the game, given they won the match by 10 goals. Just thought it odd that Godde only got two weeks for a headbutt - would have thought that would be deemed as more serious than a punch. And the whole dobbing thing is pretty weak in my opinion. Anyway, it's all healthy discussion!

mrbiggles
11 Jun 2008, 18:35

its more like hoggy having a cry, he's got a short memory if he cant recall september last year (actually dont blame him:D). mackie leaving them seems a good decison now. wheter u agree with it or not the code of silence has been around for a long time, sounded like the hoppers had a grudge.

Voltron
11 Jun 2008, 19:41
I'm not a fan at all of Wang or Nth for that matter, but I find it all pretty funny.

Anyway, on a lighter note. Anyone go to the Lavi v Myrt game on Sunday. No suprise on the result, but I heard Tristen Purss took a hanger on Butler in the first quarter. Anyone see it?

DROUGHTSY
11 Jun 2008, 19:59
The treatment they gave godde that day from the opening bounce was pissweak and porter deserved more than that singular headbutt,wang boys were lining up to hit godde when the scuffle broke out even when he was on the ground they kept punching him,thats pissweak

big hawk
11 Jun 2008, 20:28
[quote=DROUGHTSY;11339026]The treatment they gave godde that day from the opening bounce was pissweak and porter deserved more than that singular headbutt,wang boys were lining up to hit godde when the scuffle broke out even when he was on the ground they kept punching him,thats pissweak[/quote

Just watched the Win News item on the tribunal hearing about the Wang / North game and what a joke! Droughtsy, you need to get your head check! Obviously you werent at the GF last year. North Albury have short memories......... what goes around, comes around! Don't condone what happened in the most recent outbreak but it all stems from the treatment the Hoppers dished out to one J McCormick on GF day. Talk about pissweak!!!!! That was one of the most disgusting displays of cowardness Ive ever seen! Trying to take out a bloke playing on one wing and now that the shoe is on the other foot, they're all squealing like stuck pigs! Goode and Hodgson really have made a mockery of the addage about not being able to take a bit of their own medicine. If you can't take it, don't dish it out in the first place!!!! Just opens the doors for more tension and bad blood come the next time these two sides meet! Don't normally come on here, but after seeing that on TV, just couldn't help myself. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

6uldv8
11 Jun 2008, 20:56
[quote=DROUGHTSY;11339026]The treatment they gave godde that day from the opening bounce was pissweak and porter deserved more than that singular headbutt,wang boys were lining up to hit godde when the scuffle broke out even when he was on the ground they kept punching him,thats pissweak[/quote

Just watched the Win News item on the tribunal hearing about the Wang / North game and what a joke! Droughtsy, you need to get your head check! Obviously you werent at the GF last year. North Albury have short memories......... what goes around, comes around! Don't condone what happened in the most recent outbreak but it all stems from the treatment the Hoppers dished out to one J McCormick on GF day. Talk about pissweak!!!!! That was one of the most disgusting displays of cowardness Ive ever seen! Trying to take out a bloke playing on one wing and now that the shoe is on the other foot, they're all squealing like stuck pigs! Goode and Hodgson really have made a mockery of the addage about not being able to take a bit of their own medicine. If you can't take it, don't dish it out in the first place!!!! Just opens the doors for more tension and bad blood come the next time these two sides meet! Don't normally come on here, but after seeing that on TV, just couldn't help myself. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Bring on Round 15 is all I can say:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Macgyver
11 Jun 2008, 21:26
I just love the reveiw panels style... Jon McCormick is repeatitively felled in premeditated fashion countless times in the grannie and nothing comes from it, however the wang boys fly the flag after that little germ goode snipes the pies captain (after having already attempting an act of greveous bodily harm on him mind you) and they good to town on us.... I dont argue that Daines "wonder strike" was worthy of a break, but why doesnt the instergater of the whole mess get repremanded harder! When the O&M and all footy leagues for that matter get some common sense in their decisions i'll be a very happy man

Short Black
11 Jun 2008, 22:14
lets put this all in perspective.
After the Grand final, when Nth Alb went way too far in testing out Jon Mc. All sides would have tested him, probably just not that much. Make no mistake, Wangaratta was asked by the league to file a complaint, and left hanging when the investigation failed.
As far as the latest game, which i attended, is concerned. It would never have led to an investigation if the Grand final wasn,t taken into consideration. It was a tough game with a couple of good blues. yes there was a bit of squaring up. Most of which Goode bought on himself on the day. But to his credit Hodgson seemed to recognise it and left him off for the 2nd half, or most of it. The findings of this latest investigation seem to be way off the mark again. But lets just finish the Bullsh#t & move on.
yes I am a Wang supporter and I think we should let this go now.

RatherHaveABeer
11 Jun 2008, 22:24
Interesting to see the cheap personal attack from Brad McGrath against one John McNamara in Monday's Border Mail..... Not having much sympathy for the Hawks at all I still found it a pretty weak effort from someone who is supposed to present an impersonal review of the match to use a medium that many of the border & north east footy fans read to have his little tantrum.

From my point of view, any coach would be seething after the Hawks efforts on Saturday and if it were me I reckon I would need some time to cool down before talking to the media, as opposed to being pressured to talk as he was walking into the rooms like 'big red' claims he was.

Honestly Brad McGrath, the jokes on you for your childish hissy fit. Face it, your in the media, you wont always get your own way, deal with it in the manner your paid too.

thurgood
12 Jun 2008, 01:31
Interesting to see the cheap personal attack from Brad McGrath against one John McNamara in Monday's Border Mail..... Not having much sympathy for the Hawks at all I still found it a pretty weak effort from someone who is supposed to present an impersonal review of the match to use a medium that many of the border & north east footy fans read to have his little tantrum.

From my point of view, any coach would be seething after the Hawks efforts on Saturday and if it were me I reckon I would need some time to cool down before talking to the media, as opposed to being pressured to talk as he was walking into the rooms like 'big red' claims he was.

Honestly Brad McGrath, the jokes on you for your childish hissy fit. Face it, your in the media, you wont always get your own way, deal with it in the manner your paid too.

id hardly say it was cheap and personal ... i think if the whole crowd laughs at how bad the rovers were then it is justified.

u would never see peter tossoll or travis hodgson refuse to speak after a game, it's part of a coaches job.

if john doesnt want to deal with the pressure maybe he could come and help robbie murray simplify things out here at jindera.

head16
12 Jun 2008, 04:06
Forgive me for bringing it up again, but who/what started the whole Wang/North stoush?

Was it Porter and wang targeting Godde, as Travis points out in the paper, to which he responds with the headbutt.
OR
was it Godde throwing the headbutt that started the whole saga...

I had a go at Godde on my last post assuming he'd started it all. But i'm not sure that i'm right.
Can anyone answer the question without putting a North or Wang bias to it? or am i just not going to get a clear answer cos no-one really knows or cares anymore.

head16
12 Jun 2008, 04:09
I'm not a fan at all of Wang or Nth for that matter, but I find it all pretty funny.

Anyway, on a lighter note. Anyone go to the Lavi v Myrt game on Sunday. No suprise on the result, but I heard Tristen Purss took a hanger on Butler in the first quarter. Anyone see it?

Prob not, Lavi have a poor following and myrt prob don't have many watching considering current form. Being in the first quarter means the reserves boys are still in the showers... I'd reckon you got about 50 people out there that might've seen it...

Glitter
12 Jun 2008, 09:27
Forgive me for bringing it up again, but who/what started the whole Wang/North stoush?

Was it Porter and wang targeting Godde, as Travis points out in the paper, to which he responds with the headbutt.
OR

I had a go at Godde on my last post assuming he'd started it all. But i'm not sure that i'm right.
Can anyone answer the question without putting a North or Wang bias to it? or am i just not going to get a clear answer cos no-one really knows or cares anymore.

Head - I'll give you an account of what i have been told from people from a few defferent clubs that were there (Including one North fella)
Hopefully this is the last thing said about it.
Apparently this has all come about from the Hoppers putting in every Wang bloke they could.

1st Qtr was between J.Porter & Godde. I got told that they both bumped each other then just had a push and shove. Porter got 2 weeks for a jumper punch but didn't say anything about Godde as he thought "it was all part of football and there wasn't anything in it"

2nd Qtr Godde got 2 weeks for a headbutt on J.Porter. D.Porter recieved 5 for coming to stick up for his brother - He did however get 2 punches into Godde pleading guilty as i understand.
Also in the fight Murray got 2 for landing a good one on Trenfield or Lord (Sorry i can't remember which one.)

Interesting to note the North bloke i spoke with who i have known for a long time said that Godde had this coming for a long time and probably "needs to cop a few" & that how embarrased there coach has made the club look.

Not too worried about the outcome as North will have a couple out this week V the mighty panthers and so might Wang in a few weeks.
Hope this helps old head? How is the trip mate? Getting much sun on those legs?
I also hear Stevo is on track for a late season comeback!

Flying.Half-Forward
12 Jun 2008, 10:16
Interesting to note that Daine Porter's 5-game suspension ends after round 14. This means he will be free to play in the Magpies' round 15 match against - you guessed it - North Albury.

nonch
12 Jun 2008, 10:21
id hardly say it was cheap and personal ... i think if the whole crowd laughs at how bad the rovers were then it is justified.

u would never see peter tossoll or travis hodgson refuse to speak after a game, it's part of a coaches job.

if john doesnt want to deal with the pressure maybe he could come and help robbie murray simplify things out here at jindera.
Definitely poor form from The Border Mail - it did come across as a personal attack. So John didn't want to speak to Brad after the match - how different is that from a coach who just gives yes or no answers. Making a ridiculous headline out of it seems a tad self-righteous. John's refusal probably goes back to the "dumb footy" headline they used a few weeks back - again, making headlines out of off the cuff comments. Don't think he will be particularly forthcoming with Brad in future...

captain peanut
12 Jun 2008, 11:08
Head - I'll give you an account of what i have been told from people from a few defferent clubs that were there (Including one North fella)
Hopefully this is the last thing said about it.
Apparently this has all come about from the Hoppers putting in every Wang bloke they could.

1st Qtr was between J.Porter & Godde. I got told that they both bumped each other then just had a push and shove. Porter got 2 weeks for a jumper punch but didn't say anything about Godde as he thought "it was all part of football and there wasn't anything in it"

2nd Qtr Godde got 2 weeks for a headbutt on J.Porter. D.Porter recieved 5 for coming to stick up for his brother - He did however get 2 punches into Godde pleading guilty as i understand.
Also in the fight Murray got 2 for landing a good one on Trenfield or Lord (Sorry i can't remember which one.)

Interesting to note the North bloke i spoke with who i have known for a long time said that Godde had this coming for a long time and probably "needs to cop a few" & that how embarrased there coach has made the club look.

Not too worried about the outcome as North will have a couple out this week V the mighty panthers and so might Wang in a few weeks.
Hope this helps old head? How is the trip mate? Getting much sun on those legs?
I also hear Stevo is on track for a late season comeback!

very good summary about how it all started glitter. a bit of macho push and shove between godde and j porter in 1st 1/4, maybe a couple of jumper punches in there but hardly anything you don't see on a footy field pretty regularly. it all ignited in the 2nd quarter with godde's headbutt. how he can only cop 2 weeks for that is beyond me

the following is a quote from hodgson after the tribunal:

“Wangaratta, since grand final day, have done everything they can to tarnish the North Albury Football Club’s reputation and tonight the tribunal’s verdict has left everybody in no doubt who instigated the violence,” he said.
“I think it was clear to anyone at the ground who initiated the trouble that day, so from our point of view it shouldn’t have even started I guess.”

would you like some violin music with that hoggy?? fair dinkum, nth albury don't need much assistance in tarnishing their own reputation from what i've witnessed recently. the repeated late hits on mccormick in the GF were a disgrace and reflected very poorly on the nth alb FC as a whole and particularly on its coach. the conduct of godde a few weeks back reinforced it, as did the conduct of a handful of nth alb supporters and one of their match day officials in the race after the game which would have led to an off field melee if not for a cool head from one magpie official

as for the game a few weeks back, it was nothing more than push, shove and a bit of lip until godde's headbutt on j porter. so to most people who saw it, it was indeed pretty clear who instigated the level of violence that eventuated. rather than just absorb the hits and keep playing footy like they did on GF day, wang this time made a stand and stood up for their skipper

mossysausage
12 Jun 2008, 12:25
How about the return of the great Tom Dickson to the Raiders!!

All hail the great man, looks like the area of Albury/Wodonga could be in for a bout of Syphillis if he has his way!

EB no hailing needed, dont think you need to hail a bloke who hails himself. Watched dickson on the w/e and was a little quiet in 1st half, found a bit of it in the latter parts of the 3rd quarter and tore it up in the 4th.
However talking to him after the game you would be lead to belive that he had just guided the boys to a victory.. interesting:cool:

Buckster
12 Jun 2008, 13:01
Definitely poor form from The Border Mail - it did come across as a personal attack. So John didn't want to speak to Brad after the match - how different is that from a coach who just gives yes or no answers. Making a ridiculous headline out of it seems a tad self-righteous. John's refusal probably goes back to the "dumb footy" headline they used a few weeks back - again, making headlines out of off the cuff comments. Don't think he will be particularly forthcoming with Brad in future...

nonch - can you give some detail what was printed in the BM mate?

nonch
12 Jun 2008, 14:12
nonch - can you give some detail what was printed in the BM mate?
Wasn't so much what was written in the article itself, rather the full page pic of McNamara on the front page of the BM sport liftout with the head line "Why the Hawks' loss to Corowa-Rutherglen was laughable: THE JOKE'S ON YOU JOHN." Which followed the "DUMB FOOTY" headline and equally unflattering pic after a loss earlier in the season, when McNamara mentioned his side had played "dumb footy" at stages.

Apparently Brad Mcgrath has backed away from claiming responsibility for the heading, but my impression is that it was his idea...

windaaa68
12 Jun 2008, 15:20
very good onballer/half forward. he was the key in wang's premiership win last year. not only did he return to the club but he brought with him clarke pell and lord who were all instrumental in the success. in turn this year the bullant connection has harvested jesse smith and michael hooper

i hear he wears slippers though. soft?

Flowerpower
12 Jun 2008, 17:52
Whats done is done peoples. Move on and look to the furture.......

The Roos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KokodaMidget
12 Jun 2008, 18:02
Wasn't so much what was written in the article itself, rather the full page pic of McNamara on the front page of the BM sport liftout with the head line "Why the Hawks' loss to Corowa-Rutherglen was laughable: THE JOKE'S ON YOU JOHN." Which followed the "DUMB FOOTY" headline and equally unflattering pic after a loss earlier in the season, when McNamara mentioned his side had played "dumb footy" at stages.

Apparently Brad Mcgrath has backed away from claiming responsibility for the heading, but my impression is that it was his idea...

Oh boo hoo hoo. What a crock of shit, lets not get feeling too precious about headlines & reports in the Border Mail. Most headlines are not written by the reporter, usually subbies, & they try & engender some humour in things to liven up the paper, & attract peoples attention to the story, ie, sell the freaking paper!!!

Some people get all too precious about things, i read the article, & the accompanying headline, had a little chuckle, and continued to read the paper, like everyone else should have, unless the Rovers people are feeling a little defensive afetr a non so impressive start to the season, with the possibility that their off season recruiting may result in a non finals appearance. It then won't be any laughing matter down at Rovertown as the knives get stuck into some backs...

captain peanut
12 Jun 2008, 18:30
Oh boo hoo hoo. What a crock of shit, lets not get feeling too precious about headlines & reports in the Border Mail. Most headlines are not written by the reporter, usually subbies, & they try & engender some humour in things to liven up the paper, & attract peoples attention to the story, ie, sell the freaking paper!!!

Some people get all too precious about things, i read the article, & the accompanying headline, had a little chuckle, and continued to read the paper, like everyone else should have, unless the Rovers people are feeling a little defensive afetr a non so impressive start to the season, with the possibility that their off season recruiting may result in a non finals appearance. It then won't be any laughing matter down at Rovertown as the knives get stuck into some backs...

they've had an ordinary run of injuries i know, but the rumour mill would suggest that the knives are already being sharpened at the wj findlay oval.......stay tuned as they tumble out of finals contention with consecutive losses to wodonga wang and lavi

nonch
12 Jun 2008, 18:40

Is there something about the way I write that makes people think I'm having a whinge?! I'm just interested to hear people's thoughts on certain matters, is all. As far as getting precious is concerned, I thought it was precious of Brad to get so offended at John not speaking to him. And I'm well aware of the role of subbies, but I also know that in regional papers the journos put forth their own headlines a lot of the time, and this one definitely had that feel about it.

And I think most knives will remain sheathed when the hawks miss the finals given the number of injuries they have had.

Anyway, i'll put some smily things in so you're aware my response isn't too serious, k kok midge...:):):):):):)

Macgyver
12 Jun 2008, 19:45

OR

Old mate Travis is a real piece of work eh, trying to bring down the image of the wang football club.. when he admitted (on the day of the incident) that he took goode off the ground "because i cant control him" like seriously he admits his player is off his head then tries to say wang were at fault... get over your self trav and try and win a footy game on ability not thuggery... Because we all have seen that when it comes to the hard stuff your teams as soft as puppy sh!t.

switch the play
12 Jun 2008, 21:47
Old mate Travis is a real piece of work eh, trying to bring down the image of the wang football club.. when he admitted (on the day of the incident) that he took goode off the ground "because i cant control him" like seriously he admits his player is off his head then tries to say wang were at fault... get over your self trav and try and win a footy game on ability not thuggery... Because we all have seen that when it comes to the hard stuff your teams as soft as puppy sh!t.
Hodgson has had open cheque books where ever he has coached previous to this year and has been media hungry increasing his profile whenever and wherever he could.He put his spin on things and probably was never really questioned as his results backed up his mouth.This year though as i have previously mentioned was going to be the real test on whether he could actually coach-the proof is in the results as his football world is falling down around him.I think if you look a bit deeper with a lot of experienced players leaving him after 1 to 2 years(It was happening at Myrtleford before he jumped there as well don't worry),this year with an exodus and then the Mackie situation on top of Brown to Rand in 09 as a/c etc that players just dont or wont play for him and again if you look at the facts-surely if that was the case he would have won at least 1 flag.Anyway it will be interesting to see if he can rebuild his reputation because it is obviously taking a fair battering.

DROUGHTSY
12 Jun 2008, 21:59
that makes it better than maybe porter should of got off free rather than given 5 i didnt realise he only hit Godde (while on ground helpless) because of what happen to mcormick in the final errrr!!!doesnt matter at the end of the day Porter is cheap and im hoping when they meet again Godde gets even with him and sees how porter likes it being hit on the ground

Macgyver
12 Jun 2008, 22:59
Daine wacked the dirty lil bastard because he headbutted his brother for christs sake! as for getting into him on the ground if Godde wasnt wimpering like a little bitch he may have put up some resistance... And this "king hit" description thats the biggest load of bollocks iv heard since... well forever.

As for whether they meet again i hope Kane learns to control his mouth abit and realises the world doesnt revolve around him, or the poor fella may not be as fortunate as to escape in one peice.

BaBa Black Sheep
13 Jun 2008, 00:56

Even though it was a myrtleford player it was still the best mark i've seen in the OM for a number of years.

theBboi
13 Jun 2008, 10:31
wang V yarra going to be a very gud game think wang mite get up

thinkbig
13 Jun 2008, 10:35
lets not get carried away with the rovers boys... have had injuries and its just an abomination at the moment which has left a few blokes scratching there heads... but it will still leave more blokes scratchin their heads at the end of the season when everyone will be saying, "where did the rovers come from"...

im a betting man and once the mighty hawks odds get out beyond $31 the money will well and truly be on and the boys will turn it on and get the dividend at the end of the year that will pay for their next high profile recruit next year... the joke will be on you brad mcgrath and the entire o & m... l

ook forward to it lads strap yourselves in and watch the hawkers spread their wings and fly away...

go hawks

TB http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

nonch
13 Jun 2008, 10:55
wang V yarra going to be a very gud game think wang mite get up
Should be a top match, and you're right, the Magpies should get up - Yarra are ticking along nicely enough, but haven't really been that impressive this season. Wang missing quite a few automatic selections will even it up a bit, but I'd still pick them to win by four or five goals. Ed Clarke's tribunal case being adjourned til Monday night won't hurt.

nonch
13 Jun 2008, 11:05
lets not get carried away with the rovers boys... have had injuries and its just an abomination at the moment which has left a few blokes scratching there heads... but it will still leave more blokes scratchin their heads at the end of the season when everyone will be saying, "where did the rovers come from"...

im a betting man and once the mighty hawks odds get out beyond $31 the money will well and truly be on and the boys will turn it on and get the dividend at the end of the year that will pay for their next high profile recruit next year... the joke will be on you brad mcgrath and the entire o & m... l

ook forward to it lads strap yourselves in and watch the hawkers spread their wings and fly away...
go hawks

TB http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif

Hawks definitely have the talent, even with some of the injuries they've had. The backline is excellent, although they were found out a bit by the Roos last week. With Hartwig, Norman, Tucci, and now Allen back in it's a handy defensive unit. They do need another quality midfielder to back up A Hill and Allan though, particularly with Raven out. Was a shame McDonald got hurt, as he was showing some great form - hopefully back against Lavi after bye. And a quality CHF would help too - the platypus shows a bit here and there, but doesn't quite look ready to do any major damage. Wouldn't go outlaying too much of your hard-earned...

snap_goal
13 Jun 2008, 12:57
nonch, seems like you know a bit about the rovers, just wondering would Tucci be the favourite for the b&f at this point of the year? I have seen only one game but he seems to be in the best most weeks.

theBboi
13 Jun 2008, 13:58
Should be a top match, and you're right, the Magpies should get up - Yarra are ticking along nicely enough, but haven't really been that impressive this season. Wang missing quite a few automatic selections will even it up a bit, but I'd still pick them to win by four or five goals. Ed Clarke's tribunal case being adjourned til Monday night won't hurt.

yer it wont and with jordy and hennas bak in they should get over and cosgriff coming bak into some good form

captain peanut
13 Jun 2008, 15:56
yer it wont and with jordy and hennas bak in they should get over and cosgriff coming bak into some good form

i see that wang haven't named either henry or cairns, i thought both would be back. it is going to be a great contest between wang and yarra. got a feeling yarra might be a bit too strong with some of the key players wang have missing proving a bit too hard to cover

i hear that round 12 is marked for the return of thayer and j mccormick too. poor old raiders can't take a trick

a quick check of the draw tells me that d porter's suspension will expire just in time for him to return to the side in round 15 - v nth albury at bunton park. could be an interesting day of footy that one!!!

theBboi
13 Jun 2008, 16:10
i see that wang haven't named either henry or cairns, i thought both would be back. it is going to be a great contest between wang and yarra. got a feeling yarra might be a bit too strong with some of the key players wang have missing proving a bit too hard to cover

i hear that round 12 is marked for the return of thayer and j mccormick too. poor old raiders can't take a trick

a quick check of the draw tells me that d porter's suspension will expire just in time for him to return to the side in round 15 - v nth albury at bunton park. could be an interesting day of footy that one!!!

you could say that wang wont get up but rember r1 wang had 6 or 7 players out of there premiship side and still beat yarra

indie
13 Jun 2008, 17:27
nonch, seems like you know a bit about the rovers, just wondering would Tucci be the favourite for the b&f at this point of the year? I have seen only one game but he seems to be in the best most weeks.

Is that you Tucci??

I think Yarra is a massive chance to turn the tables on Wang this week as they have got better as the year has gone on. Should be a good game!

theBboi
14 Jun 2008, 21:54
realy shows where yarra are at they wer at basicily full strength and still could not beat wang that had 11 out yarra may just make finals but will not do much

head16
14 Jun 2008, 22:22
realy shows where yarra are at they wer at basicily full strength and still could not beat wang that had 11 out yarra may just make finals but will not do much

Anything else you can see in that crystal ball of yours Bboi.

nonch
15 Jun 2008, 11:07

Tucci should be right up there, but I'd say there'd be a few in the running. Tyson Hartwig could be a dark horse, but it would be pretty hard to go past Andy Hill - even though he's been injured, the games he has played have been top shelf. But Tucci wouldn't surprise.

nonch
15 Jun 2008, 11:11

Yeah, like I said, they're ticking along without being real impressive. As far as finals go, it's still looking like Wang in a canter. Corowa Rutherglen probably the biggest threat - still don't really rate Lavi. And if Rovers get over Wodonga today I still think they are a chance to challenge - albeit a very slim one...

nonch
15 Jun 2008, 18:13

Forgot to mention Jamie Allan - 50 possessions today (yes 50) and four goals!

thinkbig
16 Jun 2008, 09:42
first tick off the list for the boys in brown and gold...!! goes to show what can be achieved when the boys put 4 qtrs together... no surprise though!

anyone see the game?

couple of standout performances but all in all it was a true team effort and they have set a new bench mark...

i can feel it happening... stay tuned!

go hawks

TB http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif

captain peanut
16 Jun 2008, 11:34

a remarkable result really at the norm minns oval on saturday. last year's GF aside, that would have to be wang's best win in a long long time. they went in without j&d porter, steer, cairns, henry, canny, d mccormick, plus had jesse smith pull out late and then lost hayse in the 1st quarter. they gave the team then 2nd on the ladder a couple of goal start and a sound beating. you could see just how much that win meant to wang in the rooms after the game. added to the list above they will get j mccormick and thayer into the side by round 12, and pell is set to resume in the 2's shortly. they have clearly improved their depth, as they were smacked by yarra in the last round of 07 when they had a number of players out

Flying.Half-Forward
16 Jun 2008, 15:11
The Wangaratta/North Albury saga will finally be all over tonight after the tribunal hears the case of Ed Clarke striking Brandan Ryan.
I'm guessing most people have seen the footage by now what is everyone's thought's on what he will get.
I think he'll get one or two

thinkbig
16 Jun 2008, 15:20
a remarkable result really at the norm minns oval on saturday. last year's GF aside, that would have to be wang's best win in a long long time. they went in without j&d porter, steer, cairns, henry, canny, d mccormick, plus had jesse smith pull out late and then lost hayse in the 1st quarter. they gave the team then 2nd on the ladder a couple of goal start and a sound beating. you could see just how much that win meant to wang in the rooms after the game. added to the list above they will get j mccormick and thayer into the side by round 12, and pell is set to resume in the 2's shortly. they have clearly improved their depth, as they were smacked by yarra in the last round of 07 when they had a number of players out

blah blah blah the game was no better standard that a saturday morning auskick display... yarra wont take anything out of that they didnt play well enough to mix it with the magoos on saturday and wang were missing a few players and it definately showed! will be good to see how the "great depth" measures up this week wont it PEANUT... good to see the black and white go down yesterday aswell... nothing sweeter!!

its an exciting time of the year...!

get amongst it lads...

TB

theBboi
16 Jun 2008, 17:21

yer just cant wait till every one is back in plus thayer and mccormick they are goin to be asome team but there biggest threat i think are corowa

Winmar_07
16 Jun 2008, 18:04

go hawks

Brad who?

As if

Winmar_07
16 Jun 2008, 18:07

go hawks

As if you would have such a personal go at a coach of a footy club for making no comment.. No wonder the guy doesn't want to talk to him..
Good way to burn your bridges and never get a story out of that club at least until Mc Namara is coach anyhow..

Brad McGrath a poor excuse for a jerno but i suppose what would you expect thats why he is not at a higher level.. :)

theBboi
16 Jun 2008, 19:15
blah blah blah the game was no better standard that a saturday morning auskick display... yarra wont take anything out of that they didnt play well enough to mix it with the magoos on saturday and wang were missing a few players and it definately showed! will be good to see how the "great depth" measures up this week wont it PEANUT... good to see the black and white go down yesterday aswell... nothing sweeter!!

its an exciting time of the year...!

get amongst it lads...

TB

yer mate thats wat wang rovers hav been playin like all year

6uldv8
16 Jun 2008, 20:56
As if you would have such a personal go at a coach of a footy club for making no comment.. No wonder the guy doesn't want to talk to him..
Good way to burn your bridges and never get a story out of that club at least until Mc Namara is coach anyhow..

Brad McGrath a poor excuse for a jerno but i suppose what would you expect thats why he is not at a higher level.. :)

Dont think Brad wastes his time reading this site so u probably need 2 get over it buddy.
Obviously McNamara has,as I notice he gave Brad an interview after this weekends game.
Oh and I believe up until last year Brad was only a cadet at The Border so hes just a young guy working his way up.
Lets start talkin footy again and if we wanna have a whinge about Journo,s write a letter to the sports editor and im sure it will get printed,the only downside of that is u have 2 put your name and adress to the letter.

thinkbig
17 Jun 2008, 09:42
Dont think Brad wastes his time reading this site so u probably need 2 get over it buddy.
Obviously McNamara has,as I notice he gave Brad an interview after this weekends game.
Oh and I believe up until last year Brad was only a cadet at The Border so hes just a young guy working his way up.
Lets start talkin footy again and if we wanna have a whinge about Journo,s write a letter to the sports editor and im sure it will get printed,the only downside of that is u have 2 put your name and adress to the letter.

John gave him a serve for being in the rooms after the game and him apologise before they spoke i do believe...

if you dont want to talk about current posts no-one is forcing you to so either start a different topic or just sit patiently until your time comes... or are you addicted? do you just have to reply for the sake of it? is that what it is? well is it?

thinkbig
17 Jun 2008, 09:48
yer mate thats wat wang rovers hav been playin like all year

i wouldnt use the term 'mate' as loosely as you do...

im blushing because that comment flatters the mighty hawks so much...
i think the rovers have played worse than that all year but there hasnt been a more dominant performance against a QUALITY side than what was on display on sunday

theBboi
17 Jun 2008, 10:11

i think the rovers have played worse than that all year but there hasnt been a more dominant performance against a QUALITY side than what was on display on sunday

wowsers they only played wodonga

captain peanut
17 Jun 2008, 11:21

corowa dismantled wang by 10 goals a few weeks back. would have thought that carried more weight than a big win over the now 6th placed side

thinkbig
17 Jun 2008, 14:07
wowsers they only played wodonga

so wodonga arent a competitive side? they are a quality side i believe and may not be travelling as well as anticipated either... im not saying rovers are world beaters and wont lose again for the rest of the year, im just letting the people that wrote them off know that they are still around and waiting...

go hawks get on board... toot toot

thinkbig
17 Jun 2008, 14:10
corowa dismantled wang by 10 goals a few weeks back. would have thought that carried more weight than a big win over the now 6th placed side

please see above...

you're right peanut!! the hawks werent impressive on the weekend! got a long way to go this year they do... god i hope they can play some good footy in the next few weeks... http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif

bang bang

Where It All Began
17 Jun 2008, 14:27
For those who were not there, and consider yourself lucky, the Albury v Myrtleford match was the worst standard of O&M Senior football i've seen. A combined side from these 2 clubs wouldn't have beaten any of the top 5 sides.

nonch
17 Jun 2008, 14:39
For those who were not there, and consider yourself lucky, the Albury v Myrtleford match was the worst standard of O&M Senior football i've seen. A combined side from these 2 clubs wouldn't have beaten any of the top 5 sides.

Have seen a bit of the saints and it is quite depressing considering they have very little to look forward to. They have no depth and seemingly nothing to attract potential recruits to the club. Be interesting to see if Beams stays on next year. He's said he will, but we'll wait and see. See the seconds managed to finally go scoreless after going close most weeks...

Where It All Began
17 Jun 2008, 16:23
Have seen a bit of the saints and it is quite depressing considering they have very little to look forward to. They have no depth and seemingly nothing to attract potential recruits to the club. Be interesting to see if Beams stays on next year. He's said he will, but we'll wait and see. See the seconds managed to finally go scoreless after going close most weeks...

That's all very well for the Saints, I'm not sure what Albury's excuse was, other than the fact it seems the club is being run by the senior players. Why else would some of them be still getting a game. With the season all but over, they should be playing their kids that have been performing extermely well in the 2s.

nonch
17 Jun 2008, 16:47
That's all very well for the Saints, I'm not sure what Albury's excuse was, other than the fact it seems the club is being run by the senior players. Why else would some of them be still getting a game. With the season all but over, they should be playing their kids that have been performing extermely well in the 2s.

Only seen the Tigers a couple times but I wouldn't have thought they'd been that bad... They did mange 30 shots against Myrtleford, but without having seen the match I'll take your word for it. Wouldn't hurt them to be playing some of the reserves, but maybe they don't want to upset team balance in the twos. Leave the side as it is and they're are a shoe in for the flag!:D

jman
17 Jun 2008, 16:49

Who are the senior blokes at Albury running the club? How long has it been since they played finals?

How come Myrtleford are going so bad? What has happened to all their talented locals they once had? Where are they now?? It's sad really, I hope they get back on track.

thinkbig
17 Jun 2008, 16:59
another poor excuse for an article from the great man Mr McGrath today...
lost the plot i feel...! he needs a vacation

nonch
17 Jun 2008, 17:17
Who are the senior blokes at Albury running the club? How long has it been since they played finals?

How come Myrtleford are going so bad? What has happened to all their talented locals they once had? Where are they now?? It's sad really, I hope they get back on track.

Myrtleford are going so bad because after finishing runner up two years in a row all the players decided to go elsewhere. Don't know where all the "talented locals" are now, because they aren't competitive at any level other than under 16s. They can't attract recruits because there is no longer any industry in the town to provide employment. The future is looking pretty bleak for Saints fans, and they will probably have to consider stepping down to the Ovens and King.

jman
17 Jun 2008, 17:50
Myrtleford are going so bad because after finishing runner up two years in a row all the players decided to go elsewhere. Don't know where all the "talented locals" are now, because they aren't competitive at any level other than under 16s. They can't attract recruits because there is no longer any industry in the town to provide employment. The future is looking pretty bleak for Saints fans, and they will probably have to consider stepping down to the Ovens and King.

That would be a tragedy for the town and the competition I guess.
What has happened to the Rigoni’s, Chapman’s, Rozzatto’s, Murray’s, Piazza’s, Cartwright’s….can anyone tell me where have they all gone?

Voltron
17 Jun 2008, 19:57
That would be a tragedy for the town and the competition I guess.
What has happened to the Rigoni’s, Chapman’s, Rozzatto’s, Murray’s, Piazza’s, Cartwright’s….can anyone tell me where have they all gone?

Rigoni's retired.
Chapmans; eldest in Melb, two still playing, youngest will tell you he is the best of the three.
Murray's; Brad in Sth Aus killing the SANFL, Mark Aberfeldie, Hayden injured.
Piazzas: Retired/O&K
Cartwright; Aberfeldie

Myrt has alot of problems. Can't attract a decent on baller. No local tallent. Players with potential but not stepping up. But ultimately the prob is with the board etc. Seems to be alot of back room fighting ever since the Hodgson departure, which was the reason he left in the first place. From what i've heard, Myrt would prob still be a force and would not have lost so many stars after 06 if there board had any brains. Instead all they have now is 3-4 players.

Winmar_07
17 Jun 2008, 20:12

Def needs a stint in the ovens and king reports..

The jokes on me.. So he ended up writing an article on himself.. Some of the worst journalism potentially ever written.. Bordermail is lucky there is no other major paper that it competes with..:eek:

Lavy_Panther
17 Jun 2008, 20:59
Yeah, I cringed whilst reading it. Why was he speaking in the first person? Noone would want to hear an opinion piece from a guy who hasn't played.

thurgood
18 Jun 2008, 13:10
Def needs a stint in the ovens and king reports..

The jokes on me.. So he ended up writing an article on himself.. Some of the worst journalism potentially ever written.. Bordermail is lucky there is no other major paper that it competes with..:eek:

fair dinkum, who cares guys ... i didn't think it was a great article but it was refreshing to read an opinion piece related to o and m, normally have to read mike sheehan or wallsy to get that

at least he puts his name to his comments as well winmar ... or r u going to enlighten us as to who u r?

if u don't like it, don't buy the paper, simple ... catch up on all the weekend o and m happenings from the scores in the sunday herald sun and keep your $1.20 on a monday to buy a couple of killer pythons

KokodaMidget
18 Jun 2008, 13:23
very good Thurgood, i concur. Further to that , Winmar 07 has been owned several times before on this thread, he has a propensity to shoot from the hip with little facts or even knowledge to base his opinions on.

The only problem i have with Brad's article was that he didn't stick with his original opinion about the Rovers. People who are silly enough to refuse to speak to the media, on the basis of whether they win or lose, are doing themselves or their club no favours, particularly in regards to sponsors, marketing etc etc. The more media savvy the spokesman, the better off his/her club is. Have a look at how P Tossol massages the media to his, & therefore his clubs, advantage.

thinkbig
18 Jun 2008, 17:39
silly enough to refuse to speak to the media?

no comment! TB

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif