View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50

Flowerpower
8 Jul 2008, 17:47
should be a cracker. c/r v wodonga should be all right too.

where has flowerpower disappeared to in recent times? with the roos up and about lately i thought he'd be all over this board

Have managed to find some very powerful lamps in a well concealed cellar.

So Flowerpower feeling refreshed and spritely!

The Roos, although a tough run home, have played the type of footy we all know they can play.

Led in no uncertain terms by Rhino Ryan, the onballers have delivered the pill down the throat of the forwards which has piled on the goals. The backs, in seeing the great work done by the mids and forwards are finally being proactive rather than reactive and are walking much taller!

Get on board the roo train!

theBboi
8 Jul 2008, 20:56
Have managed to find some very powerful lamps in a well concealed cellar.

So Flowerpower feeling refreshed and spritely!

The Roos, although a tough run home, have played the type of footy we all know they can play.

Led in no uncertain terms by Rhino Ryan, the onballers have delivered the pill down the throat of the forwards which has piled on the goals. The backs, in seeing the great work done by the mids and forwards are finally being proactive rather than reactive and are walking much taller!

Get on board the roo train!

yer they are tickin along nicely cant wait until they play wang tho they will be just bout full strength should be a good game

captain peanut
11 Jul 2008, 12:55
yer they are tickin along nicely cant wait until they play wang tho they will be just bout full strength should be a good game

sat 16 august norm minns oval - wang v c/r, GF preview? c/r have now won 5 in a row starting with a towelling of wang. FP just might be right, the roo train seems to be gathering significant momentum

it would seem that the top 5 is now pretty much settled with rovers and nth alb going down last week. i thought rovers might beat lavi and stay on track to steal 5th spot but a big ask now. While most anticipated the nth alb fall from grace, it would be a massive blow for rovers to miss the finals - there's no doubt they thought they weren't far off it with their finish to last year, and they went out and recruited accordingly with norman being the icing on the cake. Have had their injuries but still very disappointing return from them

nonch
11 Jul 2008, 14:02
sat 16 august norm minns oval - wang v c/r, GF preview? c/r have now won 5 in a row starting with a towelling of wang. FP just might be right, the roo train seems to be gathering significant momentum

it would seem that the top 5 is now pretty much settled with rovers and nth alb going down last week. i thought rovers might beat lavi and stay on track to steal 5th spot but a big ask now. While most anticipated the nth alb fall from grace, it would be a massive blow for rovers to miss the finals - there's no doubt they thought they weren't far off it with their finish to last year, and they went out and recruited accordingly with norman being the icing on the cake. Have had their injuries but still very disappointing return from them

Hawks have had a shocking run with injuries, but biggest problem has been a lack of consistency from the players on the park. Don't think Norman lived up to the expectations, which is disappointing, and now he's done for the year. Plattfuss another disappointment, but he will get better. Really do need a strong CHF, as a lot of their momentum breaks down around this area. Another quick, outside mid wouldn't hurt either.

captain peanut
11 Jul 2008, 16:02
Hawks have had a shocking run with injuries, but biggest problem has been a lack of consistency from the players on the park. Don't think Norman lived up to the expectations, which is disappointing, and now he's done for the year. Plattfuss another disappointment, but he will get better. Really do need a strong CHF, as a lot of their momentum breaks down around this area. Another quick, outside mid wouldn't hurt either.

what's happened to norman?

forward pocket
11 Jul 2008, 20:42
Intertesting news out of Raiders on coaching front.

Corey Lambert to get the job. Adem Yze (that melbourne guy as not sure of spelling) interested but can't commit until late this year and they need to shore up the role now for stability. Corey very impressive in the interview but I am very surprised they do not or will not wait for a HIGH PROFILE option. You would think they would search everywhere rather than appoint locally who may not have the pulling power they need and is also non-playing coach.

Not saying this is gospel but has come from a close club source??? Interested to see what happens. I would think they have 2 maybe 3 months to look, interview and then announce.......we will see what happens.

theBboi
12 Jul 2008, 21:38
how good to se wang go up to lavi and belt them and also to see cosgriff in great form playing out of the square and playing like he did in his bushie days kiking goals and strong marks and leads.
People talked up corowa and it looks like the could be on a down after loosing to wodonga

nonch
13 Jul 2008, 13:37
what's happened to norman?

Broken scaphoid bone - type of injury that can take a long time to heal. Don't know if he's having surgery or letting it heal naturally, but he won't play again this season either way.

captain peanut
14 Jul 2008, 11:09
how good to se wang go up to lavi and belt them and also to see cosgriff in great form playing out of the square and playing like he did in his bushie days kiking goals and strong marks and leads.
People talked up corowa and it looks like the could be on a down after loosing to wodonga

i was thinking cosgriff could be a forward option with henry and hayse out. i think he might even have won a bushies goalkicking at some stage?

top spot is now sewn up so wang just have to find a way to keep humming along until sept. Can be dangerous when teams are just marking time, but there is so much competition for places in the side i think that should be enough incentive to keep them on track. The likes of henners hayse d porter thayer canny d mccormick stamp pell boofa weren't out there on saturday plus craven might also be avail from the bushies in sept

Flowerpower
14 Jul 2008, 14:20
Disappointing loss for the Roos.

No Schmidt up forward hurt.

Good to see the Roos dress up in thir finest Saturday night. Rhino very dapper...........................

Bright Boy
14 Jul 2008, 16:14
Intertesting news out of Raiders on coaching front.

Corey Lambert to get the job. Adem Yze (that melbourne guy as not sure of spelling) interested but can't commit until late this year and they need to shore up the role now for stability. Corey very impressive in the interview but I am very surprised they do not or will not wait for a HIGH PROFILE option. You would think they would search everywhere rather than appoint locally who may not have the pulling power they need and is also non-playing coach.

Not saying this is gospel but has come from a close club source??? Interested to see what happens. I would think they have 2 maybe 3 months to look, interview and then announce.......we will see what happens.

If Yze headed north, it would more than likely to join his former teammate @ Myrt. Ben mentioned Yze as one of his closest mates from his Demon days.

thurgood
15 Jul 2008, 13:25
If Yze headed north, it would more than likely to join his former teammate @ Myrt. Ben mentioned Yze as one of his closest mates from his Demon days.

I've heard Adem say he'd love to coach once his AFL career is over so there wouldn't be much point going to Myrtleford as the coaching job is already taken, regardless of whether he's friends with Beams.

Plus he's a Shepp Swans bloke anyway isn't he? So the GV might be more tempting for him.

Flowerpower
15 Jul 2008, 15:49
I've heard Adem say he'd love to coach once his AFL career is over so there wouldn't be much point going to Myrtleford as the coaching job is already taken, regardless of whether he's friends with Beams.

Plus he's a Shepp Swans bloke anyway isn't he? So the GV might be more tempting for him.

I reckon his brother at East Burwood might have some sway for the Ooze............

bystanding backman
15 Jul 2008, 16:56
i hear matt pell got bog in the 2's for wang on the weekend, is he far off being back in contention for the seniors. not bad for second game back from the reco

Macgyver
15 Jul 2008, 18:14
i hear matt pell got bog in the 2's for wang on the weekend, is he far off being back in contention for the seniors. not bad for second game back from the reco

I only saw the second half this week but everybody said he was too good for 2's. His come back game he also smashed'em and was very close to bog in my eyes. He is clearly the form player in wangs 2s, so one would think he's the top choice to come in (excluding the prolific Daine Porter of course). On a sour note the lesser of the McCormick boys reinjured his shoulder, a gutting blow for a fantastic young lad

captain peanut
16 Jul 2008, 10:54
I only saw the second half this week but everybody said he was too good for 2's. His come back game he also smashed'em and was very close to bog in my eyes. He is clearly the form player in wangs 2s, so one would think he's the top choice to come in (excluding the prolific Daine Porter of course). On a sour note the lesser of the McCormick boys reinjured his shoulder, a gutting blow for a fantastic young lad

i also heard pell was a standout in the 2's. thayer apparently also in sensational nick and ready for 1's footy

how ugly could it be at the norm minns oval this sat v myrtl? with all the pressure for senior places at wang i can't imagine them taking the foot off the pedal. weather permitting it could be a pummelling of epic proportions

couple of other good games coming up this weekend, yarra v rovers generally has some feeling to it but hard to see rovers kicking enough goals with all their injured forwards missing. i've heard that silver cristoforo norman and platfuss will all miss?

lavi v c/r should also be a good one, but apparently the roos have been hard hit by injuries with schmidt to miss again and taft and probably clark to miss as well. If results go as expected, loser of that will be stuck in a 3 way battle with yarra and wod for 3rd spot with all 3 on 36 pts after this round

harryhoward
16 Jul 2008, 21:02
- agree with you captain peanut- but not with a great deal of confidence-but yarra should beat rovers. its disappointing to see corowa will be missing a couple against lavy- but they have a terrific record against lavy down there but with schilg back and the corowa outs i think the panthers will have too much depth across the park in a close one

Macgyver
16 Jul 2008, 21:27
It is a shame to see the wheels falling off corowa, hopefully they can get back to full strength or something close to it for the finals. It'd be the ultimate spectical to see wang and corowa going at it full power in the grannie. Imagine a Carpenter(this year medalist)/McCormick(best footy player outside afl in vic) match up.... oh im getting a tad excited just thinking of the prospect

harryhoward
16 Jul 2008, 21:33
It is a shame to see the wheels falling off corowa, hopefully they can get back to full strength or something close to it for the finals. It'd be the ultimate spectical to see wang and corowa going at it full power in the grannie. Imagine a Carpenter(this year medalist)/McCormick(best footy player outside afl in vic) match up.... oh im getting a tad excited just thinking of the prospect
i wouldnt say the wheels are falling off just yet mate- they havent lost to lavy yet- i must say though apart from the blatantly obvious in wangaratta- its great for the league that on their day any side can beat the other- i had a look at wang on sat against lavy, and i reckon they capitalised on nearly every turn over lavy made.

6uldv8
16 Jul 2008, 21:40
Lambert had his third meeting with Raiders last night so either he is close or they are letting him know that there is someone else in the mix.

harryhoward
16 Jul 2008, 21:48
i keep hearing james posiadally from coburg tigers if not as coach but as a player at raiders for next year? any truth

Lavy_Panther
16 Jul 2008, 21:56
i keep hearing james posiadally from coburg tigers if not as coach but as a player at raiders for next year? any truth
Can kick a goal, would be a very, very handy pick up if true. Imagine him and Prior in the same 50.

harryhoward
16 Jul 2008, 22:04
Can kick a goal, would be a very, very handy pick up if true. Imagine him and Prior in the same 50.
true- has been in good form in the last few matches, lets hope he does sign on, would be a good pick up for the league as well, while you are on lavy panther- how far away is kade stevens from playing- will be a very handy pick up for us if he can come up- i hear in the twos against yarra

nonch
17 Jul 2008, 09:46
couple of other good games coming up this weekend, yarra v rovers generally has some feeling to it but hard to see rovers kicking enough goals with all their injured forwards missing. i've heard that silver cristoforo norman and platfuss will all miss?

Will be interesting as a rovers win will potentially keep them in the mix - will put them one game behind yarra with better percentage and friendlier run home. Cristoforo should play, and plattfuss is a chance. No Silver, Norman, Raven though.

Flowerpower
17 Jul 2008, 10:26
i wouldnt say the wheels are falling off just yet mate- they havent lost to lavy yet- i must say though apart from the blatantly obvious in wangaratta- its great for the league that on their day any side can beat the other- i had a look at wang on sat against lavy, and i reckon they capitalised on nearly every turn over lavy made.

Agree HH - all teams have / get injuries and it is a true test of character when a club is going through some tough times for those on the fringes to stand up and be counted.

Go Roos!

Garn
18 Jul 2008, 09:11
Lambert had his third meeting with Raiders last night so either he is close or they are letting him know that there is someone else in the mix.

Are you Lambert's shadow 6UL ?

Hutchy 001
18 Jul 2008, 21:46
Breaking News !! Corey Lambert has been signed to coach the Wodonga Raiders Football club from season 2009.
You heard it here first people.
PS- Border Mail journo's: give hutchy a mention in the article about being the first to break this story :):thumbsu:

harryhoward
18 Jul 2008, 21:57
Breaking News !! Corey Lambert has been signed to coach the Wodonga Raiders Football club from season 2009.
PS- Border Mail journo's: give hutchy a mention in the article about being the first to break this story :):thumbsu:
time will tell if this is agood move for the raiders- lets hope they can get some general quality back into the playing list now.. good work hutchy...

harryhoward
19 Jul 2008, 11:38
time will tell if this is agood move for the raiders- lets hope they can get some general quality back into the playing list now.. good work hutchy...
just wanted to say congratulations to darren mckimmie and brendan eyers roe reaching their respective milestone games today,,have seen a lot of '' skillsy'' in particular over the years and he has been nothing short of sensational for the panthers, good luck to both in what should be a ripper this arvo.

Tigerrr_Uppercut
19 Jul 2008, 13:29

Breaking news out of the rovers camp that john mcnamara wont be re-appointed for another term, the board has come to the realisation that he is just a 3rds coach at best

harryhoward
20 Jul 2008, 12:33
great win by the roos against lavy yesterday- in a very even match, the roos over ran the panthers in the last term to win a match that should seal them a top three berth, as for the panthers they would have been very disappointed with there last quarter after leading for the majority of the match. very big day for wodonga today- correct me if i am wrong but didnt the raiders beat them about this time last year in the wet. i dont think history will repeat.

6uldv8
20 Jul 2008, 19:47

Me and my shadowwwww!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

The Crumber
21 Jul 2008, 16:10
O&M reps in the NSW Country Football team to play in the Landmark Australian Country Football Championships in Shepparton this weekend

Archibald, Kyle Yarrawonga
Brauer, Luke Lavington
Bunyan, Simon Lavington
Carroll, Luke Albury (CAPTAIN)
Carter, Nick Albury
Fowler, Matthew Albury
Garland, Luke Lavington
Gaylard, Charlie Albury
Hodgson, Rob North Albury
Horn, Brad North Albury
Koelher, Jay Albury
Maher, Daniel Albury
McAlister, Daniel Albury
McDonald, Matthew North Albury
Prior, Adam Wodonga Raiders
Ryan, Brandon North Albury
Sanson, Paul Lavington

O&M reps in the VCFL team for the same championships.

Ben Cosgriff Wangaratta
Matthew Pendergast Lavington
Dan Leslie North Albury
Lee Schmidt Corowa-Rutherglen
Lance Oswald Yarrawonga
Craig Ednie Yarrawonga
Matt Wollington Yarrawonga

6uldv8
21 Jul 2008, 19:15

Should be a done deal about....................................NOW

harryhoward
21 Jul 2008, 20:11
Should be a done deal about....................................NOW
also hear that along with lambert obviously joel mackie will be going, and a chap from the northern bullants by the name of power, and are taking to a key back from sth aus, perhaps this one is for u hutchy?

6uldv8
21 Jul 2008, 20:42
also hear that along with lambert obviously joel mackie will be going, and a chap from the northern bullants by the name of power, and are taking to a key back from sth aus, perhaps this one is for u hutchy?

Dools wont be back this year but I still keep hearing the name Dustin Burns 2 be returning

harryhoward
21 Jul 2008, 21:56
Dools wont be back this year but I still keep hearing the name Dustin Burns 2 be returning
yes, have heard that as well, the raiders might just be on the cusp of turning things around.

ark n go
22 Jul 2008, 14:00
can anyone tell me how the 2 oswald boys from yarra are goin this yr. lance must be going alright, how bout scotty?

Flowerpower
23 Jul 2008, 13:12
I guess I can safely say the Roos are now locked in for a finals campaign.

Lid can now come off!!!!! :thumbsu:

With the great man Rhino Ryan leading the charge, I reckon the Mighty Roos are a genuine premiership threat.

BTW, how good was the Big Wig Ambrose last week! WoW!

Go Roos!

Billy Brownless
23 Jul 2008, 21:49
great win by the roos against lavy yesterday- in a very even match, the roos over ran the panthers in the last term to win a match that should seal them a top three berth, as for the panthers they would have been very disappointed with there last quarter after leading for the majority of the match. very big day for wodonga today- correct me if i am wrong but didnt the raiders beat them about this time last year in the wet. i dont think history will repeat.

how do you think young Mick Collins went for the roo's last week?

harryhoward
23 Jul 2008, 21:56
how do you think young Mick Collins went for the roo's last week?
played quite well against some bigger bodied opponents- created run off half back. he was one of six good defenders on sat- they suffocated lavys big forwards, was impressed with longmires game on mckimmie,

Billy Brownless
23 Jul 2008, 22:16
played quite well against some bigger bodied opponents- created run off half back. he was one of six good defenders on sat- they suffocated lavys big forwards, was impressed with longmires game on mckimmie,

Noticed Collins kept Shearer to 2 goals. Does the job but doesnt get much credit.

SugarRay11
23 Jul 2008, 22:38
Noticed Collins kept Shearer to 2 goals. Does the job but doesnt get much credit.

like most backmen,for everyone else it's all about kicking goals

captain peanut
24 Jul 2008, 10:40
I guess I can safely say the Roos are now locked in for a finals campaign.

Lid can now come off!!!!! :thumbsu:

With the great man Rhino Ryan leading the charge, I reckon the Mighty Roos are a genuine premiership threat.

BTW, how good was the Big Wig Ambrose last week! WoW!

Go Roos!

FP

Great win by the roos on the weekend

We'll see you at Lavi on sun 21 sept

harryhoward
24 Jul 2008, 14:31
FP

Great win by the roos on the weekend

We'll see you at Lavi on sun 21 sept
i certainly would not be booking the roos in just yet, wang yes, but ther is not a hell of a lot between the other four sides in the top five - i may be proved wrong, but time will tell, i will admit though they are a very good side.

head16
25 Jul 2008, 02:55
harryhoward.... i'm a bit worried but you getting RSI. You have been giving bigfooty a flogging since you've appeared. I'd hate to know what you did with your hands to amuse yourself before you discovered this.

phil daly
25 Jul 2008, 16:16
have heard that mcnamara has elected not to go on next year, is there any truth in this? If so who may take over?

Flowerpower
25 Jul 2008, 16:37
have heard that mcnamara has elected not to go on next year, is there any truth in this? If so who may take over?

Rhino Ryan - I'm sure all clubs would be after the great man! :)

forward pocket
25 Jul 2008, 21:50
I don't want to Corey LAMBERT bash, but I posted 2 months ago about the squad he picked for NSW. Very Albury.F.C orientated.

He hasn't got the Albury Job and now he is in the middle of getting pumped in the championships. Did he pick a squad for the betterment of NSW Football or himself??

I really don't believe Albury ever deserved 9 players in the squad after losing 7 straight. I was thinking Corey was making friends. No job and now He is making an 'ass' of NSW Football.

I try to follow Albury and dont know 3 players in the NSW side, and the other guys are very good but NSW Wales???

Thoughts?

harryhoward
25 Jul 2008, 23:31
harryhoward.... i'm a bit worried but you getting RSI. You have been giving bigfooty a flogging since you've appeared. I'd hate to know what you did with your hands to amuse yourself before you discovered this.
u just worry about yourself boxhead...

thinkbig
28 Jul 2008, 10:29

facts are a big thing in this game HH podsy is skipper at Werribee Tigers... and wouldnt go to raiders in a pink fit

captain peanut
28 Jul 2008, 15:43

he has indeed 'elected' not to go on. but only after being told that if he didn't so elect then he would have to be sacked

Flying.Half-Forward
29 Jul 2008, 13:00
Surely Andy Carey wouldn't be coming back to the O and M as I thought he was earning a truckload playing up in the Canberra league.

biting bulldog
29 Jul 2008, 14:12
Surely Andy Carey wouldn't be coming back to the O and M as I thought he was earning a truckload playing up in the Canberra league.

I'm sure there is more than cash for his reason for wanting to come back. The local rag mentioned his missus, she might have him by the balls and wants to come home, have heard that they are expecting a wee one (a great reason for the carey's to wet the head). Not that they need one.....

bads
31 Jul 2008, 17:45
he has indeed 'elected' not to go on. but only after being told that if he didn't so elect then he would have to be sacked
How would you know "peanut" that this was the case...no for a fact that he was offered the job but decided not to go on for family reasons, stupid blokes yourself should keep there cr@p to themselves

Garn
1 Aug 2008, 09:12
Not much being said on this weekends, North Albury v Wangaratta game, what with Nth Albury's media ban and all :confused:

harryhoward
3 Aug 2008, 19:53
Not much being said on this weekends, North Albury v Wangaratta game, what with Nth Albury's media ban and all :confused:

well it looks likt the top three is set now with lavingtons win over yarra, and given the panthers play the raiders and myrtleford in the last two weeks, they should finish at least third, great to see stevo come through his first match back from injury too,

switch the play
3 Aug 2008, 21:30
North must have played fairly well yesterday to kick the same amount of goals as Wang.Could Wangs undoing be a lack of match fitness for some returning players if their 2nds fail to make the finals?I'm sure most sides with seniors in the finals would want their two's there as well.Just a thought-maybe a theory to topple the red hot Magpies:cool:

Glitter
4 Aug 2008, 11:58
How would you know "peanut" that this was the case...no for a fact that he was offered the job but decided not to go on for family reasons, stupid blokes yourself should keep there cr@p to themselves

You still about Bads. Very loyal of you to get on here to stick up for your brother.

I'm sure if Rovers wanted to finish 3rd last again they would of put him on for another season.

Anyway thats old news.

Any thoughts on the games to come. Lavi looked to have sewn up a top 3 with an easier run home and i'd be tipping them to play Corowa in the 1st final.

The Magpies look like they are beatable after narowly beating North on the weekend.

Magpies seemed to be at full strength too - Anyone see the match?

Flying.Half-Forward
5 Aug 2008, 10:15
You still about Bads. Very loyal of you to get on here to stick up for your brother.

I'm sure if Rovers wanted to finish 3rd last again they would of put him on for another season.

Anyway thats old news.

Any thoughts on the games to come. Lavi looked to have sewn up a top 3 with an easier run home and i'd be tipping them to play Corowa in the 1st final.

The Magpies look like they are beatable after narowly beating North on the weekend.

Wouldn't have thought they were at full strength. Judd Porter (captain), Brendan Cairns (vice-capt), Jon Henry, Jarrod Hayse and Dale Carmody all didn't play. Not a bad handful of players to return. Wangdidn't play well apart from the second quarter but credit to the Hoppers they came to play and almost pulled off an upset.

Flowerpower
5 Aug 2008, 15:07
Will the sun be shining come September???????????

Will the flowers be out in full color????????????????

I will be able to answer these and many more questions this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Roos! :thumbsu::):thumbsu::)

golden days
5 Aug 2008, 17:06
:thumbsd:I Read about the poor form of umpires earlier in this forum and must comment on the umpires on Sat's Rovers Raiders game. The unnessessary hit on Gorupic (one of the fairest players in the league) was unjust, late, high and if done in the a.f.l would have copped 4+ weeks. How any of you did not make a report on it (the boundary was right next to it and the field not much further away) is a joke ! But we only have to look at what went on in the Wang v Nth games of the past to see they don't like getting out the note book. Finally to the braindead idiot Rovers supporter who said it was a fair hip and shoulder, mate you were there, A Hill raised the elbow, a hip and shoulder won't split the eye like that, p@ss weak !!!:thumbsd::mad::thumbsd::mad:

nonch
5 Aug 2008, 17:40
:thumbsd:I Read about the poor form of umpires earlier in this forum and must comment on the umpires on Sat's Rovers Raiders game. The unnessessary hit on Gorupic (one of the fairest players in the league) was unjust, late, high and if done in the a.f.l would have copped 4+ weeks. How any of you did not make a report on it (the boundary was right next to it and the field not much further away) is a joke ! But we only have to look at what went on in the Wang v Nth games of the past to see they don't like getting out the note book. Finally to the braindead idiot Rovers supporter who said it was a fair hip and shoulder, mate you were there, A Hill raised the elbow, a hip and shoulder won't split the eye like that, p@ss weak !!!:thumbsd::mad::thumbsd::mad:

Little bit over the top there. Was surprised Hill wasn't reported, but don't agree with your assessment. Didn't see the elbow raised and it didn't appear overly late. Just very heavy and his shoulder appeared to connect high. A two week ban would not have been unjust, but I can understand the umpire not citing it. Hill is not a dirty player, just hard.

golden days
6 Aug 2008, 09:59
Little bit over the top there. Was surprised Hill wasn't reported, but don't agree with your assessment. Didn't see the elbow raised and it didn't appear overly late. Just very heavy and his shoulder appeared to connect high. A two week ban would not have been unjust, but I can understand the umpire not citing it. Hill is not a dirty player, just hard.

Nonch I hear you there and take what you say about A Hill but from where I stood (side on) it looked like the elbow went up (we have all played enough footy to know sometimes it pops up without us wanting to)
My beef was strictly with the umpires, week as p@ss as I said, they strut around preening themselves, over doing decisions and NOT looking after the man enough, all Im asking is for them to get the book out occasionally, they can see the smallest free kick most of the time, surely they can see a head high hit like the one on the weekend.

Silver_kid
6 Aug 2008, 10:31
Dogs a step ahead of the tiges on the weekend, think everyone their was a bit surprised with shir getting a week - he seems very unlucky considering maher pretty much said it wasn't reportable, just doesn't make sense to suspend him for it

KokodaMidget
6 Aug 2008, 11:29
Is surprising that umpires can claim that they had an unimpeded view from a couple of metres away when they report someone, yet when there is blatant & obvious free kick right in front of them they can't see it.... anyway, will be interested to hear Tiger Uppercuts take on Shir's suspension....;)

Re the Gorupic hit, i thought it was a hip n shoulder, no elbow, but certainly warranted at least a free kick for too high, & probably a send off & report for unnecessary contact to the head, but the men in orange are quite bewildering on most occassions....

captain peanut
8 Aug 2008, 13:29

Anyway thats old news.

didn't see the game, but heard that north apparently started very well and finished very strongly while wang set it all up with a blistering 2nd term. also got told that some poor finishing from wang late in the piece may have kept it closer than it might have been. wang may possibly have run out of legs a bit given the reintroduction over the last couple of weeks of a few blokes from injury/unavailability? Think a couple more might be back this week with hayse just about ready to go and henry maybe not far off

as for the rovers coaching job, it is indeed old news. but i'm happy to stand by what i've said previously. mcnamara was not going to be reappointed for 2009 as decided at the rovers board meeting prior to the public announcement that he wasn't going on

head16
8 Aug 2008, 21:53
I read ednie got rubbed out for smacking simon bunyan last week!
Good work snout, bunyan's got a head that needs regular panel beating :D

Tigerrr_Uppercut
10 Aug 2008, 14:07
Is surprising that umpires can claim that they had an unimpeded view from a couple of metres away when they report someone, yet when there is blatant & obvious free kick right in front of them they can't see it.... anyway, will be interested to hear Tiger Uppercuts take on Shir's suspension....;)

Re the Gorupic hit, i thought it was a hip n shoulder, no elbow, but certainly warranted at least a free kick for too high, & probably a send off & report for unnecessary contact to the head, but the men in orange are quite bewildering on most occassions....

lets just say justice was deserved..!

Flowerpower
11 Aug 2008, 11:50
Roos another win.................

Raines and Jake "Rhino" Ryan tagged, Carpenter bobs up with a hard as nails BOG performance in the wet.

Lucky the rain came for the Pigeons.....................

Buckster
11 Aug 2008, 12:33
Anyone see dogs V pies on sat? must have been a cracking game.

Shir,Twitt and Bradshaw to run a muck in the next 5 weeks - Dogs 08!

Silver_kid
11 Aug 2008, 13:59
Anyone see dogs V pies on sat? must have been a cracking game.

Shir,Twitt and Bradshaw to run a muck in the next 5 weeks - Dogs 08!

yeah looks like they might peak at the right time, have had a bit more depth for selection over the last few weeks

harryhoward
11 Aug 2008, 20:25
yeah looks like they might peak at the right time, have had a bit more depth for selection over the last few weeks

have the panthers ran out of gas- very ordinary final 15 minutes against albury on saturday probably cost them the double chance-- you should not lose to average teams when you are three goals up with so much to play for.
having said that full credit to albury for playing the game right out, they always match up well with lavy...great to see the dogs beat wang as well, maybe its not all one way traffic after all, will see how the pies respond against the in form roos this week....

raidrboy
13 Aug 2008, 13:28

KokodaMidget,

I have it on good authority that you wouldn't have been able to seen the Hill/Gorupic incident because you are not tall enough to have seen over the fence. The same authority told me that you couldn't see over your school desk until you did year 10.:D

KokodaMidget
14 Aug 2008, 15:33
KokodaMidget,

I have it on good authority that you wouldn't have been able to seen the Hill/Gorupic incident because you are not tall enough to have seen over the fence. The same authority told me that you couldn't see over your school desk until you did year 10.:D

Not sure where you heard that from Raidrboy....i left school in year 8 to become a jockey, apprenticed with T J Smith, but wasn't quite tall enough, or strong enough, to even get on a rocking horse!!!!

6uldv8
15 Aug 2008, 20:56
Bradshaw to be rested for tommorows game and I believe Telford will play.

raidrboy
15 Aug 2008, 23:45
Not sure where you heard that from Raidrboy....i left school in year 8 to become a jockey, apprenticed with T J Smith, but wasn't quite tall enough, or strong enough, to even get on a rocking horse!!!!

Nice comeback KM.

captain peanut
19 Aug 2008, 13:34
Will the sun be shining come September???????????

Will the flowers be out in full color????????????????

I will be able to answer these and many more questions this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Go Roos! :thumbsu::):thumbsu::)

FP

did you get to the norm minns oval last week? if so what did you think?

i thought c/r had a few down on the day and we can probably expect better in sept. however by the same token wang still missing a couple and a few still underdone so there's a fair bit of improvement in them as well. until they proved that the hammering by c/r the 1st time around was just an aberration i wasn't so sure but it seems pretty clear now that the flag is wang's to lose and the best the rest can hope for is them to have a bad day at lavi in late sept

harryhoward
19 Aug 2008, 19:06
The north albury player being linked to raiders in the paper this morning would,t be none other then skipper dan leslie would it, can anyone confirm this?

6uldv8
19 Aug 2008, 20:00
The north albury player being linked to raiders in the paper this morning would,t be none other then skipper dan leslie would it, can anyone confirm this?

Kane Godde I believe it is,maybe he thinks if he changes jumpers the boys from Wang might not try 2 knock his head off every time he runs past.

switch the play
19 Aug 2008, 23:40
Kane Godde I believe it is,maybe he thinks if he changes jumpers the boys from Wang might not try 2 knock his head off every time he runs past.
Leslie it is 6ULDV8.As mentioned earlier with wang 2s not making the finals-there may be quite a few well underdone in the next few weeks.

tucker
20 Aug 2008, 11:32

Just spoke to Kane no truth what so ever, he said " would not go there".

Flowerpower
20 Aug 2008, 16:42
FP

did you get to the norm minns oval last week? if so what did you think?

i thought c/r had a few down on the day and we can probably expect better in sept. however by the same token wang still missing a couple and a few still underdone so there's a fair bit of improvement in them as well. until they proved that the hammering by c/r the 1st time around was just an aberration i wasn't so sure but it seems pretty clear now that the flag is wang's to lose and the best the rest can hope for is them to have a bad day at lavi in late sept

Simple - I thought Wang were the better team on the day.

Wang backs zoned off well and Corowa played into their hands.

McCormick did what he liked and that will not / should not happen next time.

Noticed Wang are fairly good with the lip service on the park - that type of thing always manages to come back and bite you on the bum.

What happened to Rhino? Didn't take much part in the game. Hopefully not injured and a handy inclusion come finals also.

FP

Gun Recruit
20 Aug 2008, 19:53

Noticed Wang are fairly good with the lip service on the park - that type of thing always manages to come back and bite you on the bum.

What happened to Rhino? Didn't take much part in the game. Hopefully not injured and a handy inclusion come finals also.

FP

What about constantly getting on Big Footy and pumping your's and your teams tyres up Jake !!!!

thurgood
20 Aug 2008, 21:36

FP

From what I hear, the pick of the quotes from J. McCormick to J. Ryan was "at least I don't get paid $1500 a game to abuse my teammates".

Been rumblings out of Corowa since last season that the Melbourne boys have a bit too much to say to the younger Corowa players and that they can "dish criticism out but not take it."

Kanga Magoo
21 Aug 2008, 09:34
From what I hear, the pick of the quotes from J. McCormick to J. Ryan was "at least I don't get paid $1500 a game to abuse my teammates".

Been rumblings out of Corowa since last season that the Melbourne boys have a bit too much to say to the younger Corowa players and that they can "dish criticism out but not take it."

I have also heard that some of the Corowa boys don't like to be told what to do either from some on the coaching staff !!!!

(And these are people you should listen to)

Flowerpower
21 Aug 2008, 11:16
Do I have to go into this again?

FP is not Rhino Ryan! Let it go guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:p

Go Roos!

p.s. McCormick might get paid $2,000 a game to keep quiet? :rolleyes:

Bomber9
21 Aug 2008, 12:18
p.s. McCormick might get paid $2,000 a game to keep quiet? :rolleyes:[/quote]

He is worth it. only $500 more than ryan you would be kidding. take mccormick everday over jake.

head16
21 Aug 2008, 12:40
p.s. McCormick might get paid $2,000 a game to keep quiet? :rolleyes:

He is worth it. only $500 more than ryan you would be kidding. take mccormick everday over jake.[/quote]

I'd take hopper too, but how's the cash going!
$2000 - i'll take mckimmie, stevens, hunt, butler, pendergast and p sanson for that amount... and still have cash left to buy them 2 slabs of p!ss, 3 or 4 pizzas (KFC for penda) and a taxi home!

Bomber9
21 Aug 2008, 17:08
I'd take hopper too, but how's the cash going!
$2000 - i'll take mckimmie, stevens, hunt, butler, pendergast and p sanson for that amount... and still have cash left to buy them 2 slabs of p!ss, 3 or 4 pizzas (KFC for penda) and a taxi home![/quote]

Im pretty sure he is on nothing like that but the same cant be said for Ryan they have spen a fair bit of cash to get the melb blokes back again not sure it has paid off just yet.

canman44
21 Aug 2008, 22:16
Do you knock if Nick Raines plays for a team in the O&M.
like maybe being and gone from a club.
Brother of Andrew Raines.

rockstarr
21 Aug 2008, 22:33
Do you knock if Nick Raines plays for a team in the O&M.
like maybe being and gone from a club.
Brother of Andrew Raines.

Plays for Corowa-Rutherglen mate

canman44
22 Aug 2008, 11:44
Plays for Corowa-Rutherglen mate
Ok thanks for that.
i was with geoff raines awhile back out for tea and he said something about it. how has he bein playing?
any good?

DanielJohns
22 Aug 2008, 16:10
Andrew Carey has signed with Albury ( on good authority from a local car salesman). As usual Joss to the rescue. You would think Myrtleford would be extremely disappointed in their 'local' boy. When you can't get your home grown to support you who will. Pretty poor really.

Agent
23 Aug 2008, 10:45
Andrew Carey has signed with Albury ( on good authority from a local car salesman). As usual Joss to the rescue. You would think Myrtleford would be extremely disappointed in their 'local' boy. When you can't get your home grown to support you who will. Pretty poor really.

Great case of a local looking to make some cash, I believe it was more the job opportunities than how much he got for playing......
Disappointing for Myrtleford.

Tigerrr_Uppercut
23 Aug 2008, 11:36
Great case of a local looking to make some cash, I believe it was more the job opportunities than how much he got for playing......
Disappointing for Myrtleford.

Yeah 100k a year for sweepin big col joss's shed is sweet work if ya can get it!

head16
24 Aug 2008, 07:21
Final 5 is sorted now... i want some predictions, how will it all pan out?
I'll throw in my ideas for what its worth, but clearly have only a vague idea from where i am!

Wang seem like the team to beat again, but have stumbled a bit in the final few rounds. Their seconds not makin it could prove an interesting point when they'll be trying to get some blokes returning from injury match fit.

If my punting form is anything to go by... back against me!!!

WEEK 1
Yarra vs Dogs... Dogs to win
Roos vs Lavi... Panthers to win
WEEK 2
Dogs vs Roos ... Roos to Win
Wang vs Lavi ... Wang to win
WEEK 3
Roos vs Lavi ... Panthers to win
WEEK 4
Wang vs Lavi (LPO)....

HEADLINE OF THE FINALS SERIES...
O&M Investigates Ugly Quarter Time Brawl

I reckon i've stuck my neck out enough already... If this all happens i'll have another stab in a few weeks.

Good luck to all teams... 1st, 2nds, turds, and netballers in the Finals.
Go those Panthers!

Flowerpower
25 Aug 2008, 13:11
Leather poisening.

One of footballs nastier injuries.

Apparantly Rhino has been struck down with bad case..............:D

I did warn you all. Border Mail MVP.

Go Roos!

Hornie
25 Aug 2008, 15:29
Final 5 is sorted now... i want some predictions, how will it all pan out?
I'll throw in my ideas for what its worth, but clearly have only a vague idea from where i am!

Wang seem like the team to beat again, but have stumbled a bit in the final few rounds. Their seconds not makin it could prove an interesting point when they'll be trying to get some blokes returning from injury match fit.

If my punting form is anything to go by... back against me!!!

WEEK 1
Yarra vs Dogs... Dogs to win
Roos vs Lavi... Panthers to win
WEEK 2
Dogs vs Roos ... Roos to Win
Wang vs Lavi ... Wang to win
WEEK 3
Roos vs Lavi ... Panthers to win
WEEK 4
Wang vs Lavi (LPO)....

HEADLINE OF THE FINALS SERIES...
O&M Investigates Ugly Quarter Time Brawl

I reckon i've stuck my neck out enough already... If this all happens i'll have another stab in a few weeks.

Good luck to all teams... 1st, 2nds, turds, and netballers in the Finals.
Go those Panthers!

Who will be in the ugly incident at 1/4 time Box?

Ozz12
25 Aug 2008, 20:01
Who will be in the ugly incident at 1/4 time Box?

I'd like to put my money on Hume Building Society's Clancy the Koala getting upset that he isnt the O&M sponsor anymore. So he goes after the Wang Magpie & Panther mascots.

Its being bandied about that Ronald McDonald is planning to make an encore performance and referee the match from the time clock with the bandettes being the cheer squad.