View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50

thurgood
25 Aug 2008, 20:17
Leather poisening.

One of footballs nastier injuries.

Apparantly Rhino has been struck down with bad case..............:D

I did warn you all. Border Mail MVP.

Go Roos!

Do you know something we don't FP? Or should I say Jake?

The Border Mail MVP wouldn't be announced til tomorrow would it?

head16
25 Aug 2008, 22:42
Who will be in the ugly incident at 1/4 time Box?

I don't know mate, i'm just throwing it out there! It could be an ugly brawl between 2 teams or it could simply be a fight between some very ugly people, perhaps not even playing!!!

Perhaps the north albury and wang boys will go at it this weekend at one of the matches... they don't seem to like each other. I know neither of them are playing but i can just see them going to watch, heading to the quarter time huddle, few cheeky comments tossed about and before you know its on like donkey kong. You know it makes sense

Flowerpower
26 Aug 2008, 10:01
Do you know something we don't FP? Or should I say Jake?

The Border Mail MVP wouldn't be announced til tomorrow would it?

If you were at the game I'm sure you would have recognised the leather poisening....... :)

He would have to be up there in the mix for the MVP. Was leading and picked up near on 50 touches on Saturday would surely cement his position on the dias?

FP

Agent
26 Aug 2008, 10:49
Yeah 100k a year for sweepin big col joss's shed is sweet work if ya can get it!

Heard it was a package of $110 Tiger Uppercut..... Not bad at all if you can get it.......

Where It All Began
26 Aug 2008, 14:23
Andrew Carey has signed with Albury ( on good authority from a local car salesman). As usual Joss to the rescue. You would think Myrtleford would be extremely disappointed in their 'local' boy. When you can't get your home grown to support you who will. Pretty poor really.

Yeah, piss poor, why should he try and secure a future for himself, when he could go back to the Saints and play for shit and maybe work behind a bar. After all the employment sector is flourishing up there isn't it.

captain peanut
26 Aug 2008, 16:22
If you were at the game I'm sure you would have recognised the leather poisening....... :)

He would have to be up there in the mix for the MVP. Was leading and picked up near on 50 touches on Saturday would surely cement his position on the dias?

FP

good interview with ryan in today's BM. seems he was a bit crook the last time they played wang hence him spending a fair bit of time off the ground.

what do you reckon about c/r v lavi this week FP?

Flowerpower
26 Aug 2008, 18:24
good interview with ryan in today's BM. seems he was a bit crook the last time they played wang hence him spending a fair bit of time off the ground.

what do you reckon about c/r v lavi this week FP?

1 each in 08 and should be a great game.

Interview was good - didn't know his shoulder was that bad last year! Too much focus on the mrs................. :D:D

captain peanut
27 Aug 2008, 10:37
1 each in 08 and should be a great game.

Interview was good - didn't know his shoulder was that bad last year! Too much focus on the mrs................. :D:D

agreed should be a cracker this week. the prize is massive as wang have stuttered a bit in the last few weeks. with a few blokes still under done and a few still carrying injuries they will be somewhat vulnerable in the 2nd semi. wang's 2's missing finals is looming as important as there's a few that could well do with some match conditioning this week

golden days
27 Aug 2008, 11:46
Well Well Well, we as supporters/officials are supposed to shut our mouths when it comes to the umpires but a certain umpire finally got his own way when making a report At North Albury on Saturday. He has head hunted a certain player for a while, (his verbal badgering of him as he ran off the ground at Myrtleford was unacceptable) The player was obviuosly targeted on Saturday but did this umpire see anyone hit or knee him ? NO ! But of course when he had taken enough he retaliated and was reported and sent off. Not being happy enough you sat outside the change rooms with a big grin on your mentally retarded face whilst the angry supporters were still filing into the rooms. YOU ARE BRINGING THE GAME INTO DISREPUTE UMPIRE when are the umpires going to become more accountable ? ............................................................ ............:mad::mad::mad::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Flowerpower
27 Aug 2008, 13:38
Well Well Well, we as supporters/officials are supposed to shut our mouths when it comes to the umpires but a certain umpire finally got his own way when making a report At North Albury on Saturday. He has head hunted a certain player for a while, (his verbal badgering of him as he ran off the ground at Myrtleford was unacceptable) The player was obviuosly targeted on Saturday but did this umpire see anyone hit or knee him ? NO ! But of course when he had taken enough he retaliated and was reported and sent off. Not being happy enough you sat outside the change rooms with a big grin on your mentally retarded face whilst the angry supporters were still filing into the rooms. YOU ARE BRINGING THE GAME INTO DISREPUTE UMPIRE when are the umpires going to become more accountable ? ............................................................ ............:mad::mad::mad::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Why do people continually hack on the umpires?
If you are sick of it, put your hand up and head down to umpire training so you can show all other umpires how it is done. I'm sure they would love your obvious knowledge and control of the game.

If you can't, then suck it up princess!

Lavy_Panther
27 Aug 2008, 14:49
If you are sick of it, put your hand up and head down to umpire training so you can show all other umpires how it is done. I'm sure they would love your obvious knowledge and control of the game.

Nah, poor call for mine. Although alot of umpiring criticism is uncalled for and over the top, the retort that 'go and umpire yourself' is a poor one. If the same rationale applied to everything that is criticised you'd be telling everyone to go 'pull on the boots yourself and try and do a better job!' or 'why don't you go down to the call centre and see if you can do a better job than the telemarketers!’

Constructive criticism is necessary in a functioning society, and incompetence shouldn’t be sucked up.

Having said that, I didn't see the incident and can't comment on the merits of the decision.

Flowerpower
27 Aug 2008, 16:29
Nah, poor call for mine. Although alot of umpiring criticism is uncalled for and over the top, the retort that 'go and umpire yourself' is a poor one. If the same rationale applied to everything that is criticised you'd be telling everyone to go 'pull on the boots yourself and try and do a better job!' or 'why don't you go down to the call centre and see if you can do a better job than the telemarketers!’

Constructive criticism is necessary in a functioning society, and incompetence shouldn’t be sucked up.

Having said that, I didn't see the incident and can't comment on the merits of the decision.

Where was anything constructive in Golden Days rant?

golden days
27 Aug 2008, 19:31

Flowerpower, you are up the ladder, guess what you get a better run with the monkeys, its easier not to give the bottom teams the 50/50 frees. I pay my money at the gate and have the right to tell it how it is. We have seen ugly idcidents in the past with supporters/officials clashing with umpires and they were dealt with by the O & M, what I am saying is the umpires (or umpire) needs to pull his head in before ugliness rears its head again. Sorry I dont have you obvious knowledge and knowhow, maybe you can verture down and blow a whistle yourself.

If you dont, suck me off princess !

Lavy_Panther
27 Aug 2008, 22:19
Where was anything constructive in Golden Days rant?
You're right, but the appropriate retort isn't 'put your hand up and head down to umpire training.'

Flowerpower
28 Aug 2008, 10:23
Flowerpower, you are up the ladder, guess what you get a better run with the monkeys, its easier not to give the bottom teams the 50/50 frees. I pay my money at the gate and have the right to tell it how it is. We have seen ugly idcidents in the past with supporters/officials clashing with umpires and they were dealt with by the O & M, what I am saying is the umpires (or umpire) needs to pull his head in before ugliness rears its head again. Sorry I dont have you obvious knowledge and knowhow, maybe you can verture down and blow a whistle yourself.

If you dont, suck me off princess !

Roos down the south end of the ladder plenty of times fellas.......

I could have nearly written the script after my "get down to umpire training" with the "I pay my money" retort! Difference is I'm not the one getting on a public forum whinging and moaning like a B about umpiring issues.

Perhaps more appropriate action is to seek clarification from the umpire observer? Do you tape the games? Perhaps you could run through it with him and show the incidents causing so much grief?

What is it you actually want myself or others to do on this forum??

Personally, I don't want to hear your whining. Talk into the mirror at home if you need to get it out. Talk to your mum as she tucks you in at night. Even talk to your pet gerbil.

But unless you have positives don't just crap on about the negatives!

FP
:D

Silver_kid
28 Aug 2008, 10:29

I could have nearly written the script after my "get down to umpire training" with the "I pay my money" retort! Difference is I'm not the one getting on a public forum whinging and moaning like a B about umpiring issues.

Perhaps more appropriate action is to seek clarification from the umpire observer? Do you tape the games? Perhaps you could run through it with him and show the incidents causing so much grief?

Personally, I don't want to hear your whining. Talk into the mirror at home if you need to get it out. Talk to your mum as she tucks you in at night. Even talk to your pet gerbil.

FP

Valid points from both -Bit of passion in this debate - so much that FP hasn't even dribbled on about "rhyno" is his last 3 reply's!

captain peanut
28 Aug 2008, 11:25
Valid points from both -Bit of passion in this debate - so much that FP hasn't even dribbled on about "rhyno" is his last 3 reply's!

good point silver. FP must be pretty worked up to get distracted from his lovechild rhino

for what it's worth, from the 8 games i've seen this year in the O&M i'd have to say that overall i reckon the umps are doing a fairly reasonable job. of course that number of games is only a very small % of those played but i reckon in 7 out of 8 the only really ordinary effort i've seen was the wang v rovers game in rnd 2 and also parts of the wang v nth alb game the 1st time around when all hell broke loose. it's too easy to bag the umps, they have a very tough job trying to umpire such a fast moving sport and one that depends so much upon interpretation of the rules

anyone got any views on this weekend's finals? wodonga would be fairly warm faves v yarra i think? other game would seem to be pretty much 50/50 - lavi and c/r have both been very impressive at times during the year and would appear to shape up as a fairly tight contest at face value

Flowerpower
28 Aug 2008, 11:58
Don't worry boys - have plenty of gold lined up for the great man Rhino!

At present we need him focusing on the Roos finals charge, and him giving those lightning pinpoints hands out with regular monotony! :)

harryhoward
28 Aug 2008, 12:56
good point silver. FP must be pretty worked up to get distracted from his lovechild rhino

for what it's worth, from the 8 games i've seen this year in the O&M i'd have to say that overall i reckon the umps are doing a fairly reasonable job. of course that number of games is only a very small % of those played but i reckon in 7 out of 8 the only really ordinary effort i've seen was the wang v rovers game in rnd 2 and also parts of the wang v nth alb game the 1st time around when all hell broke loose. it's too easy to bag the umps, they have a very tough job trying to umpire such a fast moving sport and one that depends so much upon interpretation of the rules

anyone got any views on this weekend's finals? wodonga would be fairly warm faves v yarra i think? other game would seem to be pretty much 50/50 - lavi and c/r have both been very impressive at times during the year and would appear to shape up as a fairly tight contest at face value

yeah peanut, am expecting the corowa/lavy game to be real close, the roos won out only in the last ten minutes last time after being a goal down most of the day, interesting to note clark has not played against lavy this year so should make a difference to match ups, i would not expext butler to be towelled up like he was against ambrose again, maybe he goes to clark, panthers were without stevo last time, so hopefully both teams at full stength, not with a great deal of confidence i will be thinkin corowa will just get over the line, wodonga will end yarrawonga season.

golden days
28 Aug 2008, 16:15

FP

Firstly thanks for the mother comment, see passed recently.

Secondly I have been to every game and found most of the umpiring ok, that's a positive, If you read my posts I was talking about ONE UMPIRE this clown gets paid too and must be accountable for his substandard decisions. To bait supportes/officials is not a good thing to be doing so it just shows the lack of brains this guy has.
We have met with umpires to no avail, nothing has changes, we met early in the year, mid year and should we meet again ????? why, nothing has changed.

FP I want nothing from you or anyone else in this forum, but it is that, a forum, a place to talk about the games, the people, the rumors, the gripes and THE UMPIRES
As far as the video coming out, mate we all saw the G/F and the return matches, if the umpires could book anyone on those days, well there again, their is something wrong.

Lastly, your gerbil is out the front of my house, ive told it to f#%k off back home to Corowa, but its waiting for you to pick him up !

localjedi
28 Aug 2008, 16:54
Sorry golden days, are you saying your club has had 2 meeting with the umpires board about this 1 umpire?

Tigerrr_Uppercut
28 Aug 2008, 18:17

Secondly I have been to every game and found most of the umpiring ok, that's a positive, If you read my posts I was talking about ONE UMPIRE this clown gets paid too and must be accountable for his substandard decisions. To bait supportes/officials is not a good thing to be doing so it just shows the lack of brains this guy has.
We have met with umpires to no avail, nothing has changes, we met early in the year, mid year and should we meet again ????? why, nothing has changed.

FP I want nothing from you or anyone else in this forum, but it is that, a forum, a place to talk about the games, the people, the rumors, the gripes and THE UMPIRES
As far as the video coming out, mate we all saw the G/F and the return matches, if the umpires could book anyone on those days, well there again, their is something wrong.

Lastly, your gerbil is out the front of my house, ive told it to f#%k off back home to Corowa, but its waiting for you to pick him up !

how can u possibly have been to all games, do u own a cloning machine? i think not. Therefore the rest of your comment has no credability

golden days
28 Aug 2008, 18:49
Sorry golden days, are you saying your club has had 2 meeting with the umpires board about this 1 umpire?

localjedi, no, not in regaurds to that umpire just general

golden days
28 Aug 2008, 18:51
how can u possibly have been to all games, do u own a cloning machine? i think not. Therefore the rest of your comment has no credability

Of course I have not been to every game, im talking every game of ours, but I have been to a few others

Hornie
28 Aug 2008, 19:40

Get off the fence and name names. Who is the umpire and what is your beef?

golden days
28 Aug 2008, 20:56
Get off the fence and name names. Who is the umpire and what is your beef?

Read Monday's border mail, you will figure it out

Tigerrr_Uppercut
28 Aug 2008, 21:44
Of course I have not been to every game, im talking every game of ours, but I have been to a few others

well in that case, you have have very biased opinion

krusty123
28 Aug 2008, 23:30

FP

It pains me to say so but I agree with FP (I normally skip quickly past his drivel).

Golden days has presented us with nothing but aggressive taunts, abuse and bugger all of use to anyone.

Generally speaking, I've found that if you want something from someone (in your case improved umpires from the Board(s)) you don't get it by abusing the crap out of them. In fact you are more likely to get the opposite.

I don't know the nature of your club's 'discussions' with the umpires but I would suggest that a general expression of concern is not much use to anyone.

Here's my suggestion to the O&M. Have a mediated forum between the umpires and no more than 3 coaches/officials from each club. At the start of next season, sit down talk footy, talk rules and interpretations and get to know where the umpires are coming from.

Spectators can have their own point of view. 'They pay their money' and they are entitled to it . But wouldn't it improve the entire football environment if everyone involved was reading from the same play book.

If thats too hard why not have a chat to one after the game sometime? They are people and are generally happy to talk footy. (I said 'talk' not 'relieve yourself of your grievances')

Either way as FP said be positive and constructive otherwise keep it to yourself.

krusty123
28 Aug 2008, 23:35
BTW it good to see that you blokes aren't just jumping on the 'Umpire Bashing' train just because its open season.

Hornie
29 Aug 2008, 10:45
Read Monday's border mail, you will figure it out

So Peachy picks on poor Adam does he????

Ozz12
29 Aug 2008, 10:53
YOU ARE BRINGING THE GAME INTO DISREPUTE UMPIRE when are the umpires going to become more accountable ? ............................................................ ............:mad::mad::mad::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Strong words there Paul - I would have thought that now that your tenure at the Raiders was finished you would have just not worried about it.... as for looking at mondays paper - WOW - Prior got reported - cant say thats surprising.

Is he targeted sure - arent all good players? isnt it just a matter of how you deal with it - perhaps he needs a few lessons from Hoppa McCormick?
Can the umps see everything - no way!
Can the Clubs pressure the O&M to bring in a 3 umpire system to give forwards more freedom - Absolutely!
Will backmen be happy if a 3 umpire system comes in - probably not.
Do retaliator's get caught - yep!
Does Prior help himself with his attitude to people (not just umpires) - no!
Do you really think that the umpires would want to stand outside their rooms after a game by choice? Could they have had to stand outside because a female umpire was getting changed???

I will admit that I'm biased towards umps as a work mate umpires and i get to hear both sides of the story. But don't come on bitching about a player being found guilty and being suspended - Prior chose if he wanted a set penalty - if he didnt agree with it isnt that what an INDEPENDENT tribunal is for?

Ohhh and for the record there apparently have been enough O&M umpires dropped this year to show that they are held accountable.

Or am i just too emotional about it all???

Buckster
29 Aug 2008, 11:21
Lavi blokes or opposition players:-

just a quick one, whos quicker butler or Hunt?

20M?
50m?
100?
400?

golden days
29 Aug 2008, 12:38
well in that case, you have have very biased opinion

Of course I do Tiger, just like you would.

harryhoward
29 Aug 2008, 12:46

20M?
50m?
100?
400?

20m hunt, 50 m butler 1oom butler 400 prob hunt. buckster i dont know for a fact,but having watched lavington every week thats my opinion, rex would have him off the mark, but i thinks buttsy would get him once he gets going, rex is a long distance freak, he would get him in the longer runs.

golden days
29 Aug 2008, 12:57
It pains me to say so but I agree with FP (I normally skip quickly past his drivel).

Golden days has presented us with nothing but aggressive taunts, abuse and bugger all of use to anyone.

Generally speaking, I've found that if you want something from someone (in your case improved umpires from the Board(s)) you don't get it by abusing the crap out of them. In fact you are more likely to get the opposite.

I don't know the nature of your club's 'discussions' with the umpires but I would suggest that a general expression of concern is not much use to anyone.

Here's my suggestion to the O&M. Have a mediated forum between the umpires and no more than 3 coaches/officials from each club. At the start of next season, sit down talk footy, talk rules and interpretations and get to know where the umpires are coming from.

Spectators can have their own point of view. 'They pay their money' and they are entitled to it . But wouldn't it improve the entire football environment if everyone involved was reading from the same play book.

If thats too hard why not have a chat to one after the game sometime? They are people and are generally happy to talk footy. (I said 'talk' not 'relieve yourself of your grievances')

Either way as FP said be positive and constructive otherwise keep it to yourself.

Krusty I have not been aggressive I just can't seem to get my point accross. We/I have not abused the umpires at all this year and Im certainly up for talking to them.
Not everything is positive out of footy and a lot of it is frustrating.
It can't just all be birds singing and flowers in bloom on here.

golden days
29 Aug 2008, 13:06
Strong words there Paul - I would have thought that now that your tenure at the Raiders was finished you would have just not worried about it.... as for looking at mondays paper - WOW - Prior got reported - cant say thats surprising.

Is he targeted sure - arent all good players? isnt it just a matter of how you deal with it - perhaps he needs a few lessons from Hoppa McCormick?
Can the umps see everything - no way!
Can the Clubs pressure the O&M to bring in a 3 umpire system to give forwards more freedom - Absolutely!
Will backmen be happy if a 3 umpire system comes in - probably not.
Do retaliator's get caught - yep!
Does Prior help himself with his attitude to people (not just umpires) - no!
Do you really think that the umpires would want to stand outside their rooms after a game by choice? Could they have had to stand outside because a female umpire was getting changed???
I will admit that I'm biased towards umps as a work mate umpires and i get to hear both sides of the story. But don't come on bitching about a player being found guilty and being suspended - Prior chose if he wanted a set penalty - if he didnt agree with it isnt that what an INDEPENDENT tribunal is for?

Ohhh and for the record there apparently have been enough O&M umpires dropped this year to show that they are held accountable.

Or am i just too emotional about it all???

Ozz12, im not Paul so leave him out of it.
In reference to targeting, I only meant this week as it was his first game against his old side (he was injured 1st time around)
I also agree with all the points you make (im not totally negative)
I also know plenty of umpires (1 is a close mate)
I also thank you for your clarification on the fact that they were outside due to the female boundry umpire getting changed.
That doesnt stop the fact that he only made the one report out of several incident during the day.
I would love fair dinkum opinion of a North Albury supporter, please feel free to set the record straight.

krusty123
29 Aug 2008, 15:12
Ozz12, im not Paul so leave him out of it.
In reference to targeting, I only meant this week as it was his first game against his old side (he was injured 1st time around)
I also agree with all the points you make (im not totally negative)
I also know plenty of umpires (1 is a close mate)
I also thank you for your clarification on the fact that they were outside due to the female boundry umpire getting changed.
That doesnt stop the fact that he only made the one report out of several incident during the day.
I would love fair dinkum opinion of a North Albury supporter, please feel free to set the record straight.

This should've read:

'That doesnt stop the fact that he only made the one report out of several incidents in my opinion during the day'

also...

"big grin on your mentally retarded face"

...this is the definition of aggressive and abusive.

golden days
29 Aug 2008, 15:51
This should've read:

'That doesnt stop the fact that he only made the one report out of several incidents in my opinion during the day'

also...

"big grin on your mentally retarded face"

...this is the definition of aggressive and abusive.

I take what you have said and apologise

Tigerrr_Uppercut
29 Aug 2008, 16:52
I take what you have said and apologise

your season is well and truely over, so let it go now

head16
29 Aug 2008, 21:20

20M?
50m?
100?
400?

I reckon buttsy would nail rex over 400m... in fact i'd say buttsy is quicker! but that'd be in a race. when it comes to darting around a footy field, i'd give rex the nod!

While i'm comparing them i mite continue on some irrelevant areas...

Rex is a far better hunter than adam, rex is smart enough to wear shoes in the scrub!

Rex is a far better at saving money, so much so that he doesn't know what his own 'PIN' number is, quite simply he's never used it to withdraw cash. Adam is a tight, but rex is water tight!

Adam has a far better laugh than rex, and it is such a good laugh, his brother tom has gone as far as to adopt the exact same cackle!

Rex is tougher than buttsy, cos rex has got a tattoo and adam doesn't!

Adam is a better driver than rex. Adam's been to Lake many times and never crashed. Rex has hit so many guide posts on the journey, its easier to count the one's he hasn't hit!

Adam is a better drinker than rex... even though he doesn't drink! Cos i've seen adam have 5 stubbies and still be able to talk, whereas rex has never managed to get through 5 stubbies in one sitting. On the odd occasion when Rex has ever got close (say 3 or 4) he calls himself "Bad Rex" which just shows you how hammered he is!

Rex is far better at yabbying than Adam. I've never seen rex yabby, but i've seen adam in action and there's no way rex is worse than him.

Thats about it i reckon! :D

golden days
30 Aug 2008, 01:18
your season is well and truely over, so let it go now

thanks for your words of wisdom

head16
30 Aug 2008, 04:46
I'm assuming someone can tell me if the panthers vs roos game is being broadcast on the radio... if so which one of the stations are doing it? I mite try to listen in over the net for a bit to see how its going.

Here It Is
30 Aug 2008, 12:32
Box, click on http://www.oakfm.com.au/home/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=38&Itemid=41 and choose your preferred format. Windows Media Player is the one I use.

head16
30 Aug 2008, 15:40
Cheers BR.

harryhoward
31 Aug 2008, 11:05
Cheers BR.
great game of footy yesterday in pretty hard conditions at yarra, a six goal to one third quarter set up lavys win, the roos will struggle next week with what looks to be serious injuries to jake ryan and craig taft, great win by the panthers....

Lewis#3
31 Aug 2008, 18:23
Wodonga get up in a very hard game over at North Albury.
They beat Yarrawonga by 10 points in the end and set up a final against Corowa Rutherglen next week.

Lavington and Wangaratta play off for a grand final spot next week to.

forward pocket
31 Aug 2008, 19:59
Wodonga get up in a very hard game over at North Albury.
They beat Yarrawonga by 10 points in the end and set up a final against Corowa Rutherglen next week.

Lavington and Wangaratta play off for a grand final spot next week to.

Thanks for the good updates on the scores and games guys. Anyone got any other news out of any of the weekends games?

Could be a good tight finals series!

head16
31 Aug 2008, 22:43
Final 5 is sorted now... i want some predictions, how will it all pan out?
I'll throw in my ideas for what its worth, but clearly have only a vague idea from where i am!

Wang seem like the team to beat again, but have stumbled a bit in the final few rounds. Their seconds not makin it could prove an interesting point when they'll be trying to get some blokes returning from injury match fit.

If my punting form is anything to go by... back against me!!!

WEEK 1
Yarra vs Dogs... Dogs to win
Roos vs Lavi... Panthers to win
WEEK 2
Dogs vs Roos ... Roos to Win
Wang vs Lavi ... Wang to win
WEEK 3
Roos vs Lavi ... Panthers to win
WEEK 4
Wang vs Lavi (LPO)....

HEADLINE OF THE FINALS SERIES...
O&M Investigates Ugly Quarter Time Brawl

I reckon i've stuck my neck out enough already... If this all happens i'll have another stab in a few weeks.

Good luck to all teams... 1st, 2nds, turds, and netballers in the Finals.
Go those Panthers!

Week 1, Sorted!

Flowerpower
1 Sep 2008, 13:08
At least we get the double chance.

I can't believe the Roos lost......had their chances - all credit to the Panthers.

Lets hope the injuries are not as bad as first thought.

FP

theBboi
1 Sep 2008, 19:31
At least we get the double chance.

I can't believe the Roos lost......had their chances - all credit to the Panthers.

Lets hope the injuries are not as bad as first thought.

FP

maybe you should not have talked them up

Flowerpower
2 Sep 2008, 18:26
Why wouldn't you talk it up if you finished second?

:rolleyes:

theBboi
2 Sep 2008, 20:08
Why wouldn't you talk it up if you finished second?

:rolleyes:

i can talk it up my team finished 1st i just choose to not make myself look like a fool like otherwise

golden days
3 Sep 2008, 21:30
Who will advance to the G/f this week ?
Who's season will end at Birralee Park ?
Morris Medal ?

Good Talker
3 Sep 2008, 22:04
Who will advance to the G/f this week ?
Who's season will end at Birralee Park ?
Morris Medal ?

if lavington turn up to play i think they are a big chance of surprising wang i know everyone has wang as premiers but if anyone can do (what seems impossible ) tim sanson can (remember 2005)
Wodonga to progress through to prelim and possibly make gf
Expect a surprise winner of the morris medal someone who sneeks under everyones gaurd

A bit of a whisper nth albury to lose majority of this years 3rds side to a bush club and o&m opponent with the possibilty of a few good senior players moving on to.

Lewis#3
3 Sep 2008, 22:34
if lavington turn up to play i think they are a big chance of surprising wang i know everyone has wang as premiers but if anyone can do (what seems impossible ) tim sanson can (remember 2005)
Expect a surprise winner of the morris medal someone who sneeks under everyones gaurd

A bit of a whisper nth albury to lose majority of this years 3rds side to a bush club and o&m opponent with the possibilty of a few good senior players moving on to.

Wangaratta to beat Lavington to make it to there 2nd grand final in a row.
Wodonga to win over the Roos.

Which Club are all North Albury's third going to?

harryhoward
4 Sep 2008, 10:30

A bit of a whisper nth albury to lose majority of this years 3rds side to a bush club and o&m opponent with the possibilty of a few good senior players moand ving on to.

i agree i think the panthers will upset wangaratta this week and be the first team into the big dance. wodonga will defeat corowa rutherglen by about 5-6 goals. as for the morris- my three would be shir, carpenter and pender will poll very well particulary in the first half of season...

captain peanut
4 Sep 2008, 11:35
i agree i think the panthers will upset wangaratta this week and be the first team into the big dance. wodonga will defeat corowa rutherglen by about 5-6 goals. as for the morris- my three would be shir, carpenter and pender will poll very well particulary in the first half of season...

wang fairly easily on sat. i thought they might have a few underdone but they just have too much talent all over the field and really are a fair way ahead of the rest. plus there is so much competition for places in the side that there will be no room for complacency. have also heard they've already got most of their key players under lock and key for 2009. probably in the market for a ruckman tho with boofa likely to retire. kirby and henry both fair chances to go around again too

in the other game this week wodonga are looking the goods with tafft and ryan out for c/r. wod are a big chance to go all the way to the GF

Silver_kid
4 Sep 2008, 12:24
wang fairly easily on sat. i thought they might have a few underdone but they just have too much talent all over the field and really are a fair way ahead of the rest. plus there is so much competition for places in the side that there will be no room for complacency. have also heard they've already got most of their key players under lock and key for 2009. probably in the market for a ruckman tho with boofa likely to retire. kirby and henry both fair chances to go around again too

in the other game this week wodonga are looking the goods with tafft and ryan out for c/r. wod are a big chance to go all the way to the GF

Yeah wodonga will go into this game with a fair bit of confidence, and definately a premiership contender - the dogs seem very underrated, no one gives them too much credit

Flowerpower
4 Sep 2008, 17:50
Rhino Ryan definately out of business gents. I bet he is shattered.

Flowerpower in mourning..............:(:(

But, still a big game Sunday. Raines and Carpenter to step up and carry the Roos for a chance at the Granny spot.

Buckster
4 Sep 2008, 18:42
Rhino Ryan definately out of business gents. I bet he is shattered.

Flowerpower in mourning..............:(:(

But, still a big game Sunday. Raines and Carpenter to step up and carry the Roos for a chance at the Granny spot.

If both teams play to there best, dogs should win by 8 goals! M Shir just been laying low last few weeks....35 plus this weekend with a few bangers on top! plus the morris in a few weeks.....

Wang V Dogs GF

theBboi
4 Sep 2008, 19:52
If both teams play to there best, dogs should win by 8 goals! M Shir just been laying low last few weeks....35 plus this weekend with a few bangers on top! plus the morris in a few weeks.....

Wang V Dogs GF

yea i agree with you but it is finals football and anything can happen but i would expect wang to win this week and i also think that if Bradshaw cut's loose the roo's will not be able to stop hmi.

localjedi
5 Sep 2008, 15:01
In another blow to C/R Adam Way made himself 'unavailable' for the Roos on Sunday.

Is there something else to this? Really, I can't see why someone would make themselves unavailable for a final, if its an injury - fine, if you can't play you can't play. There would be about 400 players in the league not playing this week who would be willing to give their left nut for a crack at the finals, its what you work all year for, then to just pass it up?

Can someone shed some light on this, just doesn't make sense to me.

Hitman01
5 Sep 2008, 15:53
Lavi to win the flag
mark bush to win the morris medal...shir never polls well, i think its because he only gets handball recieves and the umpires are onto it. pender a chance and carps will have too many votes stolen from him by his team mates..

Kanga Magoo
6 Sep 2008, 07:35
In another blow to C/R Adam Way made himself 'unavailable' for the Roos on Sunday.

Is there something else to this? Really, I can't see why someone would make themselves unavailable for a final, if its an injury - fine, if you can't play you can't play. There would be about 400 players in the league not playing this week who would be willing to give their left nut for a crack at the finals, its what you work all year for, then to just pass it up?

Can someone shed some light on this, just doesn't make sense to me.

He is not "unavailable" as reported.

Story is Toss gave it to him bluntly about the way he way playing and he didn't like it and walked out.

This kid should listen to what he is told as Toss doesn't talk bullshit.
Also heard certain people are pissing in his pocket and are pumping his game up better than what it is.

It's a disgrace to walk out on your team mates at any time, especially during finals when you have just lost two your biggest players.

The young fella needs to give himself a good uppercut or one of his team mates should give him one.

Lewis#3
6 Sep 2008, 16:44
Wangaratta leading by a goal at half time in the second-semi final being played today.

harryhoward
6 Sep 2008, 16:44
if anyone wants to know wangaratta 4.8.32 lead Lavington 4.2.26 at half time. albury smashed lavy in the twos and rovers won the thirds. also north albury won the a grade netball if anyone wanted to know 54-53 over yarra.

harryhoward
6 Sep 2008, 17:59
wangaratta 10 11 71
Lavington 8 7 55.

congrats to the maggies, panthers live to fight another day.

6uldv8
7 Sep 2008, 00:56
wangaratta 10 11 71
Lavington 8 7 55.

congrats to the maggies, panthers live to fight another day.

G u must have a clone out there HH,U GIVE A HALF TIME SCORE IN O&M THN U GET 2 hfl AND THEN BACK 2 O&M FOR THE FINISH OF THE GAME.
Good work by u tho thx 4 the results

Lewis#3
7 Sep 2008, 20:07
Was at the Bulldogs V Corowa Rutherglen game today.
Corowa looked very good for a quarter and a half and lead by as many as 32 points halfway through the second quarter.
The Bulldogs then kicked the last 5 goals of the half to go in only 1 point down.
Then with a 10 goal to 2 second half they ran away winner by 48 points.
2 big injuries to come from the match Matt Shir and David Antonowicz.
Shir could get up to play next week but Antonowicz is unlikely to.
The Bulldogs are now into a Preliminary Final next week V Lavington.

theBboi
7 Sep 2008, 21:33
Was at the Bulldogs V Corowa Rutherglen game today.
Corowa looked very good for a quarter and a half and lead by as many as 32 points halfway through the second quarter.
The Bulldogs then kicked the last 5 goals of the half to go in only 1 point down.
Then with a 10 goal to 2 second half they ran away winner by 48 points.
2 big injuries to come from the match Matt Shir and David Antonowicz.
Shir could get up to play next week but Antonowicz is unlikely to.
The Bulldogs are now into a Preliminary Final next week V Lavington.

yer thought the Bulldogs would be to good had a feeling that Corowa would choke maybe flower power shouldnt churp as much and keep to himself

Flowerpower
8 Sep 2008, 10:11
That may be the only feeling you get bboi, although one suspect you give yourself a decent go! :D

Bulldogs too good - congrats. Roos went into the game with two key players out and it was always going to be a tough ask.

Lets hope the Roos stick together and a couple more recruits are sourced to challenge for the big one. Lets face it, nobody remembers second.

Thanks for putting up with my banter this year gents, plenty of you took the bait but it was all in good humour.

Rhino Ryan, from this forum (and I can't believe how this creates so much angst!) took the focus from many, and this in small part is a testiment to his character and strength.

Good luck to those left in the finals race and see you next year.

Cheers

FP

captain peanut
8 Sep 2008, 14:59
That may be the only feeling you get bboi, although one suspect you give yourself a decent go! :D

Bulldogs too good - congrats. Roos went into the game with two key players out and it was always going to be a tough ask.

Lets hope the Roos stick together and a couple more recruits are sourced to challenge for the big one. Lets face it, nobody remembers second.

Thanks for putting up with my banter this year gents, plenty of you took the bait but it was all in good humour.

Rhino Ryan, from this forum (and I can't believe how this creates so much angst!) took the focus from many, and this in small part is a testiment to his character and strength.

Cheers

FP

Enjoy the off season FP. are you playing finals down here? i haven't checked on your progress for a while. I like your chirpiness that's what this forum is all about, opinions, talking it up and plenty of spinning sh*t!!. hope to hear plenty more from you in 09 because the roos are clearly not far away as you say a couple more recruits and they will be right there again. they were always up against it yesterday without ryan and taft altho wod did then lose shir and antonowicz for the 2nd half

i saw both games for the weekend the 2nd semi at wang was very scrappy stuff given the conditions and the quality of the players out there. wang looked in need of a good hit out and lavi showed enough to suggest the GF may end up being a contest after all altho they are no given to get past wod next week. they closed to within a kick a couple of times in the last quarter on sat but couldn't get the nose in front. should be a cracking prelim as wod appear to be playing their best footy at the right end of the season

theBboi
8 Sep 2008, 19:53

Cheers

FP

well i have heard that aron Hennaman is goin back to corowa and a few other players so they could be a power house because they were not far off it this year

Good Talker
8 Sep 2008, 21:14
Wangaratta to beat Lavington to make it to there 2nd grand final in a row.
Wodonga to win over the Roos.

Which Club are all North Albury's third going to?

They are going to the murray magpies.
Lavy just fell short on weekend yes live to fight another day will be a great game this weekend against the doggies but with shir and tona under big injury clouds i think lavy might just get up. I think wang will be watching very closely this week as both these sides have the personell to win the big one. I think we are in for two very big weeks in o&m footy.

Another whisper Aiden Brown from nth albury to rand/walbundrie next year .

thurgood
8 Sep 2008, 22:49
He is not "unavailable" as reported.

Story is Toss gave it to him bluntly about the way he way playing and he didn't like it and walked out.

This kid should listen to what he is told as Toss doesn't talk bullshit.
Also heard certain people are pissing in his pocket and are pumping his game up better than what it is.

It's a disgrace to walk out on your team mates at any time, especially during finals when you have just lost two your biggest players.

The young fella needs to give himself a good uppercut or one of his team mates should give him one.

Certainly a strange set of circumstances with young Way.

Did Flower Power get stuck into him on the radio on Sunday did I hear?

Also, what chances on Way going to the Raiders with his cousin Brendan next year?

Flowerpower
9 Sep 2008, 10:30
What radio station was I on?

Fair effort to sound coherant considering I was drinking and having a quiet punt in an Melbourne Eastern Suburbs Hotel!!!!!!!! :eek:

Agent
9 Sep 2008, 14:32
Certainly a strange set of circumstances with young Way.

Did Flower Power get stuck into him on the radio on Sunday did I hear?

Also, what chances on Way going to the Raiders with his cousin Brendan next year?

How come he didn't play (Way)???

Flowerpower
9 Sep 2008, 15:51
How come he didn't play (Way)???

Waylaid.

golden days
9 Sep 2008, 16:35
Wodonga looked down and out midway through the 2nd quarter against Corowa/Rutherglen, but they have the ability to regroup and keep coming slamming on 5 unanswered goals, the three best sides are fighting it out for mind with Wang not in such good form but still getting over the line, should be a cracking game Sat in the prelim, With an easier game out of the two coming off the weekend it's Wodonga for me.

P.S The umpiring at Birallee Park on Sunday was excellent !;)

theBboi
9 Sep 2008, 20:32
Wodonga looked down and out midway through the 2nd quarter against Corowa/Rutherglen, but they have the ability to regroup and keep coming slamming on 5 unanswered goals, the three best sides are fighting it out for mind with Wang not in such good form but still getting over the line, should be a cracking game Sat in the prelim, With an easier game out of the two coming off the weekend it's Wodonga for me.

boys whats thoughts on who winin the league b&f

raidrboy
9 Sep 2008, 21:15
boys whats thoughts on who winin the league b&f

Matt Shir or Jamie Allen with Paul Kirby as a dark horse.

Flowerpower
10 Sep 2008, 11:34
Carpenter, Raines, Ryan in that order.
Put your house on it. :D

Buckster
10 Sep 2008, 12:11
Carpenter, Raines, Ryan in that order.
Put your house on it. :D

you forgot tossol to finish 4th and big shaw for 5th ... you idiot!

Silver_kid
10 Sep 2008, 16:14

I've only caught a handful of wodonga games, but will doswell still votes off shir? he's had some big games

krusty123
10 Sep 2008, 17:21

Good to see you can also appreciate a job well done. ;)

If all good umpiring jobs got praise when they deserved it you might see a few more guys stick with it. Don't underestimate the power of positive feedback.

Bright Boy
11 Sep 2008, 10:11
More pain for the Saints it would seem with Beams pulling the pin.

No link of the BM website so not sure of the details. Certain some persons from up the Border way could outline the details for persons unable to access the BM.

golden days
11 Sep 2008, 11:17
Good to see you can also appreciate a job well done. ;)

If all good umpiring jobs got praise when they deserved it you might see a few more guys stick with it. Don't underestimate the power of positive feedback.

I will certainly do that ! I call it as I see it, good or bad !

golden days
11 Sep 2008, 11:19
More pain for the Saints it would seem with Beams pulling the pin.

No link of the BM website so not sure of the details. Certain some persons from up the Border way could outline the details for persons unable to access the BM.

He is going back to Tassy for Family and Work reasons, due to the graft not taking in his knee he has retited, it was mutaul between the board and Ben according to the BM.

Hard luck with the knee, terrible injury to come back from, Thoughts of the O & M are with him.

theBboi
11 Sep 2008, 13:39
p karby has had a shoken second year cant be a drk horse

krusty123
11 Sep 2008, 16:22
May be some O&M people sniffing about?

Press release today:

SIMON McCORMICK RETIRES

The West Adelaide Football Club wishes to announce the retirement of Vice-Captain Simon McCormick. Due to the pressures of business and family, McCormick no longer feels he can commit the time required to be an elite SANFL Player. The playing group and coaching staff were informed of his decision last night.

McCormick joined the Club in 2000 but was unfortunately plagued with injuries and returned to the Club to play 39 league games from 2007 winning the Club Best & Fairest Medal in 2007. McCormick said, "Unfortunately I am unable to commit to the time required in playing at the SANFL level due to running a couple of businesses and having a young family. My goal of helping the club advance up the SANFL ladder was unfortunately not achieved which is disappointing however, I am sure with the playing group they have that this will not be too far away. I would like to thank the players, supporters and administrators within the West Adelaide Football Club who have been fantastic to my family and me since we came across at the beginning of last year. I would like to thank my wife, Peta for her support over the two years also."

Coach Andrew Collins said, Simon as a leader and Vice Captain will be missed greatly on field as he is a very courageous player but due to outside commitments he was not able to commit this year. Simon will be involved in a Community Project with the playing group, so we look forward to his continued involvement in the Club.

CEO Damien Phillips said, The West Adelaide Football Club thanks Simon for his service to the Club, both on and off the field where has been a terrific leader during difficult times. Simon, along with his wife Peta and his children have been great supporters of the Club, and with various projects will continue to play a part of the revival of the West Adelaide Football Club. We wish Simon well in his retirement.

switch the play
11 Sep 2008, 16:33
He is going back to Tassy for Family and Work reasons, due to the graft not taking in his knee he has retited, it was mutaul between the board and Ben according to the BM.

Hard luck with the knee, terrible injury to come back from, Thoughts of the O & M are with him.

Footy was buzzing on the weekend with strong rumours extra ciricular activities were part of his departure

Good Talker
11 Sep 2008, 17:23
Dont 4get about matty pendergast from lavy has had a very good year. matt mcdonald from nth albury as a dark horse

harryhoward
11 Sep 2008, 18:46
Dont 4get about matty pendergast from lavy has had a very good year. matt mcdonald from nth albury as a dark horse

penders first half of the season was sensational, i expect he will be right up there at the half way mark, he has probably gone back a bit since, i would expect luke garland from lavy to poll well from them as well..
i think shir should win, but what i think wont matter come medal night.

Shambles
11 Sep 2008, 21:56

And the winner is Mark Bush.

head16
12 Sep 2008, 02:18
How many games did McCormick play in the home & away season?

theBboi
12 Sep 2008, 17:28
How many games did McCormick play in the home & away season?

he played his first game im pretty shore against lavi the second time around so i think that was maybes rnd 11 or 12

harryhoward
12 Sep 2008, 20:26
any thoughts on sundays big match, i think this will be the closest match of the finals series as they are both evenly matched. wodonga has beaten lavy twice this year, and bradshaw has had a big bearing on both matches , the big fella seems to enjoy playing against lavy, and obviously is a key, shir played well the second time and will be a big loss if he doesnt come up... the panthers are pretty even across the board and will need their big forwards to kick a couple to take some of the pressure off the mids, anyway i think this game will go right to the wire and i think the panthers may just be in front at the end... good luck to both teams...

Lavy_Panther
14 Sep 2008, 17:59
Panthers win in a corker by three points. Clarry Aalbers kicks the winner with about 30 seconds left.

head16
14 Sep 2008, 18:22
Panthers win in a corker by three points. Clarry Aalbers kicks the winner with about 30 seconds left.

Good to hear... but they've won nothing yet, a fact i'm sure the boss is reminding them about.

harryhoward
14 Sep 2008, 18:48
Good to hear... but they've won nothing yet, a fact i'm sure the boss is reminding them about.

what a game of footy that was, lav 12.18.90 wodonga 13.9.87. includ 2.8 in the last quarter to the panthers, for lavy i thought their good players were, garland, schilg , doherty, mckimmie was their option up forward but was wasteful with 2.4, and paul sanson was handy in defence. for the dogs twitt was superb and bradshaw with eight was very good as well... panthers also beat dogs in the twos,,, commiserations to the doggies, congrats to the panthers...