View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50

Lewis#3
14 Sep 2008, 18:51
Was at the game today.
To lose in the last 30 seconds is just heart breaking for the dogs.
Bulldogs were missing Shir and Antonowicz.
The grand final next weekshould be a close one.

krusty123
14 Sep 2008, 19:46
Panthers win in a corker by three points. Clarry Aalbers kicks the winner with about 30 seconds left.

Can someone tell me how the umpires went. Any impact or working under the radar?

Lewis#3
14 Sep 2008, 19:59
The umpires had no real impact on the game.
Thought they did a pretty good job considering the pressure they were under for most of the game.

harryhoward
14 Sep 2008, 20:11
The umpires had no real impact on the game.
Thought they did a pretty good job considering the pressure they were under for most of the game.

agreed lewis.. i just thought it was a terrific contest with two teams desperate to advance to the grand final... the panthers finished the stronger in a game that could have gone either way...

captain peanut
15 Sep 2008, 11:21
boys whats thoughts on who winin the league b&f

jesse smith for mine. has had a very consistent year

Silver_kid
15 Sep 2008, 12:35
agreed lewis.. i just thought it was a terrific contest with two teams desperate to advance to the grand final... the panthers finished the stronger in a game that could have gone either way...

congrats to lavi, great effort, they just keep on surprising - hows stevo been playing?

tragic for the dogs - no one gave them much credit all year but they just never give in and have a decent crack, i think they would have been more of a show to beat wang

Lavy_Panther
15 Sep 2008, 15:17
congrats to lavi, great effort, they just keep on surprising - hows stevo been playing?

tragic for the dogs - no one gave them much credit all year but they just never give in and have a decent crack, i think they would have been more of a show to beat wang
Because a couple of goals is such a tough margain to turn around on your home ground? Get real. Panthers have proven they're the number one contender.

Smells like 2005.

Buckster
15 Sep 2008, 15:35
Because a couple of goals is such a tough margain to turn around on your home ground? Get real. Panthers have proven they're the number one contender.

Smells like 2005.

Wang by 38 points in the GF.
Hopper BOG honours.
J Lappin and Hopper = free piss for a decade at wang.

theBboi
15 Sep 2008, 17:39
Hopper BOG honours.

have to agree the buck think wang will be to good maybe kirby will pull his finger and doing somethin and yes hopper bog

Macgyver
15 Sep 2008, 17:51
Hopper BOG honours.

Yes the amber stuff should be flowing well into next week down at the norm minns. Good luck boys

Lavy_Panther
15 Sep 2008, 23:39
Jake Ryan Morris Medallist.

Flower, where art thou.

Flowerpower
16 Sep 2008, 11:37
My silence is deafening................

codola
16 Sep 2008, 16:43
Final 5 is sorted now... i want some predictions, how will it all pan out?
I'll throw in my ideas for what its worth, but clearly have only a vague idea from where i am!

Wang seem like the team to beat again, but have stumbled a bit in the final few rounds. Their seconds not makin it could prove an interesting point when they'll be trying to get some blokes returning from injury match fit.

If my punting form is anything to go by... back against me!!!

WEEK 1
Yarra vs Dogs... Dogs to win
Roos vs Lavi... Panthers to win
WEEK 2
Dogs vs Roos ... Roos to Win
Wang vs Lavi ... Wang to win
WEEK 3
Roos vs Lavi ... Panthers to win
WEEK 4
Wang vs Lavi (LPO)....

HEADLINE OF THE FINALS SERIES...
O&M Investigates Ugly Quarter Time Brawl

I reckon i've stuck my neck out enough already... If this all happens i'll have another stab in a few weeks.

Good luck to all teams... 1st, 2nds, turds, and netballers in the Finals.
Go those Panthers!

Not bad for a bloke on the other side of the world - only slip up was Dogs got over the Roos in 1st Semi.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

My prediction is Panthers in the decider. Oh, and the headline will be "Wang cry over unfair advantage with GF being played at LPO". :D

Can anyone enlighten me regarding GFs in the O&M, is it true that LPO is only locked into a one year contract these days? Are Magpies and Rovers gonna "share" a home ground at the showgrounds and update the facilities so that the GF can be played there??? What about parking etc? Some rumours I have heard down here at Yabbie Creek.

Macgyver
16 Sep 2008, 18:06
Not bad for a bloke on the other side of the world - only slip up was Dogs got over the Roos in 1st Semi.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

My prediction is Panthers in the decider. Oh, and the headline will be "Wang cry over unfair advantage with GF being played at LPO". :D

Can anyone enlighten me regarding GFs in the O&M, is it true that LPO is only locked into a one year contract these days? Are Magpies and Rovers gonna "share" a home ground at the showgrounds and update the facilities so that the GF can be played there??? What about parking etc? Some rumours I have heard down here at Yabbie Creek.

Lets just hope the real wang magpies turn up and then we wont have to bitch about the home ground advantage... As for the wang gf proposal apparently what was put to the board earlier in the year was by definition f-ing fantastic but the "Murray" in ovens and murray just seems to be an overriding factor.... As for the parking situation the paddock next door aka the wj finlay oval and also the barr reserve ovals would also be available more than adequate one would believe

Good Talker
16 Sep 2008, 21:20
Good to hear... but they've won nothing yet, a fact i'm sure the boss is reminding them about.
Was a great effort but your right head the boss and a few of the fossells in the side have said the same thing still have one more to go. Boys trained well 2nite and are ready to go.for those of you who are still prepared to pencil in wang and right off the panthers do so at your own peril come sunday it is 2 very exciting teams going to war the panthers have been here before and know how to win the so called unwinnable premiership.

Lavy_Panther
16 Sep 2008, 21:41
Lets just hope the real wang magpies turn up and then we wont have to bitch about the home ground advantage... As for the wang gf proposal apparently what was put to the board earlier in the year was by definition f-ing fantastic but the "Murray" in ovens and murray just seems to be an overriding factor.... As for the parking situation the paddock next door aka the wj finlay oval and also the barr reserve ovals would also be available more than adequate one would believe

Not sure why you'd want to move the grand final away from the best venue between capital cities. Would be like moving the AFL grand final to Skilled Stadium.

Good Talker
16 Sep 2008, 22:02
your not bad you wang blokes youve won more wooden spoons than premierships in the last ten years now youve won a flag and think you will win another one you and all of a sudden you want to take the gf down to a dust bowl with no decent spectator points and think you can cater for 15000 people welcome to the real world cause once lappo goes so will all your recruits and you will b back winning wooden spoons again.LPO is the best place to play the gf no matter who plays.

thurgood
16 Sep 2008, 22:12
your not bad you wang blokes youve won more wooden spoons than premierships in the last ten years now youve won a flag and think you will win another one you and all of a sudden you want to take the gf down to a dust bowl with no decent spectator points and think you can cater for 15000 people welcome to the real world cause once lappo goes so will all your recruits and you will b back winning wooden spoons again.LPO is the best place to play the gf no matter who plays.

agreed!

there's no doubt lavi is the best venue for the grand final and hopefully that's where it stays!

on another note, anyone heard of any potential recruits from sides that years have already finished?

thought we might have heard a couple out of north albury or the raiders by now?

how many more have albury got on the go after stitching up carey?

head16
17 Sep 2008, 04:41

Who cares where they play it! I'm sure wang will get it at some point, and if it means they (council and 2 wang clubs) spend heaps of cash to do it, then it'll only be good for the district, league and footy in general. In the meantime, it shouldn't leave the LPO until a ground with surface & facilities of equal of better standard comes along... and there is not one now. Surely you wang people can admit to that? Its got fcuk all to do with which river 'flows' through your city.

For the crew at the BMM, any chance will get a dose of some of the articles featured in the weeks editions. Give one of your apprentices the job of cutting and pasting some stories onto your site, so the world can have a read, not just the locals.

head16
17 Sep 2008, 07:18

Indeed codola, prob would've changed my selection with the dogs v roos had i known ryan and taft were out too.

Clearly i'm gunna take Lavi in the GF...

captain peanut
17 Sep 2008, 12:17
Who cares where they play it! I'm sure wang will get it at some point, and if it means they (council and 2 wang clubs) spend heaps of cash to do it, then it'll only be good for the district, league and footy in general. In the meantime, it shouldn't leave the LPO until a ground with surface & facilities of equal of better standard comes along... and there is not one now. Surely you wang people can admit to that? Its got fcuk all to do with which river 'flows' through your city.

For the crew at the BMM, any chance will get a dose of some of the articles featured in the weeks editions. Give one of your apprentices the job of cutting and pasting some stories onto your site, so the world can have a read, not just the locals.

i hope the BMM takes on board your suggestion. some access to the GF related articles in the lead up to those not able to purchase the paper would be appreciated

also spot on re the GF venue. LPO is definitely the best venue in the league at the present time. it is only on a 1 year contract at the moment tho and it is to be reivewed come season's end. the norm minns oval would require a bit of upgrading i'd think to host 15,000 at a GF. the word in the pipeline tho is that the local council are committed to doing what it takes to get the venue to the standard that it can host a night time pre-season afl practice game. an upgrade of the lighting could perhaps even lead to the local derby being played on a sat evening/night down the track?

as for this week's game i don't think the venue will be an issue at all. didn't seem to trouble wang in last year's GF nor earlier this year when they took lavi to the cleaners. as someone said earlier in this thread if wang brings their A game or close to it lavi will be struggling to finish within cooee. However wang have stuttered a bit over the last 5-6 weeks and there is some hope it will be a contest, altho the last 1/4 of the 2nd semi was a good sign for them becase they were challenged hard on a day when they were well off their A game and got themselves over the line. Wang by around 7-8 goals i reckon

golden days
17 Sep 2008, 12:30
Highltes & Lowlites of the Morris Medal

Biggest Suprises : Chrissy Greve (A Grade netball) Todd Bryant (Rising Star)

Not so Biggest Suprise : Jake Ryan (Morris Medal)

Best Dress : Eliza Campagna : (Jake Ryan's Girlfriend)

Most Supportive Table : Myrtleford (Cheered for everything Myrtleford)

Most Disrespectful Table : Nth Albury (Talked through speaches)

Funniest Conversation overheard : A larger man getting his meal of Sirlion served up, excuse me miss, you have f*cked up and gived me the kiddies meal only to have his meal replaced with chicken.

Bad Points : Jugs off the beer menu early in the night

Good points : "Waitress" 14 middies please

Drunkest person : An official Nth of the border

Congratulation to all the winners on the night and all the best for a lots of great Grand Finals in all Footy and Netball Grades ! Hopefully it will be a bright sunny day:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: !

Ozz12
17 Sep 2008, 13:52

Nice work Golden. Can i suggest one more:

Worst Attempt at joke on the night: SS&A GM - "we were like two 16 year old virgins having sex for the very first time".

I think the North Albury table could have even stopped talking.

21goals4
17 Sep 2008, 14:10

Well dont like your chances there head as the work experience kid who is loading stories onto the website, cant seem to work out how to get the whole story up, as in you are halfway through a story on the Bordermail site and it advises the reader story continued on page 59, not sure how to find that on the web.

Good Talker
17 Sep 2008, 15:31
agreed!

there's no doubt lavi is the best venue for the grand final and hopefully that's where it stays!

on another note, anyone heard of any potential recruits from sides that years have already finished?

thought we might have heard a couple out of north albury or the raiders by now?

how many more have albury got on the go after stitching up carey?
a rumor i heard at morris medal nite albury signed joel mackie on sunday

Kanga Magoo
17 Sep 2008, 15:50
Can anyone list the winners of the reserves and thirds B & F on Monday night?

golden days
17 Sep 2008, 16:10
Can anyone list the winners of the reserves and thirds B & F on Monday night?

2nds Carl Norton, Wangaratta (3rd time)
3rds Jack Stean, Albury

golden days
17 Sep 2008, 16:11
Nice work Golden. Can i suggest one more:

Worst Attempt at joke on the night: SS&A GM - "we were like two 16 year old virgins having sex for the very first time".

I think the North Albury table could have even stopped talking.

Ozz must agree with you there, how could have I forgot it, not a good way to start off for the SS&A GM

Agent
17 Sep 2008, 16:53

Biggest Suprises : Chrissy Greve (A Grade netball) Todd Bryant (Rising Star)

Not so Biggest Suprise : Jake Ryan (Morris Medal)

Best Dress : Eliza Campagna : (Jake Ryan's Girlfriend)

Most Supportive Table : Myrtleford (Cheered for everything Myrtleford)

Most Disrespectful Table : Nth Albury (Talked through speaches)

Funniest Conversation overheard : A larger man getting his meal of Sirlion served up, excuse me miss, you have f*cked up and gived me the kiddies meal only to have his meal replaced with chicken.

Bad Points : Jugs off the beer menu early in the night

Good points : "Waitress" 14 middies please

Drunkest person : An official Nth of the border

Congratulation to all the winners on the night and all the best for a lots of great Grand Finals in all Footy and Netball Grades ! Hopefully it will be a bright sunny day:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: !

Heard it took the Myrt Bus 2 and a half hours to get home from the night as almost everyone on board had a turn at throwing up!!!

Macgyver
17 Sep 2008, 19:02
i hope the BMM takes on board your suggestion. some access to the GF related articles in the lead up to those not able to purchase the paper would be appreciated

also spot on re the GF venue. LPO is definitely the best venue in the league at the present time. it is only on a 1 year contract at the moment tho and it is to be reivewed come season's end. the norm minns oval would require a bit of upgrading i'd think to host 15,000 at a GF. the word in the pipeline tho is that the local council are committed to doing what it takes to get the venue to the standard that it can host a night time pre-season afl practice game. an upgrade of the lighting could perhaps even lead to the local derby being played on a sat evening/night down the track?

as for this week's game i don't think the venue will be an issue at all. didn't seem to trouble wang in last year's GF nor earlier this year when they took lavi to the cleaners. as someone said earlier in this thread if wang brings their A game or close to it lavi will be struggling to finish within cooee. However wang have stuttered a bit over the last 5-6 weeks and there is some hope it will be a contest, altho the last 1/4 of the 2nd semi was a good sign for them becase they were challenged hard on a day when they were well off their A game and got themselves over the line. Wang by around 7-8 goals i reckon

Yes the lvo is a good venue for the grandfinal however i believe the ovens and murray is a regional league and a grand final out side of nsw would be a nice change... As for the norm minns facilities not being up to scratch for playing the gf, the proposal that was put to the oandm board out lined several upgrades/improvements that the club and council would commit to making if they were given delegated the gf (making it a superior ground to the lpo oh I know this will be shock and oar stuff for some of you cretins to comprehend), as is the situation the old adage of "build and they will come" will most likely have take place and it will probably take being instated the official home of the murray bushrangers and getting 20 thousand to a afl preseason game to make the albury centric league hierarchy remove their heads from their arses and give someone off the border a go.

Gun Recruit
17 Sep 2008, 21:15
Yes the lvo is a good venue for the grandfinal however i believe the ovens and murray is a regional league and a grand final out side of nsw would be a nice change... As for the norm minns facilities not being up to scratch for playing the gf, the proposal that was put to the oandm board out lined several upgrades/improvements that the club and council would commit to making if they were given delegated the gf (making it a superior ground to the lpo oh I know this will be shock and oar stuff for some of you cretins to comprehend), as is the situation the old adage of "build and they will come" will most likely have take place and it will probably take being instated the official home of the murray bushrangers and getting 20 thousand to a afl preseason game to make the albury centric league hierarchy remove their heads from their arses and give someone off the border a go.

Well all you Wangaratta Whingers put ya money where ya mouths are and start upgrading ! time for talking is over, get off ya arses and start doing some of the huge upgrades use will need to get the GF

Silver_kid
17 Sep 2008, 21:48
as neither a wang or lavington supporter, can anyone tell me what the point would be of changing the venue? LPO is a great facility - surface, seating, standing hill etc... i just cant understand why it would be worth having it in wang?

Good Talker
17 Sep 2008, 22:05
there is no point changing gf venue its not broken why fix it.The wang (bogons) who have won 1 flag in god knows howlong think that now they have won a flag they are now a powerhouse in the o&m after being easy beats for so long need to realise that you have to play finals footy for more than 1 year to be classed as a powerhouse and because they lead a very lonely life down in (mexico) wang they dont understand it takes a lot of hard work to be a competitive in the o&m and that buying a flag doesnt give you the right to all of a sudden start demanding changes. if they want to talk about whinges who was it that started after last years gf ? any player who crosses that white line declares himself fit to play and is fair game

Lavy_Panther
17 Sep 2008, 22:18
as neither a wang or lavington supporter, can anyone tell me what the point would be of changing the venue? LPO is a great facility - surface, seating, standing hill etc... i just cant understand why it would be worth having it in wang?
Good question.

harryhoward
17 Sep 2008, 22:31
Good question.

guys it would not worry me at all where the grand final was played, as long as my side was in it, i could not care less... but the facts are until wang upgrades it ground and facilities, that it continues to get played at the best ground/facilites to accomodate a large attendance and that would be panther park...

j flex roo
17 Sep 2008, 23:28
there is no point changing gf venue its not broken why fix it.The wang (bogons) who have won 1 flag in god knows howlong think that now they have won a flag they are now a powerhouse in the o&m after being easy beats for so long need to realise that you have to play finals footy for more than 1 year to be classed as a powerhouse and because they lead a very lonely life down in (mexico) wang they dont understand it takes a lot of hard work to be a competitive in the o&m and that buying a flag doesnt give you the right to all of a sudden start demanding changes. if they want to talk about whinges who was it that started after last years gf ? any player who crosses that white line declares himself fit to play and is fair game

That's neither here nor there. The status of the club itself should have no bearing upon where the game is played.

Fact is, the Wangaratta Showgrounds is due for a huge overhaul, and should it all go to plan, will be an equal if not superior facility than what Lavvy is.

In my opinion the GF should probably rotate around between Wangaratta and Lavvy in future years after Wang is fixed up. It wouldn't hurt, and it'd bring alot to Wangaratta - a town that brings alot to the competition with two teams. It is one of the best footballing towns in the North East/Gouburn Valley area, and one of the best in Victoria in terms of the standard coming out of its two major league clubs.

I know the quality of the clubs has no bearing on where to GF is played - and nor should it - rather, the quality of the facility needs to be considered, as well as other factors, such as overall benefit to the competition and the district etc.

Oh, and by the way, Lavington as shitloads more bogans than Wangaratta does. Guaranteed. :thumbsu:

golden days
18 Sep 2008, 10:47

I am also not a supporter of any of the finals teams, but believe too that Lavington is a much better oval mainly due to the terraced hill. It is usually a nightmare to get out of but waiting back a while usually fixes that.
If Wang has a huge upgrade as expected, it then is all about preposals, and you never know what may happen.
But hey, a lot of our grounds/facilities need upgrades !:)

captain peanut
18 Sep 2008, 10:59

you don't like the fact that wang 'bought' a flag? why not, should that concept remain the domain of the border teams only? please. as recent history shows in the o&m you have to spend big to get yourself in a position to have a crack. since the mid 90's and the demise of the rovers dynasty mainly it has been the cashed up border teams that have dominated the recruiting stakes and in turn the premiership stage. yarra and c/r have had a turn but again paid good dollars to do it. Myrt got close a couple of times but again paid massive dollars, probably to the long term detriment of the club. therefore it is very unfair to say wang 'bought' a flag in a derogatory manner becuase that is simply how it is in the o&m

another point on the players wang has brought in to the club in the last few years. most of them are not your stereotypical city traveller chasing the big bucks in the country. boofa higgs mullins mccormick thayer steer are all wang boys who have returned. mccormick for example could have obtained more cash elsewhere when he left carl but decided to head back home. cosgriff is a former bushie from the shepp area i think, kirby is from tat in the GV, hayse is from benalla, lord is from nathalia i think, trenfield had a run there in the early 2000's when he was a murray kangaroos supp player, so a big % of their recruits are from the local area and/or had ties to the club

as for being a powerhouse, i don't think anyone was saying move the GF to wang becasue the magpies are now a good side. the basis of the argument is that it is indeed the ovens and murray league and it would be appropriate to share the big day between the 2 major centres of the league once the facilities at wang are uprgaded. the playing surface itself at wang is superb so once the other facilities are up to scratch there is no bar to it hosting the big day. (just on the powerhouse issue, wang are currently in finals for the 4th time in 5 years. had mccormick not been cut down by his knee inj in 2005 when they were 2 games clear on top they would most likely be shooting for their 3rd flag in 4 years this sunday. no, not a powerhouse, but certainly building an imposing recent record)

j flex roo
18 Sep 2008, 11:10
you don't like the fact that wang 'bought' a flag? why not, should that concept remain the domain of the border teams only? please. as recent history shows in the o&m you have to spend big to get yourself in a position to have a crack. since the mid 90's and the demise of the rovers dynasty mainly it has been the cashed up border teams that have dominated the recruiting stakes and in turn the premiership stage. yarra and c/r have had a turn but again paid good dollars to do it. Myrt got close a couple of times but again paid massive dollars, probably to the long term detriment of the club. therefore it is very unfair to say wang 'bought' a flag in a derogatory manner becuase that is simply how it is in the o&m

another point on the players wang has brought in to the club in the last few years. most of them are not your stereotypical city traveller chasing the big bucks in the country. boofa higgs mullins mccormick thayer steer are all wang boys who have returned. mccormick for example could have obtained more cash elsewhere when he left carl but decided to head back home. cosgriff is a former bushie from the shepp area i think, kirby is from tat in the GV, hayse is from benalla, lord is from nathalia i think, trenfield had a run there in the early 2000's when he was a murray kangaroos supp player, so a big % of their recruits are from the local area and/or had ties to the club

as for being a powerhouse, i don't think anyone was saying move the GF to wang becasue the magpies are now a good side. the basis of the argument is that it is indeed the ovens and murray league and it would be appropriate to share the big day between the 2 major centres of the league once the facilities at wang are uprgaded. the playing surface itself at wang is superb so once the other facilities are up to scratch there is no bar to it hosting the big day. (just on the powerhouse issue, wang are currently in finals for the 4th time in 5 years. had mccormick not been cut down by his knee inj in 2005 when they were 2 games clear on top they would most likely be shooting for their 3rd flag in 4 years this sunday. no, not a powerhouse, but certainly building an imposing recent record)

That's right. Myrtleford - an example you use - has been notorious in the past few years for paying the big dollars for the big name players. It almost got them there two years in a row, but to no avail.

I knew a prominent former Wangaratta Rovers player as a I was growing up - a local legend. He told me a certain team on the border threw heaps and heaps of money at him year after year to lure him over. But his loyalty was too strong. My point is, throwing dollars everywhere is common place in the O&M, and singling out Wangaratta for doing what everyone has been doing for ages is a bit much.

And the quoted poster is correct - Wangaratta's core is mainly local. Only a handful are from out of town, and a few of those are from the Goulburn Valley area, which isn't exactly light years away. Only a few are from Melbourne, Ed Clarke being the most prominent I suppose.

Every team has its ring-ins. It's just the law of the land up in O&M territory!

Flowerpower
18 Sep 2008, 14:48
Jake Ryan is a gun!

Agent
18 Sep 2008, 15:11
That's right. Myrtleford - an example you use - has been notorious in the past few years for paying the big dollars for the big name players. It almost got them there two years in a row, but to no avail.

I knew a prominent former Wangaratta Rovers player as a I was growing up - a local legend. He told me a certain team on the border threw heaps and heaps of money at him year after year to lure him over. But his loyalty was too strong. My point is, throwing dollars everywhere is common place in the O&M, and singling out Wangaratta for doing what everyone has been doing for ages is a bit much.

And the quoted poster is correct - Wangaratta's core is mainly local. Only a handful are from out of town, and a few of those are from the Goulburn Valley area, which isn't exactly light years away. Only a few are from Melbourne, Ed Clarke being the most prominent I suppose.

Every team has its ring-ins. It's just the law of the land up in O&M territory!

How much do you think Myrtleford spent on their two years at the top??? I know for a fact it was only around $150k.

Bright Boy
18 Sep 2008, 15:13
Well Done to Jake Ryan.

For all he's been through to come through and win the Morrish is well deserving.

I heard that whilst he was in the Sari Club in 02, he at first thought he had been king hit by the boyfriend of the chick he's picked up the night prior, but until he struggled up & saw the bodies everywhere, did he realise what had happened.

j flex roo
18 Sep 2008, 16:56
How much do you think Myrtleford spent on their two years at the top??? I know for a fact it was only around $150k.

$150K is a lot of money for a country club over a two year period.

My point was that all the clubs throw around the dough. Not singling Myrtleford out at all - they're just an illustrative example.

What are you saying here? Wangaratta's flag last year is somehow diminished in value because we 'paid' for it?

head16
18 Sep 2008, 17:13
Well Done to Jake Ryan.

For all he's been through to come through and win the Morrish is well deserving.

I heard that whilst he was in the Sari Club in 02, he at first thought he had been king hit by the boyfriend of the chick he's picked up the night prior, but until he struggled up & saw the bodies everywhere, did he realise what had happened.

do you reckon that's appropriate you tool... those bodies belonged to real people you fcukwit! Mite be an interesting story for a bloke like you at the pub, but not on here. Not sure if bright boy is a good name for you!

factor77
18 Sep 2008, 17:21
$150K is a lot of money for a country club over a two year period.

My point was that all the clubs throw around the dough. Not singling Myrtleford out at all - they're just an illustrative example.

What are you saying here? Wangaratta's flag last year is somehow diminished in value because we 'paid' for it?

Its all just sour grapes and jealousy! Congratulations to Wang on making their second consecutive gf. Undoubtedly they have had a successfull recruiting campaign over the last couple of years - lucky them. Surely any reasonable person and supporter of local footy wouldnt begrudge any team in the O&M having a fair crack - isnt that what its all about.

Good luck to both teams on Sunday.

captain peanut
18 Sep 2008, 17:22
Jake Ryan is a gun!

how was the sex with jake on morris medal night??

theBboi
18 Sep 2008, 17:24
do you reckon that's appropriate you tool... those bodies belonged to real people you fcukwit! Mite be an interesting story for a bloke like you at the pub, but not on here. Not sure if bright boy is a good name for you!

yer i agree with ya there head he must be a real spastick to be saying the kind of stuff or just deosnt have a brain who relly gets on and says that about people bright boy shouldnt judge other people on there rep

Flowerpower
18 Sep 2008, 17:56
how was the sex with jake on morris medal night??

There it is again - I've said it before - most of you blokes are pre-occupied with homo's!

Each to there own but no need to bring it up on this forum!

The Rhino Ryan - what odds will you give me back to back medals?

SugarRay11
18 Sep 2008, 21:57
Well Done to Jake Ryan.

You sir are an idiot

Hutchy 001
18 Sep 2008, 22:11
Hutchys back boys. Havent been alot going on of late, although I will admit the Andy Carey was a good one (for everyone other than Myrtelford that is). But seeings it is grand final week I better give you boys (and maybe girls (flowerpower, no one could love themselves that much, gotta be Jakes better half doesnt it, although I have met the man and its a good possibility) the inside word.
Wang - Matt Pell to play. Unlucky bloke not decided as of yet. Huge concern over Carmody & Hayse carrying calves but will play. Can any side carry injured players in finals, been proven time and time again to bring sides undone.
Lavy - Not much to hear out of the panthers. Tim Sanson at his cagey best this week, he's been through this week a few times, knows how to handle it well. Have heard a whisper that there may be a bolter in the panthers pack, Fulton and the older Garland brother (dunno his first name) may play, plan is to try & stretch the magpies defence. Have the luxary of pulling a surprise on the day as their reserves are also in the big one, so i guess we will have to wait and see.

The all important tip - Wang comfortably. Lappin is an underrated leader and has proven not to get overawed by the occasion, altho he's up against a far better coach this year, but maggies by 27 points.
All the best to both sides. :thumbsu:

head16
19 Sep 2008, 04:17
That's neither here nor there. The status of the club itself should have no bearing upon where the game is played.

Fact is, the Wangaratta Showgrounds is due for a huge overhaul, and should it all go to plan, will be an equal if not superior facility than what Lavvy is.

In my opinion the GF should probably rotate around between Wangaratta and Lavvy in future years after Wang is fixed up. It wouldn't hurt, and it'd bring alot to Wangaratta - a town that brings alot to the competition with two teams. It is one of the best footballing towns in the North East/Gouburn Valley area, and one of the best in Victoria in terms of the standard coming out of its two major league clubs.

I know the quality of the clubs has no bearing on where to GF is played - and nor should it - rather, the quality of the facility needs to be considered, as well as other factors, such as overall benefit to the competition and the district etc.

Oh, and by the way, Lavington as shitloads more bogans than Wangaratta does. Guaranteed. :thumbsu:

Spot on there flex, we have 10 times the amount of bogans you do... it just seems that all of the ones in wang own and computer and love bigfooty!!!:p

head16
19 Sep 2008, 04:25
Are 2AY covering the game this weekend? If so what times the coverage start?

head16
19 Sep 2008, 06:34

I don't have anything against wang, the money they have or haven't spent or whether there players are locals etc... I'm actually happy to see them doing well after so many rough years in a row. I'm even happier to see a bloke like Jon Henry getting some reward for the effort he's put in over the years, and i'm sure there's plenty of behind the scenes people at the club who deserve it too.

But to suggest they would've won the flag in 2005 when mccormick did his knee opens up a whole can of worms. For example, if port adelaide had've kicked another 25 goals in last years AFL gf they'd have won it. And for something closer to home, if myrtleford had've kicked one more goal in 2005 and won the toss and year later, they mite've won back-to-back flags...

Bright Boy
19 Sep 2008, 08:54

I think what I said had come out the wrong way. Probably not to be said like that. Should have been told differently.

I was only stating that for what he had gone through with all that happened in Bali and how he survived and had come out & played footy and then too win the medal.

factor77
19 Sep 2008, 09:59

I don't have anything against wang, the money they have or haven't spent or whether there players are locals etc... I'm actually happy to see them doing well after so many rough years in a row. I'm even happier to see a bloke like Jon Henry getting some reward for the effort he's put in over the years, and i'm sure there's plenty of behind the scenes people at the club who deserve it too.

But to suggest they would've won the flag in 2005 when mccormick did his knee opens up a whole can of worms. For example, if port adelaide had've kicked another 25 goals in last years AFL gf they'd have won it. And for something closer to home, if myrtleford had've kicked one more goal in 2005 and won the toss and year later, they mite've won back-to-back flags...

You are spot.. No point on dwelling on the what ifs in life. Besides that is all in the past now. I'm sure both Lavi and Wang wont give any thought to 2005 in the lead up to this Sunday. Both teams have earned their spot. It should be a great physical match.

golden days
19 Sep 2008, 10:04
There it is again - I've said it before - most of you blokes are pre-occupied with homo's!

Each to there own but no need to bring it up on this forum!

The Rhino Ryan - what odds will you give me back to back medals?

Whats the odds of him going back to Corowa ??????????????????????;)

Flowerpower
19 Sep 2008, 10:07
Hutchy

But seeings it is grand final week I better give you boys (and maybe girls (flowerpower, no one could love themselves that much, gotta be Jakes better half doesnt it, although I have met the man and its a good possibility) the inside word.

Nope - wrong again. :D

Who is "Flowerpower"????????

captain peanut
19 Sep 2008, 11:18

fair enough. 'most likely' might have been a bit strong. pretty sure they were 9-1 and 2 games clear on top going into the nth alb game he got injured in tho. he was the dominant player in the competition and polled something like 18 votes in the morris medal in those 1st 10 weeks (winner only polled 21 or 22 i think). they beat lavi in a qual final and then stretched myrtl in the 2nd semi and lavi in the prelim without him. the whole complexion of the finals changes had wang held onto top spot. (making a prelim in 05 does still add to the impressive recent record they are building tho)

however as someone said who cares now, 2005 is long done and dusted. i only raised it in reference to wang consistently having an impact in finals over the last 5 years

onto the LPO this sunday. should be a very physical clash. will be interesting to see whether wang risks both boofa and hayse who are under inj clouds. sounds like pell will play, i reckon one of the 2 mentioned above will miss. cosgriff will play despite apparently popping his shoulder out no less than 6 times during the 2nd semi!

another important issue that i hope is addressed at the LPO this sunday - last year the beer supplies ran out shortly before half time. surely there couldn't be a repeat of this disgrace?

Flowerpower
19 Sep 2008, 11:46
Whats the odds of him going back to Corowa ??????????????????????;)

The Heavyweight champ of the world will defend the title! :thumbsu:

golden days
19 Sep 2008, 12:59
The Heavyweight champ of the world will defend the title! :thumbsu:

Just wondering if you were at the morris medal when Jake was asked about returning next year ? If not I found he fumbled his words a bit at that time and said "hopefully" "we will see how things go with work ect......" Did anyone else hear that ?????????????:confused::confused::confused:

theBboi
19 Sep 2008, 13:18
[quote=head16;12503329]

fair enough. 'most likely' might have been a bit strong. pretty sure they were 9-1 and 2 games clear on top going into the nth alb game he got injured in tho. he was the dominant player in the competition and polled something like 18 votes in the morris medal in those 1st 10 weeks (winner only polled 21 or 22 i think). they beat lavi in a qual final and then stretched myrtl in the 2nd semi and lavi in the prelim without him. the whole complexion of the finals changes had wang held onto top spot. (making a prelim in 05 does still add to the impressive recent record they are building tho)

however as someone said who cares now, 2005 is long done and dusted. i only raised it in reference to wang consistently having an impact in finals over the last 5 years

onto the LPO this sunday. should be a very physical clash. will be interesting to see whether wang risks both boofa and hayse who are under inj clouds. sounds like pell will play, i reckon one of the 2 mentioned above will miss. cosgriff will play despite apparently popping his shoulder out no less than 6 times during the 2nd semi!

another important issue that i hope is addressed at the LPO this sunday - last year the beer supplies ran out shortly before half time. surely there couldn't be a repeat of this disgrace?

yes that was a disgrace who runs out of beer in a grand final and yes cossy will play and hoppuly pelly does aswell but at whos exspense

bodi
19 Sep 2008, 13:20
Just wondering if you were at the morris medal when Jake was asked about returning next year ? If not I found he fumbled his words a bit at that time and said "hopefully" "we will see how things go with work ect......" Did anyone else hear that ?????????????:confused::confused::confused:

what does the great man do for work? his matchies would be enough to live on wouldnt they.

Good luck to the pies this week, number 41 for best on

Variorum
19 Sep 2008, 14:10
Believe a leading metro club who have recently achieved a " three peat" have his phone number.

Flowerpower
19 Sep 2008, 14:15
Vermont no chance !!!!!!

Variorum
19 Sep 2008, 14:49
Vermont no chance !!!!!!
Wrong side of the Yarra.

switch the play
19 Sep 2008, 15:12

yes well done to Ryan on the medal-his girl got plenty of exposure.

factor77
19 Sep 2008, 15:24
yes well done to Ryan on the medal-his girl got plenty of exposure.In my view she is a prawn-you'd rip the head off and eat the body-lol

That is a putrid comment :thumbsd:

Lavy_Panther
19 Sep 2008, 16:46
As a Lavington supporter, I'm not sure whether I want Hayse to line up or not.

In the past few years, Hayse has given the Panthers untold grief up forward, and always seems to play well against them. On the other side of the coin, the most dangerous thing a team can do in finals is play injured players, and if his injury is as dicey as it's made out to be, would it be worth the risk?

For the record, I'm more than confident he'll play, and I think he's a bit of an X factor.

For the Panthers, one man looms as their possible X Factor for mine, Darryn McKimmie. He did it in '05 (well, eventually he did after having a pretty dirty day), can he do it again?

Panthers by 3.

harryhoward
19 Sep 2008, 17:04
panther, i think if lavington can get some goals out of their key forwards they are a real big chance, poundie or joel or even doch need to kick three or four to take some of the pressure of the mids... im thinkin perhaps stevo could be a bit of an x factor for the panthers on sunday, either way it promises to be a ripper lets hope the weather stays clear, good luck to both teams....

head16
19 Sep 2008, 17:16
[quote=head16;12503329]

Half time... i swear i was serving drinks up til the middle of the last quarter, perhaps the beer had stopped and i was only cracking cans by that stage. If your right, yes it does need addressing. I'm sure wang will have it measured down to the last drop when they host the GF in 20??

harryhoward
19 Sep 2008, 17:55
Are 2AY covering the game this weekend? If so what times the coverage start?

box, 2ays covrage commences at 1pm, oakfms starts at 9am.

raidrboy
19 Sep 2008, 22:38
Believe a leading metro club who have recently achieved a " three peat" have his phone number.

More likely to be Heidelberg

forward pocket
20 Sep 2008, 00:10
More likely to be Heidelberg

Hey Raider Boy!! You'd Hope Makie has a shocker in the Hume league GF wouldn't you??? Must be costing your club a fotune every game he plays.........

What I hear is Raiders have salary cap, but don't have the brain power to get him (makie) over the line.......funny statement that half knowing Joel!!!!!!!!

2 dumbs don't = a smart!!!!!!.....but the kid can play!!!!

head16
20 Sep 2008, 02:45
box, 2ays covrage commences at 1pm, oakfms starts at 9am.

Does OAK FM actually call the 3rds and 2nds games or do they just talk dribble for 5 and half hours in the lead up to the big game. Be great if i can have a listen to the 2's game as well. If its the second option, i mite be a chance to get a special comments gig from london... call me gambo!!!!:D

Hitman01
20 Sep 2008, 12:41
what does the great man do for work? his matchies would be enough to live on wouldnt they.

Good luck to the pies this week, number 41 for best on
no. 41 would be lucky to get best on for the o&m jets at half time.

golden days
20 Sep 2008, 15:39
Hey Raider Boy!! You'd Hope Makie has a shocker in the Hume league GF wouldn't you??? Must be costing your club a fotune every game he plays.........

What I hear is Raiders have salary cap, but don't have the brain power to get him (makie) over the line.......funny statement that half knowing Joel!!!!!!!!

2 dumbs don't = a smart!!!!!!.....but the kid can play!!!!

Had the brain power to F@%K you off

forward pocket
20 Sep 2008, 16:58
Had the brain power to F@%K you off

I just re-read my post and that is fair enough - I didn't mean it to read like that - sorry, bad week.

I should have just said Raiders close with Mackie - no real issues, just hard to get him over the line.

Macgyver
20 Sep 2008, 19:04
Does OAK FM actually call the 3rds and 2nds games or do they just talk dribble for 5 and half hours in the lead up to the big game. Be great if i can have a listen to the 2's game as well. If its the second option, i mite be a chance to get a special comments gig from london... call me gambo!!!!:D

last yeah they would just talk there usual drool through the thirds and come out with the odd call of "a wangaratta player has just kiced a goal... i dont know who it was though" or " that was a nice piece of play there by the players involed(no names though)" real dynamo stuff, cant remember what the seconds call was but it mainly involves alot of 'special' comments, better off going to the match than tolerating the call i belive.

factor77
20 Sep 2008, 20:10
no. 41 would be lucky to get best on for the o&m jets at half time.

Yeah what a loser. He only won the senior B&F for Wang last year in the premiership year. Obviously can't play!

head16
20 Sep 2008, 20:41
last yeah they would just talk there usual drool through the thirds and come out with the odd call of "a wangaratta player has just kiced a goal... i dont know who it was though" or " that was a nice piece of play there by the players involed(no names though)" real dynamo stuff, cant remember what the seconds call was but it mainly involves alot of 'special' comments, better off going to the match than tolerating the call i belive.

Thanks Mgyver, unfortunately I'm in the UK, so ducking down to LPO is not likely.

Perhaps you could grab a toothpick, a glove, some string and a packet of skittles and rig me up a cheap return flight to get me there!

head16
21 Sep 2008, 16:55
Listening to the game online is ******* hopeless, OAK fm doesn't work this week for some unknown reason, and 2AY spends more time buffering than actually playing! Wang seem to be travelling well at this point, leading just before half time by 16 points.

harryhoward
21 Sep 2008, 20:25
congratulations to the magpies on their premiership victory over lavy this afternoon, bad luck to the panthers on today, but congratulations on a fantastic season as well...

j flex roo
21 Sep 2008, 22:11
Go Pies!

Couldn't make the trip up today due to factors outside of my control, but I'm bloody rapt. Had phpone updates every 15 mins. Bloody fantastic.

Buckster
22 Sep 2008, 11:08
Can anyone fill me in on the GF:-

BOG = ?
WOG = ?
BIG HITS = ?
CRUCIAL PLAYS = ?

j flex roo
22 Sep 2008, 11:49
Highs help lows fade into past

BRAD MCGRATH
22/09/2008 9:50:00 AM
SAM Higgs remembers watching Wangaratta during its darkest period in the Ovens and Murray Football League.
While too young to have played a part in the six consecutive wooden-spoons, Higgs has played a big role in the Magpies' back-to-back titles.
The speedy rover used his friendship with a number of his VFL teammates — including Ed Clarke, Matt Pell and Marc Lord — to help bolster the Magpies' playing stocks a few weeks into last season.
The rest is history and the Magpies yesterday became the first team since Albury in 1996-97 to win successive premierships.
His brightest individual moment came yesterday when he was crowned the Did Simpson Medallist for his brilliant display in the grand final victory over Lavington.
"Individual accolades come and go, everyone plays footy to win a premiership and to win two in two years is just amazing, the feeling is amazing," Higgs, 20, said.
"I have seen where the club has come from - not that I was a part of it because I was too young - I know how much it means to the club.
"To see where we are now, it is just really good for the club."
Higgs said it was a special day for players like Jon Henry, Dale Carmody and Brendan Cairns, who had been through the highs and lows at the Magpies.
He said the win was not just for the current crop of Magpies but for the past players who suffered so much pain.
"You win it with the 21 players, but you are also winning it for the 40 or 50 people who won six spoons, or whatever it was," Higgs said.
Higgs gathered 21 possessions including 15 kicks, six handballs, eight marks and two goals, with the first of the goals a great snap from a tight a angle in the opening 10 minutes of the contest.
His second goal was at the start of the second term when Lavington captain Kade Stevens fell into his back in the pocket.
The skilful Higgs calmly slotted the kick to put the Magpies 23 points in front and with all the momentum.
The Panthers fought back immediately after the long break but the leadership shown by the likes of Higgs, Judd Porter, Jon McCormick, Leigh Symons and Paul Kirby was first-rate. "They are a good side Lavy, they are very well coached, they are a good side to play against, they are very honest and there is no dirty stuff," Higgs said.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Shortage of forward potency glaringly obvious

BRETT KOHLHAGEN
22/09/2008 10:22:00 AM
LAVINGTON didn't do a lot wrong at Lavington Panthers Oval yesterday.
But the one query hanging over the Panthers in the lead-up to the grand final came back to haunt them with their inability to take a mark inside 50m proving the major difference between the teams.
Although Darryn McKimmie was dangerous early and was clearly their best option with two goals, key forwards Dean Pound and Joel Hartley were blanketed from the outset and failed to kick a goal between them.
Coach Tim Sanson's pre-match prediction the Panthers would need to kick more goals than points proved spot on and 7.12 was never going to be enough against the defending premier.
The Magpies had their scoring concerns as well before Paul Kirby and Michael Hooper came to life late and helped break the match open with four goals to one in the dying stages.
"We just had to keep at it," Wangaratta coach Jason Lappin said.
"The boys worked and worked and eventually we got on top in the last quarter.
"A couple of the forwards took marks when we needed them and that makes a big difference when it’s an arm-wrestle like that."
Kirby was outstanding from the first bounce as a ruckman-forward opposed to Luke Norton-Smith and Peter Doherty and his three goals were like gold on a day where only 19 majors were scored.
It was the former Goulburn Valley league star's first quarter which set the tone and gave the Magpies a narrow lead, while Jon McCormick's 23 possessions in the opening half was a constant worry for the Panther hierarchy.
He went head-to-head with Luke Schilg early with both having the ball on a string before the home team opted to try to curb McCormick through tagger Simon Bunyan.
Leigh Symons, Nick Trenfield, Sam Higgs and Jarrod Hayse also hit form in the second term and helped set up a 17-point buffer at half-time.
Lavington started Doherty out of the goal square in the third term and his presence caused problems momentarily as the Panthers closed to within seven points, but the momentum was short-lived as Wangaratta kicked a late goal through Ed Clarke to regain control.
It was effectively the end of the contest.
Although Jordan Solimo hit the post on the run early in the final stanza, it seemed to spark the Magpies into action as Hooper and Hayse followed up within minutes to apply huge scoreboard pressure.
A great tackle by Adam Butler prevented another major soon after, but it mattered little as Kirby sealed victory with two more of his own to start the celebrations.
Lavington's midfield and defence were first-class with Schilg, Matt Pendergast and John Hunt turning in fine displays, while Clayton Anderson, Luke Brauer and Bunyan provided run from half-back.
Only inaccurate kicking for goal cost Schilg a shot at the Did Simpson Medal with his 33 possessions showing why Lavington was so desperate to get him back at the club this season.
The Magpies had the answers, however, with Nick Trenfield, Judd Porter and Leigh Symons prolific, Jesse Smith and Daine Porter chipping in whenever needed. David Steer shut Pound out of the match, Higgs kicked two goals including a brilliant snap to open the scoring and Kirby and Dale Carmody won the bulk of the ruck contests.

[/URL]
http://www.bordermail.com.au/beacon.gif?id=1278827

[URL="http://www.bordermail.com.au/multimedia/images/full/362234.jpg"]http://www.bordermail.com.au/multimedia/images/large/362234.jpg (javascript:changeFontSize('story',-1);) Jordan Solimo, Nick Trenfield and Luke Mullins.

http://www.bordermail.com.au/multimedia/images/large/362235.jpg (http://www.bordermail.com.au/multimedia/images/full/362235.jpg) Jon Henry and Jason Lappin enjoy a moment before the final siren. Pictures: MATTHEW SMITHWICK

http://www.bordermail.com.au/multimedia/images/large/362236.jpg (http://www.bordermail.com.au/multimedia/images/full/362236.jpg) Michael Hooper and Sam Higgs celebrate.

Hitman01
22 Sep 2008, 19:42
What is everyones thoughts on Sam Higgs winning the Did Simpson medal? i thought Hopper was best on personally.

harryhoward
22 Sep 2008, 20:08
What is everyones thoughts on Sam Higgs winning the Did Simpson medal? i thought Hopper was best on personally.

pretty happy with higgs actually, also thought the big fella kirby was great as well,hopper was good,

raidrboy
22 Sep 2008, 21:14

I thought Kirby would have won it but Higgs was a good option.

TheGreatBambino
23 Sep 2008, 11:41
Does any Albury fans know if Ben Fixter is staying there for season 20009?

Variorum
23 Sep 2008, 11:51
Congratulations to the Maggies for going back to back. McCormick and Kirby simply provided too much quality posession for the rest of the team. The Lavvy boys ran hard to the bitter end but lacked a quality finisher or two up front. High quality game played at break neck speed. All players should be congratulated.

PS: Big FAIL to the O & M for the sound system debacle pre game. Amateur doesn't even begin to describe it.

captain peanut
23 Sep 2008, 12:04
[quote=captain peanut;12504377]

Half time... i swear i was serving drinks up til the middle of the last quarter, perhaps the beer had stopped and i was only cracking cans by that stage. If your right, yes it does need addressing. I'm sure wang will have it measured down to the last drop when they host the GF in 20??

plenty of bourbon cans etc remained avail last year from memory but certainly no beer beyond half time. happy to say there were no such issues this year

captain peanut
23 Sep 2008, 12:26
Congratulations to the Maggies for going back to back. McCormick and Kirby simply provided too much quality posession for the rest of the team. The Lavvy boys ran hard to the bitter end but lacked a quality finisher or two up front. High quality game played at break neck speed. All players should be congratulated.

PS: Big FAIL to the O & M for the sound system debacle pre game. Amateur doesn't even begin to describe it.

agreed it was a superb contest. wang opened up a 2 goal and a bit lead early and kept it around there for most of the 1st 3 quarters altho lavi did close to within 7pts during the 3rd 1/4. just looked like lavi lacked an effective marking option up forward and they never really looked likely to string a few together and threaten. both defences actually stood up pretty well but wang just had a few more options to goal

i thought hoppa kirby steer symons and higgs were best for wang. clarke also bobbed up a few times when required up forward and hayse was always dangerous inside 50

well done to wang on going back to back, a huge effort given all of the injury/suspension setbacks they had in the 2nd half of the year. great to see the club up and about after all the bad years

was a cracking day for the match weather wise and the ground was in great nick as usual. thought the crowd might have been a couple of thousand down on last year but the official figures tell us it was only a few hundred

reading yesterday's BM i noticed the crowd was around 14,600 yet the gate takings were around $58,000? At $17 a head for adults and $10 concession (and u/16's free), that must mean a hell of a lot of people are getting in for nothing and/or there's a sh*t load of kids there. even if say half of the crowd, say 7300 were paying customers, with 5000 at full price and 2300 at concession, that is a total of $108,000. does the O&M provide any details of how there can be such a discrepancy between the crowd figure and the takings?

the rumour mill for 2009 is already in overdrive given some of the discussions heard up on the hill on sunday. among them as follows:

- rovers have had discussions with jason johnson for the playing coach role but have baulked at his asking price in the vicinity of $50K. rovers may also have spoken to leigh brown from the kangaroos about his intentions should he get delisted

- plenty of rumours about wang too. kirby apparently offered the coaching job at tatura and said to be taking a couple of wang blokes with him if he accepts. good mail i'd suggest is that he will be at wang for at least 1 more year. couple of wang blokes in thayer and steer also rumoured to be heading to nth wang in the O&K which would be hard to believe but it was suggested by a few

- albury chasing plenty. the bullet has already been placed next to their name for 09. carey signed, speaking to bo nixon, and a couple of other bignames in the pipeline

- few rumours from up at myrtl as well concerning their recently departed coach. i am not going to put in print any details of the story heard, other than to say all was not what it seemed re his recent resignation. let's just say the failure of the knee op provided a great 'out' clause

- jake ryan has played his last game for c/r. Mourn in peace Flowerpower

- also heard that at least 1 O&M club has spoken to a coll player either already delisted or about to be delisted. i'd suggest that chris egan is unlikely to be at the lexus centre in 09 and given his ties to the region could be an attractive target for some local clubs?

harryhoward
23 Sep 2008, 12:44
agreed it was a superb contest. wang opened up a 2 goal and a bit lead early and kept it around there for most of the 1st 3 quarters altho lavi did close to within 7pts during the 3rd 1/4. just looked like lavi lacked an effective marking option up forward and they never really looked likely to string a few together and threaten. both defences actually stood up pretty well but wang just had a few more options to goal

i thought hoppa kirby steer symons and higgs were best for wang. clarke also bobbed up a few times when required up forward and hayse was always dangerous inside 50

well done to wang on going back to back, a huge effort given all of the injury/suspension setbacks they had in the 2nd half of the year. great to see the club up and about after all the bad years

was a cracking day for the match weather wise and the ground was in great nick as usual. thought the crowd might have been a couple of thousand down on last year but the official figures tell us it was only a few hundred

reading yesterday's BM i noticed the crowd was around 14,600 yet the gate takings were around $58,000? At $17 a head for adults and $10 concession (and u/16's free), that must mean a hell of a lot of people are getting in for nothing and/or there's a sh*t load of kids there. even if say half of the crowd, say 7300 were paying customers, with 5000 at full price and 2300 at concession, that is a total of $108,000. does the O&M provide any details of how there can be such a discrepancy between the crowd figure and the takings?

the rumour mill for 2009 is already in overdrive given some of the discussions heard up on the hill on sunday. among them as follows:

- rovers have had discussions with jason johnson for the playing coach role but have baulked at his asking price in the vicinity of $50K. rovers may also have spoken to leigh brown from the kangaroos about his intentions should he get delisted

- plenty of rumours about wang too. kirby apparently offered the coaching job at tatura and said to be taking a couple of wang blokes with him if he accepts. good mail i'd suggest is that he will be at wang for at least 1 more year. couple of wang blokes in thayer and steer also rumoured to be heading to nth wang in the O&K which would be hard to believe but it was suggested by a few

- albury chasing plenty. the bullet has already been placed next to their name for 09. carey signed, speaking to bo nixon, and a couple of other bignames in the pipeline

- few rumours from up at myrtl as well concerning their recently departed coach. i am not going to put in print any details of the story heard, other than to say all was not what it seemed re his recent resignation. let's just say the failure of the knee op provided a great 'out' clause

- jake ryan has played his last game for c/r. Mourn in peace Flowerpower

- also heard that at least 1 O&M club has spoken to a coll player either already delisted or about to be delisted. i'd suggest that chris egan is unlikely to be at the lexus centre in 09 and given his ties to the region could be an attractive target for some local clubs?
looks like silly season has started already, good work captain peanut

captain peanut
23 Sep 2008, 12:50
looks like silly season has started already, good work captain peanut

yeah it was generally pissed blokes talking it up so dunno about the accuracy of it all. the only one i'd be confident on is the rovers having talked to jason johnson that is a certainty. and alb have definitely signed carey as is already public and spoken to nixon

golden days
23 Sep 2008, 13:12
I just re-read my post and that is fair enough - I didn't mean it to read like that - sorry, bad week.

I should have just said Raiders close with Mackie - no real issues, just hard to get him over the line.

Ok No problems :)
Congratulations to all the winners on the weekend and Wang on their back to back !

The Crumber
23 Sep 2008, 13:55
Myrtleford have announced they will name their coach tomorrow at the SS&A Club at 11 am.

captain peanut
23 Sep 2008, 14:19
Myrtleford have announced they will name their coach tomorrow at the SS&A Club at 11 am.

any news on who it is?

harryhoward
23 Sep 2008, 14:25

seems to be a very quick appointment!!!

Agent
23 Sep 2008, 14:26
Any ideas as to who will be Myrtlefords Coach???

SugarRay11
23 Sep 2008, 21:56
Any ideas as to who will be Myrtlefords Coach???

For some reason I get the feeling that Brendan Breen will take over as Myrtleford Coach.