View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
golden days
24 Sep 2008, 08:56
Myrtleford have announced they will name their coach tomorrow at the SS&A Club at 11 am.
To those non north east people it is Mark Nobel who was already appointed assistant coach.
He was an assistant of the TAC Cup Murray Bushrangers, and former Myrtleford player.
Where It All Began
24 Sep 2008, 14:06
Does any Albury fans know if Ben Fixter is staying there for season 20009?
Locked in for next season.
captain peanut
24 Sep 2008, 15:38
For some reason I get the feeling that Brendan Breen will take over as Myrtleford Coach.
has myrtleford made their appointment yet?
harryhoward
24 Sep 2008, 15:49
has myrtleford made their appointment yet?
yes in todays paper or scroll up captain, its bushranger assit and former player mark knobel for three years as well. lets hope he can make the saints more competitive next year, as they were a rabble this year..all the best sainters..:thumbsu:
Charmanator
25 Sep 2008, 15:11
Just wondering how the general standard of Ovens & Murray football comapres to some of the metro leagues in Melbourne?. How does it compare with Eastern div 1? Southern Div 1? Amatures div 1?.
Silver_kid
25 Sep 2008, 16:14
Just wondering how the general standard of Ovens & Murray football comapres to some of the metro leagues in Melbourne?. How does it compare with Eastern div 1? Southern Div 1? Amatures div 1?.
I'm sure people's opinions will differ, however I'd say it would be fairly similar to Eastern div 1, only that the grounds are bigger and better in the OM, therefore it may be less congested. Much better than Southern div 1.
Would also be a better standard than Amateurs, the better players from ammos would slide into senior OM teams, the second tier may struggle to play OM 1sts
Variorum
25 Sep 2008, 16:18
Assessment would be it is very fast and skillful - would definitely shade "A" grade Ammos and Southern league however not as physical as Eastern Div 1 and particularly the Northern League Div 1.
Hutchy 001
25 Sep 2008, 21:03
Well fellow bloggers, official post season is only 4 days old and the league has its first player movement of the silly season:
Micheal Thompson (Wod Raiders) moving across the border to none other than the Albury Football Club.
Just another edition to Jossy's stable :thumbsu:
Kirby won't be coaching Tatura-their coach has been re-appointed! :thumbsu:
krusty123
25 Sep 2008, 23:50
How about the money Mr Joss is throwing around?
Will Fowler drag his rather large body around again next year? Any knowledgeable people willing to speculate?
captain peanut
26 Sep 2008, 10:35
Kirby won't be coaching Tatura-their coach has been re-appointed! :thumbsu:
great news. he will be going around for wang again then most likely
was apparently a report in 1 of the local rags that 3 O&M clubs have spoken to nigel lappin about pulling on the boots next year. rovers maggies and another that escapes me were mentioned. i'm assuming rovers might be looking at getting him as coach but perhaps he might bob up as an assistant to his cousin across the road and just spend a year having a kick and enjoying his footy???
j flex roo
26 Sep 2008, 12:41
great news. he will be going around for wang again then most likely
was apparently a report in 1 of the local rags that 3 O&M clubs have spoken to nigel lappin about pulling on the boots next year. rovers maggies and another that escapes me were mentioned. i'm assuming rovers might be looking at getting him as coach but perhaps he might bob up as an assistant to his cousin across the road and just spend a year having a kick and enjoying his footy???
Here ya go:
Lappin turns down request from Voss
From the Border Mail
24/09/2008 12:00:00 AM
HE once played an AFL grand final with cracked ribs.
These days triple premiership winner Nigel Lappin is flat out running after his kids.
No wonder the 32-year-old knocked back an offer by new Brisbane Lions coach Michael Voss to come out of retirement.
“The Brisbane Lions advises that former co-captain Nigel Lappin has declined the offer from new senior coach Michael Voss to come out of retirement and play with the club in season 2009,” the club said yesterday.
“Nigel appreciated the offer but stands by the comments he made at his retirement media conference in August.”
Lappin has already attracted interest from Ovens and Murray clubs Wangaratta, North Albury and Wangaratta Rovers.
His cousin Jason coached Wangaratta to its second premiership in a row on Sunday.
The four-time All Australian played just 22 games in three seasons, including four in 2008 before succumbing to an Achilles injury.
An unorthodox fitness test told the Lions veteran in no uncertain terms the Achilles complaint was not going away.
“It made some improvements towards the end of the season but ... I went for a 500m run the other day and it pulled up really sore,” Lappin said.
“I was jogging to catch up with someone. Actually it was the kids.”
It was frustrating for a player who demanded a lot from his body — as evidenced by his inspirational four-quarter effort in the 2003 final nursing cracked ribs.
“You always give coming back a thought. It’s what you know and what you have always been good at,” said Lappin, a veteran of 279 AFL games.
“But I’ve played 20 (sic) games over the past three years. As much as you don’t want to, you start questioning your body and then you start questioning a lot of other things. “If you do that, you find it hard focusing on the footy.”
thurgood
26 Sep 2008, 12:55
Well fellow bloggers, official post season is only 4 days old and the league has its first player movement of the silly season:
Micheal Thompson (Wod Raiders) moving across the border to none other than the Albury Football Club.
Just another edition to Jossy's stable :thumbsu:
tigers trying to emulate their record from the mid-90s when they had at least one player on their list that had played at another o&m club?
north alb - bush
raiders - thompson, mcalister
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -
only 4 clubs to go jossy ...
let's hope he doesn't offer buddy franklin and jarryd roughead 50% of his business!
Hitman01
27 Sep 2008, 09:55
tigers trying to emulate their record from the mid-90s when they had at least one player on their list that had played at another o&m club?
north alb - bush
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -
let's hope he doesn't offer buddy franklin and jarryd roughead 50% of his business!
Jealousy is a wonderful thing isnt it...
TheGreatBambino
28 Sep 2008, 23:53
Are Chris Egan and Jason Johnson likley to play in the Ovens & Murray league next season?
thurgood
29 Sep 2008, 00:09
Jealousy is a wonderful thing isnt it...
there's no doubt a lot of clubs would be envious of the tigers!
i guess all they can try and do is poach the tigers juniors who won't be getting a go with all their new recruits :p
thurgood
29 Sep 2008, 00:11
Are Chris Egan and Jason Johnson likley to play in the Ovens & Murray league next season?
i've heard jason johnson has spoken to the rovers but they have baulked at his asking price
harryhoward
29 Sep 2008, 10:02
it was reported in the herald i think that jason johnson had signed along with damien peverill had marinonong park in melbourne, dont quote me on the spelling as am not sure, i think there in the essendon league
Where It All Began
29 Sep 2008, 14:10
How about the money Mr Joss is throwing around?
Will Fowler drag his rather large body around again next year? Any knowledgeable people willing to speculate?
Yes, he will be going around next year, word has it he is already running the streets, apparently he's got word as to how Spargo is going to punish them over the pre-season, and doesn't want to get caught out.
With shearer likely to retire and Fowler spending more time at full-forward, you can expect a big season from him in 09.
Where It All Began
29 Sep 2008, 14:14
north alb - bush
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -
Don't forget Mackie from North also, via Jindera
thurgood
29 Sep 2008, 15:16
Don't forget Mackie from North also, via Jindera
is mackie definitely goin to albury?
pretty sure raiders are still right in the mix provided they can recruit a few.
heard on the weekend that nick raines won't be back at corowa next year with ryan increasingly unlikely
forward pocket
29 Sep 2008, 22:30
is mackie definitely goin to albury?
pretty sure raiders are still right in the mix provided they can recruit a few.
heard on the weekend that nick raines won't be back at corowa next year with ryan increasingly unlikely
Did an Ohlin play at the Raiders this year? If so, he is off to Wodonga. I thought the guy telling me may have been mixed up with the Ohlin already at Wodonga.
somersetboy no1
29 Sep 2008, 22:42
I reckon buttsy would nail rex over 400m... in fact i'd say buttsy is quicker! but that'd be in a race. when it comes to darting around a footy field, i'd give rex the nod!
While i'm comparing them i mite continue on some irrelevant areas...
Rex is a far better hunter than adam, rex is smart enough to wear shoes in the scrub!
Rex is a far better at saving money, so much so that he doesn't know what his own 'PIN' number is, quite simply he's never used it to withdraw cash. Adam is a tight, but rex is water tight!
Adam has a far better laugh than rex, and it is such a good laugh, his brother tom has gone as far as to adopt the exact same cackle!
Rex is tougher than buttsy, cos rex has got a tattoo and adam doesn't!
Adam is a better driver than rex. Adam's been to Lake many times and never crashed. Rex has hit so many guide posts on the journey, its easier to count the one's he hasn't hit!
Adam is a better drinker than rex... even though he doesn't drink! Cos i've seen adam have 5 stubbies and still be able to talk, whereas rex has never managed to get through 5 stubbies in one sitting. On the odd occasion when Rex has ever got close (say 3 or 4) he calls himself "Bad Rex" which just shows you how hammered he is!
Rex is far better at yabbying than Adam. I've never seen rex yabby, but i've seen adam in action and there's no way rex is worse than him.
Thats about it i reckon! :D
Mate i dont even know these ppl yet i think this is piss finny lol:thumbsu:
somersetboy no1
29 Sep 2008, 22:51
How much do you think Myrtleford spent on their two years at the top??? I know for a fact it was only around $150k.
What would a top player be on a year in th o&m?? Just a rough figure??
Did an Ohlin play at the Raiders this year? If so, he is off to Wodonga. I thought the guy telling me may have been mixed up with the Ohlin already at Wodonga.
That would be Heath Ohlin that played at Raiders
Silver_kid
1 Oct 2008, 14:11
Did I read on here during the season that an OM club had been in contact with podsialy from the VFL? surely he'd be worth a mint, especially after winning the VFL league BF.
If all this recuiting action is true from albury, they could be a fair force next year. Had some good young players who look like they can take a step up, and also will be interesting to see how Jacob Collins returns after a big 2007 season then having a reco this yr. Only about 20 yr old so has alot of footy in him
TheGreatBambino
1 Oct 2008, 19:33
Does any Myrtleford fans know where Steve Mckee went for season 08?
forward pocket
1 Oct 2008, 20:06
Did I read on here during the season that an OM club had been in contact with podsialy from the VFL? surely he'd be worth a mint, especially after winning the VFL league BF.
If all this recuiting action is true from albury, they could be a fair force next year. Had some good young players who look like they can take a step up, and also will be interesting to see how Jacob Collins returns after a big 2007 season then having a reco this yr. Only about 20 yr old so has alot of footy in him
I don't think there is any un-truths in Albury's recruiting, all signed I believe. Carey is a massive boost. I definately agree, already at the point of being a fair force with a few months to go and the season just finished. Won't lose many under Spargo I'd think either
onthepunt
1 Oct 2008, 22:18
Does any Myrtleford fans know where Steve Mckee went for season 08?
Aberfeldie - EDFL:thumbsu:
harryhoward
2 Oct 2008, 11:21
not a good start to the pre season for the roos
gone- ambrose, way, mcintyre, ryan[probably] and now raines.
three of their top five players from this year in my view all gone...
golden days
2 Oct 2008, 11:51
Yeah whats with that ? They no longer require raines services ???? What is the reason that they don't ???? Maybe flowerpower can fill us in ????
grandeur25
2 Oct 2008, 12:30
Way is no great loss, he's a spud! Anybody who refuses to play a game, let alone a final, because he sat on the pine the previous week isn't worth playing. Absolute joke, most selfish act i've seen in a long time.
biting bulldog
2 Oct 2008, 13:00
Way is no great loss, he's a spud! Anybody who refuses to play a game, let alone a final, because he sat on the pine the previous week isn't worth playing. Absolute joke, most selfish act i've seen in a long time.
Must have had a pretty good reason for not wanting to play! Any ideas on why?
:confused:
Flowerpower
2 Oct 2008, 13:21
What are the Roos doing?
I hope they are keeping the medal winner Rhino on board??????????
Whats going on??
Where It All Began
2 Oct 2008, 13:43
Sounds like Raines may have upset a few on B&F night, rumours are this had a big bearing on him getting the flick.
harryhoward
2 Oct 2008, 13:52
Sounds like Raines may have upset a few on B&F night, rumours are this had a big bearing on him getting the flick.
can u elaborate any further?
Where It All Began
2 Oct 2008, 14:09
can u elaborate any further?
I'm not the one to elaborate, but apparently involved in a scuffle. i'm sure someone closer to the club has more info, depends on if they want to divulge it.
Needless to say, they're better off without him, total tosser!
Buckster
2 Oct 2008, 14:09
All very interesting at the roos.....
Heard Simon Paton is returning from OS this summer - would be a handy recruit for any OM team if hes body is sound.
Word is, hes been doing a fair bit of endurance work around spain but might be down on strength on his return....
Im sure the dogs will look to lock him away straight away.
captain peanut
3 Oct 2008, 10:47
ryan won't be back in the c/r jumper next year. also heard eyers will be retiring. it is a fair list of departees. i believe aaron hennemann will be on board, not sure where he's been palying since being delisted but he will apparently be at the john foord oval next year
Is Jason Hollard coaching Lavington's reserve side again next year?
The Dustbin
4 Oct 2008, 00:57
ryan won't be back in the c/r jumper next year. also heard eyers will be retiring. it is a fair list of departees. i believe aaron hennemann will be on board, not sure where he's been palying since being delisted but he will apparently be at the john foord oval next year
Henneman has been playing with Bullen, Haynes and Moorcroft at Sylvain.
dazzledavey36
4 Oct 2008, 19:06
wheres tim mcyntire goin next year???
What are peoples thoughts on Aydan Brown going to the hume league?
Does ne1 know his reasons for leaving north albury?
harryhoward
5 Oct 2008, 20:40
wheres tim mcyntire goin next year???
sturt.
flowerpowercousin
7 Oct 2008, 10:58
ryan will be back as for raines @ 52% effiency in most games we dont need him
Massive Merv
7 Oct 2008, 13:43
52% efficiency was enough to win the past 2 b&f's....are you sure you don't need him? Or is he in the Joel Mackie "too higher maintenance" category?
flowerpowercousin
7 Oct 2008, 16:54
.Ask anyone who knows lee schmidt should have one 2007 and for this year 2nd,3rd,4th,5th or 6th could have won.He does have promblems off the field as well but dont get me started on that.Was told 2007 that he has problems from someone at port melbourne. No we dont need him
somersetboy no1
7 Oct 2008, 23:49
Who will coach Myrtleford next year?? Does anyone know who won there B&F this year??
Flowerpower
8 Oct 2008, 13:46
I have a long lost cousin???? :D
Still in shellshock at departures.
Bit harsh on raines - thought the rhino givng out to raines was a pretty good combination.
Curtly Ambrose will be a big loss - was great this year.
Schmidt staying?
I have a long lost cousin???? :D
Bit harsh on raines - thought the rhino givng out to raines was a pretty good combination.
Schmidt staying?
U would think the loss of Ambrose would be covered by Henneman.
Who will coach Myrtleford next year?? Does anyone know who won there B&F this year??
Mark Knobel has signed at Myrtlford on a 3yr deal as coach,as for B + F cant help u there
Aaron Henneman will all in likelihood not be joining Corowa this season. He played last year at Devon Meadows in the Casey Cardinia league, and the coach told me he signed a two-year deal last pre-season.
somersetboy no1
9 Oct 2008, 15:38
Mark Knobel has signed at Myrtlford on a 3yr deal as coach,as for B + F cant help u there
Cheers for that mate.:thumbsu:
Pretty sure Josh Chapman was b&f - not a lot of competition...
Silver_kid
10 Oct 2008, 09:55
I know its not a chance next year, but interested to see what people would think about Wagga Tigers going into the comp while Myrtleford go into a lower standard league (say O&K) and sort thier sh*t out.
Surely the Tigers would be able to remain more consistently competitive, unlike Myrt's 1 year good + 4 year terrible current form
Buckster
10 Oct 2008, 10:11
I know its not a chance next year, but interested to see what people would think about Wagga Tigers going into the comp while Myrtleford go into a lower standard league (say O&K) and sort thier sh*t out.
Surely the Tigers would be able to remain more consistently competitive, unlike Myrt's 1 year good + 4 year terrible current form
interesting silver - im sure this topic would really get up the nose of myrt supporters, but ill add my opinion anyway.
Im pretty sure the tigers struggled in the ACTAFL, so im not sure how they would go in the OM - but saying that, if they were to recruit some locals back to the club - they would be competitve no worries.
My solution -give myrt some confidence and go play in the O&K, make nathalia play OM so they dont smash murray clubs every year!
cheers
flowerpowercousin
10 Oct 2008, 12:15
.I have a long lost cousin???? :D
Schmidt staying?
Not sure About schmidt have heard rumours wa\sanfl clubs chasing him.Wig a big loss, maybe the ryan may have a player up his sleeve
raidrboy
10 Oct 2008, 22:16
Maybe follow their u18's and merge with Bright would be another option. I don't think Wagga Tigers would be able to cut the mustard in the O&M. Been wrong before but that's my thoughts.
thurgood
10 Oct 2008, 22:21
Maybe follow their u18's and merge with Bright would be another option. I don't think Wagga Tigers would be able to cut the mustard in the O&M. Been wrong before but that's my thoughts.
raiderboy, when will there be some news out of birrallee park re: recruiting under lambert?
raidrboy
12 Oct 2008, 22:50
raiderboy, when will there be some news out of birrallee park re: recruiting under lambert?
The next 7 to 10 days I would expect.
golden state
15 Oct 2008, 19:59
Heard Adam Prior is going up to Darwin to play for Wanderers this year!
Should be picked in the NT side to play in the QAFL comp next year!:thumbsu:
golden days
16 Oct 2008, 12:26
Heard Adam Prior is going up to Darwin to play for Wanderers this year!
Should be picked in the NT side to play in the QAFL comp next year!:thumbsu:
Geez, how does that work if he is contracted to the Raiders ? What if he was to get injured ?
Bundy Bear
16 Oct 2008, 16:08
Geez, how does that work if he is contracted to the Raiders ? What if he was to get injured ?
I cant wait to see him do the Admin from Darwin. Raiders must be stoked. Clearly he's going to go any where If a club Blows enough wind up his A#se.
Raiders are supposed to be in a re building stage, new coach a couple of new players and the STAR forward goes "walkabout" to the Top End and won't be there for Pre Season.
Week as P1ss:thumbsd:
captain peanut
16 Oct 2008, 16:36
any news on the rovers coaching job?
switch the play
16 Oct 2008, 20:35
See on the Bendigo site Antoniwicz(unsure of correct spelling) is supposedly moving to just outside Melbourne somewhere and has been interviewed for Kyneton's coaching job.Osborne having a big go at Doswell and a few fringe players such as Russell;Kennedy;Wilde;Maher etc on the move.Interesting times perhaps at Doggieland?
Silver_kid
16 Oct 2008, 20:46
See on the Bendigo site Antoniwicz(unsure of correct spelling) is supposedly moving to just outside Melbourne somewhere and has been interviewed for Kyneton's coaching job.Osborne having a big go at Doswell and a few fringe players such as Russell;Kennedy;Wilde;Maher etc on the move.Interesting times perhaps at Doggieland?
definately interesting news. surely doswell wouldnt go - one of the premier OM midfielders, wouldnt make sense to drop down to that standard at that age... could see fringe players moving on, always easier to poach them...
good on prior for going, you cant blame him for wanting a change from albury/wodonga for a while...what month does the league finish in darwin? would prior go straight from the darwin comp then back into the OM, fair chance of burnout..?
have a RHG
17 Oct 2008, 14:48
I cant wait to see him do the Admin from Darwin. Raiders must be stoked. Clearly he's going to go any where If a club Blows enough wind up his A#se.
Raiders are supposed to be in a re building stage, new coach a couple of new players and the STAR forward goes "walkabout" to the Top End and won't be there for Pre Season.
Hows that week as piss bundy bear. the bloke is going up there to play footy and will be back for the start of the season fitter then most blokes in the club and match hardened. I would say quite a good move by Adam and i reckon you could bet your bottom dollar that he went with Lambo's blessing. unless you've been up there and done it mate (i have) you really are talking out your ar##se
Flowerpower
17 Oct 2008, 15:16
agree with you "have a RHG".
Bundy Bear had too many.
Gun Recruit
17 Oct 2008, 18:57
Hows that week as piss bundy bear. the bloke is going up there to play footy and will be back for the start of the season fitter then most blokes in the club and match hardened. I would say quite a good move by Adam and i reckon you could bet your bottom dollar that he went with Lambo's blessing. unless you've been up there and done it mate (i have) you really are talking out your ar##se
Nar dont agree fellas. only gotta look at what happened at yarra with Archibald in 2006. Bloke was absolutely buggered by finals time coz he had been playin footy continuous for 18 months. Anyone who seen it would agree he played like he was shot to shit, at the time of year it mattered most. The comment about Prior coming back fit is a load a shit, when he gets back the last thing he is guna wanna do is play footy again. Bad move from a club needing everything to go their way to be competitive again.
Lewis#3
17 Oct 2008, 21:00
Im sure Doswell wouldn't leave Wodonga to go and play Osborne.
The Dog's have some very good young kids coming through anyway.
grandeur25
18 Oct 2008, 00:25
Bit rough there mate, the bloke wants to go up north and play footy, its not AFL, he can do what he wants.
grandeur25
18 Oct 2008, 00:30
Nar dont agree fellas. only gotta look at what happened at yarra with Archibald in 2006. Bloke was absolutely buggered by finals time coz he had been playin footy continuous for 18 months. Anyone who seen it would agree he played like he was shot to shit, at the time of year it mattered most. The comment about Prior coming back fit is a load a shit, when he gets back the last thing he is guna wanna do is play footy again. Bad move from a club needing everything to go their way to be competitive again.
Got it from a very very very good source that he is likely to only play 12 games or so up there.
Bring back the VFA
18 Oct 2008, 01:37
The top 4-5 teams of the EFL are very very strong, and i think only the better O&M sides would compete evenly with them, would be a great game actually. The top 3/4 eastern clubs pay out huge amounts of money and recruit heavily at junior levels as well.
The Southern League might as well go home after half time, cause they would come out and get rings run around them in the 2nd half. There is a huge gap in the fitness/general level of the SFL and O & M.
The Ammos 1s would be ok against the lower O&M sides, but they lack the top line talent that O&M usually has and it would be a question of depth. However they play on bigger grounds than EFL/Diamond Valley so play a bit more open style of footy (not particuarly hard you might say).
As far as the NFL (Diamond Valley is concerned) its one thing to say they might be more physical at the man, but i dont think this sort of thing really bothers a good O&M side one iota. They are big boys and would give all but the top rung NFL sides a fair shalacking.
Bring Back The VFA!
Appendix: When talking about the O&M i am generally excluding the sides that are bottom 2 for the year (ie myrt and raiders this yr)
switch the play
18 Oct 2008, 14:57
Im sure Doswell wouldn't leave Wodonga to go and play Osborne.
The Dog's have some very good young kids coming through anyway.
Pretty sure there confidence in recruiting is because he has either living in Wagga or moving back there so travel has a lot to do with it.
Hitman01
19 Oct 2008, 13:02
Pretty sure there confidence in recruiting is because he has either living in Wagga or moving back there so travel has a lot to do with it.
Are you sure it is Brett Doswell they are trying to recruit or his brother that still lives in wagga?
Big rumours circulating about former Corowa player Shaun Daly returning to the area,have also heard that 6 O+M clubs have already spoken to him about playing next season.
harryhoward
19 Oct 2008, 13:48
i had heard he was another going to the tiger den........along with whiterod from walla
Albury I believe is the front runner.
Do The Tigers have an accountancy firm as a sponsor or would he be another player on Jossy,s payroll?
Albury I believe is the front runner.
Do The Tigers have an accountancy firm as a sponsor or would he be another player on Jossy,s payroll?
If you own half of Albury Your payroll will generally be fairly large. It would be good to see Albury give some of there talanted youngsters a run
Gun Recruit
20 Oct 2008, 09:52
If you own half of Albury Your payroll will generally be fairly large. It would be good to see Albury give some of there talanted youngsters a run
Leave that to the other clubs around Albury/Wodonga to do when they move away from tigerland due to lack of opportunity. other clubs will end up beating the tiges with a fair bit of their former junior talent in a couple of years.
Hitman01
20 Oct 2008, 17:02
[/B]
Leave that to the other clubs around Albury/Wodonga to do when they move away from tigerland due to lack of opportunity. other clubs will end up beating the tiges with a fair bit of their former junior talent in a couple of years.
Everyone is saying there will be no room for Albury's youngsters in the side but ive still only heard of 2 signings at the club. 1 of which isnt a certain starter. Who are all these players your talking about?
krusty123
20 Oct 2008, 23:06
Everyone is saying there will be no room for Albury's youngsters in the side but ive still only heard of 2 signings at the club. 1 of which isnt a certain starter. Who are all these players your talking about?
I'm just glad we're not stuck talking about either of the Wang clubs or Corowa....as is usually the case on this thread.:p
Silver_kid
21 Oct 2008, 09:04
In other news it looks as though Wodonga will regain Simon Paton after a few years off, is expected back in the area before xmas, and provided he can get fit would probably play at Wodonga. Always had groin problems, I hear its an overuse injury...
Also could a former skipper be heading back to the club after a few years at a metro club?
Buckster
21 Oct 2008, 13:39
In other news it looks as though Wodonga will regain Simon Paton after a few years off, is expected back in the area before xmas, and provided he can get fit would probably play at Wodonga. Always had groin problems, I hear its an overuse injury...
Also could a former skipper be heading back to the club after a few years at a metro club?
yeah silver - heard similar story about Simon Paton a few weeks ago.
Former skipper heading back = havent heard any rumours with that one. do you have any names? Does Paul Nugent play metro footy these days?
half time raffle
21 Oct 2008, 13:49
I think silver would be alluding to Brad Thompson, would be a very handy pick-up
twobobs
21 Oct 2008, 14:38
interesting silver - im sure this topic would really get up the nose of myrt supporters, but ill add my opinion anyway.
Im pretty sure the tigers struggled in the ACTAFL, so im not sure how they would go in the OM - but saying that, if they were to recruit some locals back to the club - they would be competitve no worries.
My solution -give myrt some confidence and go play in the O&K, make nathalia play OM so they dont smash murray clubs every year!
cheers
I think the O&M should persist with Myrtleford. without knowing their financial postion, everyone knows that a football club's form is often cyclic Whilst the Saints have not won a flag for a long time, they have been competitive recently. I am pretty sure that every current O&M team has won at least one flag since 1994, except Myrlteford. Keep in mind that they have played in 3 GFs recently though. That speaks volumes for the league and how it is run, and a credit to all clubs involved. Don't go changing the teams at teh moment.
Out of this current stiuation opportunities are created and I would think that Myrtleford would invite some of the blokes involved with coaching/committee of Wang Magpies in the 90s early 00s for a beer and a yarn at the pub in Myrtleford over summer. Admittedly Myrtleford does not have the employment opportunities and possibly smaller resources, but it would not be impossible to get the Saints up the ladder in the long term.
As for Wagga Tigers, one reason why they failed in the ACTAFL was that they struggled to get the quality players to travel to ACT/Sydney every second week. On another note, they would also not change their name from Tigers and subsequently clashed when playing Queanbeyan Tigers(guernseys were different but still Yellow and Black) - Can't see this going too well at Albury Tigers....
krusty123
21 Oct 2008, 19:41
I think silver would be alluding to Brad Thompson, would be a very handy pick-up
In my opinion Thompson was the most important player in the Bulldog's most recent premiership team (which was overloaded with talent). His ability to orchestrate attacking movements predominantly from the back-line was the best I've seen in the O&M. His addition to what is already an excellent line-up would make the Doggies very dangerous indeed.
That is assuming he is somewhere near as fit and motivated as he was in the early 2000's
Buckster
22 Oct 2008, 15:25
In my opinion Thompson was the most important player in the Bulldog's most recent premiership team (which was overloaded with talent). His ability to orchestrate attacking movements predominantly from the back-line was the best I've seen in the O&M. His addition to what is already an excellent line-up would make the Doggies very dangerous indeed.
That is assuming he is somewhere near as fit and motivated as he was in the early 2000's
Of couse... Brad Thompson - Very very good OM player. Last i heard he was boxing professionally and still playing football in Melbourne.
Would be welcomed back to the dogs with open arms i would think.
bumblebee8
23 Oct 2008, 14:19
His ability to orchestrate attacking movements predominantly from the back-line was the best I've seen in the O&M.
no disrespect to thommo who is a gun but i reckon Glen Page in his heyday would have been the best.
Has anyone heard rumours that Graham Fruean is heading back to tigerland????
Tigerrr_Uppercut
23 Oct 2008, 16:52
His ability to orchestrate attacking movements predominantly from the back-line was the best I've seen in the O&M.
no disrespect to thommo who is a gun but i reckon Glen Page in his heyday would have been the best.
Has anyone heard rumours that Graham Fruean is heading back to tigerland????
yeah he's runnin the tuck shop
DROUGHTSY
23 Oct 2008, 17:09
Hes signed at Culcairn for next year
Silver_kid
24 Oct 2008, 10:12
Of couse... Brad Thompson - Very very good OM player. Last i heard he was boxing professionally and still playing football in Melbourne.
Would be welcomed back to the dogs with open arms i would think.
legend status at the dogs - multiple BF winner, premiership captain, OM rep, State Rep...would be great to see him have another season there. His physical presence has a few players looking over there shoulder.
Looks like Wodonga are also after Raines, seems odd the way Corowa ended their relationship with him considering he has gone alright on-field there...
no orange peeler
24 Oct 2008, 15:16
you mean the bar.
Interesting reading the article with the Myrtleford president the other day. It was good to hear some honest comments bout where the club is at. What about the comment on Hodgson, he must have been on a very nice wicket! Mind you, they'd have to pay decent cash to get a coach up there.
Wonder if they'll interview a few other presidents.
I'd be interested to hear from the albury president, what his name again... someone Joss!:p
Falkroo
27 Oct 2008, 13:05
Wonder if they'll interview a few other presidents.
I'd be interested to hear from the albury president, what his name again... someone Joss!:p
Why would they interview Joss, you pickle, David Kefford's the President, but good try.
Where It All Began
27 Oct 2008, 13:12
It seems all but official, Mackie to Albury, top 2 position beckons for the Tigers.
mitta magic
27 Oct 2008, 13:44
Wodonga must be shaping up alright if they can get lamb,paton,bartel an thompson back. Also heard there talking to a bloke from Canberra.
Also heard Nth Alb still trying hard with big Ash Eames.
Are the Raiders goin to recruit any big names ?? or haven they got the coin? Heard they were trying to get the big FF that used to play at North under Lambert cant remember his name think he went up north.
DROUGHTSY
27 Oct 2008, 15:43
Tony Pierri
Silver_kid
27 Oct 2008, 16:36
Wodonga must be shaping up alright if they can get lamb,paton,bartel an thompson back. Also heard there talking to a bloke from Canberra.
Also heard Nth Alb still trying hard with big Ash Eames.
Are the Raiders goin to recruit any big names ?? or haven they got the coin? Heard they were trying to get the big FF that used to play at North under Lambert cant remember his name think he went up north.
Yeah wodonga did pretty well in 2008, a couple of handy pickups may just get them to the GF in 2009, obviously at this stage albury looks to be recruiting fairly well and should also pick it up another notch.
Worryong signs if the Raiders struggle to sign a few big names before xmas, surely they wont repeat their performances of 2009...
dazzledavey36
27 Oct 2008, 17:00
strong rumour goin around yarra, Chris Hyde could join his former teamate and close friend craig ednie and play for the pidgeons next year.
Wouldn't be a bad pick up me reckons :)