View Full Version : Ovens and Murray

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Big Fella 37
26 May 2006, 13:34
you mad dog

BOBCAT
26 May 2006, 20:27
Any word on Albury's next move in the chase for Josh Dicketts, ex-Lake Wendouree?
Now that the VCFL has stepped in and overturned the Ballarat Regional Appeals Board decision to grant his clearance he is tied to the Ballarat FL club. Just wondering what Albury where considering in their efforts to get him on the field with his brother in 2006.

Hi ...i beleive that Albury and Lake wendouree will come to a cash settlement - as i hear that he really wants to play at albury and the two club are talking as we speak

ryang
26 May 2006, 23:03
Pretty weak Mongoose. But I suppose umpiring always looks easy through the bottom of a stubby.
If you had any ticker you would identify yourself - after all the umpires are named in the paper. All you have done is reinforce my opinion that chat lines are the haunt of peadophiles and geeks. Which are you?
Get off your bum, do something positive and stop whining.

PS - there are two spelling mistakes and four grammar mistakes in your little diatribe too dummy.

Special thanks to bigfooty.com for publishing this crap - it does nothing to help the game
MMMM! Are you suggesting that Mongoose should identify himself after ALL the umpires are named in the paper, or that he should identify himself because, after all, the umpires are named in the paper? Did you forget to use a comma? If so, that would be a 'grammatical mistake', not a 'grammar mistake' as you might refer to it.
May I also suggest a more appropriate way to word your PS?
'There are also two spelling and four grammatical mistakes in your little diatribe, dummy.'
Sorry OLDUMP, but if you are going to call somebody a dummy for making a few spelling mistakes, make sure your a r s e is covered before you do it. You don't have to be a genius to have an opinion on footy, just as you don't need to be one to play or umpire it.

PS. I think you will find that you have also spelt PAEDOPHILE incorrectly.

harsh, but fair
27 May 2006, 10:14
g'day,

just wondering if there's anywhere you can find the o&m teams for each weekend on the internet. the o&m site used to put them up on friday mornings but doesn't anymore, and i can't find them on the bordermail website either.

Check out omfl.com.au now!

Here It Is
28 May 2006, 12:38
My Top 10 players after round 6

1. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
1. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
3. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
3. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
3. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31
3. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 31
7. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 30
8. Michael Lamb (Wodonga) 28
8. Adam Williams (Wodonga) 28
10. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 26
10. Clint Runnalls (Yarrawonga) 26
10. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 26

wobbler
29 May 2006, 14:32
What about the D man D in Damian Slater how is he travelling

Here It Is
29 May 2006, 20:20
What about the D man D in Damian Slater how is he travelling

141 players have scored points so far this season.
Slater is not one of them.

hammer_time
29 May 2006, 22:35
g'day,

just wondering if there's anywhere you can find the o&m teams for each weekend on the internet. the o&m site used to put them up on friday mornings but doesn't anymore, and i can't find them on the bordermail website either.

i think your only hope now is the border mail on friday... the o and m site is now affiliated with the vcfl site and are no longer listing the teams

harsh, but fair
29 May 2006, 22:39
Don't give up yet!

hammer_time
29 May 2006, 22:58

I did happen to read this earlier "It takes into account the named best players and the match results." Tim Hargraves - 32 goals, 4 times in best (from 6 games), Yarrawonga 6 wins (before last round) yet still can't find himself in the top 10.. Who do you have watching these games? or is it more favourtism?

harsh, but fair
29 May 2006, 23:26
I agree it's baffling to say the least.

arceri
30 May 2006, 09:50
I thibk a new system should be looked at

Gotheroos
30 May 2006, 12:39
i think your only hope now is the border mail on friday... the o and m site is now affiliated with the vcfl site and are no longer listing the teams

The O&M site has turned to S*%T. There are no more teams on it and no where near the articles it used to have. It used to be a good site to read but I don't even look at it anymore.

T.Perry
30 May 2006, 12:47

Great to see former teammates in Paul Bunn and Lawrence Furlan going so well in one of the state's premier comps..what are the chances of their respective sides, Myrtleford and Yarrawonga, squaring off in this year's GF? Did either of them represent the O&M in the country championships, and if so, how did they go?

centreman
30 May 2006, 13:54
Great to see former teammates in Paul Bunn and Lawrence Furlan going so well in one of the state's premier comps..what are the chances of their respective sides, Myrtleford and Yarrawonga, squaring off in this year's GF? Did either of them represent the O&M in the country championships, and if so, how did they go?

Furlan didn't play, but Bunn was pretty good in the backline. Did a super job on Saad Saad.

Ozz12
30 May 2006, 14:30
The O&M site has turned to S*%T. There are no more teams on it and no where near the articles it used to have. It used to be a good site to read but I don't even look at it anymore.

Im not sure if its pure co-incidence, but the Boring Morning Mail ;) seems to be now publishing all their sport stories so i think you will find them their rather than the OMFL site.

obe1
30 May 2006, 22:13
Heard a rumor that Adrian Newman from Corowa may have to return to Melbourne due to work commitments. Has been linked to one of his former clubs. Can anyone confirm/deny??

Here It Is
30 May 2006, 22:23
I did happen to read this earlier "It takes into account the named best players and the match results." Tim Hargraves - 32 goals, 4 times in best (from 6 games), Yarrawonga 6 wins (before last round) yet still can't find himself in the top 10.. Who do you have watching these games? or is it more favourtism?

Those stats are indeed impressive and haven't gone unnoticed.
Hargreaves has scored 22 points from 3 times in the internet best and is ranked No.17.
However, I haven't added Saturday's matches as yet.
The new Top 10 will appear later tonight.

Here It Is
31 May 2006, 01:57
Top 10 players after round 7

1. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 35
2. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 34
3. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
3. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
5. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
5. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
5. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31
8. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 30
9. Michael Lamb (Wodonga) 28
9. Adam Williams (Wodonga) 28

Gotheroos
31 May 2006, 16:54
Heard a rumor that Adrian Newman from Corowa may have to return to Melbourne due to work commitments. Has been linked to one of his former clubs. Can anyone confirm/deny??

Rumours! That's all they are, rumours. He is able to play the rest of the year out with Corowa.

obe1
31 May 2006, 17:07
Rumours! That's all they are, rumours. He is able to play the rest of the year out with Corowa.

Thanks champ, but are really really sure??;)

fish1
2 Jun 2006, 12:35
Reading the bordermail this morning. What does everyone think of Wagga maybe wanting to play in the o&m. i wld hate to be part of a thirds team travelling up there it wld be an early start.

arceri
2 Jun 2006, 12:54
I'm all for it. You only have to do it once a year.

Good for the competition

hornet68
2 Jun 2006, 13:05
Reading the bordermail this morning. What does everyone think of Wagga maybe wanting to play in the o&m. i wld hate to be part of a thirds team travelling up there it wld be an early start.

They have tried to gain entry unsuccessfully on a few occasions. Travel was an issue esp. from Myrtleford and Wang. I think that Yarrawonga and Myrtleford were a bit reluctant, as they were worried about their ability to attract Melbourne recruits if the league moved even further north.
Maybe now that they are more successful their stance may change.

Wagga doesn't have a long term future in Canberra, they cant hold onto fringe players and 2nds players. Their u18s are still strong in the ACTAFL however.
When a Wagga move to the O and M was mentioned a couple of years back it created a lot of interest in Wagga and Southern NSW.
The move to Canberra did not create so much interest.
Many ideas were floated to reduce the travel impact such as playing games in Culcairn or Holbrook etc.
O and M is a similiar standard to Canberra, so Wagga's poor showing there may count against it moving to the O and M.
I dont think the RFL would want them back as the RFL is the most even it has been for years.

harsh, but fair
2 Jun 2006, 20:00
All very good points you make Hornet and I reckon the addition of Wagga Tigers would be great.
The travel time for the southern clubs will be reduced next year with the completion of the internal freeway through Albury.
But, OM clubs only have to make the journey once and Wagga Tigers have to do the bulk of the travel which is no issue because they are used to it from the RFL days.
The biggest hurdle will be getting the OM out of its comfort zone of having a 10-team competition where everybody plays eachother twice in an 18-round draw and no byes.
The longest anyone has to travel at the moment is 1hr15min which is heaven compared to some of the other comps including the neighouring GV.

localfootyguru
3 Jun 2006, 02:30
1-6-2006 - By David Johnston, The Border Mail

Wagga Tigers raise OM option again

WAGGA Tigers joining the Ovens and Murray Football League has been placed firmly back on the agenda.
The once powerful Riverina league club has failed to make to make a serious impact in the Canberra AFL competition since being rejected by the O and M in 2001.
The Tigers have not made the finals in four completed seasons in the Canberra AFL and have only recorded one win this year against bottom-placed Weston Creek.
“There is no secret we are struggling in Canberra,” Wagga Tigers president Ray Carroll said yesterday.
“We simply don’t have the money to compete with some of the clubs up there.
“Our bid to join the O and M five years ago wasn’t successful, but I am not sure whether attitudes have changed.
“It’s always an option.”
Carroll said the Tigers had not ruled out staying in the Canberra AFL next season, but said a return to the Riverina league where they were a perennial powerhouse was not an option.
“From a club point of view we are not going back to the RFL,” Carroll said.
“If push came to shove we would certainly have a look down that way and see how responsive the clubs would be.
“We are working through a few things to see if we can make ourselves more competitive (in Canberra).
“But, we’ve got to do what is right for the club.
“You never say, never.”
Carroll added there wasn’t a lot of sympathy among former RFL rivals for the Tigers’ present struggles in the national capital.
The Canberra AFL is an eight-team competition and includes the Sydney Swans reserves who won the premiership under the coaching of John Longmire last season.
Rookie-listed duo Adam Prior and Sam Rowe play for the Swans who thrashed mega-rich Canberra club Ainslie last round by 148 points.
“They beat us by 80 and we thought that wasn’t too bad,” Carroll said.
Due to a lack of success in Canberra in recent seasons, Wagga Tigers players have become recruiting targets for clubs in the Riverina, Farrer and O and M leagues.
Jared Kahlefeldt and Matt Fife joined Wodonga Raiders from Wagga Tigers this season.
The Canberra AFL also doesn’t include netball.
“The footy is great, but there is no netball and that’s a big thing,” Carroll said.
“You lose them out of your club.”

maclurem
5 Jun 2006, 12:48
if we allow wagga tigers to join, it wouldnt be all bad, raiders would have some competition for the wooden spoon then!!

daisy_train
5 Jun 2006, 18:05
Whats everyones thoughts on Albury? They have really stamped themselves on season 2006 with there display on Saturday completely outpointing Myrtleford in all aspects of football.
Myrtleford need to find a bit of discipline before coming up against some of the better sides. Rumour has it they got flogged on sunday morning.

roo9699
5 Jun 2006, 19:47
I read in the O&M website that Wangaratta Rovers had a big win over Raiders,and that forward Peter Cristoforo kicked 9 in his return from some sort of a leg injury,he was out for 3 weeks,he has now booted 27 in just 5 games -i spoke to someone who said that he kicked his 9 goals well before 3quarter time on saturday and left the field for the remander of the game 20 minutes into 3rd quarter,is this true? if so then he would have booted a massive bag had a played the full game.
Anyone have any info?

harsh, but fair
5 Jun 2006, 22:44
Whats everyones thoughts on Albury? They have really stamped themselves on season 2006 with there display on Saturday completely outpointing Myrtleford in all aspects of football.
Myrtleford need to find a bit of discipline before coming up against some of the better sides. Rumour has it they got flogged on sunday morning.

Where have you been hiding for the last 3 years, hey Tige?

harsh, but fair
5 Jun 2006, 22:47
I read in the O&M website that Wangaratta Rovers had a big win over Raiders,and that forward Peter Cristoforo kicked 9 in his return from some sort of a leg injury,he was out for 3 weeks,he has now booted 27 in just 5 games -i spoke to someone who said that he kicked his 9 goals well before 3quarter time on saturday and left the field for the remander of the game 20 minutes into 3rd quarter,is this true? if so then he would have booted a massive bag had a played the full game.
Anyone have any info?

He did in fact kick 9 which broke the Rovers record for most goals against Raiders.
The previous record of six was jointly shared by two of his team-mates on Sat (Peter Taylor and Matt Allen) plus two others whose names escape me at the moment.
The club record of 14 held by Allen was in doubt until the Rovers elected not to risk the hamstring he has carried since the round 3 game against Wodonga.

Pearce off Jack
6 Jun 2006, 16:44
All very good points you make Hornet and I reckon the addition of Wagga Tigers would be great.
The travel time for the southern clubs will be reduced next year with the completion of the internal freeway through Albury.
But, OM clubs only have to make the journey once and Wagga Tigers have to do the bulk of the travel which is no issue because they are used to it from the RFL days.
The biggest hurdle will be getting the OM out of its comfort zone of having a 10-team competition where everybody plays eachother twice in an 18-round draw and no byes.
The longest anyone has to travel at the moment is 1hr15min which is heaven compared to some of the other comps including the neighouring GV.
I think you would find that the travel time for Myrtleford would still be between 2.5 to 3 hours by the time you arrived at the ground.The equivalent of asking them to play in the outskirts of melbourne i doubt that anyone would call that a viable exercise!

off the cuff
7 Jun 2006, 17:44
He did in fact kick 9 which broke the Rovers record for most goals against Raiders.
The previous record of six was jointly shared by two of his team-mates on Sat (Peter Taylor and Matt Allen) plus two others whose names escape me at the moment.
The club record of 14 held by Allen was in doubt until the Rovers elected not to risk the hamstring he has carried since the round 3 game against Wodonga.

Very good footballer,Cristoforo,yes he did play only 3 quarters on saturday for his 9 goals.
Thats the 3rd record he has broken in his short time at the Rovers - he kicked 7 vs Albury in Round 1 was the most by a Rovers player vs that club and his 8 vs Lavington in Round 3 was also the most by a rovers player vs that club.

Here It Is
7 Jun 2006, 23:58
My Top 10 players after round 8.

1. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
2. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
3. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 35
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 35
5. Clint Runnalls (Yarrawonga) 34
6. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
6. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
8. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
8. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
8. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31

maclurem
8 Jun 2006, 11:47
may i ask why are there no albury players in that top 10? although they havnt had their latest form all season, i cant understand how not even one albury player didnt get into your top 10.

arceri
8 Jun 2006, 13:28
simple mate - it's a **** system.

Luke Carroll has been struggling as well. (joke)

daisy_train
8 Jun 2006, 14:14
Terrible top ten!

Rabbit_30
8 Jun 2006, 16:31

Albury is a contender there is no doubt about that. I think Myrtleford is still in 1st gear at this stage of the season, but they still seem to be able to beat the likes of the rovers, roos, hoppers. I have been and seen the last few Myrtleford games and they have been in ordinary form. This week they have no better motivation to snap out of their form slump against the side who beat them in the grandfinal last year. Should be a cracker of a game.

off the cuff
8 Jun 2006, 18:49
My Top 10 players after round 8.

1. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
2. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
3. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 35
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 35
6. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
6. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
8. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
8. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
8. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31

where to you come up with that this garbage may i ask?
Is this a weekly total or cumulative added for the whole year?

Here It Is
9 Jun 2006, 00:11
may i ask why are there no albury players in that top 10? although they havnt had their latest form all season, i cant understand how not even one albury player didnt get into your top 10.

Albury is obviously a very even team with no standout players, judging on the best players as named on the website.

21. Trent Crothers (Albury) 24
31. Charles Gaylard (Albury) 21
31. David Gregory (Albury) 21
37. Daniel Anglin (Albury) 20
37. Calan McClay (Albury) 20

Arceri - and remember I can only go on best players as named - Carroll is in fact either having a bad season by his standards, or has instructed the timekeepers not to name him in the best (which does happen and I can't control it). The system is not my opinion, it is purely based on the stats of best players as named by the club timekeepers and submitted on the website.

113. Luke Carroll (Albury) 7

Off the cuff - it's cumulative of the whole season, and we'll see if it is garbage on Morris Medal night. If it is, it is - but I reckon it won't be too far off the mark.

arceri
9 Jun 2006, 09:50
If trent crothers finishes higher than Luke Carroll then the moderator's should take this thread off air.

it's an embarrassment to the service.

daisy_train
9 Jun 2006, 23:54
What are you suggesting Arceri? that Crothers is a hack? bit harsh, the paper has been talking up Crothers big time. He must be a gun.

I have a feeling Luke Carroll will poll a few more votes than your man Crothers though Here it is. Daniel Maher will also poll more votes and he's not mentioned and i can't imagine why the time-keepers would be instructed not to mention him. The system is flawed champ.

off the cuff
10 Jun 2006, 11:23
Off the cuff - it's cumulative of the whole season, and we'll see if it is garbage on Morris Medal night. If it is, it is - but I reckon it won't be too far off the mark.

Thats fine by me,now that i know how you work it - but how does the points system work then,may i ask???

Could you then print out a whole list say top 100 or so at the halfway mark or every 4 weeks because it would be more interesting seeing the players who have had slower starts to the year move in or players that opned the season well fall off if you know what i mean.
Having a top 10 doesnt really mean much,may i suggest a top 20 or 25? every week?
Thats just my 2 bobs worth thats all.:)

harsh, but fair
10 Jun 2006, 21:55
Time-keepers don't do the best players _ the respective coaching staffs do and some coaches leave themselves out to pump up other players in the team.
The only objective best players in the OM are the ones which are done independantly (I hope I spelled that right) for the Border Mail each Monday.
These people also give votes in the BM Footballer of the Year and I doubt there is a more accurate guide to who is actually playing well.
Albury coach Luke Carroll is leading for what it's worth and Wangaratta's Dale Carmody is also right up there.

Here It Is
11 Jun 2006, 16:35
Time-keepers don't do the best players _ the respective coaching staffs do and some coaches leave themselves out to pump up other players in the team.
The only objective best players in the OM are the ones which are done independantly (I hope I spelled that right) for the Border Mail each Monday.
These people also give votes in the BM Footballer of the Year and I doubt there is a more accurate guide to who is actually playing well.
Albury coach Luke Carroll is leading for what it's worth and Wangaratta's Dale Carmody is also right up there.

I admit my system is reliant on clubs taking the best players seriously and actually using them for what they are meant to be used for - naming who the six blokes who actually were the best six.
If clubs want to throw in smokies and leave out good players they are just treating long distance supporters who can't attend matches with contempt.
I can't do anything about this.
I used the Border Mail best players for my list in the previous four seasons I have done an O and M list - I successfully picked Tim Hargreaves' Morris Medal, but haven't gone closer than a No.4 winning it (Ryan MacKenzie) since.
Thus I decided to try the different list of best players this season to see if it was any more accurate.
Off the Cuff's request will be answered this week - and if I find time I might do a list based on the Border Mail's best players to see if it is much different.
Perhaps Harsh could post the weekly votes and leaderboard of the BM Player of the Year and also the OAKFM player of the year as I would be interested in knowing how these two awards are progressing.
Arceri - Crothers' rank surprises me, as does Carroll's, but I think I've covered that above.

arceri
12 Jun 2006, 12:38
so, if the systen's crap, why run it?

Lavy_Panther
12 Jun 2006, 18:20
Where did he say the system's crap? He perhaps alluded to it being somewhat flawed, but it still has merit.

Here It Is
12 Jun 2006, 21:25
Where did he say the system's crap? He perhaps alluded to it being somewhat flawed, but it still has merit.

Exactly.
The only flaw comes from clubs treating supporters with contempt.

A systen (or should it be cistern?) is the part of a toilet that holds the water before you flush. It is run so you don't end up with a heap of **** in the bottom of your toilet.

BonnScott
12 Jun 2006, 22:38

Arceri, It s obviously a system that has it s flaws, but it s simply a system of adding provided votes. Instead of bagging it why don t you suggest improvements or another system to use?

Or are you filthy your not in the top ten..?

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:16
Sunbury signs star onballer

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

Sunbury has high hopes for a former Ovens and Murray Football League star it has recruited.
Lavington premiership player Corey Brown could play for the Lions as soon as this week’s blockbuster with East Point at the Eastern Oval.
Although the Lions signed him last week, coach Mark Power said Brown would not play in today’s clash with Sebastopol at Clarke Oval.
“He won’t play against Sebastopol because he hasn’t been cleared,” Power said yesterday.
“We put his clearance in on Friday and we’re hoping that he will be right for the big one against East Point.”
Brown, an onballer, was named man-of-the-match in Lavington’s one-point grand final win over Myrtleford last year.
He is the nephew of Sunbury legends Ashley and Rohan Brand.
Brown contacted Sunbury wanting to play because he had grown tired of travelling from Melbourne to Albury each week, Power said.
The Lions will aim for their first win since round four today after suffering consecutive losses to Ballarat and Redan.
However, the Kookaburras would rise from the bottom of the ladder if they claim only their second win for the season.

arceri
13 Jun 2006, 10:21
I don't care if people follow it or not.

But if Luke Carroll isn't in the top 10 players, it has no credibility and can hardly be used as any sort of gauge.
I work with an Albury player and he says Carroll would be leading the club's b and f by daylight.

And no I don't go for Albury, I'm a Cobram man.

ringo1
13 Jun 2006, 10:46
Arceri what is wrong with Cobram at the moment? I see they have'nt won a game as yet.:thumbsu:

arceri
13 Jun 2006, 11:08
no depth at all.

don't be surprised if Bradshaw returns to the kennel either.

flagpie
13 Jun 2006, 17:07
no depth at all.

don't be surprised if Bradshaw returns to the kennel either.

Cobram, arceri???

I was pretty sure you were a Barooga man???

Think this whole Murray league spin you put on things could be a charade and that you in fact have ties with a club much closer to Albury-Wodonga???

arceri
13 Jun 2006, 17:32
No, I'm a Murray league man at heart.

I support Cobram, but when the Tiges are struggling I jump on the Barooga bandwagon.

If I had to pick an O and M team, it would be the mighty Panthers.

Mongoose
13 Jun 2006, 17:41
No, I'm a Murray league man at heart.

I support Cobram, but when the Tiges are struggling I jump on the Barooga bandwagon.

If I had to pick an O and M team, it would be the mighty Panthers.

Well why don't you rack off and find a forum that talks about your poo league.

BonnScott
13 Jun 2006, 18:02
Well why don't you rack off and find a forum that talks about your poo league.

Well said Mongoose:thumbsu:

Lavy_Panther
13 Jun 2006, 18:41
I don't care if people follow it or not.

But if Luke Carroll isn't in the top 10 players, it has no credibility and can hardly be used as any sort of gauge.
I work with an Albury player and he says Carroll would be leading the club's b and f by daylight.

And no I don't go for Albury, I'm a Cobram man.
Isn't your reasoning equally flawed, if you haven't seen every one of George's games. Similar to Here It Is, aren't you merely going on what you've been told?

Here It Is
14 Jun 2006, 01:24
My Top 10 players after round 9

1. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 43
2. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 40
4. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
6. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 33
7. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
7. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
9. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
9. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
9. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31

The two matches this week will take the season to the half way point and I will produce a more in depth list next week when all clubs have played nine matches.

arceri
14 Jun 2006, 10:30
come on boys, don't get nasty.

I thought you'd support me Timmy.

LOBSTER
14 Jun 2006, 11:12
My Top 10 players after round 9

1. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 43
2. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
3. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 40
4. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
6. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 33
7. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
7. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
9. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
9. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
9. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31

The two matches this week will take the season to the half way point and I will produce a more in depth list next week when all clubs have played nine matches.
Good to see Dale Carmody at the front of the leader board. Big boof was an excellent ruckman for West Preston and how they would love him back at the moment.

I havent heard much about Cristoforo lately, Is he out injured?

Wayne Weideman
14 Jun 2006, 18:09
is mark sims back n albury playing footy this year? was in bendigo doing uni but haven't heard much about him this year

Here It Is
14 Jun 2006, 20:10

All I can tell you is that Peter Cristoforo is No.12 with 29 points.

harsh, but fair
14 Jun 2006, 22:52
Peter Christoforo kicked nine goals against bottom of the ladder Wodonga Raiders a fortnight ago, but was a late omission (for the third or fourth time this year due to a hamstring injury) from the selected line-up to play Corowa-Rutherglen last round.
Rovers lost by three points and face a danger game on Saturday against North Albury which has won two of their last three games against Raiders and Corowa-Rutherglen.
North's other loss in this 3 week stretch was against Wodonga by a point after being the better side for most of the game.
The Hoppers also have won of the best backlines in the comp with players of the calibre of inter-league reps Aydan Brown, Mark Hilton and Dan Leslie and have an in-form ff in Tony Pierri, who is playing really well.
Christforo will face some serious opposition if he does play.
North was terrible last year and finished with the spoon, but did beat Wang Rovers at home in 2005 where their latest game will take place.

off the cuff
15 Jun 2006, 18:55

Returned not last saturday but the one before vs Wodonga Raiders from a 2 week layoff with a Hamy,im lead to believe from what i have read by other posters,he booted 9 and went off at 3 quarter time.
He didnt play last weekend again vs Corowa-Rglen and Rovers went down by 3 points....i presume his hamy kept him out again.

hammer_time
18 Jun 2006, 11:24
anyone know anything about the rumour Marcus McMillian may be returning to Yarrawonga within the next 2 weeks?

maclurem
19 Jun 2006, 11:47
is mark sims back n albury playing footy this year? was in bendigo doing uni but haven't heard much about him this year

yeh he is back in albury playing footy, in a north albury jumper

BonnScott
19 Jun 2006, 12:58
Does anyone know why the O & MFL only has three interchange players?

daisy_train
19 Jun 2006, 18:33
Enough ordinary players are getting games at the moment without another stiff sitting on the bench.

How good are Nth Albury going?

Brad Horn must be a smokey for the medal!!!

carlton_86
19 Jun 2006, 22:20
Is there a player fom Euroa playin any where in wodonga by the name Marc Rricsson if so how is he playing this year

Here It Is
21 Jun 2006, 09:28
Could you then print out a whole list?

As requested and seeing the halfway point of the season has arrived - I'll put my substantial posterior on the line and provide the full list of 174 players to score points so far.
Now I just wait for the criticism with another bag of popcorn and a large coke.:cool:

1. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 47
1. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 47
3. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
4. Brad Horn (North Albury) 38
5. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
6. Clint Runnalls (Yarrawonga) 34
7. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 33
8. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 32
8. Chad Rigoni (Myrtleford) 32
8. Tim Hargreaves (Yarrawonga) 32
11. Paul Bunn (Myrtleford) 31
11. Mark Doolan (Wodonga Raiders) 31
11. Peter Cristoforo (Wangaratta Rovers) 31
11. Lawrence Furlan (Yarrawonga) 31
15. Daniel Anglin (Albury) 29
15. Jason Wild (Yarrawonga) 29
17. Trent Crothers (Albury) 28
17. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 28
17. Michael Lamb (Wodonga) 28
17. Brent Piltz (Myrtleford) 28
17. Adam Williams (Wodonga) 28
17. Leigh Symons (Wangaratta) 28
23. Jamie Allen (Wangaratta Rovers) 27
23. Luke Hammond (Yarrawonga) 27
25. A Butler (Lav) 26
25. P Sanson (Lav) 26
25. D Gallagher (Yar) 26
28. M Wollington (Yar) 25
29. L Brauer (Lav) 24
29. M Nichol (NA) 24
29. D Steer (Myr) 24
29. J Porter (Wang) 24
33. J Hunt (Lav) 23
33. J Mackie (NA) 23
33. S Gannon (Wang) 23
33. S Oswald (Yar) 23
33. A McGuire (Rov) 23
38. K Gowers (Raid) 22
38. D McAllister (Alb) 22
40. R Ambrose (CR) 21
40. C Dickins (CR) 21
40. A Eady (Lav) 21
40. C Gaylard (Alb) 21
40. D Gregory (Alb) 21
40. J Sheather (Alb) 21
46. C McClay (Alb) 20
46. M Shir (Wod) 20
46. D Leslie (NA) 20
49. P Doherty (Lav) 19
49. J Paton (Alb) 19
49. L Schmidt (CR) 19
49. M Lonergan (Yar) 19
53. B Murray (Myr) 18
53. S Paton (Wod) 18
55. A Carey (Myr) 17
55. L Corcoran (Raid) 17
55. J Fife (Raid) 17
55. J McMaster (Raid) 17
55. C Ried (Alb) 17
55. S Rudd (Yar) 17
55. L Walker (Rov) 17
55. T Pierri (NA) 17
63. B Aalbers (Lav) 16
63. G Chisnall (CR) 16
63. K Kuschert (CR) 16
63. A Newman (CR) 16
63. R Murray (NA) 16
68. L Carroll (Alb) 15
68. H Heta (Wod) 15
68. A Ivone (Myr) 15
68. D Maher (Alb) 15
68. L Mullins (Wang) 15
68. H Sharp (Rov) 15
68. M Webb (Rov) 15
68. D Porter (Wang) 15
68. M Murray (NA) 15
77. B Campbell (CR) 14
77. S McKee (Myr) 14
77. P Taylor (Rov) 14
80. L Dean-Johns (Myr) 13
80. M Fowler (Alb) 13
80. Z Fulford (Wod) 13
80. R Hill (Rov) 13
80. D McKimmie (Lav) 13
80. M Hilton (NA) 13
80. J Henry (Wang) 13
87. T Hansford (Wod) 12
87. G Joyce (CR) 12
87. T Walker (Rov) 12
87. W Dickson (NA) 12
91. B Eyers (CR) 11
91. J Hartley (CR) 11
91. C Macey (Wod) 11
91. S Nightingale (Myr) 11
91. J Seymour (CR) 11
91. P Bourke (Yar) 11
91. R Mulquiney (Yar) 11
98. K Bahr (Lav) 10
98. N Conway (Raid) 10
98. D Eaton (Wod) 10
98. T Halliday (Wang) 10
98. L Heyme (Alb) 10
98. J Mansell (Raid) 10
98. K Godde (NA) 10
98. N O’Bryan (Yar) 10
98. B Finnin (Wang) 10
98. A Brown (NA) 10
108. J Banks (Lav) 9
108. L Chapman (Myr) 9
108. C Ednie (Yar) 9
108. J Paola (Raid) 9
108. J Lappin (Wang) 9
108. J Frawley (Yar) 9
108. A Abele (NA) 9
115. L Browne (Myr) 8
115. D Cohen (Wod) 8
115. T Hodgson (Myr) 8
115. B McIntyre (Myr) 8
115. C Watson (CR) 8
115. J McLoughlan (NA) 8
121. M Allan (Rov) 7
121. M Collins (CR) 7
121. M Drum (CR) 7
121. A Gilbert (Raid) 7
121. D Heta (Raid) 7
121. M Kelly (Wang) 7
121. H Murray (Myr) 7
121. M Pendergast (Lav) 7
121. B Gamze (Wang) 7
121. A Telford (Wod) 7
131. S Cartwright (Myr) 6
131. A Johnstone (Raid) 6
131. J Kahlefeldt (Raid) 6
131. C Lieschke (Wod) 6
131. N Nugent (Wod) 6
131. T Purss (Myr) 6
137. B Cairns (Wang) 5
137. J Carey (Myr) 5
137. J Dicketts (Alb) 5
137. L Fazackerley (CR) 5
137. B Forsyth (Lav) 5
137. T Price (Raid) 5
137. K Simpson (Rov) 5
137. P Hoggan (Rov) 5
145. N Carroll (Alb) 4
145. M Grinter (Yar) 4
145. S Livingstone (Raid) 4
145. B Mathews (Lav) 4
145. D McQuilton (Wod) 4
145. N Purss (Myr) 4
145. D McCormick (Wang) 4
151. D Lambert (NA) 3
151. S Gosbell (Wod) 3
151. M Bush (NA) 3
151. X Leslie (Yar) 3
151. A Levy (Alb) 3
151. A Hill (Rov) 3
151. K Raven (Rov) 3
159. L Donnan (NA) 2
159. K Benstead (Myr) 2
159. D Fry (Rov) 2
159. N Flanagan (Raid) 2
159. N Gilbert (Raid) 2
159. J Hallandale (Lav) 2
159. J O’Keefe (Wang) 2
159. J Woods (CR) 2
159. J Conroy (Rov) 2
168. J Campbell (CR) 1
168. J Klemke (NA) 1
168. D De Marte (Raid) 1
168. H Ohlin (Raid) 1
168. B Church (NA) 1
168. S O’Brien (Rov) 1
168. N Hill (Rov) 1

barrybogan
21 Jun 2006, 17:13
Any tips for the top of the table clash on the weekend?

My money is on the saints in a tough and close contest. The home patch near the mountains on a cold and possibly wet winters day enough advantage to get them over the line this Saturday.

daisy_train
21 Jun 2006, 18:51
Yarra to spank Myrtleford
Albury to bt Wang Rovers
Wangaratta to knock of Nth Albury because they lack a ruckman and the great Tony Pierri is out.
Bulldogs to bt Raiders
Lavington to knock off the Corowa thugs.

BonnScott
21 Jun 2006, 20:15
Dunno about a spanking, should be a good game though, Wonder if it will draw much of a crowd? Might be a grand final preview

Here It Is
22 Jun 2006, 00:34
Dunno about a spanking, should be a good game though, Wonder if it will draw much of a crowd? Might be a grand final preview

And what a great grand final it would be to see.
Certainly would be the feel good story of the last five years - either way.

As for this week, I've long since resolved to not pick against Myrtleford at Myrtleford, and as such the Saints are my pick by 8 points.

Rovers to beat Albury at home
Wang to beat North
Wodonga to beat Raiders
Cor-R'glen to beat Lavi in an upset

Go Cohuna
22 Jun 2006, 11:28
Can anyone tell me how Peter Taylor from Wangaratta Rovers is going he used to play some good footy at Cohuna, but i heard that he played some reserves games last year.

fish1
22 Jun 2006, 13:17
Albury to bt Wang Rovers
Wangaratta to knock of Nth Albury because they lack a ruckman and the great Tony Pierri is out.
Bulldogs to bt Raiders

Yarra won't spank them as the pigeons have struggled up in the hils to come away with the four pionts for a few years, should be a close game Yarra by 2-3 goals.

daisy_train
22 Jun 2006, 13:25
Just an opinion fellas, i've just got a hunch that with Myrtlefords growing injury, absentee's and lack of form they could be in for a bit of pasting. We'll see what happens.

Peter Taylor has been solid this season without being spectacular for the rovers, he represented the O&M in there win at the country champs but he did his hammy against Nth Albury last weekend and will miss a few.

Pearce off Jack
22 Jun 2006, 14:23
Just an opinion fellas, i've just got a hunch that with Myrtlefords growing injury, absentee's and lack of form they could be in for a bit of pasting. We'll see what happens.

Peter Taylor has been solid this season without being spectacular for the rovers, he represented the O&M in there win at the country champs but he did his hammy against Nth Albury last weekend and will miss a few.
Yeah terrible form Myrtleford 7-2 and sitting 2nd! What a terrible position to be in with probably 6 or 7 seniors to come back in to the side in the next 2-3 weeks!

daisy_train
22 Jun 2006, 14:35
Yeah i just think in the past few weeks the Myrt boys have looked a bit flat, we'll see what happens old Pearce_Off.

arceri
22 Jun 2006, 14:42
Here It Is, I found your list very interesting.

I thought B. Church (NA) could have been a few higher than 168 though. Maybe 157 or something.

Pearce off Jack
22 Jun 2006, 16:17
Yeah i just think in the past few weeks the Myrt boys have looked a bit flat, we'll see what happens old Pearce_Off.
Yeah no doubt that they have not been at their best for about 5 or 6
weeks but Yarra have a terrible record at myrtleford!

Wiggum
22 Jun 2006, 22:52
Albury to bt Wang Rovers
Bulldogs to bt Raiders

Corowa thugs??? havent ever heard them being called that before?

hectomorphic
23 Jun 2006, 16:35
anyone know anything about the rumour Marcus McMillian may be returning to Yarrawonga within the next 2 weeks?

Heard a slight whisper about motor heading home. Heard yarra have thrown down a good offer. it would now be up to him whether he wants to leave a club mid year. reckon he will stick it out this year in the SANFL but will be back in yarra next year for sure. There is not enough fishing spots over there for him!!!

maclurem
25 Jun 2006, 00:02
great game today up at myrtleford!! saints by 8 pts, if only yarra had of been able to kick straighter!!

sneaky3
25 Jun 2006, 10:18
hey i was just wondering if anyone would be able to tell me how the purss brothers from myrtleford are goin this year. thanx.

Here It Is
25 Jun 2006, 12:51
As for this week, I've long since resolved to not pick against Myrtleford at Myrtleford, and as such the Saints are my pick by 8 points.

http://www.omfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=210692&comp=4313&orgid=381

The oracle has spoken!!!!

Just 'cause I got the other four wrong means nothing. :rolleyes:

daisy_train
25 Jun 2006, 17:32
I told you's Myrtleford would win, gun side.

off the cuff
25 Jun 2006, 17:53
I went to the Wangaratta Rovers vs Albury clash at Wang yesterday.
I expected to see a Rovers win,but Albury had the game in control all day - even though it was a fairly low scoring game - Albury jumped out to a 6 goal plus lead in the 3rd before the rovers hit back and got within 18 points - Kyle Raven - the VC played well,and again Peter Cristoforo was the only real hope rovers had if they were to come over the top of them ,he finished with 4,but was double teamed many times.
McClay,Fowler who kicked 3 had good games for Albury,so too did McAlister.
Thats 4 wins in a row for Albury,who now jump a game clear in the 4,while the Rovers,seem to continue to get injuries and for a team with a good young list with good players ,thats disapointing,they fall 2 games out of the 4.

daisy_train
25 Jun 2006, 19:21
expecting to see a rovers win?

u musn't have been keep a very close eye on the O&M, the poor rovers have 20 odd players injured including 11 monties to play in the seniors side.

Did McClay ruck all day?

RedRoomMilkn
25 Jun 2006, 21:50
can anyone tell me if the pidgeons have had to order new stock in the socks department since tyler bonat has been playing ones

BonnScott
26 Jun 2006, 15:27
Anyones thoughts on the Border Mails half way mark team of the year and ratings? Thought Myrtleford may have been stiff to have one, but very worthy member in Paul Bunn considering they are 8-2. They must not have to many standout players up the mountains!:confused:

Also thought Luke Chapman was outstanding on Tim Hargreaves on saturday

roo9699
26 Jun 2006, 18:53
expecting to see a rovers win?

u musn't have been keep a very close eye on the O&M, the poor rovers have 20 odd players injured including 11 monties to play in the seniors side.

Thats why if you read his post he said that the rovers,seem to be continuing to get injuries - thats costing them wins.:)

Here It Is
26 Jun 2006, 20:18
Anyones thoughts on the Border Mails half way mark team of the year and ratings? Thought Myrtleford may have been stiff to have one, but very worthy member in Paul Bunn considering they are 8-2. They must not have to many standout players up the mountains!:confused:

Is it posted anywhere?

Mongoose
27 Jun 2006, 13:33

David Johnston has gone cold on myrtleford for some reason. He was all over them during pre season, but how they can be 7-2 (before they beet yarra at the weekend) and only have one player in his best side amazes me. Myrtleford may as well be 0-8 like raiders and they'll have same amount of players in his best side.

And how the hell he rated the raiders a c+ i don't know... turn it up johnno!

freakonaleash
27 Jun 2006, 15:25
Spot on Mongoose, would have been great if Johno was my teacher at school, could have failed 9 tests and still got a C+. Mum would have been over the moon!!

Pearce off Jack
27 Jun 2006, 16:21
Spot on Mongoose, would have been great if Johno was my teacher at school, could have failed 9 tests and still got a C+. Mum would have been over the moon!!
Could not agree more with the freak and the goose, hard to believe that raiders are only 1 grade below the likes of Myrtleford and Albury what a joke!

Gotheroos
27 Jun 2006, 18:15
David Johnston has gone cold on myrtleford for some reason. He was all over them during pre season, but how they can be 7-2 (before they beet yarra at the weekend) and only have one player in his best side amazes me. Myrtleford may as well be 0-8 like raiders and they'll have same amount of players in his best side.

And how the hell he rated the raiders a c+ i don't know... turn it up johnno!

Johnson is a goose anyway. He doesn't watch the footy.

Here It Is
27 Jun 2006, 23:48
My Top 10 players after round 11

1. Dale Carmody (Wangaratta) 56
2. Anthony Tucci (Wangaratta Rovers) 50
3. Jarrod Twitt (Wodonga) 41
4. Kade Stevens (Lavington) 39
5. Daniel Anglin (Albury) 38
5. Brad Horn (North Albury) 38
5. Simon McCormick (Wodonga) 38
5. Jason Wild (Yarrawonga) 38
9. Matt Witherden (Corowa-Rutherglen) 37
10. Rhys Fitzpatrick (Myrtleford) 34
10. Clint Runnalls (Yarrawonga) 34

journeyman
29 Jun 2006, 12:21
Just wondering what's going on with Glenn Joyce. I see he's trying to get a clearance from Corowa to Finley, where he's originally from.

I read in the paper he was dropped for disciplinary reasons but does anyone know the story behind the story. I haven't seen him play since he was a junior but I've followed him a bit. He's done well in his footy.