View Full Version : Ovens and Murray
Why would they interview Joss, you pickle, David Kefford's the President, but good try.
That was the point you idiot! Joss is just a 'handy sponsor', but from an outside perspective he's the one making all the deci$ion$.
The Cunning Stunt
27 Oct 2008, 21:22
strong rumour goin around yarra, Chris Hyde could join his former teamate and close friend craig ednie and play for the pidgeons next year.
Wouldn't be a bad pick up me reckons :)
Don't rule Barooga out of the race just yet. He'll be a great pickup for Yarra if they get him though.
no orange peeler
28 Oct 2008, 08:53
Don't rule Barooga out of the race just yet. He'll be a great pickup for Yarra if they get him though.
long drive from Tumut to yarra 3 times a week one would think
mitta magic
28 Oct 2008, 10:56
Why would he travel 3 times a week???????
One would think he would be a travelling player 'peeler' an for the coin yarra an barooga throw around why wouldn he, an he is from there.
krusty123
28 Oct 2008, 11:12
That was the point you idiot! Joss is just a 'handy sponsor', but from an outside perspective he's the one making all the deci$ion$.
Can anyone put a reliable figure of the number of Albury players on the Joss payroll? I heard a number but before i say it i would like someone to confirm it.
no orange peeler
28 Oct 2008, 12:11
Why would he travel 3 times a week???????
One would think he would be a travelling player 'peeler' an for the coin yarra an barooga throw around why wouldn he, an he is from there.
And where would he train. Not many Aussie rules teams in tumut just there back to back flag winning League Side The Tumut Blues.
Hitman01
28 Oct 2008, 12:44
strong rumour goin around yarra, Chris Hyde could join his former teamate and close friend craig ednie and play for the pidgeons next year.
Wouldn't be a bad pick up me reckons :)
Lets not forget Spargo was an assistant coach at Richmond during the time Chris Hyde was there. Therefore Albury would have to be a big chance to get him.
switch the play
28 Oct 2008, 18:01
Lets not forget Spargo was an assistant coach at Richmond during the time Chris Hyde was there. Therefore Albury would have to be a big chance to get him.
Are Albury being player specific in their recruiting or just loading up willy nilly?I know you look to get as many good players as possible to your club but they actually don't need too many more to add to their list from this year to go deep into September next year.They had a lot of talent as evidenced by the two's winning a flag as well as some other major injuries to senior players to return.Spargo obviously has drawing power(along with Joss lol) but the fallout each time he has left has been fairly big.I don't believe he looks long term for the club-more so for an immediate fix.Well and good to have Carey,Whiteroid etc linked to your club but even if they get 3 years from those guys-how many 5-10 yr players who are currently at their club will they loose?
Foot In Mouth
28 Oct 2008, 19:03
Are Albury being player specific in their recruiting or just loading up willy nilly?I know you look to get as many good players as possible to your club but they actually don't need too many more to add to their list from this year to go deep into September next year.They had a lot of talent as evidenced by the two's winning a flag as well as some other major injuries to senior players to return.Spargo obviously has drawing power(along with Joss lol) but the fallout each time he has left has been fairly big.I don't believe he looks long term for the club-more so for an immediate fix.Well and good to have Carey,Whiteroid etc linked to your club but even if they get 3 years from those guys-how many 5-10 yr players who are currently at their club will they loose?
Carey - played for the Queanbeyan Tigers this year and didnt show much in the games I witnessed (3). Couldnt even make the rep squad from five teams. Could say he was big flop in the National Capital. Heard he got some coin for one year ! Didnt he do the same in Adelaide ?
thurgood
28 Oct 2008, 19:42
tigers trying to emulate their record from the mid-90s when they had at least one player on their list that had played at another o&m club?
north alb - bush
raiders - thompson, mcalister
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa -
yarra -
only 4 clubs to go jossy ...
let's hope he doesn't offer buddy franklin and jarryd roughead 50% of his business!
make that 3 clubs to go!
north alb - bush
raiders - thompson, mcalister
lavi - carroll
myrt - carey
wodonga - crothers
wang -
rovers -
corowa - daly
yarra -
Hand Grenade
28 Oct 2008, 22:29
Straight out of pro footy - he should have enough motivation to train on his own up there. And the Brooks' at Barooga have their own planes so travel in and out not a problem ......
harryhoward
29 Oct 2008, 11:34
just reading the gv site, they seem pretty confident kirby is gonna go back to tatura, it seems the bulldogs have recruited pretty well down there and that may further entice kirby to go back, does anyone have any further info, has anyone also heard anything about lavys coming and goings, they seem quiet,i beleive they have lost a number of reserves players to bush clubs...
Falkroo
29 Oct 2008, 12:55
If things don't go well in the next couple of years, and that's regardless if they wins flags or not, they may well be spooners in 4-5 years time. The great kids they've got now aren't going to hang around if they keep buying-in heaps of players. Even though they didn't make the finals this season, got a lot of satisfaction seeing a heap of young kids get their chance and play some good footy. I can't see that happening next season. If they pick up any more mids, they may well have the luxury of playing dual best and fairest Bush in a back-pocket. And the likes of Sheather better get a soft cushion ready, can't see him getting much game time.
I would think there'd be a couple of local clubs rubbing their hands together at the prospect of picking up some good youngsters.
blackmagic33
29 Oct 2008, 15:40
Hey Boys,
Big of admirer off your league...I'm from Newcastle and was just dropping a line to say hi... Any of you boys ever come up Newcastle way for work, study etc... The Warners Bay Football Club is a great place and is welcoming any new players to the area with a prospect of playing footy in "09"... It's also has a great Junior operation and juniors are most welcome for those with children... Any further enquiries visit our website www.warnersbay.org.au (http://www.warnersbay.org.au/)
Where It All Began
29 Oct 2008, 17:26
Can anyone put a reliable figure of the number of Albury players on the Joss payroll? I heard a number but before i say it i would like someone to confirm it.
Probably around the dozen at the moment, but there would be a few more that worked there when recruited, still play there, but have since gained other employment
krusty123
29 Oct 2008, 18:36
Probably around the dozen at the moment, but there would be a few more that worked there when recruited, still play there, but have since gained other employment
The number I heard (which is nearly twice that) came from an indirect source. A dozen to me sounds more likely, even though that is half the footy team.
Where It All Began
30 Oct 2008, 09:37
The number I heard (which is nearly twice that) came from an indirect source. A dozen to me sounds more likely, even though that is half the footy team.
Yeah, I don't think there'd be more than 15-16 at any one time, players coming into the firm and others finding other work or more appropriate if they already have a profession. It certainly helps initially if you can offer them some short-term work.
Having said that, of those that do work at the company, I know of several that are Reserves players (may have played a couple of Senior games).
Word has it, that after the Tiges win the flag next season, they'll have an intra-club match, the Jossy's v the rest of the club, to see which truly is the best side.;)
harryhoward
30 Oct 2008, 09:43
confirmation today that kirby is heading back to tatura for next year, in a massive loss to the pies hopes for a three peat.,there is still talk about cosgriff leaving as well, despite coming out in the paper a couple of weeks back, stay tuned, hopefully its wrong as u want to see as many guns in our league. as poss
Silver_kid
30 Oct 2008, 10:36
Yeah, I don't think there'd be more than 15-16 at any one time, players coming into the firm and others finding other work or more appropriate if they already have a profession. It certainly helps initially if you can offer them some short-term work.
Having said that, of those that do work at the company, I know of several that are Reserves players (may have played a couple of Senior games).
Word has it, that after the Tiges win the flag next season, they'll have an intra-club match, the Jossy's v the rest of the club, to see which truly is the best side.;)
Yeah it has to be pointed out that a few reserve and fringe players also work with Joss so its not as if he only looks after the guns, now can we move on...It seems people are almost jealous that Albury has such a committed sponsor...Good on him for putting into a club he must love...
Hard to believe clubs will be on the track again for pre-season, have any clubs started havin a run yet?
Where It All Began
30 Oct 2008, 10:52
Good on him for putting into a club he must love...
Hard to believe clubs will be on the track again for pre-season, have any clubs started havin a run yet?
Yeah, absolutely, to my knowledge it's not a crime to be passionate about your footy club.
Albury start back next week.:eek:
harryhoward
30 Oct 2008, 17:52
ben ryan to north albury
Carey - played for the Queanbeyan Tigers this year and didnt show much in the games I witnessed (3). Couldnt even make the rep squad from five teams. Could say he was big flop in the National Capital. Heard he got some coin for one year ! Didnt he do the same in Adelaide ?
Get your facts straight Foot In Mouth before you go shooting your mouth off on here!
Carey battled injury all year for QBN and wouldn't have played half the games he did if the tigers hadn't had so many other injuries! secondly he said from the first day he arrived there he had no interest in playing rep footy, and considering QBN coach was the rep coach i believe? im pretty sure he would have known that and last time i checked it is not illegal for a bloke to pass on rep footy?? particulary if you are not 100%????
Lastly Carey went well in Adelaide but left for personal reasons and any twit who knew why he left QBN would not begrudge him for leaving not even QBN!
no orange peeler
31 Oct 2008, 11:49
ben ryan to north albury
old new there HH and good on him for having a crack at the ripe old age of 32. For his sake i hope his groins hold up, for Jinderas sake hope he comes back fit and raring to go
golden days
31 Oct 2008, 12:28
Yeah it has to be pointed out that a few reserve and fringe players also work with Joss so its not as if he only looks after the guns, now can we move on...It seems people are almost jealous that Albury has such a committed sponsor...Good on him for putting into a club he must love...
Must agree with you there silver, I would imagine Albury would be the envy of all clubs having a such committed sponsor and Im sure we would all be doing the same.
Where It All Began
31 Oct 2008, 12:50
Seems the Tigers have done it again, key signing, and have now firmed as early favorites for next season.
Carey
Thompson
Daly
Mackie
Nice work Tiges:thumbsu:
no orange peeler
31 Oct 2008, 13:30
Seems the Tigers have done it again, key signing, and have now firmed as early favorites for next season.
Carey
Thompson
Daly
Mackie
Nice work Tiges:thumbsu:
and Castles has returned
harryhoward
31 Oct 2008, 17:26
old new there HH and good on him for having a crack at the ripe old age of 32. For his sake i hope his groins hold up, for Jinderas sake hope he comes back fit and raring to go
thanks box , hes a good fella big ben and hopefully he goes well despite the club he is going to.
thephantom05
31 Oct 2008, 20:25
And where would he train. Not many Aussie rules teams in tumut just there back to back flag winning League Side The Tumut Blues.
Heard that half the clubs in Wagga are chasing him Throwing plenty at him. Not that far from Tumut.:)
Pjfalt careys misses is pregnant is that right??
Trent Castles will not get a senior game at Albury he is kidding himself if he thinks he will. He is too much of a selfish player. He will be back at jindera by the clearance date.
thurgood
1 Nov 2008, 11:29
Heard an interesting story out at the tavern last night.
Mackie knew he was going to be a tiger on thursday but told the border mail he wasn't going to tell them where he was playing until friday so that he could be on the back page in a saturday edition, therefore ensuring 60,000 people see he's gone to albury instead of the normal 20-30,000.
Should fit right in at albury with an attitude like that.
That's from an impeccable source as well :thumbsu:
Hitman01
1 Nov 2008, 13:54
Heard an interesting story out at the tavern last night.
Mackie knew he was going to be a tiger on thursday but told the border mail he wasn't going to tell them where he was playing until friday so that he could be on the back page in a saturday edition, therefore ensuring 60,000 people see he's gone to albury instead of the normal 20-30,000.
Should fit right in at albury with an attitude like that.
That's from an impeccable source as well :thumbsu:
More sour grapes i see... Its good that Albury are going to be in the mix next year. Luke Carroll has done a great job over the past 3 years and Spargo seems to be adding the cream which they have lacked.
I think you should cut Mackie some slack as well. He was offered $800 plus from rival clubs such as Raiders, Myrtleford and North Albury yet decided to go to Albury for a lot less.
Even if that was true about the Bordermail (which its not) the guy can play footy which is all that matters. That's from an "impeccable" source as well.
thurgood
1 Nov 2008, 23:13
More sour grapes i see... Its good that Albury are going to be in the mix next year. Luke Carroll has done a great job over the past 3 years and Spargo seems to be adding the cream which they have lacked.
I think you should cut Mackie some slack as well. He was offered $800 plus from rival clubs such as Raiders, Myrtleford and North Albury yet decided to go to Albury for a lot less.
Even if that was true about the Bordermail (which its not) the guy can play footy which is all that matters. That's from an "impeccable" source as well.
There's no doubt he can play football and will be a star upon his return to the o&m toughguy, i mean hitman.
And it's also admirable that he didn't just go to the highest bidder, no question.
However, don't call me a liar, the story about him wanting the story in saturday's paper is 100% true!
Hitman01
2 Nov 2008, 10:09
There's no doubt he can play football and will be a star upon his return to the o&m toughguy, i mean hitman.
And it's also admirable that he didn't just go to the highest bidder, no question.
However, don't call me a liar, the story about him wanting the story in saturday's paper is 100% true!
Apologies. I know the guy and it seemed out of character for him which is why i said it.
half time raffle
2 Nov 2008, 12:10
Just on Mackie, why do you think he felt the need to mention that he could have gone elswhere for more money in the Bordermail interview? It seems like an odd thing to do. Do we all need to know that he was being courted by other clubs, does that somehow make him a better player. Seems like guys these days want everyone to know just how many clubs wanted them, like that is a status symbol.
DROUGHTSY
3 Nov 2008, 14:41
Just on Mackie, why do you think he felt the need to mention that he could have gone elswhere for more money in the Bordermail interview? It seems like an odd thing to do. Do we all need to know that he was being courted by other clubs, does that somehow make him a better player. Seems like guys these days want everyone to know just how many clubs wanted them, like that is a status symbol.
Shit call half time raffle you sound somewhat jealous,do you think maybe he said it to let tiger fans know hes not in it for money but instead chose them because of what else they had to offer outside of money,everyone knows every club wanted his signature and why not all class
Buckster
3 Nov 2008, 14:49
Shit call half time raffle you sound somewhat jealous,do you think maybe he said it to let tiger fans know hes not in it for money but instead chose them because of what else they had to offer outside of money,everyone knows every club wanted his signature and why not all class
Sounds like an intresting bloke going off the various quotes about him - (Joel Mackie)
Hes 22 ?
Will he play 50 games at albury? 100? 150 plus?
Correct me if im wrong - this will be his 4th club in 2 yrs?
mitta magic
3 Nov 2008, 15:37
Sounds like an intresting bloke going off the various quotes about him - (Joel Mackie)
Hes 22 ?
Will he play 50 games at albury? 100? 150 plus?
Correct me if im wrong - this will be his 4th club in 2 yrs?
Albury is actually the 4th club he has signed the dotted line with in 2008!:eek: Could that be some kind of record?
krusty123
3 Nov 2008, 22:35
[/B]
Albury is actually the 4th club he has signed the dotted line with in 2008!:eek: Could that be some kind of record?
Don't mean to be picky but I bumped into Joel at West Lakes supermarket in SA before christmas last year. In the presence of the Eagles captain. This suggests to me that:
(a) his initial contract with the Hoppers (which apparently had the 'out' clause) and (b) the contract with Woodville were both signed in 2007.
Correct me if I'm wrong;)
half time raffle
4 Nov 2008, 11:17
not jealous at all, good luck to him. Why couldn't he just say he was excited to be playing under spargo at the albury football club? I can't imagine a robbie walker or brendan eyers talking to the media about the money they were offered by other clubs (which they would've had countless offers). What's happened to the gentleman of the game?
Shit call half time raffle you sound somewhat jealous,do you think maybe he said it to let tiger fans know hes not in it for money but instead chose them because of what else they had to offer outside of money, everyone knows every club wanted his signature and why not all class
Not sure it was every club! Certainly a class player, especially considering he's not long ago had a knee reco. But his off field antics leave room for improvement i'd suggest!
So can i re-word your last line for you...
"a few other clubs wanted his signature and why not he's a class player!"
It seems the Wang magpies exodus has started, they should still be able to stay in the five you would think with all their good locals.
mitta magic
5 Nov 2008, 12:21
Don't mean to be picky but I bumped into Joel at West Lakes supermarket in SA before christmas last year. In the presence of the Eagles captain. This suggests to me that:
(a) his initial contract with the Hoppers (which apparently had the 'out' clause) and (b) the contract with Woodville were both signed in 2007.
Correct me if I'm wrong;)
Well mate at the end of the day he has been at four clubs this year thats the point as he is now a contracted Albury player with the new contracts that started 1st November with the VCFL!
Will you remain vice captain next year??
It seems the Wang magpies exodus has started, they should still be able to stay in the five you would think with all their good locals.
and who has left besides kirby
mitta magic
5 Nov 2008, 15:16
and who has left besides kirby
Henry, Carmody Ret. an another 3 or 4 yet to re-sign.
yer we new tht thats only three players that have left and 2 of them were basicly injured all year who are the 3-4 to resign
mitta magic
5 Nov 2008, 15:36
yer we new tht thats only three players that have left and 2 of them were basicly injured all year who are the 3-4 to resign
2 Dual priemership players an both will leave a hole still need to be replaced. Not queit sure on names just what I was told at the races yeaterday but there all priemership players apparently.
harryhoward
5 Nov 2008, 16:47
trenfield and cosgriff...
trenfeild and cosgriff what?
harryhoward
5 Nov 2008, 19:31
have left..
have left..
and where did ya get ya info that cosgriff has left
harryhoward
5 Nov 2008, 19:52
from a good friend down shepp way, i guess we have to wait and see....
haha news to all us and we no him very well ya good freind wouldnt be a one p. kirby
harryhoward
5 Nov 2008, 20:02
hahaha..
Aaron Fiora
5 Nov 2008, 20:26
The whisper is that Jason Lappin has jumped ship as well and signed as assistant coach of Balranald under former lavington 2nds player and well renowned tiler Karl Jacka . Apparently the string of departures from wang along with a chance to work under Jacka was too hard to refuse.
It is also believed that Joel Mackie has decided to sign with his fifth club this year, the reasons for the decision haven't been confirmed yet however it is believed he will be heading to Walla as coach after the re-signation of Michael Spiteri.
krusty123
5 Nov 2008, 22:27
Well mate at the end of the day he has been at four clubs this year thats the point as he is now a contracted Albury player with the new contracts that started 1st November with the VCFL!
Will you remain vice captain next year??
I knew I was being picky and yes your point still remains (even though your details were incorrect)
As for being vice captain next year.....sure why the hell not. All I need now is a club to be vice captain of. Read some of my posts and you'll realise I'm not who you think I am. In fact I don't even know who you think I am, Mate.
captain peanut
6 Nov 2008, 10:55
trenfeild and cosgriff what?
trenfield definitely leaving. cosgriff quoted about 3 weeks back in local paper saying he was definitely staying at wang but now that travelling partner in kirby leaving maybe things have changed? ed clarke and higgs yet to re-sign as well with big chance clarke won't be back apparently. also heard a rumour that lord might join kirby at tatura?
wang will definitely be in the market for a ruckman or 2. but apart from that their depth was pretty good this year so they should be good enough to cover the losses and still play finals. likes of thayer steel mcgeehan braden keir the waite boys d mccormick stamp nicolas aumann were looking on on GF day. it's hardly panic stations with a few blokes leaving i wouldn't have thought
Maybe Wang could get the ruckman back that they got from Benalla?
trenfield definitely leaving. cosgriff quoted about 3 weeks back in local paper saying he was definitely staying at wang but now that travelling partner in kirby leaving maybe things have changed? ed clarke and higgs yet to re-sign as well with big chance clarke won't be back apparently. also heard a rumour that lord might join kirby at tatura?
wang will definitely be in the market for a ruckman or 2. but apart from that their depth was pretty good this year so they should be good enough to cover the losses and still play finals. likes of thayer steel mcgeehan braden keir the waite boys d mccormick stamp nicolas aumann were looking on on GF day. it's hardly panic stations with a few blokes leaving i wouldn't have thought
yer cosgriff hasnt singed yet either and i dnt no about lordy goin to tatura
harryhoward
6 Nov 2008, 17:03
just announced on prime news- matty allen to coach wang rovers next year...
raidrboy
6 Nov 2008, 18:23
just announced on prime news- matty allen to coach wang rovers next year...
Was in another room of the house when the WIN News sport was on and I thought I heard some mention of a Robbie Walker return. Was it as an assistant to Matty Allen?
New to this caper, thought I would post for all to talk about. Alan Murray (former Port Adelaide & St.Kilda) is on the radar of North Albury (O&M ) and Jindera (Hume). He has an associating with both clubs, younger brother Matty at North, and cousin Robbie, coach of Jindera. Can any one confirm this?
Will Albury swoop and claim another on-baller?
Macgyver
9 Nov 2008, 09:39
The whisper is that Jason Lappin has jumped ship as well and signed as assistant coach of Balranald under former lavington 2nds player and well renowned tiler Karl Jacka . Apparently the string of departures from wang along with a chance to work under Jacka was too hard to refuse.
It is also believed that Joel Mackie has decided to sign with his fifth club this year, the reasons for the decision haven't been confirmed yet however it is believed he will be heading to Walla as coach after the re-signation of Michael Spiteri.
Haha very good mate, but Trenny the one you'll be seeing at Balranald... As for Cossy im fairly sure the Bboi might know what going on a little more than the average joe ;)
Also Lappo was named best coach in Vic for the 2008 season was announced friday night, great recognition to his hard work
Heard there are rumblings at the Pigeons. Can anyone confirm Yarra may be looking for a new coach. And have they signed a ruckman and full forward.
:cool:
Bingo23
11 Nov 2008, 08:58
Heard there are rumblings at the Pigeons. Can anyone confirm Yarra may be looking for a new coach. And have they signed a ruckman and full forward.
They have signed a FF. "Crackers" Keenan from Spotswood in the WRFL. Big money too. Knocked back the 1st offer only for them to come back with an even bigger one.
dazzledavey36
11 Nov 2008, 15:32
ednie signed on for 2 more years this year.. alot of very unhappy players when they heard about that decision..
but i wouldn't be surprised if he got the chop tho..
wizards
12 Nov 2008, 11:10
Has anyone heard if north albury has picked up anyone besides nick holman... not much has been said about them one player from the hume league wont make a difference at a struggling club, i think old Travis Hodgson would want to pull his finger out:thumbsd:
They have signed a FF. "Crackers" Keenan from Spotswood in the WRFL. Big money too. Knocked back the 1st offer only for them to come back with an even bigger one.
It was a straight swap with Crackers going there and Leigh 'The Premiership Cup' Ramsdale coming to Spotty. Leigh works with a couple of guys down at Spotty. He has agreed to a 2 year deal that will see him in the role of director of canteen operations and is also the ground watering CEO. He also gets half price hot dogs and dim sims at every home game. He is very enthused about his new position.
Crackers look like a red headed taxi driver but will give most full backs a headache. Kicked 100 last year but kicked 70 or 80 points with it. Your comp is much stronger than ours so it wont be the same obviously. Is the best pack mark Ive seen but is a terrible kick. If he touches it, he normally marks it. Looking forward to coming up and watching the Brad Hardie lookalike in action.
harryhoward
12 Nov 2008, 17:09
nick raines a bulldog on prime news tonight, things looking good at the kennel
Hitman01
12 Nov 2008, 19:18
News is he is getting $1200 a game plus flights up and back from melbourne to play. Thats a fair bit of dough for someone who kicks the ball sidewards and backwards all day..
switch the play
13 Nov 2008, 07:07
Should be some interesting after match functions over there!!!Few blokes whose reputations aren't super for their off field stuff.On the Doggies-surely the BMM set up their new recruit with his photo yesterday-had the stickers showing-very funny.
Silver_kid
13 Nov 2008, 08:31
Should be some interesting after match functions over there!!!Few blokes whose reputations aren't super for their off field stuff.On the Doggies-surely the BMM set up their new recruit with his photo yesterday-had the stickers showing-very funny.
Yeah the Dogs and Tigers have been the most proactive in their recruiting so far, surely a few other clubs (nth albury, raiders, myrtleford..) would be a bit nervous considering their efforts last season and lack of recruiting big names so far.
Very interesting that Raines is going to wodonga... What do you mean with some of the "off field" stuff, the way they act around the club, to each other or having a few ales? surely thats common at all OM clubs...
SPOILS27
13 Nov 2008, 08:58
Rains will be an unreall inclusion to an already handy midfield, but why would he leave corowa and go to another O&M club thats showing some loyalty isnt it.
Where It All Began
13 Nov 2008, 09:56
Rains will be an unreall inclusion to an already handy midfield, but why would he leave corowa and go to another O&M club thats showing some loyalty isnt it.
Apparently very good exponent of the Liverpool Kiss, and i'm told has a saliva problem:eek: