View Full Version : Macca wants longer deal

Crowked
2 Dec 2005, 10:16
Macca wants longer deal
By ANDREW CAPEL
02dec05

CROWS superstar Andrew McLeod wants a new long-term contract with Adelaide and is not thinking about retirement.

"You'll have to speak to Triggy (chief executive Steven Trigg) about that but obviously I'd love to play for as long as my body holds up," McLeod, whose contract expires at the end of next season, said.
"Craigy (coach Neil Craig) reckons I can play for another five years, but we'll wait and see."

McLeod, 29 and hobbled by a chronic knee injury in the late 1990s, has not missed a game in nearly four years, playing 81 consecutive matches.

The dual Norm Smith Medallist said his body felt as good as ever - as evidenced by the superb physical condition he returned to pre-season training in on Monday.

"I don't want to say that I'm fitter than ever because everyone always says that but I feel pretty good," he said, eyes sparkling.

McLeod, who yesterday launched his new book, Australian Football - Steps To Success, with Crows training services manager Trevor Jaques, fuelled the optimism at West Lakes for 2006 by saying he'd be a more complete player following his co-captaincy duties with the Australian International Rules team.

The gamebreaking midfielder said the extra responsibility drew more from him than he thought he was capable of giving and it'd be on show next season.

"It (being captain) certainly gave me a greater respect of someone like Roo (Mark Ricciuto) or Bicks (Mark Bickley) and what sort of things they have to deal with every week as a captain," McLeod said.

"And it probably helps me in a leadership way to draw on some of those things. There were some things I never really knew I had inside of me and so I'm grateful for the experience. Hopefully, with that experience, I can pass some things onto the guys next year, especially the younger guys coming through."

Asked if that could make him a better player, McLeod, one of eight team leaders at Adelaide last season, replied: "I hope so", adding he was still learning, despite turning 30 next year.

"You are always learning," he said. "I remember Blighty (Malcolm Blight) once saying that once you reckon you know it all and don't need to learn anymore, then you might as well give it away. Even at my age, I am still learning."

McLeod said he had already passed on some of the things he had learnt from Essendon and Australian coach Kevin Sheedy during the International Rules Series against Ireland to Craig and Crows fitness coach Stephen Schwerdt.

The triple All-Australian and dual premiership player said he wants to win another flag with the Crows before he retires - and he fancies the team's chances next season.

"Winning another premiership with Adelaide would be the ultimate," he said. "After going so close last year, it'd be really nice to take it one step further and we know we're capable of it. We've got the right people in place, the right players and we've just drafted some pretty impressive young guys who have just stepped up to the plate and been sensational all week."

McLeod was surprised how fit his team-mates looked when he re-joined them for training - four days behind the rest of the group.

"I was reminded the day I got back how good a nick the guys were in and how well they were running," he said.

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,17434260%255E25397,00.html

3 year deal?, Maybe just 2.

I would endorse signing him for 2-3 no worries, he will see those out IMO, but I cant see him going around for 5 more though.

SpringChoke
2 Dec 2005, 10:38
As much as I love Macca, once a player hits 30, siging him to a contract in excess of 2 years is fraught with danger. He may also find he gets quite a substantial reduction in his payment.

crows98
2 Dec 2005, 11:26
Agree no more than a 2 year contract and any longer is just asking for trouble.

2 year deal with the option for a 3rd year and from then on it will be one year contracts until the end.

- PC -
2 Dec 2005, 11:52
Where in the story did it say Macca wanted a new deal?

All he was saying is his contract is up ''next year'' and he feels rejuvanated and ready to go ... and he feels like he could go on for 5 years.

More media spin from nothing

arrowman
2 Dec 2005, 12:26

All he was saying is his contract is up ''next year'' and he feels rejuvanated and ready to go ... and he feels like he could go on for 5 years.

More media spin from nothingYou noticed that, too, eh? :)

GoSarge
2 Dec 2005, 12:50
As much as I love Macca, once a player hits 30, siging him to a contract in excess of 2 years is fraught with danger. He may also find he gets quite a substantial reduction in his payment.

And rightly so too. When you go from a dual norm smith medallist game breaker to a smooth running creative defender (albeit a very good one), a pay cut is warranted.

I also agree with not signing guys for more than 2 years when they hit 30 years old, otherwise you can get in to the situation that Primus was in where they had to pay out the last part of his contract after he retired.

outback jack
2 Dec 2005, 14:04
And rightly so too. When you go from a dual norm smith medallist game breaker to a smooth running creative defender (albeit a very good one), a pay cut is warranted.

I also agree with not signing guys for more than 2 years when they hit 30 years old, otherwise you can get in to the situation that Primus was in where they had to pay out the last part of his contract after he retired.
agree big paycut needed, the role he plays johncock can do for us now. Not his fault, its just what his body will let him do!

Kane McGoodwin
2 Dec 2005, 15:28
Agree a 2 year deal is the way to go (or a 1 year extension on his current contract) ... but the good thing is Macca talking positively about AFC, leaderships & Craigy, & that he has plenty of footy life ahead of him, compared to 18 months ago, when he wasn't enjoying things & looked washed up. Good to have the old Macca back.

crows98
2 Dec 2005, 15:38
Agree a 2 year deal is the way to go (or a 1 year extension on his current contract) ... but the good thing is Macca talking positively about AFC, leaderships & Craigy, & that he has plenty of footy life ahead of him, compared to 18 months ago, when he wasn't enjoying things & looked washed up. Good to have the old Macca back.

Totally agree ^^^^^ Kane :thumbsu:

But why is it any of our worry how much he gets paid? If he is playing good footy and is contributing to the team structure that all we have to worry about.

As a supporter it none of my business how much any of them (any sport) gets paid be it Brett Maher or Mark Ricciuto or Mark Webber it doesn’t matter, none of my business and nether should it be.

Wayne's-World
2 Dec 2005, 17:57
Totally agree ^^^^^ Kane :thumbsu:

But why is it any of our worry how much he gets paid? If he is playing good footy and is contributing to the team structure that all we have to worry about.

As a supporter it none of my business how much any of them (any sport) gets paid be it Brett Maher or Mark Ricciuto or Mark Webber it doesn’t matter, none of my business and nether should it be.
Totally agree - no-ones business but club and player

arrowman
5 Dec 2005, 09:12
Totally agree - no-ones business but club and playerI agree - to a point (and admittedly this is pedantic) - if a club's player payment policy is out of whack to the point where one or two stars are getting megabucks and some very good players are underpaid - risking the club's financial situation and/or ability to retain players (Carlton/Kouta anyone?) then the supporters have a legitimate concern. As far as I know our club has a very balanced player payment policy and I'm happy to say "don't know, don't need to know, don't care" about any deal Macca would be getting.

Mad Dog
5 Dec 2005, 09:25

More media spin from nothing
correct weight PC.....;)

cro_Magnum
5 Dec 2005, 20:07
I agree - to a point (and admittedly this is pedantic) - if a club's player payment policy is out of whack to the point where one or two stars are getting megabucks and some very good players are underpaid - risking the club's financial situation and/or ability to retain players (Carlton/Kouta anyone?) then the supporters have a legitimate concern. As far as I know our club has a very balanced player payment policy and I'm happy to say "don't know, don't need to know, don't care" about any deal Macca would be getting.
Not pedantic at all.
List management is largely making sure you don't overpay certain players in the present, or load up their future contracts so much that there is no salary cap room to accomodate current players coming out of contract who have improved and can command more money. They are the ones who go elsewhere, not to mention not being able to attract stars (such as Pavlich) to your club when the chance comes.

The AFC does'nt seem to do this though and it is one of their strengths compared to some of the basket case Victorian clubs with cases like Daffy, Holland & Kouta.