View Full Version : What do we all think about the rookies being delisted!!!

Possum Notting
7 Nov 2001, 14:38
Myself I think that all rookies (within all AFL clubs) are intitled to show there wears to the club in which they are rookie listed. During a two year period (which I thought was the time period anyway) and during that time the club is not allowed to delist them.

During the 2001 season the rookies of the Brisbane Lions

Luke Weller
Tom Tarrant
Clint Alleway
David Mapleston
Hayden Kluver
Robby Copeland (1/2 season)

Competed in the AFLQ and in the end WON the 2001 AFLQ Premiership. So I am thinking that these players wouldn't of been considered to be delisted for the reason that they won the Premiership.

I can understand Hayden Kluver being delisted as he had been on the rookie list for the two years, and Hayden is a great footy player in all respects but he had his time to show the club what he was made of and in the end was delisted.

This same situstion rose with delisting Ben Doherty, Steve Kenna, Jeff Cooper and Jason Antonize (wrong spelling I know). I know that three of them players have continued in the AFLQ competions and Ben has semi secured his spot on the Melbourne Football Clubs rookie list but did the Lions see these players full potental during there year with the club????? The same question would be asked about the 2001 rookies.

I will be one of the many ressie supporters that will be sad to see the young fellas leave and while I am here would like to wish them all the luck in the world in there future footy career and personal lives.

Fellas go out there and show the Lions Committee that it was the wrong thing to do, delisting you.

Danni
7 Nov 2001, 14:49
The Lions really don't have much choice when it comes to delisting Rookies.

The Rookie 'rulebook' says they get one year on the rookie list or 2 if they have been recruited from overseas - or something like that - I am not totally sure of the time periods.

While it is disappointing to see them go, none of the delisted players ever really showed they were up to breaking into the senior team, with the exception of Copeland who is finalising his new senior AFL contract now.

Kluver, Tarrant and Alleway are heading south I believe, one to Adelaide and 2 to Melbourne, to try their luck with pre-season training with a couple of other clubs. Best of luck to them!!

amazonstud
7 Nov 2001, 15:00
The Afl rules on rookie list players state that if a rookie list player is drafted interstate he must be given a 2 year contract. In the developing States NSW and QLD I think both the Swans and Lions are given exemptions on rookie list players from within their zone.

I believe this is to encourage them to give local players the benefit of AFL coaching and skill development. I think the theory is that if they don't make the grade and return to the local league they will lift the standard there. Even then being selected as a rookie doesn't guarantee you'll make the grade but it does give you extra opportunities to show the club what you can do.

However some rookie list players do need to move on in order to give them an opportunity which may not be available at their original club. Jimmy Plunkett is the most recent example I can remember. He got a few games at the Bulldogs but was never going to replace Romero, West, Libba, Brown, Eagleton, Johnson etc on the ball at the Dogs. He went to Carlton who had injuries to Hulme, Ratten and Franchina and the opportunity arose for an in and under player. He has now made the list.

Likewise at the Lions I think it would be difficult for a flanker or onballer to get into the side ahead of Voss, Black Ashcroft, Akermanis, Hart, Lappin, McCrae etc. A ruckman behing McDonald and Keating may be better off trying elsewhere whilst Lynch and Pike are nearing retirement so there is a vacancy coming in those roles for a young player.

Go_the_young_Guys
7 Nov 2001, 15:50
Possum Notting...

This is what happens in AFL...
Players come and players go...

Get over it and get on with supporting the LIONS as a whole team...

Sure it is sad to see them go but at least some of them will be given the chance to compete elsewhere...

Some of those players we will watch, while they continue to play the game they and we LOVE so much...

They will always be remembered know matter how short or how long they stayed...

Go_the_young_Guys

Olmy
8 Nov 2001, 13:27
Originally posted by Possum Notting

Fellas go out there and show the Lions Committee that it was the wrong thing to do, delisting you.

According to some, the Lions have been doing the wrong thing for some time now. Perhaps someone should give the club a call, and ask for answers. :o

Olmy
8 Nov 2001, 13:28
Originally posted by Go_the_young_Guys
Possum Notting...

This is what happens in AFL...
Players come and players go...

Get over it and get on with supporting the LIONS as a whole team...

Sure it is sad to see them go but at least some of them will be given the chance to compete elsewhere...

Some of those players we will watch, while they continue to play the game they and we LOVE so much...

They will always be remembered know matter how short or how long they stayed...

Go_the_young_Guys

Well said GTYG! ;)

joshhem
8 Nov 2001, 14:24
Clint is delisted :( All the best mate for the future. So does this mean that the lions will select some new rookies this year?

Go_the_young_Guys
8 Nov 2001, 18:51
:D
thanks OLMY...

and yes JOSHHEM it means that if the LIONS feel the need to grab a few more rookies then they can...

think of it like this...

that hopefully some others QUEENSLANDERS might get given the chance to show us (and the rest of the country) that we can make great AFL players up here...

some of you might be shocked as we know that two other ressie players wont be returning next season but I dont think they havent been released to the public as yet...

Go_the_young_Guys :cool:

Mr Ripper
8 Nov 2001, 18:55
[Bsome of you might be shocked as we know that two other ressie players wont be returning next season but I dont think they havent been released to the public as yet...[/B]Where are they at the moment? Boggo Road??? :o

Go_the_young_Guys
8 Nov 2001, 19:53
sorry Mr. Ripper...

maybe it should have read that the public doesn't know as yet that these two players have gone from our ressies ranks as well...

so they are in limbo...

waiting to see if they get a shot to train with some southern clubs to try and gain a spot somewhere down there...

I would be shocked to ever hear that either of these two players end up in boggo road...

Go_the_young_Guys :)

Possum Notting
8 Nov 2001, 20:13
GTYG
I understand that this is what happenes in footy!!
I am over you telling me that I don't support the LIONS as a whole team, but I along with most supporters have favourite players and as some of you would know that half of the players in the team are my favourite players.

joshhem
9 Nov 2001, 13:04
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Where are they at the moment? Boggo Road??? :o

hahahah classic!

Go_the_young_Guys
9 Nov 2001, 13:08
hey possum notting...

do i know you???

Go_the_young_Guys

NYMets
9 Nov 2001, 13:41
GTYG
I understand that this is what happenes in footy!!
I am over you telling me that I don't support the LIONS as a whole team, but I along with most supporters have favourite players and as some of you would know that half of the players in the team are my favourite players.
True..the players ARE the team.
Otherwise you are just barracking for the uniform or "Cheering on the laundry"

pickos_chick
9 Nov 2001, 14:10
:D

some of you might be shocked as we know that two other ressie players wont be returning next season but I dont think they havent been released to the public as yet...

Go_the_young_Guys :cool:

I thought that all the rookies have already gone??:confused:

Just who are you talking about Go the young guys???:confused:

Go_the_young_Guys
9 Nov 2001, 14:23
well yes... we all have our favourite players...

but there is also supporting a team...

and there is supporting some players (in particular young ones)
just to get noticed...

and to answer picko_chick's question...

well you will just have to wait and see...

Go_the_young _Guys :cool:

Olmy
9 Nov 2001, 15:54
GTYG is spot on.

Sure, you support the players, but that is BECAUSE they play for the team!

Personally, I don't see a problem in "cheering on the laundry". In fact, that's a major part of it. I mean, if the jumper and identity of a club doesn't mean something to supporters, then I'd question their loyalties!

If we suddenly got a whole list of new players, sure, I would be disappointed that we lost all of our 'familiar' players that I really liked.

However, they'd still be the Lions, with all the character and indentity that they had before.

It's just the same as when you have a side that's not at the top of the ladder. If you are serious about supporting your team, you don't care who's playing for them, or what position they are on the ladder. You support your club for its identity.

If we were to suddenly change our name, jumper, song, and colours, I'd hardly feel like supporting them at all, regardless of who was playing for us (unless it was the Fitzroy TOC!!!).

keatings_gal
9 Nov 2001, 17:47
yeah OLMY!
i'll with u
it's true
some of my fave players have left....
Stevie-J
Champs
& now Maxi
but they will always be in our hearts!
we will never forget what they did to get us to the point in which we won 2 PREMIERSHIPS in 2 weeks!
without them we couldn't do alot..........

i am upset that they r going... but they have grown & we have seen them become better in slot of ways........
it is something that alot of young footy aspiring kids always wish for even if it were only for a year & who knows where it will lead them to

GOOD LUCK to them all

i hear that 2 r staying as well..........

Danni
9 Nov 2001, 23:39
Originally posted by Olmy

If we were to suddenly change our name, jumper, song, and colours, I'd hardly feel like supporting them at all, regardless of who was playing for us (unless it was the Fitzroy TOC!!!).

Olmy - you are joking there aren't you??????

Or does that make those of us that lost our name, jumper and song ( and then got added colours in the new one) sort of redundant when that happened to us at the end of 96?

I do find it in some ways both interesting and refreshing to hear/see those comments from a Fitzroy persepective.................seeing as that is one of the main arugements us 'ex-bears' have used to try and explain to others that we are now the Lions and no longer the Bears!

Possum Notting
10 Nov 2001, 09:41
GTYG, I am with Pickos_chick on this one, I would like to know which ressies players are not returning back next season????

Go_the_young_Guys
10 Nov 2001, 13:47
well possum notting...

if you are so friendly with the players that you say you are...
then you would already know the answer...

or is it because they dont trust you...

Go_the_young_Guys :p

Olmy
10 Nov 2001, 14:04
Originally posted by Danni

Olmy - you are joking there aren't you??????

Or does that make those of us that lost our name, jumper and song ( and then got added colours in the new one) sort of redundant when that happened to us at the end of 96?

I do find it in some ways both interesting and refreshing to hear/see those comments from a Fitzroy persepective.................seeing as that is one of the main arugements us 'ex-bears' have used to try and explain to others that we are now the Lions and no longer the Bears!

:confused:

The analogy I used had nothing to do with the merger at all. It seems to me, that you are just trying to use the occasion for a bit of "points scoring"!! Hmmm.

At any rate, I was talking about MY personal feelings. If you have different ones, that's fair enough! :confused:

Possum Notting
10 Nov 2001, 18:10
At what time have I said that Iam friendly with any of the players?? not to say that I am not!!! and just to let u know I have kept incontact with one of the players during the off season.

btw trust have nothing to do with this!!!!

NOW DO YOU THINK YOU KNOW ME????

Go_the_young_Guys
13 Nov 2001, 17:38
Well what do you mean by keeping in contact with a player???

Does it count when you just keep ringing a player???

Funny when he isn't home when you phone... hehehehe...

And well yes I do think I know who you are !!!!!

Go_the_young_Guys :p

( some people need to find a life )

charmos_chickie
13 Nov 2001, 20:18
I am also upset that most of the rookies have been delisted from the team. But we have kept Luca and Mapo which is good for them both.

GTYG not to butt in but how do you know that Possum Notting dosen't call the players and keep in contact with them???

Go_the_young_Guys
14 Nov 2001, 16:44
Well I do know she phones some players...

because THEY don't phone her...

how do you think she got her other name !!!!!!!!!!

Go_the_young_Guys

(we don't warn the players for nothing)

Possum Notting
14 Nov 2001, 16:53
I am a tad confused (but that is sure to be the blond hair) with your last post GTYG, What other name do I have?????

keatings_gal
14 Nov 2001, 22:51
hey
it was good to see
The Lukester out & about at Carindale today
or was that.....
Possum Notting.....
or perhaps..............
Charmos_chickie

pickos_chick
15 Nov 2001, 12:58
Well I do know she phones some players...

because THEY don't phone her...

how do you think she got her other name !!!!!!!!!!

Go_the_young_Guys

(we don't warn the players for nothing)

I wonder if you knew what the players say about you.......

You would totally be in the same boat as Possum Notting!!

And I would like to take this oppurtunity to farewell everyone here on Big footy! I am going on Holidays and won't be posting for quite some time.

Remember.....................play nicely!!!;)

Go_the_young_Guys
15 Nov 2001, 19:29
I will/would never be in the same boat as Possum Notting...

And I dont STALK players...

I wonder who is next on her list...

Remember I have letters to prove what she is like...

Go_the_young_Guys...

ps... have a good holiday... I am sure we wont miss you...

Possum Notting
16 Nov 2001, 15:50
Well GTYG I am amazed at you for thinking that these letters in which you are referring to are any of your business. I am under the impression that you think you have something over me with these letters in which you may or may not posses.

The letters are of no significance to anyone expect myself and the person in which the letter is addressed too.

DON'T YOU KNOW IT IS RUDE TO READ OTHER PEOPLES MAIL !!!!

Danni
16 Nov 2001, 15:56
GTYG, Possum Notting and friends, I think it might be time to take this issue into PM's or private emails. Ok?

Mr Ripper
16 Nov 2001, 16:06
No fair! I was really starting to enjoy this! :p

Possum Notting
16 Nov 2001, 19:17
Mr Ripper, I was also starting to enjoy this! :p

Frosty_1
16 Nov 2001, 21:04
Get rid of the young guys and bring on the experienced players.
Too many young ones are hopeless.
They know nothing about football.
They only play for themselves and have no team orientation.
Good examples were seen weekly last season.

Olmy
16 Nov 2001, 21:33
Frosty mate! Don't forget the likes of "The Guvna" Brown, McDonald, Notting, Copeland, Power, Black and company, who are still all young players! ;) :)

Cheers!

Beausgirl43
17 Nov 2001, 11:23
Well all the young guys didn't do too badly this year...

WE HAVE 2 PREMIERSHIP TROPHEYS TOO PROVE IT

:mad: :mad: :D ;)

cheers ... :cool:

Beausgirl43
17 Nov 2001, 11:30
*Kaz goes over to Olmy and slaps him one*

GRRRRRRRRRRRR :mad: :D

Browny's nickname is BROWNDOG ... not The Guvna.

hehehe

:mad: ;) :mad:

cheers... :rolleyes:

dee_girl9
17 Nov 2001, 12:49
This same situstion rose with delisting Ben Doherty, Steve Kenna, Jeff Cooper and Jason Antonize (wrong spelling I know). I know that three of them players have continued in the AFLQ competions and Ben has semi secured his spot on the Melbourne Football Clubs rookie list .

umm ok well i just thought i would pop in and have a little gander and i decided to read this topic....One note Possum

Ben Doherty has NOT in any way remotely secured his spot on the melbourne rookie list. He is hanging by a lifeline and if he doesnt improve rapidly he will be shot to buggery. The only reason he hasnt gone before is that there were worse better b4 him that got dropped. he was very lucky indeed.

ok thats my 2 cents worth.

Beausgirl43
17 Nov 2001, 13:02
Hello Nicki ... Welcome to the Brissy Board.

Your welcome anytime.
Thanks for dropping by.

cheers... :)

dee_girl9
17 Nov 2001, 14:29
Originally posted by Beausgirl43
Hello Nicki ... Welcome to the Brissy Board.

Your welcome anytime.
Thanks for dropping by.

cheers... :)

Why thankies Kaz. :D yes well most u know my "interest" in the Brisbane Lions, sooo umm yeah. im sure you will here more from me in the future.

Chow! :D

~*~Lovely Jubbly~*~

Lionsrock_15_26
17 Nov 2001, 16:43
I agree. that topic was starting to get interesting. what's the goss? who's phoning what players? name name's people!!! and why aren't the players calling back? why did they give u their numbers in the first place (u can't half tell i have finished uni for the year and am quite bored). if u guys seem to dislike each other as much as u do - u should have no prob filling us all in on your juicy little secrets!!!
cheers
lions rocked 2001

Possum Notting
17 Nov 2001, 16:52
I had herd that about Dohey, i said semi secured his possie in the side as i didn't want to sound negative on his part. I was talking to him at the AFLQ Grand Final and he was happy with what he had been doing down in Melbourne town, not to say that he wasn't happy up here and he got dropped on his ass up here. :mad:

I wish him all the best down there, but he didn't do much as he was injured for most of the season, he said that he was looking forward to the 2002 season with Melbourne. I also heard that he had been delisted from the Melbourne rookie list, but I checked the AFL website and he is still in the players list for 2002. But as you said he will be shot to buggery if he dosen't improve A.S.A.P.

Frosty_1
17 Nov 2001, 21:29
Sure Olmy!
But the Older Guys were the mainstays throughout the season and the finals campaign.
And held the team together during the tough times early in the season.
A quick example: Alistair Lynch
Except for 2-3 weeks, where Daniel Bradshaw shone, Alistair Lynch was the backbone of the forward line throughout the season and especially the finals.
Daryl White, Michael Voss, Martin Pike, Shaun Hart, Chris & Brad Scott, Marcus Ashcroft, etc.

All I am saying is, lets not get carried away with just the young guys in the team.
The older guys give the leadership and the stability to the team and quite often when the chips are down they are the ones who lead by example and can be relied upon to perform the hard and the less glamerous tasks.
Just ask Marcus Ashcroft.

Possum Notting
17 Nov 2001, 22:28
Well Lionsrock_15_26, I will fill u in on a little but I am not willing to name name's sorry. The reason that the players don't phone me back is that I have never asked them to and about the phone numbers the players have never given them to me I have got them on my own. Which some people are not happy about and I know in my own mind that I shouldn't have them but if they are in places where the public can get hold of them well and good, and if they aren't, well they aren't.

Go_the_young_Guys
18 Nov 2001, 08:43
well everyone...

I would LOVE to tell you so much more...

but I wont go against Danni...

so this will be my last post on this topic...

They didn't give her the nickname "STALKER" for nothing...

Go_the_young_Guys

Mr Ripper
18 Nov 2001, 09:29
They didn't give her the nickname "STALKER" for nothing...You mean to say it's not because of her fondness of celery and rhubarb? :eek:

keatings_gal
18 Nov 2001, 10:05
i got told by THE MAN... Frank Doherty... that his son...... one Ben doherty was delisted from melbourne the day before Grand Final

GO THE BUSHIES!>>>>>>

dee_girl9
18 Nov 2001, 13:04
Originally posted by keatings_gal
i got told by THE MAN... Frank Doherty... that his son...... one Ben doherty was delisted from melbourne the day before Grand Final

GO THE BUSHIES!>>>>>>

i got told the same thing, but it wasnt from his day. lol :p well its good to know that my sources are correct. :D

btw i think that browny bear thingy is sooo cute. :p ;)

Go_the_young_Guys
18 Nov 2001, 20:19
Well THANKS dee_girl9...

we like Brown E. Bear too, as do lots of others by all the views the topic gets...

so please come and join us with his adventures...

but you must keep us posted if you happen to see him about during the off season...

Go_the_young_Guys ;)

Frosty_1
18 Nov 2001, 22:25
GO THE OLD BUSHIES!!!!!!!!!!
:) :D :cool: ;)

dee_girl9
19 Nov 2001, 15:56
Well THANKS dee_girl9...

we like Brown E. Bear too, as do lots of others by all the views the topic gets...

so please come and join us with his adventures...

but you must keep us posted if you happen to see him about during the off season...

Go_the_young_Guys ;)

i will. but ummm if i see him that means he must of got lost or something, cos umm i live in adelaide. LOL but ill check it out. :D

Go_the_young_Guys
19 Nov 2001, 23:15
Well the little fella turns up in the strangest of places...

so keep an eye out...

Go_the_young_Guys ;)

brownybears bro
24 Nov 2001, 21:18
i dont like it either

but it is footy and good luck to the boys

hope they go onto bigger and better things i life

good luck

AND E.

keatings_gal
24 Nov 2001, 23:01
YEAH GOOD ON YA DEE.....

hey what do u mean about the old bushies.......

what the..... r u talking about?
I mean South Eastern Bushrangers.......