View Full Version : Jason Porplyzia

Dolemite
4 Dec 2005, 11:07
Does anyone know much about this guy. I know he was a crows rookie but the other day a mate and I watched the crows train and we both noticed him without knowing who he was (my mate had to ask). He obvioulsy has done some serious weights cause the dude is huge and he looked really impressive on the track. Just wondering if he may be a late bloomer? SANFL form?

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 14:14
Jason Porplyzia is a classic case of a late bloomer IMHO. He was a skinny little kid, raw as hell and looked nothing but a BP type of player. Fast forward 2-3 years and you have a very accomplished SANFL footballer who can play anywhere. I think of him as SANFL's version of Tyson Edwards.

Neat player, versatile. A bit on the small side but I reckon he could be a solid AFL footballer if given a chance. I wouldn't be unhappy if we gave him a second chance.

The Smith Revolution
4 Dec 2005, 15:30
I've seen a lot of Porpy and Stiffy is right on the money. T Edwardsish, Good on both sides of the body, good hands and good low to the ground. Is a left handed punch and tends to go up one handed a bit. But overall has a bit of class and goes OK.

Gets!
4 Dec 2005, 15:41
Very happy if we give him another shot :)

Hmmm the quality up for grabs on December 13 is quite astounding really...

It's funny how things turn out:

in 2000 we would have considered a trade such as a McLeod, or an Edwards etc for Woewodin.

Now if we wanted to, we could take him completely free!

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 15:49

in 2000 we would have considered a trade such as a McLeod, or an Edwards etc for Woewodin.
NO WAY!!!!!!

I always felt that Woewodin was over-rated. Even when he won the Brownlow.

I never would have traded any of our quality onballers for him. Was always severely over-rated IMHO.

cro_Magnum
4 Dec 2005, 17:31

Considering it was supposed to be a weak draft, there seem to be a few gems leftover. History will judge as always.

And McLeod or Edwards for Woewodin, even at his peak? Who considered this? I want names.

bigman
4 Dec 2005, 21:16
Considering it was supposed to be a weak draft, there seem to be a few gems leftover. History will judge as always.

And McLeod or Edwards for Woewodin, even at his peak? Who considered this? I want names.

I maintained four months ago this draft was not weak. The depth of cream at the top may not have been as rich as in previous years, but this draft always had depth. Just look at the names of the SA boys who didnt make it.
:(

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 21:20
I maintained four months ago this draft was not weak. The depth of cream at the top may not have been as rich as in previous years, but this draft always had depth. Just look at the names of the SA boys who didnt make it.
:(
There is a distinct difference between even and weak. This draft is certianly even but only time will tell if it weak. People who should know say its a weak draft. They said the same thing about the 2000 draft and it turned out to be better than first expected.

bigman
4 Dec 2005, 21:26
There is a distinct difference between even and weak. This draft is certianly even but only time will tell if it weak. People who should know say its a weak draft. They said the same thing about the 2000 draft and it turned out to be better than first expected.

Stiffy I think I am a pretty good judge.:o What i kept seeing on the field was different to what was being written in the press and on BF?

Even is a good term though - you could pick up somebody at 35 who is just as good as someone at 15 - although we would have to be wrapt to pick up Douglas and Pfeiffer at 16 and 17.

The importance of getting two players in the top 20 cannot be underestimated, particularly when you pick well, and pick people of real quality and character as well.

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 21:33
Stiffy I think I am a pretty good judge.:o What i kept seeing on the field was different to what was being written in the press and on BF?

Even is a good term though - you could pick up somebody at 35 who is just as good as someone at 15 - although we would have to be wrapt to pick up Douglas and Pfeiffer at 16 and 17.

The importance of getting two players in the top 20 cannot be underestimated, particularly when you pick well, and pick people of real quality and character as well.
Down the track we will look at this draft and see some guns picked up lateish (ala Simon Black at pick 31) and see some absolute busts with picks in the top 10.

Douglas and Pfeiffer sound promising but so do many other youngsters. They both have qualities that are required to be an AFL footballer but both also have some concerns. Either way we will know down the track if we got a couple of beauties or a couple of busts.

You are right that its important to make picks count, especially if you have 2 picks inside top 20. You would want to make sure than both of those lads develop into long term AFL players.

Gets!
4 Dec 2005, 21:42
See Douglas in the Tiser today...he is fair built for a 'skinny' guy.

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 21:46
See Douglas in the Tiser today...he is fair built for a 'skinny' guy.
Show him next to someone like Brent Reilly and he looks like a stick figure. Its amazing what can be done with a bit of image editing.

When you get a chance to look at him compared to other guys on our list, you will notice he has to add another 10 kg or so.

Markthirtytwo
5 Dec 2005, 07:44
Show him next to someone like Brent Reilly and he looks like a stick figure. Its amazing what can be done with a bit of image editing.

When you get a chance to look at him compared to other guys on our list, you will notice he has to add another 10 kg or so.

Without a doubt.
When I first saw that Getty image of him I thought he was built like a preverbial shyte brick house, but seeing him at training (on TV) he does look a bit thin, but then that's what you would really expect for someone his age and height really.

Markthirtytwo
5 Dec 2005, 07:47
But back to Jason Porplyzia, he has improved his aerobic capacity as well as his build, played very well mostly in the centre or on the ball in a very weak side, which probably made him stand out, but another insider that we could do well redrafting IMO.

It's up to him to this time take his opportunity.

Dolemite
5 Dec 2005, 16:19
Jason Porplyzia is a classic case of a late bloomer IMHO. He was a skinny little kid, raw as hell and looked nothing but a BP type of player. Fast forward 2-3 years and you have a very accomplished SANFL footballer who can play anywhere. I think of him as SANFL's version of Tyson Edwards.

Neat player, versatile. A bit on the small side but I reckon he could be a solid AFL footballer if given a chance. I wouldn't be unhappy if we gave him a second chance.

Is he quick/slow, tough or soft and where could you see him settling into the crows line up?

Wayne's-World
5 Dec 2005, 20:13
Is he quick/slow, tough or soft and where could you see him settling into the crows line up?
I know this comparison has been a lot lately but he is very similar to Edwards, maybe not as strong in the air but very very good below his knees and attacks the ball fiercely.

Pace is average but IMO very very surprised he was delisted:confused:

Stiffy_18
5 Dec 2005, 20:16
He is not slow and he is not quick either. He has average pace. His attack on the ball cannot be questioned. A VERY good player. He can play anywhere just like Edwards.

Dolemite
5 Dec 2005, 20:28
He is not slow and he is not quick either. He has average pace. His attack on the ball cannot be questioned. A VERY good player. He can play anywhere just like Edwards.

Well lets pick him up then. PSD or rookie? He really made my mate and I really pay attention when we saw him training with the main group. Does any one know why he was training with the group when the other rookies weren't?

Stiffy_18
5 Dec 2005, 20:32
Well lets pick him up then. PSD or rookie? He really made my mate and I really pay attention when we saw him training with the main group. Does any one know why he was training with the group when the other rookies weren't?
Thats strange :confused:

Maybe it tells us who the PSD selection will be :confused:

I do think he has something to offer at AFL level. A very neat player.

macca23
5 Dec 2005, 21:25
I know this comparison has been a lot lately but he is very similar to Edwards, maybe not as strong in the air but very very good below his knees and attacks the ball fiercely.

Pace is average but IMO very very surprised he was delisted:confused:

So was I.

Personally I'd rookie him rather than draft him, as with Huddo's long term injury we will be able to take a pick of the rookies if and when needed. He would be a ready to play if it turned out to be him.

Gets a lot of the footy and uses it pretty well. Good skills.

Wayne's-World
6 Dec 2005, 20:55
So was I.

Personally I'd rookie him rather than draft him, as with Huddo's long term injury we will be able to take a pick of the rookies if and when needed. He would be a ready to play if it turned out to be him.

Gets a lot of the footy and uses it pretty well. Good skills.
Macca not sure he can be rookied again for a second time?

Perhaps he was down on stamina and maybe his engine is questionable BUT I don't subscribe to the theory he was delisted because of build or talent/skills.

Blind freddy could see he was a footballers footballer

macca23
6 Dec 2005, 23:06
Macca not sure he can be rookied again for a second time?

Perhaps he was down on stamina and maybe his engine is questionable BUT I don't subscribe to the theory he was delisted because of build or talent/skills.

Blind freddy could see he was a footballers footballer

Sorry WW but he was delisted because of his slight frame and the trouble that he was having building his body up.

His aunt told me before the delistment that Jason was expecting to be delisted because of this very reason.

Wayne's-World
7 Dec 2005, 07:13
Sorry WW but he was delisted because of his slight frame and the trouble that he was having building his body up.

His aunt told me before the delistment that Jason was expecting to be delisted because of this very reason.
:confused: are you telling me Skipworth is any different to Jason?

One year on the rookie list to arrive at that assessment - sorry don't accept, particularly if 2 years down the track the AFC have changed their assessment.

IF thats true then IMO the AFC are pretty unprofessional

Crow-mosone
7 Dec 2005, 19:41
:confused: are you telling me Skipworth is any different to Jason?

One year on the rookie list to arrive at that assessment - sorry don't accept, particularly if 2 years down the track the AFC have changed their assessment.

IF thats true then IMO the AFC are pretty unprofessional

FFS WW,
list management is just that, there doesn'thave to be sinister alterior motives.

IF they deem him good enough this time round good luck to him, if not, well thems the breaks.

GoSarge
8 Dec 2005, 08:39
FFS WW,
list management is just that, there doesn'thave to be sinister alterior motives.

IF they deem him good enough this time round good luck to him, if not, well thems the breaks.

Spot on the mark. He's still relatively young and has good skills and more importantly solid SANFL form/experience which I think is very important to aid in the transition to AFL. If the AFC deem him good enough he'll get picked up, good luck to him.

Wayne's-World
8 Dec 2005, 20:30
FFS WW,

Didn't say there was anything sinister but if list management is the issue then why recruit Obst as a "project" player ?

Surely they have crystal balled and said with weight and development he'll be a good player - why then didn't the same crystal ball apply to Jason?

Maybe they just got it wrong!

Crow-mosone
8 Dec 2005, 20:48
Didn't say there was anything sinister but if list management is the issue then why recruit Obst as a "project" player ?

Surely they have crystal balled and said with weight and development he'll be a good player - why then didn't the same crystal ball apply to Jason?

Maybe they just got it wrong!

perhaps they got it wrong, perhaps it was right at the time.

neither has any bearing whatsover, on what is right today.

which is your contention that he was cut once, therefore can't be any good. which is plainly untrue as a justification.

jc67
8 Dec 2005, 21:05
I reckon that port will pick him in the PSD before us, given the Cahill comments and the amount of media he has been getting. plus their history of picking players that we have shown strong interest in.

Wayne's-World
8 Dec 2005, 22:16
which is your contention that he was cut once, therefore can't be any good. which is plainly untrue as a justification.
No, that he shouldn't have been cut so quickly in the first place;)

Wayne's-World
8 Dec 2005, 22:17
I reckon that port will pick him in the PSD before us, given the Cahill comments and the amount of media he has been getting. plus their history of picking players that we have shown strong interest in.
Logan will be p.....d then

Crow-mosone
8 Dec 2005, 23:02
No, that he shouldn't have been cut so quickly in the first place;)

lol touche! :D

*PAF
8 Dec 2005, 23:22
Linky (http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,17322718%255E25397,00.html)

*PAFC*13
9 Dec 2005, 09:23

No, I think we will grab Logan if there. How old is this Porplyzia lad anyways?

~EDIT~ 20, just read it in the link.

GoSarge
9 Dec 2005, 16:10
"I feel the standout is West Adelaide's Jason Porplyzia, he's an exceptional talent," Cahill, 2005 Port Magpies coach, said.

Big call by Jack, the boy obviously can play.

Stiffy_18
9 Dec 2005, 22:42
Big call by Jack, the boy obviously can play.
One thing you know with Jack is that he doesn't mix his words nor does he give a player a praise if he doesn't deserve it.

When Jack says the boy has it, then you know there is something there.

I thought Porplyzia might have been older than 20. He is a ver mature and accomplished player for that age. I would pick him up no doubt.

Wayne's-World
10 Dec 2005, 08:37

I thought Porplyzia might have been older than 20. He is a ver mature and accomplished player for that age. I would pick him up no doubt.
:thumbsu:

- PC -
10 Dec 2005, 12:23
The psychology of it all could be interesting. Imagine a kid overlooked for the draft because he is too skinny... goes away and works on his game and body shape... gets a second chance... a Neil Craig special project if I ever saw one.

I havent seen him play so wont comment on that but the above interests me. Ben Hudson mark 2?

Wayne's-World
10 Dec 2005, 15:47
The psychology of it all could be interesting. Imagine a kid overlooked for the draft because he is too skinny... goes away and works on his game and body shape... gets a second chance... a Neil Craig special project if I ever saw one.

I havent seen him play so wont comment on that but the above interests me. Ben Hudson mark 2?
PC Romantic ...........But IMO the Crows simply stuffed up with Jason and he has made them look ......frankly ......ordinary in their initial assessment;)

outback jack
10 Dec 2005, 17:15
PC Romantic ...........But IMO the Crows simply stuffed up with Jason and he has made them look ......frankly ......ordinary in their initial assessment;)
correct WW, we simply did a freo. Pcrow what kind of rubbish was that about projects and stuff like that? What projects has NC taken on at all? If anything hes the opposite to that. Hes just a reasonable coach atm, who has actually installed a game plan into them, he aint no sheedy yet.

Stiffy_18
10 Dec 2005, 18:34
correct WW, we simply did a freo. Pcrow what kind of rubbish was that about projects and stuff like that? What projects has NC taken on at all? If anything hes the opposite to that. Hes just a reasonable coach atm, who has actually installed a game plan into them, he aint no sheedy yet.
Ben Rutten was on his way out until Craig took over. Look at him now ;)

outback jack
11 Dec 2005, 00:04
Ben Rutten was on his way out until Craig took over. Look at him now ;)

sure thats called addressing a need though. We were crying out for a key defender. And partly due ayres incompetence, in terms of playing at AFL level he did nothing wrong but was dropped after 2-3 wks never to return. Wouldnt say that makes him a NC special project. Thats was ladhams and look where he went.:)

Stiffy_18
11 Dec 2005, 09:06
sure thats called addressing a need though. We were crying out for a key defender. And partly due ayres incompetence, in terms of playing at AFL level he did nothing wrong but was dropped after 2-3 wks never to return. Wouldnt say that makes him a NC special project. Thats was ladhams and look where he went.:)
Ladhams wasn't his project. I got no idea where you came up with that crap. Ladhams was kept on for another year because he was contracted. If he was out of contract he would have been shown the door. Its no secret that NC didn't like Ladhams.

Wayne's-World
11 Dec 2005, 13:18
SANFL ROUND 9: WEST ADELAIDE v PORT ADELAIDE

Struggle under fire

By PETER ARGENT

WEST Adelaide's inability to play good football for four quarters cost it Saturday's game against Port, the Bloods losing 22.18 (150) to 13.15 (93).

Competitive in the first quarter, a depleted West Adelaide side didn't have the firepower to go with the Magpies from that break.

"We have had no stability, having (Adelaide Crow Luke) Jericho and (Port Power's Michael) Pettigrew for a couple of games and not having senior players like (Ben) Marsh, (Pat) Steinfort and (Andrew) Crowell for this match," Bloods coach Shaun Rehn said.

"We've been training pretty well, but got touched up through the mid-field, not being able to exert much defensive pressure."

"It is about remaining optimistic; as we have proved we are capable of giving sides a fair scare and we have plenty to work on."

The Bloods opponents gained ascendancy in ruck and won the centre square handsomely giving key forwards first use of the ball and the West backmen were fighting a losing battle.

By half-time the game was finished as a contest with the Bloods 33 points down and not looking like they were capable of a revival.

The third quarter was more free-flowing and the Bloods gained some respectability kicking five goals, with Jason Porplyzia kicking three of them on Power premiership player, Shaun Burgoyne, who was returning to football after a nine week break.

"Jason Porplyzia is a special player who should have played in the state game," Rehn said.

"We have asked him to carry plenty of responsibility."

Although West didn't have a good four quarter player, former Adelaide University lad Kris Vanderloo started well in his third league game, displaying sublime foot skills on occasions, Dean Howard, back in the good books with coach Rehn competed and Ross Glover had his fair share of the football.

Charles Slattery and Luke Donaldson also fought on well against the onslaught in defence.

In the end the Magpies had too much pace and strength for a Bloods team, which didn't have much fluency going into attack.

"I don't like where SANFL football is heading at the moment," Rehn explained.

"Since I've been coaching we've had a policy of promoting young talent from within and giving them an opportunity.

"This is frustrating for our long suffering supporters, who are craving success and we havent kept the ex-pat AFL players to build a side around.

Boundary umpire Linden Smith in his SANFL league debut game had a quiet initiation, only having to make his first decision late in the second term.

SCORES: Port Adelaide 3.3 11.5 18.14 22.18 (150) defeated West Adelaide 4.6 5.8 10.11 13.15 (93).

BEST: Port - Brown, Slattery, J.Clayton, Waterhouse, M.Clayton, Surjan, S. Stevens; West - Porplyzia, Howard, Glover, Vanderloo, Donaldson.

GOALS: Port - Stevens, Slattery 4, Waterhouse, Brown, J.Clayton 3, Surjan 2, Jaques, Butler, Poulton; West - Porplyzia 4, Glover, Myles 2, Champion, Hamblin, Donaldson, Pettigrew, Wiggins.
:thumbsu:

- PC -
11 Dec 2005, 15:11
. Pcrow what kind of rubbish was that about projects and stuff like that? What projects has NC taken on at all?
Ben Rutten, Nathan Bock and Hayden Skipworth ...all players given confidence by NC.

But thats ok jack you go back to your negativity ... you would make a great Port supporter

outback jack
11 Dec 2005, 17:24
Ladhams wasn't his project. I got no idea where you came up with that crap. Ladhams was kept on for another year because he was contracted. If he was out of contract he would have been shown the door. Its no secret that NC didn't like Ladhams.

At the start of the year lots of posters (you included) were saying ladhams was simply being worked over by NC, part of the 'plan' etc and would be in the team in the future, dont worry about that. I was simply taking their advice.

outback jack
11 Dec 2005, 17:28
Ben Rutten, Nathan Bock and Hayden Skipworth ...all players given confidence by NC.

confidence? we are talking about project players which are like this:

Imagine a kid overlooked for the draft because he is too skinny... goes away and works on his game and body shape... gets a second chance... a Neil Craig special project if I ever saw one.

There isn’t one, so basically you pulled some romantic theory out your backside is what you're saying. If he gets picked up and becomes something it means like WW’s said we made a mistake, which not many clubs make.

But thats ok jack you go back to your negativity ... you would make a great Port supporter

no need to resort to petty insults. You are better than this. Well not really, but you can do better surely.:cool:

- PC -
11 Dec 2005, 18:08

no need to resort to petty insults. You are better than this. Well not really, but you can do better surely.:cool:
Re: Rate a history:Adelaide Crows

Sum0005 there is little doubt you are a port supporter now.

:cool:

outback jack
11 Dec 2005, 20:51
your link doesnt work pcrow. What is it?