Career Goals - 235
SANFL Club - West Adelaide
Brownlow Medal - 2005 votes 11; career votes 136
http://afc.com.au/webi/space.gif

PLAYER HONORS
Best and fairest 1998, 2003, 2004;
3rd best and fairest 1994, 1997, 2000;
Best Team Man 1994, 2003;
All-Australian 1994, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004 (captain), 2005 (captain);
International Rules Series 1998, 2000;
AFL Rising Star nominee 1993;
Premiership player 1998;
Brownlow Medallist 2003;
Pre-season premiership player 2003;
Runner up Brownlow Medal 2004;
AFLPA Best Captain 2005;
Club captain since 2001.
http://afc.com.au/webi/space.gif

darren pfieffer
4 Dec 2005, 13:57
very grat player...

Adam BK
4 Dec 2005, 14:18
a grat thread as well

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 14:20
Hopefully, he has at least another AA season in him and another premiership with the Crows :)

Gets!
4 Dec 2005, 14:28
conGRATs Mark :)

outback jack
4 Dec 2005, 14:30
very grat player...

a grat thread as well

You two morons are being mean:)

Sum005, mark ricciuto is coming to the end, i think he has maybe 1 season left in the middle and 1-2 depending on how effective he is up forward and thats it. We are lucky to have so many champions at our club.

Truck Rutten
4 Dec 2005, 14:30
I think we should trade him while he still has some value.

Only joking. Where would we be without this man? An absolute ornament to the game.

outback jack
4 Dec 2005, 14:36
I think we should trade him while he still has some value.

Only joking. Where would we be without this man? An absolute ornament to the game.

macca is probably the better player over their whole careers though. Its only the last 2-3 yrs that roo has really stepped up, while macca went the other way. When the club was doing poorly though you could see the difference in attitude between perhaps roo and some of the other 'leaders'.

Markthirtytwo
4 Dec 2005, 14:53
conGRATs Mark :)

Thank you Gets. ;)

Adam BK
4 Dec 2005, 14:58
You two morons are being mean:)

Sum005, mark ricciuto is coming to the end, i think he has maybe 1 season left in the middle and 1-2 depending on how effective he is up forward and thats it. We are lucky to have so many champions at our club.

You would know a lot about that wouldnt you jack? ;)

Truck Rutten
4 Dec 2005, 15:47
macca is probably the better player over their whole careers though. Its only the last 2-3 yrs that roo has really stepped up, while macca went the other way. When the club was doing poorly though you could see the difference in attitude between perhaps roo and some of the other 'leaders'.

Both magnificent, but very different footballers. No doubt Macca is the more freakishly skilled player, but if I had to choose one of them to play for my life it would be the Roo.

Cove Cobra
4 Dec 2005, 15:52
Yep, go the ROO.

Stats aint the man though, he probably doesn't even want to see them. All his stalking and talking is done on the field.

The best player the AFC has produced so far by a mile.

Adam BK
4 Dec 2005, 16:10
Both magnificent, but very different footballers. No doubt Macca is the more freakishly skilled player, but if I had to choose one of them to play for my life it would be the Roo.

Yes I would choose Roo as well but luckily we have had both. I wonder if we will have another player in the next 15 years of the calibre of Roo.

Rory
4 Dec 2005, 16:51
average at best:thumbsu:

rayven
4 Dec 2005, 18:10
macca is probably the better player over their whole careers though. Its only the last 2-3 yrs that roo has really stepped up, while macca went the other way.
i would tend to disagree with that

early on in his carreer our captain played in defence and made the state side in 94 playing a very repectable game against vic at 18 or 19, in the dying seconds guess who jumped backwards into ablett?
when shaw come along ricciuto became a "hitman" for those two seasons under the instruction to take a player out rather than win the ball and ive yet to see player smash so many guys up on the field without getting a reputation with the tribunal, people go on about other hardmen but roo was clean and fair and very effective
when that woodville bloke took over roo was unleashed as a ball winner and at rnd 16 1997 when his groins packed up he was leading the brownlow by 4 votes and had more possesions than anyone and was a mile in front of our best and fairest
his record since speaks for itself, including a b and f in a premiership year

i mean no disrespect to mcleod but roo is probably the best player in the league and i feel not recognised as he plays for us,if he played in victoria this would be different

crows98
4 Dec 2005, 18:41
Mark Ricciuto has to be spoken about in the same circle of football talent as the Barry Robran and the Russell Ebert’s.

In 20 year he will still be a legend of this club not just a name on a locker who we were lucky to see play 300 odd times.

outback jack
4 Dec 2005, 20:16

for consistency and courage without a doubt, but i think until three yrs ago macca would be considered the greater player/ game breaker. Ppl forget very quickly. If you watch the GF's again you remember how much better macca was as a pure midfielder than anyone else there really.

outback jack
4 Dec 2005, 20:25
i mean no disrespect to mcleod but roo is probably the best player in the league and i feel not recognised as he plays for us,if he played in victoria this would be different

Atm he would be up there, probably behind pav and judd. You raise some good points about roo's achievements, but personally i think macca was always considered the better player until recently. Roo's only added some polish to his kicking esp within the last 3 yrs. Without a doubt roo also had that tough guy image too, but hits like that dean kemp one would get byron like suspensions these days. The difference is byron has remained a sniper, while roo gets the hard ball himself too. Thats why hes so respected. Never seen him unfairly hit anyone for a long time (exclude selwood) and he could really hurt some of the younger players if he wanted to you'd think.

In their primes macca and roo are pretty even though, its just that roo's has been more recent and macca really has fallen away to being virtually ineffective in the middle now days. Lucky to have both play for us though!

Stiffy_18
4 Dec 2005, 21:18
Jack even in McLeod's prime, the club still named Mark Ricciuto as the player of the decade.

McLeod at his best is an unbelieveable game breaker and match winner but Roo is far more consistent and can be just as damaging. Do I need to remind you about that game at Optus Oval going back a few years??????

Roo has been a champion throughout his career. He has been far more consistent which is shown by his AA selections. McLeod has been AA 3 times compared to Roo's 8 AA jumpers. Roo has only had one average season in his career and thats going back a couple of years when he had trouble breathing. He came back really strongly the following year.

Roo has been exceptional player year in year out. McLeod might be more exciting on his day but if I was picking a side, Roo would be the one first picked every time.

- PC -
4 Dec 2005, 22:10
Atm he would be up there, probably behind pav and judd. I would argue that

You raise some good points about roo's achievements, but personally i think macca was always considered the better player until recently. I think you are right. Macca is flash and Roo is the worker, and people remember flash.

In their primes macca and roo are pretty even though, its just that roo's has been more recent and macca really has fallen away to being virtually ineffective in the middle now days. Lucky to have both play for us though!Agreed

darren pfieffer
4 Dec 2005, 22:15
I think you are right. Macca is flash and Roo is the worker, and people remember flash.

I still think Roo will be remembered pretty highly.

I think a good way to get an idea on this one is by asking non Crows supporters who sticks in their mind better.

tredders16
5 Dec 2005, 03:07
I still think Roo will be remembered pretty highly.

I think a good way to get an idea on this one is by asking non Crows supporters who sticks in their mind better.

Would love to have him in my side.
Absolute Champion of the highest order.
And hes from Waikerie, even better!!!

Markthirtytwo
5 Dec 2005, 07:38
Without sounding biased, ehm, cough, Roo is the best player the AFC has had up to date, without a doubt. His courage, his ability to win the hard ball, to kick that goal when the side needs it, his leadership is the best in the league.

To me he is Bickley and Mcleod rolled into one. And Im glad we have him and I was there to see him play.

noddy
5 Dec 2005, 07:53
Without sounding biased, ehm, cough, Roo is the best player the AFC has had up to date, without a doubt. His courage, his ability to win the hard ball, to kick that goal when the side needs it, his leadership is the best in the league.

To me he is Bickley and Mcleod rolled into one. And Im glad we have him and I was there to see him play.

What Mark says. :thumbsu:

Powerstufff
5 Dec 2005, 07:55
Needs to play more finals.

Kane McGoodwin
5 Dec 2005, 08:35
Macca really stepped up in the finals, but Roo has been far more consistent over his career.

Mad Dog
5 Dec 2005, 08:50
Disagree Jack

I still remember watching the 17 year old boy from Wakerie run around in the 1993 Elimination final on Tony Hall in what was to be Tony's last game for the Hawks. Roo pummelled him each time he went near the ball - watch the tape again and scan the background when the ball is in the Hawks fwd line. Roo ripped Hally a new one that day and was instrumental in our win. I reckon Hally would have still been flinching for the first few weeks at AFC preseason training that summer during the competitive drills just in case the Roo was in the contest. :D

Better player over their career at the AFC..?

Roo

daylight

Macca & the Rest

:thumbsu:

Mad Dog
5 Dec 2005, 08:55
for consistency and courage without a doubt, but i think until three yrs ago macca would be considered the greater player/ game breaker. Ppl forget very quickly. If you watch the GF's again you remember how much better macca was as a pure midfielder than anyone else there really.
A career 2 Grand Finals do not make.

- PC -
5 Dec 2005, 10:32
I think the point that jack ( well maybe not jack) and myself are making is ''perception'' I agree over the long haul Roo is and will be remembered as the best player of the AFC.

But the perception is that Macca was the star of the show

crows98
5 Dec 2005, 11:07
1997-2005

Mark Ricciuto vs. Andrew Mcleod

1997 – Draw Mark Ricciuto lead the Brownlow by 4 votes after round 18 and Andrew Mcleod didn’t really grab the outside football community interest until he won his first Norm Smith medal but was awarded the AFC club champion award.

Point would go to Andrew Mcleod

1998 – Draw again as Mark Ricciuto won his first club champion award and 3rd All Australian award but Andrew McLeod had a solid year and was awarded All Australian as well as winning his second Norm Smith Medals.

Point would go to Mark Ricciuto

1999 and 2000 - The point would go to Andrew McLeod as he was runner up in the club champion award as well as finishing 3rd Brownlow Medal 2000; 2nd Brownlow Medal 2001. Mark Ricciuto had a bit of inconsistent form and needed that captaincy tag to rejuvenate his career in 2001.

Points to Andrew McLeod

2001 – Andrew McLeod again as he was Club champion and all Australian for the 3rd time. Mark Ricciuto was awarded the captaincy in 2001 and has not looked back.

Point to Andrew McLeod

2002, 2003 and 2004 - Mark Ricciuto All Australia and AA captain (2004) Brownlow medal and club champion award 2003 and 2004. Andrew McLeod looked to have lost his passion in this period of time and fell off the super star radar whilst his counter part Mark Ricciuto flourished in his captaincy role and took that step from star to top shelf talent.

Points easily to Mark Ricciuto

2005 – Welcome back Andrew Mcleod as his passion and consistent form returned to be awarded the captaincy of the International rules side to play against the Irish side, as well as Club champion runner up to Simon Goodwin. Mark Ricciuto had another very consistent season with being awarded the All-Australian captaincy for the 7th time as well as being named captain again

Points to mark Ricciuto

over 9 years (1997-2005) 5- 4 the winner would be Mark Ricciuto

· Andrew McLeod
· Club Champion 1997, 2001
· Runner-up to Club Champion 1999, 2000
· All-Australian 1998, 2000, 2001
· Norm Smith Medallist 1997, 1998
· Michael Tuck Medallist (best player in Wizard Cup Final) 2003
· Premiership Player 1997, 1998
· Indigenous Team of the Century
Brownlow Medal - 2005 votes 11; career votes 108

· Mark Ricciuto
· Club Champion 1998, 2003, 2004
· Best Team Man 1994, 2003
· All-Australian 1994, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2004 (Capt.), 2005 (Capt.)
· Brownlow Medallist 2003
· Premiership Player 1998
· Club Captain 2001 –
Brownlow Medal - 2005 votes 11; career votes 136

outback jack
5 Dec 2005, 15:26
I think the point that jack ( well maybe not jack) and myself are making is ''perception'' I agree over the long haul Roo is and will be remembered as the best player of the AFC.

yes i think now esp after roo's last 3 yrs and his leadership when things were tough at the club, he will be remembered as the best, but was simply saying that macca 3 yrs ago would of been and rightly so too.

outback jack
5 Dec 2005, 15:31
A career 2 Grand Finals do not make.

two Pretty important games though. And ones that count too. Its not as if he had just too good GF's either, he was voted the players best player one of the yrs and had 2-3 yrs where he was considered in the top3 players in the league. AA selections dont truly reflect a players greatness, for instance tredrea's got 4 of them mainly through lack of competition. The selectors like certain players and roo with his aggression and hardness is one. Easy to put the boots into macca sometimes when hes down too!

topjars
5 Dec 2005, 18:38
Great thread for a great player.

Theres only one thing he could improve in his game... and its the 40 metre handball toward our end. Hes strong enough to break the tackle and kick it IMHO.
:p

Of course this is splitting hairs and I dont want to end on a negative... I love his leadership in the tough games, his long kick for goal that rarely misses, his pack busting muscle in a tight spot, his smirking banter when asked the curly questions, his footballer build that puts doubt in the mind of oncoming traffic.

Roo will take some topping when it comes to a better captain over the history of the AFC...LEST WE FORGET

Crow-mosone
5 Dec 2005, 19:56

that's true, Roo has had the better career, but for superstar appeal Macca had that and Roo never did. and rightly so, he wasn't a game breaker, he couldn't change the momentum in 5 minutes, what he was though was our best player week in and week out.

the 'better' player is Macca, the best career and best output over the long haul is Roo.

Macca's best is amongst the finest to have ever played the game.

Roominant
5 Dec 2005, 20:02
that's true, Roo has had the better career, but for superstar appeal Macca had that and Roo never did. and rightly so, he wasn't a game breaker, he couldn't change the momentum in 5 minutes, what he was though was our best player week in and week out.

the 'better' player is Macca, the best career and best output over the long haul is Roo.

Macca's best is amongst the finest to have ever played the game.
Your saying that as though he's at the end of his career. He surely has another 2 years at least of top class football in him.

Agree about the game breaking impact of Macca which is memorable.

jc67
5 Dec 2005, 20:51
I think that roo would have been the difference between winning and losing maybe 20 - 30 times.
Macca maybe 10 - 15 (Although a couple of those were very important and rightful have more weight)
But Roo is the first pick in any crows team i would choose, and at times macca would be as low as 5th

macca23
5 Dec 2005, 21:16
Mark Ricciuto has to be spoken about in the same circle of football talent as the Barry Robran and the Russell Ebert’s.

In 20 year he will still be a legend of this club not just a name on a locker who we were lucky to see play 300 odd times.

Well put. Roo will be a legend of the game IMO.

Macca's not a bad #2 to have though. :)

noddy
6 Dec 2005, 08:37
I think that roo would have been the difference between winning and losing maybe 20 - 30 times.
Macca maybe 10 - 15 (Although a couple of those were very important and rightful have more weight)
But Roo is the first pick in any crows team i would choose, and at times macca would be as low as 5th

I have no doubt he would have been the difference between us winning or losing that final this year against the Saints but for the fact he was very very unfairly treated by the tribunal panel.

Magnificent player & an equally magnificent captain.

crows98
6 Dec 2005, 09:28
I have no doubt he would have been the difference between us winning or losing that final this year against the Saints but for the fact he was very very unfairly treated by the tribunal panel.

He was a good player 1993 – 2001 but once he got the captaincy he has turned into an exceptional player. Mark Ricciuto should have wont he Brownlow in 1997 barring injuries (nothing sinister) but he was just a good player playing for a relatively young club after he was awarded the captaincy he turned in Mr constancy and transformed him over all game into a star performer. Top shelf talent

2002, 2003 2004 and 2005 all Australian

2003 Brownlow medal
2003 and 2004 club champion

The captaincy has given roo the responsibility to evolve his game to the level most known it should reach.

Mad Dog
6 Dec 2005, 09:59
The real test of a player's worth or ability is usually how he is seen by supporters of other clubs.

Most opposition fanbases (probably with only 1 exception:rolleyes: ) admire Roo for the way he plays the game, leads his side, and admire him for the respect he has earned from opposition players.

Whatever was meant by "ornament to the game" ...Roo is one...:D

Like I said with the exception of some bitter and jealous recalcitrants, Roo is admired by all involved in AFL.

GoSarge
6 Dec 2005, 10:00

Yes, very unfairly treated. Probably the only other person I can think of that has been so poorly treated would be Byron Pickett. Dont you think ? ;)

SpringChoke
6 Dec 2005, 11:48
The real test of a player's worth or ability is usually how he is seen by supporters of other clubs.

Most opposition fanbases (probably with only 1 exception:rolleyes: ) admire Roo for the way he plays the game, leads his side, and admire him for the respect he has earned from opposition players.

Whatever was meant by "ornament to the game" ...Roo is one...:D

Like I said with the exception of some bitter and jealous recalcitrants, Roo is admired by all involved in AFL.

Roo doesn't have a complex like his feral counterpart from down the road. But then again, if 70% of the state you lived in thought you were a wa*ker it would probably get to you after awhile.

RooDog
6 Dec 2005, 12:23
Roo doesn't have a complex like his feral counterpart from down the road. But then again, if 70% of the state you lived in thought you were a wa*ker it would probably get to you after awhile.

and thats on a good day:thumbsu:

absolute champion, my favourite player these days by a long way.

just out of interest do you think we should retire the number 32 when he retires?

Mad Dog
6 Dec 2005, 13:02

just out of interest do you think we should retire the number 32 when he retires?
A good question young Padawan.....I would prefer to see the big fella pass it on to a youngster coming through who he thinks might have what it takes to wear the mighty #32.

Retiring a number is an honour - but so is perpetuating the legend.

:)

SpringChoke
6 Dec 2005, 13:21

Yep.

RooDog
6 Dec 2005, 13:26
A good question young Padawan.....I would prefer to see the big fella pass it on to a youngster coming through who he thinks might have what it takes to wear the mighty #32.

Retiring a number is an honour - but so is perpetuating the legend.

i agree with passing it on actually, but when he does pass it on id prefer it not to be to a new draftee but rather to a player that has already proved himself, who knows by then maybe he can pass it on to Chris Knights;)

snakebite01
6 Dec 2005, 13:35
Jack is correct in saying that people forget how good McLeod was. The only thing that has seen his career stagnate or go downhill is the fact that he got tagged so heavily in the midfield. A reason why his form came back this year when he was the hunter not the hunted. Macca was widely considered as THE best player in the competetition for a good 3 years. His non-Brownlow year in 2001 was better than Roo's Brownlow year in 2003. No question. He was simply exceptional that year.

Plus, he is without a doubt the best big game performer we've ever had, and still is probably one of the best in the AFL.

Having said that, Roo takes it over McLeod for his consistency, but he never did get as much attention as McLeod. In his prime McLeod is the better player, but Roo's been able to produce it over a longer period of time. Both will go down as greats of our club.

noddy
6 Dec 2005, 13:35
Yes, very unfairly treated. Probably the only other person I can think of that has been so poorly treated would be Byron Pickett. Dont you think ? ;)

Now i wouldn't go that far. :)

Mad Dog
6 Dec 2005, 13:36
i agree with passing it on actually, but when he does pass it on id prefer it not to be to a new draftee but rather to a player that has already proved himself, who knows by then maybe he can pass it on to Chris Knights;)
I agree - someone on the brink of a 200 game career. - and Knights did come to mind...and The Count....although the body shapes aren't quite a match yet ....:D

But hopefully we don't need to have this conversation for another 3 to 4 years and by that time the #21 and #7 will have taken on new/there own significance.

crows98
6 Dec 2005, 13:40

Agree and disagree

Agree that the player’s number should be carried on and allowed to grow it’s reputation as a AFC great number (regardless what number it is) the number should be given over and continue to grow over the years.

I disagree with the St Kilda way of handing the number over to an already established player at that club. A new player should be allowed to grow his own reputation and develop his own identity, if a new draftee was to show enough talent and worthiness’ that he deserved the number (#32 in Mark Ricciuto case) then it should be given to him right away, but if not then it will go away and come out latter on. When a player already has a number (in Chris Knight case), allow that player to develop his own identity.

Mad Dog
6 Dec 2005, 13:41
Jack is correct in saying that people forget how good McLeod was. The only thing that has seen his career stagnate or go downhill is the fact that he got tagged so heavily in the midfield. A reason why his form came back this year when he was the hunter not the hunted. Macca was widely considered as THE best player in the competetition for a good 3 years. His non-Brownlow year in 2001 was better than Roo's Brownlow year in 2003. No question. He was simply exceptional that year.

Plus, he is without a doubt the best big game performer we've ever had, and still is probably one of the best in the AFL.

Having said that, Roo takes it over McLeod for his consistency, but he never did get as much attention as McLeod. In his prime McLeod is the better player, but Roo's been able to produce it over a longer period of time. Both will go down as greats of our club.
Without devaluing Macca who is a champ in his own right - I can't say I agree with some of these comments. Roo gets just as much attention week in and week out. He is consistantly held and blocked from restarts around the ground.

What makes Roo a champ is that this has not affected his game, the effort he puts in, or the work rate example he sets for the side.

When the going gets tough.............

snakebite01
6 Dec 2005, 14:10
Without devaluing Macca who is a champ in his own right - I can't say I agree with some of these comments. Roo gets just as much attention week in and week out. He is consistantly held and blocked from restarts around the ground.

What makes Roo a champ is that this has not affected his game, the effort he puts in, or the work rate example he sets for the side.

Disagree Mad Dog. Macca would often get tagged by 2 opponents. He is so damaging that opposition coaches know they must close him down if they want to win the game. Roo gets attention no doubt, but not as much as Macca used to get.

For instance there are 2 types of taggers. Those who are there to stop an opponent and get the ball (Lucurias of the world), and those whose only job is to nullify there opponent (Brady Rawlings/Bakers of the world). Macca gets tagged by the latter, Roo by the former. Always much harder to play against guys who only want to stop you from reaching the footy. Macca in his prime got scragged and scratched all game long (one game against Carlton [Franchina], he came home with scratches all down his back and front), whereas Roo never got the constant holding on at the contests as consistently or frequently as Macca did.

I'm not taking away from Roo. He is a champion, has been unbelievably consistent and HAS dealt with the tag over his career. It's just that his tag has never been as volatile as Maccas, purely because Macca was the more naturally talented footballer and coaches were aware of what would happen if he was allowed to explode on a game.

Mad Dog
6 Dec 2005, 14:21
whereas Roo never got the constant holding on at the contests as consistently or frequently as Macca did.

we must be watching different games...

however - you made the point in your original post that......

The only thing that has seen his career stagnate or go downhill is the fact that he got tagged so heavily in the midfield

I disagree that "the only thing" has been the tagging....Macca has had many other issues that he has let affect his life/career.

As I say I am not devaluing Macca's career or standing as a champ of the game.....but the tagging is an excuse that Ricciutos, Judds, Voss's, Kellys, Buckleys, Crawfords, Harveys (x2), Akermanis's, Blacks, Lappins, etc have never used - and has not affected their game or their level of output for their club. Although Macca is a brilliant player - he has never had the work ethic of these players....his brilliance has manifested in other ways.

Crowz Gal
6 Dec 2005, 14:24
When they retire a number. Exactly for how long is it. What happens if there are no numbers left???

I have always thought retiring a number a bit weird. Surely you would pass it on. Although can u imagine the pressure on you if, as a rookie, u were to have Roo pass on his number to u, or dissapointment if u were given say smiths number??

GoSarge
6 Dec 2005, 14:25
For instance there are 2 types of taggers. Those who are there to stop an opponent and get the ball (Lucurias of the world), and those whose only job is to nullify there opponent (Brady Rawlings/Bakers of the world). Macca gets tagged by the latter, Roo by the former. Always much harder to play against guys who only want to stop you from reaching the footy. Macca in his prime got scragged and scratched all game long (one game against Carlton [Franchina], he came home with scratches all down his back and front), whereas Roo never got the constant holding on at the contests as consistently or frequently as Macca did.

More commonly known as dirty scragging cheats.

outback jack
6 Dec 2005, 14:29
If wasnt tagging that did it imo, it was his knee injuries he had a clean out in the break before the carlton game about 2-3 yrs back played really well that game but after that season was never the same. In 2004 it was clear he couldnt kick 45m+, and this yr he took the weight off, which meant its less stress on the knee but in the middle he cant hold his ground with the bigger bodies like he used to be able to. The top pace aint there as much anymore either, it is mainly his footy smarts and skill that does it. Its too be expected anyway, the roo type players peak later than the faster players do, injury has just meant macca’s gone downhill a little quicker.

General Havelock
6 Dec 2005, 14:30
he seemed to go alright in the international rules without a tag...

- PC -
6 Dec 2005, 14:38
Well dare I suggest now he is in Melbourne that close to 100% can hate him freely now

SpringChoke
6 Dec 2005, 15:53
Well dare I suggest now he is in Melbourne that close to 100% can hate him freely now

Finally, Tredreas moved to Melbourne.

Markthirtytwo
6 Dec 2005, 16:12

I tend to disagree with passing it on to anyone.
For two reasons and they are:
If you pass it onto a young player, especially one he chooses, cause it would put too muhc pressure on the young lad. Just like young Ablett IMO.
If it is passed on to someone who is looking the goods, then he has made it with his own number and that he probably wouldnt take it for the above reason as well.

I would love it to be retired.

snakebite01
6 Dec 2005, 16:33
we must be watching different games...

I'm not saying it doesn't happen to Roo, f course it does.

All I'm saying is that it happens/happened more regularly and more viciously to McLeod. It's the same as Judd receiving more "dirty" attention than Cousins does. It's the nature of the player and their hurt factor. McLeod/Judd have a higher hurt factor than Cousins/Ricciuto, therefore receive more attention.

We already started to see Judd go down the same path as McLeod this year, being held and scragged all day long which limits his output. Guys like Ricciuto and Cousins don't receive AS MUCH of this tye of attention because they don't have the same hurt factor.

Crow-mosone
6 Dec 2005, 19:29

agree entirely.

Crow-mosone
6 Dec 2005, 19:30
More commonly known as dirty scragging cheats.

:D :D

kirky
6 Dec 2005, 19:47

But the thing with Roo is you don't want to be messing with Roo otherwise down you go in a hip and shoulder or a bone breaking tackle.

Both are greats - McLeod for his silky skills whilst Roo for his leadership skills. Roo has been more consistent over the years and we will in due course realise how great champions they have both been.

Lets hope they are some little Roos down the track!

Stiffy_18
6 Dec 2005, 19:47

I am not sure about retiring the number. Thats more of an American basketball tradition.

What I would like to see is Roo (after he retires of course) passing on #32 to the next captain. I would like to have the captain of the club wear #32 in the honour of the great man once he hangs up the boots.

Stiffy_18
6 Dec 2005, 19:50

Well said :thumbsu:

Ad76
7 Dec 2005, 01:05
I am not sure about retiring the number. Thats more of an American basketball tradition.

What I would like to see is Roo (after he retires of course) passing on #32 to the next captain. I would like to have the captain of the club wear #32 in the honour of the great man once he hangs up the boots.

Now there's a good idea - build some tradition. I like it! :)

- PC -
7 Dec 2005, 02:35
Why not 26? 2 x Premiership captain

I would rather see number 1 used for captains or not at all.