View Full Version : Why do people keep underating Carlton?

Pages : [1] 2

Zeke
6 Dec 2005, 07:34
Probably because they are a rabble? :eek:

Groove
6 Dec 2005, 07:41
You might be on to something there..

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 07:43
How do you underrate a rabble? :confused:

Seeing most people expect them to finish the same or higher than last year, I'd say if anything they are being overrated.

Zeke
6 Dec 2005, 07:43
Good point.

Kooley
6 Dec 2005, 07:47
Probably because they are a rabble? :eek: well over 12,000 posts and you still write crap. time for holiday freak. :D

VANDA
6 Dec 2005, 07:50
I blame Eddie.

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 07:52
Zeke your a genius and surprise, surprise, JD has already replied with his insightful football knowledge.

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 07:56
Zeke your a genius and surprise, surprise, JD has already replied with his insightful football knowledge.
Coming from the man who tipped Carlton for the top 4 last year? http://www.theta.net/nichols/smileys/crackup.gif

What can we expect in 2006? A premiership??

Bong on Slurpee!!

http://ghettobaby.net/Emoticons/ghettobabydotnetdonotdirectlink/bong.gif

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 07:59

Don't forget one important point zekster. You finished one rung above them. 'Nough said.

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 08:02

You know all about these down at Moorabbin, don't you JD.;)
Culture ....:o

Kooley
6 Dec 2005, 08:03
Coming from the man who tipped Carlton for the top 4 last year? http://www.theta.net/nichols/smileys/crackup.gif

Bong on Slurpee!!

http://ghettobaby.net/Emoticons/ghettobabydotnetdonotdirectlink/bong.gifthe obsession continues.

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 08:03
Don't forget one important point zekster. You finished one rung above them. 'Nough said.

Don't you know they had injuries.

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 08:05
You know all about these down at Moorabbin, don't you JD.;)
Culture ....:o
I really don't think you need to go there Slurpee.

That's not one your going to win either. :D

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 08:06
the obsession continues.
*bubble . . . bubble . . . bubble . . . . cough . . . cough . . . cough*

Tricky_Ricky2
6 Dec 2005, 08:11
because they came last.

didn't think you could even rate a team that came last for the second time in 3 years...

HBF
6 Dec 2005, 08:27

What is it with peoples obsessions with Carlton??

FACT - We finished last this year, got the spoon, blah, blah, blah..!!

By the way Zeke, Collingwood weren't that much better than us in 2005.

FIGJAM
6 Dec 2005, 08:30
So we won the Silver Spoon. Would be quite apt given we're so damn rich!

Kooley
6 Dec 2005, 08:32
*bubble . . . bubble . . . bubble . . . . cough . . . cough . . . cough*the obsession continues

Baby Blue
6 Dec 2005, 08:36

You can keep playing with your money whilst we rebuild and win premierships. He who dies with the most toys still dies.

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 08:39

I liken collingwood to a Mercedez Benz with no engine. Flashy on the outside but going nowhere fast!!!

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 08:39
You can keep playing with your money whilst we rebuild and win premierships. He who dies with the most toys still dies.

Going to be a lot harder without the brown paper bags you're used to handing out so freeely.

Kooley
6 Dec 2005, 08:41
Going to be a lot harder without the brown paper bags you're used to handing out so freeely.the obsession continues

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 08:45
the obsession continues

Obsession? What obsession??? How can one become obsessed about a club who rorted the system so blatantly and paid the penalty so harshly? I call it comedy more like it.

The Shag
6 Dec 2005, 08:50
Collingwood - Half a game better, and it shows!!!! :rolleyes:
Youre a fair dinkum di**head Zeke

Oh and JD, he might have a bit of weed here and there, but i here you are still itchy from that prostitute you picked up on StKilda road.....

ssreid
6 Dec 2005, 08:50
Maybe its got something to do with were they finished on the table and the quality of their list.

The Shag
6 Dec 2005, 08:51
Obsession? What obsession??? How can one become obsessed about a club who rorted the system so blatantly and paid the penalty so harshly? I call it comedy more like it.

I call your team comedy....what is it 24 years without playing in a granny??? pathetic!!!

Kooley
6 Dec 2005, 08:51
What obsession???. your obsession.
Let it go! you sound so bitter and angry. i understand the past 26 years has been a difficult time for your pitiful club but you must be more positive with you comments.

stui magpie
6 Dec 2005, 08:58
It's impossible to under-rate them. They're crap.:D

The Shag
6 Dec 2005, 08:59
OMG, another dellusional collingwood fan.....

Smokey_22
6 Dec 2005, 09:11

You're hardly in the position to comment. :rolleyes:

blueheart
6 Dec 2005, 09:40
Big call coming from a Pie supporter! Cause they just ooze class now don't they:p

blueheart
6 Dec 2005, 09:43
Last four head to head: Carlton 3 Collingwood 1
Most recent 35 point drubbing!
Says a lot for your mob:D

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 09:53
I call your team comedy....what is it 24 years without playing in a granny??? pathetic!!!

Well at least I can sleep at night knowing we didnt blatantly rort the system in order to participate in one.

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 09:56
your obsession.
Let it go! you sound so bitter and angry. i understand the past 26 years has been a difficult time for your pitiful club but you must be more positive with you comments.

We played in a grand final in 1979??? 26 years ago??? That's news to me. Maybe your addition skills need some touching up.

Johnson#26
6 Dec 2005, 10:17

Bong on Slurpee!!

Lol. Carlton will be back in finals action in 2009.

Kooley
6 Dec 2005, 10:22
We played in a grand final in 1979??? 26 years ago??? That's news to me. Maybe your addition skills need some touching up.25 or 26 what's the difference? still been an awefully long time. but it explains your bitterness so you're excused.

Alkaline
6 Dec 2005, 10:22
Lol. Carlton will be back in finals action in 2009.
Bwahaha. Ridiculous comment. Also false :)

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 11:18
We played in a grand final in 1979??? 26 years ago??? That's news to me. Maybe your addition skills need some touching up.

IITB, please take your vitriol elsewhere, we know how much you "love" Carlton.;)
By the way, I hear you want your team to hit rock bottom again next year so they can re-load. Your the kind of supporters teams love.:D

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 11:45
IITB, please take your vitriol elsewhere, we know how much you "love" Carlton.;)
By the way, I hear you want your team to hit rock bottom again next year so they can re-load. Your the kind of supporters teams love.:D

Vitriol Surrey??? Hardly. I do love carlton. The've given me plenty of laughs over recent years and even won me a heap of money this year. You know when don't you.

TheHeatleyStand
6 Dec 2005, 13:17
Collingwood is like a 1970s cappuccino.. all froth and no substance....

;)

TheHeatleyStand
6 Dec 2005, 13:19
Vitriol Surrey??? Hardly. I do love carlton. The've given me plenty of laughs over recent years and even won me a heap of money this year. You know when don't you.

Oh and i love the Tigers...

20 years at the bottom.. talking about laughs... they are responsible for having my rib cracked from laughter....

Attitude after yet another year of missing out in the eight???

Now thats funny!!!!

Your problems are fixed Tiger fans.... ;)

The Fireman
6 Dec 2005, 13:24

Bong on Slurpee!!

Ouch, poor Slurry:o

F/D
6 Dec 2005, 13:30
Bwahahahahahaha someone tipped the Blues for top 4 last year?

FFS, Carlton are a rabble and they really have no where to go.

Poor Carlton :(

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 13:44
Bwahahahahahaha someone tipped the Blues for top 4 last year?

After the Wizard sponsored premature ejaculation I'm sure plenty of the lemmings were tipping a flag.

Slurpee is actually more pessimistic than your average lemming.

mediumsizered
6 Dec 2005, 14:20
You would hardly have been laughing over the fact that they have beaten Richmond 4 times out of 5, from 2002-2005. And I haven't added in the 2 pre-season defeats during that time as well. Remember Fisher's goal in 2003, or maybe Fev's lazy 8 in 2004. How about's Fev and Stevo's 4 goals and Fisher and Waite's 3 goals in 2005.

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 14:23
You would hardly have been laughing over the fact that they have beaten Richmond 4 times out of 5, from 2002-2005. And I haven't added in the 2 pre-season defeats during that time as well. Remember Fisher's goal in 2003, or maybe Fev's lazy 8 in 2004. How about's Fev and Stevo's 4 goals and Fisher and Waite's 3 goals in 2005.

How about round 7 when we totally arse raped you in front of 50,000 people at the G this year? 13 goals to zip I do believe at one stage. Kinda rubs out all the rest I reckon. Or in 2001 when we booted you outta the finals? Felt pretty damn good that day.

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 14:27
I love the way you still think StKilda are going to make the GF in 2006 JD.
Oh the joy.

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 14:30
How about round 7 when we totally arse raped you in front of 50,000 people at the G this year? 13 goals to zip I do believe at one stage. Kinda rubs out all the rest I reckon. Or in 2001 when we booted you outta the finals? Felt pretty damn good that day.

Thankfully we got some pride back the following game and whipped your asses.

MarkT
6 Dec 2005, 14:35
Collingwood is like a 1970s cappuccino.. all froth and no substance....

;)In the 1970's you could afford substance now you can't even afford froth.

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 14:37
Thankfully we got some pride back the following game and whipped your asses.

I hardly call 30pts a whoopin' slurrey. I guess in any rare victory for carlton is a whoopin' in your eyes these days. And that win elevated you off the bottom of the ladder did it?? Oh hang on......

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 14:37
I love the way you still think StKilda are going to make the GF in 2006 JD.
Oh the joy.
And I love the way you think your team won't be utterly embarrassing again.

Who do you think has a better chance of being disappointed again Slurpree?

The TAB has us at $4.50 for a flag - Carlton $2.10 for the spoon.

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 14:38
I hardly call 30pts a whoopin' slurrey. I guess in your eyes any rare victory for carlton is a whoopin' in your eyes these days. And that win elevated you off the bottom of the ladder did it?? Oh hang on......

Knowing what you are preying for in 2006 for Richmond, please don't go throwing "bottom of the ladder" remarks at me.:D

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 14:40
And I love the way you think your team won't be utterly embarrassing again.

Who do you think has a better chance of being disappointed again Slurpree?

The TAB has us at $4.50 for a flag - Carlton $2.10 for the spoon.

StKilda will be disappointed again. Why, because you are "expecting" success.
My predicition is you won't make a preliminary final in 2006. :thumbsu:
Expect the fall, it will make it easier in the end.

itsintheblood
6 Dec 2005, 14:42
Knowing what you are preying for in 2006 for Richmond, please don't go throwing "bottom of the ladder" remarks at me.:D

If the draft is gonna be as good as we're being told then it's good to finish last and pick up another deledio (he is a carlton supporter isnt he surrey?)rather than last in 05 and pick up a midget called murphy.

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 14:43
Pardon me if I fail to listen to your "predictions".

:rolleyes:

MeeSo
6 Dec 2005, 14:44
*bubble . . . bubble . . . bubble . . . . cough . . . cough . . . cough*
Go Sweeney

SurreyBlue
6 Dec 2005, 14:46
If the draft is gonna be as good as we're being told then it's good to finish last and pick up another deledio (he is a carlton supporter isnt he surrey?)rather than last in 05 and pick up a midget called murphy.

He is out of contract in 2006, isn't he?
Sleep well.

JeffDunne
6 Dec 2005, 14:52
Go Sweeney
Nice. :rolleyes:

Can we at least wait until our players have played a game before you start labelling them drug users, rapists or any other sordid descriptions you lemmings come up with on Carlton forums. Keep that sort of crap where it belongs - like on TalkingCarlton or TBV.

MeeSo
6 Dec 2005, 14:53

Can we at least wait until our players have played a game before you start labelling them drug users, rapists or any other sordid descriptions you lemmings come up with on Carlton forums. Keep that sort of crap where it belongs - like on TalkingCarlton or TBV.
hypocrite

mediumsizered
6 Dec 2005, 15:11
If you can get excited about 1 win out of 5 over a team that a lot of people refer to as a rabble, well you are very easily pleased. You are probably pretty excited about 2 finals series in the last 20 years, also. They are easily pleased at Punt Rd. it would seem.

mediumsizered
6 Dec 2005, 15:13
That midget was considered to be worth a 5 year contract by the Brisbane Lions. But what would they know about recruiting good players.

MarkT
6 Dec 2005, 15:35
That midget was considered to be worth a 5 year contract by the Brisbane Lions. But what would they know about recruiting good players.That was for a third pick not the number 1 selection. There is a big difference.

MeeSo
6 Dec 2005, 15:39
That was for a third pick not the number 1 selection. There is a big difference.
A 5 year contract for an untried youngster is a massive investment regardless.

mediumsizered
6 Dec 2005, 15:40
That was for a third pick not the number 1 selection. There is a big difference.
How often do clubs offer 5 year contracts to 17 year olds? That is the point. They must have rated him, to be prepared to give him 5 years when they only have to offer an initial 2 year contract. Clubs don't give out 5 year contracts much anymore, not even to experienced players. Tells you something doesn't it. The powers that be at Brisbane (and Lethal would be one of those) saw something there that was worth gambling on.

TheGeneral
6 Dec 2005, 15:40
Murphy's has been acknowledged as the only homerun in this draft and would still have been drafted with pick one if the Hawks and Pies had that choice.

F/D
6 Dec 2005, 15:45
Average pick was Murphy.

Ellis, Swallow, Thomas >>> Murphy.

MarkT
6 Dec 2005, 15:45
FWIW I don't watch junior football so I wouldn't know how good he was but I don't doubt most clubs had him at 1. The point is it is a bloody good get to get a top pick mid way through the third round and for that you'd offer money and tenure. As for Mathews he wouldn't know more about Murphy than he's been told.

Funkalicous
6 Dec 2005, 15:47
Murphy is destined to have a long career. He's far too talented and professional to let anything stand in his way. The Brisbane Lions had met with Murphy many times before offering him a 5 year contract. They knew much about his character and hence, they didn't think 5 years was such a big risk.

Eddie19
6 Dec 2005, 17:29
Average pick was Murphy.

Ellis, Swallow, Thomas >>> Murphy.Mate your just jealous because you didnt get murphy and we did

F/D
6 Dec 2005, 17:56
Mate your just jealous because you didnt get murphy and we did
When trolling, start off with amateurs.

Examble A ^^^

Funkalicous
6 Dec 2005, 18:11
When trolling, start off with amateurs.

Examble A ^^^

We all have to start somewhere. :p

F/D
6 Dec 2005, 18:13
We all have to start somewhere. :p
Haha very good point.

Thalidomide
6 Dec 2005, 18:25
Pretty sad when people just post to troll. There are better things to do

bluboy
6 Dec 2005, 20:44
After reading the 60 odd replies I have decided that you can stick big footy up your ar?e again.

The absolute **********ing ********e coming out of JD,ZEKE,IITB collective
mouths or maybe arrsholes is indicative of this board.

The only team whos supporters could/should brag are Swan` s fans to a lesser extent Power and then Brisbane the rest of you insane ********ers get a **********ing life beacause your opinions matter for sweet ********** all because the facts are

: COLLINGWOOD are news for running the quinella many many times.
It hurts but its a fact.

: Richmond have made the finals once or twice since 1980 and this is an accurate appraisal of mediocrity.

: St kilda: who **********ing care how good your list is unless you turn it into flag`s.....JD win one first but until you do just shut the ********** up you **************** because your mob gave new meaning to the word mediocrity.

As I said get a life morons or join a chess club or something.

F/D
6 Dec 2005, 20:46
Pretty sad when people just post to troll. There are better things to do
Aww is it?

Did we hurt your feelings?

:(

Zeke
6 Dec 2005, 21:01
After reading the 60 odd replies I have decided that you can stick big footy up your ar?e again.

The only team whos supporters could/should brag are Swan` s fans to a lesser extent Power and then Brisbane the rest of you insane ********ers get a **********ing life beacause your opinions matter for sweet ********** all because the facts are

It hurts but its a fact.

: Richmond have made the finals once or twice since 1980 and this is an accurate appraisal of mediocrity.

: St kilda: who **********ing care how good your list is unless you turn it into flag`s.....JD win one first but until you do just shut the ********** up you **************** because your mob gave new meaning to the word mediocrity.

What an concise, articulate and engaging post. You certainly sound like a cheerful chap.

Well done.

Thalidomide
6 Dec 2005, 21:20
Aww is it?

Did we hurt your feelings?

:(Yes my internet feelings were hurt greatly

Lavender Bushranger
7 Dec 2005, 06:28

So "expecting" success is now a bad thing??

I thought not "expecting" success would be considered "accepting mediocrity"?

Don't worry Surrey, you have every right to fear us.

Rather than using all your energy hoping ill will on the Saints, I'd start channelling my energy towards getting some changes made down at Carlton. What a sorry, sorry place that is. And to think, it doesn't seem to bother most Carlton supporters.

The Carlton Football Club - Embracing Mediocrity. How sad.

itsintheblood
7 Dec 2005, 07:09

It hurts but its a fact.

As I said get a life morons or join a chess club or something.

Congratulations.

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/1756/onlinefighter6yu.jpg

Joffaboy
7 Dec 2005, 07:45
Rather than using all your energy hoping ill will on the Saints, I'd start channelling my energy towards getting some changes made down at Carlton.

Thats their biggest problem, they have their eyes off the ball. They are not focused. They want to attack other clubs instead of looking at their own problems.

Lemmings like Slurpeebloooo and cypher are bitter and hateful towards any other club they think has usurped the natural order of things, while their club has fallen to unprecedent mediocrity, other "easybeat" team have gotten their act together both on an off the field. This is what they cant handle. they have their self esteem and self worth wrapped up in their team and have not learnt to disassociate their underconfidence and fear with their teams performance.
You see because Carlton have been successful over the years, they, by way of supporting them, also think they are successful by association.

Very sad and quite pathetic. the level of hate and fear and jealousy and self loathing has gone so far as cypher proclaiming it was "good news' that Luke Penny's injuries were career ending. Just shows the level of blind hatred that some Carlton fans have succumbed to.
A player loses his career and cypher is joyous. Why? For no other reason that he was a representative of a club that puts into sharp focus the failings of his club and by association him. St.Kilda has rocked his self esteem and his tenuous belief system, and instead of doing the hard things, ie accepting that his club is a rabble both on and off the field, he abbrogates all responsibility and puts all the blame on others.

A sad sad individual, however fortunately for Carlton there are good honest truthful and fair Blue fans who have accepted the clubs position, blame nobody but the club, and now want it changed. to those supporters i say, mopre power to you, you are true and loyal supporters. To others such as slurpee and cypher, i say, you disgrace your club and yourselfs with your blind hatred and bitterness towards others. The first step to redemption is to accept reality and accept responsibility. Only then can you redeem your pitiful souls.

The Fireman
7 Dec 2005, 08:28
A sad sad individual, however fortunately for Carlton there are good honest truthful and fair Blue fans who have accepted the clubs position, blame nobody but the club, and now want it changed. to those supporters i say, mopre power to you, you are true and loyal supporters. To others such as slurpee and cypher, i say, you disgrace your club and yourselfs with your blind hatred and bitterness towards others. The first step to redemption is to accept reality and accept responsibility. Only then can you redeem your pitiful souls.
spot on, unfortunately there are the few like Slurry that can't accept it and as you said the poor souls like him seem more interested in the demise of others rather than the improvement of their own club, Slurry for years has been coming coming out with a "Tic Toc" jibe over and over again, his wrist is either sore from winding that clock or winding his apendage.

Kooley
7 Dec 2005, 08:38

Can we at least wait until our players have played a game before you start labelling them drug users, rapists or any other sordid descriptions you lemmings come up with on Carlton forums. Keep that sort of crap where it belongs - like on TalkingCarlton or TBV.rather rich coming from JD considering you like to place bong symbols at the bottom of others posts.
i reckon you might have soft spot for young sweeney. ;)

JeffDunne
7 Dec 2005, 08:56
rather rich coming from JD considering you like to place bong symbols at the bottom of others posts.
i reckon you might have soft spot for young sweeney. ;)
How so?

Slurpee is an anonymous internet user name – and he gives as good as he gets.

As for Sweeney – I know little of the kid and I suspect that’s true for those slandering him.

Kooley
7 Dec 2005, 09:19
How so?

Slurpee is an anonymous internet user name – and he gives as good as he gets.

As for Sweeney – I know little of the kid and I suspect that’s true for those slandering him.who the hell is slurpee? i'm talking about the symbol of someone having a bong you place at the bottom of others posts.

JeffDunne
7 Dec 2005, 10:00
who the hell is slurpee? i'm talking about the symbol of someone having a bong you place at the bottom of others posts.
Slurpee = SurreyBlue

Kooley
7 Dec 2005, 10:19
Slurpee = SurreyBlue

http://ghettobaby.net/Emoticons/ghettobabydotnetdonotdirectlink/bong.gifbingo

Joffaboy
7 Dec 2005, 10:22
Slurpee = SurreyBlue

So slurpee is his real name is it? He is not under an anonamous nic then?

Is Justin Sweeney an anonomous nic?

Understand the difference kooley?

Probably not :rolleyes:

Kooley
7 Dec 2005, 10:28

Probably not :rolleyes:thanks jittboy i understand fully ;)

The Fireman
7 Dec 2005, 11:07

Probably not :rolleyes:
Gee, I thought it was Slurry, ??

Funkalicous
7 Dec 2005, 11:11
What the hell are you guys going on about now? :confused:

The Fireman
7 Dec 2005, 11:13
What the hell are you guys going on about now? :confused:
Flunky we were talking about Slurpy:)

Funkalicous
7 Dec 2005, 11:15
Flunky we were talking about Slurpy:)

Um.. Do you have nicknames for all of us?

itsintheblood
7 Dec 2005, 11:16

Lemmings??

The Fireman
7 Dec 2005, 11:16
?? nup, it's like word association ;)

The Fireman
7 Dec 2005, 11:17
Lemmings??
lmao.

Kooley
7 Dec 2005, 11:21
Um.. Do you have nicknames for all of us?it's like jittboy and jeffdunnce.

HBF
7 Dec 2005, 11:21
Lemmings??

I hope you got permission from JD to use that.

SurreyBlue
7 Dec 2005, 12:02
Seems like my predicition of Saints not making the top4 has upset a few.
Just goes to show the natives have no faith in their club and deep down (like myself) are preparing for failure again. Should be used to it by now, even with a system that helps "mediocrity" or "pathetic clubs" to succeed.

Tick ... tick ... tick .... tick ... notice the tock is not there anymore. (hahahaha)

Funkalicous
7 Dec 2005, 12:04
it's like jittboy and jeffdunnce.

It's all taking me back to primary school days. :p

The Fireman
11 Jul 2006, 21:50
Sorry but this thread is one of my favs :) :thumbsu:
I guess it's the title:D