View Full Version : PSD: So...who will we pick?
pafc4life
9 Dec 2005, 17:19
Plenty of names being thrown around ie. Armstrong, Logan...
Personally i think we will take a punt on Cupido out of nowhere...thoughts?
crazy_big_al
9 Dec 2005, 18:00
Plenty of names being thrown around ie. Armstrong, Logan...
Personally i think we will take a punt on Cupido out of nowhere...thoughts?
logan or armstrong
crazy_big_al
9 Dec 2005, 18:22
Terrell Owens
eagles suck
crazy_big_al
9 Dec 2005, 18:52
I agree.
No McNabb and no TO they are POOO
Green Bay are worse thou
*PAFC*13
9 Dec 2005, 20:53
Logan, hands down.
PortProudWA
10 Dec 2005, 10:35
logan or armstrong
Please take ARMSTRONG!!! When does the PSD happen again??
crazy_big_al
10 Dec 2005, 11:12
Please take ARMSTRONG!!! When does the PSD happen again??
pfft Armstrong did not do alot to make me want him in his interview on 5AA
celtic_pride
10 Dec 2005, 11:52
eagles suck
Go Pats !!!:D
Ford Fairlane
10 Dec 2005, 19:32
Jeremy Clayton. This ongoing injury concern is all a smokescreen. No one expected Richmond to be interested.
crazy_big_al
10 Dec 2005, 23:34
Jeremy Clayton. This ongoing injury concern is all a smokescreen. No one expected Richmond to be interested.
have u got this on good advice???
Total Power
11 Dec 2005, 01:45
Logan please!
Ford Fairlane
11 Dec 2005, 07:44
have u got this on good advice???
Nah I made it up ... altho Port did speak to him, according to Clayton. Just that Port have been known to PSD out of left field and Clayton ruled himself out of Richmond's training offer. So some wild speculation followed on my part ;) .
I'd go with the safe option that they'll draft Logan and try to rookie Armstrong.
Powerstufff
11 Dec 2005, 08:09
Jeremy Clayton. This ongoing injury concern is all a smokescreen......I seriously consider that a possibility. I was thinking about it the other day.
Toots Hibbert
11 Dec 2005, 08:32
Would make for an interesting thread or two if it happened. :p
I seriously consider that a possibility. I was thinking about it the other day.
Clayton's officially said no to Richmond, who guaranteed him a spot, so I can't see him saying yes to Port.
Powerstufff
12 Dec 2005, 13:25
...I can't see him saying yes to Port.He can't. He can only put himself in the PSD. He can't dictate whether one team or the other picks him up.
The agreement with Richmond would have been that if he were not picked up by their pick 5 they would have grabbed him. But given that most would know where the earlier picks were likely to have been taken he would have probably gone to the Tigers.
Looks like we're gonna pick up Logan.
If Jeremy went to anyone but Port Adelaide, I'd be devastated.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 08:59
I had a weird dream last night we redrafted Che Cockatoo-Collins! :eek:
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 09:08
My late guesses
PSD: Logan
Rookie: McEntee, Elliott, Armstrong, Jenner
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:11
Matt Thomas drafted according to D&T Board
Grave Danger
13 Dec 2005, 09:19
Matt Thomas drafted according to D&T Board
Medium size defender from Sandringham Dragons :confused:
manureid
13 Dec 2005, 09:20
No Logan...surprised???:confused:
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:21
Medium size defender from Sandringham Dragons :confused:
Good endurance, good in traffic - should develop into an on-baller. So with him and Lower we have a couple of strong bodied midfield types now. Hopefully we can rookie Logan and add to the mix.
Eddie Woloschek
13 Dec 2005, 09:22
Matt Thomas
Details:
Club: Old Melbournians/Sandringham Dragons
DOB: 27 February 1987 Hgt: 185cm Wgt: 80kg
Position: Midfielder/Medium Defender
Natural Foot: Right
Honours:
Vic Metro U18 Rep 2005
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Statistics:
2004 TAC Cup: 7 games, 0 goals, average 12.9 PPG, 1 time in best
2005 Under 18 Championships: 2 games, 0 goals, average 10.0 PPG
2005 TAC Cup: 15 games, 3 goals, average 26.6 PPG, 7 times in best
TAC Awards:
TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 5 votes
TAC Cup Coaches Award: 13 votes
Draft Camp:
3km time trial - 10:22 (5th)
Background:
An ideal size for a midfielder at 185cm and 81kg, Thomas has a reputation for his preparation, his competitive nature and his leadership ability.
His low skinfolds in testing at draft camp reflect how well he prepares, and a good time in the 3km would have impressed. Arm length was one of the shortest at the camp, but it didn’t affect his marking in the TAC Cup – he averaged six a game this season.
In fact, his season in general was impressive. Tended to be used more as a defensive, half back type of player, he could be a small backman in AFL footy but I’d prefer to see try his luck as an on baller. Averaged over 25 possessions a game in the TAC Cup.
The grapevine suggests Port Adelaide are keen on drafting him.
Strengths:
- Strong through traffic
- Leadership: often seen as the one in the middle of the huddle before a game encouraging his teammates
- Very competitive player: gets verbal with opponents on field etc.
Weaknesses:
- Use of the ball by foot can be poor
- Doesn’t kick many goals
- Didn’t have a great championships
- Short arm length in draft camp test affected his vertical jump
Footy Draft verdict:
One player who does impress me. I may rate him more highly than the clubs do, but it wouldn’t surprise if he went in the mid to late second round. More likely that he will slip into the third round.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:23
Great minds eddie ... I was just about to post that! ;)
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 09:28
"should develop into an on-baller" - bah!
Premiership teams have specialist backmen.
Eddie Woloschek
13 Dec 2005, 09:32
Great minds eddie ... I was just about to post that! ;)
Yes FF, but like Brayden Lyle and Greg Leal before him, just not quick enough.
Yes, but his supposed "strengths" are in the right area.
Strengths:
- Strong through traffic
- Leadership: often seen as the one in the middle of the huddle before a game encouraging his teammates
- Very competitive player: gets verbal with opponents on field etc.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:33
Yes FF, but like Brayden Lyle and Greg Leal before him, just not quick enough.
Timmy Ginever wasn't quick ... ;)
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:34
Everyone's allowed to be an optimist on draft day! :p
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:34
ROUND 1 Player Club
1. Carlton Ryan Jackson Northern Knights
2. Collingwood Alan Toovey Claremont
3. Hawthorn Luke McEntee North Adelaide
4. Essendon Lachlan McKinnon Coburg
5. Richmond Angus Graham Calder Cannons
6. Brisbane Lions Jason Roe North Adelaide
7. Fremantle Paul Duffield Fremantle
8. Western Bulldogs Tom Davidson Collingwood
9. Melbourne Jace Bode Sturt
10. Kangaroos Ed Lower Norwood
11. Pt Adelaide Thomas Rischbieth Sturt
12. Geelong Todd Grima Tassie Mariners
13. Adelaide Brad Sugars Glenelg
14. St Kilda Cathal Corr Northern Knights
15. West Coast Steven Armstrong Melbourne
16. Sydney Jonathan Simpkin Geelong Falcons
ROUND 1 Player Club
1. Carlton Ryan Jackson Northern Knights
2. Collingwood Alan Toovey Claremont
3. Hawthorn Luke McEntee North Adelaide
4. Essendon Lachlan McKinnon Coburg
5. Richmond Angus Graham Calder Cannons
7. Fremantle Paul Duffield Fremantle
8. Western Bulldogs Tom Davidson Collingwood
9. Melbourne Jace Bode Sturt
10. Kangaroos Ed Lower Norwood
12. Geelong Todd Grima Tassie Mariners
13. Adelaide Brad Sugars Glenelg
14. St Kilda Cathal Corr Northern Knights
15. West Coast Steven Armstrong Melbourne
16. Sydney Jonathan Simpkin Geelong Falcons
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:36
Looks like we're not as interested in Logan as Andrew Capel thought!
Don't forget 10 - Ed Lower.
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:37
Tom Rischbieth
Details:
Club: Sturt
DOB: 12 March 1987 Hgt: 190cm Wgt:83.5kg
Position: Forward
Honours:
SA U18 Rep 2005 – vice captain
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Statistics:
2005 Under 18 Championships: 3 games, 5 goals, average 6.0 PPG
Draft Camp:
3km time trial: 9:30 (1st)
Beep Test: 15.8 (1st)
Background:
Sturt reserves player this season who really shone during the AFL draft camp in the endurance testing. No player in the camp history has gotten near the records he set in the 3km and beep tests.
He showed some good signs at times during this year’s under 18 championships – providing a good target up forward for South Australia. His marking was a strength, both on the lead and in a contested situation and set shot action really impressed.
Strengths:
- Endurance: Clearly the best ever 3km at draft camp in history and great beep test as well.
- Excellent set shot kick: leans back and action very good
- Strong overhead
Weaknesses:
- Measured 188cm at draft camp in the ost recent measurement so not tall enough for a true key position player
- About 5cm below the average tall forward arm length at DC, didn’t hurt his marking in the championships but adds to the comment above re. height for AFL KPP.
- Didn’t test that well in the speed test at draft camp
Footy Draft verdict:
If he was 5cm taller we’d be talking him up as a top selection, but his height has to be a concern. Should find himself on an AFL on the strength of his outstanding athletic results at draft camp.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 09:38
At least we waited for the rookie draft before picking up the unique blend of speed and endurance.
Eddie Woloschek
13 Dec 2005, 09:39
Timmy Ginever wasn't quick ... ;)
He wasn't tall either, so there's hope for us all yet!
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:41
At least we waited for the rookie draft before picking up the unique blend of speed and endurance.
I thought we might have picked up M stevens again so we could have 2 of them :D
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:41
He wasn't tall either, so there's hope for us all yet!
Greg Williams is still the benchmark for every great pub footballer in the land. Rischbieth is slow too ... :o
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:44
ROUND 2
17. Carlton Craig Flint Gippsland Power
18. Collingwood Daniel Nicholls Dandenong Stingrays
19. Hawthorn Lukas Markovic Eastern Ranges
20. Essendon Heath Hocking East Ringwood
21. Richmond Jeremy Humm West Coast
22. Brisbane Lions Leonard Clark West Adelaide
23. Fremantle Toby Stribling Fremantle
24. Western Bulldogs pass
25. Melbourne Daniel Hughes Sandringham Zebras
26. Kangaroos Djaran Whyman North Ballarat
27. Pt Adelaide Greg Bentley Dandenong Stingrays
28. Geelong Will Slade Geelong
29. Adelaide Tom Redden Glenelg
30. St Kilda Dylan Pfitzner St Kilda
31. West Coast Matthew Priddis Subiaco
32. Sydney James Wall Calder Cannons
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:45
Greg Bentley
Details:
Club: Rosebud/Dandenong
DOB: 9 April 1987 Hgt: 187cm Wgt: 83kg
Position: Half Forward/Centre
Honours:
AFL Draft Camp 2004
Dandenong Stingrays captain
Vic Metro U18 2005
Dandenong Stingrays B&F 2005
Victorian State Screening 2005
TAC Stats:
2004 TAC Cup: 16 games, 12 goals, average 15.8 PPG
2005 TAC Cup: 16 games, 19 goals, average 20.4 PPG, 7 times in best
2005 U18 Championships: 3 games, 2 goals, average 12.7 PPG
TAC Awards:
2005 TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 0 votes
2005 TAC Cup Coaches Award: 10 votes
Background:
Versatile player who has proven to be capable up forward or through the midfield in his time at the Stingrays. His 2004 season was good, but as the year went on some niggling injuries affected his performance and despite being a draft camp attendee at the end of last season he was overlooked in the draft. Returned to the TAC Cup this season, as the captain of the Stringrays and also walked away their best and fairest winner. Represented Vic Metro this year as well, and despite missing the Vic Metro Queen’s Birthday trial through injury his reputation was such that he was still able to make the final side. Provides plenty of versatility, namely as a forward and through the midfield and is an especially strong mark overhead. His conversion in front of goal has been a problem
Strengths:
- Pace and agility is good, able to get free when playing in the centre.
- Versatility
- Is very strong overhead, particularly in contested situations. He can take good one-grab marks and reads the play well
Weaknesses:
- His set shot kicking is a concern. In 2004 he kicked 12.17 for the year, and in 2005 he kicked 19.23 (just over 40% conversion in the past two seasons). Can be prone to dropping the ball badly, a few kicks don’t even go the trip which aren’t factored into the above stat.
- While he was versatile at TAC level, 187cm is a little in between height, it’d be interesting see his position at AFL level.
Footydraft.com comment:
Had a better season this year than last when he missed out, but on stats and figures there wasn’t a huge improvement. It would have been nice to see his kicking improve, even in the Grand Final there were a few bad misses. Would be one of many in the mix for picks 40 or later.
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:47
ROUND 3
33. Collingwood Shannon Cox South Fremantle
34. Hawthorn Stephen Gilham Port Adelaide
35. Essendon Matthew Firman Belconnen
36. Richmond Cameron Howat Oakleigh Chargers
37. Brisbane Lions Luke Forsyth Brisbane Lions
38. Western Bulldogs pass
39. Melbourne Shane Neaves Calder Cannons
40. Pt Adelaide Tim Looby Murray Bushrangers
41. Geelong Sam Hunt Geelong
42. Adelaide Adrian Bonaddio Oakleigh Chargers
43. St Kilda pass
44. West Coast Michael Embley West Coast
45. Sydney Paul Currie Northern Knights
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:48
Tim Looby
Details:
Club: Congupna/Murray Bushrangers
DOB: 2 September 1987 Hgt: 186cm Wgt: 91kg
Position: Defender
Natural Foot: Left
News Articles
Looby in AFL loop - Herald Sun July 23rd
Honours:
Vic Country U18 2005
TAC Cup Team of the Year 2005 – half back flank
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Statistics:
2005 TAC Cup: 16 games, 9 goals, average 18.0 PPG, 5 times in best
2005 U18 National Championships: 3 games, 1 goal, average 16.3 PPG
Award Votes:
TAC Cup Coaches Award: 17 votes
TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 9 votes
Background:
Not even on the Bushrangers list in 2004, it has been a rapid rise for Looby. Beginning the season in some outstanding form he earnt an invite for the Vic Country trials and remained in the squad for the championships. His use of the ball on his left foot is brilliant. From the stats produced, his pre and post championship TAC stats are interesting – showing an average of 21.4 possessions per game pre-carnival and 13.6 post carnival - tired, changed his game style or incorrect stats?
Strengths:
- Outstanding kick – accurate and penetrating
- Good at taking kick ins, often took them in the TAC Cup
- provides rebound out of defence: both by foot and will also run and carry ball out of defence
Weaknesses:
- 186cm: mid sized defender and close to 89kg already so a bit stronger than opponents at TAC.
- Accountability on occasions is poor
Footydraft.com comment:
A back pocket/back flanker type for the next level, his use of the footy is outstanding. For a bloke who weighs close to 90kg he isn’t slow either. Worthy of being drafted, but it is a bit of a challenge to know what level of improvement he has in him because he already has a solid build.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 09:50
Bentley sounds like a Monty type.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 09:50
Tredders can help Bentley with his goalkicking.
Looby loves a a bit of biff and niggle according to reports - Thomas too. Certainly seem to be looking for that type ... and not holding back in drafting Vics this year.
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:52
Tredders can help Bentley with his goalkicking.
Looby loves a a bit of biff and niggle according to reports - Thomas too. Certainly seem to be looking for that type ... and not holding back in drafting Vics this year.
I know i was quite shocked
Tim Looby
Details:
News Articles
Looby in AFL loop - Herald Sun July 23rd
Honours:
Vic Country U18 2005
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Statistics:
Award Votes:
Background:
Not even on the Bushrangers list in 2004, it has been a rapid rise for Looby. Beginning the season in some outstanding form he earnt an invite for the Vic Country trials and remained in the squad for the championships. His use of the ball on his left foot is brilliant. From the stats produced, his pre and post championship TAC stats are interesting – showing an average of 21.4 possessions per game pre-carnival and 13.6 post carnival - tired, changed his game style or incorrect stats?
Strengths:
- provides rebound out of defence: both by foot and will also run and carry ball out of defence
Weaknesses:
- 186cm: mid sized defender and close to 89kg already so a bit stronger than opponents at TAC.
- Accountability on occasions is poor
Footydraft.com comment:
A back pocket/back flanker type for the next level, his use of the footy is outstanding. For a bloke who weighs close to 90kg he isn’t slow either. Worthy of being drafted, but it is a bit of a challenge to know what level of improvement he has in him because he already has a solid build.
Perfect for the rookie draft.
Will he improve or will he not?
Absolutely perfect type of player to take with a wait and see attitude.
Eddie Woloschek
13 Dec 2005, 09:54
Tim Looby
Details:
VERY interesting prospect
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:55
ROUND 4
46. Hawthorn Ben Kane Hawthorn
47. Essendon Tim O'Keefe Calder Cannons
48. Richmond pass
49. Brisbane Lions Cheynee Stiller Northern Eagles
50. Western Bulldogs pass
51. Melbourne Andre Gianfagna Northern Knights
52. Pt Adelaide Tom Logan Brisbane Lions
53. Adelaide Sam Elliott South Adelaide
54. Sydney Simon Phillips Sandringham Dragons
ROUND 5
55. Hawthorn Ben McGlynn Box Hill Hawks
56. Richmond pass
57. Sydney Kieran Jack NSW-ACT Rams
ROUND 6
58.Sydney Ed Barlow Oakleigh Chargers
ROUND 7
59.Sydney Adam Prior Murray Bushrangers
ROUND 8
60. Sydney Sam Rowe Murray Bushrangers
manureid
13 Dec 2005, 09:55
Finally took Logan, he must have been wondering what was going on??? Unless the club told him they would take him last if he was still available.
crazy_big_al
13 Dec 2005, 09:56
Logan is going to be in adelaide very intereresting
. Jars is not going to be too happy. He lost Gillham to Hawthorn. and Roe to Brisbane
Not hard to figure out what type of player we are looking for is it?
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 09:58
It sure isn't, PAF*
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 10:05
Are interstate rookies guaranteed 2 years on the list?
There seems to have been a shift in our recruiting theory this year.
We have gone from what could be defined as "best available no matter what position" (Brooks best example of that) to a "best available-fit".
Is it due to personnel changes or just absolute necessity?
Bit of both IMO.
When do not have the luxury of a stable line up like in the last few years, plus there have been changes to our staff.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 10:10
Carlile and Looby could provide a bit of Fear Factor around the backline in the future! Wonder if we could get them at the same SANFL club?
Speaking of which, the SANFL clubs should be on their knees thanking Port for making the mini draft interesting this year!
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 10:16
Are interstate rookies guaranteed 2 years on the list?I think they're guaranteed to be -paid- for 2 years on the list.
Eddie Woloschek
13 Dec 2005, 10:16
Good bunch of picks methinks. Who knows though, it's all a crapshoot with young kids.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 10:19
There seems to have been a shift in our recruiting theory this year.
We have gone from what could be defined as "best available no matter what position" (Brooks best example of that) to a "best available-fit".
Is it due to personnel changes or just absolute necessity?
Bit of both IMO.
When do not have the luxury of a stable line up like in the last few years, plus there have been changes to our staff.Yes, bit of both. Moylan very clearly has his list of players that he wants at Port, and fair to say Choco dictates that a lot.
That said, when you don't start picking until the second round, its very easy to pick for needs ahead of best available as usually there's not much difference. I reckon Willits was picked under Best Available last year.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 10:20
Good bunch of picks methinks. Who knows though, it's all a crapshoot with young kids.If nothing else, we've got some guys that will be willing to crunch the soft attitude out of some of our other juniors.
spice18
13 Dec 2005, 10:34
Yes, bit of both. Moylan very clearly has his list of players that he wants at Port, and fair to say Choco dictates that a lot.
That said, when you don't start picking until the second round, its very easy to pick for needs ahead of best available as usually there's not much difference. I reckon Willits was picked under Best Available last year.
Yea Porthos, give the recruiting guys some credit this year, i think they have done a great job despite all the negativity surrounding Rhode in the pack. well done Port, great bunch of guys to have running around in the next few years. Personally I was a bit disappointed we missed out on Roe, but then again, that's how it goes. Pretty happy with our drafting package overall this year.
Toots Hibbert
13 Dec 2005, 10:34
I'm disappointed we couldn't get Jason Roe. Wonder if the club feels the same way or not. I like the fact we've got hold of a few blokes with a bit of mongrel in them. Fingers crossed a couple turn out to be decent players. I like the sound of Looby.
Sandola
13 Dec 2005, 10:44
I'm disappointed we couldn't get Jason Roe. Wonder if the club feels the same way or not. I like the fact we've got hold of a few blokes with a bit of mongrel in them. Fingers crossed a couple turn out to be decent players. I like the sound of Looby.
I guess the club could have had Roe if we'd really wanted him. Maybe that was the discussion at the end of the National Draft.
Anyhow, a little bit of mongrel here, which is good all around, as Porthos pointed out, although too many Vic for my liking--be a bit nervous in a couple of years if any of them do come good.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 10:47
I would reckon blokes coming off the rookie list are much less likely to be `homesick', because the club helped them out when they were down and out. Its almost always early draftees that run away.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 10:52
It's almost as if someone at Port rediscovered the Port player handbook Bucky used to talk about when identifying Port recruits.
Going sight unseen of course, it turned out to be a clear and successful strategy across the 3 drafts. Takes a punt on young talls in the ND, collect a group of solid bodied midfielder/defender/forward types in the PSD/RD as they all seemed to be indistinguishable anyway. I reckon every guy we rookied was named in the Footydraft/Burgatron National phantom drafts.
Interesting that no one went after Logan in all those picks. Did his stand on training only with Port scare off the others, or is he just not that rated?
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 10:56
Just not that rated, I guess. Might just be our Salim Hassan/Jaxon Crabb for 2006.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 11:04
Just not that rated, I guess. Might just be our Salim Hassan/Jaxon Crabb for 2006.
Just couldn't bring yourself to type RFK, could you ... ;)
Yeah tho, he may well be that instant fit Choco likes to have handy.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 11:05
Nah, RFK is different. He was just dumb recruiting, and obviously so at the time.
I named those two as they were both expendable `rookies' that might get elevated for finals and discarded.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 11:08
I guess one thing these guys have to strive for is we will have a few retirements over the next couple of years, so if they perform, they're every chance to get promoted straight up and be ready to go. For me, this looks like the first time our rookie list has looked like a genuine extension of our main list.
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 11:23
Very happy with that, start with Matty Thomas, He is a hard nut.
Tom Rischbieth, Everyone knows something about him. He has a very good motor.
Very happy with Looby. He is very simular to Josh Hunt but he is very aggressive and a ‘Fight Picker’.
Tom Logan, I am surprised we didn’t take him with our PSD pick but however he is still on the list so I am very happy. I AM VERY HAPPY!!!!!!!!
EDIT~ forgot Bently? Who the hell is that???
missionpossible
13 Dec 2005, 11:24
from my notes
29- Matt Thomas – 184/81 (Sandringham) – Right foot – Draft camp – 3.05 for 20m may explain why he doesn’t hurt on the scoreboard more but his 10.22 for 3km is a good reward for his dedication. Nice solid athletic build but he is top age. He can find his way through traffic and his disposal is quite tidy. I don’t think he will make it as a midfielder but he could be handy as a rebounding defender. Doesn’t hurt enough on the score board either. Often takes a long time after marks or free kicks to move the ball forward. He has scope for improvement as he does not have the ability to receive a lot of football. By all reports he is the next Craig Bradley as far as dedication to his body and fitness goes. HBF
75- Tom Rischbieth – 188/81 (Sturt) – Right foot – Draft camp – 3.16 for 20m which makes him slow over the short distance even though he recorded a record 9:30 for the 3km and a record 15.8 beep test. Strong at the marking contest with good hands. Does not appear to be big enough to be a key position player but could be effective as a third tall forward. Needs to improve his ground level work. A brilliant athlete as far as distance times are concerned, rather than that endearing him to me it has cemented in my mind that at this stage he does not have a football brain. Playing reserves in the SANFL. HFF
38- Greg Bentley – 187/83 (Dandenong) – right foot – state screening - 3.06 for 20m shows that he has some tow. 50m+ kick. Has a good leap which helps him to be a good mark for his height. Looks to have good balance and seems to read the play well. Looks to be quite versatile in being able to play anywhere on the field but ruck.
54- Tim Looby – 187/89 (Murray) – Left foot – Draft Camp – Small hands 3.00 by 20m is a good plus for him. Rebounding defender with a long kick that penetrates quickly. He is big for his height but still appears to have a good turn of speed. His weakness appears to be his lack of ability to get a fist onto the ball in a marking contest. Looks dangerous when playing up forward and could well play as a forward flanker who links between defence and the forwards. Reminds one of Stewart Dew but not of his class.
missionpossible
13 Dec 2005, 11:31
Tom prove me wrong.
Looby gets to keep playing alongside Carlile now if only we could arrange for them to go to the same SANFL club.
SANFL draft
Douglas
Carlile
Looby
Thomas
Bentley
Bonaddio
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 11:34
We didn't draft anyone in the rookie draft who wasn't 'ready made'
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 11:37
The more I read, the more I'm liking the Bentley pick. I hope he's made to realise that if he is dedicated, there's a Monty-sized hole in our defence that Choco would love to fill.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 11:41
Very happy with that, start with Matty Thomas, He is a hard nut.
Tom Rischbieth, Everyone knows something about him. He has a very good motor.
Very happy with Looby. He is very simular to Josh Hunt but he is very aggressive and a ‘Fight Picker’.
Tom Logan, I am surprised we didn’t take him with our PSD pick but however he is still on the list so I am very happy. I AM VERY HAPPY!!!!!!!!
EDIT~ forgot Bently? Who the hell is that???
Tell me *PAFC* ... are you happy? ;)
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 11:44
Tell me *PAFC* ... are you happy? ;)
Yeah mate, over the moon. We didn't get anyone I don't like for once. :thumbsu:
And Westies have the number 1 pick, to be developed by the Weed.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 12:14
And Westies have the number 1 pick, to be developed by the Weed.
He'll probably take Richard Douglas ... ;)
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 15:38
SANFL draft
Douglas
Carlile
Looby
Thomas
Bentley
Bonaddio
I may be dumb, but I don't think Logan has been assigned an SANFL club either.
PJ Power
13 Dec 2005, 15:45
I think he may have been attached to Glenelg during his junior (predrafting to Lions) career. Source: McDermott on 5AA this am.
Macca19
13 Dec 2005, 15:45
Well im pretty happy. PLeased with who we got.
Thomas...we were linked with him all along. Seems pretty talented and hard at it and has been likened to Wilbur. If he ends up anywhere near Wilbur in courage and abillity I think we would be stoked.
Richbeith...dunno about him. Basically hoping he can turn into a midfielder really. At the moment he is an undersized full forward. Everyone knows his huge fitness base so hopefully he can work on becoming a midfielder.
Bentley...meh. A small forward that cant kick. Dunno why we chased him after we just got Motlop.
Looby...sounds like a tough nut. Good pick.
Logan...gets his chance.
Pretty happy overall. Hopefully a couple of our rookies can come good this year. If Looby and Logan can come good, and Thomas turns out ok then it sures up our defence for a while.
Thomas even bloody looks a bit like Wilbur.
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/article/240403av.jpg
Interesting to see the PAFC (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=240492) site list the strengths then omit the weaknesses.
Macca19
13 Dec 2005, 15:46
Sam Logan, Toms brother played there. Thats the only link I can think of...I cant remember ever reading Tom went thru Glenelgs juniors at any point.
The Bays are hoping to have him. I believe they were even trying to talk to him in the event that he wasn't drafted.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 15:52
Sam Logan, Toms brother played there. Thats the only link I can think of...I cant remember ever reading Tom went thru Glenelgs juniors at any point.
I think I read Tom Logan was 11 when his family moved to Darwin.
Ford Fairlane
13 Dec 2005, 15:53
The Bays are hoping to have him. I believe they were even trying to talk to him in the event that he wasn't drafted.
It's funny how Glenelg's loathing of all things Port Adelaide disappears when they can get something for free.
PJ Power
13 Dec 2005, 15:55
We were linked to Bentley in the footydraft.com mock draft as well (had him going to us as pick 70).
Thomas and Looby sound the most likely of the group purely based on their reported toughness and the need for us to shore up our peripheral defence with hard-at-it medium-sized players.
Bentley and Rischbieth are interesting picks in that they both seem destined to fall into that graveyard of medium forward.
I agree that Rischbieth may struggle if he doesn't find a niche on a wing, although his profiles mention strong marking and good kicking action for goal.
Melbourne and Sydney have been the prototype teams for developing their forward lines around 185cm forwards.
Overall we have picked up 8 kids through the draft occupying a variety of flank positions/rucks and key defence.
Emphasis still remains on the draftees from 2004 coming good to shore up our midfield. I don't really know where Logan fits in with guys like Thomson, Salopek, Ebert and co. fighting out midfield berths.
I don't really know where Logan fits in with guys like Thompson, Salopek, Ebert and co. fighting out midfield births.
With that attitude is he our Carr replacement ? Carr was a good midfielder - not great - but that ability to go hard at the man and ball - and irritate the opposition into doing something stupid - made him a lot more valuable then just his possession count. Hopefully Logan can be something similar.
Porthos
13 Dec 2005, 16:01
shores up our defence.
midfield berths.
Rischbieth.
Thomson.
The fact that we rated Logan so little, I don't think the club sees a long-term future for him at the club.
I can't get enthused about Logan. The chances of him getting a shot are so low. Thomas will be the interesting one mainly because he's in with a shot each week being on the main list.
shores up our defence.
midfield berths.
Rischbieth.
Thomson.
The fact that we rated Logan so little, I don't think the club sees a long-term future for him at the club.
Even though he has spent time on an AFL list, he is our lightest recruit. Perhaps we want to see if he can put on some weight.
With his style of play he needs it to stop himself being injured.
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 16:23
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=240476
Rookie Draft selection No. 11 - TOM RISCHBIETH
Born: 12 March 1987
Height: 187.9cm, Weight: 80.6kg
Medium forward with an excellent leap and overhead judgement who presented well for SA at U18 level this year. Showed outstanding athleticism at NAB AFL Draft Camp, setting camp records in endurance with Level 15.8 Beep Test and recording 9min 30sec for the 3km. Has an enormous engine and must be considered as a midfield option. 1st Year Law Student. From St Peters College.
Source - AFL
His Draft Camp did wonders for his rating, as he was the star of the show, from an athletic perspective. Rischbieth set endurance records at the camp, finishing with a beep test of level 15.8, while he also recorded a stunning time of 9.30 minutes in the three-kilometre time-trial. Although he has played the majority of his football as a forward, Rischbieth showed at the camp that he possesses an engine that will allow him to push up into the midfield. He represented South Australia in this year's under 18 championships.
Source -AFL.com.au
Honours:
SA U18 Rep 2005 – vice captain
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Statistics:
2005 Under 18 Championships: 3 games, 5 goals, average 6.0 PPG
Draft Camp:
3km time trial: 9:30 (1st)
Beep Test: 15.8 (1st)
Background:
Sturt reserves player this season who really shone during the AFL draft camp in the endurance testing. No player in the camp history has gotten near the records he set in the 3km and beep tests.
He showed some good signs at times during this year’s under 18 championships – providing a good target up forward for South Australia. His marking was a strength, both on the lead and in a contested situation and set shot action really impressed.
Strengths:
- Endurance: Clearly the best ever 3km at draft camp in history and great beep test as well.
- Excellent set shot kick: leans back and action very good
- Strong overhead
Source – footydraft.com
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 16:24
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=240472
Rookie Draft selection No. 27 – GREG BENTLEY
Born: 9 April 1987
Height: 187cm, Weight: 83kg
Medium forward with good balance and courage. Victoria Metro U18 representative and won Stingrays Best and Fairest Award in 2005.
Source - AFL
Honours:
AFL Draft Camp 2004
Dandenong Stingrays captain
Vic Metro U18 2005
Dandenong Stingrays B&F 2005
Victorian State Screening 2005
TAC Stats:
2004 TAC Cup: 16 games, 12 goals, average 15.8 PPG
2005 TAC Cup: 16 games, 19 goals, average 20.4 PPG, 7 times in best
2005 U18 Championships: 3 games, 2 goals, average 12.7 PPG
TAC Awards:
2005 TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 0 votes
2005 TAC Cup Coaches Award: 10 votes
Background:
Versatile player who has proven to be capable up forward or through the midfield in his time at the Stingrays. His 2004 season was good, but as the year went on some niggling injuries affected his performance and despite being a draft camp attendee at the end of last season he was overlooked in the draft. Returned to the TAC Cup this season, as the captain of the Stringrays and also walked away their best and fairest winner. Represented Vic Metro this year as well, and despite missing the Vic Metro Queen’s Birthday trial through injury his reputation was such that he was still able to make the final side. Provides plenty of versatility, namely as a forward and through the midfield and is an especially strong mark overhead.
Strengths:
- Pace and agility is good, able to get free when playing in the centre.
- Versatility
- Is very strong overhead, particularly in contested situations. He can take good one-grab marks and reads the play well
Source – Footydraft.com
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 16:25
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=240475
Rookie Draft selection No. 40 – TIM LOOBY
Born: 2 September 1987
Height: 187cm, Weight: 89kg
Medium defender with a booming left foot kick. Reads the play well, fiercely competitive and provides run out of defense. Victoria Country representative and TAC Cup Team of the Year in 2005. From Congupna FC.
Source – AFL
Honours:
Vic Country U18 2005
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Statistics:
Award Votes:
Background:
Strengths:
Footydraft.com comment:
Source – footydraft.com
*PAFC*13
13 Dec 2005, 16:25
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=240480
Rookie Draft selection No. 52 – TOM LOGAN
Born: 2 July 1985
Height: 183cm, Weight: 73kg
Logan was delisted by Brisbane at the end of 2005, after playing three AFL games in two seasons. Originally from South Australia, Logan has been training with the Power almost on a full-time basis since pre-season training began in early November and has been among the leading runners, such is his endurance.
Logan runs up a storm – By Andrew Capel, The Advertiser
A PLAYER Port Adelaide missed out on drafting two years ago could be on his way to Alberton.
Delisted Brisbane Lions midfielder Tom Logan joined in – and shone – at the Power's first pre-season training run yesterday, increasing his chances of reviving his AFL career.
Logan easily beat 20 Port players in a 3.5km time trial at the Adelaide University gym parklands – and his performance didn't go unnoticed by coach Mark Williams, who has had Logan on his radar since 2003.
"He is a player we looked at drafting a couple of years ago and he's got some qualities which do interest us," Power football operations manager Peter Rohde said.
Number one is the tough 20-year-old Logan's ability to win the ball in traffic.
"He's a hard-nosed, inside midfielder and that's one area we're probably looking at boosting," Rohde said, adding Logan had been given no guarantees about being taken at the national draft on November 26 or pre-season or rookie drafts.
Asked how keen Port was to improve its midfield stocks after the loss in recent seasons of key players Josh Carr, Nick Stevens, Damien Hardwick, Jarrad Schofield, Roger James and Byron Pickett, Rohde said: "We're always looking to boost our list in every way.
"We got some midfielders (in the trade period) but we probably didn't get the inside midfielder we were looking for so ..."
The Power secured Daniel Motlop from the Kangaroos and Nathan Lonie from Hawthorn. Both can play on the ball but Motlop is best suited as a crumbing half-forward and Lonie as a running half-back or wingman. This has enhanced Logan's hopes of getting a call-up – so has the fact he is living in Adelaide.
Logan, who played three senior games with the Lions this year after being taken with the 49th pick at the 2003 national draft from NT club, the Waratahs, was born in Adelaide but moved to Darwin with his family when he was 11. His family moved back to Adelaide two years ago.
Logan made his AFL debut against Port at AAMI Stadium in round two this year, gathering nine disposals in the grand final re-match which the Power won by six points. But his season was ruined by a dislocated shoulder which sidelined him for two months.
An under-18 All-Australian in 2003, the left-footed Logan is the younger brother of former Glenelg forward Sam Logan, who won the Tigers' goalkicking in 2001. He is a former cross-country runner who was second behind former Brisbane ironman Shaun Hart in the Lions' 2004 pre-season time trial.
PJ Power
13 Dec 2005, 16:26
shores up our defence.
midfield berths.
Rischbieth.
Thomson.
Thanks Porthos. Subtle but appreciated.
I forgot how to spell correctly when my handwriting went out the window.
187cm or 6'2"ish (the reason given for recruiting Cochrane) got a workout this year.
PJ Power
13 Dec 2005, 16:31
With that attitude is he our Carr replacement ? Carr was a good midfielder - not great - but that ability to go hard at the man and ball - and irritate the opposition into doing something stupid - made him a lot more valuable then just his possession count. Hopefully Logan can be something similar.
I can see your point, but there was so much more to Josh than just being an irritating, defensive midfielder.
I would like to see Jimmy Ezard inherit the role that Carr, Kane Cornes and Cassisi have all played so well.
Logan could certainly be used in that way too, but he seems to be a long way down the pecking order of midfield options.
missionpossible
13 Dec 2005, 16:43
I really have no idea on Logan, so his name can be added to the SANFL draft if he is not conected to a club.