View Full Version : Riverina FL - Off Season News

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39

localfootyguru
12th December 2005, 08:45
As a long time follower of this league, can anyone post any news of the off season happenings in the Riverina FL?

The only news I have heard is that Grand Finalists in 2005 in Narrandera have lost a number of players including league best and fairest Nathan Reynoldson returning to Mansfield and Ashley Thomson going to Euroa in the GVFL. Also, key forward Jason McMartin is going to Wodonga Raiders in the OMFL.

half time lollies
12th December 2005, 10:40
Barry O'Brien from Queensland will be coaching Mangoplah. Barry has played with Morningside, Coolangatta and Strathpine Swans in recent years. Billy Dixon from Mt.Beauty has also signed there. Billy was runner up in the league best and fairest in the Tallangata and district comp.

arceri
15th December 2005, 09:19
Ganmain look certainties.

Lost Shayne Lenon (retired) and Johnston (Wodonga Raiders), but picked up Macri and some other high-profile player.

They were 10 goals better than the pack last year and I don't think anything has changed.

pekay-norwest
16th December 2005, 11:30
Not much ive heard(im in Sydney)but you may find this interesting.taken from www.bdafl.com.au Newcastle/Central Coast Footy site-moderators,if i cant paste this im sure you'll get rid of it for me.... The Board tonight accepted an invitation from the Southern Riverina NSW AFL to compete in an inter-league series in Wagga on 20 May.

Other leauges competing at this stage involve the RFL, Farrer, Hume, Coreen and Northern Riverina with matches to be played on Maher Oval and the adjacent Anderson Oval for the Cougar Sportswear Cup.

In the provisional draw, the BDAFL will face the strong Farrer League then the Northern Riverina League in the preliminary matches before the finals.

Depending where the league finishes they will then play off for a final position in a 4 x 15 minute quarter game on one of the two grounds.

The league had three representative options from which to chose this year and selected this because of the constant and solid competitive opposition.

In the 2005 season the BDAFL defeated the Hume Football League in an interleague game at Culcairn so they feel that they should be competitive in the company they will play in Wagga.

At the May Carnival, NSW selectors will be on hand to chose a representative NSW Country Team to compete in the National Country Championships in Perth later in the year.

The Board will begin to put together their representative programme early in 2006 and anticipate a positive reaction to the plans for a tough but enjoyable representative roster

half time lollies
21st December 2005, 07:19
Brandon Ryan will be another departure for Ganmain. Heading overseas with his girlfriend. Will be a massive loss.

arceri
21st December 2005, 13:24
Ryan will be missed...Ganmain may only have 6 goals on the pack after that,

Coolamon had a big crack at wodonga's Darren Bradshaw, but went to Cobram for around $25 to $30,000.

RiverinAFL
3rd January 2006, 07:30
Here's a link to the 2006 draw

http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/rpt_fixture.cgi?fixture_type=2&client=%40Murrumbidgee%20Valley%20Australian%20Football%20As sociation%401046%4038782%40%40%40%40%404%40RFL%20First%20Gra de%40%40&pool=-1

RiverinAFL
3rd January 2006, 07:47
Shot Swans star hailed as a hero

A GRIFFITH Swans star is in a critical condition after being shot in the stomach during an act of heroism in a Melbourne suburb on Thursday.
Tim Birks, 25, was in Melbourne for the Boxing Day cricket Test but his holiday went horribly wrong when he confronted a man allegedly trying to break into a car in St Kilda.
Police allege Mr Birks and his friend Andrew Hyde, from Wagga, approached the man and argued with him when the man fired a shot into the air at 2.30am causing Mr Birks’ ear to bleed.
It is believed the pair then chased the man down the street where Mr Birks was shot in the stomach at close range and his friend suffered a minor injury to his leg.
Mr Birks is currently in a critical but stable condition in Alfred Hospital and Griffith residents are wishing him the best of luck.
The hospital yesterday said Mr Birks’ condition was improving and he is expected to make a full recovery.
Fellow Swans player and mate Matt McDonald was shocked at the news and hopes his friend has a quick recovery.
“It is pretty brave what he has done,” Mr McDonald said.
“I wish him all the best, he is the nicest bloke, he doesn't have a bad bone in his body.
“He has made a lot of friends here over the last year and I am sure they would all be wishing him the best.
“We are all just waiting for more news now and hoping he comes through all of this all right.” Mr Birks’ parents were in Melbourne at his bedside and were unable to make comment.
Swans Football Club president George Duncan said the entire club was rallying behind Mr Birks, who played on the half-forward flank.
“It (the shooting) makes me sick in the stomach, although we have heard he will be okay,” Mr Duncan said.
He said he was not surprised at the brave actions of Mr Birks.
“He’s a genuine bloke,” Mr Duncan said.
“He’s never a guy to go looking for trouble.
He’s a quiet, normal bloke.” Mr Duncan said news of the shooting had spread to team members holidaying across the country and they were all ringing in their best wishes.
Mr Birks works at Flavourtech in Griffith, a company that designs food and beverage processing systems.
The alleged gunman, Brian David McAllister, 26, appeared in Melbourne Magistrate’s Court on Friday charged with one count of attempted murder, intentionally causing serious injury and intentionally causing injury.
He also faces three counts of reckless conduct endangering life as well as firearms and drugs charges.
Police said they believed he was under the influence of drugs.

localfootyguru
9th January 2006, 12:06
Just wondering Riverinafl if you had any news on how Tim Birks is doing? Hopefully he is on the mend.

Interesting to read that Narrandera still doesnt have a coach for 2006 - how can a team that played in the 2005 grand final be in this situation with no coach and many players also leaving the club.

RiverinAFL
10th January 2006, 08:37
The last article I read was Tim was improving better that the medical staff imagined. I think he should almost be back home and should recover very well. I doubt he will play this year but you just never know.

Article located and added below (from 4th January Griffith Area News)

Shooting victim on mend

A GRIFFITH Swans player who was shot in the stomach when trying to catch a thief on a Melbourne street last week has spoken of his ordeal for the first time.
Speaking from his hospital bed, Tim Birks, 25, said he clearly remembers chasing the man and recalls the horrifying moment the crazed gunman fired a bullet at him from point blank range.
“I remember the whole thing,” Mr Birks said.
“But I haven’t really sat down and gone over it in my head … it’s too hard right now.
“I’m just trying to recover.”
He said he was feeling “very tired and slow” and hadn't been able to eat since the shooting but thanked everyone in Griffith for their support.
“Thank you so much to everyone who has rung or sent cards,” he said.
“It’s very hard to think about what happened but it makes it easier to think about it with the support of everyone.”
Mr Birks underwent an operation on Monday to remove the bullet, which missed his spine by just three inches but pierced his intestine and spleen.
“They managed to remove the bullet without having to do too much, which was good,” he said.
Mr Birks and a friend were in Melbourne for the Boxing Day cricket Test when they saw a man allegedly trying to break into a car at St Kilda.
According to police, Mr Birks and his friend approached the man and argued with him when the man fired a shot in the air.
Police say the pair then chased the alleged gunman down the street where Mr Birks was shot in the stomach at close range.
The alleged offender, Brian David McAllister, 26, has been charged with a string of offences including attempted murder and is awaiting trial.
Mr Birks’ good friend and Swans teammate Damien Scott said he was amazed at his rate of recovery.
“I spoke to him on Monday night and he sounded really good,” Mr Scott said.
“He’s obviously pretty freaked out about what happened and he just wants time to recover and reflect on what happened.
“He’s still coming to terms with the shock of it I think.
“The support of the whole sporting community has been great and he’s coming along very well.”
Mr Birks is expected to be out of hospital in about two weeks.

jimmy35
10th January 2006, 09:11
Just wondering Riverinafl if you had any news on how Tim Birks is doing? Hopefully he is on the mend.

Interesting to read that Narrandera still doesnt have a coach for 2006 - how can a team that played in the 2005 grand final be in this situation with no coach and many players also leaving the club.

Narrandera worked really hard to get where they did in 2005 and then asked their coach , Shaun Brooker , to 're-apply' for the job. He was suitably unimpressed after the hard yards he felt he helped them gain that season. Brooker had coached the reserves the year before to a flag. A mixture of players wanting to better themselves , ie Brett Powell(brother of reluctant Kangaroo Mark) and disenchantment with Brooker leaving caused a big loss that they will not fill.

And yes Ganmain will be a street ahead of the pack despite their losses.

localfootyguru
10th January 2006, 11:36
Inetersting to read your information Jimmy - why has this happened? Surely if a team makes the grand final in one year (also the first time in a very long time) that you would think the club would ensure all things are in place to ensure the team goes one step further the next year. Why was Shaun Brooker not reappointed immediately in 2005?

Also heard a strong rumor that Craig Nettlebeck (ex Sydney Swan) may be returning to play some games with Leeton in 2006. Has been out of football for a while but is apparently in great condition fitness wise.

Hows things travelling at Coolamon?

jimmy35
10th January 2006, 12:54
Haven't heard much from Coolamon way , I will probably be catching up with a couple of the boys waterskiing in the next week or two , I will see what they have to say.
Narrandera may , and I say may , have just gotten a little bit ahead of themselves in regard to where they stood. Brooker was also a little at fault in my opinion , he was free to apply again but was offended that he wasn't automatically re-appointed so stood down.
I have also heard a whisper from some Leeton people about the Nettlebeck thing as well but not from any club sources.

What's your connection to this area 'guru?

localfootyguru
11th January 2006, 07:50
Interesting to read your comments about Shaun Brooker. My observations of him from afar were that he really wasn't much good as a playing coach as he seemed to be everywhere the ball wasnt. How can a guy that is 6 foot plus in height play himself at full back one day!!!! Think he may have been better suited to a non playing role.

Do you know anything about a new coach for them in 2006? I heard the statement from someone that Narrandera believed they will have as good a team in 2006 as they did in 2005. How can that be so when they have lost their 3 best players in Reynoldson, Thomson and Powell.

Jimmy, my connection is that I grew up in the area and have a keen interest in the game in the region. I get back to the area a bit and try and go and watch a game or two that interests me. I don't have any particular affliation to any club.

jimmy35
11th January 2006, 08:33
Brooker struggled , he is one big unit but has a real lack of mobility , good footy brain but not the body to utilize it fully. Narrandera wanted a playing coach I believe , so he played. Flawed logic I know but that's what it was.
Narrandera will be middle of the pack at best , 3 best players gone and several good ones as well with no word on replacements or indeed a coach I feel they will struggle.

localfootyguru
11th January 2006, 09:07
How do you get all the mail Jimmy? Whats your connection with the Riverina FL?

Have to agree with you about Narrandera and Shaun Brooker - should not have been a playing coach.

Got any other mail on the happenings in the off season? I have another good rumor but will leave it until a later posting.

jimmy35
11th January 2006, 10:50
I played at Ganmain for many seasons and have connection with Coolamon boys via Ganmain friends , pretty much the same with the Wagga teams as well , friends and friends of friends mainly. I live in Narrandera and work in Leeton so I seem to have a lot of the area covered.
Haven't heard too may of local rumours though to tell you the truth , haven't been actively involved in the footy club for a while.

killa
11th January 2006, 15:41
Ganmain look certainties.

Lost Shayne Lenon (retired) and Johnston (Wodonga Raiders), but picked up Macri and some other high-profile player.

They were 10 goals better than the pack last year and I don't think anything has changed.Sorry which Macri is that?

Doona2
11th January 2006, 20:15
Is Damian Lang still returning to Leeton?

jimmy35
11th January 2006, 20:57
Is Damian Lang still returning to Leeton?

I've heard he was but then I heard that for the last couple of years as well.

localfootyguru
12th January 2006, 08:35
Damien Lang will be playing for Leeton in 2006. He has already returned to live and work in Leeton. A great pick up for the club.

Apparantly he may also bring a number of other recruits along with him which will be of great benefit to Leeton with their already impressive mix of experience and youth. He will be of great assistance to senior coach Jamie Broadbent who did a fantastic job in 2005.

The Macri is Christian Macri - has been coaching the reserves for Williamstown in the VFL.

Doona2
12th January 2006, 10:16
Damien Lang will be playing for Leeton in 2006. He has already returned to live and work in Leeton. A great pick up for the club.
Apparantly he may also bring a number of other recruits along with him which will be of great benefit to Leeton with their already impressive mix of experience and youth. He will be of great assistance to senior coach Jamie Broadbent who did a fantastic job in 2005.

Good to hear, he's dad would be rapt to have hiim back in Leeton colours

localfootyguru
13th January 2006, 06:01
Heard a rumor that a recently retired Riverina FL senior coach is considering taking up umpiring in 2006. Can anyone confirm?

RiverinAFL
17th January 2006, 08:24
The new flood lighting has recently been completed at Narrandera Sportsground. The ground is now capable of holding AFL/NRL Trial Matches and International Day/Night Cricket.

Following is the first event to be held:

From MVAVA Website:

Please indicate your clubs interest to participate in a pre-season carnival to be played as a twilight competition at the Narrandera Sports Ground in late February early March 2006 played on Friday / Saturday evenings

This would be an excellent way to acknowledge the efforts of the Narrandera Shire Council and the committee of workers who have been behind the lighting of the Narrandera Sports Ground.

Indicate your clubs interest by contacting the Football Operations Manager on 0428 213 486

localfootyguru
17th January 2006, 09:26
Good to hear about the new lighting being installed at Narrandera. A terrific ground for a small town to have and certainly from my experience, the best facility in the Riverina.

Sounds like the lights will be used for many things too - Riverinafl can you tell me any more about what was done there?

RiverinAFL
17th January 2006, 14:50
Hi Guru

Basically 4 light towers each containing 30 globes. Still tracking down specs for website. I think they are 25 to 30 mtres high.

A pic of the lights is at the following link.

http://www.riverinafl.com/Narrandera%20Sports%20Ground.html

jimmy35
17th January 2006, 19:28
Looks great too fellas , even in the day time it a wonderful sight for our town. Looks a treat when they are up and running as well , makes me wish I were still playing footy. I played in a couple of pre-season day/night comps at Maher Oval in Wagga and it was always a treat to play under lights.
Lavington always looks good lit up for AFL pre-season games when I have been down there.
They have put a hell of a lot of money and time into the actual playing surface as well , the AFL inspected the ground a year or two ago and reccomended some changes needed if they were going to host any AFL games. Narrandera Shire Council and the footy club are to be commended on finally getting the ground up and running.

localfootyguru
17th January 2006, 19:54
Sounds like all positive stuff regarding the Narrandera Sportsground. Great to hear the council and the community are working together to improve the facility for the community. When I was passing through there in late 2005 the oval surface and surrounds looked a treat - well presented, clean and certainly presented a positive image of Narrandera, as a matter of fact I couldnt believe how good things looked in the whole of the town of Narrandera - really looked like things were on the move there.

Always difficult for small local councils to find money to improve recreational facilities so its really pleasing to hear about the improvements to the Sportsground. Always enjoyed going to watch footy there and will have to get back soon to see the improvments.

RiverinAFL
19th January 2006, 08:54
2006 CHARITY SHIELD

The 2006 Charity Shield match played annually between the premiers from the participating leagues will be held on Saturday 18th March at Narrandera Sports Ground. As well as Riverina and Farrer League premiers, this year sees the inclusion of the Coreen and Hume Leagues premiers. (Coleambally and Osborne)

* Ganmain GGM go into the match under new coach Christian Macri who returns to the Riverina Football League after an absence of some three years.

* Northern Jets will be striving to continue their winning form led by last year's premiership winning coach Nigel Smith.

* Coleambally will be under their new coach Matt Gleeson (ex Osborne) and are keen to continue on their winning way.

* Osborne Cats, one of country footballs most successful clubs, go into their 2006 campaign under new coach Graham Hart (ex O and M club Lavington)

This year the games will be played, for the first time, under lights at the Narrandera Sports Ground. The Narrandera Shire Council has made a huge investment in the ground with the best standard of lighting in the Riverina. It is anticipated that this along with the improvement in the playing surface, will see the ground of AFL standard, suitable for preseason `Wizard Cup' games.

Full catering facilities will be available with all proceeds from catering, ground raffle and gates going to Angel Flight (Narrandera).

Game Schedule:

Game 1: Commencing at 6.30 pm

COLEAMBALLY BLUES - COREEN LEAGUE PREMIERS
versus
OSBORNE CATS - HUME LEAGUE PREMIERS

Game 2: Commencing at 8.15 pm

GANMAIN GGM LIONS - RIVERINA LEAGUE PREMIERS
versus
NORTHERN JETS - FARRER LEAGUE PREMIERS

Both games will be 4 x 20 minute quarters (no time on added)
Each team nominates (24) players including (6) interchange

Come along and enjoy a great game of pre-season football and at the same time support a worthwhile charity.

ANGEL FLIGHT AUSTRALIA

Angel Flight Australia is a charity that co-ordinates non-emergency flights for financially and medically needy people. All flights are free and may involve patients or compassionate carers travelling to or from medical facilities anywhere in Australia.

localfootyguru
30th January 2006, 20:49
Need a Job, while playing football.

Leeton-Whitton Crows in the Riverina Football League seeks players with major league credentials.
Packages are available for football and work. Work available for:
• electrical apprenticeships,
• electricians,
• bricklayers,
• welders,
• builders,
• graded journalist, and
• other areas.
Contact John Howe: howej@mirrigation.com.au, or Ph: 02-69538806 (ah).

localfootyguru
31st January 2006, 10:29
Narrandera FC have finally appointed a coach for 2006 in Jamie Grintell (ex Wagga Tigers) and his assistant is Peter Heath (ex Wodonga Raiders). Also, the club is currently in the process of signing some Melbourne based players who are going to travel to the Riverina each week.

Perhaps someone can provide some information on these guys and their backgrounds.

RiverinAFL
31st January 2006, 14:30
Latest moves are here

RFL and FFL 2006 Clearances (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/assoc_page.cgi?client=%40Murrumbidgee%20Valley%20Australian% 20Football%20Association%401046%4038782%40%40%40%40%404%40RF L%20First%20Grade%401%40&action=CLEAR)

harsh, but fair
31st January 2006, 14:36
It seems Wagga Tigers have been plundered in the off-season by clubs locally and the O and M where a couple of their better types from last year (Fyfe and Kahlfeldt) will play for Wodonga Raiders.
What conclusion can be drawn from this?
Is the Canberra move not the success the club may have hoped after 4 years with of less than spectacular results.

localfootyguru
1st February 2006, 07:28
Interesting to see a number of Wagga Tigers players moving into neighbouring leagues for the 2006 season. I think the lure of the dollar is the major influence with all these movements. Wagga Tigers do not have the money to pay higher levels of match payments to players so I guess a number of these so called talents think their market value is higher than what the club thinks they are worth.

Also, possibly the travel to Canberra may be an issue too? Not the most inspiring trip every second week.

Disappointing to lose these guys as the Tigers have a really good coach in Matt Walder for the 2006 season too.

harsh, but fair
1st February 2006, 10:03
If they haven't got the dollars why did they go to Canberra in the first place?
Everyone knows teams in the Canberra comp pay way over the odds for players just to attract them to perhaps the most boring city in Aust which doesn't have a true footy culture.
I think if this is the case they should cut their losses at the end of this season.
They are never going to enjoy the success they did in the Riverina league because everybody is basically playing for second since the Swans reserves moved into the comp.

localfootyguru
14th February 2006, 20:05
Some more off season gossip from the Riverina FL.

- A number of RFL clubs have expressed concerns over Narrandera FC's intention to play 4 games at night at the newly floodlight Narrandera Sportsground - isnt this initative great for country football and needs to be fully supported?

- Griffith have recruited well including the signing of an ex SANFL player from the Sturt Football Club. All things looking good there after the 2005 "wasted year" as the players termed it.

- Leeton Whitton FC are close to signing ex Sydney Swan Craig Nettlebeck who is wanting to return home to finish his football career. Having signings of Nettlebeck and Damien Lang would be great steps forward for the club in 2006.

- Turvey Park is having difficulties in recruiting players in 2006. The club has apparently had many discussions with potential recruits but has not been able to get them over the line. This is probably based on the lack of recent success by the former RFL powerhouse.

RiverinAFL
15th February 2006, 14:18
- A number of RFL clubs have expressed concerns over Narrandera FC's intention to play 4 games at night at the newly floodlight Narrandera Sportsground - isnt this initative great for country football and needs to be fully supported?

This is a bit silly considering Griffith have 2 nights games in the first 4 rounds.
Obviously Griffith is not one of the teams that have concerns considering they had the forsight and initiative to promote evening games 4 years ago.

RiverinAFL
15th February 2006, 14:20

This is a bit silly considering Griffith have 2 nights games in the first 4 rounds.
Obviously Griffith is not one of the teams that have concerns considering they had the forsight and initiative to promote evening games 4 years ago.

It also allows for visiting teams from the east to get their Under 18's to the game.

jimmy35
16th February 2006, 17:08

Yes there is much disquiet over the Eagles plans for night games but I am of the view as are you that it is a great thing for country footy . The only down side I have heard is the fact that it is a huge advantage for them????? Please!!

- Griffith have recruited well including the signing of an ex SANFL player from the Sturt Football Club. All things looking good there after the 2005 "wasted year" as the players termed it.

Haven't heard much from the Swannies at all.

- Leeton Whitton FC are close to signing ex Sydney Swan Craig Nettlebeck who is wanting to return home to finish his football career. Having signings of Nettlebeck and Damien Lang would be great steps forward for the club in 2006.

I believe Craigs deal is done and dusted . He will be back in Leeton colours this season . A great thing for the club.

- Turvey Park is having difficulties in recruiting players in 2006. The club has apparently had many discussions with potential recruits but has not been able to get them over the line. This is probably based on the lack of recent success by the former RFL powerhouse.

Money also an issue I believe . As it is with a lot of country football clubs.

Also the Tigers problems are partly money and a bit to do with the travel. I have heard a lot of travel was wearing thin on them.They extended themselves and they should be congratulated but should have waited for the O & M option to open up for them. ( If indeed it ever would have )

harsh, but fair
16th February 2006, 19:06
I reckon if you did a survey of OM clubs right now I would be surprised if the vast majority didn't think admitting Wagga Tigers was a good idea.
But, the longer they stay in the Canberra comp the more they are going to struggle to hold their players.
The novelty has well and truly worn off.
Wodonga is coached by former Wagga Tigers star Jarrod Twitt and don't tell me he isn't trying to get players out of there even at this stage of the pre-season.
A reality check pls.

NSWelshman
20th February 2006, 20:53
[QUOTE=localfootyguru]Narrandera FC have finally appointed a coach for 2006 in Jamie Grintell (ex Wagga Tigers) and his assistant is Peter Heath (ex Wodonga Raiders).

Ive heard about the appointment of Grintell but how true is the Peter Heath, there hasnt been anything in the papers about it, if it is true whats your source

localfootyguru
20th February 2006, 21:26
My source regarding Peter Heath's appointment was from someone involved with the club. Apparently the appointment has also appeared in local newspapers and other media sources. Also my mail informs me that Peter is training with the club. Do you have news otherwise NS Welshmen?

Also, good to hear the news on Nettlebeck joing Leeton - the Crows will certainly be on the rise in 2006 with him and Damien Lang pulling on the Crows colours.

NSWelshman
21st February 2006, 21:20
I havent seen it in the Advertiser but it might have been in the Argus, but I have heard that he was going to Coleambally

RiverinAFL
24th February 2006, 11:27
I havent seen it in the Advertiser but it might have been in the Argus, but I have heard that he was going to Coleambally

There is no mention on the O&M, Coreen and RFL transfers lists as of today.

Sonny
25th February 2006, 20:10
There is no mention on the O&M, Coreen and RFL transfers lists as of today.
Jamie keenan is joint coach at Merebin- Sunraysia. Is he from your area and can he play?

Lemon time
26th February 2006, 13:27
Any news from Coolamon or East Wagga? How are they looking thisd year? EW finished strongly last season.

RiverinAFL
27th February 2006, 10:13
Hey Sonny, looks like he played about 5-6 years at the Eastern Hawks (East Wagga-Kooringal) attached is his playing record from the Hawks website

2005; 17 games with firsts, Total firsts games for Club, 87
No record of games played in 2nds or 3rds so looks like he played all his footy in the top level.

He may have even played in their last Grandfinal back in 2001

ringo1
27th February 2006, 10:59
Guys is anyone keen to predict a top 5 up there? The footy was very strong in the late 90's with Wayne Weideman, Terry and Chris Daniher and Merv Neagle all coaching at various times. What is the standard like now?

RiverinAFL
28th February 2006, 09:09
Guys is anyone keen to predict a top 5 up there? What is the standard like now?

Ganmain to finish top but the rest is a lottery like last year.

Probably a fight between, Griffith, Leeton, Eastern Hawks, Narrandera.
Dark horse MCUE

Coolamon may be there if they pick up some late recruits. They have lost a few key players. Turvey may get the spoon again.

I would say there maybe a game between last and fifth this year

The standard has slowly picked up each year since 2002 when Wagga went to the ACT. A larger number of interstate, SANFL/WAFL/ACT and Melbourne boys are starting to filter thru.

Last Years Grandfinal crowd was the 3rd highest in the last 12 years.
2001 and 2002 were a couple of the lowest on record. They have been increasing by $2-3000 every year since 2001. No price increase since 2001 has also helped plus the emergence of teams that have not been in finals for 5-10 years.

ringo1
28th February 2006, 11:51
Thanks Riverinafl. I have'nt really followed the RFL since Daniher coached Tigers and Turvey park were a force then as well. I think Leeton were also very good around then. I see that you might be from Griffith; i think I heard that you guys won a flag recently. ganmain are always there abouts- a great effort from a small community.:thumbsu:

localfootyguru
28th February 2006, 20:09
Footy in the Riverina FL has suffered like many other country leagues in recent times due to the loss of quality players to the city and leagues like the O&M and the GVFL where big money is or has been on offer.

In recent years, the league has undergone a revival mainly due to stable and good administration and the revival in fortunes of non Wagga based clubs. Great to see clubs like GGGM, Leeton, Narrandera and Griffith all leading the way and being successful both on and off the field. Also the focus on community based football has been a real winner for these clubs too through not paying high priced and ego driven recruits!

GGGM will once again be the team to beat, but watch out for Leeton and Eastern Hawks too. I think that Griffith may also be a big improver after last years "wasted year" as they don't tolerate mediocrity at Exies Oval.

Should be a good year and probably very even too in the Riverina FL.

pekay-norwest
1st March 2006, 06:29
Does anyone know if Macri will be playing in the game vs Sydney FL?

RiverinAFL
2nd March 2006, 07:50
Thanks Riverinafl. I have'nt really followed the RFL since Daniher coached Tigers and Turvey park were a force then as well. I think Leeton were also very good around then. I see that you might be from Griffith; i think I heard that you guys won a flag recently. ganmain are always there abouts- a great effort from a small community.:thumbsu:

Yeah Ringo, born and bred in Griffith. Left due to work commitments in late 70's but roved around the region till the late 80's when I hit the big smoke. Did some work with the RFL from 84-87 helping out in the treasurers box during the finals with the late great Ganmain and South West stalwart Vic Woolnough. I worked on and off in Ganmain so got to know a few of the locals. Great community that has spread Australia wide. They all come back home when the Lions are in the Grandfinal.

The Swanies finally won the elusive flag in 2003, 35 years was too long

Lemon time
4th March 2006, 08:36
Footy in the Riverina FL has suffered like many other country leagues in recent times due to the loss of quality players to the city and leagues like the O&M and the GVFL where big money is or has been on offer.

I dont think the loss of talent in the riverina is so much a money issue. A number of clubs have money but cant attract any players because they want to play in the high standard leagues like O&M and GVFL....the RFL simply doesnt offer a challenge to them. I read recently about a mass exodus of players from Narrandera in the DA (apparently 15 from last years side). Rumour has it that most of these players have gone to O&M and GVFL chasing better football. If Narrandera have indeed lost 15.....it will be tough for them to win a game, let alone field a twos side.

What does the future bring for clubs like Narrandera and leagues like the RFL?

NSWelshman
6th March 2006, 10:30
Money is making it hard to attract players as well as retain players, but I believe that the leagues profile has taken a battering ever since we were forced by NSW AFL to leave the VCFL inter league competition, some time back. We used to compete in the 1st Division agains O&M GVFL etc and won the 2nd division a couple times back in the 80s and 90s. Now the interleague set up is a farce. Ask a player to come to the RFL and unless they are this side of the border they dont know anything about us.

Clubs like Narrandera will always be up and down due to employment but they have a good juniour program and no other footy codes to compete with at the moment, if all clubs continue to foster their juniors they will survive

RiverinAFL
6th March 2006, 13:51
Clubs like Narrandera will always be up and down due to employment but they have a good juniour program and no other footy codes to compete with at the moment, if all clubs continue to foster their juniors they will survive

There have been numerous requests recently to include the Juniors as part of the days competition.

The problem here at the moment is scheduling and 2 Junior Leagues running in the region with separate affiliations to the Senior level.
The other being clubs having a couple of playing fields in the same complex otherwise you would only be in a position to play one of the 3 age divisions, U/12's, U/14's U/16's.

I would think that they would play the U/16s. But a better option would be to rotate the age divisions each week, thus giving all the kids the opportunity to play on Seniors game day. Even to the point of scheduling the occasional game before the Seniors match.

GEGE
7th March 2006, 09:52
Narrandera FC have finally appointed a coach for 2006 in Jamie Grintell (ex Wagga Tigers) and his assistant is Peter Heath (ex Wodonga Raiders). Also, the club is currently in the process of signing some Melbourne based players who are going to travel to the Riverina each week.

Perhaps someone can provide some information on these guys and their backgrounds.

i have heard of one melbourne player, albe gleeson going to Narrandera he trained there last week he is from oak park in the essendon district fl.

ringo1
7th March 2006, 11:30
Why dont the RFL drop the interleague game against the SFL? Compete in the Vic championships thus gaining some profile. Then players will know more about the league and maybe be prepared to play up that way. Some scores in the Sunday papers may also help-just a little thing.:)

NSWelshman
7th March 2006, 18:51
Ringo1, if only it was that easy. Many yrs ago the Riverina Football League was used as a pawn in a game of power chess and were well and truly stritched up by the powers to be. NSW AFL wanted the RFL wholey and soley affiliated with NSW AFL, as back then they were the jewel in NSW AFL crown, they with the help of AFL backing done a deal with VCFL. VCFL kicked RFL out of the competition, thus have never played in it since. I doubt whether things would have changed, plus the structure of football around here has changed and RFL are no longer a sole entity controlling its own destiny, we are now puppets of the NSW AFL, we are now expendable, Sydney Football League is the Jewel in Crown etc etc. But good idea about the paper

ringo1
8th March 2006, 06:57
:thumbsu: Thanks NSWelshman for the info. As the current format in Vic is a round robin it would be good for RFL to play in both interleague fixtures. I acknowledge the constraints though. I for one would love to see more info from that league.

Lemon time
8th March 2006, 18:06
i have heard of one melbourne player, albe gleeson going to Narrandera he trained there last week he is from oak park in the essendon district fl.

I have heard the same.....I also heard Griffith were signing a guy called Daniel Meade.....does anyone have any oil on these guys???? Or can confirm that they are playing in the RFL this year?

localfootyguru
8th March 2006, 19:58
Not sure of that but my news tells me that Narrandera are well advanced in signing some Melbourne based players as part of a "package."

Think they are going to need a fair bit of help considering what has left after their appearance in the 2005 Grand Final. Things are not looking as rosy on field for the 2005 Riverina FL runner up.

The club's main promising aspect is the installation of new floodlights, which are apprently fantastic - saw some photos the other day and they look great and the oval itself looked a picture.

Perhaps somone has seen it in the flesh and can tell us what its like?

RiverinAFL
9th March 2006, 08:04
I have heard the same.....I also heard Griffith were signing a guy called Daniel Meade.....does anyone have any oil on these guys???? Or can confirm that they are playing in the RFL this year?

Here's the clearance details
Transfer From
Warrnambool & District Football League (Deakin University)
To
GRIFFITH (Riverina Football League)
Player
Meade, Daniel
Pending 07/03/06
Finalisation Date 00/00/00

ringo1
9th March 2006, 08:29
Being from down that way I can tell you that there is a big difference between Deakin( The Sharks) footy and the RFL. I don't think Meade will have much impact up your way.

ratley
9th March 2006, 15:22
Meadie not to bad a player, should be good for social functions, loves it ********!

ringo1
9th March 2006, 18:31
Guys who are the top five players,coaches and teams up there for 06?:thumbsu:

GEGE
15th March 2006, 14:57
does any know the results of the games in narrendera last friday night.
did narrandera have any new recruits

NSWelshman
16th March 2006, 18:24
Narranderas Opponents The Rock Yerong Creek decided not to play, so Narrandera played half a game with I think it was Marrar ????, and Griffith also played half a game. But I do know that they have only recently had a big influx of recruits from a couple of clubs in the Essendon District Football League put in for clearances.

Lemon time
19th March 2006, 09:43
I watched the games. Narrandera played well (they would have won both games against Griffith and Rivcoll pretty easily) and a number of the Oak park players got plenty of the ball. If they get cleared Narrandera may go OK this year. Rivcoll accounted for Griffith pretty easily as well which makes me think the swans were a bit undermanned.

I also heard a rumour that Narrandera were close to signing Peter Heath from Wodonga Raiders, can anyone confirm? I also noticed a fair few players heading to East Wagga (on Sporting Pulse), Leeton and Griffith could be a step un in class for first grade this year in RFL!

head67
19th March 2006, 11:32
As a long time follower of this league, can anyone post any news of the off season happenings in the Riverina FL?

The only news I have heard is that Grand Finalists in 2005 in Narrandera have lost a number of players including league best and fairest Nathan Reynoldson returning to Mansfield and Ashley Thomson going to Euroa in the GVFL. Also, key forward Jason McMartin is going to Wodonga Raiders in the OMFL. Have been in this league for past 15 years will attempt to keep you posted.
Can tell you that Narrandera has lost a total of 14 1st grade players. sporting pulse to check clearences. Have now picked up 6. But they are in desperate need of some height. First obs suggest they will lack depth. On Brooker he was told at the start that it was a 1 year deal. He never had players support because he struggled badly as a player.

head67
19th March 2006, 11:38
I watched the games. Narrandera played well (they would have won both games against Griffith and Rivcoll pretty easily) and a number of the Oak park players got plenty of the ball. If they get cleared Narrandera may go OK this year. Rivcoll accounted for Griffith pretty easily as well which makes me think the swans were a bit undermanned.

I also heard a rumour that Narrandera were close to signing Peter Heath from Wodonga Raiders, can anyone confirm? I also noticed a fair few players heading to East Wagga (on Sporting Pulse), Leeton and Griffith could be a step un in class for first grade this year in RFL!
Peter Heath was steered into a job by the club and is now stuffing them around. Any one know any thing about the bloke?

RiverinAFL
20th March 2006, 10:48
The change in concept this year saw the introduction of the Coreen and Hume league premiers from 2005.

Played under the new and spectacular lighting at Narrandera Sports Ground both games proved to be winners with both the players and spectators.

2006 CHARITY SHIELD
NARRANDERA SPORTS GROUND
Saturday 18th March 2006.

Game 1:
Coleambally Blues versus Osborne Cats

COLEAMBALLY
1st Qrt 3-1
2nd Qrt 6-1
3rd Qrt 7-2
4th Qrt 12-2-74

OSBORNE
1st Qrt 1-4
2nd Qrt 3-5
3rd Qrt 6-5
4th Qrt 7-6-48

BEST ON GROUND: LYNNE SOMERVILLE MEDAL - Damian Mannes (Coleambally)

COLEAMBALLY - CDFL
GOAL KICKERS
B. Kelly 7, M. Gleeson 2, S. Pound 2, J. Heath 1

BEST PLAYERS
B. Kelly, D. Pound, S. Pound, M. Gleeson, T. Groves, J. Buchanan

OSBORNE - HFL
GOAL KICKERS
G. Hart 2, A. Clark 1, G. Barber 2, H. Gleeson 2

BEST PLAYERS
A. Armstrong, A. Michel, D. Flanigan, S. Doig, G. Barber, H. Gleeson

Game 2:
Ganmain GGM Lions versus Ardlethan Ariah Park Mirrool - Northern Jets

GANMAIN GGM
1st Quarter 6-4
2nd Quarter 9-10
3rd Quarter 13-15
4th Quarter 16-15-111

NORTHEN JETS
1st Quarter`0-0
2nd Quarter 1-0
3rd Quarter 3-0
4th Quarter 7-0-42

BEST ON GROUND: LYNNE SOMERVILLE MEDAL - Matthew Rava (Ganmain GGM)

GANMAIN GGM
GOAL KICKERS
A. Carroll 4, L. Walsh 3, D. Logan 2, M. Geppert 1, L. Stewart 1, B. Fennesy 1, M. Braybon 1, M. Rava 1, N. McPherson 1, D. Panaho 1

BEST PLAYERS
M. Rava, M. Geppert, A. Carroll, N. McPherson, D. Rava, L. Walsh

NORTHERN JETS
GOAL KICKERS
J. Fairman 5, C. Bell 1, P. Wykes 1

BEST PLAYERS
M. Robertson, C. Bell, N. Meehan, J. Fairman, M. Currie, A. Guymer

localfootyguru
20th March 2006, 12:00
Good to hear about the Charity Shield results. Riverinafl how was the night in general? Sounds like the new lights are pretty good and Ive heard the oval itself is in fantastic condition. Looks like lots of things have been happening there.

How did the Northern Jets go?

Give me an update?

fish1
20th March 2006, 18:29
Cld anyone fill me in on who was the young centre half back who went into the ruck for leeton at the barooga night series. i think his name was ben number was in the 20's.

arceri
21st March 2006, 12:42
who is the new Wagga Tigers ruckman who broke his hand at Lockhart?

RiverinAFL
22nd March 2006, 10:11
Good to hear about the Charity Shield results. Riverinafl how was the night in general? Sounds like the new lights are pretty good and Ive heard the oval itself is in fantastic condition. Looks like lots of things have been happening there.

How did the Northern Jets go?

Give me an update?

Hey Guru
Did not attend as I'm based in Melb and had CG2006 events to attend
Have attached a pic showing the brightness of the lights

The Jets were undermaned, many seniors did not play. The results were posted in the previous reply

http://www.riverinafl.com/Charity.jpg

localfootyguru
22nd March 2006, 19:11
Thanks for the information RiverinaFL. Good to even see a picture of the guys going hard at it last weekend. I see by the results that the teams from both the Hume and Coreen Leagues also participated in the night which was a great move by the Southern NSW AFL. Also interesting to see the many names missing from the Jets list for the game, I heard something weeks ago that many guys for the Jets were unavailable for the night due to attending a wedding and cricket commitments.

I was looking at the draw for the Riverina FL on the net and see that Leeton plays Griffith in Round 1. That game should be a ripper considering the influx of recruits for both teams for 2006. My feeling would be that these two sides should figure very prominently this year and be there abouts come finals time.

Am looking forward to this post continuing to be active during the season so I can obtain my "fix" of Riverina FL news and happenings.

RiverinAFL
23rd March 2006, 13:30
Thanks for the information RiverinaFL. Good to even see a picture of the guys going hard at it last weekend.

Here's another pic
Lions Mitchell Fennessy plays on as team-mate Matt Rava offers support.

http://www.riverinafl.com/charity2.jpg

head67
23rd March 2006, 18:32
Thanks for the information RiverinaFL. Good to even see a picture of the guys going hard at it last weekend. I see by the results that the teams from both the Hume and Coreen Leagues also participated in the night which was a great move by the Southern NSW AFL. Also interesting to see the many names missing from the Jets list for the game, I heard something weeks ago that many guys for the Jets were unavailable for the night due to attending a wedding and cricket commitments.

I was looking at the draw for the Riverina FL on the net and see that Leeton plays Griffith in Round 1. That game should be a ripper considering the influx of recruits for both teams for 2006. My feeling would be that these two sides should figure very prominently this year and be there abouts come finals time.

Am looking forward to this post continuing to be active during the season so I can obtain my "fix" of Riverina FL news and happenings.
East wagga Koringal are going to be very good too. I believe by looking at the imports of each club that at the mo you can throw a blanket over Gain main ggm. East wagga. Leeton. and i don't know a lot about Griffith. The top three have some class imports. The league will i think no doubt be stronger due to the quality of some of the the imports. Look at Coolamon large losses but a side with a fit McKelvie or Hard and some handy kids(there two's won the flag and some very good kids in u/18s) and they will be competitive. Narrandera have now secured Heath and some interesting pick ups pending. They will be competitive but need may be 1 or 2 class players eg. a Macri or a Lang. Mango has already shown some pre season form. Turvey has been hit by tradgedy but their kids are always very good. Can't wait till the first round results. My pre season money on (at odds) is a Leeton, East Wagga Grannie. GGGM will be a class act but may be hunger will get the others there. A good year.

localfootyguru
30th March 2006, 18:45
GGGM were 10 goals better than anyone last year, so the other sides would need to improve a fair bit to at least catch up to them.

With another Rava on board and Macri as the new coach they will be as good if not better than last season. Can't see anyone other than Leeton to be honest to be a challenger, but as mentioned by others Griffith will be whereabouts and maybe the Eastern Hawks too.

Im sure the first few rounds will sort out the men from the boys. Look forward to reading the results from the first game.

head67
30th March 2006, 20:46
Gainmain have lost a couple and although their replacements are very good, a backline with good pace will bother them. Both Leeton and East Wagga have both had pick ups with no key losses. This is where i think things will start to even up. The league will definitely be a higher standard than last year.

GEGE
4th April 2006, 16:53
any scores from the weekends games and how the new recruits from each club went

head67
5th April 2006, 21:24
Only seen the one game and that was Narrandera V East Wagga. Not relay any surprises. Gainmain 127 Mcri good V MCU 73 in an apperrently fiesty game. Big george Carrol did knee. Turvey Park 131 bit of an upset V coolamon 72 . Leeton 105 Nettlebeck good. Laing good. V Griffith 79 All reports said this was the quality game Griffith lost no admirers in the loss and will only get better. Apperently very quick. The East Wagga Narrandera game reached no heights except Perkins kicking 10 Looks to be headed for big year.Narrandera's coach Grintell very good and cambell (oak park) very good and there kids also very good.Narrandera had some handy ones missing and suffered several injuries during game. If they get a full team on the paddock they are going to surprise a few.

localfootyguru
7th April 2006, 20:30
Some good games this weekend in Round 2 in the RFL,

- Eastern Hawks v Leeton Whitton - Leeton to win but only just.
- Griffith v GGGM - Griffith with the home ground advantage,especailly as its a night game and they have a few returning after last weeks cracker against Leeton Whitton.
- MCU v Coolamon - Will be an even game, perhaps the Goannas as its a home game but only just.
- Turvey Park v Narrandera - Another even game, perhaps Turvey to win as they won last week. Heard Narrandera have a few new recruits lining up this week too so maybe it isn't all doom and gloom for the Eagles.

For all scores and RFL information, visit www.riverinafl.com, a really good and informative website.

RiverinAFL
9th April 2006, 11:05
1sts
- Eastern Hawks 14.17.101 d Leeton Whitton 7.16.57
Excellent result for the Hawks considering no bag of Goals this week from Ben Perkins (10 LW). Lang bros got the goals for Crows, Broadbent in best players

- MCU 6.14.50 wdb Coolamon 12.10.82
Brendan McKelvie 7 for the Hoppers

- Griffith v GGGM - Sat Night Game
- Turvey Park v Narrandera - Played today

Reserves
- Eastern Hawks 8.9.57 wdb Leeton Whitton 18.7.115
- MCU 15.13.103 d Coolamon 13.6.84

Under 19's
- Eastern Hawks 2.11.23 wdb Leeton Whitton 15.11.101
- MCU 13.6.84 d Coolamon 10.10.70

localfootyguru
26th April 2006, 22:40
Looks like a few interesting results already happening in the Riverina FL after seeing all the scores on the Net.

GGGM look like they are going to be thereabouts again with both Leeton and the Eastern Hawks big improvers. Turvey Park have made a terrific start to the season but it will be interesting to see how they fare when they match up against some of the fancied sides.

Looks like Coolamon and Narrandera have slipped due to both having an exodus of players in the off season. Must certainly be disappointing for the Narrandera guys considering they made the Grand Final in 2005. Have also heard mixed responses regarding the Eagles Melbourne based recruits - apparantly they arent too good on the discipline side.

Look out for Griffith, they will be a team on the march once they get a full team on the park (well thats what Im told anyway).

Maybe others can give more information.

head67
1st May 2006, 20:27
Looks like a few interesting results already happening in the Riverina FL after seeing all the scores on the Net.

GGGM look like they are going to be thereabouts again with both Leeton and the Eastern Hawks big improvers. Turvey Park have made a terrific start to the season but it will be interesting to see how they fare when they match up against some of the fancied sides.

Looks like Coolamon and Narrandera have slipped due to both having an exodus of players in the off season. Must certainly be disappointing for the Narrandera guys considering they made the Grand Final in 2005. Have also heard mixed responses regarding the Eagles Melbourne based recruits - apparantly they arent too good on the discipline side.

Look out for Griffith, they will be a team on the march once they get a full team on the park (well thats what Im told anyway).

Maybe others can give more information.I know for a fact that results so far are very misleading. Leeton for instance haven't had a full side on the park. The Wagga paper reported Turvey having 5 out in their loss to Leeton. Leeton had 7 out wit Nettlebeck and Doyle amongst them. Ganmain have lost Carrol for perhaps the year and both Rava's with medium term injuries. But they still accounted for the Eagles easily, with the Eagles also having a lot of injury trouble. The Melbourne connection has been mixed bag with cambell kicking 3 sat night and the Wes Kiley, Geppert contest worth the admission. Geppert kicked 6 but Kiley got a bloody mountain of ball and was great. For the amount of ball geppert received he was entittled to kick a few. Griffith spanked Mango with another all in blue involving Mango with reports that their coach has had a bit to do with all of them. East Wagga only just got over the Grasshoppers.

localfootyguru
10th May 2006, 23:09
Great to see Narrandera finally notch up a win on the weekend over Coolamon. Looks like the Hoppers have really dropped off the pace this season with all those player departures. Can anyone tell me how Luke Maloney is travelling after the unfortunate incident two weeks ago?

Interesting to see the Griffith travelling curse is still around with their loss to Turvey Park on the weekend. I would have thought that was a game that they should have marked as a possible win. Perhaps the Dogs have improved after many lean years.

Good for the competition with Leeton winning over GGGM at Ganmain. Looking at the ladder it seems that it is very even amongst the top teams. I still have no doubts that GGGM are still favorites to win the third flag in a row though. Leeton will certainly be thereabouts though looking at their performances so far. Maybe this could be the year of the Crows!!!

head67
14th May 2006, 19:38
Narrandera are now getting some fitness and some players back and looked good on sat. However the results are still a little misleading. I reckon about round 10 or 12 will see some true colors.(perhaps like most leagues) Will be very surprised if Turvey stay with the lead pack.

ringo1
15th May 2006, 14:44
How long since Leeton won flag? I thought they were perrenial cellar dwellers up there.:thumbsu:

RiverinAFL
15th May 2006, 16:36
How long since Leeton won flag? I thought they were perrenial cellar dwellers up there.:thumbsu:

The Crows made the Preiminary final in 1999 and have been in finals there abouts since.

They last won a flag as Leeton Redlegs way back in 1978 in the South West League. That day they beat Turvey Park 18.16-124 to 16.15-111

The Bulldogs beat the Lions yesterday at Ganmain in a thriller by 3 points to go back to the top of the ladder with Leeton, Leeton just fell in over Coolamon by a goal and the Swans easily beat Eastern Hawks in Griffith. Narrandera had a 70 point win over MCU.

At this stage any of the top 5 could win the flag. Narrandera are just hanging outside the 5 and could make a go of it as well

localfootyguru
16th May 2006, 22:05
Looks like another really even year in the Riverina FL again this year judging on the weekends results with Griffith and Turvey Park scoring wins over higher fancied opponents. Good to see Coolamon putting up a good show against Leeton and Narrandera winning two in a row against MCU.

Would be interested to know when was the last time that GGGM lost two games in a row? Going on recent success, this may be a fair while ago when it last happened.

eastlakes rule
17th May 2006, 10:24
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

hornet68
17th May 2006, 10:30
What does the future hold for Wagga Tigers in AFL Canberra?.
The first grade and 2nd grade are barely competitive.
U18's are very competitive.
Is the travel too much?, how are the finances?

The RFL is much more even without Tigers, so they probably don't want them back.

Where will Tigers be in 2-3 years?

head67
17th May 2006, 18:19
What does the future hold for Wagga Tigers in AFL Canberra?.
The first grade and 2nd grade are barely competitive.
U18's are very competitive.
Is the travel too much?, how are the finances?

The RFL is much more even without Tigers, so they probably don't want them back.

Where will Tigers be in 2-3 years? Hey Hornet! Who F$%!(** Cares. Does any one really think that this whole venture has done any thing for football in NSW? I doubt it. They were too good for the Riverina and hopped out without consideration to the health of Footy in the southern NSW area. Perhaps now some over inflated egos have been deflated. But i doubt it.

madpie
18th May 2006, 09:08
Can anyone tell me if there is a Travis Irvin running around in this league??If so who does he play for and is he getting a kick?.

head67
18th May 2006, 09:16
Can anyone tell me if there is a Travis Irvin running around in this league??If so who does he play for and is he getting a kick?.A reasonably big unit with good skills and good footy head who plays for Leeton/Whitton Crows. Been suffering a few injuries.

eastlakes rule
18th May 2006, 14:23
A reasonably big unit with good skills and good footy head who plays for Leeton/Whitton Crows. Been suffering a few injuries.
yeh he has played the last two games in the back pocket for the crows..big unit ..has had a few injuries .. is the primary schools state coach so it is inevitable that he will miss a few more games

localfootyguru
18th May 2006, 20:57
Good player and guy Travis Irvin. Both him and the other Travis "Doyle" are also doing a great job coaching the undefeated Leeton Whitton Under 18's team this season. having some really good young guys around the club paints a very rosy future for continued success.

Interesting to read the comments regarding the Tigers. Are currently having little on field success and struggling to be competitive. Depth and the loss of high quailty players on a regular basis seem to be the two biggest problems the club faces. On the positive side, the Tigers not being in the RFL has created a far more even and competitive competition.

The Tigers idea was good in principle but the club suffers from being the "Tigers" and this causes problems in regards to on and off field support and success.

fish1
18th May 2006, 21:31
How is ben "The Gin" Drybourgh going for the crows. Looks a handy player if he cld keep his feet and sprint a bit harder.