View Full Version : North Central Football League - Part 1

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94

ohwhenthesaints
31 Aug 2007, 12:07
Is that the same Luke Hollis that Garry "G Train" Moulday cleaned up in a grand final a few years ago.

Hollis has not played a reserves game since. I think Moulday knocked more than a bit of sense in him.

ohwhenthesaints
31 Aug 2007, 12:09
I reckon Andrews may start in the guts but end up going forward if unless the navies are under the pump. Saints will miss Ciurleo and Ezard was well. The game is very much goin to be determined in who is winning the midfield. And the saints may have a big advantage in the ruck

How was mad monday becks?

How has the great man Rossco responded to the tripe that was written on here about him?

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 12:39
Who would know gerta, your the only 1 with charlton connections on this thread. The hierachy are still sooking about whats been said on BF, as if it makes a difference to winning or losing.

Your guess is probably better than mine as to who will be the back up ruckman, as you would have watched Charlton play more games than what i have this year... Still should make for a couple of cracking games tomorrow.

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 12:53
Is the train entering the Wedderburn Station tomorrow there gerta?

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 12:57
Is the train entering the Wedderburn Station tomorrow there gerta?

Could depend on the weather, but i would imagine its a likely prospect. Hopefully this wind dies down a bit... Ground looks not too bad from here..

Daisy Williams
31 Aug 2007, 14:07
How was mad monday becks?

How has the great man Rossco responded to the tripe that was written on here about him?

Donalds mad monday was almost 2 weeks ago dopey, go back and look at his report!

Rocky Hutchison
31 Aug 2007, 14:40
Hutchy has been doing some digging into the latest reports. from what i hear, both bend it and masters claims are true. and theres a chance that gretgrix will be the one that takes McGuirk's spot in the senior side.

However i weren't kicked out of the mcg like my namesake

ohwhenthesaints
31 Aug 2007, 16:21
Donalds mad monday was almost 2 weeks ago dopey, go back and look at his report!

Was more interested in Rossco, i believe you have him in the "gun".

ohwhenthesaints
31 Aug 2007, 16:27
I heard a few of the Boort boys held a wanka wednesday, whitey led the way, i heard the boy wasn't too happy when the Roc pointed out to him you cant win a flag from 5th, nice work Roc.

Rocky Hutchison
31 Aug 2007, 16:37
oh? is that big fella master? i always pictured him as one of those footy hero types

master, how long has it been since you have played footy? not trying to be rude

Daisy Williams
31 Aug 2007, 16:55
Was more interested in Rossco, i believe you have him in the "gun".

Do you honestly believe that the powers that be sit back and take any notice of the garbage that is written on this thread, do you believe its taken as gospel?
All it is is half a dozen uni students with nothing better to do than talk absolute shite about a game that they are obviously not good enough to play, you blokes take yourselves way too seriously.:thumbsd:

Rocky Hutchison
31 Aug 2007, 16:59
i can garuantee that if he knows about it, he has an opinion on what is written

Bayonet
31 Aug 2007, 17:01
i can garuantee that if he knows about it, he has an opinion on what is written
From your responses you sound like MOR to me.

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 17:09
close (in that theres a "Roc" in "Rocky"), but wrong... you guys already know my second name on here, so i retired it! (just like you should do with your footy career)

kangas29
31 Aug 2007, 17:43
Does the media ban apply to the sheepdog from charlton?

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 18:04
Does the media ban apply to the sheepdog from charlton?

The sheepdog??? Does that mean theres only one???

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 18:13
Hutchy has been doing some digging into the latest reports. from what i hear, both bend it and masters claims are true. and theres a chance that gretgrix will be the one that takes McGuirk's spot in the senior side.

However i weren't kicked out of the mcg like my namesake

Yard in :thumbsu::thumbsu:

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 18:30
Myself and Gerta have come up with the following ;)
50 signatures by tomorrow morning, and we'll pass it on to Rick

http://www.petitiononline.com/yard4sen/petition.html

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 18:33

You can pass it onto rick mate.... The man still scares me...

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 18:40
no worries, ill get the sister to give it to Mrs Rick haha

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 18:52
The sheepdog??? Does that mean theres only one???

You expected there to be moree?

lucy_the_dog
31 Aug 2007, 19:10

Hey i signed that petition, who is yard?

lucy_the_dog
31 Aug 2007, 19:14
HA! Nah, Needsie has recovered, hes learnt how to, afterall, in his 200 senior games, hes been diagnosed with it quite a few times now.

Drummys out. (as we know)

Brock Ezards out after copping two boots to the head last weekend, Felice "the" Cua is making his way back, to take his place.
Mark Ciurleo done his shoulder last weekend, as the Wyche boys will know, hes doubtful.
Mark Jelinek has been named as emergency

Hey MOR is Brock Ezard number 12?

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 19:19
Affirmative. had some scans during the week, the safer option is to miss

Also, Chris Medlyn is unavailable, he's got to work in Bairnsdale again.

has ripped a big hole out of the side, but hopefully those who do get opportunities, grasp them well.

Carn Saints!

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 19:34
B: N. Sibson, J. Douglas, L. Ezard
HB: D. Gifford, D. Needs, D. Pickthall
C: I. Moerman, S. BREARLEY, S. Coloe
HF: S. Lloyd, J. SOLYOM, M. Dowley
F: B. Wilson, B. Hando, J. Lloyd
R: M. Holmes, B. Price, S. Boyington
Int: R. Wild, P. Cua, TBA

Anyone spotted Charlton's yet?

Yesterdays Hero
31 Aug 2007, 19:55

This is the best i could come up with,

B- Popper, Upper, Downer
HB- Rick, Yells, Toomuch
C-Judd, Has, Bigears
HF-Thommo, Squeals, Likabiatch
F- Bring, Back, Bigphil
R- Dis, Co, Bikkie
Int- Hopeya, getbeat.:thumbsu:

Some classic matchups there, look forward to reading the result from the Roc a little after 6pm.

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 20:05

Surely you are telling me porky pies there roc... needs at CHB??? surely you jest...

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 20:08
tell me who else can go there?

Solyom can handle CHF (will end up swapping with bruce)

Bruce is too slow for a defender...

Logical Choice

gerta
31 Aug 2007, 22:08
tell me who else can go there?

Solyom can handle CHF (will end up swapping with bruce)

Bruce is too slow for a defender...

Logical Choice

Mmmm definitely... I think Needs might be the only one who could stop yard ;)

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 22:12
Mmmm definitely... I think Needs might be the only one who could stop yard ;)

Speaking of Yard.... lets get him to the 1's!!!!!

33 more needed!

deledio_gun
31 Aug 2007, 22:59
I'll be happy to sign ROC, who is "Yard"?

MasterOfRoc
31 Aug 2007, 23:02
Br Gretgrix

MasterOfRoc
1 Sep 2007, 00:12
This is the best i could come up with,

B- Popper, Upper, Downer
HB- Rick, Yells, Toomuch
C-Judd, Has, Bigears
HF-Thommo, Squeals, Likabiatch
F- Bring, Back, Bigphil
R- Dis, Co, Bikkie
Int- Hopeya, getbeat.:thumbsu:

Some classic matchups there, look forward to reading the result from the Roc a little after 6pm.

Will Runner Up Feeny Medalist Simon Brearley be good enough to match up with "Has"?

Cash Man
1 Sep 2007, 09:09
Will Runner Up Feeny Medalist Simon Brearley be good enough to match up with "Has"?
ROC you should get to bed earlier the night before a big game! How and the hell will your stats be accurate today? You struggle to get them right each week even when you hit the sack early! Have you organised a bigger bench today to fit in all of St.Arnauds injured players?

gerta
1 Sep 2007, 19:01
Winners today:

u13s: Boort Over Wedderburn
U16s: St Arnaud over an impressive Wyche
Reserves: St Arnaud smashed Charlton
Seniors: Charlton over the Saints.

Rocky Hutchison
1 Sep 2007, 19:34
this needs to be said.

http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/8651/newumpiresgearyb3.jpg

i didn't intend to take anything away from us navies, however, the boys outplayed set up our good win nice and early.

ben walklate played well, as did finna in my opinion
Go Navies!

gerta
1 Sep 2007, 19:46
this needs to be said.

http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/8651/newumpiresgearyb3.jpg

i didn't intend to take anything away from us navies, however, the boys outplayed set up our good win nice and early.

ben walklate played well, as did finna in my opinion
Go Navies!

:thumbsu::thumbsu: Good picture that...

Also thought McGurk did a great job for a bloke who was out injured ;)

And Yard, very impressive in the twos... Kicked a couple and was in the best...

Truck
1 Sep 2007, 20:13
Winners today:

u13s: Boort Over Wedderburn
U16s: St Arnaud over an impressive Wyche
Reserves: St Arnaud smashed Charlton
Seniors: Charlton over the Saints.

Who play well for the Demons, not sure if any one realizes this but the 3 young boys on eh wyche bench are all under 14 kids (Kritter McNichol, Cody Turner and little Drisco), and proberly havn't played alot of under 16 players so it was good to see the boys came close

gerta
1 Sep 2007, 20:22
Who play well for the Demons, not sure if any one realizes this but the 3 young boys on eh wyche bench are all under 14 kids (Kritter McNichol, Cody Turner and little Drisco), and proberly havn't played alot of under 16 players so it was good to see the boys came close

I was very impressed with the majority of the young wyche blokes... They played really well and kept trying hard.. Haven't got a recorder with me so i can only tell u numbers... 8 in the middle i think that was Keane was very good, 11 at CHF, FF played pretty well, and i think maybe 4??? I dunno... They all had a crack and played magnificently.

who wood_collingwood
1 Sep 2007, 21:14
WOO HOO...go Charlton you good things...

Perry18
1 Sep 2007, 23:40
catch ya saints..

liquor plus
1 Sep 2007, 23:50
tell me roc who were those w@#%^r umpires at todays game out at wedderburn? From watching the game they seemed to crucify the saints.

MasterOfRoc
1 Sep 2007, 23:56
Atleast we dont need league alumni to make it 18!

Goodridge and Croak liquor

liquor plus
2 Sep 2007, 01:12
is goodridge that small bloke? he must have some serious problems with the saints after what i saw today!!! and that other bloke........shouldnt talk to players the way he did today. they need to get a life and a real job!!! D@345*&^s

who wood_collingwood
2 Sep 2007, 10:02
is goodridge that small bloke? he must have some serious problems with the saints after what i saw today!!! and that other bloke........shouldnt talk to players the way he did today. they need to get a life and a real job!!! D@345*&^s

ALL footy umpires are small. They all have small man syndrome. They all think they are coppers. They all had their playlunch stolen as kids at school and this is their way to get back at those people.

They are absolute jokes.. just look at chamberlain... and there is someone who posts on this board (not in here) who is an absolute prime example of what I speak of.

fifth quarter
2 Sep 2007, 13:20
did u guys read a. mcnichols article on wedderburn in todays sunday age
dont get it where we live .... the early age that is .... but if u get the later age and the city edition sun with the sat night afl footy writeups where the country stories usually go, u can still read all the age and sun regional stories on www.countryfootyscores.com (http://www.countryfootyscores.com) --- click on the media section

Rocky Hutchison
2 Sep 2007, 13:25
Redbacks hope long wait is over
Sunday, 02 September 2007
By Adam McNicol

THE 120-year-old Wedderburn Football Club's players and supporters already know a thing or two about breaking a premiership drought. In 2005, the Redbacks' reserves won the flag, in the process ending a lean spell that stretched all the way back to 1952.

Now, everyone in the central Victorian community is hoping this year will provide reason for an even bigger party. The Wedderburn senior team, which has not won a premiership since 1970, has finished the home-and-away season two games clear on top of the ladder.

"Just the celebrations when the seconds won were good enough," said club secretary Tom Nisbet, who recently published a book titled A Brief History of the Redbacks. "At the start of every year, the lack of success comes up. It's been 37 years. It's a big burden. But this is as good as any side we've had here."

The North Central Football League finals series kicked off yesterday, with the Redbacks needing only two more wins, starting next Saturday against second-placed Birchip-Watchem, to bring the town to a standstill.

"If we win it, there'll be not much happening for a week," Nisbet said.

Having won only five games last year, Wedderburn's rise has come thanks to a prudent off-season recruiting drive. Among the players to have made a big difference are tough midfielder Daniel Gash, who is originally from Hay and had been playing in the VFL with the Bendigo Bombers' reserves, and young ruckman Josh Pearce, who arrived from Central Murray team Woorinen.

Another star of 2007, full-forward Darren Stenhouse, was brought to the Redbacks from Sunshine by his fiancee, who is the local publican's daughter. Stenhouse previously had a stint with Central District in the SANFL and has become a new favourite son. He heads into the finals with 97 goals to his name.

"Darren's been very, very good for us," said second-year senior coach Dean Lockhart. "He's not only a great footballer but also a ripping fella."

As with most bush footy clubs, Wedderburn has six players driving north each week from Melbourne, while many young members of the team are based in Bendigo and Ballarat. "Our junior program is really thorough, so we've got some great 18- and 19-year-olds coming through," said Lockhart. "That has given us a lot more depth."

The Redbacks started the season in blistering form. They beat St Arnaud by six goals in round one and went on to win their first 10 matches. Eventually, they were beaten by battling Wycheproof-Narraport, in what was a huge upset.

With top spot on the ladder wrapped up, Wedderburn coach Dean Lockhart rested a number of players from the last two home-and-away matches. His team promptly lost them both but Lockhart is unfazed at starting the finals campaign on the back of consecutive defeats.

"We had a great run with injuries until four weeks out from the finals," Lockhart said. "Then we had a situation where we had nine players out through injury and resting. We worked hard through the season to get that chance to rest players. I wanted to be cautious because we need all our players fit at this time of the year. We'll be almost full-strength next week."

Lockhart admits the team is carrying massive expectations into the finals. He is also well aware what happened most recent time the Redbacks made the grand final. In 2000 and 2001, they were favourites going into the big game but on both occasions had big losses.

And just two years ago, Wedderburn missed another chance to break the drought when it finished on top of the ladder but narrowly lost the second semi-final and was thumped in the preliminary.

"The best part about this side is they're young and they don't bring any baggage like that," Lockhart said. "There are only three blokes left from the 2001 losing grand final side. But we need to get the monkey off our back. There is no doubt about that."

All six other clubs in the NCFL have triumphed since the Redbacks most recently lifted the cup.

"It's 37 years since we won one but we've always been up there," Lockhart said. "In the 20 years I've been involved with the Wedderburn Football Club, we probably had a dark period from '95 to '97, but the rest of the time, we've either been in the finals or knocking on the door. We're due."

Lockhart has played senior football for 20 years, including three premierships with Essendon District league club Keilor. A rugged defender, he knows his leadership will be vitally important in the coming weeks.

If it isn't up to scratch, he will have to answer to the president, who just happens to be his brother, Tim.

"If I don't get them over the line, it might come down to that!" Lockhart said. "It could be interesting. There's a real combination of nerves and excitement. It's all good. In a small community like Wedderburn, if the footy club's going well, the town's going well."

gerta
2 Sep 2007, 22:32
Very good article that...

Will be interesting to see this Weekends Games, Wedderburn Vs Birchip..

Truck
2 Sep 2007, 23:32
Very good article that...

Will be interesting to see this Weekends Games, Wedderburn Vs Birchip..

Yeah a very good article, the authors girlfriend actually comes from Wyche. moving right along where is every one heading for their footy trips????

jonty15
3 Sep 2007, 09:27
who got all the awards saturday roc? whats all the news about recruiting next year?

redragger
3 Sep 2007, 10:54
Don't know if you'll get a reply jonty, Master of Roc has done another one of his specials after St.Arnaud lose - don't report on the game, just bag the umpires...

MasterOfRoc
3 Sep 2007, 11:20
Don't know if you'll get a reply jonty, Master of Roc has done another one of his specials after St.Arnaud lose - don't report on the game, just bag the umpires...

Cant afford the $8 to go see yourself?

Ive only made one post since the game, and that was answering a question and a smartass....

Being a final, if theres not someone else that was there, who can report on the game, then theres something wrong!!

But heres a very short report.

Charlton came out strong, set up the game early
St Arnaud couldn't ping them back
Holmes was injured
Yard didn't play
Solyom kicked 7
Hando got a few
Pur... Finlay got 5 or so
Mark Ciurleo kept andrews relatively quiet
Thommo still Squeals
Simon Brearley showed why he is a future Feeny Medallist
what Liquor plus said is true
And They're gonna get smashed in the Prelim anyway.

There ya go... now im off!

Rog the Ramjet
3 Sep 2007, 11:45
Yeah i agree... Charlton will get hammered... be it the bulls or redbacks. They have a decent backline but thats about it.

Birchip won't lose another game.

StArnaud will already be on the recruit. There is some gifted young kids, who will get bigger and better next year. After another key backman and probably a few more options on ball.

Is solly coaching again?

MasterOfRoc
3 Sep 2007, 11:55
Yeah i agree... Charlton will get hammered... be it the bulls or redbacks. They have a decent backline but thats about it.

Birchip won't lose another game.

StArnaud will already be on the recruit. There is some gifted young kids, who will get bigger and better next year. After another key backman and probably a few more options on ball.

Is solly coaching again?

as far as St Arnauds recruiting goes, you are damn straight that its already started. I wont mention names, out of respect to them and their current clubs

Primarily, a Key Defender, and a "DeAraugo" style on baller, would go down well for a start.

Solyom has indicated his intentions to stay. Rumour has that its already in writing.

Now its time for the 2's to shine! With Medlyn, Coloe, Sibson and Lloyd back in, they're going to be hard to beat

2008, the Year of the Saint!

BiG KinG
3 Sep 2007, 12:04
as far as St Arnauds recruiting goes, you are damn straight that its already started. I wont mention names, out of respect to them and their current clubs

Primarily, a Key Defender, and a "DeAraugo" style on baller, would go down well for a start.

Solyom has indicated his intentions to stay. Rumour has that its already in writing.

Now its time for the 2's to shine! With Medlyn, Coloe, Sibson and Lloyd back in, they're going to be hard to beat

didnt you say ity was the year of the saint in 07 a couple of weeks ago :D

So whats peoples thoughts on the upcoming games this week can the bulls roll the redbacks in both games or will the redbacks be to dtrong for the bulls 2's without Andrew "sniper" lee.

MasterOfRoc
3 Sep 2007, 13:01
Check your history Big King ;) "8" is the year of the saint ;)

Birchip will win both

deledio_gun
3 Sep 2007, 13:04

What exactly do you mean by a "DeAraugo" style onballer Roc?

redragger
3 Sep 2007, 13:16
My guess would be a 6 foot 2 or 3, strong bodied, mobile on-baller. Pretty much what everybody wants! In all honesty I take my hat off to St.Arnaud they came a long way from the start of the year, and they certainly seem to put a lot of effort into recruiting which is the cornerstone of winning a premiership.

I gather Tim Hill shut down Needsy pretty well on Saturday?

Rocky Hutchison
3 Sep 2007, 13:22
Yeah he did. Needs was playing injured however, as you would have noticed as soon as he showed up to the ground, and started walking.

or is that the way he always walks?

Bend it
3 Sep 2007, 14:20
The Royal Blues concluded their season on Saturday with Glenn Wyatt the run away winner in the B&F from Lachie Jones and Ash Trollop in third.
Other award winners were
most determined Josh Hollis
best first year - Brent Gilmour
Frogga Rookie award - Nathan Wright
Rising Star - Adam Flood
Coaches - Daniel Allen
The Nugget Cullen outstanding achievement award - Ross Funcke making VCFL team.
Trainers award - Josh Hollis
Secretaries award - J. Hollis

Disappointing that for the first time no goal kicking trophy was awarded!

MasterOfRoc
3 Sep 2007, 14:27
Now why were ya dissapointed? :P

Donald Top Goal Scorer
IT, Bend Donald - 33 Goals

JK :P

ohwhenthesaints
3 Sep 2007, 15:40
didnt you say ity was the year of the saint in 07 a couple of weeks ago :D

So whats peoples thoughts on the upcoming games this week can the bulls roll the redbacks in both games or will the redbacks be to dtrong for the bulls 2's without Andrew "sniper" lee.

The burn will win both. The senior side will have too many qaulity IN'S for the bulls to handle. And i wouldn't want to come up againts Charlton in the prelim, they have a side that run hard and with a week off, they will beat whoever they play. In the reserves Birchip have been hammered by the 'burn lately, with no Lee and his usual 3-4 goals they will play the saints in the prelim.

StanTsaikos
3 Sep 2007, 17:27
Yeah he did. Needs was playing injured however, as you would have noticed as soon as he showed up to the ground, and started walking.

or is that the way he always walks?

Nah, your on the money Rocky. He dropped one of those 30 block of VB cans on his foot Friday nite and apparently broke a bone in his foot.:eek:

gerta
3 Sep 2007, 18:31
Yard didn't play

Absolutely gutted about that one...

Was very handy in the twos...

who wood_collingwood
3 Sep 2007, 20:24
Absolutely gutted about that one...

Was very handy in the twos...

You mean our petition didn't have ANY pull what so ever?? That is just crap. Can we get him in this week?????

MasterOfRoc
3 Sep 2007, 20:30
Speaking of Yard lol, i see ya survived Saturday Gerta... did he have anything to say? lol

gerta
3 Sep 2007, 21:36
Speaking of Yard lol, i see ya survived Saturday Gerta... did he have anything to say? lol

Did manage to survive saturday roc... The yard didn't have anything to say... in fact i gave him a bit of wide birth ;) I'm not sure though, i hoping he hasn't figured how to use a computer yet... sshhh don't tell him that...

MasterOfRoc
3 Sep 2007, 21:39
**Gets Phone Book**

Bre............

Rocky Hutchison
4 Sep 2007, 13:39
while going into charlton this morning to run the errands, i heard a whisper that st arnaud have already got a couple of confirmed recruits for 2008. One is currently coaching in the Geelong area, and the other is a key defender from an essendon dfl division one club.

any truth to the rumour?

ohwhenthesaints
4 Sep 2007, 16:09
Wondering who people will be barracking for this weekend?
Most hate Birchip, and most would love to see the burn make the GF again and get beat, its a footy fans paradise.

where2now?
4 Sep 2007, 16:55
any word on how Barnes from W'burn is progressing with his hamstring after he re-injured it on the Thursday night prior to the last home and away game? He'd have to be a very unlikely starter!

Talk_It_Up
4 Sep 2007, 20:14
any word on how Barnes from W'burn is progressing with his hamstring after he re-injured it on the Thursday night prior to the last home and away game? He'd have to be a very unlikely starter!
Yes he will be unlikely, he will be rested for the GF most likely. However all of the other injuries are set to return.

Footy Pie
5 Sep 2007, 17:56
Can anyone from St Arnaud please just drop in2 Roc's?? I am a bit worried bout the big fella hasnt been on all day, may have had a heart attack @ the keyboard or something??

MasterOfRoc
5 Sep 2007, 18:14
Its nearing "silly season" Keep the Cards close to the chest ;)

Truck
5 Sep 2007, 19:22
Its nearing "silly season" Keep the Cards close to the chest ;)

Hey Rock Star did you ever get around to putting detailed fenny results up

MasterOfRoc
5 Sep 2007, 19:34
Jason hasn't been home all day, its his brother at the moment.

by the way, i made that reply earlier... you guys on here dont need to know what is happening in his personal life

footy_pie
5 Sep 2007, 20:51
Can anyone from St Arnaud please just drop in2 Roc's?? I am a bit worried bout the big fella hasnt been on all day, may have had a heart attack @ the keyboard or something??

i see there is another footy pie on here, obviously before me.
Anyway, what is everyone's thoughts on the seniors game on the weekend? and who is favourite for this weekend, considering they are all pretty even.

liquor plus
6 Sep 2007, 23:40
Can Charlton go all the way and win the big one?

MasterOfRoc
6 Sep 2007, 23:44
Well they've beaten the #1 side... no reason why they can't

Truck
6 Sep 2007, 23:48

Only seen them play us but from what I'v seen they are the best side in the league..

swans33
7 Sep 2007, 11:50
Certainly can with a fast track a bit of luck with injuries etc. The St. Arnaud ground will suit them in the peliminary final with their pace. Devin Browns return has certainly helped them. It will be interesting to see how Wedderburn run out the game tomorrow with so many returning from injury. Birchip/Watchem by 4 goals.

footy_pie
7 Sep 2007, 19:52
Certainly can with a fast track a bit of luck with injuries etc. The St. Arnaud ground will suit them in the peliminary final with their pace.
i agree with the st arnaud ground part there
charlton and wedderburn grand final with charlton beating B/W in the prelim by 6 goals.
i tip charlton to win the big one because of their leg speed and hard discipline

MasterOfRoc
7 Sep 2007, 20:00
Well, 2nd semi is upon us, and its looking like a good day of footy.

U13's see the only 2 real premiership contenders clash, to see who goes straight to Donald... being Donald and St Arnaud... my tips St Arnaud by 4 goals, with young Brad Organ to kick 4, and Liam Andison to get 3

U16's see flag favorites Boort take on Donald, who will be looking to give the Magpies their first loss of the season, my tip, Boort by 3 goals.

Reserves have Birchip taking on Wedderburn, with 2 heavyweights going at it, we are sure to see a good match, which could go either way. My tip, Draw at the end of real time... Wedderburn to get up.

Seniors also have Wedderburn vs Birchip, Birchip will be too good early, for the injury ravaged Wedderburn side, who will be playing guys with less match fitness than would be preferred, however Stenhouse will kick 7 last half goals, to get the Burn over the line, and knock up his first NCFL ton.

holy_grail
8 Sep 2007, 21:13
Well, 2nd semi is upon us, and its looking like a good day of footy.

U13's see the only 2 real premiership contenders clash, to see who goes straight to Donald... being Donald and St Arnaud... my tips St Arnaud by 4 goals, with young Brad Organ to kick 4, and Liam Andison to get 3

U16's see flag favorites Boort take on Donald, who will be looking to give the Magpies their first loss of the season, my tip, Boort by 3 goals.

Reserves have Birchip taking on Wedderburn, with 2 heavyweights going at it, we are sure to see a good match, which could go either way. My tip, Draw at the end of real time... Wedderburn to get up.

Seniors also have Wedderburn vs Birchip, Birchip will be too good early, for the injury ravaged Wedderburn side, who will be playing guys with less match fitness than would be preferred, however Stenhouse will kick 7 last half goals, to get the Burn over the line, and knock up his first NCFL ton.

Mor would u be able to give us a wrap up on all the grades from today including best players and all scores..

MasterOfRoc
8 Sep 2007, 22:55
I suppose so... lol

U13's...
Both sides came out strong, and both sides had their chances. 3rd quarter, Donald took control, and opened up the game... St Arnaud couldnt peg themback
These 2 sides will definately be playing come Grand Final day...
FINAL SCORES - Donald 9.5.59 defeated St Arnaud 7.3.45
IMO, Best for Donald was Burchell, and for St Arnaud, Jake Tillig
Tip for next week - St. Arnaud to defeat Boort quite comprehensively

U16's
When Boort are on, they are on, however I dont think that was their best performance. Donald had chances, as the ball was down their quite a bit early. Third quarter hurt the Royals, as they were held to no score.
FINAL SCORES - Boort 13.5.83 Defeated Donald 6.7.43
IMO, best for Boort was probably between Fitzpatrick and Cooper, and for Donald, Young Harberger played well
Tip for next week - Draw ;)

Reserves
Birchip didn't want it, plain and simple. they never looked like winning it, after the first quarter. Hall was magnificent up forward, and it was obvious that Birchip are missing their target up forward. Birchip, whilst all year looking favorites, have dropped down the ranks massively.
FINAL SCORES - Wedderburn 16.11.107 defeated Birchip/Watchem 8.4.52
IMO, best for Wedd was between Hall and Tonkin, for Birchip, i thought the BnF winner Jim Sheehan played well, even with his obvious discipline problems.
Tip for next week - St Arnaud to Defeat Birchip/Watchem

Seniors
Did Birchip go to the lake after the game? because that was a more disturbing loss than their one earlier in the year against us... Wasted Opportunities, and MORE Wasted Opportunities (For Both Sides). Story of the day... Wedderburn simply outplayed them. Stenna kicked his 100th in the last quarter... No Field invasion!?!? im Dissapointed ;) lol
FINAL SCORES - Wedderburn 14.17.101 defeated Birchip/Watchem 7.17.59
IMO, best for Wedd was Rose and Gash, for Birchip, i thought the Feeny Medallist, Jimmy Scambler was good, along with the other ryan. Brad isn't it?
Tip for next week - Charlton to SMASH Birchip/Watchem. The old legs of Andrews and Thompson will be cherishing their week off, and will be hard to beat. Expect Aaron Walklate to dominate, and Rick to get 20 handballs ;) (someone count em for me)

As for the other sports, i know Donald won both the Mens and (Womens/Mixed/not exactly sure what) Hockey, and i know St Arnaud won the U16B netball.

gerta
8 Sep 2007, 23:16
Reserves
Birchip didn't want it, plain and simple. they never looked like winning it, after the first quarter. Hall was magnificent up forward, and it was obvious that Birchip are missing their target up forward. Birchip, whilst all year looking favorites, have dropped down the ranks massively.
FINAL SCORES - Wedderburn 16.11.107 defeated Birchip/Watchem 8.4.52
IMO, best for Wedd was between Hall and Tonkin, for Birchip, i thought the BnF winner Jim Sheehan played well, even with his obvious discipline problems.
Tip for next week - St Arnaud to Defeat Birchip/Watchem

Top side to go out in straight sets yet again in the reserves?????

MasterOfRoc
9 Sep 2007, 00:00
Well they played like pansies today... Holy Grails horse could have done better than Birchip did today! VERY dissapointing

redragger
9 Sep 2007, 12:42
Have to agree with Master of Roc there, Birchip looked very ordinary in both grades; looked as if they lacked fitness. Would be a huge effort for them to get over Charlton next week...

Bolivar Shagnasty
9 Sep 2007, 17:40
Have to agree with Master of Roc there, Birchip looked very ordinary in both grades; looked as if they lacked fitness. Would be a huge effort for them to get over Charlton next week...

Have to agree ragger, the bulls didnt show up to play it seemed like where there skill level was disappointing and didnt have there running game going. but i am sure when on their day they could match most as they have shown over the past 10 weeks. And i noticed Andrews and his team showing great interest in the bulls huddle and what Lee had to say. i still would have to pick the bulls to get over the line this week, just i mite add. shall be a great game.

MasterOfRoc
9 Sep 2007, 17:53
Birchip have plenty of room to improve...
7.17 or whatever it was shows this!

footy_pie
9 Sep 2007, 18:56
i wonder exactly what happened with the B/W fellas after the game. B/W would have severly been disappointed. i think tho that both sides could have kicked straighter

MasterOfRoc
9 Sep 2007, 20:03
2 words

Lake... Boort

BiG KinG
9 Sep 2007, 20:30
Ragger what about there discipline, very ordinary i thought in both grades they were undiscipline in ever aspect.
Especially the coach setting a good example by whacking a weddderburn youngstar i didnt expect anything less though with a last name like that.
Birchip a likely chance to go out in straght sets in both grades.

Truck
9 Sep 2007, 21:05
Ragger what about there discipline, very ordinary i thought in both grades they were undiscipline in ever aspect.
Especially the coach setting a good example by whacking a weddderburn youngstar i didnt expect anything less though with a last name like that.
Birchip a likely chance to go out in straght sets in both grades.

If their scooby doos turn there form around guess who comes back in for the granny......*drum roll* Mr A Lee

greysong
9 Sep 2007, 22:59
Bulls will win the seniors. Some reasons why -

More than happy on St.Arnaud ground. 2 of their most comfortable wins of the season were at Lord Nelson Park, plus their last 3 flags were played there.

Have beaten Charlton twice this year, both times Charlton were coming off a week's rest.

First win against Charlton was a week after a disappointing defeat to Wyche. Evidence that they can come back to beat the Navies after a disappointing showing the week previous.

Cliff Ryan and Jarrod Tyler both due to kick a bag.

Bend it
10 Sep 2007, 09:41

More than happy on St.Arnaud ground. 2 of their most comfortable wins of the season were at Lord Nelson Park, plus their last 3 flags were played there.

Have beaten Charlton twice this year, both times Charlton were coming off a week's rest.

First win against Charlton was a week after a disappointing defeat to Wyche. Evidence that they can come back to beat the Navies after a disappointing showing the week previous.

Well it doesnt really matter because if Wedderburn play like they did on Saturday no one will get close. B-W were disgusting on saturday. I hope Charlton get through because B-W looked scared on saturday.

ohwhenthesaints
10 Sep 2007, 10:20
Have to agree ragger, the bulls didnt show up to play it seemed like where there skill level was disappointing and didnt have there running game going. but i am sure when on their day they could match most as they have shown over the past 10 weeks. And i noticed Andrews and his team showing great interest in the bulls huddle and what Lee had to say. i still would have to pick the bulls to get over the line this week, just i mite add. shall be a great game.

Think you might be right. The bulls could've blown it apart early, only innacurate kicking cost them. The burn hardly had it in the first 1/4 and a half. Tonkin kept the burn in it early with a couple of goals. Benaim threw the the biggets haymaker seen for a while at Robbie Lee but missed. Then Robbie tries to take revenge and gets sent off, in the end cost the bulls the momentum and most probably the game. Once the burn got a sniff they were up and running. I think the 2 teams are closer than the scorebaord board suggest.

Truck
10 Sep 2007, 11:18

Who in this years side played in any of those flags just out of intrest

Bolivar Shagnasty
10 Sep 2007, 11:19
Think you might be right. The bulls could've blown it apart early, only innacurate kicking cost them. The burn hardly had it in the first 1/4 and a half. Tonkin kept the burn in it early with a couple of goals. Benaim threw the the biggets haymaker seen for a while at Robbie Lee but missed. Then Robbie tries to take revenge and gets sent off, in the end cost the bulls the momentum and most probably the game. Once the burn got a sniff they were up and running. I think the 2 teams are closer than the scorebaord board suggest.

Yeah to to agree there. Lee's send off was only due to a stray arm, sought of a slap you could say nothing in it at all. didnt even hurt the bloke as he kept going for the ball and only went down when the whistle went. But it did make it harder for the bulls playing a man down and this is where the bun seemed to to start building the lead and get it out to 6 goals.

MasterOfRoc
10 Sep 2007, 11:39
stray arm maybe, but yellow cardable offence none the less