View Full Version : Why other supporters think Melbourne is soft.

Pages : 1 [2]

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 14:22
Some valid points

-Atleast we havent had a player cry!
-This season was an odd year(Hence our bad year) and we showed last year that if we even play to 50% of our capabilities we will thrash you. Remember, Riewoldt kicked 9 goals and you still got pumped.
-you traded away your hardest player, in Guerra, and we picked up the hardest in pickett.
- Your hardest players are your older players(except for Ball) such as Hamill etc., whereas our hardest players are Sylvia, Mclean, moloney, miller and Jones. Much brighter future. When Neitz retires, these kids will fill the void, but what happens when hamill retires?....Xavier Clarke?...Raphael Clarke?...Dal Santo?. Spare me.
Well how do you quote toughness??
is it like the game where seven or eight of your marshmallow mob ganged up on a player returning from injury, Or our guys like Dal Santo who took the opportunity to kick a lazy five, Or Ball who continued to put his head over the ball, and if its girly to cry and your going to point out Reiwoldt crying continuosly, wasnt your whole side crying at the start of this year?? Openly weeping and this was in the pre season, not even a game yet but there were the tears, so its girly to cry for some but not for others??? So our captain is soft for crying but everyone on your list from the coach down can shed a tear but its tough?

RedLegs#5
16 Dec 2005, 14:32
Well how do you quote toughness??
is it like the game where seven or eight of your marshmallow mob ganged up on a player returning from injury, Or our guys like Dal Santo who took the opportunity to kick a lazy five, Or Ball who continued to put his head over the ball, and if its girly to cry and your going to point out Reiwoldt crying continuosly, wasnt your whole side crying at the start of this year?? Openly weeping and this was in the pre season, not even a game yet but there were the tears, so its girly to cry for some but not for others??? So our captain is soft for crying but everyone on your list from the coach down can shed a tear but its tough?
Ok feral…let’s be realistic. I know you’re bored and looking for something to do…but this topic is making you look quite the fool. Your club hasn't achieved anything...pretty much ever. They are definitely known as ‘soft’, both on and off field. Don't take your anger out on the oldest and greatest club in the AFL, just because of your clubs 'misfortunes'. Melbourne will never be the softest AFL club with rabbles like St. Kilda around.

I think it's time I asked you to get down on your knees....and to…CLEAN MY SHOES!

P.S. You should keep up the Melbourne talk though. Proof that everyone can’t get enough of them!

P.S.S. Ooze ripped you apart! Hehehe.. :cool: :thumbsu:

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 14:46
Ok feral…let’s be realistic. I know you’re bored and looking for something to do…but this topic is making you look quite the fool. Your club hasn't achieved anything...pretty much ever. They are definitely known as ‘soft’, both on and off field. Don't take your anger out on the oldest and greatest club in the AFL, just because of your clubs 'misfortunes'. Melbourne will never be the softest AFL club with rabbles like St. Kilda around.

I think it's time I asked you to get down on your knees....and to…CLEAN MY SHOES!

P.S. You should keep up the Melbourne talk though. Proof that everyone can’t get enough of them!

P.S.S. Ooze ripped you apart! Hehehe.. :cool: :thumbsu:
bored and getting borederer!!!

Well I would love to clean your shoes but like your sides footy boots theres just no need, they never get dirty, oldest and greatest club in the AFL, is the softest?

yup cant get enough of the dees, unlike you though I can say my team won a flag in the last fifty years!! You don't look like winning another for the next fifty, the oldest and greatest club in the afl and the only one it's members voluntarily voted to put to rest.

Soft, but what do you expect? After all any side where a front running squib like yze can be idolised, a supporter base that pins it's hope on sylvia- he will play afl one day, thats one soft dung pile.

RedLegs#5
16 Dec 2005, 14:56
bored and getting borederer!!!

Well I would love to clean your shoes but like your sides footy boots theres just no need, they never get dirty, oldest and greatest club in the AFL, is the softest?

yup cant get enough of the dees, unlike you though I can say my team won a flag in the last fifty years!! You don't look like winning another for the next fifty, the oldest and greatest club in the afl and the only one it's members voluntarily voted to put to rest.

Soft, but what do you expect? After all any side where a front running squib like yze can be idolised, a supporter base that pins it's hope on sylvia- he will play afl one day, thats one soft dung pile.
HAHAHAHAHA. Keep going moron!

I love the stupidity on this site. :)

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 15:04
HAHAHAHAHA. Keep going moron!

I love the stupidity on this site. :)

You should your such a big part of it! A big soft part but a big part nonetheless! It's funny though you guys are also the biggest hypocrites, welcoming Pickett with open arms, if only Long had played two games for you how quickly would you have forgiven him. But is ok Byron makes us hard now, perhaps your not talking about your team any more but the state of your shorts.

Melbourne hard, thats like saying
Paris Hilton is chaste. Mind you you can always call me a moron again, it just adds to the fun, you know your on the winning side of an argument when someone goes all soft and resorts to calling names

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 15:05
You should your such a big part of it! A big soft part but a big part nonetheless! It's funny though you guys are also the biggest hypocrites, welcoming Pickett with open arms, if only Long had played two games for you how quickly would you have forgiven him. But is ok Byron makes us hard now, perhaps your not talking about your team any more but the state of your shorts.

Melbourne hard, thats like saying
Paris Hilton is chaste. Mind you you can always call me a moron again, it just adds to the fun, you know your on the winning side of an argument when someone goes all soft and resorts to calling names

Quick tell me I'm pwned that would really be the icing

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 15:06
Quick tell me I'm pwned that would really be the icing

No tell me again how good Sylvia is thats even funnier

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 15:07
No tell me again how good Sylvia is thats even funnier
Or Neitz, yeah Neeta thats a good one

Saintsfan
16 Dec 2005, 15:07
Or Neitz, yeah Neeta thats a good one

Miller

HighRoller
16 Dec 2005, 15:52
Right. As for the record, melbourne contains players such as Brent Moloney, Colin Sylvia, Brock McLean, Brad Miller, David Neitz, Byron Pickett, Matt Whelan, Nathan Brown. These guys are not soft. And dont anyone dare say that Brown or Whelan is soft. Dont you dare say it. Whelan is as tough as they come and very very underrated. Nathan Brown is courageous, he gets his head knocked off most weeks as he constantly has it over the ball. For god's sake saints supporters give these guys some fuc*ing respect. You demand respect regarding your playing list but refuse to honour anyone else's ability. Dogs. Thats what you are.

Weak hey? Round 1 vs Brisbane. Your captain was shirtfronted by Charman, he was then manhandled by Michael and Scott and was seen in the grandstand crying for fuc*s sake. Soft? Soft? Who is soft pal? The only player to approach Michael or Scott was Hamill, the only player after your captain was felled. Talk about a pitiful performance. Disgraceful. Absolutely pis* poor. One player stood up to them, one. Justify that saints fans and dont you shy away from it cause you know that your players cowered like wimps at the sight of Michael and Scott. Your as weak as pis*. Matt Maguire was a disgrace in the prelim final. Tummy tapped by Barry Hall and he whinged and cowered like a woman. You lost that game because you were intimidated and overpowered. Your team is a pathetic bunch of squibs. Get over yourselves saints fans.

Just reading through this thread now and havent gone through the whole thing yet but just thought i might add that this is POST OF THE YEAR!!

Bout time someone shut these winging saints fans up!

Why dont u come tell us how soft we are once u actually win a flag. The best thing about all of this is that Saints fans are so arrogant and one minded that they are practically stroking the premiership cup right now. The even better news is that they arnt gonna win one! St Kilda->Bunch of no hopers who are going nowhere fast. Gotta feel for Robert Harvey u really do!

Jarka
16 Dec 2005, 15:54
Miller

Truly amazing. Amazing that someone has managed to make Demondavey look intelligent in comparison with their replies.

Well done.

BTW, Saints are softer than Melbourne. At least we can use the excuse that we're no good enough to win, but the saints have easily been the most talented team in the comp for the last two years but you've somehow managed to ******** it up.
All the skill, flair and talent in the world, but mentally soft. Pity the window of opportunity is quickly closing for you guys, I was really hoping that either you guys, the cats or us would win in over the next couple of years.

goDees22
16 Dec 2005, 17:29
Miller

would smash maguire

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 17:59
would smash maguire
silly comment.:o

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 18:01
Truly amazing. Amazing that someone has managed to make Demondavey look intelligent in comparison with their replies.

impossibility.

JeffDunne
16 Dec 2005, 18:04
LOL @ Demon supporters in this thread.

"We're not soft - we're crap!" :D

parrot
16 Dec 2005, 18:10
..."We're not soft -....

http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200503/r43606_112199.jpg

:)

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 18:14
how would you like him in your side Parrot? Then you would have one decent player :)

davey_magik
16 Dec 2005, 18:15
This is the most hypocritical thread ever.

JeffDunne
16 Dec 2005, 18:17
2003 Round 20 OO St Kilda 26.10 (166) d Carlton 11.9 (75) St K 91
2004 Round 10 TD St Kilda 31.10 (196) d Carlton 13.10 (88) St K 108
2005 Round 15 TD St Kilda 23.15 (153) d Carlton 11.7 (73) St K 80

parrot
16 Dec 2005, 18:17
how would you like him in your side Parrot? Then you would have one decent player :)

We'll stick with Josh Kennedy. Thanks anyway. :)

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 18:20
We'll stick with Josh Kennedy. Thanks anyway. :)
:D Then you won't mind the years of pain ahead :) Top Decision.

parrot
16 Dec 2005, 18:22
... you won't mind the years of pain ....

You mean like winning 26 spoons, or having GT as your coach? :)

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 18:31
You mean like winning 26 spoons, or having GT as your coach? :)
yeah something like that, get ready for it mate it's coming your way :)

parrot
16 Dec 2005, 18:33
..get ready for it mate it's coming your way :)

Wasn't aware GT was leaving. :)

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 18:36
Wasn't aware GT was leaving. :)
GT could help you guys but we need him, it's the other things coming your way :) But hey you were so happy to see your side lose this year it shouldn't worry you for the next 10 years.:)

parrot
16 Dec 2005, 18:38
GT could help you guys but we need him, ...

For comic relief? Did you get to watch his season-ending coaching moves in the Swans V Saints finals. Huge laughs. :)

The Fireman
16 Dec 2005, 18:41
For comic relief? Did you get to watch his season-ending coaching moves in the Swans V Saints finals. Huge laughs. :)
Something you won't have to worry about for a long time. But don't let it spoil your Xmas...for the next decade :)

ouch I'm responding to Parrot, must be all the Xmas cheer :o

parrot
16 Dec 2005, 19:02
Something you won't have to worry about for a long time...

4-months ain't that long. GT' provides lots of entertainment - we all love the GT face buried in hands "why did I do that" expression e.g. after moving Fraser to the backline in the first 1/4 of the Saints V Swans final. A special part of footy. :)

LongBomb
16 Dec 2005, 21:16
Soft club. Soft supporters.

Rolled over without a yelp in their biggest game of the year.
Pathetic.

goDees22
16 Dec 2005, 21:47
Rolled over like Geelong in the last quarter v sydney;) nah i was ********ed off i wanted the cattas to do well, but anyway.....

i know why melbourne are viewed as such a soft team. if u go through our better players, you see guys like bruce, yze, and green, who almost have a ful heart between them. most other teams best players are not seen as soft, ie. there aren't alot of good players that r soft, but these guys are.if you look at any other teams top 5 or top 10 players you will see 1-2 players you would consider soft, where at melbourne you'd see 3-4, maybe more if u believe what some ppl on bigfooty say. also, our tougher players like brown, whelan, mcdonald r very underrated so the only players u ever really hear about r the soft ones. we're not as soft as we seem like, and we have realised we needed toughness, and we have drafted accordingly with bell, moloney, mclean, sylvia, jones, miller, rivers, all blokes who won't take a backward step. it sounds better in my head i can;t really explain it to well but thats my take on it. our best players r skilful, but soft, and them being the face of the club makes the club look soft, there thats better

RedLegs#5
16 Dec 2005, 22:06

Pathetic.
http://media.smh.com.au/?category=&rid=16749&sy=smh&source=int16749r&t=5IEA4M&ie=1&player=wm7&rate=2346&flash=1

Hehehehehe

dread and might
16 Dec 2005, 22:32
\ But let’s be realistic. People who think Melbourne is soft secretly admire them or secretly fear them. Everyone knows that on their day Melbourne can crush any team.

Bzzzt. Nice try. I don't fear them. I look forward to the next crushing.

LongBomb
16 Dec 2005, 22:52
their toughest 2 players are both other sides discards.
says a lot really.

LongBomb
16 Dec 2005, 22:54
@ redlegs - you can go down having a crack or roll over like like little bitches like the dees.
You obviously prefer the latter.

Hawks88bestever
16 Dec 2005, 23:18
A little song for our wonderful friend and champion of all that is soft, things like butter, marshmellows, baby poo and the Melbourne football club, an ode to the mentally bereft DemonDavey, sung to the tune of his favorite band, and as hard as his footy side the village peoples " in the navy"

DemonDavey, young boy with a brain disease

DemonDavey, sticks by his soft******** Dees

DemonDavey DemonDavey

DemonDavey, thinks the dees are ubertough

DemonDavey, must be on columbian snuff

DemonDavey DemonDavey

DemonDavey, what chance has he got

DemonDavey, his team are weak as snot

DemonDavey DemonDavey

DemonDavey, his mental faculties are poo

DemonDavey, watch out he'll swear at you

DemonDavey DemonDavey
This is so lame :thumbsd:

Jarka
17 Dec 2005, 10:16
LOL @ Demon supporters in this thread.

"We're not soft - we're crap!" :D

Arrogance from a group of supporters whose team has won only one grand final in it's entire existence and has a divine right to winning the wooden spoon.
Sad really if you think about it. But I guess for a club like that playing finals is their Holy Grail, because success is so foreign to them they're happy with anything they can lay their hands on.

JeffDunne
17 Dec 2005, 10:24
Sad really if you think about it. But I guess for a club like that playing finals is their Holy Grail, because success is so foreign to them they're happy with anything they can lay their hands on.
Better to compete than to not compete at all.

Vote to merge = soft supporters

RedLegs#5
17 Dec 2005, 10:30
Better to compete than to not compete at all.

Vote to merge = soft supporters
Is that the best you've got? I guess as a St.Kilda supporter you can't take any other angle.

Hehehehe...:cool:

P.S. Keep up the thread! Melbourne must dominate the boards!

It's a grand old flag...

Jarka
17 Dec 2005, 10:31
I'm glad you agree with me, you are arrogant, sad and accepting of mediocrity. I, however, did not vote to merge.

I'm glad we understand each other.

JeffDunne
17 Dec 2005, 10:37
I'm glad you agree with me, you are arrogant, sad and accepting of mediocrity.
One out of three aint bad.

Is not voting your club out of existance "accepting mediocrity"???

If so, guilty as charged on that one.

Jarka
17 Dec 2005, 10:43
One out of three aint bad.

Is not voting your club out of existance "accepting mediocrity"???

If so, guilty as charged on that one.

I didn't vote my team out of existence, I've already mentioned that, I thought you were more intelligent than that. Next time try to come up with something original.

Don't blame me for your actions, you and your fellow saints fans fit into all three categories going by your performance in this thread. Your words, not mine.

I really thought you were more intelligent than this, you're actually quite boring, have a nice day.

JeffDunne
17 Dec 2005, 10:47
I didn't vote my team out of existence, I've already mentioned that, I thought you were more intelligent than that. Next time try to come up with something original.
This coming from the bloke who thinks "accepting of mediocrity" is an insult or even remotely original?

oooze
17 Dec 2005, 10:50
I would have to say that, at this point in time, melbourne are definately one of the softest teams in the afl, but I would also have to say that due to this we probably are one of the most skillful teams in the afl. Yze, Bruce, Johnstone, Davey, Green etc. Alot of skill there!

I also might add that we are definately the weakest side mentally, as we should have got to a grand final in the last 2 years, yet we have stumbled out of successive finals after being on top of the ladder mid-season.

The point that all of you are missing, is that Melbourne have the younger players to go from the softest team in the competition to the hardest team. Sylvia, Mclean, Moloney and Jones are 4 hard at it warrior-type midfielders and I dont think any other team has players so young and so hard.

Yes, players like Deledio, Cooney, Marc Murphy, A.Walker and Griffen 'may' be more skilful but none of these players can match the young dees that i have mentioned in the physicality department.

Catnip
17 Dec 2005, 12:22
Ladies and Gentle men DemonDavey has made it to the Tool Board, congrats mate, you are up there with the best of them :p but by far the dumbest.

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/1849/toolboard1zn.jpg

The moral of the story is never ******** off the photshop fans...

The Fireman
17 Dec 2005, 12:44
The moral of the story is never ******** off the photshop fans...
and or be an idiot :)

Jarka
17 Dec 2005, 15:02
This coming from the bloke who thinks "accepting of mediocrity" is an insult or even remotely original?

Wasn't an insult, just an observation. Not my fault if you have a glass jaw.

Saintsfan
17 Dec 2005, 15:47
yawn, soft like mushy peas. When the going gets tough the dees do nothing.

Yeah one flag in one hundred years, yep a history of failure, but through all that we also have a history of playing hard men, the dees if they are happy with the current crop of thunderbird puppets are welcome to it. Theres a difference between being a loser and being a soft stand away merchant, a little spine would be a start at melbourne.

Tredders66
17 Dec 2005, 16:23
I dont think the team is soft but there supporters are. Everytime we play them there is no more then 12 or 15,000 at the G.

dee_molisher
17 Dec 2005, 18:51
I dont think the team is soft but there supporters are. Everytime we play them there is no more then 12 or 15,000 at the G.

Probably cause we hate watching your bald fagoty players running around the park.

Thalidomide
17 Dec 2005, 18:54
Probably cause we hate watching your bald fagoty players running around the park.Brilliant :thumbsu:

dee_molisher
17 Dec 2005, 18:55
yawn, soft like mushy peas. When the going gets tough the dees do nothing.

Yeah one flag in one hundred years, yep a history of failure, but through all that we also have a history of playing hard men, the dees if they are happy with the current crop of thunderbird puppets are welcome to it. Theres a difference between being a loser and being a soft stand away merchant, a little spine would be a start at melbourne.

You, a Saint supporter having a go. Man your lot are as weak as ******** - as shown in the last two years. You have had that many draft concessions and somehow your lot still manage to loose.

Please explain while reiwoltd is such a big fat sook who is scared of contests, gets pushed off the ball and goes to ground so easily. Now that is the true image of soft. Sainter, more like sooks.

skywalk750
17 Dec 2005, 19:00
I would like to know why there is a perception out in the football world that Melbourne is the softest team in the League.

I can only give a personal perspective. I saw them play twice last season against my team . In Round 1 they played a severely undermanned Saints team and lost Cameron Bruce early. With this undermanned team the Saints spanked Melbourne by eight goals with Daniher admitting his side had dogged it during the latter part of the third quarter so he had to flood fron then on. Obviously Melbourne didn't have the heart for the contest.

Round 2. We see the farcicial pre meditated attack on Riewoldt, about six Melbourne "hard men" (:D ) lined up to bump Riewolts shoulder. Unfortunately this show of strength didn't translate into putting your head over the ball and Melbourne ended up being humiliated by the Saints by 78 point, in the process getting the be-jesus smashed out of them physically ending the game with about half dozen injuries. I will have an enduring memory of Adem Yze hanging around behind pack looking for cheap kicks, and not once getting his own ball.

So this is my perception of Melbourne. Miller looks like a goer, and they have recruited the biggest sniper in the League in Pickett but still they seem a very timid team.

Anyone have any other perceptions?

Nein.

Doesent take contested marks.

Tries to take out players who have their head over the ball.

A goer or tough player is someone who does all the legitimate stuff.

davey_magik
17 Dec 2005, 20:39
Nein.

Doesent take contested marks.

Tries to take out players who have their head over the ball.

A goer or tough player is someone who does all the legitimate stuff.

Watch one of his games. He certainly does.
However he does do stupid things sometimes like trying to bump players and missing them which looks even worse than getting cheap shots in.

Saintsfan
18 Dec 2005, 14:59
You, a Saint supporter having a go. Man your lot are as weak as ******** - as shown in the last two years. You have had that many draft concessions and somehow your lot still manage to loose.

Please explain while reiwoltd is such a big fat sook who is scared of contests, gets pushed off the ball and goes to ground so easily. Now that is the true image of soft. Sainter, more like sooks.

That might all be true, but thank god there is such a soft bunch of fags like the dees that simply allow Reiwoldt to kick a lazy 12, and he's so soft that it took a courageous mob like the dainty dees to have to gang up on him six or seven to one whilst he's returning from injury.

Soft, soft, soft, seven onto one might be ok in the demon showers but it certainly isn't what I'd call tough on a footy field. Now havent you got better things to do like organize a cosy little merger or something, begone I choose to vote you out of existance

Mofra
18 Dec 2005, 16:07
Yes, players like Deledio, Cooney, Marc Murphy, A.Walker and Griffen 'may' be more skilful but none of these players can match the young dees that i have mentioned in the physicality department.
Griffen is one of the most solid 19 yo's you're likely to meet, Cooney has bulked up.

That said McLean looks like could become one of the toughest midfielders in the AFL given a couple more years.

The Shev
18 Dec 2005, 21:04
go back a year to a similar situation at the G where we didn't have Gehrig, and lost a couple of players during the game including Hudgton and Maguire in the second half, yet you demon supporters were saying injuries arent an excuse, as a matter of fact coke snorting vile spewing Demondavey, still vomits that injuries can't be used as an excuse for us choking in last years prelim. But the soft old dees just keep trotting it out when its needed as a defence for their own malleable melbourne maggots.

Just shows how tough mentally or otherwise your skipper is when he is simply told to go and stand in our backline because he didn't have the courage class or character to try and get a kick in his own possie!

I can't speak on behalf of all our supporters out there, but I never called the Saints soft for their 2004 loss to us at the MCG. As far as I am concerned, we lost the game in Round 3 because we weren't good enough, not because we were soft.

And your last comment makes absolutely no sense at all. If a player is instructed by his coach to move to another position on the field, he moves to that position on the field. This is what Neitz did, so how does this mean that he doesn't have courage, class or character? Any sensible fan will agree that Neitz is a tough player who has had quite a good career at our club, so I think you should lay off him before yu make a fool of yourself.

The Fireman
12 Jan 2006, 18:38
DemonDavey wanted to have another look at this thread :)
Poor guy lol.

audas
12 Jan 2006, 20:06
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,434085,00.jpg

DOSENT HAVE THE BALL, THE GUY HAS HIS HEAD DOWN. REPORTABLE COWARDICE.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,344812,00.jpg

TRIP. AGAIN COWADRLY.

http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/03/28/80melb2_gallery__550x345.jpg
TWO AGAINST ONE. REALLY TOUGH.

This is just pathetic.

The Fireman
13 Jan 2006, 13:28
It's all here Demon Davey, have a good read :o

Demonic Ascent
2 Jun 2006, 17:20
yup cant get enough of the dees, unlike you though I can say my team won a flag in the last fifty years!!

Pathetic......

their toughest 2 players are both other sides discards.
says a lot really.........

@ redlegs - you can go down having a crack or roll over like like little bitches like the dees.
You obviously prefer the latter.

St. Kilda's one and only flag? 1966

Melbournes last flag of 12? 1964

Geelongs last flag of what, 6? 1963

I think Saints and Cats fans should worry about getting the runs on the board before they start stirring the :D:D:D:D against other supporters.

McLean, Sylvia, Moloney, Jones (when he gets a game), Whelan, Pickett, Miller, Carroll, Neitz. Who are the Saints tough men? Hamill definitely when he can get on the park. Gehrig? He's just a retarded psycho. Only a good player cause he's being fed by the likes of Hayes, Ball, Dal Santo & Harvey. What other "toughnuts" do you have?

Can't wait til Sunday. Look at the Saints next 5 weeks. If they lose to us Demons they could struggle to make the finals. After being premiership favourites pre-season. That makes them and Geelong. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!

sydney eagle
2 Jun 2006, 17:32
They didn't seem too "soft" in the game against the Eagles the other week !

Theseventhhamster
4 Jun 2006, 20:49
Hmm I'll take Grant Thomas at his word here Saints are soft.

goDees22
4 Jun 2006, 22:47
We were very reactive and they out-toughed us and they were much harder at the footy and everything else
yes Grant. Those bloody Marshmallow Dees:o

RedLegs#5
4 Jun 2006, 23:46
Eating words...lots of fun! :D :thumbsu:

Kildonan
5 Jun 2006, 01:06

The placings of teams at the end of the H&A season last ten years:

?? Year. - 96-97-98-99-00-01-02-03-04-05
Freman. - 13-12-15-15-12-16-13-05-09-10 5 years in the bottom 4, 0 years in top 4.
Magpies - 11-08-14-16-15-09-04-02-13-15 5 years in the bottom 4, 2 years in top 4.
Hawtho - 08-15-13-09-08-06-10- 09-15-14 4 years in the bottom 4, 0 years in top 4
Richmon - 09-13-09-12-09-04-14-13-16-12 4 years in the bottom 4, 1 year in top 4.
Demons - 14-16-04-14-03-11-06-14-05-07 4 years in the bottom 4, 2 years in top 4.
Carlton. - 05-11-11-06-02-05-16-15-11-16 3 years in the bottom 4, 1 year in top 4
St Kilda - 10-01-06-10-16-15-15-11–03-04 3 years in the bottom 4, 3 years in top 4.
W Bulld - 15–03-02–04-07-10- 12-16-14-09 3 years in the bottom 4, 3 years in top 4.

The demons have had their snouts in the draft trough MORE than St Kilda has over the last ten years.

Cogz24
5 Jun 2006, 01:10
The way they faded last year was dissapointing.

They seem to be there abouts but for some reason they just cant take the next step

Credit must go to Daniher, I know he hasnt won a flag but as a coach he seems well respected by his peers, and to have the respect of his own players.

Pav for AA
5 Jun 2006, 02:13
The way they faded last year was dissapointing.

They seem to be there abouts but for some reason they just cant take the next step

Credit must go to Daniher, I know he hasnt won a flag but as a coach he seems well respected by his peers, and to have the res
pect of his own players.

DOnt think theyll have the same problem this year, with the likes of Bartram and Maclean coming through both of whom > Deledio, they will not faulter :thumbsu:

rick James
5 Jun 2006, 10:03
McLean looks like could become one of the toughest midfielders in the AFL given a couple more years.

He's there already.

I love how Saints fans started mouthing off after the anomaly last year (i.e. they actually managed to beat us somehow for the only time this decade) lured them inot a sense of arrogance.

Melbourne > Saints.

Always have, always will. We're harder too, by a long way.

rick James
5 Jun 2006, 10:06

I think you should be having a good read genius. suck it up.

MrAaron
5 Jun 2006, 10:06
Melbourne will beat the Pies next Monday I guarantee it :thumbsu:

JeffDunne
5 Jun 2006, 10:07
Melbourne will do well until they think they are doing well - they are just like the Cats.

Then the fear of failure will kick in.

That's why they are soft.

MrAaron
5 Jun 2006, 10:07
He's there already.

I love how Saints fans started mouthing off after the anomaly last year (i.e. they actually managed to beat us somehow for the only time this decade) lured them inot a sense of arrogance.

Melbourne > Saints.

Always have, always will. We're harder too, by a long way.

How did you lot go the last 2 seasons in the finals ???

Last 2 seasons ....

St. Kilda >>>> Melbourne

rick James
5 Jun 2006, 10:10
Melbourne will do well until they think they are doing well - they are just like the Cats.

Oh, so now you're saying we're mentally soft, not physically soft?

GT seems to beleive we are tougher than his own side. That's a pretty big endorsement, and any West coast fan would tell you how hard we went at them at Subi last week. Our tackling is second to none.

We are physically and mentally tougher than your rabble.

rick James
5 Jun 2006, 10:12
How did you lot go the last 2 seasons in the finals ???

Last 2 seasons ....

St. Kilda >>>> Melbourne

It's irrelevant, both teams stumbled in the finals. There's no prizes for making a prelim. St Kilda, in 04 and 05, did have a better list than Melbourne, not disputing that - overall, as a club, Melbourne > St Kilda. Always have, always will.

MrAaron
5 Jun 2006, 10:14
It's irrelevant, both teams stumbled in the finals. There's no prizes for making a prelim. St Kilda, in 04 and 05, did have a better list than Melbourne, not disputing that - overall, as a club, Melbourne > St Kilda. Always have, always will.

you have to be joking right ? As a club Saints have been better recently. that is all that matters. if you want to go way back in history why don't we go back to 2000 ? :D

Flag Man
5 Jun 2006, 10:17
Like other clubs before them, Melbourne has imported North Melbourne hardness.

In fact, since 1997, every club that has won the premiership, with the exception of Sydney, has had an imported North Melbourne player in it.

Brock Mclean has helped also.

rick James
5 Jun 2006, 10:22
you have to be joking right ? As a club Saints have been better recently. that is all that matters. if you want to go way back in history why don't we go back to 2000 ? :D

Ok, and using your logic we must have been awesome that year (and we were) because we finished second.

Stop trying to make this about Essendon, you guys are irrelevant this year.

Melbourne have mconsistently had the wood over the Saints for the last decade, having only lost to them in 2005 (twice). That is what I was referring to.

Cogz24
5 Jun 2006, 11:28
DOnt think theyll have the same problem this year, with the likes of Bartram and Maclean coming through both of whom > Deledio, they will not faulter :thumbsu:

LMAO

How come you have to turn every thread into a Deledio bashing one??

Touch insecure are we????

Just for record Mclean 3rd year player Deledio 2nd year player.

You contiunally compare players at different stages of development. Poor

Jarka
5 Jun 2006, 12:51

It sure is Fireman ;)

LightTower4
5 Jun 2006, 13:40

I wasn't going to do this but after that comment and given this is Bay 13, here is my quick impression of St Kilda :D

http://www.choice.com.au/files/f118664.jpg

Demonic Ascent
5 Jun 2006, 15:26
AHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Enjoy the next month against Sydney, Adelaide and Collingwood Sainters.

SEASON OVER......

1 Premiership in 108 years? AHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA