View Full Version : First XII for the Ashes next year.

Gets!
18 Dec 2005, 20:33
If I was a selector, test team would look like this:

Michael Hussey
Matthew Hayden
Ricky Ponting
Mark Cosgrove
Brad Hodge
Phil Jaques
Adam Gilchrist
Brett Lee
Shane Warne
Glenn McGrath
Shaun Tait

12th man - Dan Cullen.

Thoughts?

Drummond
18 Dec 2005, 20:35
Yeh I must say that's a very good looking side. Spot on mate. Strength all the way down the order. A very strong batting line-up, and good bowling stocks.

How much better does the side look without Katich? :thumbsu:

ablettjnr
18 Dec 2005, 20:39
OUT: Cosgrove
IN: Langer

Langer to 1
Hodge to 4
Hussey to 5

Cassius_Clay
18 Dec 2005, 20:40

Michael Hussey
Matthew Hayden
Ricky Ponting
Mark Cosgrove
Brad Hodge
Phil Jaques
Adam Gilchrist
Brett Lee
Shane Warne
Glenn McGrath
Shaun Tait

12th man - Dan Cullen.

Thoughts?
So Langer and Clarke both died in a plane crash?

Woodstock..
18 Dec 2005, 20:42

Michael Hussey
Matthew Hayden
Ricky Ponting
Mark Cosgrove
Brad Hodge
Phil Jaques
Adam Gilchrist
Brett Lee
Shane Warne
Glenn McGrath
Shaun Tait

12th man - Dan Cullen.

Thoughts? Langer?????? Cosgrove straight to four one of the most important spots in the lineup on top of Hodge who is currently batting at 4, 12th man Dan Cullen youre dreaming he wont get past MacGill?
Tait straight back into the side after a shoulder injury an automatic selection??? Youre way off mate. Stick to your day job

ablettjnr
18 Dec 2005, 20:47
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
Hussey
Jaques/Clarke
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee
MacGill
McGrath

12th: Tait

Only two quicks, but who needs another.

Obviously it depends on where the game is regarding 1 or 2 spinners.

Yes, no or otherwise?

skipper kelly
18 Dec 2005, 20:49
On current form my Test team is

Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
Clarke
Hussey. M
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee
Bracken
McGrath

12th man McGill.

13th squad member Symonds.

If the selectors opt to play Warne and McGill then its Bracken 12th and Symonds at 6 with Clarke out.

Nothing new, but thats how I see it.

starz
18 Dec 2005, 20:52
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hussey
Hodge
Cosgrove
Gilly
Lee
Warne
Tait/Bracken
McGrath
12th man: Billy Birmingham/Symonds

Bentleigh
18 Dec 2005, 21:14
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
Hussey
Clarke
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee
Bracken
McGrath

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 21:43
Langer?????? Cosgrove straight to four one of the most important spots in the lineup on top of Hodge who is currently batting at 4, 12th man Dan Cullen youre dreaming he wont get past MacGill?
Tait straight back into the side after a shoulder injury an automatic selection??? Youre way off mate. Stick to your day job
This is a year away mate.

Tait will be back in a month.

Stick to giving your dad a job. (Specify yourself)

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 21:44
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
Hussey
Jaques/Clarke
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee
MacGill
McGrath

12th: Bracken

Only two quicks, but who needs another, and what's Bracken done for me lately.

Obviously it depends on where the game is regarding 1 or 2 spinners.

Yes, no or otherwise?
Bracken bro.

Have you seen him bowl?

He's supposedly a swing bowler.

We're still waiting.

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 21:46
Bracken bro.

Have you seen him bowl?

We're still waiting.
Can I remind people Bracken averages 42 with the ball, cant swing it and most relevant can't bowl.

He wont be able to hold his place for that long.

Sunny
ODI Matches

Gilchrist (or Haddin)
Katich
Ponting
Martyn
Clarke
Symonds
M Hussey
Hogg
Lee
Lewis/Bracken
McGrath

TESTS

Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
M Hussey
Clarke/Cosgrove/Jacques
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee/Tait
Bracken/Lewis/MacGill
McGrath

eddiesmith

Michael Hussey
Matthew Hayden
Ricky Ponting
Mark Cosgrove
Brad Hodge
Phil Jaques
Adam Gilchrist
Brett Lee
Shane Warne
Glenn McGrath
Shaun Tait

12th man - Dan Cullen.

Thoughts?

The English can only hope and pray they select that lineup for the Ashes:D

ablettjnr
18 Dec 2005, 21:50
Bracken bro.

Have you seen him bowl?

We're still waiting.
That's why he's carrying drinks.

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 21:56
That's why he's carrying drinks.
My point being Shaun Tait.

ablettjnr
18 Dec 2005, 21:58
My point being Shaun Tait.
Can't see him wanting to carry drinks, plus, without Bracken around, the Vics can get to the top of the Domestic tables.

However, point taken.

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 22:03
The English can only hope and pray they select that lineup for the Ashes:D
Why Pakistan's was no better?

England will get thumped in Australia regardless of the line-up Australia picks, anyone with half a brain would know that.

(That means you can sit this one out champ)

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 22:04

England will get thumped in Australia regardless of the line-up Australia picks, anyone with half a brain would know that.

I wonder if the NSW media will do a 100 story, 4000 minute, 6000 newspaper headlines on Clarke's latest innings.

A fantastic golden duck against SA.

What a talent!

eddiesmith
18 Dec 2005, 22:09

Pakistans lineup was much better than the one suggested in the first post, plus the Sub continent is far different to Australian conditions

I heard something great on day 1, they said the conditions and pitch were exactly like what you would expect in England:D

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 22:22
Pakistans lineup was much better than the one suggested in the first post, plus the Sub continent is far different to Australian conditions

I heard something great on day 1, they said the conditions and pitch were exactly like what you would expect in England:D
Ahh no.

Australian pitches are nothing like English ones.

You'll get thrashed.

The build up will be followed by a let-down with Australia tearing England apart.

Oh and Eddie are you ready to watch your team be absolutely torn to shreds by India?

If you think the Pakistan thrashing was bad......

eddiesmith
18 Dec 2005, 22:26
Ahh no.

Australian pitches are nothing like English ones.

You'll get thrashed.

The build up will be followed by a let-down with Australia tearing England apart.

Oh and Eddie are you ready to watch your team be absolutely torn to shreds by India?

If you think the Pakistan thrashing was bad......
Because of the Australia v SA series on at the same time, I dont think we will be seeing the India v Eng series, so no, I wont be watching them get torn to shreds by India

apollo_creed
18 Dec 2005, 22:30
Because of the Australia v SA series on at the same time, I dont think we will be seeing the India v Eng series, so no, I wont be watching them get torn to shreds by India
At least you're honest.

Refried Noodle
19 Dec 2005, 09:54
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
Hussey
Clarke
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee
Gillespie (here's hoping, still have faith in him!)
McGarth!

MacGill and Bracken/Tait hovering outside team

Woodstock..
19 Dec 2005, 10:13
This is a year away mate.

Tait will be back in a month.

Stick to giving your dad a job. (Specify yourself) So what if Tait is back in a month he will be playing for SA he wont get past bowlers who are already in front of him eg. Bracken, Clark and Lewis.

Lidge
19 Dec 2005, 10:18
So what if Tait is back in a month he will be playing for SA he wont get past bowlers who are already in front of him eg. Bracken, Clark and Lewis.

True to a degree. If he finds form, he'll quickly leap frog Lewis & Clark in the pecking order.

He'll need to get a lot of overs under his belt to prove his body can hold up in the long version of the game, get some wickets and wait for someone in the Aussie XI to stuff up, and open the door for him.

My guess is we won't see Tait back in the green & gold until after the tour to Sth Africa, and that's assuming he successfully comes back from this injury.

apollo_creed
19 Dec 2005, 13:47
True to a degree. If he finds form, he'll quickly leap frog Lewis & Clark in the pecking order.

He'll need to get a lot of overs under his belt to prove his body can hold up in the long version of the game, get some wickets and wait for someone in the Aussie XI to stuff up, and open the door for him.

My guess is we won't see Tait back in the green & gold until after the tour to Sth Africa, and that's assuming he successfully comes back from this injury.
I'm not even going to bother replying to the fruitloop above you, but this is a pretty decent summation.

I don't think we'll see him till after the South Africa tour either, assuming he takes a while to find his feet upon return.

He's about 20 years younger than Lewis and Clark and significantly better but when he does come back, Clark especially will be considered ahead of him. That should only be a momentary thing though. I'm not sure about Lewis, his pasting in the last ODI would've set back his test chances in some respects I'd reckon.

And you say wait for someone in the Aussie XI to stuff up and open the door.

Nathan Bracken's playing. Do I need to say more? ;)

roostersgal4eva
19 Dec 2005, 13:53
Langer
Hayden
Ponting
Hodge
Hussey
Clarke
Gilchrist
Warne
Lee
Gillespie (here's hoping, still have faith in him!)
McGarth!

MacGill and Bracken/Tait hovering outside team
Swap Hussey/Hodge/Langer for Cosgrove and we have a winner

It would be a discrace if Cosgrove isnt playing for Oz in one form or antother

eddiesmith
19 Dec 2005, 14:25
Swap Hussey/Hodge/Langer for Cosgrove and we have a winner

It would be a discrace if Cosgrove isnt playing for Oz in one form or antother
No it wouldnt, because Hussey and Hodge >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Cosgrove

He, like so many before him will have to wait his turn and hope he doesnt do a Hussey, have 4-5 lean years that set back his chances of a long career

usalion
19 Dec 2005, 14:45
Radio guys are making the point that the lineup needs to be solid when the Poms arrive- you don't want to be messing with the lineup unduly during the Ashes.

That means, at the latest, you need guys getting runs in south Africa- Tait might be the exception- give him the Bangladesh matches to do it after finishing out the year with the Redbacks...

Think they make the right comment

apollo_creed
19 Dec 2005, 15:03
Radio guys are making the point that the lineup needs to be solid when the Poms arrive- you don't want to be messing with the lineup unduly during the Ashes.

That means, at the latest, you need guys getting runs in south Africa- Tait might be the exception- give him the Bangladesh matches to do it after finishing out the year with the Redbacks...

Think they make the right comment
What I can't believe is that they're actually worried about England.

As I've said England will be thumped regardless of the line-up Australia put on the park.

England's batting strength is weak.

And they don't have a spinner.

They can get away with it at home (yes, they did beat South Africa away) but they won't get away with it in Aus. Apart from there solid opening partnership England has a very weak batting line-up.

eddiesmith
19 Dec 2005, 15:13
What I can't believe is that they're actually worried about England.

As I've said England will be thumped regardless of the line-up Australia put on the park.

England's batting strength is weak.

And they don't have a spinner.

They can get away with it at home (yes, they did beat South Africa away) but they won't get away with it in Aus. Apart from there solid opening partnership England has a very weak batting line-up.
Hahahaha

The no3 scored about 3 or 4 centuries in his tour down under and that was against a stronger attack than what Australia will have next year

no4 is our only worry

Pietersen is going great guns, smashed Australia with ease in England and will do it again in Australia

And of course Freddie is a superstar :thumbsu:

Add to that our tail always wags, batting is no problem for us

apollo_creed
19 Dec 2005, 15:35
Hahahaha

The no3 scored about 3 or 4 centuries in his tour down under and that was against a stronger attack than what Australia will have next year

no4 is our only worry

Pietersen is going great guns, smashed Australia with ease in England and will do it again in Australia

And of course Freddie is a superstar :thumbsu:

Add to that our tail always wags, batting is no problem for us
Strauss and Trescothick are solid. A good opening partnership. No worries there. However Trescothick is inconsistent and will struggle to get through the new ball on a consistent basis in Australia and Strauss can't play Shane Warne.

Now,

Michael Vaughan at 3. Who cares if he made runs last time, his form is terrible and he averages low to mid 40's in test cricket. If he can't score runs against the Aussies in England he definitely won't do it away from home again. He isn't that good. Face facts. His technique might 'look good', but its all about results, something he rarely gets these days.

Ian Bell at number 4. Might be young and improving, but if he was destroyed by the Aussie attack in England a year or so later in Australia won't be any better.

Kevin Pietersen at 5. Far from proven. Hasn't done much in Pakistan (apart from one century) and hasn't convinced me. We'll see how he goes.

Andrew Flintoff at 6. Perhaps the worst number 6 in test cricket (thats going a bit far but he ISN'T a batsman) won't score many runs away from England and I'm sure statistics will back that up and he'll struggle big time in Australia. Whats his average Eddie?

For a number 6 batsman (something he isn't) it wouldn't be that impressive I wouldn't imagine. Good bowler, average batsman.

Geraint Jones at Number 7. At least 4 or 5 better keeper batsman in the world playing test cricket for there countries. Not a threat. Won't make hundreds and will rarely score 50.

Ashley Giles at Number 8. Handy tailender, will hardly pose a threat to the Aussie bowlers though.

Matthew Hoggard at Number 9. Defensive and won't cause any sort of problems.

Stephen Harmison at Number 10. A slapper, and won't be as successful (not that he is) away from England especially against Australia.

Simon Jones at Number 11. A decent Number Eleven, but won't be hard to knock over with Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Brett Lee around.

Now Eddie,

What is so special about this batting line-up?

eddiesmith
19 Dec 2005, 15:38
Consistently made 400 against Australia last series, no reason we wont do it again with hopefully Bell or Collingwood showing some improvement at no4

apollo_creed
19 Dec 2005, 15:46
Consistently made 400 against Australia last series, no reason we wont do it again with hopefully Bell or Collingwood showing some improvement at no4
How about addressing what I said?

I don't care what the team made last time, in ENGLAND I should point out.

Flintoff at number 6. Do you realise that HE IS NOT a batsman?

Gunnar Longshanks
19 Dec 2005, 16:07
I don't think we're going to see a lot of changes in the next 12 months.

Those predicting more than 1-2 changes to our batting line-up are pretty clueless.

Symonds is now the only batsman with a question mark next to his name.

I imagine he will be replaced by one of Clarke, Jaques or Watson by the end of the return series in South Africa. Probably sooner.

Barring injury, that will be the only change to our batting line-up between now and the Ashes. People talking up Cosgrove are getting way ahead of themselves. He's talented, but there are more accomplished batsmen ahead of him.

It will be interesting to see how Jaques goes as a replacement for Langer. If he makes a couple of big scores the selectors will be faced with a dilemma, but I think Langer would ultimately be retained for the Ashes series.

Jaques is essentially competing with Clarke, Symonds and Watson for the #6 spot.

quam
19 Dec 2005, 18:55
Ian Bell may as well give the opp his wicket every time he comes out to bat, he isnt up to it