View Full Version : Dream Team
Jars458
12 Nov 2001, 12:29
This is the team I would have if I could chose my favourite players over the years - I have only included those who played while I have been aware of the game of cricket.
I have lived in England and Australia. I have a big slant towards left handers and South Aussies.
D Gower (out of position but I had to fit him in)
G Blewett
D Lehmann (captain)
Alan Border
David Hookes
Stephen Waugh
Adam Gilchrist
Ian Botham
Vic Marks
Joel Garner
Jason Gillespie
I've got a big leaning towards left handed South Australians as well.
W. Phillips (Not the Vic one)
G. Greenidge
V. Richards
D. Lehman
D. Hookes (C)
J. Dujon
I. Botham
M. Holding
R. Hadlee
A. Quadir
J. Thompson
(12th Man - Doug Walters)
Would have liked to get Ian Chappell in there. This side would have been great to watch. Would have liked to see someone like Tuffnell have a bowl at them.
walshy1993
12 Nov 2001, 20:27
G. Greenidge
D.Boon
S. Tendaulker
V. Richards
S. Waugh
D. Jones
I. Healy
R. Hadlee
S. Warne
C. Ambrose
G. McGrath
12th A.Donald
The Hippie
12 Nov 2001, 20:38
Interesting topic
Try to imagine being a bowler facing this lot, and then reversing it and being a batsman, especially a top order one.
Michael Slater
Gordon Greenidge
Viv Richards
Sachin Tendulkar
Steve Waugh (c)
Doug Walters
Adam Gichrist
Shane Warne
Dennis Lillee
Michael Holding
Jeff Thompson
Keith Miller 12th man
I put Keith Miller in, not because I ever saw him play, but as a team man and as a cricketer, I've heard all these great stories about him and would have loved to have had the chance to see him go round.
Santos L Helper
12 Nov 2001, 21:07
My dream team is based on years of watching the SA shield team entertain, shock and dissappoint.
G. Bishop
B. Richards
I. Chappell
S. Tendulkar
D. Hookes
D. Walters
A. Gilchrist
G. Gilmour
S. Warne
D. Lillee
Rockin Rod McCurdy
12th............fanfare please......Wayne Prior or Rod Hogg
I know there's a couple of shocks, but I reckon this team is a ripper. I'll never forget seeing Bishop hit Malcolm Marshall into the stand at Adelaide two balls in a row then nearly get killed by the next ball.
I have to select a #2 team
G.Greenidge
D. Haynes
D.Lehman
G. Chappell
D. Gower
C. Lloyd
I. Botham
R. Marsh
P. Sleep
J. Thomson
L. Pascoe
12th Andy Roberts
gPhonque
12 Nov 2001, 23:04
Ok, here's mine:
G. Greenidge
D. Haynes
L. Gomes
V. Richards
R. Richardson
C. Lloyd (C)
J. Dujon
M. Marshall
A. Roberts
C. Walsh
J. Garner
A. Logie (12th man)
:)
Jars458
13 Nov 2001, 07:55
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
My dream team is based on years of watching the SA shield team entertain, shock and dissappoint.
G. Bishop
Glenn Bishhop???????????????????????????????????
That is a very ordinary call Santos, despite your explanation.
He was worse than Hilditch!!!!
Any South Aussie that doesn't have Darren Lehmann is a traitor in my view!!;)
Santos L Helper
13 Nov 2001, 14:57
Originally posted by Jars458
Glenn Bishhop???????????????????????????????????
That is a very ordinary call Santos, despite your explanation.
He was worse than Hilditch!!!!
Any South Aussie that doesn't have Darren Lehmann is a traitor in my view!!;)
Careful mate!!! Bish is an absolute legend.........one day you should take a look at where he is in the all-time SA run getters list. It might surprise you, but more than likely it will scare you. ;)
First time I ever saw Bish was against NSW at the SCG I think. It might have been his debut game for SA.
Anyway, first ball he faced he pulled Len Pascoe through mid wicket for four, off the front foot. From that moment I was a huge Bish fan. Wouldn't find a spot in my top 30 though.
Mark Taylor (captain)
Matt Hayden
David Gower
Brian Lara
Viv Richards – token right-hander :D
Darren Lehmann
Adam Gilchrist
Lance Klusener
Wasim Akram
Wayne Holdsworth (anyone remember that 49 off 18 balls in a one-day domestic game a while back? Very quick bowler too.)
Alan Mullally (love watching him bat)
walshy1993
13 Nov 2001, 21:42
Originally posted by Darky
Wayne Holdsworth (anyone remember that 49 off 18 balls in a one-day domestic game a while back? Very quick bowler too.)
yeah, i do remember that
toured england in 93 aswell, my uncle got his helmet and i remember wearing it once in u14's
although i wouldnt admit to it being holdsworth's think i said it was boonies
Briedis
14 Nov 2001, 13:21
Originally posted by gPhonque
Ok, here's mine:
G. Greenidge
D. Haynes
L. Gomes
V. Richards
R. Richardson
C. Lloyd (C)
J. Dujon
M. Marshall
A. Roberts
C. Walsh
J. Garner
A. Logie (12th man)
:)
What a team that was. If only we could get those guys to go up against todays Aussies....I think S. Waughs lads would get their arses kicked, personally.
My dream team is:
G. Greenidge
S. Gavaskar
D. Bradman
V. Richards
S. Tendulkar
S. Waugh (C)
J. Dujon
M. Marshall
D. Lillee
S. Warne
J. Garner
12th - D. Gower
I can't believe NO ONE has put Bradman in their dream team....
Good to see the Master Blaster get in almost every team....he was the best batsman I have ever seen.
The Hippie
14 Nov 2001, 21:41
Originally posted by Briedis
I can't believe NO ONE has put Bradman in their dream team....
I think the stipulation was your favourite players over the years you've been following cricket. Now, I know I'm old, but I'm not old enough to have watched the Don (damn it) :D
Briedis
14 Nov 2001, 23:29
I don't know if it was a stipulation but OK.....I revise my team to:
G. Greenidge
S. Gavaskar
D. Gower
V. Richards
S. Tendulkar
S. Waugh (C)
J. Dujon
M. Marshall
D. Lillee
S. Warne
J. Garner
12th - I. Botham
gPhonque
15 Nov 2001, 10:29
What a team that was. If only we could get those guys to go up against todays Aussies....I think S. Waughs lads would get their arses kicked, personally.
Absolutely!
I still say - the only reason Australia have been on top the past decade is because there's been no opposition that have been any good!
I find it laughable that we are being labelled one of the best sides ever. What a joke. Guys like Slater, Taylor, Ponting etc wouldn't last 5 secs against that Windies attack.
And Viv Richards would have ended Brett Lee's career by now.
cheers. :)
Briedis
15 Nov 2001, 10:34
Absolutely!
I still say - the only reason Australia have been on top the past decade is because there's been no opposition that have been any good!
I find it laughable that we are being labelled one of the best sides ever. What a joke. Guys like Slater, Taylor, Ponting etc wouldn't last 5 secs against that Windies attack.
And Viv Richards would have ended Brett Lee's career by now.
cheers. :)
I agree that the compeition for the Aussies is not as good as the past.
Viv against McGrath would be a great contest I reckon...and the sledging would be some of the finest in the history of test cricket!
I can't wait until the Windies are a force again.....I loved that team.
gPhonque
15 Nov 2001, 10:43
I agree that the compeition for the Aussies is not as good as the past.
" Not as good" ???
How about "bloody disgraceful!" :)
My local 4ths team would have had more success over the Aussies than some of the pathetic sides we've had to play.
Viv against McGrath would be a great contest I reckon...and the sledging would be some of the finest in the history of test cricket!
Definately. :) I think i actually posted that very thing a few months ago on usenet. (the McGrath/Richards contest.)
I can't wait until the Windies are a force again.....I loved that team.
Yeah. I'd like to find some tapes of that side. Easily the best cricket side ever. (can you imagine, first, having to go out and face Garner and co, and THEN having to try and bowl at Greendige/Haynes, Richards, Lloyd etc? Thanks but no thanks!)
I actually used to get scared watching them.
cheers
Briedis
15 Nov 2001, 13:04
Yeah. I'd like to find some tapes of that side. Easily the best cricket side ever. (can you imagine, first, having to go out and face Garner and co, and THEN having to try and bowl at Greendige/Haynes, Richards, Lloyd etc? Thanks but no thanks!)
Have a look on Cricinfo's site. I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my Viv Richards tape. I found it at:
http://www.cricketer.com/asp/cishop/shop.asp?zoom_id=1343
I've read his autobiography as well...good read!
But, there is almost nothing in the way of videos of those sensational 70's and 80's sides. It's a crime! Someone tell Kerry he will make a few millions if he lets them use the tapes!
I actually used to get scared watching them.
LOL. Me too!:D
Briedis
15 Nov 2001, 13:24
Just found this on the ASV site...
http://www.veg.com.au/CRICKET/video_detail.asp?vid_id=325
gPhonque
15 Nov 2001, 17:12
cheers Briedis!
gPhonque
15 Nov 2001, 17:15
Shhit! I just realised when i was looking at that link that i left out Michael Holding!!! I knew my team was missing somebody! Probably take out Courtney Walsh out of my dream team - i never liked his bowling anyway. Holding was the man! (How the hell did i forget him!?!?)
Santos L Helper
15 Nov 2001, 18:39
I remember watching Patrick Patterson bowl in a one-dayer in Perth and Dujon was standing on the 30 metre circle. Now that's bowling ****ing quick!!
carlton_man
15 Nov 2001, 19:16
Gordon Greenidge
Len Hutton
Viv Richards
Sachin Tendulker
Steve Waugh (c)
A. Flower. (wk)
Shane Warne
Micheal Holding.
Joel Garner
Courtley Ambrose
Glenn Mcgrath
12th man- Don Bradman
vice captain is andy flower
do you like me team?
Hey Jars why vic Marks???? Why Why Why? Hehe I can't work that one out for the life of me.
Here's my Team of Fave Players From My Lifetime
Gooch
Greenidge
Richards
Richardson
Martyn
Botham
Gilchrist
Hadlee
Warne
Lillee
Thommo
Donald & Kleusener as part of the squad
RE Windies of the 80's against present day Aussies-Jeez you lot are harsh on your own side.I absolutely don't believe that the Windies would walkover the current day Aussies.If it was played under the present regulations then they wouldn't be able to bowl all those bouncers that smashed the will of the opposition batsmen (especially those sitting in the pavillion watching their mates having their bones broken).On any sort of turning pitch then I reckon you'd have them in big trouble with Warnie versus Roger Harper.
Also I don't believe the overall standard is lower today than in the 80's, during much of this period both England & Australia were poor & who else was really any good except the Windies?
Booze Hound
16 Nov 2001, 01:32
Jars: Love the Vic Marks pick. As someone once put it "Winter is the time when you know that, in some far flung corner of the old Empire, Vic Marks is being hit for six."
Hippie: any good Keith Miller stories would be welcome.
On the Viv/McGrath bit. McGrath would put in some sledging. Viv wouldn't say a word. He'd just smash him round the ground.
My selection (based on 'watchability')
Barry Richards - possibly the best batter I've ever seen. Could do it all and then some.
Gordon Greenidge - especially when limping.
Vivian Richards - nuff said
David Gower - just bring me a beer, sit back and enjoy
Clive Lloyd - destructive
Ian Botham - when he went out to bat the Members Bar at Kennington Oval would empty to watch him. No other player did that. Always something happening when he was around.
Richard Hadlee - consumate fast medium bowler. Decent bat too.
Bob Taylor - the Rolls Royce of 'keepers
Dennis Lillee - consumate fast bowler
Abdul Qadir - best 'leggie' I've seen. Amazing bag of tricks
Bishen Bedi - easy, easy bowling action.
Jars458
16 Nov 2001, 07:48
Originally posted by DIPPER
Hey Jars why vic Marks???? Why Why Why? Hehe I can't work that one out for the life of me.
I lived in England until I was 15
For some of that time I lived in Bristol and started supporting somerset
Their players at the time included Ian Botham Joel Garner Viv Richards, Peter Roebuck and of course the great VIC MARKS
I couldn't pick Warne because he's a knob and there's nothing I like more than seeing Darren Lehmann smashing him around the park
I hated Embury and Edmonds and Tim May missed out because he had no personality
This left me wiht only Vic Marks to chose - a great great ordinary player.
Briedis
16 Nov 2001, 07:56
Originally posted by Booze Hound
On the Viv/McGrath bit. McGrath would put in some sledging. Viv wouldn't say a word. He'd just smash him round the ground.
If you read Viv's book you will realise how much sledging this man did. My favourite one was the time he was in slips and asked Craig McDermott if he had just **** his pants after Curtley has bowled him a furious bouncer.:p
gPhonque
16 Nov 2001, 08:36
If you read Viv's book you will realise how much sledging this man did. My favourite one was the time he was in slips and asked Craig McDermott if he had just **** his pants after Curtley has bowled him a furious bouncer.:p
Ha!
I've got one somewhere in one of those little cricket books with lots of stories where Viv was playing a county match. Some young quick but unknown fast bowler came steaming in - Viv had a swing - missed. The fast bowler continued his run down the pitch right up to Richards face and said "I'll give you a hint - it's red."
Richards chews his gum.
Next ball - same thing - big swing - misses the outside edge. The bowler runs up to Richards again: "I'll give you another hint - it's round."
Richards chews his gum.
Next ball - same thing - big swing - big miss. Bowler runs up: "I'll tell you something else - it's red, it's round, and it's got white stitching through it."
Richards chews his gum.
Next ball - Richards smashes it completely out of the ground. Huge six.
Richards waltzes up to young fast bowler: "You know what it looks like - YOU GO GET IT."
The Hitman
16 Nov 2001, 09:21
This isn't the best team...it's a team of my favorite players, so don't wind me up abouthow bad they'd go!
Andy Flower
Mark Taylor
David Boon
Ricky Ponting
Steve Waugh
Gus Logie
Brendon Julian
Shane Warne
Damien Fleming
Alan Donald
Glenn McGrath
12th Man - Richie Richardson
The Hitman
This is a great thread. That West Indies side of the late 70s- 80s was just awesome. They would beat the Aussies of today, but the Aussies aren't as bad as some seem to be suggesting.
Anyway here goes:
Greenidge
Haynes
Tendulkar
Richards
S Waugh
Border
Dujon
Wasim Akram
Lillee
Holding
Warne
Honourable mentions go to:
Gilchrist
Thommo
Hadlee
Marshall
Garner
Ambrose
Qadir
Boon
Imran Khan
Saeed Anwar
Krish Srikkanth
and...
Arjuna Ranatunga :D
Briedis
16 Nov 2001, 11:12
Ha!
I've got one somewhere in one of those little cricket books with lots of stories where Viv was playing a county match. Some young quick but unknown fast bowler came steaming in - Viv had a swing - missed. The fast bowler continued his run down the pitch right up to Richards face and said "I'll give you a hint - it's red."
Richards chews his gum.
Next ball - same thing - big swing - misses the outside edge. The bowler runs up to Richards again: "I'll give you another hint - it's round."
Richards chews his gum.
Next ball - same thing - big swing - big miss. Bowler runs up: "I'll tell you something else - it's red, it's round, and it's got white stitching through it."
Richards chews his gum.
Richards waltzes up to young fast bowler: "You know what it looks like - YOU GO GET IT."
That's brilliant! This is why I reckon he would thrash McGrath at sledging, because he was a cool customer and would wait for the right time and strike hard. McGrath just has a foul mouth....
God he was a legend!
There are some really funny stories in his book. I didn't realise how close he and Ian Botham were. He talks of many parties when they were playing for Sommerset together and most of the time in the book says "The party was getting really out of hand....so I went home." Sure Viv....we believe you! NOT!
Booze Hound
16 Nov 2001, 19:15
Briedis. My point is Viv may have sledged....... but he wouldn't have needed to.
The 'go fetch it' story is a good one but told about many people.
I've always wondered about the team South Africa would have put out towards the end of the '70s if the situation had been different. Remember, at that time 'Rhodesia' played in the Currie Cup and its' players for SA.
A rough guide as to who they might have had.
Barry Richards
Keppler Wessels
Jimmy Cook (I think)
Eddie Barlow (late in his career but might still have played)
Graeme Pollock
Brian Davison
Henry Fotheringham
Mike Procter
Clive Rice
Vincent van der Bijl
Denys Hobson (good leggie)
John Traicos
Garth Le Roux
Add in a keeper and the likes of Duncan Fletcher, Stephen Jeffries and Kevin Curran coming through and you have a very strong outfit. Probably missed a few good names too.
Ha!
Richards chews his gum.
gPhonque I think the bowler in question was the great white hope of English fast bowling in the mid 80's Greg Thomas.I'm not sure if this happened in the County Championship or in the 86 tour to the West Indies, but they picked him for this tour as our answer to their pace attack, now he was undoubtably quick but he really should have been sharing the nickname of a certain tennis player form Melbourne of Greek extraction, anyway in one of the Tests he opened the bowling to Greenidge & Haynes & after about 10 overs he had managed 0 for about 110.
So as you can see his over confidence in this exchange with Sir Vivy was more than a little misplaced.
Hey Booze Hound you've missed out the great Kenny McEwan from the SA side, he was an absolute legend at Essex.We see him down here as our best ever overseas player & when you consider we've had Allan Border, Mark Waugh ,Salim Malik & Stuart Law you can see what a compliment that is.
A lot of people reckon that Barry Richards was as good as his long lost brother Viv & that Pollock was even better.Didn't SA give Australia a good whipping in their last series before the ban?
The Hippie
16 Nov 2001, 21:08
Yeah, 5-blot. Thanks for bringing that up, Dipper, much appreciated, haven't you got work or something to go to? :p ;)
Booze Hound
16 Nov 2001, 23:21
Dipper
Apparently McEwan was never rated that highly in SA. May have been a reverse Doug Walters, preferring a 'green seamer' to a hard bouncy one (no rude comments there please). Dougie hardly made a run in England.
Surely Essex's greatest overseas player was Norbert Phillip:D
London Dave
17 Nov 2001, 16:27
I liked Vivs book, although, like the great man himself, seemed to lose the plot a little as the end approached.
Only posting here regarding sledging.....heard that gPhonque story in many guises...me wonders if its apocryphal.
Best sledging ever, according to the book, was JR Thompson v G Boycott in a 'charity' match in Qld around 1976. The book is worth the price just for that story! Viv said it was also the quickest bowling he ever saw in a 'friendly' game!!!!
Pretty good book overall. Phil Tufnells bio is also OK,if you get the chance to read it, do.
Pies rock
17 Nov 2001, 17:01
My fave 12 during my lifetime:
Hayden
Taylor
Lara(prefer him at three)
Jones
S. Waugh
Symonds
Gilchrist
Warne
Gillespie
Ambrose
Mcgrath
McDermott (12th man)
Other faves include: M, Waugh, Harvey, Richards (although only saw him towards the end) and Matty Elliott.