View Full Version : Training Peoples thoughts so far
Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
20 Dec 2005, 10:48
Living up in Qld I never get the chance to see how the guys are going during pre season training.
I was wondering if anyone lucky enough to have seen the guys train to date, would be able to post their thoughts, impressions to date on what they've seen. Any surprises to date with any of the player(s)??-I've read a few isolated posts where people who have seen them train have noticed appreciable muscle gain in a number of players.
Cheers
OldSchool
20 Dec 2005, 11:05
I'm going to try and get to training tomorrow and I will see if I can give you the latest update.
Haven't seen any training myself but did read an article that said Shane Birss posted an 11.05 for the 3.2km, his best ever. Really having a go this pre-season by the sounds of it.
May not sound impressive but it's over a minute and a half quicker than my best ever, to me he's fricken flyting.
fred cook
20 Dec 2005, 21:10
Went on Saturday,with Gnome Jnr he calls it the Bullbog house.
Williams looks muchh bigger,Jordie looks like his new hairstyle is from sesame St, and Darc looks great, Hargraves,Eagle,Ray where on the bikes.
No Cooney there and Will looked very keen.
Took some photos but wasnt sure if i was allowed to post them up on this site
If you want some PM me and I will sent you what I have
dlanor the dog
21 Dec 2005, 10:59
It was the Dogs last training for the year. They spent an hour on skills,Tom Williams,Farren Ray,Jordy McMahon spent all morning on the bikes and Tim Walsh on the arm machine.They had an hours scratch match. Monty was flying in the back they couldn,t get past him Wight did well in defence and Cooney did not look fat and was pretty speedy.Young Higgins did alright looks he may make it, No-one really stood out as it was pretty casual. DARCY went for a mark at full forward and came down heavily on his right knee and had to be helped off holding his right knee cap Morgan went off late with a hammy and Smith went off he was pointing to his thigh but he came back later.Chris Grant and M.West stayed on the track jogging after they all went inside It was not a hard session.
stefoid
21 Dec 2005, 11:12
It was the Dogs last training for the year. They spent an hour on skills,Tom Williams,Farren Ray,Jordy McMahon spent all morning on the bikes and Tim Walsh on the arm machine.They had an hours scratch match. Monty was flying in the back they couldn,t get past him Wight did well in defence and Cooney did not look fat and was pretty speedy.Young Higgins did alright looks he may make it, No-one really stood out as it was pretty casual. DARCY went for a mark at full forward and came down heavily on his right knee and had to be helped off holding his right knee cap Morgan went off late with a hammy and Smith went off he was pointing to his thigh but he came back later.Chris Grant and M.West stayed on the track jogging after they all went inside It was not a hard session.
morgan off with a hammy? poor guy, I think he is finished. probably not from this hammy alone, but if you cant get through a relaxed 1 hour scratch match, then what hope has he got?
dlanor the dog
21 Dec 2005, 11:40
morgan off with a hammy? poor guy, I think he is finished. probably not from this hammy alone, but if you cant get through a relaxed 1 hour scratch match, then what hope has he got?
Not 100% sure but he was holding that area. It would be a shame, he is looking fit and has something to give
.M a t t.
21 Dec 2005, 11:40
Went on Saturday,with Gnome Jnr he calls it the Bullbog house.
Williams looks muchh bigger,Jordie looks like his new hairstyle is from sesame St, and Darc looks great, Hargraves,Eagle,Ray where on the bikes.
No Cooney there and Will looked very keen.
Took some photos but wasnt sure if i was allowed to post them up on this site
If you want some PM me and I will sent you what I have
You can post em(i think) so post away. :thumbsu:
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 11:41
I can confirm Dlanor's observations.
Darcy knee injury looked serious. Morgan's hamstring I'd be surprised if it was more than a twinge but you never know. Actually Morgan looked pretty good out there before the injury.
Smith was off with a thigh injury for 10mins or so. Brad Murphy got a corked leg but stayed out there.
Williams, McMahon, Baird, Ray all spent about 1.5 hours on the bikes while Walsh spent the same time on the arm machine.
Two youngsters really stood out during the session.
Both are son's of guns. Any takers??
Steve Wallis and Tony Libertore sons both assisted during the training session and young Wallis spent a bit of time in a couple handballing drills with Tim Walsh.
Dlanor's done a great job with his observations. Micheal 'Lamby' West and Grant spent extra time on the ground and I wonder if Grant is intending to do a bit of extra work with him to help him along.
Some standouts. Giansiracusa look the fittest I have ever seen him and his shorter hair might surprise a few. Griffen looks stronger than last season and might have grown a bit taller as well. Cooney looked good and Streety played a bit as a forward and was beating Harris with his marks. Skipper did some nice things but needs to get some strength into his legs.
Monty got heaps of the ball and D-Mac looked very promising.
K-Mac looked to be struggling with his aerobic capacity but he might have a bit of a cold. Big season for K-Mac.
Rob Murphy looks like he has put on a few kg of muscle. Hargrave and Faulkner looked pretty good as well.
As Dlanor said, Higgins is a classy type but got caught a few times and I'm now aware that Clayton apparently rated him number 2 overall in the draft.
On the other side Wells had a bad case of the fumbles and looked to be a fair way off being a senior footballer.
SOS looks fit enough to still be playing.
If anyone has any questions I'm happy to try and give you an update
scooter600x
21 Dec 2005, 12:11
Darcy knee injury looked serious.
WTF???:(
Hi OldSchool,
Could you please tell me how Tiller went?
Thanks for all that feedback fellas. However, bad news that Darcy appeared to hurt himself (was that his reco knee he fell on?)
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 12:37
WTF???:(
It goes without saying it wrecked an otherwise good training session.
He was at the Barkly st end and just landed awkwardly and looked to jar the knee. He lomped off the ground in a fair bit of discomfort.
Lets wait to hear the extent of the injury. I haven't heard anything on SEN.
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 12:38
Thanks for all that feedback fellas. However, bad news that Darcy appeared to hurt himself (was that his reco knee he fell on?)
Right knee
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 12:42
Hi OldSchool,
Could you please tell me how Tiller went?
He was fairly quiet and got led to the ball a bit. Looks fit but at the moment he would still be a fair way off being a chance for senior selection,
No real surprise there. During the stratch match he got moved around a fair bit. Not sure if he will become a KPP.
stefoid
21 Dec 2005, 12:45
give us the lowdown on the new recruits (besides missy).
also, how is williams playing?
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 12:58
give us the lowdown on the new recruits (besides missy).
also, how is williams playing?
Both Dlanor and I have already mentioned that Williams was just on the excercise bike for the whole session except for a 5 min chat with Eade.
Same for Baird who spent most of his time on the bike.
Lamby West looks a fair way off but is a big lump of a lad with a bit of presence. Addison was quiet and also looks to be a long term prospect.
Monty looked fit and got heaps of the ball. Was doing the kick-ins and hit his mark each time. Floated across the pack for a good mark as well.
Higgins has already been mentioned and showed some class but also got caught a few times. Might play a couple of games during the 2006 season but really needs to play a good season for the Bee's. I was very surprised to hear that Clayton supposedly had him ranked at number two out of this years draft group.
One other thing of notice was McMahon's hair. Might be a ready made replacement for Harry Kewel if he maintains the same style during the season.
The_Bulldogs_Bite
21 Dec 2005, 13:06
Both Dlanor and I have already mentioned that Williams was just on the excercise bike for the whole session except for a 5 min chat with Eade.
Lamby West looks a fair way off but is a big lump of a lad with a bit of presence. Addison was quiet and also looks to be a long term prospect.
Monty looked fit and got heaps of the ball. Was doing the kick-ins and hit his mark each time. Floated across the pack for a good mark as well.
Higgins has already been mentioned and showed some class but also got caught a few times. Might play a couple of games during the 2006 season but really needs to play a good season for the Bee's. I was very surprised to hear that Clayton supposedly had him ranked at number two out of this years draft group.
One other thing of notice was McMahon's hair. Might be a ready made replacement for Harry Kewel if he maintains the same style during the season.
So in your opinion, Higgins isn't as "good" thus far as he had been mentioned elsewhere, including from Clayton?
Seems as though it was a bit of a disappointing session, especially with Darcy. Hope to god he's good as gold.
OldSchool, would you be able to tell me how the following players went:
Boyd
Hahn
Morgan - Before The Injury (That's a Blow. Hopefully It's Not Bad)
Power
Ray
Thanks in advance.
stefoid
21 Dec 2005, 13:14
if they are on the bike, they are going easy on injuries, right?
could you tell if barid looked his advertised size?
was davidson there?
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 13:18
So in your opinion, Higgins isn't as "good" thus far as he had been mentioned elsewhere, including from Clayton?
Seems as though it was a bit of a disappointing session, especially with Darcy. Hope to god he's good as gold.
OldSchool, would you be able to tell me how the following players went:
Boyd
Hahn
Morgan - Before The Injury (That's a Blow. Hopefully It's Not Bad)
Power
Ray
Thanks in advance.
Regarding Higgins I'm not sure how you worked out that I think he isn't that good. I'm sure I didn't say that in fact I think he is a good prospect. To clear things up the surprising thing to me is to get a player at number 11 that you rated number 2. It's a bit like hitting the lottery. Clayton must have been very surprised when he was crossing off other names.
Darcy's injury did not look good.
Boyd was very good and really worked hard in every drill. He's a bit of a forgotten man but still gives 100%
Hahn was a bit quiet as was Power.
Morgan was mentioned by both Dlanor and myself and was performing very well before the injury. Was really running and competing hard.
Ray has also been mentioned by Dlanor and myself and spent the whole session on the excercise bike.
The guys that spent the whole session on the excercise bike were McMahon, Ray, Williams and Baird spent a fair bit of time there as well.
Walsh spent the whole session on the arm machine.
Skipper played at CHB in the stratch match.
Dry Rot
21 Dec 2005, 13:47
Regarding Higgins I'm not sure how you worked out that I think he isn't that good. I'm sure I didn't say that in fact I think he is a good prospect. To clear things up the surprising thing to me is to get a player at number 11 that you rated number 2. It's a bit like hitting the lottery. Clayton must have been very surprised when he was crossing off other names.
Darcy's injury did not look good.
Boyd was very good and really worked hard in every drill. He's a bit of a forgotten man but still gives 100%
Hahn was a bit quiet as was Power.
Morgan was mentioned by both Dlanor and myself and was performing very well before the injury. Was really running and competing hard.
Ray has also been mentioned by Dlanor and myself and spent the whole session on the excercise bike.
The guys that spent the whole session on the excercise bike were McMahon, Ray, Williams and Baird spent a fair bit of time there as well.
Walsh spent the whole session on the arm machine.
Skipper played at CHB in the stratch match.
Sorry to ask again but I'm confused. Re Darcy, was it his "reco" knee or his "good" knee that he damaged?
Also is there is any significance re those players whoi were just on the bike all session?
I'm also interested in how Williams and Davidson went.
Dry Rot
21 Dec 2005, 13:53
Streety played a bit as a forward and was beating Harris with his marks.
PSLA vs BHAS - great contest.
stefoid
21 Dec 2005, 14:21
I hope OS disrobed as befitting someone in the presence of the tall one.
Dry Rot
21 Dec 2005, 14:27
Didn't you know? An arcane rule of BF is that all Mods forgo wearing clothes.
I got a big surprise when Local came up to stay....
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 15:34
Sorry to ask again but I'm confused. Re Darcy, was it his "reco" knee or his "good" knee that he damaged?
Also is there is any significance re those players whoi were just on the bike all session?
I'm also interested in how Williams and Davidson went.
Yes it was his 'bad' knee again.
The bike session are for those players who are not ready for the contact drills. Not sure why but Walsh only worked on the arm machine which indicates perhaps a leg injury.
Davidson hasn't been that well and has lost 3kg in the last 2 weeks. He didn't set the world on fire today but I think it's due to him recovering from his illness.
He is a very laconic type in the K-Mac mould if you know what I mean.
Williams did nothing else except stay on the excercise bike. He went flat out most of the time and had a 5min chat to Eade.
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 15:35
Tempted but somehow maintained control :)
OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 15:58
if they are on the bike, they are going easy on injuries, right?
could you tell if barid looked his advertised size?
was davidson there?
Thats the way I saw it.
Bit hard to judge how tall Baird is when he spent so much time on the bike but I'm guessing about 191cm. Seems fairly lean so would have plenty of work to do in that area.
Davidoson was there and if you read a previous post you will see that from my understanding he has been ill for a couple of weeks.
bulldogtragic
22 Dec 2005, 08:05
The Tall One can perform up forward. He just needs to be told to stay still and not try to lead. Standing tall and leaping with his reach, he should beat most defenders.
The Tall One to Full Forward in 2006.
OldSchool
22 Dec 2005, 08:12
The Tall One can perform up forward. He just needs to be told to stay still and not try to lead. Standing tall and leaping with his reach, he should beat most defenders.
The Tall One to Full Forward in 2006.
He spent a fair bit of time there yesterday and looked sharp.
bulldogtragic
22 Dec 2005, 08:16
I really think he is starting to hit his straps as a person and player.
As reported he has had a inferiority complex about his footy and that has held him back. I think with a positive Eade and great last half of this year, if he can honestly believe he can match-it in the AFL his game will really come on i believe - In all areas.
At his age now and where we all hope he is menatlly, with Darcy going down, 2006 could be a massive year for him now. And with all sincerity i hope as a person he gets to really good place, because there is the best footy we will get from him. And i think good footy from him, will be very good.
Top Dog
22 Dec 2005, 09:07
I really think he is starting to hit his straps as a person and player.
As reported he has had a inferiority complex about his footy and that has held him back. I think with a positive Eade and great last half of this year, if he can honestly believe he can match-it in the AFL his game will really come on i believe - In all areas.
At his age now and where we all hope he is menatlly, with Darcy going down, 2006 could be a massive year for him now. And with all sincerity i hope as a person he gets to really good place, because there is the best footy we will get from him. And i think good footy from him, will be very good.
Good post.
Even towards the end of last year you could see how his demeanour changed when his confidence started to grow. He was walking tall, chest out and throwing his frame around.
Let's hope Streeta can buid upon his second half of 2005 and put together 22 rounds of consistent football. Hell, we need him to do so now.
stefoid
22 Dec 2005, 10:36
He spent a fair bit of time there yesterday and looked sharp.
sharp? wow, thats not an adjective we are used to seeing in the same sentence as 'Peter Street', unless its something like "dont let Peter Street run and carry anything sharp at the same time'
Our new greetings when we meet another member of the PSLA will have to be 'ALTO!' (All Hail the Tall One). Also, it means 'high' in Italian...
ALTO, everybody!
robbo3005
22 Dec 2005, 12:41
Just for curiosity Old School, do you know who his number 1 choice was?
I would have guessed it was Murphy.
OldSchool
22 Dec 2005, 15:37
Just for curiosity Old School, do you know who his number 1 choice was?
Not sure but I don't think it was Marc Murphy.
King of the Mountain
22 Dec 2005, 17:43
Thanks for all the updates yesterday.You were well ahead of SEN.
Where did Cam Wight play in the praccy game?
OldSchool
9 Jan 2006, 16:09
Just thought I would bump this thread because of the concern about Williams.
By the way KOTM, Wight was in defence.
Captain Sensible
9 Jan 2006, 16:31
Just thought I would bump this thread because of the concern about Williams.
By the way KOTM, Wight was in defence.
?
What concern about Williams?
20 players can go under 3 secs for 20mtrs, some sort of record in the AFL l reckon. Who would the 20 be?
OldSchool
9 Jan 2006, 18:17
?
What concern about Williams?
Have a check on the other injuries thread.
Rmbuc2 is indicating that Andrew Maher said Williams re-injured his foot on the same day Darcy did his knee. As you know I was at the training that day and reported that Williams was on the bike for the whole session working flat out.
I doubt that he could have injured his leg on the same day unless it occurred after the session I saw. Will see in Andrew Maher confirms it tomorrow.
Anja_Nees
9 Jan 2006, 19:28
20 players can go under 3 secs for 20mtrs, some sort of record in the AFL l reckon. Who would the 20 be?
From what I know
Walsh, Wells, Williams, Faulkner, McMahon, Ray, Cooney, Murphy, KMac, Robbo, Johno, Smith, Eagle, Gilbee, Harris, Monty, Griff, and Morris.
The others would be out of Baird, Wight, Birss, Guido (not likely), and Shaggy.
bee dee
10 Jan 2006, 18:28
From what I know
Walsh, Wells, Williams, Faulkner, McMahon, Ray, Cooney, Murphy, KMac, Robbo, Johno, Smith, Eagle, Gilbee, Harris, Monty, Griff, and Morris.
The others would be out of Baird, Wight, Birss, Guido (not likely), and Shaggy.
Walsh ? What in a hot rod?
Cyberdoggie
11 Jan 2006, 09:02
Walsh ? What in a hot rod?
yeah i agree no chance there, unless it was down hill and down wind.
i doubt birss would be able to he'd be slower than scott west.
other possibles are addison?, tiller, dmac.
dmac is quick, even though he has had the problems with compartment syndrome if i remember correctly. Doesn't always show it, a bit like faulkner, they tend to job along at a slow pace but do have a bit of tonk in the tank when they really need it.
Dog Town
11 Jan 2006, 16:37
Walsh was under 3 seconds at the draft camp from memory by .02 of a second or something like that.Probably one of those deceptive tall types ala Luke Penny who was also very quick on the burst.
Paper said the other day that Williams wasn't currently training due to soreness in his foot/ankle.Hope it doesn't turn into stress fractures or something like that which will constantly re occur.Bit of a concern that he started training and then all of a sudden there is pain back in the injury.
ErnieSigley
12 Jan 2006, 11:34
Walsh was under 3 seconds at the draft camp from memory by .02 of a second or something like that.Probably one of those deceptive tall types ala Luke Penny who was also very quick on the burst.
Just like Scooter and I compared it today at training (ie Penny). Being quick over 20 metres doesn't mean you are quick with your brain. We need a electric shock switch sometimes to tell them when to go.
Paper said the other day that Williams wasn't currently training due to soreness in his foot/ankle.Hope it doesn't turn into stress fractures or something like that which will constantly re occur.Bit of a concern that he started training and then all of a sudden there is pain back in the injury.
He was in the rehab group today which was expected. Unfortunately so are a number of other talls we have like West, Tiller, Baird and Morgan.
Dry Rot
12 Jan 2006, 11:46
Ernie,
Anything interesting to report about the rest of them? What was SoS up to?
Looks like a couple of tall muscular chaps like you and me might have to volunteer to play in the NAB Cup.
Captain Sensible
12 Jan 2006, 11:52
Looks like a couple of tall muscular chaps like you and me might have to volunteer to play in the NAB Cup.
I've got my own jumper!
I was at training but I got there late and have nothing to report. Mainly because Ernie was distracting me.:D
ErnieSigley
12 Jan 2006, 12:07
Anything interesting to add?
Well Scooter, Local and Mel all look good after the Christmas/New year break.
I got there a little after the start and was a bit lost on who is who.
Watched one on one duels with most players talls and smalls.
Harris v Walsh - Scooter said Walsh started well but Harris just niggled him out most of the time. Walsh stood off him too far when he was the backman.
Grant v Minson - good to watch, most duels won by who ever played as the forward.
Skipper v Wells - Skipper gave him a bath. Not sure if Wells is not up to it yet or Skipper has improved. Hoping Skipper really wants it this season.
Hargrave v Kmac was also good to watch.
Morris v Davidson – call it a draw. Height advantage with Davidson. Didn’t see anything you could build your hopes yet.
Didn't see Wight or Street. Hoping Wight has added some muscle.
Our midfield in years to come will be sometime to cherish.
Griffen looks taller.
Cooney was all class, great skills but maybe he needs to work on his defensive game.
Monty looked ok , wait to see on him. Must say he is a professional on the way he goes about things.
Addison and Higgins are both very skinny.
The injured group doing bike, handballing, short kicks, crunches etc were Williams, Tiller, Baird, Ray, Morgan and some others I didn’t recognise.
Scooter believed there was 43 training so there were possibly some ring ins.
Wellman and Silvani were there as was Peter Filandia.
How is Lindsay Gilbee training??
Templeton31
12 Jan 2006, 12:44
thanks Ernie. nothing better than a report about training to keep us infromed. based on what you saw could you see big Will doing a decent job as a forward?
ErnieSigley
12 Jan 2006, 12:58
thanks Ernie. nothing better than a report about training to keep us infromed. based on what you saw could you see big Will doing a decent job as a forward?
Not sure if his fitness has improved because he was well spent at stages in a game last year that he couldn't go forward.
I'd say he'd do ok but is probably needed in the ruck more.
Captain Sensible
12 Jan 2006, 13:01
Not sure if his fitness has improved because he was well spent at stages in a game last that he couldn't go forward.
I'd say he'd do ok but is probably needed in the ruck more.
Was it just me or has Wil bulked up even more? He seemed huge.
ErnieSigley
12 Jan 2006, 13:19
Was it just me or has Wil bulked up even more? He seemed huge.
I didn't notice anything different.
Cooney with a cap looked very different and impressed me his agility, pace and skills.
Skipper was the other I was impressed with.
scooter600x
12 Jan 2006, 15:06
How is Lindsay Gilbee training??
Did the one-on-ones with Rohan Smith and won more often than not. Looked bigger in the arms.
Other one-on-ones that I can remember were:
Mitch Hahn owned by Adam Cooney.
Matt Boyd was beaten by Daniel Cross.
Jordan McMahon beat Robbo.
Eagle won his contests easily against one of the younger guys but I can't remember who (D-Mac, maybe?)
Sam Power at least held his own against Scott West
Griff and Gia was even but a good battle as they were both going at it.
Tom Davidson moved very well against Dale Morris. He was twisting and sprinting. Morris won when he was a forward but I thought Davidson won easily when Tom was the forward.
No doubt Skipper was the standout, Wells barely touched the ball. Skipper looked much bigger in the upper body as well.
Dry Rot
12 Jan 2006, 15:12
No doubt Skipper was the standout, Wells barely touched the ball. Skipper looked much bigger in the upper body as well.
Best news I've read here.
bee dee
12 Jan 2006, 15:31
Street and Wight went off during the session with groin soreness and never came back out.Get on Cooney for the Brownlow,looks great
24 hours ago you were telling Richmond supporters to get on Deludio for the Brownlow.
stefoid
12 Jan 2006, 16:19
Tom Davidson moved very well against Dale Morris. He was twisting and sprinting. Morris won when he was a forward but I thought Davidson won easily when Tom was the forward.
good to see.
birss is the other fringe dweller who is supposed to be burning up the training track after knocking back Port - how was he looking?
scooter600x
12 Jan 2006, 18:17
good to see.
birss is the other fringe dweller who is supposed to be burning up the training track after knocking back Port - how was he looking?
Very much like Brad Murphy.
Both were in baseball caps and I continually got them confused. Maybe Birss was fantastic, or perhaps that was Murphy?
I remember watching Birss in the 1 on 1's but it must have been fairly uneventful because I can't even remember who he competed against.
Murphy was against Faulkner, who else is left?
Captain Sensible
12 Jan 2006, 20:59
Johnno?
ErnieSigley
12 Jan 2006, 21:25
Very much like Brad Murphy.
Both were in baseball caps and I continually got them confused. Maybe Birss was fantastic, or perhaps that was Murphy?
I remember watching Birss in the 1 on 1's but it must have been fairly uneventful because I can't even remember who he competed against.
At first we both thought it was Birss but it wasn't nor was it Brad Murphy.
I thought we came up with the answer but now I've forgotten. I think it was Eagleton.
the dog catcher
13 Jan 2006, 06:17
Johnno?
Johnno and Murph were matched in the 1 on 1s. They are both incredable players. Very evenly matched. They would hustle each other and when who ever was the forward took a mark, that player had to run and tackle a tackle bag with a ball on top. They had to then get up, get the ball, pass it back to the training guy and then sprint to catch up with their partner and stop them taking a mark. My whole body was sore just watching them. Birss was doing some good work. Williams in the rehab group still needs work on kicking and hand passing. Cant wait for the season, felt a really good vibe. Jose gets out there and is a real general.
scooter600x
13 Jan 2006, 10:12
At first we both thought it was Birss but it wasn't nor was it Brad Murphy.
I still think it was Murphy.
It has been pointed out to me that I was being harsh on Mitch Hahn. Mitch was against Monty, not Puck-Puck.
The short-haired, blond guy doing the boxing on the sidelines (who looked like Ted Richards) was a shorn Michael West. Even though he didn't join in at all, he moved well for someone getting over a big knee.
Captain Sensible
13 Jan 2006, 11:47
It has been pointed out to me that I was being harsh on Mitch Hahn. Mitch was against Monty, not Puck-Puck.
Monty is super competitive. Might not have the same skills as Cooney but he'd want it more.
A little harsh on Cooney suggesting that Monty wants its more than him.
Captain Sensible
13 Jan 2006, 12:15
A little harsh on Cooney suggesting that Monty wants its more than him.
Wasnt meant to be. My point is that at his age, and with his experience Monty brings things to the mix other than out and out talent. As his talent fades he'll overcome it with mental attitude and experience, luckily Cooney at 19/20 doesnt have to think about for another 10 years.
Can confirm that Streeta left the track early due to groin soreness. From what I have read on this board numerous posters would have no hesitation to volunteer to put some work into that part of the tall one's anatomy (clothing optional). Wight also left the track fairly early but not sure of the reason. More experienced track watchers than I were telling me the mood, spirit and intensity of training have not been seen at these levels ever before. Bring it on.
fred cook
13 Jan 2006, 20:06
Anyone going this Saturday?
Dry Rot
13 Jan 2006, 20:11
Can confirm that Streeta left the track early due to groin soreness. From what I have read on this board numerous posters would have no hesitation to volunteer to put some work into that part of the tall one's anatomy (clothing optional).
You've raised an interesting policy question for the PSLA!
Captain Sensible
13 Jan 2006, 21:31
Anyone going this Saturday?
Yep.
fred cook
13 Jan 2006, 22:11
I should be going local
Where will you be standing and what time are u thinking of going
Captain Sensible
13 Jan 2006, 22:17
I should be going local
Where will you be standing and what time are u thinking of going
Check your Pms
Clark Kent
14 Jan 2006, 00:19
Spot on. I reckon Monty is dead-set going to surprise a lot of people this year. Will have a fire in his guts to prove both the Port administration and our former admin wrong.
With Darcy (our hoped-for FF) out, is there any chance Monty could pinch-hit there?Wasnt meant to be. My point is that at his age, and with his experience Monty brings things to the mix other than out and out talent. As his talent fades he'll overcome it with mental attitude and experience, luckily Cooney at 19/20 doesnt have to think about for another 10 years.
murphy2bedabest
14 Jan 2006, 01:30
Spot on. I reckon Monty is dead-set going to surprise a lot of people this year. Will have a fire in his guts to prove both the Port administration and our former admin wrong.
With Darcy (our hoped-for FF) out, is there any chance Monty could pinch-hit there?
well he did play there in 97-8
scooter600x
14 Jan 2006, 08:01
well he did play there in 97-8
And managed the grand total of 14 goals.
Lets not kid ourselves, he's (another) half back flanker
Spiritof82
14 Jan 2006, 09:21
Has anyone noticed if Power is improving, the Australian earlier in the week had a write up about Luke Power who mentioned that he'd spent the Xmas period training his brother Sam, hopefully something may have sunk in.:cool:
Year of the Dog
14 Jan 2006, 09:55
With Darcy (our hoped-for FF) out, is there any chance Monty could pinch-hit there?
Wherever he plays, I'd love to see some classic Monty hangers that we became accustomed to when previously in the Dogs jumper. didn't seem to go for them while at Port. Maybe it was licence granted under Wallace to go for the big fly, but not allowed by Williams?
Maybe Robbo and Monty can try out-do each other for the best grab :D
Clark Kent
14 Jan 2006, 10:32
You're probably right, Scooter. Would only be in case of emergency! Just a thought, if things just weren't working for the team in that area.
He can take a grab (like Johnno, I guess) and would at least be a target that you would be reasonably confident in, at least marking in a one-on-one situation.
And managed the grand total of 14 goals.
Lets not kid ourselves, he's (another) half back flanker
Crunchbone
14 Jan 2006, 11:43
I arrived at training this morning about 9.30am and was a bit disappointed that the boys only stayed out on the track until about 10.15am or so, even though it was advertised on the club website that they'd be training until 11am. Unless they came back out after I left?? Oh well... it must have been a short and sharp session.
No real highlights for mine... it appeared to be a steady session. A few things that got me thinking, though :
* Tom Davidson - He looks the goods as the tall, fast leading forward I think we've been in need of - I hope this is how things pan out! He certainly knows how to attack the ball at full pace, whilst on lead... and I didn't see him drop a mark, even with a little bit of pressure.
* Daniel Cross - this fella is a training machine! I've been down to training many times over the past few years and this guy just doesn't ever want to leave the ground and head inside for a drink! I really hope he continues to develop as a gun mid-fielder, because I believe he thoroughly deserves the accolades with the way he goes about his training! His kicking has improved out of sight over the past couple of years, also!
* There must have been at least 50 people down there, checking out training! I was pleasantly surprised when I saw how many down there - I think we're all feeling great enthusiasm for the coming season... bring it on!
For anyone else that was down there this morning - the young bloke doing laps by himself for the best part of 30 mins - was that Michael West? Long gone are the dreads, if so...
Dry Rot
14 Jan 2006, 11:47
* Tom Davidson - He looks the goods as the tall, fast leading forward I think we've been in need of - I hope this is how things pan out! He certainly knows how to attack the ball at full pace, whilst on lead... and I didn't see him drop a mark, even with a little bit of pressure.
On what I've read about Baird, Walsh, Wight, Wells etc he seems the most likely to be ready for action.
Skipper at CHF and Davidson at FF?
Captain Sensible
14 Jan 2006, 11:53
For anyone else that was down there this morning - the young bloke doing laps by himself for the best part of 30 mins - was that Michael West? Long gone are the dreads, if so...
There were a few mysteries.
Micheal Mansfield was a trainer? The guy looked like MM.
The guy running laps I think was West. Ernie was it?
Crunchbone
14 Jan 2006, 11:56
I'm pretty sure it was Michael West running laps by himself... and I must say, I'm mighty happy that Danny Del Re has had a hair cut since I last saw him playing for Willy in the VFA! I don't think the black curly mullet works as well in 2006 as it did back in the day!
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 12:01
Local, shame I didn't see you there.
Did you see Danny Delre jogging laps?
Higgins is settling in very well and there will be a few nervous midfielders.
I will add a bit more later
Captain Sensible
14 Jan 2006, 12:04
Local, shame I didn't see you there.
Huge shame. I was standing with Ernie.
We should organise a training meet up for all the track watchers, Ernie, Scooter, Crunchbone(love that name BTW) and the rest of us.
fred cook
14 Jan 2006, 13:14
We should organise a training meet up for all the track watchers, Ernie, Scooter, Crunchbone(love that name BTW) and the rest of us.
I will bring my little portable Barbie with a few sausages and Rolls and make a day out of it
Remember the practice match at Latrobe unu:D
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 13:24
I will bring my little portable Barbie with a few sausages and Rolls and make a day out of it
Remember the practice match at Latrobe unu:D
I do :) Very wet that day and I think it was in late Feb.
Templeton31
14 Jan 2006, 13:43
thanks for all these training observations and thoughts. looking forward to your comments about today's training OldSchool. Not living in melbourne the training reports are one of my favorite bits on BF to know who's training well and who's not. perhaps Davidson and Morgan are competing for the same forward line spot? Morgan still on the bikes? Morgans obvious other potential spot will be CHB but he needs to stay fit - something he doesn't seem able to do.
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 13:53
I'm pretty sure it was Michael West running laps by himself... and I must say, I'm mighty happy that Danny Del Re has had a hair cut since I last saw him playing for Willy in the VFA! I don't think the black curly mullet works as well in 2006 as it did back in the day!
Yes it was Michael 'Lamby' West running laps by himself. Big lump of a lad.
Was it Mark Hunter running with Delre? I think both of them will be our runners this year.
Captain Sensible
14 Jan 2006, 15:13
Yes it was Michael 'Lamby' West running laps by himself. Big lump of a lad.
Was it Mark Hunter running with Delre? I think both of them will be our runners this year.
Yes.
Powerstufff
14 Jan 2006, 17:19
Wherever he plays, I'd love to see some classic Monty hangers that we became accustomed to when previously in the Dogs jumper. didn't seem to go for them while at Port. Maybe it was licence granted under Wallace to go for the big fly, but not allowed by Williams?.....Funny to see that. The high mark against a taller opponent was one of Monty's outstanding strengths and we saw it a million times.
H Dolphin
14 Jan 2006, 17:30
Funny to see that. The high mark against a taller opponent was one of Monty's outstanding strengths and we saw it a million times.
My impression was the same, that the speccy disappeared from Monty's repertiore at Port. Did he take thos high marks against taller opponents as screamers or by better positioning ?
Dry Rot
14 Jan 2006, 17:32
Funny to see that. The high mark against a taller opponent was one of Monty's outstanding strengths and we saw it a million times.
Agreed.
Anyone else recall one of Penny's first games? Sent forward vs Port, and the much shorter Mony was put on him. Monty took Penny apart in the air.
Kind of funny, if you weren't a Dogs fan.
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 18:09
Has anyone noticed if Power is improving, the Australian earlier in the week had a write up about Luke Power who mentioned that he'd spent the Xmas period training his brother Sam, hopefully something may have sunk in.:cool:
I had a particular look at the way Power performed today and I thought he looked really good. Was moving very well and his kicking was both effective and more importantly long and decisive.
I also checked him in some of the marking drills and he showed a fair bit of spirit and was strong in the contests.
Plenty of competition for a spot in the team with the positions he plays but the last few times I have seen him he is putting his best foot forward.
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 18:28
thanks for all these training observations and thoughts. looking forward to your comments about today's training OldSchool. Not living in melbourne the training reports are one of my favorite bits on BF to know who's training well and who's not. perhaps Davidson and Morgan are competing for the same forward line spot? Morgan still on the bikes? Morgans obvious other potential spot will be CHB but he needs to stay fit - something he doesn't seem able to do.
Bit hard to go into too much details because it was mainly training drills but I will see what I can do over the next day or so.
McMahon has moved from the injured list into full practice and did pretty well today. He will be far better for the run.
Walsh moved off the injured list as well and while he traing OK he must have copped a slight injury and spent a fair bit of time in the room.
The injured list included Williams, Morgan, Street, Ray and Baird with Micheal West mainly running laps.
Except for MWest I'd have to say I was a bit disappointed with that group and don't think they worked anywhere near hard enough today as I have seen the last few times I have been to training. they really needed someone supervising them.
Williams spent a fair bit of time on the arm winch while the others alternated between some light drills and the excercise bike and rower.
Some players that stood out were:
Higgins who will play some senior football. Talked to one of the trainers and he thinks Higgins will be a beauty.
Faulkner looked strong and I was very impressed with his skill level and pace. This time last year a number of people were talking him up but I can now see why.
BMurphy was one of the best training sessions I have seen him put in. He was super competitive in all the drills and did all the team orientated things you hope for. Really imposed himself on the session and praised other players when they did a good job.
Power I have mentioned him in a previous post.
Giansiracusa was in fantastic touch and used the ball very well. He has added a lot of muscle and must be his fittest he ever has been. Future leader of the club.
I will add some more a bit later.
Dry Rot
14 Jan 2006, 21:07
The injured list included Williams, Morgan, Street, Ray and Baird with Micheal West mainly running laps.
Except for MWest I'd have to say I was a bit disappointed with that group and don't think they worked anywhere near hard enough today as I have seen the last few times I have been to training. they really needed someone supervising them.
Most of our young talls don't sound too hot at this stage - what did you think of Davidson?
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 21:31
Most of our young talls don't sound too hot at this stage - what did you think of Davidson?
Davidson is getting better with his fitness. He is still a way off being promoted to the senior list but if he keeps improving he will get there eventually.
Harris was very prominent and has improved his kicking.
Cooney continues to improve and was impressive today.
Griffen was excellent. He is stronger and fitter than last year and looks primed for an even bigger season.
Dry Rot
14 Jan 2006, 21:48
That kind of talk gets me very excited.
skooshtamart
14 Jan 2006, 22:03
[QUOTE=OldSchool]
QUOTE]
He may not have the most graceful style, but i believe his effectiveness by foot has been very good.
OldSchool
14 Jan 2006, 22:13
He may not have the most graceful style, but i believe his effectiveness by foot has been very good.
His kicking is normally effective but not a real strength. From what i saw today I thought his kicking had improved.
skooshtamart
14 Jan 2006, 22:20
Being a big back men they traditionally are not the high kicking stat grabbers, especially with the designated kickins by gilbee. So with the limited opportunities he gets during a game, his kicks generally would go unnoticed
I think his kicking ability is under estimated.