View Full Version : Darcy Out For Season?

~PC~
21 Dec 2005, 13:45
Have just heard Luke Darcy has done his knee at training and is out for the season...

whythelongface
21 Dec 2005, 13:52
what the ??? is this serious?

HK_Bulldog
21 Dec 2005, 13:52
It's on the Main Board as well.
But I can't see anything from "Official" sources.

~PC~
21 Dec 2005, 13:53
Announced on SEN it came from an official release from The Club - nothing on website as yet.

whythelongface
21 Dec 2005, 13:54
That'll pretty much mean the end of the road especially if it is the same knee.

onslaught
21 Dec 2005, 13:55
*sigh* if its true, lets just hope its not as serious as first feared.

Why Lord... WHY??

SonOfScray
21 Dec 2005, 13:59
I'm shattered. Poor Darc, just as things were looking to pick up for him and the club something like this happens to take the wind out of our sails just that little bit.

Embers
21 Dec 2005, 14:02
Its true, from what I heard Tom Davison has already been promoted, at 32 you have to wonder if you have seen the last of him. Poor luck guys, Sorry.

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2005, 14:03
I just saw the main board thread.....poor luke :(

hope its not as bad as they think

.M a t t.
Noooooooo anyone but Darc... We needed him

Poptart
*sigh* if its true, lets just hope its not as serious as first feared.

Why Lord... WHY??

Just announced on SEN he will require a full knee reconstruction and is considering retirement! :mad:

*********!

Dog 36
21 Dec 2005, 14:04
I heard it on SEN its official. Bad news for all of us and the club BUT tragic news for Darcy personally. Our thoughts go out to him and his family in this difficult time.

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2005, 14:07
its on the AFL site too :(

Darcy out for 2006
2:38:55 PM Wed 21 December, 2005
Jason Phelan
Sportal for afl.com.au

Luke Darcy will miss the entire 2006 season after rupturing his right anterior cruciate ligament at training on Wednesday.

It is the same knee the Bulldogs' skipper injured in round six earlier this year against Geelong at Skilled Stadium. Darcy underwent a full knee reconstruction that ruled him out for the rest of the season.

Senior Coach Rodney Eade said, "Luke’s injury is very unfortunate as he had been training well during his rehabilitation. With Luke out for the season, Tom Davidson will be given an opportunity to press for senior selection. As with this season, our young players will be given extra opportunity to lead our side and further develop their talents."

Dry Rot
21 Dec 2005, 14:08
Terrible news.

Was it his "good" knee or his "reco" knee"?

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2005, 14:09
same one

stefoid
21 Dec 2005, 14:11
I heard the same knee. If anyone can sympathise it must be davidson.

can you imagine darcy if we give the finals a serious crack this year? he must feel absolutely gutted.

godamit

Rocco Jones
21 Dec 2005, 14:11
Terrible news.

Was it his "good" knee or his "reco" knee"?

Bad (ACL) not good (PCL).

SonOfScray
21 Dec 2005, 14:12
Looks like Streety and Wilbur's induction last year will come in handy as they handle the load all by themselves again in 2006!

Bugger, I feel so sorry for Darcy. It must be tough, I can't imagine how low he'd be feeling!

Pembleton
21 Dec 2005, 14:14
Bad (ACL) not good (PCL).

I think he was referring to which knee, not what type of injury.

whythelongface
21 Dec 2005, 14:14
I'm going home to cry

Cyberdoggie
21 Dec 2005, 14:15
ARRGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!

what rotten luck.
it's gonna be real tough for him to come back after two knees at 30odd.
He would of missed a couple of years of footy as well by then.

When he was young i always had this feeling that he was a possible knee victim because he was so slightly built and had those gangly knock knees.
The fact that he made it to 30 with hardly any trouble made me think otherwise.

I'd like to think there is 1 big negative and 2 real positives about all this.

the negative is obvious, no darcy, no captain.

but the positives are that it happened now which means that the club and players have time to adjust and work around it rather than in the middle of the season or even during the pre-season (jan-feb). It also gives darcy more time to recover, and not rush back.

The other positive is we have a rookie in the wings by the name of tom davidson who has had his problems with knees and is ready and raring to go and could quite possibly fill darcy's spot up forward (with a bit of luck!)

one door closes another door opens.

keep your spirits up doggies.

Swifty_446
21 Dec 2005, 14:16
God. God. God. God. God. God. God. God.

Please let this be some elaborate prank......

stefoid
21 Dec 2005, 14:16
Looks like Streety and Wilbur's induction last year will come in handy as they handle the load all by themselves again in 2006!

Bugger, I feel so sorry for Darcy. It must be tough, I can't imagine how low he'd be feeling!

yeah if you want to look on the bright side, street is looking like a pretty good pickup regardless of the draft pick paid.

also, thanks again to the guy who made picking up tom davidson as a rookie - he will be getting his $30K worth now...

Embers
21 Dec 2005, 14:18
Odds on he will announce his retirement as well from what im reading

Mr. Walker
21 Dec 2005, 14:19
Rotten luck and (as with all knee injuries to any player) not deserved.

Does bring extra relevance to my earlier statement that we are too light on for ruckmen and should have rookied one.

Gooka
21 Dec 2005, 14:21
I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS!

Dead set... I mean...

dead set... I mean...

Dead set... I mean...

there's just no words to describe this! Well, none that will last 2mins on the board!

CrowMuncher
21 Dec 2005, 14:26
Devestating news this is..

:(

Dry Rot
21 Dec 2005, 14:29
Odds on he will announce his retirement as well from what im reading

Sadly makes sense - why would you risk a third?

Rule
21 Dec 2005, 14:29
this is very devastating news for any Bulldog supporter. darcy is a great player and this news is very dissapointing to hear, especially at this time of the year:(

=KaNga=
21 Dec 2005, 14:30
yea definetly bad news, i feel for you guys.

and he's also such a nice bloke, good luck to him and i hope he dosent retire.

dogbowl
21 Dec 2005, 14:31
Poor us, and what about him.

understudy
21 Dec 2005, 14:33
Big blokes are dodgy once they've done one knee unfortunately. Was always a chance ...

interesting to see if Davidson's holds up.

Gooka
21 Dec 2005, 14:35
I wonder if he'll officially step down full time from the captaincy?

CrowMuncher
21 Dec 2005, 14:42
this is very devastating news for any Bulldog supporter. darcy is a great player and this news is very dissapointing to hear, especially at this time of the year:(

True, But also for all AFL fans, he is certainly a great player..

Dogs 13
21 Dec 2005, 14:43
Sorry Luke, that's awful news. I hope you make a great recovery. A damn shame after all the hard you've put in to get back to fitness. It's always the champions that break down.

Now everyone else, stopping dragging your arses, that's not what Luke and Rocket wanted last year and the same goes for next season.

The club goes on.

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2005, 14:43
Sadly makes sense - why would you risk a third?
dont say that :(...

if thats true im gonna ball my eyes out...and I can only imagine what you guys are feeling

bald_eagle
21 Dec 2005, 14:45
the way he did it was worse
it wasnt even in a contest like there was hardly any body from the other player he just jumped and landed awkardly...then tried to get off the ground by himself like he did at the geelong game but feel to the ground same as the geelong one and got helped off and then went straight to the rooms i didnt know how serious it was then i thought he might of just had been something minor but i was wrong
********en shattered
i was so looking forward to watching him at full forward this year
all that had to be done was to get him on the bikes with the others
and worse of all that was the first pre season training i have been to
big let down
i dont care if anyone says look at the positives with davidson getting promoted onto the senior list...yes it might come off and he may be good but i would rather see darcy out there
how much bad luck darcy got captain then 6 weeks in goes out and then not even the season starts his out again
and his such a good player aswell
as good as ruckman as everitt and i consider everitt the best better then cox
ahhh why why why
shattered

Dogs Rule
21 Dec 2005, 14:46
Bad Luck Darce, I really feel for you mate.

I hope you decide to give it one more shot in 2007, but would understand if you decided to hang up the boots.

However, when one door closes, another opens, and it's time for Big Will, Streeter and Wighty and/or Skippper to step up once again and fill the void.

Hopefully, Tom Davidson gets a chance to secure a permanent spot in the side as well.

X_box_X
21 Dec 2005, 14:53
Terrible news for Darcy. But look on the bright side - when Josh Francou did his knee again immediately after being constructed, Port went on to win the premiership.

Benno From Berwick
21 Dec 2005, 15:05
So what. Sure it is sad, sure it is bad luck and sure we would prefe it not to have happened.

Get on with the job Eade. The boys showed enough without Luke, they will push forward again without him.

Lets stop this crap now, lets look towards the future and not mention this knee injury again before it becomes our achilles heel.

Forward we march to September. 22 guys each week capable of winning the game of footy!

To Luke Darcy, don't you dare retire. Get off your ar@e and fight back to top fitness in time for 2007.

Take your shot bulldogs.

dogbowl
21 Dec 2005, 15:11
Eade on SEN at 4.15pm Wednesday

Pugsta
21 Dec 2005, 15:12
I'm going home to cry
I'm at work crying (discreetly). I love Luke Darcy - my favourite player. Very upsetting news on so many levels.

Gooka
21 Dec 2005, 15:15
I'm at work crying (discreetly). I love Luke Darcy - my favourite player. Very upsetting news on so many levels.

When I first read the news the Graphic Designer here had just started telling me about the medical books she's bought her boyfriend for Christmas... one about diagnosis, one about blah blah... nearly lost it and round house kicked her to the head.

Eagle Eye
21 Dec 2005, 15:16

This is devastating for all true football followers (not as in the old term for on-ballers). No-one is pleased to see a great player like Darcy struck down with such an injury particularly as he still had plenty to offer.

Lets hope that he makes a full recovery and we see him out there for at least one more full season of quality football. :thumbsd:

HK_Bulldog
21 Dec 2005, 15:44
Williams has grown to 198cm so will be a ruck option.
But quite a bit of pressure on him now. He's our anointed CHB, CHF and now Ruckman. And he still hasn't played a game yet.

Clayton's call on Minson in 2002 looks better everyday.

gridlocked
21 Dec 2005, 15:47
Bugger.

That sucks.

Ah well, life goes on, we showed last year we can play well without him.

All the best Darce.

OldSchool
21 Dec 2005, 15:49
But quite a bit of pressure on him now. He's our anointed CHB, CHF and now Ruckman. And he still hasn't played a game yet.

Can't see Williams being used in the ruck at all. He will get some games at CHB though. We are light on for ruckman. Street and Minson with support from Skipper is not as deep as what we had last year.

The thing we need to be mindful of is that young players will get hurt in the ruck. Darcy for example played for a few seasons before developing into a ruckman.

Leon
21 Dec 2005, 15:51
:( :( :(

Its just crap.

Words cannot describe how much I love Darce. Was so looking forward to having him back next year, for me, for him and for above all else, the team.

It just sucks.

All the best Darce.

The_Bulldogs_Bite
21 Dec 2005, 15:57
Spechless.
Just. Not fair. Can't believe it. Angry. Blah.

It's just tragic. Major blow for ALL concerned. Best of luck to Luke Darcy. But right now, I'm absolutely gutted. :(

Should have held him back. Eade and co had said several times he's almost "too keen". Didn't have a great feeling when reading that.

:mad:

cats2rise
21 Dec 2005, 16:04
Geez, i just read it through gfc.com through a link. :thumbsd: Thats shocking. Steve Johnson for us has scared mainly over the past few pre-seasons eg stepping on glass bottles, jumping over fences and missing a months triaing and the first few weeks, but nothing this serious for awhile.

Thas a big blow, Bulldogs really needed him this year. Excuse my ignorance, but how old is he? Do you think he will ever be able to get back?

Goodluck for '06, but not too much ;)

SCRAY72
21 Dec 2005, 16:16
Scott Clayton will no doubt pay special attention to ruckmen next year with the view of drafting one, maybe two,to begin the development phase.

Hope Darcy doesn't retire,but if he does,it would be no surprise.

Raw Toast
21 Dec 2005, 16:24
French Connection UK

Feel sick to the stomach. I really hope he gets back from it.

BalmyArmy
21 Dec 2005, 16:33
As a Tigers supporter, my thoughts go out to darcy and the rest of the Bulldogs supporters and players.

Being in a similar position as the Doggies, I would be gutted if one of our key players went down like he has. As was the case with Browny, I hate seeing champion players out of action.

Hope someone steps up and helps the Doggies continue to play their exciting brand of football.

peejay
21 Dec 2005, 16:37
As a Tigers supporter, my thoughts go out to darcy and the rest of the Bulldogs supporters and players.

Being in a similar position as the Doggies, I would be gutted if one of our key players went down like he has. As was the case with Browny, I hate seeing champion players out of action.

Hope someone steps up and helps the Doggies continue to play their exciting brand of football.

Yeah Ditto.

I think most Richmond supporters would think that way.

Darcy is more than just a great player he is probably the most marketable player the Bulldogs have.

Great players getting serious injuries is one of the bad aspect s of our great game.

SCRAY72
21 Dec 2005, 16:41
Thanks Peejay and BalmyArmy.See you in Round One.

RustyHawk
21 Dec 2005, 17:04
Very sad news, I hope Luke recovers quickly and can come back. One of the league's premier big men who will be missed in 2006.

Mofra
21 Dec 2005, 17:07
Just heard the awful news.

Not wanting to dwell on the negatives, will Luke be in the coach's box next year? By all accounts he has alot to offer a club even when he can't get out onto the track.

scooter600x
21 Dec 2005, 17:12

There's more to being a ruckman than just being tall. Williams and Wight will never be ruckmen.

Clayton's call to take Birss instead of Guy Richards looks worse every day.

Boonanza
21 Dec 2005, 17:25
SEN just had a statment from the club(?) i think that says they are looking to Jesse Wells Tom Williams and Tim Walsh in 06.

Dry Rot
21 Dec 2005, 17:49
Thanks for the kind words from supporters of other clubs.

But this is a first and final warning for any trolls - post any crap about this subject here (on any thread) and you'll be permanently banned from this Board.

lukedarcy14
21 Dec 2005, 18:11
I think this is the first time ive cried since the passing of the great teddy whitten :mad: :(

gregWAllan
21 Dec 2005, 18:27
Thanks for the kind words from supporters of other clubs.

But this is a first and final warning for any trolls - post any crap about this subject here (on any thread) and you'll be permanently banned from this Board.

Kind words are an understatement for me. Darcy is a great bloke and one of the best players/athletes I've seen.
Hope he's back for you sooner rather than later.

FrediKanoute
21 Dec 2005, 18:28
Wow, read this after logging on this morning and I have to say I'm shocked and shattered. The guy is a sensational player and its disappointing that he's had this happen to him again. Its disappointing for the team as well. Hopefully he wont retire and will fight back.....hopefully the boys will have such a great season it will inspire Darcy to give do the rehab again and get back in the saddle. He may be 30, but Granty was the same when he did his knee and whilst he didn't do it again for the second time, the upside for Darcy is that its basically a 2 year holiday he's having from the rigours of playing AFL. Here's hoping......

crazy_big_al
21 Dec 2005, 18:37
shocking news

Ninja
21 Dec 2005, 18:58
Sympathy to Bulldogs supporters from a Blue. Not just a great player, but one of football's nice guys as well. Good luck for the future Darce

Curly5
21 Dec 2005, 19:13
SEN just had a statment from the club(?) i think that says they are looking to Jesse Wells Tom Williams and Tim Walsh in 06.
OMG - things aren't that bad, are they? ;) Williams, maybe ... but they would all need to take a mega-huge leap forward to take Darce's place next season. Would love to be proved wrong but I just can't see it.

Poor Darce, and family, it's terrible for him, and us. Did he try to come back too soon? How long did Chris have off?

Bentleigh
21 Dec 2005, 19:17
Poor bastard. :(

Aquamarinejewel
21 Dec 2005, 19:39
Tragic news...I was so excited about him returning in 2006, this must really have hit him hard, lets hope he gets through it all and returns in 2007 he has unfinished business at the Bulldogs. Good Luck Luke.

skooshtamart
21 Dec 2005, 19:49
Wordless.

Chin up Darce. Hope you have a crack at an end of 2006 season return.

Boonanza
21 Dec 2005, 19:53
OMG - things aren't that bad, are they? ;) Williams, maybe ... but they would all need to take a mega-huge leap forward to take Darce's place next season. Would love to be proved wrong but I just can't see it.

Poor Darce, and family, it's terrible for him, and us. Did he try to come back too soon? How long did Chris have off?

Nope, i read some where else that it was not from the Eade but a statment from a bulldogs website.

Tom Williams will play in 06, Tim Walsh should but i thought Wells was about 2 years of?

MeestaNob
21 Dec 2005, 20:06
Good gravy, captains curse strikes again...

acker
21 Dec 2005, 20:13
Sad but I think the drop from $11 to $17 on winning the flag on footy bet is a bit dramatic for the loss of one player who did'nt play during our 6/7 winning streak at the end of last season.
Multiply that 6/7 streak and it turns out to a 19/3 or 18/4 finish to a season possibly 2006. Keep the pecker up we are still big shakes for this years flag and now we've got a Martyr.

Bentleigh
21 Dec 2005, 20:16
Sad but I think the drop from $11 to $17 on winning the flag on footy bet is a bit dramatic for the loss of one player who did'nt play during our 6/7 winning streak at the end of last season.Multiply that 6/7 streak and it turns out to a 19/3 or 18/4 finish to a season possibly 2006. Keep the pecker up we are still big shakes for this years flag and now we've got a Martyr.

I tihnk it is about right. IMO he is your most important player.

He strightens up the team no end when in the forward line and his rucking abilty is top rate. Not only does he tap well but he is very mobile and helps out the midfeild.

Minson is a great prospect but the Doggies with Darcy are a much better side than without him.

The_Bulldogs_Bite
21 Dec 2005, 20:30

He strightens up the team no end when in the forward line and his rucking abilty is top rate. Not only does he tap well but he is very mobile and helps out the midfeild.

Minson is a great prospect but the Doggies with Darcy are a much better side than without him.

Agreed. But all we need is for 2 or so KPP's to stand up and we're a big chance to win the Premiership. Morgan or Williams to make CHB their own plus one or two of Davidson, Baird & Skipper to cement CHF and we'll be right. Didn't have Darcy last year and still manage to play better Footy than anyone has seen for quite some time for 6 or so weeks. Just need a few KPP's to step up, I think one if not both Morgan and Williams will, I hope Davidson, Skipper or Baird can to play a CHF role.

TheGnu
21 Dec 2005, 21:04
Crap:thumbsd:

Big loss, was looking forward to some mouthguard chucking on a regular basis this year. But opportunity knocks, and the club did pretty well without him last year. At least there won't be a collective head-drop like there was when his knee went the first time, there's months to adapt to life sans Darc, so in the words of Graham Chapman...."GET ON WITH IT...get on with it"

RedWhite&Blue
21 Dec 2005, 21:21
I feel sick. I can't believe it.
I've been so excited about Darc coming back.
We can only imagine how good the Bulldogs would have been with Darcy as a focal point - he was going to be our star recruit for season 2006.

The poor guy... I saw him down in the rooms after a couple of those sensational wins this year and you could see the it in his eyes. Happy the team had won, but quietly seething that he was not out there. To see the team doing so well after so many lean years and not be a part of it on-field would have just been eating away at him. To do the same knee again just before the xmas break is just unbelievable.

But that's life I suppose.

Please don't even think about retirement Darc - 30 is not old - you'll be right mate .:thumbsu:

Fossie 32
21 Dec 2005, 21:34
Horrible news. My sympathy to Darce and family, hope you have a speedy recovery. Let's hope the club can cope with this as well as they did last time.

Good on all you guys from other clubs for your posts.

acker
21 Dec 2005, 22:01

No he was our 5th or 6th most important player, and maybe in the big scheme of things his loss considering we did'nt have him anyway during our most productive period at the end of last season may mean we dont unbalance a proven winning formular with Minson and Street as our primary rucks.
I think his loss will become more like a Primus Port Adelaide scenario.
As far as those I list more important
Robbie Murphy no. 1
Dannie Giansiracusa no. 2
Adam Cooney no. 3
Will Minson no. 4
Lindsay Gilbee no. 5

Bentleigh
21 Dec 2005, 23:04
No he was our 5th or 6th most important player, and maybe in the big scheme of things his loss considering we did'nt have him anyway during our most productive period at the end of last season may mean we dont unbalance a proven winning formular with Minson and Street as our primary rucks.
I think his loss will become more like a Primus Port Adelaide scenario.
As far as those I list more important
Robbie Murphy no. 1
Dannie Giansiracusa no. 2
Adam Cooney no. 3
Will Minson no. 4
Lindsay Gilbee no. 5

Cannot agree mate.

I reckon this sums it up pretty well -

I feel sick. I can't believe it.
I've been so excited about Darc coming back.
We can only imagine how good the Bulldogs would have been with Darcy as a focal point - he was going to be our star recruit for season 2006.

The poor guy... I saw him down in the rooms after a couple of those sensational wins this year and you could see the it in his eyes. Happy the team had won, but quietly seething that he was not out there. To see the team doing so well after so many lean years and not be a part of it on-field would have just been eating away at him. To do the same knee again just before the xmas break is just unbelievable.

But that's life I suppose.

Please don't even think about retirement Darc - 30 is not old - you'll be right mate .

Arsene Wenger
21 Dec 2005, 23:15
terrible luck for the big fella

Ive done my knee twice and im 22 - i can sympathise with him. Although not the extent of it ruining my career..

Good luck in getting back Darc

Ad76
21 Dec 2005, 23:25
Great player - sympathies to you guys..

Borgsta
22 Dec 2005, 06:54
Wow I cant bloody sleep, its 5:30 in the morning and this is what I have to read. Bad luck Darcy, my heart goes out to you. Good luck with whatever decision you make. Personally Id retire, but good luck mate. Been a great servant of the club.

OldSchool
22 Dec 2005, 07:19
Wow I cant bloody sleep, its 5:30 in the morning and this is what I have to read. Bad luck Darcy, my heart goes out to you. Good luck with whatever decision you make. Personally Id retire, but good luck mate. Been a great servant of the club.

I tend to agree about retiring but it's up to him.

I was having a great time at the training session before this occurred and it wrecked an otherwise good morning.

starz
22 Dec 2005, 07:21
We coped without him last year and won a lot of ball out of the ruck, no reason we can't do the same.

Sedat!
22 Dec 2005, 08:23
All the best to Darc and his family over the next 12 long and lonely months of rehabilitation. Will be tough, but he will get through with the great support of his family.

As for the club, the window of opportunity knocks loudly for several players on our list. Streeter, for all the derision when we picked him up, has proved to be a very wise investment (if a little over the odds at the time). I'm sure we can absorb Darc's loss with some players stepping up to the plate.

dogupya
22 Dec 2005, 08:25
It's no longer a question of "are we cursed"? It is now a factual statement.....

"We Are Cursed,Our Football Club Is Cursed"!!!!!

Shattered......!

Captain_Brown_7
22 Dec 2005, 08:25
Bad Luck Darc :(

I for one am a HUGE fan of Darcy and I think not only will the Doggies supporters miss him, but all supporters in general will. He is a strong lad, so rest assured he will return bigger and better.

bulldogtragic
22 Dec 2005, 08:27
It's not all doom and gloom. Not great i admit, but everything happens for a reason and perhaps the reason will be discovered throughout the 2006 season. I love the guy, but it's happened and now i want to watch every young tall on our list fight like dogs to get Darc's spot.

dogupya
22 Dec 2005, 08:52
It's not all doom and gloom. Not great i admit, but everything happens for a reason and perhaps the reason will be discovered throughout the 2006 season. I love the guy, but it's happened and now i want to watch every young tall on our list fight like dogs to get Darc's spot.
were we not all talking up the return of Darce and how that was the x factor that would push us up the ladder??

What do we have now, that we didn't have at the start of the last season which will enable us to go from finishing outside the 8 to a top 6 club????

Young kids take time.....

Im shattered...

Palace03
22 Dec 2005, 10:00
Bad luck Darc, wish you a very speed recovery. Don't give it away, something special is just around the corner.

With or without Darc realisticly this was the year we should break into the 8 and get a final or 2 under our belt, 07 will be the year we give the flag a huge shake and Darc will be there, and may bring that little bit of improvement to the side the gives us a flag. Baird, Davidson, Walsh, Wight and Skipper will get a great run and hopefully a few of them will step up and fill the void.

It's a huge blow but life goes on!!!

Gooka
22 Dec 2005, 10:26
Sad but I think the drop from $11 to $17 on winning the flag on footy bet is a bit dramatic for the loss of one player who did'nt play during our 6/7 winning streak at the end of last season.
Multiply that 6/7 streak and it turns out to a 19/3 or 18/4 finish to a season possibly 2006. Keep the pecker up we are still big shakes for this years flag and now we've got a Martyr.

I'd say it's at least right, if not a little conservative. We'll make the finals still, but winning the flag... hmm... I'm still confident we have what it takes, but from a bookies perspective, Darcy was going to be the icing on the cake that was our last month and a half of 2005 that could take us all the way.

We'll still give it a rattle though

Sailor
22 Dec 2005, 10:31
Just a note from a Freo supporter about Darcy.
One of football's nice guys. A brilliant player and one who, from what I have seen at least, always plays the game in the way that we like to see. Gives his all but does so in a fair manner.
I hope we get to see him on the park in 2007.

Dry Rot
22 Dec 2005, 10:42
I'd say it's at least right, if not a little conservative. We'll make the finals still, but winning the flag... hmm... I'm still confident we have what it takes, but from a bookies perspective, Darcy was going to be the icing on the cake that was our last month and a half of 2005 that could take us all the way.

We'll still give it a rattle though

I always thought we'd be pushing ******** uphill to make the 4 this year without established CHF & CHB, and that 2007 was far more realistic.

Now a young tall or two will get a real crack in '06, which can only substantially help us in '07 and beyond.

If one or two who wouldn't have had a chance otherwise do step this year, then it's kind of a good thing in the long term.

And I reckon Darce may well retire.

Tim the Toolman
22 Dec 2005, 11:58
An honest note from a Lions fan.

Sincere sad thoughts to Luke and the Bulldogs supporters. We all see these things happen year in, year out and you just hope it doesn't happen to one of your own.

You guys did really well this year without Luke for most of the season and I can't see any reason why you will not continue up the ladder in 2006.

Luke's an all round great guy and I wish him well with his recovery and hope he's kicking winners (not against us though) as soon as posssible.

nooB
22 Dec 2005, 12:49
this is gonna b a long christmas....

Hard Ball Get
22 Dec 2005, 16:26
Devistated
No other word describes it. When i heard I thought it was a dream.
:(:(:(

jackson_rules
23 Dec 2005, 13:34
I always thought we'd be pushing ******** uphill to make the 4 this year without established CHF & CHB, and that 2007 was far more realistic.

Now a young tall or two will get a real crack in '06, which can only substantially help us in '07 and beyond.

If one or two who wouldn't have had a chance otherwise do step this year, then it's kind of a good thing in the long term.

And I reckon Darce may well retire.
i really hope not, im sure he can play one or two more years in a reduced role after he comes back and maybe even come close to winning a premiership

sante
23 Dec 2005, 23:02
So he hasn't officially retired?

What bad news :( Condolences to Darcy and Dogs

Fossie 32
24 Dec 2005, 09:19
So he hasn't officially retired?

What bad news :( Condolences to Darcy and Dogs

Thanks, the only word from Darce and the club is that he plans to continue once he recovers.

Blinger
25 Dec 2005, 00:29
I would like to wish Darcy well in his recovery from this unfortunate injury. I would also hope he gets to play in the finals, & maybe get a premiership with the doggies before he has to call it quits. If the Tigers can't win in 2007, I hope the doggies win it with Darc for him & your supporters.