View Full Version : Our best 22
Gunnar Longshanks
21 Dec 2005, 18:37
I know these kind of threads are pretty pointless, because no side ever has their best 22 available, and things change pretty quickly according to players' form and fitness.
I'm sure Mead will be itching to point out as much.
Nevertheless, in a perfect world, this is how I'd like us to line up in Round 1.
B: Wirrpunda Glass Jones
HB: Chick Lynch Stenglein
C: Fletcher Cousins Braun
HF: Nicoski Hansen Embley
F: Hunter Smith Sampi
R: Cox Judd Kerr
INT: Selwood Gardiner Banfield Waters
Fingers crossed.
CHB is obviously a question mark. Hunter, Lynch, Graham and Gaspar could all spend time there. But I like Lynchy.
If Gardiner successfully goes back into the ruck, Seaby might get less game time.
It's really hard to see guys like RoJo, Adkins and Wooden getting many games.
Hopefully some of our young guns like Butler, Hurn and Morton can really push for a starting spot by the mid-season.
Lynch drops a mark
21 Dec 2005, 19:04
Nevertheless, in a perfect world, this is how I'd like us to line up in Round 1.
Fingers crossed.
CHB is obviously a question mark. Hunter, Lynch, Graham and Gaspar could all spend time there. But I like Lynchy.
I will do this for round 1 V Saints
your going to put LYNCH on Nick Riewoldt :confused: :eek:
Stenglein and selwood will go straight to Ball and dal santo so take stinger out of the back line
Hunts will get the job on Nick
Gaspar will need to go on kozi if he goes forward. kozi may go into defence on gardiner
Jones or Chick will get the job on Hamill. may also see Waters on him
Banfield or Niko to go on Milne
Glass on Frasier
FB Wirra Glass Jones
HB Chick Hunter Nikoski
C Braun Stenglein Fletcher
HF Cousins Hanson Embley
FF Gardiner Smith Sampi
R Cox Judd Kerr
INT: Selwood Waters Seaby Banfield
Staker will be a gun this year.
coasting
21 Dec 2005, 21:21
B: Wirra Glass Hunter
HB: Chick Staker Stenglein
C: Selwood Cousins Braun
F: Gaspar Smith Sampi
Int: Fletcher Seaby Banfield Waters
Based on what I seen at pre season I think Graham playing CHB is almost certain. Rosa should be given a go in our best 22. He really looks the goods, just finds the ball, Gaspar could play up forward. Heres how id line em up anyway
FB: Wirrpunda Glass Chick
CHB : Jones Graham Hunter
C: Selwood Judd Braun
CHF: Cousins Gaspar Embley
FF: Hansen Smith Waters
C: Cox Kerr Stenglein
I/C: Fletcher Nicoski Gardiner Rosa
EMG Banfield Seaby Sampi
sdb4884
21 Dec 2005, 22:19
I know these kind of threads are pretty pointless, because no side ever has their best 22 available, and things change pretty quickly according to players' form and fitness.
I'm sure Mead will be itching to point out as much.
Fingers crossed.
If Gardiner successfully goes back into the ruck, Seaby might get less game time.
It's really hard to see guys like RoJo, Adkins and Wooden getting many games.
Hopefully some of our young guns like Butler, Hurn and Morton can really push for a starting spot by the mid-season.
Gaspar for Lynch, I dont know why people still regard Lynch in our best 22. Other than that I accept.
94_Eagles
21 Dec 2005, 22:34
FB Wirra Glass Jones
HB Chick Hunter Nikoski
C Braun Stenglein Fletcher
HF Cousins Hanson Embley
FF Gardiner Smith Sampi
R Cox Judd Kerr
INT: Selwood Waters Seaby Banfield
Lols, Banners retired, mate.
Thats the most ignorant comment I have ever heard, rethink it mate
Gunnar Longshanks
21 Dec 2005, 22:45
Lols, Banners retired, mate.That's the first I've heard of it.
94_Eagles
21 Dec 2005, 22:55
Boh.
Eagles 4 Mine
22 Dec 2005, 09:05
Staker will be a gun this year.
You are dreaming.:eek:
macca69
22 Dec 2005, 10:42
Wirrupunda Glass Banfield
Waters Gaspar B Jones
Embley Stenglein Braun
Chick Hansen Cousins
Sampi Smith Hunter
Cox Judd Kerr
Fletcher, Selwood, Nicoski, Gardiner
@ Embers, how has Gaspar looked so far this pre-season?
Wirrupunda Glass Banfield
Waters Gaspar B Jones
Embley Stenglein Braun
Chick Hansen Cousins
Sampi Smith Hunter
Cox Judd Kerr
Fletcher, Selwood, Nicoski, Gardiner
@ Embers, how has Gaspar looked so far this pre-season?
Gaspar Graham and Rosa are really 3 standouts at pre season training so far. Gaspar looks to be improving as days go by, moving faster, I think he is way more suited to a forward role and expect to see him there considering Graham is a similiar style defender to him. I think Gaspar would be suited to a CHF role, he is a big lad, takes a good grab. Move Hansen to FF where we can utilise his speed, the fact he is a ok contested grab and he is a great kick
Reveler
22 Dec 2005, 13:22
you really think they will drop an unproven smith right into your top 22? play him of the bench for the first few games and see how he goes.
Yes, its not like he is a 17 year old and he has been training the house down for a good year and a half now. I dont see why not.
Reveler
22 Dec 2005, 15:32
Yes, its not like he is a 17 year old and he has been training the house down for a good year and a half now. I dont see why not.
He could be one of those types of players that excells at WAFL yet is crap when he is put in the AFL. Then again the eagles midfield makes lots of crap players look good..
I believe woosha will play him in the starting 18 for the NAB cup and use that to judge him.
croation-sensation
22 Dec 2005, 19:20
HB: Chick Gaspar Stenglein (tagger)
HF: Selwood Hansen Embley
INT: Nicoski Gardiner Banfield Waters (gun player)
not to sure bout smith i havent heard of him sorry
That's the gayest avatar in the history of BigFooty.
Gunnar Longshanks
22 Dec 2005, 23:01
HB: Chick Gaspar Stenglein (tagger)
HF: Selwood Hansen Embley
INT: Nicoski Gardiner Banfield Waters (gun player)
not to sure bout smith i havent heard of him sorryDo you follow football?
wce_all_da_way
22 Dec 2005, 23:58
That's the gayest avatar in the history of BigFooty.
he he no ********, although it did make think of that potterpuppetpals website and that made me laugh
B: Wirrpunda Glass Waters
HB: Chick Hunter Stenglein
F: Seaby Smith Sampi
INT: Selwood Gardiner Banfield B.Jones
EMG: Lynch Staker Gaspar Morton
Black JuJu
25 Dec 2005, 00:24
B: Wirrpunda Glass Waters
HB: Chick Hunter Stenglein
F: Seaby Smith Sampi
INT: Selwood Gardiner Banfield B.Jones
EMG: Lynch Staker Gaspar Morton
Pretty good I reckon.
Banfield on the field in place of Waters who has to earn his spot.
Smith obviously questionable but I think will get first shot ahead of Lynch and McDougall. Nicoski on a HFF, I'd see him more likely coming off the bench or starting down back.
Staker the closest to the 1st team from your emergancies.
That's probably very close to our best 22 though.
Gunnar Longshanks
2 Feb 2006, 15:47
What now?
Hunter to FF and Waters to a FP?
Or will Hunter stay at CHB, with Lynch heading back to the goalsquare?
Or will one of McDougall and Staker get a shot?
What now?
Hunter to FF and Waters to a FP?
Or will Hunter stay at CHB, with Lynch heading back to the goalsquare?
Or will one of McDougall and Staker get a shot?
It all depends on where Hunter plays as we have a few options for CHB and FF. Your guess would be as good as anyone's at this stage.
otis_david
2 Feb 2006, 19:13
Hunter will probably be given first shot at FF, the real question is who's going to step up at CHB? Grayham, Staker, Lynch and Gaspar all have a chance. Of them I would say Gaspar would get my vote, if he can get back from this minor ankle injury and have a clean slate to the start of the season, we may be rewarded for our patience with him.
HF: Waters Hansen Embley
F: McDougall Hunter Mckinley
INT: Selwood Sampi Staker Nickoski
B: Wirrpunda Glass Banfield
HB: Chick Hunter BJones
C: AEmbley Judd Braun
HF: Sampi Hansen Cousins
F: Waters Staker McKinley
R: Cox Kerr Stenglein
INT: Selwood Fletcher Seaby Nickoski
Lynch drops a mark
2 Feb 2006, 22:11
B Wirra Glass Banfield
HB Jones Lynch Chick
C Embley Braun Stinger
HF Sampi Hansen Cousins
F Waters Hunter Mckinley
R Cox Kerr Judd
INT: Selwood Seaby Niko Staker
Bestbird
2 Feb 2006, 23:05
If all in top form and uninjured which is highly unlikely
B Wirra, Glass, Jones
HB Chick, Gasper, Waters
C Kerr, Judd, Braun
HF Embley, Hansen, Cousins
F Hunter, McDougall, Sampi
R Cox, Fletcher, Stenglien
Int Selwood, Banfield, Gardiner, Nicoski
Note that Embley and Cousins are playing more as attacking midfielders instead of the traditonal HFF type roles.
seems to be a general consensus among you guys to have bones as a starting HBF, and i admit, there is alot to like about the guy, having played great for us all year last, being able to play short or tall, slow or fast, but with our smaller backmen comprising wirra, banners, chicky, stinger, waters and now hurn to introduce in there too, im wondering how many games bones will play this year. i know stinger plays midfield and chicky and beau forward (when they actually play....), but still, i think bones will find it tough this year.
Pav for AA
3 Feb 2006, 02:48
I cant believe how much u toast fans dont rate Staker.
Behind Hansen he is clearly you're most promising KPP.
And who said WCE fans didnt know S******** huh?
yeah, he goes alright, but hes got flaws in his game. namely his contested marking is not very good because his body on body work is bad, and his kicking lacks depth.
he is still very young though, is good for his age, and should definitely come along, but i wont be changing my username to staks for AA quite yet
Gunnar Longshanks
3 Feb 2006, 11:47
HF: Waters Hansen Embley
F: McDougall Hunter Mckinley
INT: Selwood Sampi Staker NickoskiBanfield will remain in our best 22.
Gunnar Longshanks
3 Feb 2006, 11:49
And who said WCE fans didnt know S******** huh?We've got a very strong list, and Staker will remain a fringe player until he really strings it together and demands a regular game.
He's still young, and hopefully he can have a breakthrough season in 2006.
I don't consider him in our best 22 at the moment.
stinger05
5 Feb 2006, 14:29
yeah, he goes alright, but hes got flaws in his game. namely his contested marking is not very good because his body on body work is bad, and his kicking lacks depth.
he is still very young though, is good for his age, and should definitely come along, but i wont be changing my username to staks for AA quite yet
Yeah pretty much right but i think his kicking is better than what most fans think.
B Wirrapunda Glass Chick
HB Banfield lynch Stenglein
C Fletcher Cousins Braun
HF Nickoski Hansen Embley
F Staker Hunter Sampi
R Cox Kerr Judd
INT Gardiner, Selwood, Gasper, Jones
thecoastingcoaster
6 Feb 2006, 14:08
B:Wirrupunda Glass Chick
HB:Nicoski Staker Stenglein
C:Braun Cousins Embley
HF:Kerr Hansen Waters
F:McDougall Hunter Sampi
Foll:Cox Judd Fletcher
Int:Gardiner Morton Butler Selwood
Ive chopped and changed throughout the pre season so im ready to committ fully to a team now. In my opinion its gonna be more difficult then most think to leave out Doogs Staker and McKinley.
FB: Chick Glass Wirrpunda
CHB: McDougall Lynch Brett Jones
C: Embley Judd Braun
CHF: Fletcher Hansen Cousins
FF: Staker Hunter McKinley
I/C Selwood Gardiner Waters Nicoski
EMG: Hurn Seaby Gaspar
Its a tall defence but I must say that seems to be the plan, in fact as silly as this sounds we may even plan to flood in order to create room in our own forward line. Plan to me seems to choke there forward line and too move it up the ground really fast with short passes and handballs kicking it up to a tall marking forward line, both Staker and Hunter are very good on the ground and would trouble most with there speed.
The choice of McDougall at Half back flank is my most surprising, hes a very agile guy and to me it seems they are plannin on making him a roaming defender swapping around with Staker as the game goes on, to me I definetly feel a defensive role seems to be the way they are going with McDougall, He looks fairly comfortable there IMO and to have a tall bloke like Doogs or Stakers roaming around at CHF cuttin of leads will be good considering very few teams have 2 quality leading players.
Gunnar Longshanks
6 Feb 2006, 16:42
B:Wirrupunda Glass Chick
HB:Nicoski Staker Stenglein
Int:Gardiner Morton Butler SelwoodOne of the poorer efforts.
The_Eagles
6 Feb 2006, 16:54
I'd have Fletcher on the bench for round 1
Lynch drops a mark
6 Feb 2006, 18:44
Ive chopped and changed throughout the pre season so im ready to committ fully to a team now. In my opinion its gonna be more difficult then most think to leave out Doogs Staker and McKinley.
CHB: McDougall Lynch Brett Jones
C: Embley Judd Braun
CHF: Fletcher Hansen Cousins
FF: Staker Hunter McKinley
I/C Selwood Gardiner Waters Nicoski
EMG: Hurn Seaby Gaspar
Its a tall defence but I must say that seems to be the plan, in fact as silly as this sounds we may even plan to flood in order to create room in our own forward line. Plan to me seems to choke there forward line and too move it up the ground really fast with short passes and handballs kicking it up to a tall marking forward line, both Staker and Hunter are very good on the ground and would trouble most with there speed.
The choice of McDougall at Half back flank is my most surprising, hes a very agile guy and to me it seems they are plannin on making him a roaming defender swapping around with Staker as the game goes on, to me I definetly feel a defensive role seems to be the way they are going with McDougall, He looks fairly comfortable there IMO and to have a tall bloke like Doogs or Stakers roaming around at CHF cuttin of leads will be good considering very few teams have 2 quality leading players.
totaly agree (apart from maybe doogs in defence, swap with gassy)
I really think that the team is going to be more defencive minded next year.
Having a clogged forward line didnt work for the most part in the big games and with the likes of Hunter, Mckinley (maybe) Waters and Sampi in the forward line I can see alot more marks inside 50.
Opposed to the inaccuracy of a midfielder having to slot one through from 50 at full tilt
Yeah pretty much right but i think his kicking is better than what most fans think.
sure, its pretty accurate, hes just not a 50 metre kick thats all, and for a guy his size that kind of unusual.
HB: B Jones Gaspar Banfield
C: Cousins Kerr Braun
HF: Fletcher Hansen Embley
FF: Sampi Hunter Waters
R: Cox Judd Stenglein
I: Seaby Nicoski Staker Selwood
Gardiner over Seaby if he rucks this year
Banfield Glass Wirrapunda
Chick Staker Jones
Judd Braun Stenglein
Embley Hansen Cousins
Waters Hunter Nicoski
Cox Kerr Fletcher
Gardiner Hurn McKinley Selwood
There you go biatch's
The_Eagles
7 Feb 2006, 01:24
Wirrpunda Glass Chick
B Jones Lynch Banfield
Braun Judd Stenglein
Nicoski Hansen Embley
Sampi Hunter Waters
Cox Cousins Kerr
Fletcher Selwood Gardiner McDougall
The_Eagles
7 Feb 2006, 01:41
as someone pointed out earlier, I'd actually have Hunter at CHB for Reiwoldt, Lynch on the bench..and McDougall at FF (or even Embley for fun)
thecoastingcoaster
7 Feb 2006, 16:08
One of the poorer efforts.
Have you got a screw loose.
Thats a bloody good team :
The forward line looks good with 4 marking targets and plently of mobility.
The midfield is typically superb.
The backline looks good but probaly needs B Jones for the 3rd Tall(and don't give me the ******** about Staker not being able to play CHB)
And the bench looks good with 3 runners and a quality ruckman.
I shouldn't have to justify my team to a geek that posts 16 times a day.
B:Wirrupunda Glass B Jones
HB:Stenglein Staker Chick
Int:Gardiner Morton Nicoski Selwood
Have you got a screw loose.
Thats a bloody good team :
The forward line looks good with 4 marking targets and plently of mobility.
The midfield is typically superb.
The backline looks good but probaly needs B Jones for the 3rd Tall(and don't give me the ******** about Staker not being able to play CHB)
And the bench looks good with 3 runners and a quality ruckman.
I shouldn't have to justify my team to a geek that posts 16 times a day.
Int:Gardiner Morton Nicoski Selwood
Kerr at HF is the biggest joke, he couldnt catch a tennis ball never mind a football, his shoulders are way too stuffed.
thecoastingcoaster
7 Feb 2006, 17:21
Kerr at HF is the biggest joke, he couldnt catch a tennis ball never mind a football, his shoulders are way too stuffed.
Dodgy shoulders...hahahahahahaha
If he has dodger shoulders than he would of had them cleaned up or whatever the ******** the do with them.
He's played HFF and I remember in a derby he got 3 goals 26 possesions in that position so before you dribble ******** first research the subject.
I don't even know why I bother argue with tools like you who obviously have no knowledge of the game.
sinepari
7 Feb 2006, 18:57
Settle down mate, you're talking to eagles supporters. Save up that anger for Docker's fans.
It's true, Kerr does not have good shoulders. Surely you know that!?
One of the poorer efforts.
:rolleyes: It's an opinion mate...
My team:
FB: Wirra Glass Chick
HB:Nicoski Hunter Banners
C: Braun Judd Stinger
HF: Cousins Hansen Embley
F: Sampi Staker McKinley
I/C: Gardiner Selwood Fletcher Waters
Emg: Gaspar Lynch
sydney eagle
8 Feb 2006, 18:15
I thought that it was McDougall who had dodgy shoulders last season ?
i think our best 22 is
wirra glass banfield
chick gaspar waters
braun stenglein fletcher
cousins hansen embley
sampi hunter macdougal
cox judd kerr
int: gardiner nicoski staker selwood
emg: seaby, morton, rosa, butler, hurn, graham, bones, mckinley
christ, i have 2 rising star noms and 2 first round draft picks (well, morton anyway) in our emergency list.
realistically, sampi and gardy are hanging by a thread, and will need some good early season form to keep their spots out of the hands of morton and seaby respectively, and staker will back up doogs should he be injured or out of form. graham to back up gaspar, then lynch, if necessary. i can see nicoski starting on the ground if chick or banners get injured, and of course, butler and rosa are first midfielders off the rank should anyone fall off the pace.
anyway, it looks like we are again going to have a nice deep squad and alot of competition for every spot. with a bit of luck our height depth wont be tested as much, and we can get a good performance from hansen and hunter in the key forward posts, and gaspar in the back half. all we have at the moment is possible solutions to our spinal problems, hopefully they turn out OK.
our ruck should be interesting, too. i cant fit all three in the best 22, but i wonder whether woosha can, he is a big fan of all three, afterall. be nice to see waters have an injury free year and really show us what kind of player he is.
Jimmy_the_Gent
9 Feb 2006, 01:26
i think our best 22 is
wirra glass banfield
chick gaspar waters
braun stenglein fletcher
cousins hansen embley
sampi hunter macdougal
cox judd kerr
int: gardiner nicoski staker selwood
emg: seaby, morton, rosa, butler, hurn, graham, bones, mckinley.
No space for Lynch even on the possible emergency list?
For me, without giving it much thought I'd go like this.
Wirrpunda Glass B.Jones
Staker Lynch Chick
Kerr Cousins Braun
Fletcher Hansen Embley
McDougall Hunter Sampi
Cox Judd Stenglein
Int: Banfield Selwood Seaby Nicoski
Emg: Gardiner Gaspar Waters Butler LeCras etc etc...Gardy the first tall, Butler the first small....
Gunnar Longshanks
9 Feb 2006, 14:14
and don't give me the ******** about Staker not being able to play CHB.If you reckon that Staker will be our first-choice CHB in 2006, then you absolutely no clues. None at all.
Int:Gardiner Morton Nicoski Selwood I see you've amended that side to include Brett Jones ahead of Butler.
That was one of the dumbest parts of the side you initally posted.
Staker won't hold down CHB. Period.
What leads you to believe that McDougall will hold down a spot in our forward line? It might happen eventually, but I certainly wouldn't be picking him in our best 22 pre-season.
What about Banfield? He deserves a spot ahead of Morton.
I shouldn't have to justify my team to a geek that posts 16 times a day.I like to post. Big deal.
There's no need to resort to name-calling. You'd be better off finding some clues about football.
Gunnar Longshanks
9 Feb 2006, 14:16
:rolleyes: It's an opinion mate...That doesn't mean it can't be wrong.
If it was my opinion that the world is flat, I'd be ridiculed. And rightly so.
That doesn't mean it can't be wrong.
If it was my opinion that the world is flat, I'd be ridiculed. And rightly so.
How is his opinion wrong? He posted what he thought was our best 22...
If it was your opinion that the world was flat, you would indeed be ridiculed, because it has been proven that the world isn't flat. But, you can't prove that his team isn't the Eagles best 22, because we don't know...
Gunnar Longshanks
9 Feb 2006, 15:28
How is his opinion wrong? He posted what he thought was our best 22...And it's my opinion that his version was one of the poorer efforts.
We're all entitled to opinions.
So there's no reason to bag his then, is there? :)
larrikin
9 Feb 2006, 22:14
Where did all this Hunter at FF stuff come from. He will play the same role as last year, the utility who can play up or back, but he SHOULD be playing as the 3rd tall at either end, cetainly not the spearhead.
Yep he had a good quarter against Sydney at Subi, and it was a great mark - but FFS it was 2 goals (and from memory the other was from a free) - the bloke ain't the mesiah some people on here seem to think
Where did all this Hunter at FF stuff come from. He will play the same role as last year, the utility who can play up or back, but he SHOULD be playing as the 3rd tall at either end, cetainly not the spearhead.
Yep he had a good quarter against Sydney at Subi, and it was a great mark - but FFS it was 2 goals (and from memory the other was from a free) - the bloke ain't the mesiah some people on here seem to think
this isnt speculation, media reports, training reports, and words from sumich himself indicate that hunter is being groomed for a full time key forward role, probably in a three tall forward configuration with hansen and doogs
how well he will do IS speculation, but it seems like it will be the case, injury permitting
Gunnar Longshanks
18 Feb 2006, 17:30
I reckon Lynch will play a fair bit of footy for us this year.
If we switch him and Hunter between FF and CHB we'll be in better shape.
bloodstainedangel
18 Feb 2006, 17:31
Yeah we'll enjoy beating that again
Gunnar Longshanks
18 Feb 2006, 17:45
Because your GF win was so incredibly emphatic.
Gunnar Longshanks
18 Apr 2006, 02:05
So what do people think about this 3 weeks in?
The_Eagles
18 Apr 2006, 02:15
Banfield Glass Wirrpanda
Chick Hunter Nicoski
Braun Kerr Stenglein
Embley Hansen Cousins
Sampi Lynch Staker
Cox Judd Fletcher
Selwood, Graham, Seaby, R Jones
imright
18 Apr 2006, 02:22