View Full Version : Mallee Football League
Pages :
[
12]
chooken
24 Apr 2007, 13:26
Yes i hear the umpiring was very bad over the w.e. Heard that luke symes got pulled up for tripping and the main one was gun player todd beasy for striking.. is he gonna get any time on the side lines??
He was done for charging they called it. bloody joke. A woomelang player was layed out from a elbow to the head and all he did was run over to him and opush him to the ground sticking up for his team mate. Couldnt beleive they reported him. Yeah they let luke symes off after the game for some reason and there was a bit in that. and the other one was the bloke who layed out the woomelang player. he should go.
lualdeng
24 Apr 2007, 16:05
What about andrew barry he is certanly moe than capable
Got toweled up by an average 16 y.o last week. Not up to Hutchinson
Footy Tripper
24 Apr 2007, 16:36
Didn't Andy Barry win Marongs Best and Fairest last year. I have also seen him play and I reckon he would go alright there.
Currently having a bit of trouble reading Hopetoun peoples comments. You get flogged last week but still think you are the best team in the comp. And I know you will all get on here and say that you never said you were the best team in the comp, and that W/U are, but the way your all talking suggests that you think you're a fair bit better than you actually are.
Steve Austin
24 Apr 2007, 17:34
Saw Andy Barry play on the weekend and thought he played a good game at CHF. Easily beating his opponent. I think he was full back in the Team of the Year back in 2003, so i would think he would be capable of handling Hutchinson. Won't be needed in the backline anyway, got enough boys down there that are more then capable of that job.
lualdeng
24 Apr 2007, 19:56
Saw Andy Barry play on the weekend and thought he played a good game at CHF. Easily beating his opponent. I think he was full back in the Team of the Year back in 2003, so i would think he would be capable of handling Hutchinson. Won't be needed in the backline anyway, got enough boys down there that are more then capable of that job.
Those are some good credentials i agree but word was that young Sam Martin from beulah cut him out of the game. Hutchinson is a new player.. bigger and better than other years.. either way its gonna take a good bloke to take him on. What a ridiculous statement back there by another bloke about hopetoun people saying they are the best? CLEARLY W/U are the best but hopetoun lost by much less than ouyen did. No on has ever said they are the best.. there's just some reason for optimism from those hopetoun boys.
Posty22
24 Apr 2007, 21:20
Those are some good credentials i agree but word was that young Sam Martin from beulah cut him out of the game. Hutchinson is a new player.. bigger and better than other years.. either way its gonna take a good bloke to take him on. What a ridiculous statement back there by another bloke about hopetoun people saying they are the best? CLEARLY W/U are the best but hopetoun lost by much less than ouyen did. No on has ever said they are the best.. there's just some reason for optimism from those hopetoun boys.
So some one thinks that hopetoun are the best?? If so what a joke after last season i think hopetouns objective this year would be to build up team so in next season or the season after they will be a good side.. But thats just my opinion what do other people think??
lualdeng
25 Apr 2007, 11:09
So some one thinks that hopetoun are the best?? If so what a joke after last season i think hopetouns objective this year would be to build up team so in next season or the season after they will be a good side.. But thats just my opinion what do other people think??
Thats it mate, thats exactly what i was tryin to say. They have quite a few young players that are gaining some experience and with a few good recruits and the same attitude as this year they'll go a long way in the next couple of years.
arch123
25 Apr 2007, 18:27
Thats it mate, thats exactly what i was tryin to say. They have quite a few young players that are gaining some experience and with a few good recruits and the same attitude as this year they'll go a long way in the next couple of years.
what being cocky is gunna get them places
wallyon
25 Apr 2007, 19:38
can any hopetoun boys tell me how cobber hendy and dean Hogan are going up there this year?
lualdeng
25 Apr 2007, 20:08
your a tool mate. i'm just saying they seem to be enjoying their footy. no need for an outlandish comment like that i dont think. u must have been pretty bored.
lualdeng
25 Apr 2007, 20:10
can any hopetoun boys tell me how cobber hendy and dean Hogan are going up there this year?
Played their first games in the 2's on the weekend and from looking at the results neither were in the best.
chick magnet
25 Apr 2007, 20:42
Hoges will make seniors in the next couple of weeks,cobber may find it hard to get a spot up their can see he has got what it takes but needs to get fit,from what I've seen so far W/U are the real deal,will be a good game this week to see who will be next in line on the ladder.
will take Ouyen,W/U and Hopetoun if they get their skill up to scratch,was very bad last week,if hutch kicks 6 again will win also.
onmybackwheels
26 Apr 2007, 10:20
I see my old mate Greg Leather has signed at beulah... has been known to have bags of 12 kicked on him regularly during a season.
Fists of Rage
26 Apr 2007, 10:27
Mate hopetoun have been talking em selves up for years, same stuff year in year out, nothing is gunna change, they will continue to do it for ever....
Mobbenfuhrer
26 Apr 2007, 10:37
Cobber Hendy as per Marnoo? Which team is he playing for?
frankie.dettori
26 Apr 2007, 10:59
your a tool mate. i'm just saying they seem to be enjoying their footy. no need for an outlandish comment like that i dont think. u must have been pretty bored.
Lual, Arch is a textbook fool. no need to worry about this bogan.
moderate_grenade02
26 Apr 2007, 12:51
I see my old mate Greg Leather has signed at beulah... has been known to have bags of 12 kicked on him regularly during a season.
I get the feeling that you don't know s*** about Greg Leather mate
onmybackwheels
26 Apr 2007, 14:21
I get the feeling that you don't know s*** about Greg Leather mate
I actually played with Greg at Worrineen so how do u classify that?
lualdeng
26 Apr 2007, 14:27
I actually played with Greg at Worrineen so how do u classify that?
There's something fishy about what u just said mate.. or should i say.. something piranha about it?
Fists of Rage
26 Apr 2007, 15:06
Andy Barry my friend is up to hutchinson.... thats if he plays down back, and my tip is ur from hopetoun....
quentinlynchthethumper
26 Apr 2007, 16:36
Andy Barry my friend is up to hutchinson.... thats if he plays down back, and my tip is ur from hopetoun....
Mate no one cares if u and andy barry are having it off. i'm not even from hopetoun and i know hutchinson will maul him to pieces. you're obviously one of those armchair critics that has no idea about mallee league footy.
Fists of Rage
26 Apr 2007, 16:48
Mate no one cares if u and andy barry are having it off. i'm not even from hopetoun and i know hutchinson will maul him to pieces. you're obviously one of those armchair critics that has no idea about mallee league footy.
Would have more idea than u my friend.... and i dont know andy barry, but have seen play a few times as well as having seen Hutchinson as well, will be a good battle if they play on each other thats all im saying....
Just wondering wat happened to Jeparit rainbow on the weekend. Thought they were meant to be having a crack this year with some pretty handy recruits. Could fitness be a problem?? Reading the local papers last year it seems Nhill had that problem as well by not finishing off games under scumann last year.
chooken
26 Apr 2007, 17:33
Just wondering wat happened to Jeparit rainbow on the weekend. Thought they were meant to be having a crack this year with some pretty handy recruits. Could fitness be a problem?? Reading the local papers last year it seems Nhill had that problem as well by not finishing off games under scumann last year.
maybe woomelang arnt as bad as everyone has put them down for. from what i hear, they played good footy. just battlers that played 4 quarters
arch123
27 Apr 2007, 10:54
Would have more idea than u my friend.... and i dont know andy barry, but have seen play a few times as well as having seen Hutchinson as well, will be a good battle if they play on each other thats all im saying....
who actually knows if barry will play on him. it says on here that he played at CHF last week
[quote=chooken;7349484]maybe woomelang arnt as bad as everyone has put them down for. from what i hear, they played good footy. just battlers that played 4 quarters[/
yeah i heard J/R did okay the first half, just ran out of legs in the second.
chooken
27 Apr 2007, 14:25
[quote=chooken;7349484]maybe woomelang arnt as bad as everyone has put them down for. from what i hear, they played good footy. just battlers that played 4 quarters[/
yeah i heard J/R did okay the first half, just ran out of legs in the second.
Yeah the cats could have ran away with it in the second when they had the breeze but gave away stupid frees. then they held there own against the breeze in the third and were just to good in the last. most blokes had a real dip
onmybackwheels
27 Apr 2007, 15:24
Heard a rumour that beulah have a few blokes up in darwin doing some recruiting. can anyone confirm?
LEIGHHARDING
27 Apr 2007, 19:36
Injuries to key players didnt help JRs cause. Lost Clugston, Fisher, Goodes and Schumann with injuries and Wilksch was sent off for a rest. They will be up against it this week though, I think they could get a fair old touch up from a very good WU side.
footyfan001
28 Apr 2007, 11:37
Its guna be very ****in wet 2day....
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Apr 2007, 12:29
Its guna be very ****in wet 2day....
Weird thing is, its meant to bucket down here (in Melb) too, but every time I look at the forecast they backtrack further away from it ... now they're just talkin about some showers in the evening.
Its all blue skies here now and only some showers (5mm) overnight.
So, I know they're all talking rain, rain, rain, but how does it actually look out there? Is it all thunderheads and drizzle, or could this be another so-near-but frustration?
waybelowbelt
28 Apr 2007, 15:49
Hey I am out of the area for the weekend, can someone post the scores as soon as they come to hand?
ChinkapookMAGPIES
28 Apr 2007, 21:30
Hey I am out of the area for the weekend, can someone post the scores as soon as they come to hand?
Yeah, Chinkapook magpies got robbed of their name in 1957. How is that for some scores? Managatang: 1 Chinkapook: 0. Someone help me fight the good fight nd bring back the name to the football club who formed in 1913!:thumbsu:
Mobbenfuhrer
28 Apr 2007, 21:52
Chinkapook Football Club (Vic)
Guernseys & Nicknames :
1928-29 - Chinkapook wore black and white vertical stripes, and were known as the Magpies.
1947 - Chinkapook wore black or blue guernseys with white collar.
1950 - Chinkapook's guernsey was the same as in 1947, but with one horizontal band of red or something similar.
1952 - Chinkapook wore black and white vertical stripes, and were known as the Magpies.
Timeline :
1913 - Chinkapook FC was formed.
1914 (? FA) :
Chinkapook were a founding club of this league.
Chinkapook were premiers.
1920-27 - Northern DFA : Chinkapook participated.
1928 - Northern DFA : Chinkapook were premiers.
1929 (Northern DFA) :
- Grand Final - Robinvale v Chinkapook (abandoned due to dust storm).
- Grand Final Replay - Robinvale defeated Chinkapook.
1930 - Northern DFA Grand Final : Chillingollah defeated Chinkapook.
1931-36 - Northern DFA : Chinkapook participated.
1937-38 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook participated.
1937 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook were premiers.
1938 (Manangatang-Waitchie FL) :
Second Semi-Final - Sea Lake defeated Chinkapook.
Preliminary Final - Chillingollah defeated Chinkapook.
1939 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook were premiers.
1940 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook participated.
1945 - Nandaly-Bolton FL Grand Final : Chinkapook defeated Mittyack.
1946 - Nandaly-Bolton FL Grand Final : Mittyack 7.7.49 defeated Chinkapook 2.15.27.
1947 - Nandaly-Bolton FL Grand Final : Chinkapook defeated Mittyack by 10 pts.
1948 (Nandaly-Bolton FL) :
Chinkapook were minor premiers.
Second Semi-Final - Chinkapook defeated Annuello.
Grand Final - Chinkapook 9.13.67 defeated Annuello 8.10.58.
1950 (Nandaly-Bolton FL) :
Second Semi-Final - Chillingollah defeated Chinkapook by 1 pt.
Grand Final - Chinkapook 10.7.67 defeated Chillingollah 9.7.61.
1952 (Nandaly-Bolton FL) :
Grand Final - Chinkapook defeated Chillingollah by 2 pts.
This was Chinkapook's final season in the Nandaly-Bolton FL.
1953 (Manangatang FL) :
Chinkapook were a founding club of the Manangatang FL.
Grand Final - Chillingollah 19.13.127 defeated Chinkapook 11.8.74.
1954 - Manangatang FL Grand Final : Kulwin defeated Chinkapook.
1955 - Manangatang FL : Chinkapook were runners-up.
1957 - Manangatang FL : Chinkapook's final season in this league.
1958 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook commenced.
1959-61 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook participated.
1963 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook participated.
1964 - Tyrrell FL Grand Final : Nullawil defeated Chinkapook.
1967-69 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook participated.
1970 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook's final season as a stand-alone club.
1971 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook and Manangatang to form Chinkapook-Manangatang FC.
1977 - The Chinkapook name was dropped, and the team became known as simply Manangatang.
Countryboy80
29 Apr 2007, 10:07
I presume you got the score from the website now. but a couple of close tussles and 1 flogging...
CRACKER
29 Apr 2007, 11:57
Injuries to key players didnt help JRs cause. Lost Clugston, Fisher, Goodes and Schumann with injuries and Wilksch was sent off for a rest. They will be up against it this week though, I think they could get a fair old touch up from a very good WU side.
How is the depth for sides going at J/R see they have a few juniors up in the seniors are they genuine senior players or are you light on for numbers
ChinkapookMAGPIES
29 Apr 2007, 15:44
Chinkapook Football Club (Vic)
Guernseys & Nicknames :
1928-29 - Chinkapook wore black and white vertical stripes, and were known as the Magpies.
1947 - Chinkapook wore black or blue guernseys with white collar.
1950 - Chinkapook's guernsey was the same as in 1947, but with one horizontal band of red or something similar.
1952 - Chinkapook wore black and white vertical stripes, and were known as the Magpies.
Timeline :
1913 - Chinkapook FC was formed.
1914 (? FA) :
Chinkapook were a founding club of this league.
Chinkapook were premiers.
1920-27 - Northern DFA : Chinkapook participated.
1928 - Northern DFA : Chinkapook were premiers.
1929 (Northern DFA) :
- Grand Final - Robinvale v Chinkapook (abandoned due to dust storm).
- Grand Final Replay - Robinvale defeated Chinkapook.
1930 - Northern DFA Grand Final : Chillingollah defeated Chinkapook.
1931-36 - Northern DFA : Chinkapook participated.
1937-38 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook participated.
1937 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook were premiers.
1938 (Manangatang-Waitchie FL) :
Second Semi-Final - Sea Lake defeated Chinkapook.
Preliminary Final - Chillingollah defeated Chinkapook.
1939 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook were premiers.
1940 - Manangatang-Waitchie FL : Chinkapook participated.
1945 - Nandaly-Bolton FL Grand Final : Chinkapook defeated Mittyack.
1946 - Nandaly-Bolton FL Grand Final : Mittyack 7.7.49 defeated Chinkapook 2.15.27.
1947 - Nandaly-Bolton FL Grand Final : Chinkapook defeated Mittyack by 10 pts.
1948 (Nandaly-Bolton FL) :
Chinkapook were minor premiers.
Second Semi-Final - Chinkapook defeated Annuello.
Grand Final - Chinkapook 9.13.67 defeated Annuello 8.10.58.
1950 (Nandaly-Bolton FL) :
Second Semi-Final - Chillingollah defeated Chinkapook by 1 pt.
Grand Final - Chinkapook 10.7.67 defeated Chillingollah 9.7.61.
1952 (Nandaly-Bolton FL) :
Grand Final - Chinkapook defeated Chillingollah by 2 pts.
This was Chinkapook's final season in the Nandaly-Bolton FL.
1953 (Manangatang FL) :
Chinkapook were a founding club of the Manangatang FL.
Grand Final - Chillingollah 19.13.127 defeated Chinkapook 11.8.74.
1954 - Manangatang FL Grand Final : Kulwin defeated Chinkapook.
1955 - Manangatang FL : Chinkapook were runners-up.
1957 - Manangatang FL : Chinkapook's final season in this league.
1958 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook commenced.
1959-61 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook participated.
1963 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook participated.
1964 - Tyrrell FL Grand Final : Nullawil defeated Chinkapook.
1967-69 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook participated.
1970 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook's final season as a stand-alone club.
1971 - Tyrrell FL : Chinkapook and Manangatang to form Chinkapook-Manangatang FC.
1977 - The Chinkapook name was dropped, and the team became known as simply Manangatang.
Your an idoit!! clearly i am from chinkapook and i already know all this!! Always doing too much aren't you?? If i thought this information was relevant i would of put it in!! Go annoy some other thread. dingus!
Good rain around the place, a good win by the mighty demons think that they may have another good year.
onmybackwheels
29 Apr 2007, 19:54
Good rain around the place, a good win by the mighty demons think that they may have another good year.
Don't get too carried away mate. W/U smashed you.
greyhound
29 Apr 2007, 20:35
Yep another great win on a very wet but well maintained ground for the w/u boys.
The Whale had another great game after his knock last week and the local boys with recruits stood up once again. Charles making a big impression for a big boy in the wet was also on song.
Take some beating but its only early and injuries are already starting to play a part.
About 3 inches rain they reckon.
did ryan muir play at oyean last year? he is down in the daimond valley this year. just wondering if anyone has any info on him. he is a big boy and looks good.
ChinkapookMAGPIES
30 Apr 2007, 12:18
did ryan muir play at oyean last year? he is down in the daimond valley this year. just wondering if anyone has any info on him. he is a big boy and looks good.
your right... he is massive! and he looks good nude. Beautiful skin
ontheoutta12
30 Apr 2007, 14:36
hey buddy, if ya wanna now the scores that night than go to www.vcfl.com.au (http://www.vcfl.com.au) and go to leagues and clubs and follow the links etc. Bloody good site, can follow any country league.:thumbsu:
ontheoutta12
30 Apr 2007, 14:40
3rd round, yeah got beaten by W/U and only just won from a team that was at one stage lookin at folding!! yeah unreal!! one win and ouyen are already there hey??!!?
Fists of Rage
30 Apr 2007, 16:09
Played their first games in the 2's on the weekend and from looking at the results neither were in the best.
How did bruce landrigan go on the wend? dean hogan did he play seniors? Jackson cook heard this kid was the future of the club and has been dominating?
onmybackwheels
30 Apr 2007, 18:16
I see Simon Roberts was held to 2 goals on the weekend.. What happened there? Was quite good for Worrineen last year thought he'd be dominating over there. Also Andy Barry quiet game too.. was quiet talked up on here last week just thought that was interesting.
chooken
30 Apr 2007, 20:01
I see Simon Roberts was held to 2 goals on the weekend.. What happened there? Was quite good for Worrineen last year thought he'd be dominating over there. Also Andy Barry quiet game too.. was quiet talked up on here last week just thought that was interesting.
He didnt go that well at woorinen last year. hes getting pretty old. was quite surprised when i read he kicked 8. Musnt of had much opposition. great bloke and has been a gun but hes legs arnt as young as they used to be.
chooken
30 Apr 2007, 20:02
3rd round, yeah got beaten by W/U and only just won from a team that was at one stage lookin at folding!! yeah unreal!! one win and ouyen are already there hey??!!?
The demons didnt show much on the weekend from wehat i hear, wet weather aside, if they want to be a threat theyll have to lift a notch or ten!!
onmybackwheels
30 Apr 2007, 21:40
How's the North Central Mallee interleague side looking? Who are the big names? Any names missing?
LEIGHHARDING
30 Apr 2007, 22:54
How is the depth for sides going at J/R see they have a few juniors up in the seniors are they genuine senior players or are you light on for numbers
Im not real sure I'm not there anymore just have an interest in them nowadays and seen them play in the first round. I think they are all seniors, had a few juniors play last year.
candy man
1 May 2007, 00:06
depth better than last year, putting in solid performances particularly good first halves tapering off a bit as the match wears on but have definitely been in the games so far..couple of juniors have made step up, although injury has affected the starting line up..these kids will improve the depth of the team as the season progresses..
Countryboy80
1 May 2007, 00:21
Im not real sure I'm not there anymore just have an interest in them nowadays and seen them play in the first round. I think they are all seniors, had a few juniors play last year.
hi leighharding, just wondering if u can put a few clues out to who u are and how u know jr, im from their myself so we may know each other..
depth better than last year, putting in solid performances particularly good first halves tapering off a bit as the match wears on but have definitely been in the games so far..couple of juniors have made step up, although injury has affected the starting line up..these kids will improve the depth of the team as the season progresses..
good to see that they are getting a go. as u say they may run out of legs as game goes on but the experience will be ten fold in 8 or so games. nearly went to the lakers a few years back. do you think they will remain in the mfl for many more years
Countryboy80
1 May 2007, 10:24
good to see that they are getting a go. as u say they may run out of legs as game goes on but the experience will be ten fold in 8 or so games. nearly went to the lakers a few years back. do you think they will remain in the mfl for many more years
im pretty sure that this will be on of J/R's last years in the mallee league. been a bit of talk about moving to horsham district over the last few years and they may follow edenhopes lead and see if they can get into that league.
footyfan001
1 May 2007, 12:32
Have been in games but injuries are hurting a bit. Starting to come together tho, hopefully have a win against beulah this week..
Hopefully there fitness progresses also. Cant expect to win a game of footy if ya dont run out a whole game with the way footy is played these day
footyfan001
1 May 2007, 19:31
Injuries arent helping that cause, we havent had a bench in the 2nd half of the last 2 games.. A bit of match fitness now hasnt hurt should be rite from now on hopefully..
im pretty sure that this will be on of J/R's last years in the mallee league. been a bit of talk about moving to horsham district over the last few years and they may follow edenhopes lead and see if they can get into that league.
so the J/R merger was only a bandaid on cancer on the long run. Why cant thry continue should be able to get heaps of players i would have thought?. If they go HDFL way why would they be better off?
Sockit151
2 May 2007, 11:29
so the J/R merger was only a bandaid on cancer on the long run. Why cant thry continue should be able to get heaps of players i would have thought?. If they go HDFL way why would they be better off?
I don't know a lot about the specific circumstance of J/R, but i think i could see alot of benefit in them joining Horsham..
Many of the ppl involved in the Mallee league continually discuss its future and where teams will go when it folds etc etc so moving to a strong stable comp that already has 11 teams would provide some stability for the future and it could be done on the clubs own terms, not forced into it..
While onfield it doesn't gaurantee recruits, but im sure it would make it much easier to get Horsham area players as they wouldn't have to travel every week as they would in the Mallee
I don't know a lot about the specific circumstance of J/R, but i think i could see alot of benefit in them joining Horsham..
Many of the ppl involved in the Mallee league continually discuss its future and where teams will go when it folds etc etc so moving to a strong stable comp that already has 11 teams would provide some stability for the future and it could be done on the clubs own terms, not forced into it..
While onfield it doesn't gaurantee recruits, but im sure it would make it much easier to get Horsham area players as they wouldn't have to travel every week as they would in the Mallee
Well with one more team gone out of the league then the show is over. But I can see what u are saying. The area in general is dying and so is the quality of the footy. The only thing on the way up is the dollars being paid to get players and this is screwing the whole show. Any thoughts?
Sockit151
3 May 2007, 11:54
Well with one more team gone out of the league then the show is over. But I can see what u are saying. The area in general is dying and so is the quality of the footy. The only thing on the way up is the dollars being paid to get players and this is screwing the whole show. Any thoughts?
Think you are quite right cracker.. Money is a cancer that is causing country footy to die a slow death.
Morrie Morals
3 May 2007, 16:16
Candy Man has it pretty well spot on Cracker. seems as though J/R are some what stronger than previous years. With a couple of returners, a couple of newcomers and the handfull of youngsters which got a taste last year they should fair well. I guess time will tell.
Morrie Morals
3 May 2007, 16:39
I dont think that there is one ultimate answer to the problem of success around the club however i do think moving into a more stable league may promote a healthier club. Recruting players is an option in an area with a continually diminishing population, at the moment it is unrealistic to expect players to travel large distances for home games let alone journeys for away games ie. W/U. If/when the move occurs i predict the club will return to some on feild success.
onmybackwheels
3 May 2007, 22:31
Has anyone heard the rumour of Harold Pratt returning to the Mallee League as a full time commentator? His eyebrows are also rumoured to be doubling as a twin microphone.
Countryboy80
3 May 2007, 22:37
I dont think that there is one ultimate answer to the problem of success around the club however i do think moving into a more stable league may promote a healthier club. Recruting players is an option in an area with a continually diminishing population, at the moment it is unrealistic to expect players to travel large distances for home games let alone journeys for away games ie. W/U. If/when the move occurs i predict the club will return to some on feild success.
J/R has a great group of people on charge of the club and a great best 6 or so, with Clugston, Werner, Tough, the new recruits and the under-rated Brett Fisher, amonst the best in the league, but a clubs success depends on their last 6, which is something they are lacking, but with juniors getting a touch will become stronger and stronger. The trouble with J/R and alot of country clubs is that they juniors that are developing into great footballers move away to Horsham, Ballarat and Bendigo for jobs or uni. The best solution is for J/R to move into the district league, which is indeed a strong league and to keep the kids that move away after school. Because lets face it, who as a 18 or 19 year old on their P's who lives in Horsham wants to drive to ouyen for a game of footy and either get drunk and get a lift back to Rainbow (boring!) or stay sober and drive back to Horsham (also boring!) (Msg to the Rainbow people that are thinking of the town missing out on some money from the Saturday nights, whats a town without a football/netball club? Nothing, and thats the future if you don't pull your heads in and think of the future..)
greyhound
4 May 2007, 00:19
Well said COUNTYRYBOY Spoton.
Don't knock the players that stay or the ones that need to move because there are no jobs...The ones that stay are your backbone and its great that they stay, and down the track become successful for the club.
On that though, don't knock a club ie. W/U for recruiting 2 extra players and a coach from their last years side who so far this year are showing some success. ( where the hell else do you look. We are all small coommunities. ) Every other club has recriuted the same and its not won yet, its still early.
nice comment by on my back wheels
head down bum up
4 May 2007, 11:33
nice comment by on my back wheels
hey hey boys
get on the ouyen under 16 to win granny or there might be a couple other contenders like the tigers and the deveils.
onmybackwheels
4 May 2007, 11:36
My pleasure keeta. Plenty more where that came from.
Fists of Rage
4 May 2007, 12:33
J/R has a great group of people on charge of the club and a great best 6 or so, with Clugston, Werner, Tough, the new recruits and the under-rated Brett Fisher, amonst the best in the league, but a clubs success depends on their last 6, which is something they are lacking, but with juniors getting a touch will become stronger and stronger. The trouble with J/R and alot of country clubs is that they juniors that are developing into great footballers move away to Horsham, Ballarat and Bendigo for jobs or uni. The best solution is for J/R to move into the district league, which is indeed a strong league and to keep the kids that move away after school. Because lets face it, who as a 18 or 19 year old on their P's who lives in Horsham wants to drive to ouyen for a game of footy and either get drunk and get a lift back to Rainbow (boring!) or stay sober and drive back to Horsham (also boring!) (Msg to the Rainbow people that are thinking of the town missing out on some money from the Saturday nights, whats a town without a football/netball club? Nothing, and thats the future if you don't pull your heads in and think of the future..)
Mate saying brett fisher is under rated and is one of the best in the league, is like saying bruce landrigan only eats lettuce, :eek:
:thumbsu: Gr8 call mate
how many does every think sonny will kick this week against the tigers. he hasnt had the best start to the year. also a few changes in the tigers team this week.
Don't knock the players that stay or the ones that need to move because there are no jobs...The ones that stay are your backbone and its great that they stay, and down the track become successful for the club.
On that though, don't knock a club ie. W/U for recruiting 2 extra players and a coach from their last years side who so far this year are showing some success. ( where the hell else do you look. We are all small coommunities. ) Every other club has recriuted the same and its not won yet, its still early.
I think there is a massive misconception about W/U and their recruiting.. They got a coach and 2 new players from last years list, and they were injury ravaged throughout 2006, they also only fell 2 games short of O/U for finals and played W/L and Beulah 3 times, while Ouyen feasted on J/r and hopetoun in their last two games... Definately no suprise to me they are the benchmark
And who is Brett Fisher?
Fists of Rage
4 May 2007, 13:27
I think there is a massive misconception about W/U and their recruiting.. They got a coach and 2 new players from last years list, and they were injury ravaged throughout 2006, they also only fell 2 games short of O/U for finals and played W/L and Beulah 3 times, while Ouyen feasted on J/r and hopetoun in their last two games... Definately no suprise to me they are the benchmark
And who is Brett Fisher?
he plays for the lakers number 12 i think....
Fists of Rage
4 May 2007, 13:31
See Liam Price from Hopetoun is the only under 18 player from the whole league in he pioneers squad.. good work old c o c k. can anyone tell me why corey gregg wouldnt have made it? matt elliott also? Also see mass exits at sea lake and woomelang, probably the two sides fighting for wooden spoon i'd imagine. whats the mail on ouyen's new players? Hopetoun also look to have two castleman's who will add some much needed size and toughness.
Those castleman's definatley added size there is no doubt about that, lauldeng...
See Liam Price from Hopetoun is the only under 18 player from the whole league in the pioneers squad.. good work old c o c k. can anyone tell me why corey gregg wouldnt have made it? matt elliott also? , lauldeng...[/quote]
corey gregg was closer to getting in than laim price. corey made it to the last cut, liam didnt but he has another crack at it next year i think. matt elliott is in the only mallee boy in the pioneers squad and has been playing. jacko cook is also on the ballarat rebels list but yet to play a game
Fists of Rage
4 May 2007, 15:57
See Liam Price from Hopetoun is the only under 18 player from the whole league in the pioneers squad.. good work old c o c k. can anyone tell me why corey gregg wouldnt have made it? matt elliott also? , lauldeng...
corey gregg was closer to getting in than laim price. corey made it to the last cut, liam didnt but he has another crack at it next year i think. matt elliott is in the only mallee boy in the pioneers squad and has been playing. jacko cook is also on the ballarat rebels list but yet to play a game[/quote]
Can Jackson Cook play have heard varying stories on this kids ability?
any word on how clicker clarke is going in the west, from what ive heard killing it.
the bloke could cut it WAFL level if he wanted hope to see him back for warracknabeal soon
Countryboy80
4 May 2007, 18:11
Hey mate, sorry maybe i didn't say it right or u misunderstood, what i meant is that brett fisher is amonst the lakers best 6 or so and the lakers best 6 are amongst the best in the league.. i agree that he isn't one of the best in the league..
Morrie Morals
4 May 2007, 18:14
Calm down greyhound, no one was knocking anyone. I think its great to see players remaining loyal to their respective home town clubs i.e. L. Werner. I was simply stating that realsiticaly there isn't enough locals to support a successful football club in an area such as J/R. I agree that recuiting may be one of the possibilities for strengthening numbers at the club but as country boy said who is going to want to travel from Horsham or Stawell to play in ouyen or w/u. It might be an idea to read the posts more thoroughly before you start accusing people of "knocking".
corey gregg was closer to getting in than laim price. corey made it to the last cut, liam didnt but he has another crack at it next year i think. matt elliott is in the only mallee boy in the pioneers squad and has been playing. jacko cook is also on the ballarat rebels list but yet to play a game
Can Jackson Cook play have heard varying stories on this kids ability?[/quote]
What's your obsession with talking about him mate? he's no good.
greyhound
4 May 2007, 23:16
Calm down greyhound, no one was knocking anyone. I think its great to see players remaining loyal to their respective home town clubs i.e. L. Werner. I was simply stating that realsiticaly there isn't enough locals to support a successful football club in an area such as J/R. I agree that recuiting may be one of the possibilities for strengthening numbers at the club but as country boy said who is going to want to travel from Horsham or Stawell to play in ouyen or w/u. It might be an idea to read the posts more thoroughly before you start accusing people of "knocking".
Apologies Moris, probably a little worked up after reading a rediculous statement by some Van Windgarden Loser in the North West Express about the W/U interstate Glamour superstars and pretty boys and trying to inflict a 10 mile rule that was from 1911. Forgets who helped win the flag for O/U last year....Hipocrit...Also Jonty15..excellent statement.
Listen to the fans
5 May 2007, 17:37
Jonty15 can the demons get anywhere near W/U later on in the season?? Is Corey Gregg playing at Ouyen this year??? How are you handling playing in a different club yourself?? Is the speed of the league different???
lumpster
6 May 2007, 09:57
How where the games on the weekend. W/L where not far out of it on Saturday at half time, then got blown away in the second half by W/U. Ouyen pumped S/L by 8 goals. And the game of the day which I watched was Beulah v's J/R in a fought back game by Beulah winning by 4 points.
My prediction of the ladder at the end of the year is
W/U
Ouyen
Hopetoun
W/L
S/L
Beulah
J/R
Anyone else agree???
How where the games on the weekend. W/L where not far out of it on Saturday at half time, then got blown away in the second half by W/U. Ouyen pumped S/L by 8 goals. And the game of the day which I watched was Beulah v's J/R in a fought back game by Beulah winning by 4 points.
My prediction of the ladder at the end of the year is
W/U
Ouyen
Hopetoun
W/L
S/L
Beulah
J/R
Anyone else agree???
How is robert lindsay going this year??????
What happened on the weekend lads? Any upsets, injuries, reports? Any floggins? How about the juniors how did they go? Its not all about the seniors
quentinlynchthethumper
7 May 2007, 22:30
What happened on the weekend lads? Any upsets, injuries, reports? Any floggins? How about the juniors how did they go? Its not all about the seniors
J/R cemented their position at the bottom of the ladder after losing to beulah after being 5 goals up at 3 quarter time. how was the 7am training session boys haha?
i AGREE IN THAT MONEY AND LOYALTY ARE GETTING MISTAKEN FOR IN RECENT TIMES. I HAVE SEEN GOOD MONEY AFTER BAD BEING SPENT ON COUNTRY CLUBS TO GET PLAYERS JUST TO SURVIVE WHEN IN THE END IF THE CLUB FOLDS THE WHOLE TOWN SUFFERS AND THATS THE SAD PART. I THINK WE ALL NEED TO TAKE A UNITED FRONT AND SEE IF WE CAN FIND A SOLOUTION TO KEEP THE LEAUGE GOING NOT JUST FOR FOOTBALL BUT FOR COMMUNITIES AND NETBALLERS AS WELL. ITS A GREAT SOCIAL OUTLET FOR ALL FAMALIES AS WELL. AM I TAKING THINGS TO SERIOUS?
Countryboy80
8 May 2007, 10:43
i AGREE IN THAT MONEY AND LOYALTY ARE GETTING MISTAKEN FOR IN RECENT TIMES. I HAVE SEEN GOOD MONEY AFTER BAD BEING SPENT ON COUNTRY CLUBS TO GET PLAYERS JUST TO SURVIVE WHEN IN THE END IF THE CLUB FOLDS THE WHOLE TOWN SUFFERS AND THATS THE SAD PART. I THINK WE ALL NEED TO TAKE A UNITED FRONT AND SEE IF WE CAN FIND A SOLOUTION TO KEEP THE LEAUGE GOING NOT JUST FOR FOOTBALL BUT FOR COMMUNITIES AND NETBALLERS AS WELL. ITS A GREAT SOCIAL OUTLET FOR ALL FAMALIES AS WELL. AM I TAKING THINGS TO SERIOUS?
No i dont think your taking things to seriously at all. Between sport and catching up with mates at the pub (which often happens after sport or the topic of conversation is how the local tennis, footy, netball and cricket teams are going) theres not alot to look forward in the smaller country towns. i think the most realistic option and one the vcfl should have considered a few years ago when the problems were in sight not after they've arrived (similar to the way the drought has been handled), and disband all (maybe not all) leagues, and start again. draw up new areas and make people want to stay at their home club and be excited to play for them.
Mobbenfuhrer
8 May 2007, 11:08
No i dont think your taking things to seriously at all. Between sport and catching up with mates at the pub (which often happens after sport or the topic of conversation is how the local tennis, footy, netball and cricket teams are going) theres not alot to look forward in the smaller country towns. i think the most realistic option and one the vcfl should have considered a few years ago when the problems were in sight not after they've arrived (similar to the way the drought has been handled), and disband all (maybe not all) leagues, and start again. draw up new areas and make people want to stay at their home club and be excited to play for them.
One thing I've often thought would be a show in declining population areas, was to do away with Reserves. Omeo DFL has just Seniors and Juniors. Up until approx the 1960s most country leagues had a senior team only.
Small towns pride themselves on their footy club, when they merge, a lot of soul is diluted.
I don't know you guys' league, but would it be possible that, if only seniors were mandatory, that Berri-Culgoa could still have its own club, and Sea Lake-Nandaly its own? Would Manang still have had to merge with Tooleybuc?
Maybe its just band aid treatment ... but I've always felt that the local teams should be preserved, and mergers averted, wherever possible.
Jonty15 can the demons get anywhere near W/U later on in the season?? Is Corey Gregg playing at Ouyen this year??? How are you handling playing in a different club yourself?? Is the speed of the league different???
Dunno who u think I am mate, but u could be barking up the wrong tree.. And I think ouyen could definately challange W/U, even beat them, any team with Bobby Lindsay up forward, Jarrod Munro down back and Lugga coaching and in the guts will be a handy side... I never said Ouyen didn't deserve to win last year, their 3 finals games were some of the best footy played in the Mallee for a while... Corey Gregg is in Bendigo this year I think too...
telstra101
8 May 2007, 13:49
Dunno who u think I am mate, but u could be barking up the wrong tree.. And I think ouyen could definately challange W/U, even beat them, any team with Bobby Lindsay up forward, Jarrod Munro down back and Lugga coaching and in the guts will be a handy side... I never said Ouyen didn't deserve to win last year, their 3 finals games were some of the best footy played in the Mallee for a while... Corey Gregg is in Bendigo this year I think too...
would doubt ouyen can beat W/U.. they are a decent unit. would have them way out on top, with ouyen in second, then a scrap between sea lake, hopetoun and w/l for the last two finals spot.. can anyone fill us in on how japarit lost?? seemed to have it in the bag. w/l have lost beasy for the yr with knee reco.. all eyes this week to see how they shape up against sea lake.
head down bum up
8 May 2007, 15:46
would doubt ouyen can beat W/U.. they are a decent unit. would have them way out on top, with ouyen in second, then a scrap between sea lake, hopetoun and w/l for the last two finals spot.. can anyone fill us in on how japarit lost?? seemed to have it in the bag. w/l have lost beasy for the yr with knee reco.. all eyes this week to see how they shape up against sea lake.
i no that sea lake got a pumping from the ouyen boys but i think that they have got the army to back it up and have a go for the granny they still do not have a ruck man with there 2 ruckmans out so this has made it hard for them. they dnt get there ruckmans back for about 6 or 7 weeks so if they can stick it out they will be ok.
onmybackwheels
9 May 2007, 09:09
i no that sea lake got a pumping from the ouyen boys but i think that they have got the army to back it up and have a go for the granny they still do not have a ruck man with there 2 ruckmans out so this has made it hard for them. they dnt get there ruckmans back for about 6 or 7 weeks so if they can stick it out they will be ok.
Haha i hope your not referring to Rick Blake being sea lakes ruckman? or does he count as both ruckmen? good english by the way head down bum up... u obviously went to school in sea lake.
Can anyone tell me how schumann is going as coach at J/R as well as wilksh, price and goodes
head down bum up
9 May 2007, 11:06
Haha i hope your not referring to Rick Blake being sea lakes ruckman? or does he count as both ruckmen? good english by the way head down bum up... u obviously went to school in sea lake.
hey hey mate yer i am referring to ricky blake and yer he goes good mate and also we have a couple of people injured and soon due back so yer i think we will be alrite mate and yer i cant speel who gives a ***
the_oneder
9 May 2007, 19:12
Can Jackson Cook play have heard varying stories on this kids ability?
What's your obsession with talking about him mate? he's no good.[/quote]
correct there Docker man, Jackson wander's around and doesn't know what to do with it when he get's it
Can anyone tell me how schumann is going as coach at J/R as well as wilksh, price and goodes
Jeparit are on the bottom of the ladder mate so yeh not of to a good start
Beasy with a knee reco hey telstra? not good!! but im sure itll take way more than that to dampen the cats spirits.