View Full Version : Mallee Football League
Pages :
[
4]
Bushy45
23 Aug 2006, 20:11
like to see that! Sonny was at work yesterday (TAB at the Grand), no shoe on, on cruchers, can't put any weight on it!
Never said he couldnt put weight on it i was just sayin he is gonna get the needle 2 play. Its obviosly giving him some trouble so i suppose thats why
Sockit151
24 Aug 2006, 14:03
Was the BnF on last night?
Can anyone provide some details of it was??
ablett19
24 Aug 2006, 14:10
According to the website Nigel Dedini won on 21 votes.
Justin Clark 2nd on 18.
Gareth Hose only 4 votes???? Whats going on there???
Has there been anymore news on ouyens sonny lindsay,will he play on saturday???
Bushy45
24 Aug 2006, 20:22
Yes Nigel Didini (W/L) on 21 votes won the seniors and Justin Clarke (B) come Runner Up on 18 votes. In the seconds there was a 3 way tie with Dallas Bailey(W/L) Kerrin Griffiths (SLNT) and Nathan Grayling (SLNT) all on 11 votes. Runner Up was Dean Caldow (B) on 10 votes. In the Under 16s it was Josh Stone (W/U) on 27 and Bill Barry come Runner Up on 20 votes. The weightman award went to Andrew Hiscock (JR) on 16 votes and Runner Up was Robert Lindsay (OU) on 15 votes. Rookie of the year went to Corey Gregg (OU).
Rabbito
25 Aug 2006, 12:16
Has there been anymore news on ouyens sonny lindsay,will he play on saturday???
Just saw Sonny at Deakin Hot Bread, can't walk!!
monger123
27 Aug 2006, 11:55
Just saw Sonny at Deakin Hot Bread, can't walk!!
Sonny Lindsay, what a man! Single handedly, and footedly beat Sea Lake in the last 1/4, took 9 marks and could barely stand up after being late to the game in search of quarterzone...
The lost yesterday would have broken the hearts of the Sea Lake and the bank accounts with that seemlingly being a waste of money for the year and a lot of money at that...
da finga
27 Aug 2006, 18:03
monger 123,
ya not wrong buddy. sea lake put all their money into this year to win the flag, and finshing 4th, well i couldn't imagine their gun out of town players hanging around.
so all i've gotta say is it couldn't of happen to a better club!!! suck s##t
no doubt sea lake will now stack their 2nds....
da finga
27 Aug 2006, 18:07
According to the website Nigel Dedini won on 21 votes.
Justin Clark 2nd on 18.
Gareth Hose only 4 votes???? Whats going on there???
Gaz hose only got 4 votes are you for real?
he is by far one of the best footballers going round in the league.
at the moment i'd say he'd be favourite to win the b/f at beulah. surely the way he can dance through packs woulda caught the umpires eyes.
Bushy45
27 Aug 2006, 20:22
monger 123,
ya not wrong buddy. sea lake put all their money into this year to win the flag, and finshing 4th, well i couldn't imagine their gun out of town players hanging around.
Yeh bad luck sea lake:thumbsd: .. at the start of the year they were the cockiest team and after all that money they couldnt bak it up. like to see what sort of side they come up with next year.
Rabbito
27 Aug 2006, 20:51
that's fknun
Sonny Lindsay, what a man! Single handedly, and footedly beat Sea Lake in the last 1/4, took 9 marks and could barely stand up after being late to the game in search of quarterzone...
The lost yesterday would have broken the hearts of the Sea Lake and the bank accounts with that seemlingly being a waste of money for the year and a lot of money at that...
That's unfknbeleable, like i said he couldn't walk, hat off the man and the committment his made to the club!!
roaring tiger
27 Aug 2006, 22:04
Thats why he is so highly regarded for his football ability. He is one of very few top line players that can perform when injured.
Good luck to Belly, Sonny and all the Ouyen boys hope they can win the prelim final and get to the granny and win that one.
So will Dale Lewis stay on board at Sea Lake and coach them next year boys? I would of thought sea lake would have bugger all money to spend next year seen as though clubs like them rely heavily on farmers growering good crops.
The lost yesterday would have broken the hearts of the Sea Lake and the bank accounts with that seemlingly being a waste of money for the year and a lot of money at that...have played with and watched sonny "bobby" lindsay and he is one of the best i have seen it is just a shame he didnt go further with his footy.an absolute ''FREAK"!
Malee Master93
27 Aug 2006, 22:29
Sonny was a bit late but he still got there half way through the 1/4. He is a hero... Ouyen United were 5 goals down at 3/4 time and came out with Sonny lindsay kicking three great goals and even ran down an apponent on one leg. It was one of the best final wins i've seen in a long time and it was even better that it was Sea Lake that got done.
monger123
28 Aug 2006, 01:41
Sonny was a bit late but he still got there half way through the 1/4. He is a hero... Ouyen United were 5 goals down at 3/4 time and came out with Sonny lindsay kicking three great goals and even ran down an apponent on one leg. It was one of the best final wins i've seen in a long time and it was even better that it was Sea Lake that got done.
the reason why he was late was because had an appt with a doc to get a quarterzone injection at 1 but it turned out that the doc was on his lunchbreak and they had to wait for him... just happened to be still in the rooms after running water for the woome twos when he rocked up
Malee Master93
28 Aug 2006, 17:26
the reason why he was late was because had an appt with a doc to get a quarterzone injection at 1 but it turned out that the doc was on his lunchbreak and they had to wait for him... just happened to be still in the rooms after running water for the woome twos when he rocked up
Why were you running water for the woomelang two's? R u local there or something?
blackbeard
28 Aug 2006, 17:57
It sounds like it was a bit of a sonny show but can anyone tell me how Damien Hall and Mark Robertson went for Ouyen on the weekend???
monger 123,
Get off it mate i will tell you now that the seconds wont be stacked full of seniors they dnt need seniors when there got blokes Kirren Griffths this bloke can play he should easly be in the 1s this man is a freak at footy he is here there and every were defffently one to keep an eye on durring finials any one no if he is on the pay roll cause he damm well should be.:)
bendigo
29 Aug 2006, 16:00
It really is an indictment on the Mallee League that a former Birchip 2s player, was able to win the competition best and fairest. Either he has improved exponentially since last playing for Birchip or the Mallee League standard is significantly poor at this present stage. Is 2006 the death nell for the MFL?
monger123
29 Aug 2006, 16:07
It really is an indictment on the Mallee League that a former Birchip 2s player, was able to win the competition best and fairest. Either he has improved exponentially since last playing for Birchip or the Mallee League standard is significantly poor at this present stage. Is 2006 the death bell for the MFL?
Nigel Dedini a twos player at Birchip? How old was he? He is one of the best fullbacks going around, he is a freak, doesnt train and still manages to win it, something that his two higher profile brothers havent been able to do
jonty15
29 Aug 2006, 17:00
Mark Robby and Hally both had good games without being outstanding. Robbo has ben a massive inclusion into their side from what iv seen this year, big strong body, hard at it... As for the Mallee league being over, i think north central folk need to wake up and watch some of our footy as it produces as good footy as north central, sea lake v ouyen on saturday was testimony to that, wat a game!!! B the way, does anyone know how Rocket Mark Roberts knee is doing? saw he did a bit of an injury...
Mallee Mick
29 Aug 2006, 23:23
Nigel Dedini a twos player at Birchip? How old was he? He is one of the best fullbacks going around, he is a freak, doesnt train and still manages to win it, something that his two higher profile brothers havent been able to do
I think Nigel broke his leg badly as a kid when he was at Birchip so he has done a great job to get to where he is at now.
Mallee Mick
29 Aug 2006, 23:37
I've been reading the comments and I think that Bushy45 has to stop picking his brother in the seniors if Woomelang / Lascelles has chance of winning the big one this year. Jay's form is not up to it and you know it.
Bushy45
30 Aug 2006, 20:24
I've been reading the comments and I think that Bushy45 has to stop picking his brother in the seniors if Woomelang / Lascelles has chance of winning the big one this year. Jay's form is not up to it and you know it.
Mate his not my brother. Not even related
have played with and watched sonny "bobby" lindsay and he is one of the best i have seen it is just a shame he didnt go further with his footy.an absolute ''FREAK"!
Could not agree more. Sonny Lindsay is the best footballer I have seen in a country football league in the last fifty years. It is worth the money to get in the gate to see him play. He is an absolute champion. Very unselfish. He does the team things.
Malee Master93
30 Aug 2006, 22:16
Could not agree more. Sonny Lindsay is the best footballer I have seen in a country football league in the last fifty years. It is worth the money to get in the gate to see him play. He is an absolute champion. Very unselfish. He does the team things.
Sonny Lindsay is a gun, but Nigel Didini is way better then him. Both times they played each other Sonny got beaten. In two games he only kicked 8 (5 & 3) goals and he normaly kicks that in one game! Obveisly he is not the best player if he didn't win the b&f this year.
The_KNIFE
31 Aug 2006, 15:17
Mate if you reckon Sonnys the best footballer to come out of the Mallee in the last fifty years you hava nt watched much football
Plumbers Crack
31 Aug 2006, 17:43
I played a few games at Avondale Heights with a guy who played for Hopetoun named Dion,broke his leg & never heard from again.How is going,is he still playing?
locallegends
31 Aug 2006, 22:26
nah mate he is a good player but it's hard to tell if hes the best player in the past fifty years. have to give credit to nigel dedini from restricting his goals against woomelang. it will be interesting to see how he goes in the next final against beulah or Woomelang in two weeks. Gives him plenty of time for his ankle to recover
i watched sonny turn it on for the port melbourne colts in a grand final in what was the best park team i have seen and in the same year playing for the western region league beat the diamond valley league of his own boot all at the age of 19.one of the best i have seen!
What makes Sonny a great fotballer is not only the goals he gets but the number of goals he gives off and the 1% he does. Not to take anything away from Nigel but having seen the umpiring(and they give B@F VOTES) in Mallee league this year it takes the shine off the B@F.
FROGDOG17
2 Sep 2006, 10:43
What makes Sonny a great fotballer is not only the goals he gets but the number of goals he gives off and the 1% he does. Not to take anything away from Nigel but having seen the umpiring(and they give B@F VOTES) in Mallee league this year it takes the shine off the B@F.
Fair go mate. He obviously had a great year. Having seen Nigal play a few games i think he is a outstanding backman. He can get angry at times and i could'nt imagine him being one of the umpires favorites. But when you play really good footy they must give votes to who they see was they best players on the ground. Nobody should try take the shine of it!
malleeFEV25
9 Sep 2006, 19:44
Well today was an interesting day in sea lake, first off with the under's, a close game between beulah and sea lake, a bit disapointing the beulah didn't win in the end, i hav my money on hopetoun, they have some mighty players.
The seconds once again, i thought beulah would have come out with a win. AND the seniors, what a unexpected win by ouyen. Ouyen are goingto come out strong next week, but woomelang are going to be alot stronger. Well done to all the teams today in the final, and GOOD luck to everyone in the grand final.:thumbsu:
roaring tiger
9 Sep 2006, 21:13
Well done to Belly, Sonny and the ouyen boys on beating beulah and making the grand final. Should be a good game and would think ouyen will take some beating even though they will probably start as the underdog.
I see Beulah lost in all grades of footy. When was the last time they didn't have at least 1 footy side in a grand final.? Would be a few years i would think.
malleeFEV25
9 Sep 2006, 21:48
Well done to Belly, Sonny and the ouyen boys on beating beulah and making the grand final. Should be a good game and would think ouyen will take some beating even though they will probably start as the underdog.
I see Beulah lost in all grades of footy. When was the last time they didn't have at least 1 footy side in a grand final.? Would be a few years i would think.
Yeh, Beulah didn't have to much of a good day, yeh i can imagine it would be a while. Just had a look on their site, and they were hopeing for their 4th premership....Looks like that chance is over....:p
with the GF this weekend any one got predictions on who will win and who will get BOG.
ill go with ouyen by 9 points and Ryan McCluggage to get BOG
Sockit151
12 Sep 2006, 16:55
with the GF this weekend any one got predictions on who will win and who will get BOG.
How long has Lugga been back for??
I'll go with James Byrne to sneak forward and kick the winner after the siren, Ouyen by 4 points..
Go Ouyen!!!!!!!!!! What an unbelievable final series. Let's hope the "Ouyen juganaut" continues. Bad luck for Gareth Hose, a good footballer and a good bloke.
ROOTA#6
12 Sep 2006, 21:47
Ouyen to win just, lead by a best on ground effort by former Lalbert lad Mark Robertson. Good luck Robbo!
Malee Master93
12 Sep 2006, 23:49
I recon that Woomelang will come out with the win. i recon that Mick Didini will get best on ground. :rolleyes:
blackbeard
13 Sep 2006, 15:01
I'll take Ouyen with Sonny gettin the Medal.
Any news of injuries before the big game?? Have heard that their is a few Ouyen lads under a cloud. How bout Woomelang
Bushy45
13 Sep 2006, 19:54
I'll take Ouyen with Sonny gettin the Medal.
Any news of injuries before the big game?? Have heard that their is a few Ouyen lads under a cloud. How bout Woomelang
Woomelang had a few injures in the final they played. A concussion and a broken nose i believe but those lads will come back to play in the granny. Im tippin woomelang to win in a tough game. cant wait to see the nigel and sonny matchup. should be a great contest:thumbsu:
Andyt30
13 Sep 2006, 21:15
I tipp Woomelang/Lascelles by 5 pts :) if its fine Woomelang, if it rains Ouyen and depending who has the best Start
I recon that Woomelang will come out with the win. i recon that Mick Didini will get best on ground. :rolleyes:
Any truth, that Mick Dedini will be playing for Charlton in NCFL next year?
monger123
14 Sep 2006, 09:35
Any truth, that Mick Dedini will be playing for Charlton in NCFL next year?
Its doubtful, he is originally a birchip lad so i wouldnt think you would see him lining up for another side in the same league...
behind_post
14 Sep 2006, 10:38
Its doubtful, he is originally a birchip lad so i wouldnt think you would see him lining up for another side in the same league...
it could possibly happen! he played on permit at the start of the year for charlton so it would not surprise me if he pulled on a navies jumper
sdmlions12
14 Sep 2006, 15:35
Ouyen will get up late on Saturday...someone in the midfield will have to pick up the medal. Sonny and Belly sure have turned things around up there.
roaring tiger
16 Sep 2006, 22:05
Ouyen will get up late on Saturday...someone in the midfield will have to pick up the medal. Sonny and Belly sure have turned things around up there.
Well OUYEN are premiers in 2006. What a finals series for them. Just made the finals and hadn't beaten any of the sides above them before playing them in the finals.
Sonny BOG by the looks of the score sheet kicked 9 goals what a super performance. Well done to BELLY a great bloke and great coach. One of the best coaches i've ever played under and gets the best out all the team. His first premiership as coach super effort!!
EMMETTS/GOLDACRES MALLEE FOOTBALL LEAGUE ROUND GRAND FINAL RESULTS
SENIORS
Ouyen United 3.1 9.1 14.2 17.3 (105)
Woomelang Lascelles 5.4 7.9 7.11 13.16 (94)
GOALS Ouyen United: Robert Lindsey 9, Wayne Grace, Bill Fishwick 2, Corey Gregg, Jake Vallance, Mark Robertson, Ryan McCluggage 1.
Woomelang Lascelles: Brenton Caldwell 3, Jay Robins, Ash Dedini, Mick Dedini, Rodney Hogan 2, Dean McDowall, Casey Robins 1.
BEST Ouyen United: Robert Lindsey, Ryan McCluggage, Marc Hahnel, Jarrod Munro, Nathan Manzcel, Corey Gregg, Brenton Jardine.
Woomelang Lascelles: Mick Dedini, Mitch Mooney, Alistair Ferrier, Rodney Hogan, Nigel Dedini.
sdmlions12
17 Sep 2006, 16:29
Sonny...what a machine of a footballer! The man is a freak, I remember watching him back in his Nhill days and it was like watching an true superstar out there. There is almost nothing he can't do on a sporting field. Now, that doesn't say much about him off the field, the bloke is a loose cannon to say the least, but once he steps on that field, there are few that come close to him. It'll be interesting to see his next movements, I can't imagine him playing with Ouyen again next year. Top effort by the boys in Ouyen.
gocats99
17 Sep 2006, 19:09
Poor old Casey "ONE WAY TICKET" Robins, can get you there, just cant get you home...
Mallee Mick
18 Sep 2006, 23:34
Poor old Casey "ONE WAY TICKET" Robins, can get you there, just cant get you home...
I agree 99..... apparently wanted to do joint coach at the start of the year. I think he believed that he couldn't the boys over the line by himself..... yet again he didn't. Perhaps if there was a joint coach his brother wouldn't have been playing in the GF and the boys would have been more settled going in with side that they were confident and comfortable with. Casey, if you can't make the hard decisions - you will always come second. Another year wasted.
the waterboy45
19 Sep 2006, 02:07
Well OUYEN are premiers in 2006. What a finals series for them. Just made the finals and hadn't beaten any of the sides above them before playing them in the finals.
Sonny BOG by the looks of the score sheet kicked 9 goals what a super performance. Well done to BELLY a great bloke and great coach. One of the best coaches i've ever played under and gets the best out all the team. His first premiership as coach super effort!!
EMMETTS/GOLDACRES MALLEE FOOTBALL LEAGUE ROUND GRAND FINAL RESULTS
SENIORS
Ouyen United 3.1 9.1 14.2 17.3 (105)
Woomelang Lascelles 5.4 7.9 7.11 13.16 (94)
GOALS Ouyen United:Robert Lindsey 9, Wayne Grace, Bill Fishwick 2, Corey Gregg, Jake Vallance, Mark Robertson, Ryan McCluggage 1.
Woomelang Lascelles:Brenton Caldwell 3, Jay Robins, Ash Dedini, Mick Dedini, Rodney Hogan 2, Dean McDowall, Casey Robins 1.
BEST Ouyen United:Robert Lindsey, Ryan McCluggage, Marc Hahnel, Jarrod Munro, Nathan Manzcel, Corey Gregg, Brenton Jardine.
Woomelang Lascelles:Mick Dedini, Mitch Mooney, Alistair Ferrier, Rodney Hogan, Nigel Dedini.
Freak of nature that boy sonny... amazing performance... unusual way of preparing for big games... on the other hand feel sorry for Micki D, the bloke is a champion and deserved a flag with his family...
jonty15
19 Sep 2006, 14:40
Get off jays case... he wasn't brilliant saturday but that was no reason why they shouldnt have won... And its a bit tough to blame a coach thats led a team to succesive grannys that he's the reason the can't win, Ouyen was just better on the day.
Hillite
19 Sep 2006, 16:55
Just how many of the Dedini boys (if any) will play in the SFL next year??
Rabbito
19 Sep 2006, 17:03
what makes you say that? I know club have gone to great efforts in the past
the waterboy45
19 Sep 2006, 17:14
what makes you say that? I know club have gone to great efforts in the past
you would have to say the micky d is well and truly due to return to the sfl given the fact that he lives here and some of his best mates have just won a flag up here.. it would have been fitting had the cats gone all the way this year... but i guess it will now depend on micks desire to win with his brothers Vs winning one with housemates..
Mallee Mick
19 Sep 2006, 21:58
Get off jays case... he wasn't brilliant saturday but that was no reason why they shouldnt have won... And its a bit tough to blame a coach thats led a team to succesive grannys that he's the reason the can't win, Ouyen was just better on the day.
I have been waiting for you reply coach. What I said is true and correct I do believe that your side would have won if you pick the side on form not brotherly love. Tell me, do you plan on staying around next year as a player to help the club or will you be moving on. Don't worry you are a great player but just can't make hard decisions. Do you believe that you have left the club with any positives for the future.
Straunchie59
19 Sep 2006, 22:17
not sure i believe it is true that sLNT have spent over 200 grand this year and could not get over the line good on ya ouyen.
Posty22
20 Sep 2006, 20:25
I have been waiting for you reply coach. What I said is true and correct I do believe that your side would have won if you pick the side on form not brotherly love. Tell me, do you plan on staying around next year as a player to help the club or will you be moving on. Don't worry you are a great player but just can't make hard decisions. Do you believe that you have left the club with any positives for the future.
I know for a fact that jay wasnt picked on brotherly love but the year is over so i think that you should get over it. How are you to question caseys abilitys who did you coach this year? Do you even know what its like to coach in a grand final mate?
gocats99
20 Sep 2006, 21:24
I know for a fact that jay wasnt picked on brotherly love but the year is over so i think that you should get over it. How are you to question caseys abilitys who did you coach this year? Do you even know what its like to coach in a grand final mate?
I hope that is not aimed at me, i merely made a joke... I have the utmost respect for Casey, the man has taken a side from near the bottom of the ladder to losing in the prelim and then back to back GF loses, just because he didnt take it away this year or last doesnt mean that his coaching at Woomelang hasnt been a success
Centre Sqaure
20 Sep 2006, 21:31
now that the season for the MFL is done and dusted, as we look to 2007 who will coach which clubs, will any clubs fall a r s e over? and could 2007 possibly be the last season of the MFL, where would clubs go if it were to be?
redbackssuk
22 Sep 2006, 21:41
I realise there is next to no activity on the BF boards regarding the Mallee FL but there has been one great piece of news to happen in the league this Christmas. Earlier this year Beulah footballer John McCredden was knocked unconscious and lapsed into a coma lasting almost seven weeks. He has regained his health and returned home recently.
Article from the Wimmera Mail-Times:
John's Christmas miracle
Megan Hustwaite
Friday, 23 December 2005
THE tiny southern Mallee community of Beulah and its McCredden family will celebrate its own miracle this Christmas.
If they ever needed confirmation about the miracle of life they have it in the home-coming of a favourite son, John McCredden, 30, who has recovered enough from a serious head injury to be home for Christmas.
"I believe in miracles and this is ours," his mother Brenda McCredden told the Mail-Times this week.
"It's the best gift of all that you could have for Christmas. To have him home here with us is just the most beautiful feeling."
An air ambulance flew McCredden to Melbourne in August after he was knocked out in a Mallee Football League match at Woomelang.
Doctors feared at the time he might never recover. He spent 47 days in a coma.
He started his road to recovery in Melbourne's Royal Talbot Hospital before transferring to Peter Heinz Centre in Ballarat where he underwent extensive therapy.
"My goal from the start was to be home for Christmas. So I'm absolutely rapt for it to have worked out," McCredden said with a trademark smile.
His mother added: "We're a very close-knit family and this situation has certainly brought us even closer, if we could have been any closer," she said.
John McCredden said he was amazed by the support he received from the tiny Mallee township.
"I'd like to thank the Beulah community, the football club and everyone who passed on good wishes," he said.
"Former president Russell Turnbull, his wife Suzie and his family have been wonderful.
"Shane Snibson who coached this year has gone above and beyond the call of duty. He's based in Ballarat so he's been popping into rehab to see me which has been really good.
"My work, North West Ag Services, have been fantastic. They deserve the greatest thanks.
"I'm just absolutely awed by the support, it's been amazing. I'd like to pass on my thanks to everyone."
Mrs McCredden said she was grateful to the Beulah community, family members and friends.
"I'd like to sincerely thank everybody for their support, the phone calls, visits, letters, flowers and well wishes," she said.
"We're so indebted to them. We're so happy for them, that they've got the `answer' as well as us.
"It makes you realise there is nothing like a little old country town."
Mrs McCredden stayed with her son for the four months he was in hospital, sitting with him for about eight hours each day.
"We were in it together," she said.
John McCredden said he was thankful for the wonderful support he'd received from his family.
"It's been amazing," he said.
"My mum was with me the whole time and other family members came to visit me in hospital and they've also come around now that I'm home."
McCredden said his memory leading up to the accident was hazy. He had no recollection of the accident or being in Royal Melbourne Hospital. His first memories were the initial stages of rehabilitation at Royal Talbot Hospital.
"I was in a room which had padded walls. The nurses would get you up for meals and put you back to bed," he said.
"I didn't like that much at all but I understood the reasons for it.
"Funnily enough, I went to the football on August 20 and it took me four months to get home."
McCredden said his strength at handling the situation exceeded his expectations.
"I've probably amazed myself at how accepting I've been," he said.
"It took a bit to adjust to. I never showed frustration but I did warn the nurses at times that I might not be completely obliging," he added, tongue in cheek.
He said he was positive about his recovery from the outset.
"I realised I had a job to do and there was work to be done," he said.
"It was pleasing to be involved in the therapy, to see the rapid improvements."
McCredden said seeing and meeting other patients in hospital helped strengthen his attitude.
"As far as I'm concerned, I consider myself lucky because it could have been a whole lot worse," he said.
"I realised while I was in rehab that so many people were worse off than me which was good for me to see.
"There's no point licking your wounds or feeling sorry for yourself because there's always someone worse off."
McCredden is off medication and he will return to Ballarat in the new year for two weeks for more intensive rehabilitation.
He said his doctors told him they had never seen such a quick recovery from serious head injuries. They were adamant his high level of fitness played a crucial role in his recovery.
An item of silverware has also played a significant role in McCredden's recovery.
His Beulah Blues won Mallee League premiership in his honour and team-mates delivered the cup to his hospital room in Melbourne after grand final celebrations.
Nurses referred to McCredden as the `Cup Man'.
"It was a nice gesture from the boys and having the cup there gave me an incentive to recover. It's a good-looking cup I must admit, but I guess I'm a bit biased," he said.
"It was the last thing I'd look at when I went to sleep and the first thing I saw when I woke up."
McCredden said he was proud of what his beloved Blues achieved.
"I thought it would be a shame to let what happened to me upset things, but I hope it did help them."
Mrs McCredden recalled her son's happiness when informed of the premiership win.
"At the time he had post-traumatic amnesia so apparently he didn't know what was going on," she said.
"But when they brought the cup and his premiership medal to the hospital he reacted to it. He kissed the medal.
"He wasn't allowed to have any drinks so the nurse said he could have a Time-Out chocolate to celebrate the premiership."
Twenty family members including John's siblings Martin, Brendan, Carol, Mary and Geraldine and 10 nieces and nephews will gather at the family's Beulah property for Christmas.
Family members will open presents, eat, drink and participate in a traditional family cricket match.
McCredden said his family would make sure it had the best Christmas it could possibly have.
"All my Christmases have come at once," he said.
Mrs McCredden said her son's return for Christmas was perfect timing.
"To have an accident and get home for Christmas, you just wouldn't believe it. It's a fairytale ending," she said
"We don't care if all the countryside's here to celebrate. We'll be beside ourselves.
"This will be the most important Christmas of all time."
GOOD LUCK WITH THAT HOPE IT ALL TURNS OUT WELL FOR HIM
footyfan001
22 Sep 2006, 21:55
Was still running water and running for the beulah 1s so it is great that he is still involved with the footy club...
Jeparit/Rainbow best & fairest has been held - Andrew Hiscock won and Luke Werner was runner up.
sdmlions12
22 Sep 2006, 22:41
Hey footyfan any idea who won the other awards at J/R?
footyfan001
23 Sep 2006, 11:36
B&F - Andrew Hiscock
Runner up - Luke Werner
Most consistent - Brent Tough
Best team man - Brett Fisher
Coaches - Jason Hutson
Drop_Punt
23 Sep 2006, 15:49
Footy fan, as a JR clubman how do you rate peter weir?? I have played football at school with him and many others sports. He didnt get much of a run in the rebals this year and i know he has got another year left there but can you see him making it in the big league?? To me he seems to be able to step up whenever he has to but will he get his chance to prove himself???
Tempy Tiger
23 Sep 2006, 22:26
Ouyen's Vote Count
Best and Fairest - Sonny Lindsey
Runner's Up - Nathan Manczel
Most Consistent - Corey Gregg (I think)
Most Improved - Tim Bailey
Most Courageous - Jasper Munro
It's a grand old flag, it's a high flying flag, it's the emblem for me and for you!
footyfan001
24 Sep 2006, 19:26
Pete has a good head on his shoulders and is very talented. He has a good set of hands and a nice kick. If anything he may be too slow and struggles a little bit in that area, he's still got another year of under 18s and should play most games for the rebels next year. When he played at JR he gave us a target and straightened us up a bit. Hope he goes well......
footyfan001
25 Sep 2006, 17:45
Any talk at any clubs about possible signings/departures? will the mallee league exist next year if it does it will be the final year of the league.....
Beulah - NCFL
Hopetoun - NCFL
W/L - NCFL
J/R - HDFL
OUYEN - MFL
W/U - MFL
S/L - ???
Any thoughts on this?
BLUES25
25 Sep 2006, 18:12
trevor dedini is the new president at woomelang/lascelles f.c.
trevor is the father of nigel.ash.and mick
Grimmett
26 Sep 2006, 00:21
Any talk at any clubs about possible signings/departures? will the mallee league exist next year if it does it will be the final year of the league.....
Beulah - NCFL
Hopetoun - NCFL
W/L - NCFL
J/R - HDFL
OUYEN - MFL
W/U - MFL
S/L - ???
Any thoughts on this?
MFL? Millewa?
footyfan001
26 Sep 2006, 14:23
yeah that or the south australian mallee league. Im not to sure on the distances the sides would have to travel but whatever is closest would be best. Just an idea im not to sure what will happen.....
footyfan001
26 Sep 2006, 14:26
Does anyone have any idea what the Mallee league team of the year was? They put it on the website last year but they havent done it this time. Just wondering what players made the side....
Posty22
26 Sep 2006, 16:04
MFL? Millewa?
Sea Lake would most likely head over to the central mallee football league.
sdmlions12
26 Sep 2006, 16:20
MFL? Millewa?
I wouldn't be surprised if Beulah went towards the Horsham District League, as well as J/R. Also, Ouyen might look at joining the Sunraysia league because the standard of the Millewa league is pretty average, and they don't have 2nds there either. Ouyen were pretty strong this year and it seem like their numbers were decent, so the only other thing they could do is field 2 teams, but that would be a tough situation. If Ouyen join the Sunraysia league, don't be surprised if Walpeup look to merge with them, and Underbool looks at the SAMFL, maybe joining with Murrayville. Alot of Walpy boys live in Mildura, and would enjoy the chance to play up there.
footyfan001
3 Oct 2006, 13:21
Is there any news on departures/signings? Any news on footy trips???
Ocean grove in the bellarine league are having a decent look at wommelangs captain... is it robbins?? and how does he go??
gocats99
3 Oct 2006, 22:33
Ocean grove in the bellarine league are having a decent look at wommelangs captain... is it robbins?? and how does he go??
league best and fairest, runner up league best and fairest and two time runners-up senior coach, can play footy...
Very good call, especially about the Walpy boys going to Ouen and heading North, with Underbool going West, Underbool and Ouen won't be the same club ever I wouuldn't imagine, but the Walpy boyswould be keen to head there, most likely the Munro boys, Dan O'shan, Tim Vallance and a few of the Young lads, might even be a chance to pick up a few ex-mallee boys Living in Mildy i'd say.
As for Jay robins, I know a North-Central club are looking at him... Wont say which one though
Jeez just imagine if Ouyen United did merge with Walpeup Underbool, it would have to be the most merged club ever in the history of football.
It's the league for it. Ouyen-Ouyen Rovers-Walpeup-Underbool-Tempy-Gorya-Patchewollock. Theres also Sea Lake-Nandaly-Berriwillock-Culgoa.
As much as I would hate to see the death of the Mallee League, it really does look like it's struggling to get numbers. If the teams did move into larger leagues then at least the towns would get to keep their teams.
Having played for Sea Lake a long time back, I think them playing in the Central Murray Footy League could be a good thing. There would be quite a few guys who grew up in Sea Lake-Nandaly-Berriwillock-Culgoa-Woomelang-Lascelles who now live in and around Swan Hill that could be tempted back to the club.
And by the way- C'ARN LAKE! At least they won the Reserves Premiership this season.
The Old Southern Mallee league was way steadier then the old Northern mallee league who would no longer been here today if the Merger didn';t Happen
last time i heard the leagues will be around for sometime time to come
mallee leagues not the only one struggling, might as well ad North Central to the list, might as well merger mallee and North Central proper since they are for the Interleague,
gocats99
5 Oct 2006, 23:50
Very good call, especially about the Walpy boys going to Ouen and heading North, with Underbool going West, Underbool and Ouen won't be the same club ever I wouuldn't imagine, but the Walpy boyswould be keen to head there, most likely the Munro boys, Dan O'shan, Tim Vallance and a few of the Young lads, might even be a chance to pick up a few ex-mallee boys Living in Mildy i'd say.
As for Jay robins, I know a North-Central club are looking at him... Wont say which one though
you can't be serious? after a year of in and out of the ones, only finishing there because his brother was coach... something has happened to the poor little fella in the off season because he has come out the other side soft...
footyfan001
6 Oct 2006, 00:17
You don't think much of Jay Robins do you gocats? Whats his problems? Which club are supposed to be looking at him?
gocats99
6 Oct 2006, 11:05
You don't think much of Jay Robins do you gocats? Whats his problems? Which club are supposed to be looking at him?
I never said any clubs were looking at him, i just found it hard to believe that after the year that he has that any club would be looking at him... i think the world of Jay but after watchin him play this year, he is playing nothing like he has in the past, for some reason he has turned scared of the packs and to get in and get the footy
Jay has always been a pussy only looked good in his first year of seniors cause he was playing in a foward pocket on the oppositions worst backman, and he did all the showie stuff. Spectators only remember the flashy stuff after the game, not the blokes who go in and get the footy so these sheep dogs can do the flashy stuff.
If there is a Nrth Central club looking at him they must find it hard to recruit players.
footyfan001
9 Oct 2006, 15:11
It looks as though the Mallee League will have another AFL player running around next year in Mark Austin.....
Rog the Ramjet
9 Oct 2006, 15:51
Is this the one who played for Kangaroo flat.
Hasn't he retired coz he has been knocked out too many times?
sdmlions12
9 Oct 2006, 18:18
It looks as though the Mallee League will have another AFL player running around next year in Mark Austin.....
Is Austin in the draft Lukey? I saw his name around, but I didn't know it was him. He musta got a bit better since the junior days. When are you gonna follow him mate?
sekkwaa says that jay robins is an aboulute soft cok and the only reson i think a north central club would look at him is to be a water boy
up the goos[/quote]
sekkwaa your dead right. why the hell are people talking about jay robins? i find it putrid that his name has been mentioned. he plays mcgoos for a team that only just made finals and made no impact in 1's when he got a game. he's just no good. not to mention a little smart arse c u n t that needs a f u c k i n g good kicking.
super snooper
10 Oct 2006, 11:27
he's just no good. not to mention a little smart arse c u n t that needs a f u c k i n g good kicking.[/QUOTE]
Look whos talking...:thumbsd:
footyfan001
10 Oct 2006, 16:10
He attended draft camp and did pretty well came in the top 10 a couple of times.. lol dont think so mate...
I do believe that remarks on this thread that Ouyen could be competitive in the Sunraysia Football League are way off the mark. Even if they joined with Walpeup/Underbool they would need more key position players and quality onballers. Having seen the SFL finals series this year I think it is a stretch to say any MFL team could be a serious threat to the Sunraysia league. Ouyen's best 6 players could/have played in Mildura - but the last 6 players are well below the level required.
devils05
13 Oct 2006, 15:10
Liam Price is a superstar.... he should play in the 1s all next year. does anyone know how he went playing seniors this year? Hopetoun won the flag in the juniors ddint they? how did price play then?
devils05
13 Oct 2006, 17:14
how does young turnbull go in the mallee? dylan i think it is? heard he goes alright..... just a little small?
devils05
13 Oct 2006, 17:17
full of beulah boys.... gaz hose, brad shannon, dale shannon, kabia, the list goes on.... stephen bell coach. only one disgrace..... dale lewis made the team. if it was 20yrs earlier when he was half good then maybe, but dale lewis is a washed up ****a. no good. dale lewis is a dog of a footballer
footyfan001
14 Oct 2006, 09:58
Have u got the team of the year? I havent seen it yet...
roaring tiger
15 Oct 2006, 20:33
A couple of big departures from beulah being Kyle george and nathan kabia to east point in the Ballarart footy league next year.
Andyt30
15 Oct 2006, 21:25
even with the losses Kyle george and nathan kabia doubt that make a much of a dent with beulah losses over the Years they seem to get more players to fill in the hole and don;t take long to get back up the top
i've only remember Beulah once loosing first 3 or 4 games in arow but still make the finals i remember before we merged with Warracknabeal. listerning to Footy scoreboard every saturday night
unless Beulah looses players left right and Centre they will be up their in 2007
don't get to games up north now only been to one back in 2003 at beulah
cuttingedge
16 Oct 2006, 11:52
[quote=sdmlions12]Sonny...what a machine of a footballer! The man is a freak, I remember watching him back in his Nhill days and it was like watching an true superstar out there. There is almost nothing he can't do on a sporting field. Now, that doesn't say much about him off the field, the bloke is a loose cannon to say the least, but once he steps on that field, there are few that come close to him. It'll be interesting to see his next movements, I can't imagine him playing with Ouyen again next year. Top effort by the boys in Ouyen.[Would have to be the most damaging footballer in Vic Country, has issues outside of footy but can play the game above most other blokes level, singlehanded took ouyen from 4th to flag,signed with a mates club in Melb early in the year but didnt like the city lifestyle, ther mans a freak]