View Full Version : Mallee Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

devils05
17 Oct 2006, 13:45
Dale lewis are you serious? you fool. Dale lewis is a dog of a footballer

jonty15
17 Oct 2006, 14:58
Dale Lewis is a handy footballer, very handy in fact... But you see what the will to win a flag can do, Jarrod Munro towelled him in that final! I;m prettysure Dale is satisfied with what he got from the season

Spoons
17 Oct 2006, 18:48
You can't be serious devil? Your calling a bloke who has played AFL a dog of a footballer. Wake up to your self loser.

gault
17 Oct 2006, 18:59
Dale Lewis is a handy footballer, very handy in fact... But you see what the will to win a flag can do, Jarrod Munro towelled him in that final! I;m prettysure Dale is satisfied with what he got from the season

dale lewis after the game said to munro 'what are you doing playing country football'. great player and even better bloke, was a major factor the demons got the flag

me02
20 Oct 2006, 13:26
You can't be serious devil? Your calling a bloke who has played AFL a dog of a footballer. Wake up to your self loser.

mate if you bothered watching dale lewis playing any football in the mallee league he was a huge disappointment, not just to himself, but to the whole sea lake community that wasted their money on him. Wes lewis was a bloody handy player, but dale played like he had just been hit by a truck each week.
I stand by Devil - Dale lewis is a dog of a footballer

Steve Austin
20 Oct 2006, 14:12
mate if you bothered watching dale lewis playing any football in the mallee league he was a huge disappointment, not just to himself, but to the whole sea lake community that wasted their money on him. Wes lewis was a bloody handy player, but dale played like he had just been hit by a truck each week.
I stand by Devil - Dale lewis is a dog of a footballer

Dale Lewis is a dog of a footballer. What are you blokes on? He played nearly 200 games in the AFL which i would say is a few more then you... What do you have to do to be a good footballer in your book mate?:thumbsd:

me02
22 Oct 2006, 21:51
Dale Lewis is a dog of a footballer. What are you blokes on? He played nearly 200 games in the AFL which i would say is a few more then you... What do you have to do to be a good footballer in your book mate?:thumbsd:

i am not disputing that dale is a good footballer, but what devil is saying is that he didnt deserve to make the mallee team of the year. He is obviously a very good footballer but he had a crap year for sea lake. It seems to be a popularity contest with the interleague and TOTY selections with people like dale making the team after a lousy season.

Spoons
23 Oct 2006, 22:23
i am not disputing that dale is a good footballer, but what devil is saying is that he didnt deserve to make the mallee team of the year. He is obviously a very good footballer but he had a crap year for sea lake. It seems to be a popularity contest with the interleague and TOTY selections with people like dale making the team after a lousy season.

I'm sure his name probably helped a little with his selection, but the games i saw him play for the tigers this year were more than handy, he was probably best on in a few of them. I'm sure if you could have him in your side he would be in the first half a dozen picked each week.

Daryl Somers
26 Oct 2006, 12:41
Does anyone know what Jay Bett is upto this year, the mans a freak, used to play with him down in Geelong, didn't see his name in paper much for Woomelang was he injured during year?????

Also what do people think about Brenton Hogan signing as new coach for Woomelang??:rolleyes:

me02
26 Oct 2006, 14:51
I'm sure his name probably helped a little with his selection, but the games i saw him play for the tigers this year were more than handy, he was probably best on in a few of them. I'm sure if you could have him in your side he would be in the first half a dozen picked each week.

for his level of experience maybe....nearing the end of his football id say.

me02
26 Oct 2006, 15:05
Does anyone know what Jay Bett is upto this year, the mans a freak, used to play with him down in Geelong, didn't see his name in paper much for Woomelang was he injured during year?????

Also what do people think about Brenton Hogan signing as new coach for Woomelang??:rolleyes:

how does this brenton hogan go?
Jay bett broke his wrist about halfway through the year and came in through finals. Very good player

Daryl Somers
26 Oct 2006, 16:15
Jay bett broke his wrist about halfway through the year and came in through finals. Very good player

Brenton played with Nullawil last year, getting a bit long in the tooth now, but still will be handy enough. Will be interesting who he can bring to the club and see who he can keep.

I reckon when Jay if fit and going he would be one of the best in the Mallee League

Appin Vet
26 Oct 2006, 16:39

Basically kept Nullawil in the Grand Final by himself. By far the best for the Maroons and was pipped for the BOG honours. Is getting along now. But would have liked to see him play before he broke his leg.

devils05
26 Oct 2006, 18:46
lets agree dale lewis was a genuine good player for the swans. what i have against him is what he apparently said to one of the opposing backman in the mfl. 'ive played a.f.l mate what have you dont with yaself?' yeh real good bloke. dale hasnt got what he used to have, but is still worth in your side for experience he brings to the younger guys.

FAKE_HAIR
26 Oct 2006, 22:43
lets agree dale lewis was a genuine good player for the swans. what i have against him is what he apparently said to one of the opposing backman in the mfl. 'ive played a.f.l mate what have you dont with yaself?' yeh real good bloke. dale hasnt got what he used to have, but is still worth in your side for experience he brings to the younger guys.

Mate, i would think that was a fair comment.. Puts it all into perspective if you ask me..

THE_BEAST
26 Oct 2006, 22:48
Boys it seems to me theres a young man posting utter filth on this thread named Liam Price who seems to have tickets on himself. AND has the ordacity to start serving it up to one of the most high profile players to ever play in the league. Seems young Price has some thinking to do.. especially after his sub-par performance in the grand final that ridiculously won him 2nd best on ground honours.

quentinlynchthethumper
30 Oct 2006, 18:04
I hear hopetoun has appointed Brian 'Bonga' Poulton as senior coach for next year. how will he go? i am told he's a legend of the club. why couldnt they get a playing coach? what happened to Vorvek?

locallegends
30 Oct 2006, 18:29
any news in trades?
:thumbsu:

Hillite
30 Oct 2006, 20:28
woomelang have piked up a few coach&players from sunraysia area
:thumbsu:

Like who??

locallegends
31 Oct 2006, 18:27
Like who?? blake caracella
;)

quentinlynchthethumper
31 Oct 2006, 19:39
Word was that woomelang were losing something like 24 players from their list for next season. If that's the case a new coach wont do you much good!

footyfan001
1 Nov 2006, 12:37
Bongas def make a good coach... Any other news from other sides?

ablett19
1 Nov 2006, 15:45
Big jimmy Byrne to leave the big O and the pub with purple walls!! Who will fill his place at the victorious Ouyen side!!

footyfan001
1 Nov 2006, 20:56
Who is coaching Ouyen? Rumour has it Bellys gone to WA and that Sonny is taking over...

Grimmett
1 Nov 2006, 21:27
Who is coaching Ouyen? Rumour has it Bellys gone to WA and that Sonny is taking over...

Meaning he'll accept the cash and the role until late January/early February and then he'll scarper to another club with a better deal. :thumbsd:

quentinlynchthethumper
2 Nov 2006, 18:10
Big jimmy Byrne to leave the big O and the pub with purple walls!! Who will fill his place at the victorious Ouyen side!!

I'd say anyone who is capable of kicking a football. Dont think he will leave much of a hole in their side.. not much chop.

Grimmett
2 Nov 2006, 21:10
I hear on the grapevine that Jeparit-Rainbow recently held a meeting to decide the future of the club specifically in relation to which league they play in. Having taken notice of Edenhope-Apsley's successful application to move to the Horsham District FL I believe that a move is being considered by the club.
Anybody got any news on this?
Surely it is getting to the point where any move to another league would not be able to happen in time for 2007.

smasher100
3 Nov 2006, 06:41
I'd say anyone who is capable of kicking a football. Dont think he will leave much of a hole in their side.. not much chop.
I agree. Coulnd't get a kick back when he was playing in the NCFL, actually didn't think he'd play seniors in the Mallee.

crabbman_69
3 Nov 2006, 12:02

Jimmy Byrne is nothing but a tagger Ouyen can find any kid out of there seconds to fill his spot.

crabbman_69
3 Nov 2006, 12:05
I hear Walpeup/Underbool is recruiting big for next year with at least 5 locals coming home along with 4 more West Adelaide boys coming over with Oyster and big Josh Charles.

KingRich
3 Nov 2006, 12:30

But the Big Fella does have a premiership medallion hanging around his neck! One of the greats in my book!

smasher100
3 Nov 2006, 13:26
But the Big Fella does have a premiership medallion hanging around his neck! One of the greats in my book!
True but the question was who will cover the loss of him and I assure you it will not be hard to do in the Mallee

BIGANT
3 Nov 2006, 13:29
I hear Walpeup/Underbool is recruiting big for next year with at least 5 locals coming home along with 4 more West Adelaide boys coming over with Oyster and big Josh Charles.
Who are the 4 from West Adelaide !?

BLUES25
5 Nov 2006, 15:10
Word was that woomelang were losing something like 24 players from their list for next season. If that's the case a new coach wont do you much good!
SEALAKE WILL LOSE ABOUT 20 AS WELL

KingRich
6 Nov 2006, 15:16
True but the question was who will cover the loss of him and I assure you it will not be hard to do in the Mallee

Gee the great man from Boort used to be a champion of the game! What has happened??

da finga
6 Nov 2006, 16:56
any news on how beulah is shaping up for the year ahead? they'll be up there again. one other thing. walpeup will be s#%t again next year so will hopetoun so will jep/rainbow, woomelang choke again, ouyen won't back it up. and sea lake well there just far to confident. :thumbsu:

footyfan001
7 Nov 2006, 07:52
any news on how beulah is shaping up for the year ahead? they'll be up there again. one other thing. walpeup will be s#%t again next year so will hopetoun so will jep/rainbow, woomelang choke again, ouyen won't back it up. and sea lake well there just far to confident. :thumbsu:

Beulah will not make the grand final next year. Teams will improve and some have already signed some good players, W-U look like having a good crack this year..

sdmlions12
7 Nov 2006, 11:28
Beulah will not make the grand final next year. Teams will improve and some have already signed some good players, W-U look like having a good crack this year..

Any news on a coach at J/R footyfan? Heard some promising things on some other web boards, with Dingo bringen some blokes back from nhill...hope things can pick up. Also, was anything decided at the meeting the other night? Any shot at going to the HDFL anytime soon?

BLUES25
7 Nov 2006, 11:32
woomelang has signed up ex afl player
working for a farmer arrives early in new year
family ties to the area

BLUES25
7 Nov 2006, 11:34
Any news on a coach at J/R footyfan? Heard some promising things on some other web boards, with Dingo bringen some blokes back from nhill...hope things can pick up. Also, was anything decided at the meeting the other night? Any shot at going to the HDFL anytime soon?
dingo will be a good pick up
where will they play///??????horsham or mallee league

amos
7 Nov 2006, 15:30
Beulah will not make the grand final next year. Teams will improve and some have already signed some good players, W-U look like having a good crack this year..Beulah won't make the GF! I have no idea about the Mallee anymore but Beulah have been making the GF almost yearly since Hopetoun put them away in 1981.

footyfan001
7 Nov 2006, 16:43
Staying in the mallee. Signed some good players, there is a lot of names thrown about this time of the year though with every side but they have signed and are looking the goods. Beulah will not make the grand final next year... They may lose a few important players from their side in the past few years. Everyone says how they only need to get 3 or 4 players but when u lose 8-9 there is a bit of a struggle. Will play finals but wont make the grand final.

Who is woomelangs ex AFL player? Will he be any good?

behind_post
7 Nov 2006, 17:08
family ties to the area
wakelins have ties there yeah? are they still playin afl??

if not you may as well name who it is if its true or ya talkin crap!!

gocats99
7 Nov 2006, 17:39
wakelins have ties there yeah? are they still playin afl??

if not you may as well name who it is if its true or ya talkin crap!!

Yeah the Port Adelaide Wakelin is married to Richie Dorans daughter... Not sure if there is a majoy family connection though

me02
7 Nov 2006, 18:47
family ties to the area

more arrogance...

BIGANT
7 Nov 2006, 20:05
Was'nt there talk on a earlier thread that W/U had some former players coming back as well 3-4 from West Adelaide !? or is that just hearsay atm.

da finga
7 Nov 2006, 20:43
walpeup/ underbool are sh#t the blokes they got from adelaide this year were cr@p, who'd wanna play in that town its bad enough playing there once a season. dingo to jep/rainbow he'll make a big difference....... boys from nhill they'll make a difference...... beulah will be there again they'll bounce back. one last thing does anyone take hopetoun serious?????

quentinlynchthethumper
8 Nov 2006, 07:06
walpeup/ underbool are sh#t the blokes they got from adelaide this year were cr@p, who'd wanna play in that town its bad enough playing there once a season. dingo to jep/rainbow he'll make a big difference....... boys from nhill they'll make a difference...... beulah will be there again they'll bounce back. one last thing does anyone take hopetoun serious?????

Take hopetoun serious about what? p.s if wakelin plays for woomelang i'll eat my hat.. qlynch out

footyfan001
8 Nov 2006, 17:02
Jeparit-Rainbow have signed Dean Schumann on as coach for 2007. Rob Price, Brad Wilksch to join him. Jason Goodes from the riverina and another bloke from up that way who played WAFL have also signed on. In talks with 2-3 more players still.

Bonga will make a good coach at hopetoun he's a very smart man when it comes to football....

da finga
8 Nov 2006, 18:15
Jeparit-Rainbow have signed Dean Schumann on as coach for 2007. Rob Price, Brad Wilksch to join him. Jason Goodes from the riverina and another bloke from up that way who played WAFL have also signed on. In talks with 2-3 more players still.

Bonga will make a good coach at hopetoun he's a very smart man when it comes to football....

bonga might be smart but what chance has he got of getting a flag if his got the same list as last season, the hopetoun boys purely suck! good luck on winning more then 3 games next season.....

quentinlynchthethumper
8 Nov 2006, 19:26
bonga might be smart but what chance has he got of getting a flag if his got the same list as last season, the hopetoun boys purely suck! good luck on winning more then 3 games next season.....

Wrong again champ! you're really struggling lately arent you? What you obviously arent thinking about is that its NOVEMBER, 6 months to do recruiting, it is quite obvious that hopetoun aren't going to be out to win a flag, they havent got the players, simple as that. I think Brian was appointed to bring through the young kids. Without money there's not a lot any clubs can do, i think the general standard of the league to drop next year.

footyfan001
8 Nov 2006, 19:49

Just worry about urselves mate at least we are making the effort of putting a good side on the park. I havent heard of any other clubs in the league recruiting anyone yet.

amos
8 Nov 2006, 20:40
Who actually plays for Hopetoun these days anyway. Is Fat Ar$e still around. Dion? Matt Wellington? And who coached last year?

footyfan001
8 Nov 2006, 21:25
Who actually plays for Hopetoun these days anyway. Is Fat Ar$e still around. Dion? Matt Wellington? And who coached last year?

Chris Vorwerk has coached them for the last couple of years. Fat arse was probably their best player this year. They have a lot of talented juniors but not enough bigger, older blokes....

quentinlynchthethumper
9 Nov 2006, 09:34

Fat Arse is still playing. Dion hasnt played for years and matt wellington is playing with labrador in queensland. better players include 3 players from warrnambool, vorvek, luke puckle, simon cook but had a very lean year, flogged them every time we played them but they have good youngsters coming through

me02
9 Nov 2006, 14:33
Wrong again champ! you're really struggling lately arent you? What you obviously arent thinking about is that its NOVEMBER, 6 months to do recruiting, it is quite obvious that hopetoun aren't going to be out to win a flag, they havent got the players, simple as that. I think Brian was appointed to bring through the young kids. Without money there's not a lot any clubs can do, i think the general standard of the league to drop next year.

you're dead right mate. Bonga is going to make sure the young kids this year are looked after properly.
Obviously this d i c k head baggin hopetoun is from Ouyen (premiers) or he hasnt got much to show from last season either.

Andyt30
9 Nov 2006, 19:17
all the years i've been going to Hopetoun when Brim use to Play Hopetoun always were a great side they use to have very Strong under 16's side
surly Hopetoun will be up there in 2007 if they get some decent Players
if they keep their under 16's players at the club probly like all others they loose them to Melbourne or where ever they get work

footyfan001
10 Nov 2006, 14:04
Hopetoun have struggled for a little while now. Seem to have some good players but your only as good as your bottom 6... Good juniors come through but seem to leave each time. Will be interesting to see if they do some good recruiting, havent heard anything yet.

HAS THERE BEEN ANY RECRUITING DONE YET AT ANY TEAM??? ANY DEPARTURES???

amos
10 Nov 2006, 15:24
Hopetoun has never really been big on recruiting. Just paying for a coach and hoping to entice a few former players back home for a few expenses. While teams were paying big $ to get players in the 90s, Hopetoun remained mediocre because they/it/we relied on the loyalty of players coming home so never got back to being the power we were in the 80s. I doubt Bonga will be taking any money at all to be honest. He's great with kids and has probably been hired to keep a few of them around and perhaps get a few travelling back. I hope Hopetoun, and the whole league, to be honset, can return to the strength it enjoyed as the Souther Mallee in the 80s.

quentinlynchthethumper
10 Nov 2006, 18:09
Hopetoun has never really been big on recruiting. Just paying for a coach and hoping to entice a few former players back home for a few expenses. While teams were paying big $ to get players in the 90s, Hopetoun remained mediocre because they/it/we relied on the loyalty of players coming home so never got back to being the power we were in the 80s. I doubt Bonga will be taking any money at all to be honest. He's great with kids and has probably been hired to keep a few of them around and perhaps get a few travelling back. I hope Hopetoun, and the whole league, to be honset, can return to the strength it enjoyed as the Souther Mallee in the 80s.

Sorry to say Amos i dont think it will return to those glory days. If there is one criticism i have of hopetoun is that they dont try hard enough to secure players, especiaally ones that are thinking about leaving the club. They seem to be happy to sit back and wait when other country footy clubs are out spending big money. Their kids are great, no doubt, but there is no short term senior aspirations here. Hopetoun is an honest club and needs one good year, possibly spend some cash, and they will be back up with the best of them. qlynch out

footyfan001
10 Nov 2006, 19:29
All they need is to recruit 4 - 5 quality players. It's true that they have never spent money on recruiting. Bonga will definately do it for nothing the mans a legend, he will keep the kids there because they have so much respect for him. I think he's a great bloke and would be a great coach of a good side, but he may be a bit disappointed in how well they go next year...... They should have extra money up their sleave because of this but probably wont spend it.....

birko
11 Nov 2006, 20:22

Send him down to North Gippsland Leauge Im sure Glengarry would love this dog of a footballer

me02
12 Nov 2006, 13:23
Send him down to North Gippsland Leauge Im sure Glengarry would love this dog of a footballer

well i doubt he will be at sealake next year from what i've heard! Seems they have spent a bit too much money yet again

da finga
12 Nov 2006, 20:44
no need to get upset fellas, everyone is always loyal to there own club, but you've gotta agree hopetoun haven't really looked like pushing any of the top 3 teams for the last couple of years. thats all i'm saying. it might be harsh but you hopetoun guys would have to agree. good luck to them but it just seems funny that they never really do try and recruit alot of quality blokes. is leigh hutch going back to warrack?

quentinlynchthethumper
12 Nov 2006, 21:25
no need to get upset fellas, everyone is always loyal to there own club, but you've gotta agree hopetoun haven't really looked like pushing any of the top 3 teams for the last couple of years. thats all i'm saying. it might be harsh but you hopetoun guys would have to agree. good luck to them but it just seems funny that they never really do try and recruit alot of quality blokes. is leigh hutch going back to warrack?

I think Hopetoun are easily intimidated by the likes of beulah and woomelang. Pushed ouyen in one game this year which was positive but rarely able to go on with it and pull off a win. Hutchy is pretty comfortable in hopetoun... bought a house and seems as if hes not going anywhere. Lookout for leigh this year and he will be back to his best. also whoever said wakelin to woomelang next year must be horribly misinformed because he's still on the port adelaide list! qlynch out

gocats99
12 Nov 2006, 22:12
I think Hopetoun are easily intimidated by the likes of beulah and woomelang. Pushed ouyen in one game this year which was positive but rarely able to go on with it and pull off a win. Hutchy is pretty comfortable in hopetoun... bought a house and seems as if hes not going anywhere. Lookout for leigh this year and he will be back to his best. also whoever said wakelin to woomelang next year must be horribly misinformed because he's still on the port adelaide list! qlynch out

Never acutally said that Wakelin was going to Woome, someone merely mentioned a connection and i elaborated with the only connection i knew of...

Also, to whoever said that they havent pushed the top 3 sides, in 2005 Hopetoun were comfortably the 3rd best side in the comp only problem was both Woome and Beulah embarrassed them throughout the year...

number5
13 Nov 2006, 13:29
I think Ryan McCluggage and the other ouyen lads would have something to say about hopetoun being 2nd best in 2005, i was at that final in beulah and the Ouyen boys absolutely pantsed them, and walpy, sea lake and jeparit were hopeless, hopetoun doesn't go anywhere because whenever the pressure is on they try to get physical, and they are not overly intimidating.

Hopefully this new coach can persist with their young blokes and get a few back home.

me02
13 Nov 2006, 14:39
I think Ryan McCluggage and the other ouyen lads would have something to say about hopetoun being 2nd best in 2005, i was at that final in beulah and the Ouyen boys absolutely pantsed them, and walpy, sea lake and jeparit were hopeless, hopetoun doesn't go anywhere because whenever the pressure is on they try to get physical, and they are not overly intimidating.
Hopefully this new coach can persist with their young blokes and get a few back home.

he didnt say they were 2nd best he said they were third....get it right

gocats99
13 Nov 2006, 15:35
he didnt say they were 2nd best he said they were third....get it right

they had their measure through the year, finishing 3rd with 3 games ahead... but yeah the ladder doesnt mean a heap when it comes to finals, just ask Woomelang...

sdmlions12
13 Nov 2006, 15:37

Mate, you obviously don't know Bonga! He will look after the young blokes untill he is blue in the face, not just that but he bleeds devil red and white! He has 2 be taken' on the job for the good of the club and good luck to him and the boys I hope the kick Beulah arse next season!

da finga
13 Nov 2006, 20:32
Mate, you obviously don't know Bonga! He will look after the young blokes untill he is blue in the face, not just that but he bleeds devil red and white! He has 2 be taken' on the job for the good of the club and good luck to him and the boys I hope the kick Beulah arse next season!

bonga will look after the kids but mate if he bleeds red and white.i 'll just say something i reckon he coached hopetoun's arch enemy beulah back in the 80's, maybe that was for the good of the club too.... everyones got a price!! you sound like your from hopetoun is jordy phelan travelling back again next season, his a goer.

quentinlynchthethumper
14 Nov 2006, 10:58
bonga will look after the kids but mate if he bleeds red and white.i 'll just say something i reckon he coached hopetoun's arch enemy beulah back in the 80's, maybe that was for the good of the club too.... everyones got a price!! you sound like your from hopetoun is jordy phelan travelling back again next season, his a goer.

Hopetoun were disappointing in 2005 compared to what they couldn have been. They beat Ouyen in all previous games and promised a lot but never delivered. I doubt Jordy will return to hopetoun next year. His last season was disappointing, although possibly injured. Word from the Hopetoun boys was that he only polled in 1 game at their club best and fairest which isnt a great effort from a bloke who won it last year. More disappointment for Hopetoun in missing out on lincoln wellington also.

me02
15 Nov 2006, 11:30
Hopetoun were disappointing in 2005 compared to what they couldn have been. They beat Ouyen in all previous games and promised a lot but never delivered. I doubt Jordy will return to hopetoun next year. His last season was disappointing, although possibly injured. Word from the Hopetoun boys was that he only polled in 1 game at their club best and fairest which isnt a great effort from a bloke who won it last year. More disappointment for Hopetoun in missing out on lincoln wellington also.

i wood be suprised if jordy didnt play next year. word was that if clint burdett was coachin he would be playin for laharum. labelled by some as soft but i think he just needs some confidence and then he will be a great player.
2005 finals were disappointing for hopetoun but who cares? they are over arent they?

quentinlynchthethumper
15 Nov 2006, 20:08
i wood be suprised if jordy didnt play next year. word was that if clint burdett was coachin he would be playin for laharum. labelled by some as soft but i think he just needs some confidence and then he will be a great player.
2005 finals were disappointing for hopetoun but who cares? they are over arent they?

Is that right? Clint Burdett disliked up there is he? marcus burdett rumoured for a return to hopetoun after a good year in the glenelg 2's.

footyfan001
15 Nov 2006, 23:18
Is that right? Clint Burdett disliked up there is he? marcus burdett rumoured for a return to hopetoun after a good year in the glenelg 2's.

Burdett is a joint coach at piminio so I doubt that he would be coaching hopetoun next year.. Bonga has been named coach anyway so I dont know how this would work...... Who are coaching the teams next year? Is there any truth in the rumour that sonny Lindsay will be coaching Ouyen? Belly is going to WA apparently..

crabbman_69
16 Nov 2006, 11:52
Big news last night Walpeup/Underbool signed Chris Vorwicks as coach for season 2007. After coaching Hopetourn for the past 3 seasons Verwicks still with coaching asperations has decided for a fresh start at a new club. Look out for the roos for in season 2007. Along with a few ex locals from Mildura. The Westy boys have also signed up again for next year.

coconut
16 Nov 2006, 11:55
Big news last night Walpeup/Underbool signed Chris Vorwicks as coach for season 2007. After coaching Hopetourn for the past 3 seasons Verwicks still with coaching asperations has decided for a fresh start at a new club. Look out for the roos for in season 2007. Along with a few ex locals from Mildura. The Westy boys have also signed up again for next year.

Sounds good crabbman, Vorwicks will bring some toughness to the club. Any truth behind the rumour that Andrew Brown is not returning to the club, but will play for Beulah in 2007?

quentinlynchthethumper
16 Nov 2006, 12:01
yes looks as if walpy/underbool shaping up to be the team to beat next year. Good luck to Vorwerk and his eccentric coaching methods!

quentinlynchthethumper
16 Nov 2006, 12:06
Seems as if Hopetoun have yet again let another good player go and another example of poor recuiting. this is just not on if hopetoun want to field a decent team. Who are hopetouns good players going to be next year? Bit of a dog act by Vorwerk by the sounds of it might i add. qlynch out

BIGANT
16 Nov 2006, 12:07
Sounds good crabbman, Vorwicks will bring some toughness to the club. Any truth behind the rumour that Andrew Brown is not returning to the club, but will play for Beulah in 2007?
The westy boys you talk of is that Oyster & Charles plus Harris !?

coconut
16 Nov 2006, 12:23
The westy boys you talk of is that Oyster & Charles plus Harris !?

At this stage the West boys are returning and hopefully we will see them reach their full potential next year.

crabbman_69
16 Nov 2006, 12:28
Yes but hopefully they may be able to bring a few more with them. Its only early so who knows.

coconut
16 Nov 2006, 12:44
[quote=crabbman_69;6235840]Yes but hopefully they may be able to bring a few more with them. Its only early so who knows.[/quote

Why don't the clubs in the mallee put more emphasis on developing young, home grown talent, rather than spend copious amounts on bringing imports in from other areas?

crabbman_69
16 Nov 2006, 13:35
Da finger you have made some big remarks and it looks like you know &^%$#^ all about country football at all, especially about the Mallee league. Being an Ouyen person myself I think Walpy will be right up there in the mix next year. What do you think sea lake will be the team to beat. They spent big this year and got nothing out of it what makes you think next year will be any different.

footyfan001
16 Nov 2006, 13:48
Thats a big move if Vorwerk goes to W-U. Where does he live at the moment? It's really the first time a good player has left their club to go to another in the M.F.L.
W-U must be opening up the cheque book, they were good in the 2nd half of the year last year and will play finals next year I think.

bargy20
16 Nov 2006, 19:47

Thats intersting about Browny, i heard he was playing reserves for a district side in the Goulburn Valley. Is he going to live or work in Beulah?

roaring tiger
16 Nov 2006, 20:26
Da finger you have made some big remarks and it looks like you know &^%$#^ all about country football at all, especially about the Mallee league. Being an Ouyen person myself I think Walpy will be right up there in the mix next year. What do you think sea lake will be the team to beat. They spent big this year and got nothing out of it what makes you think next year will be any different.

Crabbman who is coaching you guys at Ouyen next year? Is belly going to go around again or head to WA? What about sonny?

coconut
20 Nov 2006, 12:38
Yeh, Browny got injured last season and spent some time in the reserves. Will be a handy pick up for Beulah.

Grimmett
20 Nov 2006, 12:46
Crabbman who is coaching you guys at Ouyen next year? Is belly going to go around again or head to WA? What about sonny?

McCluggage is coach. Sonny is a/c.

ringo1
20 Nov 2006, 12:54
[quote=crabbman_69;6235840]Yes but hopefully they may be able to bring a few more with them. Its only early so who knows.[/quote

Why don't the clubs in the mallee put more emphasis on developing young, home grown talent, rather than spend copious amounts on bringing imports in from other areas?

I would imagine most younger players would go to larger centres such as Mildura and Bendigo, uni etc and it would be hard to keep them. Perhaps the clubs need imports.

me02
20 Nov 2006, 14:39
Thats a big move if Vorwerk goes to W-U. Where does he live at the moment? It's really the first time a good player has left their club to go to another in the M.F.L.
W-U must be opening up the cheque book, they were good in the 2nd half of the year last year and will play finals next year I think.

not sure about that mate...plenty of players have done it before. Tim Conway left hopetoun to go and play for archrivals beulah in early 90s
it has happened and it will always happen...maybe not often but it will.

Gadget
20 Nov 2006, 15:09
Who's coaching Beulah this year... any recruits???

crabbman_69
20 Nov 2006, 16:31
McCluggage is coach. Sonny is a/c.
Sorry but being an Ouyen supporter, I am asking anyone why Belly does not have the Ouyen coaching job. I have also herd from a block from Red Cliffs that Sonny has had a few meetings with the Tigers. If he leaves Ouyen than I think we would struggle.

footyfan001
20 Nov 2006, 20:01
Sorry but being an Ouyen supporter, I am asking anyone why Belly does not have the Ouyen coaching job. I have also herd from a block from Red Cliffs that Sonny has had a few meetings with the Tigers. If he leaves Ouyen than I think we would struggle.

Its rumoured on another thread that Sonny has been talking to Robinvale. Shannon Keam coaches there and played with him at Dimboola. Jade Keam is also there and is with Sonnys sister... You will never know where he is going to play until the start of the season, even than he is not a sure thing!!!

footyfan001
20 Nov 2006, 20:03
Isn't Belly going to WA? He is working in the mines over there and playing footy isnt he?

crabbman_69
20 Nov 2006, 21:58
Talking to sonny the other day and he has signed a contract with Ouyen but apart of the contract is that he must have a job in the off season. He doesn't have one at the moment and doesnt look like getting one either. I doubt that he will be playing in the Mallee league next year.

me02
21 Nov 2006, 13:34
Its rumoured on another thread that Sonny has been talking to Robinvale. Shannon Keam coaches there and played with him at Dimboola. Jade Keam is also there and is with Sonnys sister... You will never know where he is going to play until the start of the season, even than he is not a sure thing!!!

i have been told woomelang lascelles were very close to signing sonny this year. Is it true nigel dedini is leaving woomelang and goin to sealake?

ROOTA#6
21 Nov 2006, 14:02
i have been told woomelang lascelles were very close to signing sonny this year. Is it true nigel dedini is leaving woomelang and goin to sealake?

Nige has signed at Tyntynder

quentinlynchthethumper
21 Nov 2006, 16:36

Vorwerk fell out with the hopetoun football club and general community due to his inability to have a heart towards their kids. Speaking to hopetoun locals very unhappy with him and his high cash demands. Still living in hopetoun too.. sounds like a pretty game bloke! p.s when i was playing mallee league andrew brown was a hack!

footyfan001
21 Nov 2006, 20:58
Nige has signed at Tyntynder

So making the Dedinis old man president hasnt kept them there.... What will the other 2 do?

Sonny would have only played at ouyen bcoz Belly was coaching and is good m8s with him, money must have been exceptional to go to WL....